(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie,

the japan ones are not so salty.. nice taste.. i bought the dry ones.. sumo loves them

Rena,
SAHM / PTHM
At Rena's house

25th July 2005 Tuesday

1) Rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb
3) Denmy + bb (TBC)
4) wenyl + bb

2 plus onwards

Hi durain lover,

Ya second one very different. In fact, I almost have depression over it when i find it can't give more attention to both. If i give one, i neglect the other one and i feel so bad about it. I wonder mother of two like Babaylon and Denmy have same feelings?

Plus because ashley is a good girl, i felt that she won;t fight for attention cos she dote on her little sister - i pity her! Was thinking how come she can still sayng her little sister when the little sister came to fight with her for attention. Crazy right this mother?

RE: bobux shoes

me thinking os starting a spree as i want to get some shoes.. let me know if any mums interested .. but only for our own group ok

Clare
dun worry too much.. my mum told me I din like to flip when I was baby either. I always cry with I'm on tummy.
I know no matter what we say u probably still feel something over it. if it will make u feel more assured. Check with a PD.

Rena
Thanks.. where u buy the Japan one ? oh so it's in dry form?
U are feeding sumo the powder already? I thought it will give taste to plain porridge.. why sumo dun like?

Bobux shoes>>
I haven't let Kaelyn wear the pair I bought yet...cos it's a little too big.. my hb say looks like ronald mcdonald...hmm...

re bb sticky to mummy:
durianlover,
good for u! hopefully one day edgar will "want" me more too...

tracy, so we share the same fate! but mil is abit too much lah! luckily my mil is not like dat. instead she always feel that edgar wants me, thou i don't feel the same lah! :p

anyways i'm glad edgar is friendly and won't cry when strangers or someone else carry him. dat's y pple find him cheerful coz he usually smiles at everyone...

re crawling,
like bb cephas, edgar is also doing the rocking motion. when he tries to reach for something, he will plunge for it, only diff is that he's still at the same spot! he will let go of his hands and legs and land on his stomach! *ouch*! :p

sleepingdeer,
sounds like he's pretty good. ok i shall go and book him this weekend! :D

rena,
ic... but where to buy the dried ones?

Wah, so many postings! Was sick for a while, so didn't spend much time online.

Mummies, I'm wondering if it's ok to replace cereal feeds with potatoes or sweet potatoes since they are all carbos? That means I'll give Kirsten 1 cereal feed for lunch and potato/sweet potato for dinner. After she's comfortable with it, I'll cook porridge after she's 7months. I always feel that she may get bored with the same food everyday, so I have been introducing new foods to her quite fast. Hahaa, maybe it's me cos I'm quite particular about always eating the same food...

Re: Reduced Milk Intake after Solids
Kirsten has dropped her milk intake from 700+ml before solids to 600+ml after 1 solid and to 500+ml after 2 solids. Is that normal? Seems quite drastic to me. And yesterday, she only took 3 bottles of milk, as compared to 4 recently... Wonder how often should babies be drinking milk at this stage? Queen, just saw your post about Isaac's intake, he still can drink a lot hor?

Rena,
SAHM / PTHM
At Rena's house

25th July 2005 Tuesday

1) Rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb
3) Denmy + bb (TBC)
4) wenyl + bb
5) valerie + bb

2 plus onwards

Tracy,
my gosh! you are not alone!

My MIL same same. 2 nights ago I was just telling the other mummies on MSN how MIL likes to prove that my Isaac is very responsive to her. When I went to fetch my boy after work last Friday, my MIL was telling me how Isaac will not want my FIL to carry for long and will cry for my MIL to carry instead (even though she had told me that like 3 times befroe already). Then when I was carrying Isaac, she clapped her hands and said to Isaac "now got mummy, see whether ah boy still wants 'ma ma' (granny in cantonese)". My Isaac turned away! haha, was very happy. My MIL says "wah, very naughty, now got mummy, don't want ma ma". Win already loh... she didn't give up, and on her 3rd try, Isaac stretch out his arms for her to carry. I'm super pissed man, that traitor!!! Super irritated with my MIL man.
Then last night, she was proudly saying how Isaac will respond and know that she is calling him when he says 'ah boy'! And she had said this to me a few times before already! Irritating!

Wah, Tracy, how come your MIL so insensitive one? If it's me, on the contrary, I'll leave baby in her arms until she gets so tired, then come begging me to carry baby, then I'll retort, "I thought she only wants you"? At least, I can relax for a while more! Hahaa... Cruel DIL hor?

Re: Reduced Milk Intake after Solids
valerie,edgar is taking in about the same amount as kirsten. he's happy and growing well. so i guess shld be alright. i guess, if bb are hungry, they will know how to cry for it, no?

hi queen..
i faced this situation too.. but not from my MIL but from my father instead. But Caleb is really very clingy to my father. My father will always clap clap his hands and says Caleb want me to carry lar.
But i'm glad that its my father and not my MIL.. hahaha

celine, kirsten seems to be happy with the intake, she still sleeps through the night at least. But I'm just worried if her solids are nutritional enough since her milk intake has dropped... How many milk feeds does edgar take per day?

Wenyl, the website you posted about baby's food is very helpful. I just realized that pumpkin is actually a fruit(??!!) and there was once I served kirsten pumpkin instead of cereal, thinking that pumpkin = potato family!

Tabby
where is the website that you are compling the recipes?

Re GAIA
for mummies interested in buying this together, can PM me cos i m not able to log in so often nowadays.

denmy
your boy is so blessed that u r so hardworking in preparing food for him!! my boy's diet so boring compared to yours...give me inspiration.

rena
lucky u and bb ok.....sounds really scary!

celine
i m like u..waking up a few times each night. nowadays he will cry very badly at night. dunno what's wrong. he doesn't really want to drink cos he drinks very little when he wakes up but he needs to drink to sleep...

SH
i also dun wan to work liao..no motivation..hee

queen
mine is a bit different from yours. my MIL will always keep stressing on how bb wants daddy and not me. then if FIL say bb wants me, she will say FIL din carry properly.....irritating right

valerie,
edgar takes 3 bottle feed x 180ml. but he usually doesn't finish it. when i return from home, i'll latch him on b4 bedtime but he doesn't empty my breast. so i guess he takes about 80-120ml. then in the middle of the nite, he will cry for milk/suckle (watever it is)so i'll latch him on. this time, i guess he only takes 20-30ml. so all in all, he takes in about 600-700ml.

SY,
re GAIA,
where is the collection point ar?

re waking up,
haha welcome to the club. me zombified liao! :p edgar oso don't really want to drink. but the only way to get him back to sleep is to latch him on. so i ended up latching him 3-4 times a nite! *faint*!

Hi tracy,

thks! My fear is that the plane is packed thus no pte area to bf while taking off and landing especially.

Also, just remembered that it shd be winter in Oz now. All my nursing wear can't wear. How? Hiaz.

queen,
wah siao...ur MIL really irritating!!

val,
i didnt tink of dat hor...next time i shld do dat to her..heehee

sept03,
at least it's your dad. i wouldnt mind if my bb wanna stick to my mum or dad. haha, guess we are biased.

sl,
which part of oz u going? i tink its not dat cold so still can wear nursing clothes n layer on with jacket.

celine
nightmare hor...the waking up. my hb got so angry he said he dun want to bring bb for hol...

sl,
the tix so ex...how come? i called SIA and they say infant fare is 10% of commercial fare.

when u going to australia? i m planning to go sydney.

re gaia,
can collect etiher at somerset or pasir ris.

Hi mummies - so may postings... Have been pretty busy bringing sarah out to playgroups in the east. =)

Sysac, cephas is so funny. =) Hmmmm have to warn Sarah?! =)hee hee...

Rena, hope sumo is better now. Poor thing...

rena
some mummies say their babies use already skin is better but some say the skin is drier and more prone to rashes (saw from another thread). for me, i find my bb's skin very soft so i like it. was thinking of taking it to use for myself haha...

got a website

www.gaia.com.sg

Queen
I missed the 1st part the other nite on MSN.. but I think is this an MIL thing... cos my MIL also the same EXACTLY!! When I come home she will also boost to me how my gal dun wan FIL to carry and how my gal cry for her to carry her...
Then when I came out from shower or having dinner. FIL has bb on his lap.. and MIL sit besides, bb will make noise then MIL will quickly say.. see see.. cannot let me sit a while want me to carry.. but the fact is.. my gal all along very naughty, wan pple to move around the house then she happy. If only let her sit at 1 place she fuss..
MY MIL also try the trick earlier... tempt my bb when I'm with her.. as if want my bb to cry for her but she did it from far or I know she is doing, I pretend din see and walk the other way :p

SY
u organising GAIA BP ah??

RE : Preference???
The MIL all the same. I'll go crazy if my MIL goes on and on like Queen's and Tracy. I only bring my boy back every Sunday and my MIL acts like she knows baby very well. Its already killing me!!! I dont think he has any preference yet. Donest stick to me. when he's cranky, wants to sleep, then will want me...

valerie,
I prepare 200ml EBM, but not sure whether he finishes it most of the time. My MIL says sometimes he does, sometimes he doesn't. Sometimes, MIL will pour out some to mix in FM when Isaac is fussy about his milk . So in the end, dunno whether he drank all 200ml each time. I figured iwht latch on in the morning + 2 x 200ml + latch in the night, total maybe about 800-900ml? Cos he doesn't drink a lot when latch on in the morning cos he's half asleep and before bedtime, too tired to drink much.

Tracy / cookie,
yah... why MILs are like that har? I promised myself that I will not be like this to my future DIL! The worst thing is, my MIL is sensitive to comments made to her but so super insensitive in the comments she make to other people! During my boy's 1st month celebration, my HB's frined brought along his 5+ month daughter who looks boyish (now not boyish looking anymore). And my MIL can say loudly to my HB's friend that his BB girl looks like a boy. And repeat that a few times! My HB's friend's wife a bit unhappy liao (although face didn't show) but told her BB girl that she doesn't look like a boy and must tell people that she is a girl.

Sept03,
At least for you, it's your dad. I wouldn't mind if it's my parents...

SY,
Yah... my MIL also will keep asking Isaac, where's daddy? Ask him to call my HB 'daddy'. never ask him to call me or say 'where's mummy' one.

Sigh... complains about MIL. Other than all these, my MIL generally takes good care of Isaac and the family. But sometimes all these insensitive remarks can really make my blood boil! So far, I have not talk back at her or complained to my HB... cos appreciate her help in caring for Isaac. But really, some things she do or say are really hard to swallow.

durianlover
The plastic bowls which I bought was from Ikea, in the kid's section. Colorful, bright neon colored ones.

Re: Tupperware
Hmmm, though they are indeed pricier than the normal, but they have some sort of a life-time warranty, like if the Tupperware lid loosen over time over the years, they will exchaneg the lid for you free. My mum recently did that with her own Tupperware set.

CLare
You don't have to worry too much. I also read somewhere that flipping is not really a milestone for babies. But do encourage tummy time for Ashley so that she strengthens her upper body for crawling.

sysac
Haha! Cephas sounds funny, should really capture down the funny moments. =)

SY
I checked with my PD today with regards to feeding milk after cereal, he says ok to give milk one hour later after a cereal serving (for me it's now 5 tablespoonfuls), but the milk feed the amount to give is to be 3/4 of what Daren normally takes.

Hahah... MIL... favorite topic of all time.

Yah i also dun understand why MIL likes to repeat things that they say for upteen times!!! I have heard my MIL boasting about my HB being SUPER DUPER FAIR AND CUTE when he was a baby SOOOOOO many times i can almost repeat exactly her lines whenever she starts... about Ashley loooks JUST like HB not me... even about MIL's doggy at home always whinning for her whenever she's home... the list goes on...

I try to tell myself that MIL only gets to carry her early in the morning before we leave the house n in the evening between 7 (when she's back from work) to 8 (when its Ashley's bedtime) so I mustn't be too picky or biased but then i cannot stand it when she carries BB, she's always saying the same old thing... From afar: "En En (short for Ashley's chinese name Shi En) Ahhhh..." or "En En eh!!" (calling for BB to turn n look at her)... then when she's carrying BB and BB plays with her fingers "Aiyo you always love to play with MY fingers ah?!" (fact is Ashley plays with EVERYONE's fingers and chains if there's one)... or she'll sit Ashley on her lap in front of the Tv (usually side facing) n bounce her lap and goes "Siiii Siii Siii...." (no meaning right???). In my mind I was like "Now is your chance to spend time with her and yet you only sit her in front of the TV and say meaningingless words... Can't u just talk properly to her?? Teach her things like what's around the house, etc" Boiling and irritating but I tell myself No Eye See better... so off I go to wash dishes or on PC or prepare for her bedtime... then come 8 I'll tell my HB nicely "think we should start putting her to bed liao...". Thank goodness my HB also quite auto come 8/+ he will initiate bedtime. Aiyo... saying all these make me feel such a bad n picky DIL but cant help it oh....

queen
very irritating right when htey only ask abt daddy. worse still, my MIL will ask JH where's the maid...

mamachan,
daren can take so much cereal??
i read from internet must give the milk before cereal...so ok to give after right?

Yuki, Sleepingdeer, durianlover,

My gal also wants to me carry her the first thing I step into the house when I'm back from work. If I walk off to put the EBM in the fridge shell fake cry. No one else except mommy can carry her after that. My hb so jealous and say only mommy is her best fren

RE : Munchkin Freshfood Feeder

Denmy since you are the expert, how do u prevent the juices from dripping? I gave Mel steam pear in the feeder, she gave me this very funny look and refused to suck (I gave her apple 2 days back, she didn't want too and I thot cos the apple was too sour). But when I mashed the pear into puree she finished almost half the pear. I gave 1/4 with cereal and the other 1/4 on its own.

Hi Clare,
haha, while I was reading your post about MIL, I was thinking 'I know EXACTLY what she is feeling, coz I feel the same!'

I always tell myself dun fret dun fret, but whenever my MIL carry Shannon, I start grinding my teeth... she will say silly stuff too like 'smile smile bb, smile smile' in this really irritating voice that makes me want to scream... in my mind I am thinking, for goodness sake, if she want to smile, she will, dun keep telling her to smile smile!... and all the 'cha cha cha cha' noises... what is that man...! And the worst is when she steals my tactics to make bb laugh... like calling her darling... (noone calls her darling! Only I can! aarrgghh!) or lifting her up high... haha, so all the little grouses will come out... I think it is natural lah, DIL living with MIL... everyday I scold myself... dun be so mean ah, be a good DIL ok...! Then something happens to get on my nerves... sigh, good DIL in training....

Clare, you are so funny! I think the older folks have different way of trying to make babies happy. My mum will also "YIN XI EHHH!!!, YIN XI ZAI NA LI???" x5 (that's Kirsten's chinese name) and her voice is quite loud wor... Actually it is quite funny but when Kirsten was younger, she will cry because of the loudness. But I think she's ok with it now. Older folks usually love babies but they just have a different way of making them laugh, and to us, it is outdated and uncrass... My MIL, on the other hand, doesn't play much with kirsten. Think everybody is scared of her loud cries, as some SAHMs have witnessed before! Pai sei pai sei...

celine, so edgar also drinks 3 bottles. Must be really tough on you to feed him 3-4x each night. Do you try giving him the dummy? Btw, dunno this will work for you, but kirsten can soothe herself to sleep after I gave her a handkerchief to suck on. It's like giving her a dummy and it really soothes her whenever she cries because of hunger or sleepiness. Soon after I first gave her hankies for naps, she can go to sleep on her own (without hankies) for turning in for the night and whenever she wakes up in the middle of the night. Maybe you can try. Do I sound confusing?

Btw, Kirsten can drink 180ml in the morning, then the rest only 110ml to 130ml only... Today, she drank 4 bottles again but only total 600ml. Such a small appetite...

SY
Errr...yah, was gradual increase of cereal over time. So it kind of fills up about 2/3 of the colorful Ikea children's bowl and he just eats what I give him except when it gets boring to him. I can imagine a bubble thought coming from him ," Not again??? I'll blow out what goes in my mouth" His way of rejecting or saying I have enough is either refusing to pen his mouth or blowing out the cereal as though playing.

SY..
I just bought a 1 bottle of shampoo, body wash and natural powder.. havent try using it yet..
but hor.. you mentioned body wash is 17.9 less 15% = 15.21. I bought from Ling Ling from market place the other time she do BP.. she selling $13 each if I'm not wrong.. so cheaper ley.

wow use for adult so .. luxurious!! very expensive ley...

Clare...
when I read you.. wanna laugh.. I was feeling abt the same way abt my MIL this morning.
I change kaelyn and going off work, let my MIL carry... these few days she told me Kaelyn like to make sound with her tongue like "dat dat dat"...seriously I dun think it's something great to motivate her to do so.
My MIL since last nite.. keep call me gal "A".. wow lau hello my gal has a name.. she will like " A.. A... A.. when my gal dun look at her.. she will tap my kaelyn and when my gal finally look at her.. she demo that "dat dat dat" with her tongue to get my gal to do it. Irritating or not??
Then this morning I'm leaving the house.. I wave at my gal and say byebye... I would really appreicate if MIL could at least teach kaelyn to respond by like waving her hand instead MIL.. make that stupid "dat dat dat" sound and keep insist kaelyn to do the same...Aaahhhrrrhh boil boil boil...buay tahan!!
sorry I very loh soh...

queen/clare
Super natural is not that horror... I also very timid one... but this show has the thrill but not the gross and good story line!
try watching if have chance...heehee

clare..
Confirmed and Chopped.. MIL all the same.. haahhaa.. maybe next time when our DIL/SIL complain abt us in another way... they find us all the same too kekeke

Clare
RE: Motor Skills

Some of my colleagues kids also started walking without crawling. More importantly, Ashley is gaining weight and alert so I dont think there is any cause for concern. In fact I read that if bb crawl for too long, they may not have the urge to walk (juz like my niece) cos they can get where they want to. Maybe Ashley takes after you and hb cos I remember you mentioning both of u are not the active type =p. I am the super KS sort when it comes to bb, so if it makes you feel at ease, no harm seeing a PD.

After reading all the posts on our MILs, I tink ALL MILS are the same!!! Waahaahaa! Gets on our nerves. Why cant they be less irritating hor!?!? I hope next time we wun be like them.

My inlaws came to visit today. Their reason for the visit is becos yesterday we didnt go to their plc for dinner. Wat to do....hb got OT mah! So irritating! Then I try to be nice by telling bb to greet ahgong & ahma. Then my mil say ahma easier to call. Nevermind, I thot. Then she said bbs all will call papa 1st. I rebuked saying NO lah, not true. cos bb already called mama many times liao! (Actually Ethan will cry out maamaa....maamaa. So hb says he is calling out for me lor) MIL then looked buay song cos she sounded like an expert & then changed topic immediately. I simply buay tahan! In less than 10 mins, I felt my blood pressure shot up!

Before Ethan's first tooth appeared, I told MIL that he is showing signs of teething (drooling & chewing). And many bbs are also teething too. She insist that bbs will only have their 1st tooth at 9th mth. And again, she sounded like the EXPERT! Today she is finally convinced after she saw clearly Ethan's pearly white on the lower gum. Hmm....wat happen to her 9mth belief?!?!

Well, I tink we can go on & on with our stories on MILs.....its never ending! Maybe we can even compile a book on them! Kekeke!

RE : Munchkin Freshfood Feeder

Flo,
Same here! I tried putting steamed apples & pears in the feeder but bb doesnt want to take it from there. Gave me the weird weird look. But when i pureed & feed him, he can finish all of it. Only banana is successful. He will hold on tightly & can finish almost all of it. I tink cos its sweet lor!

Clare, u're really funny lah. Can empatise also. Guess, they're really all the same. =)

Re: Baby Feeding Pattern

Can sumone tell me if I'm overfeeding Sarah?

9am BF (5 to 10 mins, 1 side)

10am 1 bowl Rice Cereal

11am BF (5 to 10 mins, 1 side)

1pm Brown Rice with sweet potato/carrot puree (1 bowl)

2pm BF (5 to 10 mins, 1 side)

4pm Fruit puree

5pm BF (5 to 10 mins, 1 side)

7pm/8pm Brown Rice with sweet potato/carrot puree (1 bowl)

9pm/10pm BF (5 to 10 mins, 1 side)

I really dont know if I'm overfeeding her. A bit worried cos she doesnt really know how to signal stop. She'll fuss a little but when I distract her, she'll 'stone' and continue opening her mouth to eat... Rice Cereal and Brown Rice- 3 tablespoons powder form, before cooking/mixing. Sweet potato/ carrots puree - half of Heinz jar, Fruit puree - full Heinz jar.

It just occurred to me today that her day seems to revolve around eating... *hiaz* Scared she become obese next time. =(

so interesting to read abt MIL. It reminds me of my confinement lady, she thinks she's the only person capable of handling my gal. Everytime Mel cried she would come over and gave me the 'aiya only me can handle her kind of attitude'. I remembered my hb was complaining all the time and can't wait for her to go home...haha

I dun have such problem with my MIL (maybe bcos I only see her once a week). Actually, is more my FIL that likes to "monopolize" my gal (& niece too - even my SIL says that). Can u imagine during Mel's bb shower, he kept carrying her the whole day until all the other relatives and frens got no chance to carry her. When my fren came and wanted to see Mel, I went over to him and wanted to carry my gal. Guess what he did, he refused to pass her over to me and follow me to my frens....*faint*. Lucky we arrange with my SIL to visit my ILs on Sat, so that at any one time there is 2 bbs for my ILs to play with, if not my MIL & BIL will never get a chance to carry