(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Oh wow Sandra, Sarah really has an elephant appetite. But the problem is you latch her on all the time, so dun know how much she drinks. For Mel sometimes I thot she drinks for quite long oredi, then when I empty my breast, still have got quite a bit of milk. So I reckon she's not really drinking lor, maybe just sucking for comfort.

Re: Sleeping on her own

I thot I am finally able to "train" Mel to sleep on her own since last month, but then....Haiz. Since the whole discussion about sleep sense, I have been setting "routine" for Mel and she was able to sleep by 9+ - 10+ every nite. What I normally do is that I'll "prepare" her for bedtime, give her pacifier, "smelly pillow", kiss her good nite and leave her alone in her electric sarong cradle to sleep. Sometimes she'll toss and turn inside the cradle for a while before falling asleep. But lately, she is able to get up to sitting position in the sarong so I dun feel safe leaving her alone inside the room. If I try to put her in her cot, she'll try to stand and cruise from one end of the cot to the other. Cos she's not very stable, sometimes she'll loss control, fall and hit against the rail. So how mummies? Any suggestion what I can do? Afraid she'll go back to her 2-3am sleeping routine. As it is, she has been sleeping past mid-nite for the last 2 days. She's still wide awake in the bedroom now

Mamachan
So sorry!! I think I mixed up Daren's name with babylon's damien... sorry... blurred me... cos secretly log in during lunch very fast scan thru the post... so sorry...

RE: MILs
Yes hahaha so funny as i was reading thru all your posts! And i agree - MILs are all the same!! What you all have described is VERY much like my MIL too!
She loves to call "Janelle eh!!" very loudly each time she sees her - So loud that at first even i myself got a shock. And she loves to say "choom choom cha" and clap Janelle's hands. I was really irritated when she kept saying "choom choom cha" - i mean, what does it mean??? It has totally no meaning at all lor. When i complained to my hb he said that's her way of communicating to bb. But in my mind i'm thinking i don't want baby to grow up thinking that "choom choom cha" = clapping hands!! The correct word is "clap hands" and not "choom choom cha"!!

Also, do u all have a problem with older folks saying baby wants "neh neh"? Personally i find it crude-sounding. My PILs always talk about "neh neh" when they refer to me breastfeeding her.

mamachan,
Janelle also does the blowing cereal thing and can make a big mess out of it! Only difference is that i think she's doing it out of pure fun, rather than to indicate she doesn't want anymore cereal.

RE: baby's sleep
Flo, that's a tough one...now baby more active, even the cot is no longer safe!
i also have a problem with baby's sleep. Tried to follow sleep sense but at night, my gal will want me to stay by her side while she falls asleep. If i go out of the room she'll wail for me and won't calm down till i come back to stay by her side.

Also, my gal has been waking up at funny times. Last time it used to be 4/5am, but last nite it was 3am! Oh my. Dunno what happened to her sleeping pattern? And each time she wakes up, i'll have to nurse her before she goes back to sleep. She's very dependent on me nursing her before she can get back to sleep. Very jialat hor? How to get out of this habit??

Sandra,
It does seem like ur baby is eating a lot and at very short intervals, though i myself am really not sure how much should baby be eating now. Plus like what Flo said, it's tough to determine how much baby is drinking when u latch on.

My baby's schedule:
4/5am - latch on (1 side)
8/9am - latch on (1 side, sometimes 2 sides)
12pm - cereal (2 heap tablespoons + 1 or 2 cubes puree), followed by latching on
4pm - latch on
7pm - cereal (2 heap tablespoons + 1 cube puree)
8pm - latch on

Think i'm gonna increase her cereal intake to 3 tablespoons coz Janelle looks like she can eat more!

hv been too busy to check the forum.

re movie
thanks mummies, I watched pirates of the carr that day. qt nice.

sandra
aiya.. shld hv watched superman then.

mamachan
thanks.. how much is 1 haircut? and roughly how long do they take? was thinking of popping by during lunch.

queen/cass
if the flight crew don't allow the pram on board, then where did they put the pram? if the luggage? means they throw it ard? coz my pram is a light combi.. not those heavy wt type, so, surely cant take the throwing ard.

Yesterday Lucas did the unthinkable while I was bathing him....... HE GRABBED HIS CROTCH and refused to let go!!! Pulled and tugged at it somemore! Aiyo, must stop him and not let this become a habit.

Re: Gaia
I actually emailed the distributor and she told me there's going to be an event where there are good deals in August. I'm in the mailing list, so just wait lor. Meanwhile, I ordered California BB products from the spree... transfered $114 but haven't heard any news... hmmm how safe are BP and spree?

Re: Milk Intake
Lucas is only doing 500+ml each day, but he has a heavy lunch: 3 tablespoon of brown rice cereal + half jar of mixed veg puree (55g) + half an apple (bought the NZ sweet apples, very nice). Rest for about 30 mins and we feed him another 50ml of juice. His next feeding is 4.5 hrs later.
Think he likes solids but as his milk intake is low, dare not introduce second meal.

Re: Kitchen
My boy has an infatuation with kitchen and toilets. When we don't let him go in (carrying him), he'll scream. But half the time we still don;t and just let him scream lor.

Wonder why is Damien so week, woke up this morning and can feel that his body is warm so I measured his temperature.
Having fever againHe just recovered from vomiting last Sunday.

cookie
think maybe the BP cheaper last time cos they haven set their retail prices

Cindy
i also got the same info from the distributor. She told me i can just get one bottle to tide over the period till aug/sept. they have abt 3 lanuches.

wah his lunch sounds veyr heavy. so far each solid milk for JH is 2 tablespoon of cereal plus one baby carrot.

your boy so funny...likes the kitchen and toilets. mine like the mirror and the tap. he likes to wash hands.

babylon
do u try going to a different PD to get an opinion?

durianlover,
i LOL when u mentioned choom choom cha!!! wat's worst, choom choom cha or ang gu gu???!!! the latter is wat my mil does!! and she will the do the "rrrrr" thing with her tongue in super high pitch. (i can't do that coz i got passive tongue, so definitely can't speak tamil :p) the worst part is that edgar will actually likes it!! ARGH!! super no standard sia!!! dat's y my mil will always do it when she's w edgar. but fortunately she knows that i'm quite insecure, so whenever i'm around, she will tell edgar things like "mummy's home", "look, what is mummy doing?" " oh, mummy going to take a shower then come and carry u" etc... and she doesn't live with me, thou very near, like 7 mins walk. so still alright lah, doesn't make her such a monster in law! :p

and the neh neh part, i totally agree. since day 1, i told my confinement lady to refer to milk as MILK. no neh neh, or nen nen whatsoever. sounds so uncrass!!

krissie, u oso thinking of trying out gary,the hairstylist at taka issit? me oso tot of trying this weekend =D

sandra,
sarah's feeding sounds quite alot to me as well. but like wat other mummies are saying, coz u latch on, it's hard to determine if she's getting enuff milk or too much...

edgar's feeding schedule is much less compared to sarah's. currently i only intro 1 feed of semi solid and in small quantity coz juz started. will increase gradually. So for now he's schedule is as follows:

8.30am 180ml EBM
1pm 180ml EBM
5.30pm 180ml EBM
7pm 2 tablespoon cereal with 40ml EBM
9pm Nurse to sleep
Middle of the nite schedule is haywire but usually he requires me to latch him at least twice so that he can fall back to sleep.

i read that bb needs at least 600ml of milk per day till they are 1yo. so i guess juz make sure sarah's intake of solid food is not causing her to reduce her milk intake substantially. coz milk is still their main source of food till 1 yr.

Hi queen,

Re: ON Spree 2
You've got mail.

Hi SSF,

Have emailed you the list. You can have 1 more week to get back to me - I remembered the date wrongly.

RE: MIL
So it's confirmed huh? All MILs are the same everywhere!

Cookie,
my MIL too! That dat dat sound with her tongue... as if she's trying to get the attention of a pet, like a parrot or a cat! Sigh...

I told my hubby that I can help to take care of my daughter's children next time, since mother and daughter easier, but I will never help to take care of my DIL's children if I ever have a son!

babylon,
don't be too upset that damien is falling sick often. see it as a chance for him to build up his immune system. so next time he will grow up to be a strong young man! :D

cindy,
hahahaha... u must be soooo shocked! i read that children do masturbate thou they don't actually know what they are doing. they do it coz they feel good. but i guess dat's not wat lucas is doing ya! too young for dat!!! keke...

Sandra,
Yah... Sarah's feeding do seem very frequent, almost 1 to 2 hourly! Does she cry for feed after every 1 to 2 hours? Perhaps you can try stretching another 30 mins more for every feed and see if she protests. But then again, how's her weight gain? Not too much on the high side right? Then should be fine lah... Maybe she has high metabolism?

krissie,
They will bring to the cargo plane and chuck it with our luggage. I also brought a light 4.2kg Combi stroller to UK and had to collect it together with the luggage. It's ok lah... will not spoil the stroller if it's properly folded and locked.

Re. neh neh
I also find 'neh neh' curde. Luckily my MIL says 'milk milk' or 'ngai' (milk in cantonese'. Not too bad... I always say 'milk milk' to Isaac.

SY,
My boy also likes the tap! My MIL says sometimes she had to turn on the tap and run water to entertain him.

Re. Munchkin Food Feeder
My MIL has been feeding Isaac grapes. What she'll do is to peel off the skin, split it into half and remove the seeds. Then she'll hold it in Isaac's mouth for him to suck. There was once she told me that Isaac managed to 'bite' off a bit of the grapes and she quickly had to dis it out cos scared that he'll choke. Ok, after hearing that, I told my MIL I'll buy the food feeder for him, then don't have to worry about choking. She said no need, just be careful! Of course, I went out to buy anyway and passed to her. Yesterday, she told me she fed grapes to Isaac again without using the feeder. I don't know why she doesn't want to use it, dunno whether it's difficult to use or what! I was thinking so must wait till something happens then use the feeder is it? But I didn't say that to her lah.. cos she cannot take some of my comments sometimes. How ah? Tell my HB he also like 'stone' like that.

Cindy,
Haha... er, I don't think Lucas is masturbating lah. Most probably it's the first time he comes into contact with his 'wee wee' and must be very curious about it. My Isaac had touched his wee wee before, but not like tugged at it lah. But I also feel a bit uncomfortable and quickly swat his hand away.

SY,
My staff sale... but limited qty so could only offer to a few mommies who expressed interest the last time. There's still open qties. I can email you the details if interested, basically babycare , pantyliner, skincare... and KY too. But I can't put up list in public.

cindy
can email me? [email protected]

queen,
we always make my boy wash hands if he touched newspapers etc so he likes the tap veyr much now and he likes to look at himself in the mirror.

how come your MIL dun wan to use the feeder? shd be safer right...

Re: recipes

I've just compiled a few basic recipes for porridge and fruit, and vege puree for beginners... can then mix and match.. i'll add more later like how to make meat puree.. for more experienced mommies can add your tips and recipes for more fancy and interesting combinations... if any one got recipe for how to make ikan bili or white fish powder.. can also add on... thanx<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif

babyfood recipes.xls (21.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hey thanks mummies for ur feedback.

Celine, I know that bb's main food should be milk. But how to make sure she drinks 600ml/day? She die die refuse to drink from bottle. What I've been doing recently is to make sure she has some BM in the morning together with her cereal. Only 100ml though. The rest of the time I latch her on... =(

She loves her brown rice. Her bowl can be equivalent to 3/4 to 1 of our adult rice bowl. So it's really quite alot...

Don't think her metabolism is high for now. She still looks like michelin baby... =) She poos twice a day though.

I also hate the term 'neh neh' totally crass. Thankfully no one referred to my boobs as neh neh yet. =)

Hey thanks mummies for ur feedback.

Celine, I know that bb's main food should be milk. But how to make sure she drinks 600ml/day? She die die refuse to drink from bottle. What I've been doing recently is to make sure she has some BM in the morning together with her cereal. Only 100ml though. The rest of the time I latch her on... =(

She loves her brown rice. Her bowl can be equivalent to 3/4 to 1 of our adult rice bowl. So it's really quite alot...

Don't think her metabolism is high for now. She still looks like michelin baby... =) She poos twice a day though.

I also hate the term 'neh neh' totally crass. Thankfully no one referred to my boobs as neh neh yet. =)

sandra - ur bb definitely has a great appetite. i only fed my boy cereal TWICE a day. the rset of the feeding are just milk.

so funny reading all the MIL stories and yeah i do agree they like to repeat themselves and most of the time the words don;t make any sense at all! my FIL likes to say " ah huai dan ...huai dan ah...ta pi ku .." (naughty naughty..beat backside..beat backside) any meaning?? he said that even if my boy is just lying down and minding his own biz. haha...i don;t mind la but then when you guys complain i suddenly remember its happening to me too. haha...

any mummies here feeding dumex mamil gold and moving on to Step 2 already? i am still on step 1 lei..have not finish my bulk purchase yet. also lately i find my son not very keen on milk. not sure if its because of the FM. although the FM states can drink till 1 y/o. any mummies tried step 2 and any feedback?

sandra21

my girl doesn't drink a lot either.. latch on in am and pm like u and in between struggle to feed her 2 feeds of 160ml...however she eats 2 semi solids of cereal, with 90ml EBM and fruit/ vege puree (about 3/4 infant bowl) ...

I don't think u should worry leh... cos she's getting nutrients and calories from her cereal..

so far I checked with my PD she doesn't seem concerned abt the reduced milk intake leh.. even tho my girl is skinny skinny ... she says its ok...

my PD taught me that u should see how many equivalent mls of cereal bb is eating and if its a lot it will end up substituting as one feed cos bb's stomach can only hold so much..eg.. if feeding 150ml of cereal when mixed with FM, then baby prob. won't need much milk for subsequent feed

SY
u got mail!

sandra,
can't really help u there if she doesn't like the bottle. maybe u can try spoon feeding her or use a cup?? but i guess as long as ur PD isn't complaining and sarah is happy and healthy, i think u'r doing juz fine!

durianlover,

suction bowls come with suction at the bottom so that the bowl doesn't "run". I got the pigeon set which comes with 2 bowls with lids and 2 spoons - 1 for solid and the other for liquid.

sleepingdeer/yuki/durianlover,

same here! my gal also wants only mummy at night. When mummy is ard, she can be sociable. If not, terrible.

Y,

I steam carrots, pumpkins and chop them into small pieces then put into the feeder. I have also put lycees into for Charmaine to taste. She enjoys them very much. Not sure if lychees are okay for bbs though.

Re. Old Navy Spree 1
Our items have been shipped by ON!
Should get them in 2 weeks' about 10 days or so.

Cindy/Zhimin,
have added your items into the ON shopping bag.
One of your items has OOS. Let me know if you wnat replacement.

clare,

I support the idea of a cooking demo! so far, I have left the cooking to my mum. She has tried cooking porridge with spinach for Charmaine yesterday but think she doesn't like it. However, my mum said that she will try again cos spinach is rich in iron and bm is poor in iron and the iron stored in bb's body initially depletes after 6 mths so must introduce iron in diet.

Today i cook parsnip and apple for bb i thnk wrong combi as he doesn't like apple but parsnip is nice so he too at least 1/3 so not too bad.. tomorrow i will try just parsnip only...

tracy/SY,

I am going to Gold Coast and Sydney. I think it's cold in Sydney - just checked - it's 9 degrees! How to wear normal nursing clothes plus jacket? I will be leaving on 4 Aug night and coming back on 13 Aug.

SY,

where and when you are going?

RE : Munchkin Fresh Food Feeder
Thanks for all ideas. Will try tomorrow.

RE : Mirror
My boy loves the mirror. He'll look at himself and be so amused.

re: milk,

my mil does that as well! She also says nen nen which i find it very crude. my hubby corrects her that it's milk but she doesn't change! hiaz.

Re: neh neh
Sigh...i think i've gotta start correcting my PILs coz they LOVE to use the word neh neh! But how to correct them when my gal is already 6 months old? Imagine they've been saying neh neh for 6 months already..and everytime we go to their place (like once every 2 days) they will use that term at least 5 times (or even more!)!! Old habits die hard.

tabbiesus,
pls email me the recipes [email protected]

celine,
yes i know what you mean...haha! Both choom choom cha and ang gu gu have no meaning at all! Oh well...i guess it's just old folks' language to babies!

cindy,
so funny that ur boy likes kitchens &amp; toilets! haha!
my gal likes mirrors, and also likes washing hands

rena,
where to buy parnsip from?