(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Sleep deer,

Sounds wonderful
Glad that you are enjoying!
Anymore trouble with your MIL?

Megan also wants me in the evning when i return home.

Last night i walk straight to the kitchen to store my EBM and she was in the walker chasing me, crying for my attention. This blur mummy just continue walking..... Ha Ha

Hi Rena,

Aiyoh! Sound so dangerous! Thank god you both are fine! Judging by this incident, i think we should just keep our children away from the kitchen!

Do clean the kitchen thoroughly if your boy is on walker....

Is he teething? That's why so cranky?

Hi Cass - I will just put abt 4 small pcs of the dried scallop to cook the porridge. It's usually in bits & pcs by lunch time. It's mixed with the porridge & so Cephas will just chomp on it as well.

Rena - Oh dear! Hope everything's okie now.

Mongs - It's okie to cook a bit first. U can eat whatever is left over. I do that all the time. I have a bowl of Cephas' porridge at the end of Mon-Wed (Mum cooks) & Sat-Sun (I cook). Think it's quite healthy too

Rena,
Oh no...that sounds terrible. Hope everything is cleared up and fine now. Maybe the bb was "scared" of the accident at home yesterday and so wake up crying?

Sleepingdeer,
Me don't feel like working any more either. Everyday no mood to work plus work load got heavier since I returned from maternity due to changes in company structure. Very stressed so not doing well with the pressure of work & baby. However, my hubby not really for the idea of me becoming a SAHM. I think it's due to the money. Sighz....Unfortunately i am beginning to feel that boss not very happy with my performance...stressed. Don't know how...so low mood.

Oh btw, my boy boy finally poo poo (after 3 days since i first gave him FM). The pressure is a bit off for me to pump at work to try to make sure i have enough for him in case he can't adapt to FM....

thanks all,

as bb is not on walker so i think it is fine . the floor seems clean after washing and scrubbing..maybe sumo got a shock from it.. now have to be very careful with shelves

rena,
oh my! Must have been a big mess! Good thing can call ur mum's maid to help out

yuki & sleepingdeer,
my gal is also very sticky to me at night. Only i can put her to sleep...she doesn't want daddy at nite!

Re: ice cube trays
May i know where can we buy those ice-cube trays with lids? Never knew there was such thing!

Re: Munchkin plastic bowls
When you all say the bowls have "suction", what do u mean? Means can stick to the table?? How much are the Munchkin plastic bowls? Perhaps i should go buy some since i don't have any specific bowls for feeding baby!

Re: baby waking up at nite
I think i'm wrong...the semi-solids in the evening don't help my gal to sleep thru. Last nite she woke up again at 5:30am! I dunno whether is she really hungry when she wakes up, or does she just wake up out of habit? But either case, she'll only go back to sleep after i nurse her.

rena
hope everything is fine for you now!.. very scary hor..catch fire somemore...
Oh my colleague saw Elijah photo I took during swimming gathering.. they said he super cute..keke..

Sleeping deer
Very shiok hor.. my kaelyn still no sign of wan mummy only.. sad...think I got to spend more time with her.

Demny
u really steady ley...
Reading abt your dishes I feel like eating also keke.. sound like ABC soup!
1 qn... the veggie stock u mention, I know u wrote here bfore how to cook.. seems to also contain carrot and potaotes etc etc...
So u actually prepare the veggie stock serarately and then use the stock and put in more veggie ingredient to compleet the cooking?
I thought by adding carrot and potatoes and others to boil already is making veggie stock already.

Queen
same here.. I leave the porridge cooking to my MIL. she said she used to buy Pork Big bone to boil as stock for bb porridge..I no expert in this so just let her decide.

Re: ikan bilis/Yin yu powder
Any mummy thinking of prepare this to add into bb porridge?
I remember my mum prepare this for my baby brother then.. to eat.

Yuki,
Megan is on walker already?
Cna she crawl yet?
I bought a pusher walker and was wondering whether to let Isaac try push and walk. It's not the round kind, so I'm worried whether his legs can support his weight.

Rena,
Thats sounds scary!
How come the shelf will just drop? Must get your HB to check every screw in the kitchen.

durianlover,
re ice cube trays,
i bot mine at taka household section. near where they sell placemats, coasters etc... they have quite a selection, comes in different sizes. i oso saw NTUC @ bukit timah plaza selling.

like u, i oso don't have a specific bowl for edgar. think better go get one for him these few days.. =D

rena chew,
boy! sumo and u must hv gotten a shock!! *sayang sayang*

bb sticky to mummies:
i'm so envious to hear that some of u experience dat. for me, edgar seems abit nonchalant about seeing me upon returning from work. usually he juz gives me a smile, and dat's all. he doesn't see exceptionally happy upon seeing anyone, or shld i say he response in the same manner upon seeing anyone of us. even strangers!!! *sigh*...

Re: bb waking up at nite
Damien still wakes up 2 times every day1 am for feed and 5am for another feedingwonder when this will stop. Think this is a habit liao. Unlike his elder brother who was able to sleep thru when he is two month old.
First time mummy tat time, wake him up for feeding. Still do not know that I was so blessed with bb able to sleep thru when 2 month old.

cookie,
me same as u lah. bb doesn't have the "I WANT MUMMY ONLY" sign...
don't know is it he's overly friendly or wat... anyways, i'm juz glad he's happy and healthy

re ikan bilis powder,
i was about to post the same question! :p

babylon,
i oso wake up many times at nite. sometimes it's bcos he wants pacifier, some times it's becos he wants to feed. i'm totally zombified!!!!

mamachan, sleepingdeer,
read that both of u use the same hairdresser at taka,juz want to find out more. is he good in cutting short hair, as in crop hair? and how much does he charge for haircut huh? also how's he like? chatty kind, will give suggestions kind? or quiet quiet kind? sorry ar, so many questions,coz me tot of trying him out! =D

cookie and celine,

i use yin yu powder .. i wash the fishes then pat dry and toast in oven then i grind them and put a bit for sumo when he is having rice cereal or just plain puree

celine,

i think i am use to it with him waking up so often. and everyday he wakes up at around 630am and refuse to sleep.

Use to enjoy my sat and Sun to sleep late...but now...

celine
Yup, he's quite good with short hair styles, he can get really creative but he works on a respect and trust basis. I always ask him for suggestions and have been changing my hairstyle quite abit. As I do know him personally in church as well, I let him get creative with my hair lor, that is of course after he tells me what he has in mind. I do chat abit with him at times but he doesn't chat until you get annoyed type lah. He charges about $42 for my hair-cut. Planning to go back to him soon to cut my hair and also color

durianlover
Re: Plastic Bowls for feeding
What I got was the colorful plastic bowls (in the kid's section) for Daren. Comes in a pack of 5 or 6. Cheap Cheap, good good.

Dried Ikan Bilis and Dried Scallop
My MIL prepared the above for me, grinded into powder liaoz and store. Just got to cook the porridge in the mini-crockpot she bought and then add in with the porridge to cook. Tried cooking for Daren twice when he was 5 months plus but he didn't like it, not sure at that point of time he also had no appetite due to the vomitting episode he had.

Tupperware Parties
Any mummies interested? I've got a friend who's into tupperwares and can do a pizza making demo with their special fryer! Haha. Am getting a few items myself, especially their ice cube tray with the cover lid. Can make it into another gathering

rena,
thanks for ur advice. u buy those fresh yinyu from the market right? are they salty?

babylon,
i'm still not used to it leh. now i come to work everyday with dark eye rings...

mamachan,
thanks for ur reply. mayb i shall try him out.. thanks! =D

Hi Queen,

Yes, Megan can crawl already. She's very determined in getting what she wants so she will crawl forward to obtain the object. Initially when she can;t really crawl yet, She will be on all fours and 'leap' forward (like a frog). Very funny. My elder gal did that too.

She was on walker since 5 month plus. In my opinion, slightly too early so i ask my mum to cut short each session,( not more than 15 minutes each time) and not so frequent.

She can support her self cos everytime we carry her by the underarms, she can stand on our legs and kick and attempt to climb up our stomach, shoulders and even head!

Pusher walker more for later stage right? Only when he's learning how to walk? Now like too early. Walker, at least when tired, they can sit down.

My elder gal can walk by 12 months. For many days she walked only baby steps and a few steps only. One fine day, when she was in church whereby the whole room was lay with the rubber mat, she just walk and walk and walk! Total i counted 18 steps without falling. From there she gain confidence adn started walking! So i guess the trick is to make the environment safe for baby to learn to crawl and walk.

Re: tupperware parties
Come to think of it, i suddenly remember i hv a colleague's fren who always comes to sell us her tupperwares. Think i shall contact her to stock up on tupperwares for baby food preparation! But i find tupperwares a bit ex leh.

mamachan,
when u say u get colourful bowls from kid's section, which kid's section are you referring to? NTUC? Ikea?

celine,
It actually feels quite nice when my gal only wants me and no one else. She's generally a very sociable baby, but only at night she'll prefer me. Yet i'm also concerned that if this continues, it means that i can never go on trips without my gal if not i'll be worried whether she can sleep, etc etc!

yuki,
my gal also does the 'frog leap' thingy that u described! So fast Megan can crawl already!

Re Feeding Solid
I am absolutely clueless too when it comes to cooking, so now I'm trying hard to collate as much information as I can START learning to cook... starting with my baby. So if anyone can start posting "Cooking Baby Food for Dummies : A Step-By-Step Guide" it would be EXTREMELY helpful... hee hee

Re SAHM Gathering
I will be on leave from 31/7 till 7/8. Any chance of another SAHM gathering after 25/7?? =)

Rena,
Wah really so scary leh... hope Sumo was not affected by the sudden incident.

I was just telling some mummies on MSN the other day that Ashley has been "waking up" crying n screaming suddenly in her sleep for a few nights. She would be crying so hard tears rolling down and i noticed she was actually still sleeping. I quickly hug & hush hush n pat pat her in her cot n give her pacifier, soon she will calm down n fall back asleep. Thank God it only happen once or at most twice a night and usually before we all went to bed. I was told it was probably cause by nightmares... poor thing. I make it a point to pray with her before and after she falls asleep and so far for the past 2 nights she has been sleeping well (except for slight teething discomfort) so hopefully no more night mares for her.

Wah....so many postings

Clare,
Haha...me like u. Clueless too. Some mummies are so good with it. I look at the menu and as compared, mine very boring. Only gave cereal, apple so far. Wanted to try carrot and banana but mum not keen.

RE : Munchkin Freshfood Feeder
Err...wat can we put inside? If i steam the apple, it wld already be so soft. Heard so much great feedback abt it. Advise?

celine,cookie,
my baby also wun look for me when i reach home. i was telling the others on MSN that in hkg, my MIL was carrying her n when i wanted to takeover, my silly Megan turned away. wah...MIL soooo happy. even said,'she dun wan u liao, she wans grandma!'

i was fuming...i simply pulled megan away. so irritating...

Hi Celine,
I've been with Gary for about 6 years now, he is chatty, but not the kind that is super talkative... he does good short hair, and after a while I just totally trusted him... whatever he does to my hair is fine by me... at the end of the day, at least I know I won't rush to the toilet to fix my hair immediately after the haircut... you know what I mean?

Yuki, durianlover,
yes, the feeling is sweet when bb wants only you... or your hubby and no one else... I always smile to myself when I see her start crying whenever other people carry her except my hubby and me...

Y,
RE: Munchkin feeder
I am still trying to get Shannon used to it... the apple will be soft, but bb can bite the feeder and suck the juice out... little bits will also come through the feeder, and bb can eat it without risk of choking. So far, Shannon just uses her hand and makes pulp of the apple inside the feeder... no inclination to grab it with her mouth... patience, i guess!

Re Motor Skills
When I tell my HB how some of your babies are developing (eg. flipping, crawling, etc) he would be very worried about Ashley's motor skills. Ashley is coming 7months n to date she still does not flip. I noticed since 6 months she's doing the "pre-flipping" action of swinging both her legs to the side (which i recalled some of your babies are already doin at 4months) but she just does not flip. She does not like to be put on her tummy for long too but she likes to be seated and can seat quite firmly by herself unsupported (we do still have to help by extend our hand for her to pull herself up though). When we carry her uder her arm pits for her to "stand" her feet n "bounce" her, her feet doesn't seem to be exerting much strength to "bounce" back too. While I do understand flipping may not a milestone in general but HB can't help but worry if she is indeed too slow in her motor skills. Should I see a PD?? Or maybe she's just plain lazy??

Rena,
can try onion already is it? I wanted to make soup stock for porridge and cereal, but didn't know whether onions are okay yet...

Oh BTW, anyone know whether we can introduce corn to bb? I'm keen to make a soup stock with corn, carrots, onions, and pork bone.. my neighbour said it's useful and easy... the stock can be kept and used to make porridge, marcaroni (when they are older), mixed with potato or mix with cereal...

Clare,
Shannon too, she started flipping when she hit 4 months, then after that, she now refuses to do it herself, unless really provoked, as in ANGRY coz we dun want to flip her... sigh, I think she is plain lazy or just forgotten how to do it! As for sitting, she has been sitting steadily now for a few days, so everyday, I make her practise by letting her sit by herself... so far, getting stronger except she sometimes topple over... haha... mean mummy here just laughs and put her back to sitting position... and she just smiles along and carries on playing with her toys or her 'royal' bloster..

Hmm.. i was thinking... can we have a "Cooking cum Sharing" demo gathering?? So a few experts like Denmy n Rena n others can demo a dish each and the rest of us (MEEE especially) can see n take notes n ask silly questions??

Just to share something funny

Cephas has not started crawling using his hands and knees. However, he is moving around flat on his tummy pushing with his hands and feet.

I think he is learning to sit up and so has been pushing himself and moving backwards. When we placed him on a pillow, he will make the same rocking motion. He looks like a little doggie humping the pillow. Oh my goodness! It has happened a few times this week and my HB is so amused by the action.

It can be funny and embarrassing at the same time. Hope he does not do it when we are outside!

Hi Clare,

Don't worry too much. I guess some babies just skip some steps. If you are concern just check with the PD when you bring ashley for jab?

My elder gal ashley is faster in achieving her milestones as compared to her two month younger cousin. In terms of motor skills, speech etc.... But now that they are three years old, more or less the same. So don't worry too much. I read in some magazines, by age 4 or something, most will be able to catch up in everything.

Had a friend's child who don't crawl but just started walking!

celine..
ya tho if she show I WANT MUMMY sign.. I will be very shiok la.. like so deprive hor..
as long as she is healthy..

hehe great midn think alike!

Rena
You bought those cooked yin yu? not those dry one it is?... cos yin yu got 2 type.
My MIL say the dry one TOO satlty lor..

Re: Stock for porridge
The STock brew already can keep in the fridge for how many days?? must store in air tight container?

Tracy
I will strangle my MIL (imaginary).. if she say the same words to me...
and YES I wll do the same, take over from her right away.
Think your MIL too much...never spare a thought for your feelings...haizzz

Hi Sysac,

Ha Ha. You should capture these in videos! Don't miss out! If will be very fun to look back at all these! Especially when Cephas is older and can appreciate it! Ha Ha.

I show ashley video of her birth, baby etc and she was very proud of it, pullung the maid from kitchen to 'watch her on TV'. But when come to the part where she was jsut born, bloody and all, she freak out! I regret not censorring that part!

Hi Durian lover,

The action was very funny right? Ha Ha.

I wonder if it's the genes (my hubby's genes). According to my MIL, my hubby can walk at ten months. Both my gals very active, megan even more so. Megan is motivated by the object far away so she will try her very best to reach, thus have to crawl..... And she can't sit still, even carry her, she will turn and twist about to see all angles....*faint*. Quite hard to carry her lah.

Hi cookie and Tracy,

Ya. Sometimes they said things without thinking of the consequences.

Better start training the caregivers to let the baby know who is the mummy and make it a habit to let the baby know that they are going back with the parents at night.

My cousin had trouble bringing her gal back cos the gal stick to her grandma, the caregiver. Ahd to cultivate from young that baby always goes with the parents.

But then sometimes may backfire... baby stick too much to parents, parents can't have a break! Ha Ha

Yuki,
My mum brings Ashley goes to the polyclinic for her jab and the nurse just ask simple questions like is she alert and then say its ok... somehow a bit doubtful... if necessary I'd have to specifically find time to bring Ashley to the PD.

Btw wow so nice your Ashley has got videos. How i wish I could video my girl too but the daddy dun wan to spend the money on a video cam. Humph... Think later in years HE will regret coz he's so attached to Ashley now.

Hi Clare,

Ya i do suggest to pay a visit to the PD if you are concern. Just do it so that you will not keep thinking about it

We borrowed the view cam from other lah. Ha hA. So now later years, ashley don't have videos liao. Ha Ha.

Megan has only a fiction of video as compared to ashley. Really - first child and second child different.

hi clare,
if u are concerned, maybe u can bring Ashley for an assessment by the PD?
But Caleb did not flip till he is 5mths+. Now he only know how to flip from his back to tummy, but duno how to flip back yet.
Initially we are also very worried cos Jan 06 babies seems to develop pretty fast. But guess each bb is unique.. so not to worry ya

Clare

It's perfectly fine not to flip. I read on internet b4, said that some babies skip the flipping part and went straight to sit. Think Ashley belongs to this group. My boy also didn't flip previously. He prefered to sit. So end up he sat unsupported before he finally flipped at 6mths+. I was worried like u too, but found that some babies just don't like to flip and it's perfectly fine. Now my boy's flipping like crazy, so difficult to change his diapers sometimes.

Clare,
i also think it's perfectly alright not to flip. Read that it's common for babies to skip the flipping stage, then straightaway learn to sit up. Since Ashley can sit up, guess it's alright! Don't be stressed just because the babies on this forum can flip! Each baby is unique

yuki,
Yah i also think 2nd child sure different. In fact, many times i reminisce the earlier days when Janelle was a newborn, how nice it was to be first-time parents, etc etc. Then when i tell hb that i miss those days, he'll say why don't have a 2nd one to 'relive' those feelings? But i think that 2nd one sure different already!