(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tracy,

your list of things to bring is very useful! Thks!
I am considering if I shd bring EBM onboard or just latch her on? any advice?

Re: get away
I also wanna go Japan...I have 2 bonus ticket from North west... waiting for me only...
But I dun think my hb will agree to go now or near future.. cos he always say bb is too young.
Esp if I join tour package.. not time to steam bottle hor.. must steam all bottles at one go and bring along everywhere we go?... esp now bb start semi-solid.. must cook porridge??... wow how to cope har?

Thanks all mummy - SSF, sysac, sy, demny, sunny,flo, sleeping deer for sharing on the bowl..
hope I never miss out anyone..

Hope I can on leave on Friday and start kaelyn on cereal ... looking fwd...

wa so many postings to read..

i trying to stop myself from becoming a computer addict..coz all i do is sit in front of the computer nowadays..

Re: Holidays with BB

recently i had to make a last min rush trip back to singapore with hb, so left renee in vietnam with my maid and my father-in-law... i cant describe my regrets on boarding the flight!!! i just felt like a terrible, bad mother for abandoning her in vietnam.

i was like looking and lookin at her photo thru out the flight to singapore. and calling and calling my maid so often when i was there. i couldnt even sleep at night...

so, for me, i think i wouldnt let that happen anymore! maybe if she was a little older..but then again .. maybe not. hb says will go to korea during the new year..i cant wait but if renee is not going then i guess i rather all not to go.

SSF

Oic. It's alright if u stick to the main town areas. But if outskirts like Hakone, Nikko, then will be tougher. Coz the place is quite hilly. Autumn is a beautiful time to go. You can pre-arrange to visit the imperial castle for free. Can't remember the website. But can search for the website. The path to Meiji shrine is filled with small stones. So if u intend to go there, bring your sling.

Thanks SL..
I bought the munchkin one cos got suction too!

cookie
actually my parents and hb not in favor of bringibg bb hol when so young. i spent a lot of time convincing them. in a way, i just go ahead to decide that i m bringing him. my mum did offer to take care of him when i go hol but i say that i can't bear to leave him behind. so in the end they are coming along..haha

Just to ask for your advise bout selling off an unopened tin of Dumex Mamil Gold Step 2. I bought originally at $26.10 from NTUC, but when Daren was near finishing his 2nd tin of the 400g, seems like he didn't take it too well. So decided to swtich to Promil Gold Step 2. I put up on the market exchange corner wanting to sell at $25 plus giving away a $5 Dumex Voucher to be used at NTUC. Is the selling price too high??

One of the mummies replied my post " Price too high, that's why no one buy"

But I'm thinking, since I'm giving away the $5 Dumex voucher, it'll work out to some form of savings right?

One mummy PM me and asked to buy at $18! Wah! that's $8 off... am I being too niao??

sl,
if u can direct latch, i tink that would be easier. very most, ask stewardess to let you have a private area to BF. i'm sure they have. cos the seats with bassinet are located near toilets and people tend to pass by your place.

re:infant fare
dunno why but my infant fare to hkg was quite high including tax lah. was like 40% of adult fare!!

but was checking qantas, infant fare only 10% of adult fare...hmm...

mamachan,
unopened tin leh...S$18 is too much to ask lah..who was that stingy mummy? i tink ur offer of S$25 + S$5 discount is good enuf, cos this works out to about $20, ie almost 20% discount!

cookie,
my nights in hkg was spent sterilizing the bottles lor..can only sterilize 2 at a time, so gotta do 3x (6 bottles)...haiz..

cookie
The slow cooker to cook porrideg is a good investment. One very PLUS point is that you don't have to watch over the fire of the stove or check the water levels of the pot used to cook porridge.

Tracy/SY
Ok, thanks for your input. For a moment I thought I'm asking for too much. I mean I can understand that we go on forums to look for good bargains, but in this instance, like unopened big tin of formula, I feel that abit too much to ask for so much discount. Even if buy in bulk from Dumex, still work out to $20 per tin.

denmy- aiya my hb also told me want to bring me go europe until my boy popped out. so now can go tokyo..consider good for me too. hehe...

mashybrain - i also just ordered my infant tix. the sia lady quite good help me settle everythg. my boy flight to tokyo is 498 incl. all taxes. thks for your advice. will definitely bring my carrier along.

esther_lee - haha u got the same feeling as me when i am in HK. my hb keep looking at the pics he took on his hp. haha..

mamachan - i think those ppl who initially place the price sort of spoil the market. so that's why ppl are expecting prices to slash like siao. take for e.g the DOM...outside is selling very ex. even in duty free shop sells like 50 bucks. and u can buy from this forum at $25...and i mean unopen. so i think are all looking for cheap buys.

Mamachan

Personally, I feel that if just a little bit of discount, might as well buy from supermarket coz still need to arrange pick up from you. So for me, i think $25 is too high. take bus also more than the savings liao. Not worth the hassle. For the $5 voucher, it's like free anyway, u know what i mean, pp will not put that into consideration. And like you said, pp can order by bulk and have it delivered to their homes at less than $25 lor. So who will buy from u leh?

That time, I bought a tin of S26 from the mkt here too. Paid $18 for that brand new tin.

Yah, pp expect low prices here. But got sellers willing to sell at that price, bo bian lor. I only managed to sell my DOM for $30 too.
But also bought a Safety First Exersaucer for $40. So, i guess you win some, you lose some. Willing seller, willing buyer.

Cookie - I scoop out into the bowl and let the porridge cool b4 feeding Cephas. Cant' do it in the slow cooker as the pot is still on. I only switch off after dishing out his dinner portion.

SY - I do not blend my porridge. It's soft purree state by lunch time and even more 'nua' at dinner time.

Cookie,
I am also in the ask a lot question on semi-solid club ;p My boy only had cereal so far. Nothing else. So very lost abt how to prepare food for him.

Btw, i remember some mummy mention freezing the puree. Sounds like the mummies are freezing in "cubes". How to freeze? Cook already put in ice tray with water & then freeze ah?

SH,

after you puree the food, you can put into the storage cubes and put it into the freezer to freeze.

You can add water to your puree before/after freezing.

I use individual cubes with lids to freeze them If you use ice trays, best to have those with a lid.

SH,
My boy is on Similac too, no problem so far..only constipate once.. when we were abroad, but i attribute it to the water there!

Mashy;
"Ngoh He" is threadfin. I was curious to find out too, and asked the fishmonger at Carrefour last sunday.

Re: Porridge

sleepingdeer;
I didn't blend the porridge leh, just made sure there're no lumps. u mean u put the cooked porridge in a blender?

sysac;
issit ok to give bb dried scallops? how much do u put in your bb's porridge?

Cass,

me kaypoing

my friend told me not to out dried scallops coz she says..one of her friends did that and now the baby refused to eat bland porridge..coz she says the dried scallops make the porridge sweet.

she says why bother since not much vitamins.

but i personally think its ok

Hi CassCL & SY,
Yup, for my case, i put the porridge, carrot and pork in the blender, my gal doesn't swallow lumpy stuff, she just spits it out, so I make sure that the porrideg has no lumps...

hey esther;

thanks for the tip. my baby hates porridge (haiii..after all the preparation).
will try a few more time, if still yield the same result, i'll just stick to rice cereal and fruit/vege purees.

cass,

no worries..i have people telling me tat its ok not to eat porridge ah..afterall porridge is only carbo which the bb dun really need much at this stage.

you can do more puree like chicken with papaya etc..

am i right ah? denmy and other mummies?

Rena,
SAHM / PTHM
At Rena's house

25th July 2005 Tuesday

1) Rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb
3) Denmy + bb (TBC)
4) wenyl + bb

Wat time is it?

esther
baby dun need much carbo at this stage?
though I'm not sure.. but I always though bb need the carbo to convert into energy as they are very active now learning crawl, cruise, stand and walk later. SO I thought carbo is essential.
Anyway a well balance diet.. must contain a good amt of carbo.
Unless pple diet like me :p... cannot take much carbo.

cookie,

tats wat one of the mothers in this forum told me..at this stage la..after 7 mths or so she say then give porridge is also ok

tats why i also ask denmy the expert.

i follow annabel karmel's cook book..no porridge coz they ang mo ma

cookie, esther,
I also not too sure about whether carbo is important or not at this stage... i am just a follower of Annabel Karmel. Now that i live with my mum, Keenan eats quite a fair bit of porridge in the evenings. He's tried:
1. Porridge with watercress, cooked with pork and veg stock;
2. Porridge with spinach, cooked with veg stock;
3. Fish porridge (he loves this one)

Today i made him AK's Lovely Lentils (split red lentils, onion, celery, carrot, potato, cooked with veg stock)he loves this one also.
apparently, lentils are good for brain development. I even diluted the blended puree with hot water, added salt and serve as soup to Ethan, and he loves it too...heehee

The other day, I made spinach and potato (onions, spinach, potato, cooked in veg stock). Ethan had some too. I just add some chopped cheddar and sprinkle on top for him.

Tomorrow, it will be porridge again la... my mum's turn. Then I'll try courgette and pea souper day after... will let u know if it's a hit with Keenan and Ethan.

o yes, for brunch, i gave Wheatbix (Australian; meant to use Witabix but cannot find in NTUCs) with FM and mashed banana or papaya. Keenan loves it too.

Tabbs,
Got a few recipes here liao for your compilation.

Esther,
Thanks for the info. Is this storage cube something special for preparing baby food that i can buy?

One more question: How to add water after freezing?

RE: Trip with BB
I agree that we will definitely miss baby very much. But come to think of that, after giving birth, I am very attached to Jamie and have less time with hb. Hb always grumble " You want BB dun want me already" So I think if I were to be given a chance to travel with HB I will go without Jamie. But of cos I have to leave her with someone I trust and it's my MUM!

RE: Jamie's hair clip
Saw this clip during my lunch time, I like it very much so bought for her. Acutally it is very difficult to clip on as her hair is thin. Not much hair if u can see. I told her that Mummy is going to put something very nice on ur hair and u will look very pretty. And she sat there quietly for me. Brought her to the mirror after that and she is smiling at herself. But the removing part a bit difficult.

Denmy,
U are VERY adventurous in preparing ur sons' menu! Peifu peifu! Indeed our food guru!

I m still stuck with instant cereals most of the time.....slowing moving into cooking brown rice for my Ethan.

MORE FOOD RECIPES
Here is a good link for baby food recipes. Check it out!
www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

denmy

ur recipes sound yummy, can email me exactly the step by step recipe like how much of each ingredient to add.. then i'll compile and put on the website...

Anyone else got recipe for porridge can contribute too... but if can give exact portioning and cooking tech better cos some of us mommies not very experienced or will just be passing recipes to grandparents to follow so gotta be specific... thx..

re: crock pot
Which brand and where u get? What size is suitable for baby?

Re: steamer
Anyone bought those tiered steamers? Is it useful? Which brand is good?

re: fruit puree and cereal

when u add fruit puree eg. apple or pear to cereal, do u mix the cereal with FM like normal and then spoon in the apple or just mix with the juice of the apple/ pear or mix with water then add puree? Just asking cos having some disagreement with my mom abt how to mix the fruit puree with cereal...
so far my girl is on plain puree/ plain cereal but not mixed together..

Denmy,
the purees you prepare, can it substitute a cereal meal? I'm preparing purees but wondering whether it can substitue a cereal meal completely. How much to give if can?

tabbiesus,
I prepare the cereal mixed with BM/FM, then spoon in the fruit puree and mix again.

Re. Annabel Karmel recipes
I have a soft copy.
If interested, can PM me!

Re. porridge,
Think I will just leave it to my MIL to prepare. She'l lprobably know what to put in...
Don't want to say too much, scared she thinks I'm making too many comments again! But purees, I'll just prepare frozen ones for her.

Denmy

Lucky Ethan and Keenan, I am sure they look forward to meal time everyday
Btw, can give Keenan Weetbix? I thot is meant for adults cos there is raw suger and salt?

Hi CassCL,

My elder gal doesn't ike porridge so it's creal for her all the way till she's 12 months old. From then on she ate rice with lots of soup.

My mum cook porridge with carrots and cod fish for my second gal megan and she doesn;t like it too. So we were wondering if she's going to be like the Jie Jie......

Anyway my elder gal is strong and healthy so no worries if your child doesn't like porridge.

Hi Denmy,

I really 'Peifu' you! All those cooking you describe sounds so complicated to me! I don't even know what are some of the things you wrote and where to get them or how they look like! No wonder your sons enjoy the food!!!!
Sound delicious!

Rena,
SAHM / PTHM
At Rena's house

25th July 2005 Tuesday

1) Rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb
3) Denmy + bb (TBC)
4) wenyl + bb

Wat time is it? 2 plus onwards

Denmy,

I have tried some recipes too but i still do not know what are split red lentils and courgette.. me very chinese chinese so ang mo recipes me very blur..

Hi Yuki,
still adjusting, but it's been wonderful so far... I love the time I get with Shannon, and it's a joy when come evenings, she gets cranky and only want me... hee hee.. that aside, I'm there to see her development day by day, no regrets thus far...

I only start thinking what-ifs when I wonder what's gonna happen when I return to the work force a few years later, will anyone still want me? But for the time mean, just enjoying!

Yesterday me have a big accident at home... as i was steaming bb porridge.. the sauces shelf fell on to the fire and all the sauces fell to the floor and broke .. some caught fire... my god , luckly me and bb were in the living room.. can you image what happen if we were in the kitchen!! the kitchen was in a big mess and the floor has full of glass.. so bo bain call my mom's maid over to help me clear.. haiz.. bad day..

Last night bb woke up at 4 am for mlk and 5 am cryign again..
duno why these days he quite a cry bb leh.. stress stress

clariss is taking 2 cubes of purees per day for dinner and 1 scoop (using my annum scoop)of cereal for her midday solids, very little altogether but she don't seems to want more. in fact the last mouthful, she will use her hand to sweep it away. I want to introduce porridge and fish but how to cook so little porridge.