(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY,
i think for porridge, no need to add chicken or pork stock yet. For a start can cook it plain. Can use slow cooker or corningware, just that corningware will take a long time and must watch the fire, so i guess slowcooker is easier in that sense.
Vegetables - carrot, potato, sweet potato, broccoli, peas. Can choose either of these for a start! Of course there're many others, but can start off with these first. For a start, must mash all the vegetables till it becomes puree form - easier for baby to eat.

Yes, can add in new stuff after 3 days. Test out 1 new ingredient for 3 full days first. If all ok, can go on to add another one, or switch to new ingredient

mummies;
how do u get ur bbs to eat porridge??

i tried cooking porridge with slow cooker, added carrots and 'ngoh he', but my boy hated it.
he doesn't mind baby rice cereal with carrots or sweet potatoes puree.

durianlover;

It might just be the rice cereal. when we first fed rory rice cereal, he slept thru' the night for the first time! We woke up feeling like its Christmas morning, so damn happy!

Like Janelle, he used to wake up around 4-5am for a feed, now with solids..he sleeps for 11 hours at night.

Denmy,
I would defnitely LOVE to bring BB for every trip BUT on the 2 trips (when Ashley was 2 mths n 6mths) that I did not managed to convince HB to bring her, I think I enjoyed the couple time also (though i did cry when i had to say bye bye to her)... and I think you're bringing Ethan right? Florence has a very good point too, to let Ethan be the main attention again, n maybe after the trip Ethan will end up missing his brother n loving his brother more too! SOOOO... if you have a very trusted person to leave Keenan with, my vote would be to... (i hate and I can't believe I'm saying this)...not bring BB (~~ooooh so cruel meee....):

Re: holiday with bb

1. Cookie (tho I have not done it myself :p)
2. sunny (i want my gal to be with me all the time except the time i go work! hehe)
3. tracy
4. queen
5. rena ( you will miss your bb like mad)
5. CassCL (we've done it twice cos can't bear to be away from bb!)
6. Wenyl
7. Sysac (I wld! That's y we had baby in the first place! To share everything together)
8. durianlover (i'll miss bb too much! Plus i dun trust my parents nor my ILs to take care of baby for more than 1 day)
9. Mashybrainz
10. SH
11. sl

Not To Bring BB:
1. Maywong (Time to relax with hb ever since the birth in Jan, time together is shorter)
2. Florence (if you can leave him with someone whom u trust)
3. MamaChan (like what Florence say, if you can leave bb with someone u trust. Great for couple time alone too. Marraige is as impt as children are to the parents. Give your hb some lovin')
4. AK
5. Clare

(ps: FYI for my 3rd trip (dunno when it will be) I would STILL try to convince HB to bring AShley... hee hee)

SY - No need to add stock. Somehow, it will be tasty after cooking all the ingredients together. I added dried scallop after 3 days cos I wanted to taste the difference. It was slightly tastier. Cephas also chomped on the bits & pcs of dried scallop when we fed him.

CassCL - For me, we just fed and he ate the porridge. Cephas did cringe for the first 2 mouthfuls. After that, he was just chomping away

So far, we have introduced carrots, potatoes, sweet potato, pumpkin, wolfberry, scallop, cod fish, ngoh he, spinach, cauliflower. We alternate the ingredients for his meals.

In his case, constant ingredients are the wolfberry & dried scallop.

Day 1 - Carrot/Ngoh He/Spinach
Day 2 - Potato/Cod fish/Cauliflower
Day 3 - Sweet potato/Ngoh He/Spinach
Day 4 - Pumpkin/Cod fish/Cauliflower

etc etc...

Honestly, we have also let Cephas try fruits as & well we eat. We just let him taste to see his reaction. We have tried durian, grape, papaya, watermelon, apple & kiwi. Somehow, this boy is super adverturous. He will smile/chuckle happily after a few licks of everything.

Our policy is to let him try what we think is within our limit

Finally my boss is out of office for lunch... quickly log in a while using the shared pc...

I need advices!
Yesterday hb mentioned probably we can plan a short trip to HK early August... I wanna bring bb along too... but really clueless on how to do it...

Any mummies kind to share with me the oversea experiences? And any things to take note? I will post more detailed questions when I am back home tonight... now very "xin ku" secretly posting msg using this stupid pc.

Does bb need to take any extra jab before going oversea?

Browse thru the photos... Jamie looks so cute with the clips... May, how u do it? wont it be painful?

Damien so cute enjoying HT biscuit... but looks like he can manage well... I gave to Clarisse and she stained her clothes from top to bottom plus her hands and face and hair!! After finished her hands still with the smell cant get rid... I tried the biscuit myself I think is a bit sweet leh.

Denmy - My holiday to Bintan in Oct is confirmed. Will be there for 4 days. Gonna bring Cephas & it will be his 1st trip overseas. Oh yes! Just rem need to send in his application for passport!

I left him to go Genting with HB when he was 10 wks old. HB convinced me abt spending couple time before I return to work. I was miserable! I thot of him all the time! Constantly wishing for the time to pass by. Though we did enjoy the trip, I kept feeling something missing after 10 weeks of bonding with Cephas. When we left Genting to come back, I was speeding on the highway just to make it back fast. Not safe & not good for the mind

SH;
If you've only given your boy 1 feed of FM since monday, it shouldn't affect your bb's bowel movement too much. Try to let him drink more water..which brand of FM did u give?

Wah seems all mummies are arranging for a trip with bb

sysac - which hotel u staying? I stayed at nirwana garden and the fridge is not chill enough. just FYI if you intend to use it.

updating my comments as it was missing after so many add on.

2. sunny (i want my gal to be with me all the time except the time i go work! hehe)
3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
7. Sysac (I wld! That's y we had baby in the first place! To share everything together)
8. durianlover (i'll miss bb too much! Plus i dun trust my parents nor my ILs to take care of baby for more than 1 day)
9. Mashybrainz
10. SH
11. sl
12. SSF (brought my boy to Bintan b4 and now planning for Oct trip to TOkyo! so yeah bring bb along..u will miss him so badly when u see ppl with their babies)

Not To Bring BB:
1. Maywong (Time to relax with hb ever since the birth in Jan, time together is shorter)
3. MamaChan (like what Florence say, if you can leave bb with someone u trust. Great for couple time alone too. Marraige is as impt as children are to the parents. Give your hb some lovin')
4. AK
5. Clare

hi zhimin

I'm going back to HK during the first week of august... going to fly by cathay...

I brought my girl back when she was 4months.. no problems... i was breastfeeding then... i actually brought frozen EBM on the plane (took sia the last time) and asked the crew to put in their freezer.. no problems...

U can buy the discounted ticket for adults now.. think SIA having discount for 2 to go and then u can buy infant ticket at airport at the counter. Or u can call up SIA and ask how to get the infant fare.. i don't like the attitude of SIA.. i had so much trouble getting my infant ticket...very upset with their service.. haha so going to slime them online :p this time choosing to fly by cathay.. already the service RE: infant ticket is so good.. can already pre book the bassinet and the baby food and the diaper size can be chosed via email.. so good.. SIA no such thing! just give u a bag on the flight that's all.. and their pampers is dunno what type.. really horrible... anyways.. i just breast feed if baby make noise on flight.. also must feed when plane takes off and lands to help baby equalise pressure in ear. I think u can get hot water on the plane to make FM but that time i breastfed.

HK not so pram friendly.. so i didn't bring pram.. just use those face forward slings to carry baby around...

But actually, all the essentials are available in HK if u need anything from cereals to diapers.. can get there if u forget.. some more hK having summer sale then... so can go shopping..

I stay in inlaws in hK so don't need to bring bath tub cos they bought one... u might want to bathe baby with u in hotel tub.

Hi Denmy,

I haven't been to any holidays since my first child! Reason is that i can't bear to leave her, now them behind.... But i felt it's too troublesome to bring them along. Contradicting right?

Plus it's my mum who look after them, i will feel very guilty towards my mum too - that i am out enjoying but she has to look after them.

Somedays i took leave to go pat toring with hubby and even till now, i always have the guilt feeling..... Towards the end of the end, you'll see me flying off th stairs to reach home to see my darlings.

So far, both my gals have never spend the night away from me, except my elder gal once (when i fell sick during confinment).

My hubby also wants to bring them if we are to go on a trip.

Cos we 'fang bu xia' thou my mum took very good care of both my girls.

If you can, it would be good to have some couple. I agree with MamaChan. Children is important but hubby is important too.

zhimin - i ask my PD what jab is required if i bring my boy to Japan. he said Japan is OK. depend on the country you are gg, they will advise if a vaccine is required. he told me to go to his clinic before i depart to get some common medicine for cough, flu, fever etc. he said for infants..if not feeling well, preferably to bring him see a doctor asap. and he funnily said for japan..maybe need a interpretator. haha..

Hk can be very challenging. i just came back with my hubby(without bb). and the eating place is cramped, small and if you are unfortunate, the person sharing with ur cramp table will be smoking. also no proper place to change ur bb diaper. Tracy however brought her bb to HK. so u can check with her on it

Oops SSF, sorry I just realised I accidentally deleted your name from list #1. Maybe I subconsciously dun want Denmy to bring Keenan along...heehee

zhimin - btw HK now is summer. its HOT HOT HOT! i went in end jul and it was hotter than singapore! perspiring all day...

SSF - Staying at one of the villas at Bintan Lagoon Resort. Since the trip has been confirmed, I have been mentally packing Cephas's stuff for the trip. By Oct, he will be 10 mths old. Shd be easy to handle.

When a friend suggested the trip, HB said "Sure, just leave Cephas with my parents." My reply "No, make passport and bring him along. He's 10 mths by then. Let him enjoy a short trip." I am not going to go thru what I went thru when I left him behind the last round.

Good thing is my friend's son is 2 yrs old and my god-dau is 6 yrs old. So Cephas has company

haha no worries flo! the thread is just moving too fast

i working from home today so got time to participate after so long!

sysac -yeah i went recently to HK with my hubby only. and when we see any babies or toddlers..we think of my precious one. wondering what is he doing..has he eaten..has he poo..has he bathe? is he naughty or cranky? hahaa..

and sometimes me and hubby will just look at each other and say.."I miss baby!"

in all we spend so much money calling back every night to check on baby and hear him chuckles. so no we are not going to make any mistake again. we are bringing him for sure and enjoy his presence with us in Tokyo! we can also spend more days...last time we went HK..we don;t want to stay home too long. so we only go for 3 days. now with him along, we are planning a 9 days trip. hee..

flo
yes thanks, ya I let her since she dun mind it.
Thanks.. your details is very helpful to me..esp for me to prepare in the weekends.

Queen
yalor funny hor.. anyway I bought another box from heniz for kaelyn to try try.
Ok thanks.. will ket Kaelyn try fruits after the veggie.

Sunny
When Kaelyn has tried a variety of food I will also buy different type and let my MIL decide what she wanna cook for her.

RE: slow cooker for porridge
I intend to buy a small small slow cooker for cooking porridge... is it worth invest ah?

SSF

So nice go Japan. I love Japan! U can go Hokkaido to see Lavender now. Hopefully it's not too late. But it's typhoon season. So don't forget your umbrellas. If it's strong enough to withstand the winds.

flo
yes thanks, ya I let her since she dun mind it.
Thanks.. your details is very helpful to me..esp for me to prepare in the weekends.

Queen
yalor funny hor.. anyway I bought another box from heniz for kaelyn to try try.
Ok thanks.. will ket Kaelyn try fruits after the veggie.

Sunny
When Kaelyn has tried a variety of food I will also buy different type and let my MIL decide what she wanna cook for her.

RE: slow cooker for porridge
I intend to buy a small small slow cooker for cooking porridge... is it worth invest ah?

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
9. Mashybrainz
10. SH
11. sl
12. SSF (brought my boy to Bintan b4 and now planning for Oct trip to TOkyo! so yeah bring bb along..u will miss him so badly when u see ppl with their babies)
13. MH

Not To Bring BB:
4. AK
5. Clare

Cookie - My slow cooker is Toyomi brand. Paid $48 for it. Can heat the claypot over stove fire and then place in the cooker. No need to watch over the fire and can leave it on the whole day.

SH

Like Mashy said you can use those like Tefal. For me I actually use the 'Zisha' pot which comes with steam/stew function. Bot that when I was preggy to double boil birdnest soup. Is quite a good investment I must say cos I use it to stew porridge for Mel on weekends. For steaming it doesn't take long, I usu set 12-18 min (each unit is 6 mins) and is very soft oredi.

sysac
thanks for sharing. so u mix all the ingredients together? like one vege, one meat etc to cook the porridge? must mash all before cooing?

re holidays overseas
was just wondering how to bathe baby when read someone saying bathe in hotel tub. think it's quite exciting to bring bb along but can be quite troublesome...

SH

Oops forgot about the seive. It looks like a metal net that comes in different sizes. The small one can be use to sieve tea leaves, bigger one to sieve noodles, fried chicken wings etc. Hope you know what I am talking about. I think denmy post the pic before.

Zhimin,
yes i jus returned from HK. like wat tabbiesus said, its NOT stroller friendly. Surprisingly it wasnt that hot. was drizzling and thunderstorm at night. so better bring umbrella n hat for baby in case weather turns crazy.

bathing baby without a tub quite challenging. thankfully the hotel room sink has hot water so we fill the sink n sit her inside. quick bath.

In disneyland, can rent strollers at HK$50 per day (plus HK$50 deposit). reasonable charge.

Essential baby stuff i brought:
1) milk bottles x 6 pieces (i KS)
2) one tin of FM
3) elect travel sterilizer
4) towel
5) bibs
6) hankies
7) bath foam, ru-yi oil, powder, nappy cream
8) diapers (nepia) i brought 25pcs. return with 4pcs
9) hot water bottle
10) water bottle for normal water
11) standby medicine
12) toys
13) clothes
14) pyjamas
15) pillow & bolster
16) blanket
17) carrier
18) wet wipes

I didnt have to let her drink anything during take-off and landing. just gave her pacifier n distract her. she was fine. need to bring lots of toys on plane to entertain her. during take-off n landing must belt baby to you.

brought pillow n bolster on plane. dressed her in long sleeve n long warm socks. plane was quite cold. hot water i requested from the crew.

MTR in HKG quite stroller unfriendly. lots of steps and lots of people so hard to move around with it. best to carry baby in a carrier.

i also requested for bassinet when booking my ticket. then when checking-in online, i reserve the seats with the bassinet. if its already booked, call the airline n ask them to book for you. including return flight. they give priority to younger babies.

let me know if you need any further info. i can share my experience with you.

SY - I will cut/grate all the ingredients and throw in tog with the rice. Put the claypot on the stove to heat up for abt 4-8 mins. When it starts boiling, will transfer to the slow cooker. Put on high heat. Everything will be in purree state at 10.30am. After his 1st feed at abt 11.30am, put slow cooker to auto until dinner time abt abt 5.30-6am. My mum does it at abt 6am every morning. I will do it at 8am on the wkends. If the ingredients are still in their solid shape, Will just use a spoon to smash it up before I feed Cephas.

Holiday overseas - Think most rooms will have bathub. That shd be easy. Fr me, Bintan will be a swimming holiday. Can use bathub. If not, wear my swimwear and bathe him under the shower. I do that when we bring him swimming
Bathe him under the shower, then pass him to my HB after dressing him up. After that, then bathe myself.

SSF,

replied you already. Just remembered one thing. toilets in Japan at the bigger malls are child frenly and there is diaper changing station. problem would be small eateries along the road has only small toilets.

Re: what kind of bowl used for Feeding??
very sorry ah.. havent start semi solid.. my MIL has lotsa things to say. I have the Munchkin brand feeding bowl.. and my MIL complaint she hate plastic bowl..

ANyway I just wanna know.. generally what kind of bowl mummy here use to feed babies??

cookie,
i use bb plastic bowl. but if your MIL wants to use normal china, can also la... cos she's holding the bowl not bb...

Sy
we can shake hand ley... we ask lotsa qns on semi solid feeding hor..I'm glad someone is with me. and I'm glad all mummy here very experience and willing to share!!

Sysac
Thanks for your details...
Oh so 1 porridge.. can eat for 2 meals!.. no need to cook twice.

SSF

U never been to Japan b4 ah? Very child unfriendly too. Esp if u are in outskirts. Coz a lot of stairs to climb. Meiji shrine very diff to use stroller too. So prepare a sling.

It's typhoon period now... Can have many weather changes in 1 day.

RE: gathering at Rena's place in Bishan

SAHM / PTHM
I am organising a 2nd gathering a my house

25th July 2005 Tuesday

1) Rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb

MH,
hee hee, we were in 9608... so wasted, if we had known that we would be on the same cruise, can get together! We wanted to go offboard to Redang, but Shannon chose that time to fall asleep, and we decided to just let it be... in the end took her to the tiny bb pool after her nap... I so wanted to go offshore, but no choice... sigh...

Casscl,
Re: I realise Shannon hates the porriage if it is not blended fine enough and there are still bits... so I make sure I blend it till it is smooth, maybe your bb is also like that, thats why rejected the porriage?

Cookie,
i use Pigeon plastic feeding bowl, your MIL so funny, if dun use plastic then use what? Why does she hate it?

Denmy,
RE: Holiday with bb
for me, i think it depends on your situation, whether there is someone to take care of Keenan, whether Ethan is going or not, and whether you feel you will miss Keenan or not... for me, I would bring bb coz hubby and I are still kancheong and paranoid first time parents... ;)

Re: Bathing in hotel
During the cruise, my hubby held Shannon in the shower, and I soaped her, and showered her off...

Zhimin/SY,
bringing bb on holiday is no joke in terms of packing! For a short 3 day cruise, Shannon's luggage was a 21 inch hardcase.... my hubby's and my clothes were all together in a travel bag...

3. tracy
4. queen
6. CassCL (we've done it twice cos can't bear to be away from bb!)
7. Wenyl
8. Sysac (I wld! That's y we had baby in the first place! To share everything together)
9. durianlover (i'll miss bb too much! Plus i dun trust my parents nor my ILs to take care of baby for more than 1 day)
10. Mashybrainz
11. SH
12. sl
13. SSF (brought my boy to Bintan b4 and now planning for Oct trip to TOkyo! so yeah bring bb along..u will miss him so badly when u see ppl with their babies)
14. MH

Not To Bring BB:
4. AK
5. Clare
6. Babylon

Thanks! all mummies for contributing your views. So majority will bring bb. I will discuss very carefully with hb tonight...

We are going to Bali with Ethan coming National day for 5 days with my fren Merilyn and her hb and boy. She also advised me to bring bb cos i will start missing him there. The only problem with bringing bb is the barang barang that we'll have to bring... even more stuff now that he has started eating....and my hb said he only plans to take one big luggage with small havesacks for each of us. I'm thinking where got enough?!? bb alone will take up 1 big luggage liao...then, we still have his stroller, steriliser...

Tracy,
will use your list to pack for Keenan. Anything else important I should be bringing also, mummies?

Essential baby stuff i brought:
1) milk bottles x 6 pieces (i KS)
2) one tin of FM
3) elect travel sterilizer
4) towel
5) bibs
6) hankies
7) bath foam, ru-yi oil, powder, nappy cream
8) diapers (nepia) i brought 25pcs. return with 4pcs
9) hot water bottle
10) water bottle for normal water
11) standby medicine
12) toys
13) clothes
14) pyjamas
15) pillow & bolster
16) blanket
17) carrier
18) wet wipes

Thank you so very much for all your contributions again!!!!

cookie
i use normal plastic bowl. think it's better to use plastic one. there was once i put the bowl (with food) on her tray to show her. and she was so excited and hit the bowl... end up, the bowl was on the flr and food should be about 3 t-spoon, left 1 t-spoon.. the rest, on the flr. :p

demny..
if no use of the plastic bowl... I thinking sell away lor.. it's brand new in original packing.
Still thinking cos I dun mind using them...
Thanks anyway.
BTW.. ethan better already??

sunny/sleeping deer
yes I also think plastic bowl is alright..
I think for my MIL.. she hate it becos plastic bowl no good to hold hot stuff..
but the point is food that gng to serve baby is never suppose to be hot.. but I think my MIL will scope out and let it be cool off in the same bowl before serving so she dun like plastic bowl..
tho she is not wrong.. aiyo dunno how.

cookie,
let her use the china bowl to feed for now, but keep your mumchkin bowl for later when Kaelyn is bigger and learns how to feed herself from.

thanks, Ethan is better liao, though he still tears when he talks about the incident with other ppl... crybaby...think he takes after hb..heehee..soft soft one...

cookie
i use the munchkin feeding bowl too. my boy always very excited to see it...ha...

sleepingdeer,
the porridge still needs to be blended? i thought cna just serve like that

re gathering
cannot make it..got customer meeting...

SY & Cookie - I use the Muunchkin plastic bowl. Yes, I cook for lunch & dinner at one go. There's always at least 1/2 a small bowl of porridge left at the end of the day. My mum scoops for me to eat for dinner
On Thu & Fri, my MIL will cook for him. I have yet to see the texture/state of the porridge she cooks for Cephas.

My mum & I were joking that Cephas food is prepared in 3 different ways (Mum, MIL & me). His tummy is being played around by us where his meals are concerned. In a way, mum & I shd be abt the same as his poo looks the same when we feed him. On Thu & Fri, his poo looks drier. I guess my MIL's porridge is thicker than my Mum's and mine.

sysac
oh great..u are using the same bowl!.. do you scope the porride from slow cooker and let it cool in the same munchkin bowl too? or wait till the porridge not so hot then scope into the bowl?
sorry ask silly qns...

cookie - i bought my bowls from mothercare. having sales at 12 bucks for 3 bowls + 1 spoon. i put one at MIL, my mum and one my home. the design is winnie the pooh. its plastic and colourful. my boy likes it.

AK - thks..saw ur email. very useful and detailed

mashybrain - no its my first time to Tokyo. but feedback i got from ak and my colleague is quite alright. i be gg with another couple who has a 1 y/o son. so shld be slow and steady itinery. hee.. i gg in oct which is the autumn season.

wa... ssf, i also wanna go japan in autumn... so nice... so tied up work, considered very lucky to be able to go bali liao... my hb said will take me to osaka, hokkaido, australia etc... all buy tok tok only...