(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rachel,

so far so good..it doesn't really affect the next feed for her case. she likes to eat and is eating like 7 spoonful nowadays and i have to stop feeding her if not she'll not be able to drink her milk later.

i've been recording her feeds and poo since birth till now..so on the average she drinks about 700-900ml a day. so i just work on this daily gauge

Esther

Your girl girl is so so pretty!!all the boys on this thread without gf better chope her first! So cute your girl!

Denmy
mine is the 4000 series, i think it is the 4050HC model. Comes with chopper and whisk. Not bad... now on sale at best denki 69 aft discount. prev. was 79 i think. got one more advanced model 600W one for 115, but I think no need lah.. Best denki sale until July i think...

hi esther,
so when u start to feed solids, u only start off with like a few teaspoon? Hmm we just started off Caleb on cereals yesterday and we let him finish the cereals. But we will push the next feed time. Is it ok?

Tabbiesus,

too bad she cant meet the other babies this weekend ... i'm sure its fun to meet all other babies the same age!

Sept03bride,

i started with only 2 teaspoons initially..just to let her have a taste of semi solids and then i slowly gave her different flavours of cereal. after she's used to eating i increased the amount. and then now i add carrots or apples to the cereal

i think you can see if he wants to eat or turns away from the food. if he's willing to take it, then its ok..otherwise no need to push him to take more. but for me, even when she wanted more, i increased it slowly. coz i think some babies just dunno how to say enough and they just keep opening their mouth for more

Re. FM expiry
Me very blur. Didn't even know FM will expire within 1 month after opening. And guessed what? I opened 1 big tin of Mamil Gold for backup when Isaac rejects BM. Opened since Week 1 and finished the tin 5+ months later! Er... Isaac didn't have bad reaction to the FM leh... does that mean FM can actually last 6 months??? For babies on TBF, isn't it a waste to throw away tins of FM cos definitely will not be able to finish within 1 month what.

Re. FM brands
Personally, I also don't feel that there is any major difference in the FM brands.. Probably almost equal in quality. Gave my boy Mamil Gold since Day 1 cos that was what the nurses gave him when he was admitted for Jaundice at KKH. After that he was on TBF, but backup FM is stil Mamil Gold. Didn't bother lettting him try samples from other brands (too lazy lah). I supposed taste may vary among brands. My boy has nothing to compare with since he has only tasted Mamil Gold.

Florence,
Lucky that you managed to catch Mel before she falls... Me? Sigh, my Isaac has fallen twice. Once from the bed 2 weeks ago, and last Saturday, from the sofa. Felt that I was a very bad mother at that time. Dunno why i left him alone on the sofa (with pillows to block him) just wanted to run to the kitchen to turn off the gas cos kettle was boiling. But somehow Isaac managed to wriggle around the pillows and fell. Actually saw him fall but didn't managed to catch him in time. My heart really dropped. he landed on his back, cried for 5 secs and went back to his smiley self.

Rachel/Spet03,
I started Isaac with only 2 teaspoons of cereal for 1st 2 days. Increased to 4 teaspoon by 5th day. After 1 week, I'm giving 2 to 2.5 tablespoons. Now still giving about 2 to 2.5 tablespoons (slightly heaped). For the first few days, I'll feed him a few teaspoons of cereals first, followed immediately by about 130ml of BM. Now after giving him 2 tablespoons of cereals, I'll let him rest for 30 mins to an hour or take a short nap before giving him 180ml of BM.

Y / sunny,
I started Isaac on 1 feed of rice cereals for the 1st week daily. Then I made carrot and potato puree, froze them in ice cube trays and passed to my MIL to feed him 1 cube a day (in the afternoon in-between milk feeds). My MIL said that he doesn't like the purees and will cry after a few spoons. Ok, so I tried to feed him myself the last 2 days. He cried at first but after that, he lapped it up and finshed the purees, especially the carrot purees. Think my MIL is just too impatient when feeding him the purees...

Re: amount to feed
I use my milk scoop, it's about 4.5g per scoop. I feed 3.5 scoops mixed with 60ml of FM and half jar of veg/fruit puree (about 35g each time). I will then follow with his usual 90-120ml of FM after 2 hrs. Tried a few permutations (solids before milk/milk before solids...) He seems content with this sked.

SY / queen / esther

thanks for your info! at least now i have some idea how to go about intro cereal to dylan le =)

re: Semi soild recipe

why not like this, i will do the compiling of the recipe. mummies, are you all willing to contribute your yummy recipe so more babies can benefit? =p
maybe can email me? or any better suggestion?

Re: pacifier addiction
My boy needs the choot choot to sleep too. Same problem I am facing with disrupted sleep in middle of night. Funny thing is he would sometimes just choot for a few sceonds then spit out. When he does this a few times, I will feed him milk. He will just drink a toke of 40-60ml but will sleep through better for the next 3 hrs (usually happens around 5pm)

SY,
Maybe JH is hungry that's why dun want his pacifier?

esther,
Renee is a cutie. Know how to pout already! I also tend to spoil my bb, that's why always have no confidence to bring him to public places for fear that he'll misbehave.

queen,
how do u make the ice-cube puree? Just blend raw apple or carrot then freeze? Need to add anything?
Sorry quite suaku about such stuff!
Btw it must hv been really scary to see ur baby fall off the sofa - Esp when it's right before ur own eyes! But no worries, experienced & older mothers tell me that some mishap will definitely happen to each baby in his/her lifetime, coz we can't guard them 100% all the time!

SSF,
actually what SY said is true about the pacifier. Think they might just outgrow it. My janelle used to be like ur son - will wake up in the middle of the nite & i need to pop pacifier back in. But nowadays, when she wakes up, she doesn't want pacifier! Will want me to carry! i think carrying is worse than pacifier. So perhaps just be thankful that at least the pacifier soothes him?

durianlover,
I'll steam the carrots( peeled), potatoes and sweet potatoes (unpeeled) together. Then used the food processor to blend the carrots until it is as smooth as puree. Peel the steamed potatoes and mash it with a fork (caanot use the blender as it will make the potatoes became sticky and starchy). Stir in BM or FM until the potatoes become very mashy and smooth. Immediately put the purees in ice cube trays, cover with cling wrap and freeze. After they are forzen, I'll remove them from the trays quickly and put them quickly into milk bags to store in freezer. No need to add any salt or sugar. Supposed to let baby taste the natural sweetness. I'll try sweet peas, broccoli and bananas this weekend.

Aiyo, was just reading back my postings...
my standard of english has deterioated man! Hahah... so many grammatical errors. To think I always score As for English and GP during O and A levels. Jialat.

queen

if u use peas, must add some BM cos the taste is quite strong.. my girl don't quite like it but will guai guai eat it despite making a face to tell me its yucky.. very cute...

cindy,

I wish my girl would be happy with her pacifier, right now her choot choot is me... so i'm stuck by her bed til 10pm...pengzz...

MamaChan,
Yes, my bb takes the BM from the bottle during the day since I am working. I think he is ok with the bottle. So I start by mixing half BM, half FM first? After how many days should I wait before changing that feed to full FM?

Where: Waterplace Condo
177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son (CONFIRM)
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
3. tracy + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
4. REna + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
5. rachel + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
6. Cookie + BB+ HB (CONFIRM)
7. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (CONFIRM)
8. god's child + HB + BB (CONFRIM)
9. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (CONFIRM)
10. Mongs + HB +BB (CONFIRM)
11. sept03bride + BB (CONFIRM)
12. valerie + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
13. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
14. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
15. Tabby + Hb+ bb (CONFIRMED)
16. Sandra (sunraye) ???? (Confirmed)

thanks queen for the detailed explanation.
do you think freezing the food will lost the nutrient? i am still pondering if i should let my mil to prepare my gal's food everyday according to my food list (e.g. what can take, what cannot take at my gal's age)or i should do it myself i.e. to freeze the puree and lighten her workload. Just worry that the latter will make the food lost nutrient.

if you freeze it, you will steam it or boil it with some water before giving to your gal next day?

rachel_mim- normally i give 120ml of milk + 2 teaspoon of cereal and he will normally leave some milk behind.

thks for the advice of the chut chut..will see how it goes...

brought my bb for swim yesterday in the evening. not sure if water is cold or wat. he was crying and crying when he was immerse in the water. we even took some time to get him adapt but he still wail.

bathing was so challenging...we didnt bring tub and he was crying when i bring him to shower. no place to change also as he doesnt like to lie. so in the end ..change him while standing and quickly leave the place. i didnt even get a chance to swim. sigh. in for less than 2 mins and took 20 mins to chg and bathe him. ahha...

rena,
Maybe this was mentioned earlier and just want to check with regards to the catering of the food, when is the food coming? coz we may not be eating there. we can chip in for the renting of the club house.

re:rotating wrists
any babies here like to rotate their wrists in the air? like doing 'chinese dance'? my gal luvs to do it unconciously while watching tv...

Where: Waterplace Condo BBQ pit
177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D
Food: Cater ( catering at 2pm)

13. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
14. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
16. Sandra (sunraye)( Confirm)

Sharing of Bath tubs & bathing lotion:
1) Denmy (Tub & changing mat) + God's child + Valerie
2) sleepingdeer (Tub) + Rena + Wenyl
3) sandra( sunraye) (tub) +
4) Cookie (Tub & changing mat) + Mashy

THOSE THAT HAVE ???? beside your name please confirm with RENA as she eed to order the catering..

PRICE: Tentitive 20 dollars per person extras will be return during the gathering

Rena's acc no.: 148-11345-9 (POSB)

Esther, Renee is so pretty! Looks like a child movie star.

Hahaa... Tracy, Megan is so funny! Kirsten doesn't rotate her wrists but she will rock her body forward and backward especially in her bumbo.

Over the weekend, HB and I brought Kirsten for a dip at the pool in preparation for the swimming gathering. She was sleepy but didn't fuss, so I think she's ready for the gathering. ;)

She just turned 6months today so I also just started her on brown rice cereal yesterday. She loves it! I gave it to her at dinnertime before giving her milk. Wanted to give at lunchtime but lunch feed is normally a dream feed.

Queen, thanks for your description. I'm also wondering how to prepare the frozen cubes before feeding? Steam it or just warm it with hot water? *blur blur*

Confusedgal,
Come join us for the gathering! We'll have fun meeting all the mummies & babies.

Valerie,
Are u still using the batam cleaning? Can PM me the contact pls? Many thanks! W

Rena,
Is there a lot leftover food during the massage gathering? If yes, then just a suggestion....we can just order based on 60-75% of the attendence (or Neo gdn's min. order) cos most of us would have had our lunch b4 going there.

wenyl,

then min order is either 25 or 30 pax.. if everyone have had dinner then we order the high tea.. it will be different from the previous one as previous one was only one person to one drink.. mini high tea

Rena,
U mean lunch rite? Heehee. I tink looking at the attendence list so far, I tink we can go ahead & order for 25 pax. By fri, if need to... can still increase the no. of pax. I tink can either order hi tea or lunch menu but dun order their prawns. Cos I just had it last sun at my hb's grandma bday gathering. Everyone was complaining NOT FRESH!

Queen,
Now I just make about 30mls of FM and add in cereal according to the texture i want. Not according to instructions. Its still very watery. I tried with water and realised need to use alot to make it smooth and thick (more porridge like. So far my boy likes it, I shld now try with thicker mixture? How much shld I stop feeding? or shld i stop only when my boy rejects? So far the most I feed maybe 8 tiny spoons. After a week can start on carrot or apples? Banana is easier? Read that can just mash and feed.I cant wait as read so much abt it.

sunny / valerie,
Freezing is of course not as good as prepared fresh. Just like frozen BM is not as nutritious as fresh BM. But I don't think the loss in nutrients is a lot. Will probably lose more nutrients by boiling the vegetables or fruits. Just ensure that the puree are frozen ASAP after blending or mashing. I was jus ttelling Clare on MSN that it's much easier to cook a lot in a batch and freeze rather than to cook a small amount everyday. This will minimise wastage and save on electricity, water and gas!

If you mom or MIL is taking care of your BB, it's much easier for them also lah. Can't expect them to steam and blend a very small amount everyday right?

To thaw and warm up the frozen cubes, just put the cube in a clean microwavable dish and microwave in low power for about 40 seconds. Stir after that to ensure that the heating is even. If no microwave, can also put on a small metal dish and place over low fire very quickly. Purpose is only to thaw and warm up the puree slightly, not to cook the puree.

SSF/Valerie
HB and I also brought Isaac out for a swim at Yishun Safra. 1st time in the pool. He's a but scared at first, didn't cry but can tell he's scared. But after a while, was happily splashing the water with his hands. Too bad can't go to the swimming gathering. Think he'll have lots of fun with all the babies!

454732.jpg
454733.jpg

Oh. Forgot to add that steaming and microwaving the vegetable / fruit preserve most of the nutrients. Boiling will cause a lot more loss in nutrients. Also, if puree carrots, add water into the blender to blend.

Y,
For the 1st 3 days, the texture of the cereal was watery. Think I also added about 30 mls to 2 or 3 teaspoons of cereals. But find that towards the end, the cereal becomes as watery as BM. So decided to cut down on the milk and add more cereal. Now the proportion is about 30-40ml BM with 2.5 tablespoons of cereal. The texture is quite thick but smooth. But towards the end, will still become watery, though not as watery as milk. Isaac can finish the cereal most of the time and I didn't try to give more... he'll usually get mang zhang towards the end of the feed and will start to grab the spoon or bite on the spoon instead of swallowing. That's the cue to stop. So far, he hasn't shown any sigh of wanting more than the amount fed to him. I started Isaac on carrots only after a week of cereals. Apples and bananas haven't try yet, cos I read somewhere that they are sweet and should let babies try vegetables first. Carrots and potatoes are good first vegetables for babies.

queen,
aiyo!!! Isaac looks like he is having so much fun!!

Re: puree
I think i am the only lazy mom who is feeding baby 100% on jar puree bought off shelf :p
All the packaging looks so interesting so I always cannot resist buying them. Almost wanted to buy a butternut pumpkin yesterday but put it back in the end. Would eating too much of the jar puree be bad for health? They didn't put preservatives nor additives on the label so I assumed they are ok...

wah queen envy lei ur boy so happy. maybe next time i bring him during the day time. wat time did you bring him for the swim? afternoon i scared too hot and morning too cold. so that's why i brought him in the evening and i think too dark and tat's why he wail. haha seems so difficult to get the right time.

I've been so tired lately. No energy to check thread cos sarah has been waking up ALOT lately. Can wake up from 2 plus in the morning and make alot of noise till about 4. When I finally put her to bed, she'll wake up again close to 6. I'm almost a zombie from lack of sleep. SO TIRED!!!!

queen
issac is soooo happy in the pool.. so cute!

Mashy
sure sure.. we can share share..

Re:batch cooking
haizz.. while I plan to do so.. but I'm not sure if my mil will agree. I find old folk cannot accept batch cooking... will nag want lor..must find time to show her the picture and test her reaction.

esther,
ya lor, Renee very pretty leh...

Queen,
Issac looks so happy in the water... can splash splash some more....

re: batch cooking

cookie, ya lor... my mum also resistant to batch cooking...she can still accept fruit puree for afternoon feeds, but dinner have to cook from fresh now that we are giving Keenan brown rice and mix vegetables. kept saying that frozen food no good, will make bb's legs go weak. That's why my Ethan cannot run fast now.. blah blah blah... aiyo....

rena,

i have transferred $20.00 into your account liao. Transaction ref: 738161484

Where: Waterplace Condo BBQ pit
177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D
Food: Cater ( catering at 2pm)

13. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
14. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
16. Sandra (sunraye)( Confirm)

Sharing of Bath tubs & bathing lotion:
1) Denmy (Tub & changing mat) + God's child + Valerie
2) sleepingdeer (Tub) + Rena + Wenyl
3) sandra( sunraye) (tub) +
4) Cookie (Tub & changing mat) + Mashy

THOSE THAT HAVE ???? beside your name please confirm with RENA as she eed to order the catering..

PRICE: Tentitive 20 dollars per person extras will be return during the gathering

Rena's acc no.: 148-11345-9 (POSB)

SH

My braun is a handheld blender. I just steam the frozen peas bought from supermarket and u can just use the handheld blender in any bowl to puree the peas. I find that its very fast to puree peas with the blender. Just press button and move the blender around a bit and its done. I didn't add milk yet to the puree cos afraid it doesn't keep as long when u add milk b4 freezing. I froze first and then after defrosting/ reheating then add the milk to get a more watery consistency and also to make the taste less strong.

RE: BM + cereal
the consistency is always watery towards the end cos there's an enzyme amylase in Bm which causes the breakdown of the carbo in cereal so always watery towards the end.

queen,
thanks for ur detailed description on the foods! Will try out

Isaac looked like he really enjoyed his swim

Re: batch cooking
Yes i suspect the old folks will surely say it's better to cook fresh, rather than to freeze!

tabbiesus,
oh i didn't know that's the reason for the watery texture of rice cereal towards the end!

tracy,
no, my gal doesn't rotate her wrists. Haha sounds cute though! Perhaps she'll be a good chinese dancer next time? :p

Re: blow saliva
my gal is still super fascinated by blowing saliva! And she doesn't do it to attract attention because we catch her doing it on her own in her cot. Just that when we bring her out to eat and she blows saliva to people's faces, it's not very nice. Anyone knows whether it's too early to discipline our babies? At which age can we start to discipline?

sandra,durianlover,
dunno y she rotates her wrist..future chinese dancer?? ahhhh...no ah...no no no..

sandra,
today i can join ur zombie club. megan also woke up at 1am and 4am last night. 1am was fine, she flipped so jus pat pat n she's back to sleep. 4am flipped again, pat pat sleep then when i walk away, she woke up. 5am i tak boleh tahan juz let her make noise to wake my hb. he woke up n tend to her n nvr zzz oredi so he's v stone today.

when i woke up at 6.30am n saw him so stone, i was very happy. hahaha...now he knows.

re:MIL
ystrdy my MIL actually left my baby alone in the house with my SIL's maid for 3-4hrs!! i got a shock when i heard dat. and u know wats the silly reason??

cos my MIL had to accompany my nephew's dad to bring the 2 boys to renew passport. the maid shld ve been the one to go, but she didnt wanna go, say wanna do housework and they allowed her!! and my silly BIL never insist..thank god my gal slept fofr the whole duration MIL was out. if she woke up crying how??! the maid dunno how to look after babies one..

my hb was v angry too. he said he will tok to his sis that such things cannot happen again. my BIL is one big wood block. seriously..n even with my MIL's help, he lost his elder son in the passport place for awhile, had to run around frantically looking.

queen
isaac is so happy and handsome!
when you make the puree, you add the fresh BM/chilled one? can't defroze the BM and add into puree and freeze the puree, right?