(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF,
Brought Isaac to swim on Sunday about 5pm.
Weather was good, water is not cold. And lots of kids in the pool too!

Cookie / Denmy,
If your mom or MIl resists frozen puree, then let them make puree everyday loh... heehee. Better still.

Sunny,
I add fresh in fridge BM. Sometimes I'll just add FM lah for convenience. 1 to 2 scoop plus some water settle liao. NOte that if freezing puree with milk, can keep only about 4 to 6 weeks. I think best to finish within 2 weeks.

Tracy,
Wah... cannot leave BB with maid alone leh. Hear so many terrible stories about maid with BBs. Better let your MIL know.

Rena

It's $20 per person or per family?

If HB coming, do I pay $40?

I think high tea will be best. Would have had a wedding lunch before that. And will only be there at abt 3pm.

val,
megan used to rock fwd n backward too, like rowing a boat and she can do it continuously non-stop. she hasnt been doing that for awhile oredi. quite cute tho..

Hi Rena n wenyl

So sorry i cant join the gathering liao. Hubby is working this sat n afternoon bring his father go hospital
Sigh

So sad that i cant join this time. i thought last min able to make it. Yeah! its cute to see so many babies together.

tracy,
heh yah i know what u mean about being happy when u see ur hb zombified!

mashy,
yeah true...SAHM no MC and no leave! i'm considering whether or not to quit my job to take care of Janelle. Any thoughts / insights to share since u're a SAHM?

Durianlover

SAHM
Advantages:
1- Watch your bb's milestones, bond with bb, bb loves u more than your maid and your MIL.
2- Don't have to work for silly corporations and silly bosses who think that working is your life and you have sold your soul to them.
3- Don't have to endure rain or shine.
4- Can still take MC when sick. Take leave when u wanna go for the shopping spree.

Disadvantages:
1- Reduce shopping, every $ counts
2 - No MC, no leave
3 - No status, coz no earn money, less say at home
4 - No time for yourself: no time for loo, no time to bathe, no time to eat. All is according to your bb's time. Then u can find free time to eat/bathe and go loo.
5 - Have to do a lot of research on raising a kid. Scared will miss something out, didn't teach properly, didn't feed the right food. Lots of responsibility.

Durianlover,
it's a whole different ball game from work loh... take it form me, who just quit a month back...

I am enjoying SAHM but it IS really tiring, as compared to work... perhaps now at the moment, I like it coz of the quality time you get to spend with your gal, maybe in 6mths time, I may be pulling my hair out...

But it helps to have frens who are SAHM (US!) so that we cna go out for tea and window shopping (cannot do real shopping, no money)

mashy brainz,

i totally agree about ur pt 5 rgding doing alot of research on raising a kid. but i think it is even more of a struggle for a working mum. firstly, we lose the bonding, and 2ndly we miss nurturing our own child. I'm a FTWM, during the day, my dad and maid takes care of edgar. so i'm afraid that he will not "learn" as many things as he wld have if i take care of him myself. coz afterall, the mother will nurture her own child whereas caregivers will juz make sure he's fed and full. all i can do now is buy toys for him and hope that he can learn when he plays in the day. dat's y i'm always looking around to see what are the good developmental toys around! =)

cindy,

ya renee loves to pout and make funny faces. actually we stay in a club apartment so many people come to the club daily to swim to play tennis, squash etc.. so renee sees many different people everyday. i think you should also start exposing lucas to more people so that he gets used to it.. even till today, though she sees many pple, she still gets upset when some stranger carries her for too long.

tabbiesus,

so cute to be her pacifier....sounds quite "siong" man

valerie/sandra/denmy,

thank you aunties ( on behalf of renee )
the pple here says she is like a model changing 3-4 outfits everyday and parading herself.. coz my mum and my sil and myself of coz have bought sooooo many clothings for her tat i think if we dun change so often a day..no chance to wear soon

renee will be 6 mths old on the 10th july..wat about yours, sandra?

sleepingdeer,

i so wish i am in singapore now..then can join all the SAHM's for tea or gatherings..sit down talk about progress of baby and new menu and everything..

luckily for me, there's still this forum!

esther,
are u a SAHM?

mashy, celine & sleepingdeer,
thanks for ur sharing. Hmm it's a really tough decision for me. Have been contemplating it since May actually, but have yet to arrive at a conclusion! The problem now is that i am also enjoying my work, so i'm not sure whether i'll be able to cope being a SAHM as i love to go out!

Thanks Queen for the receipies posted yesterday.
I was going through other post as well.. I hv some queries. Do we need to steam the apples? Y must we steam? Thought we can just scrap the apples and feed directly?

Queen,
Thanks!!! Will try to make it thicker later. Read that not to give melon cos of sweetness. I only let my bb try on apples. I use my finger to rub on the fruit and let him taste. How abt peas??? Very new to me.

Indeed, Isaac looked like he's hving so much fun!!! My hub who picked from you commented that u look so young!

Mashy,
Cant agree more !!!
2- Don't have to work for silly corporations and silly bosses who think that working is your life and you have sold your soul to them.

Esther, ,my gal will turn 6 mths on 17th July.

Re SAHM:

Agreed that being a SAHM can be exhausting at times. But, nothing really beats bonding with ur baby.

Previously, I quit my job in the reinsurance sector in 2002 cos I wanted to do my own thing. Tired of the corporate world and wanted to make use of my creativity instead of catering to the whims of others. So, went into writing - did some scriptwriting and freelance feature article writing. I also started a small biz last year with some friends. Guess I'm pretty lucky to have a supportive partner. Anyways, it's been fun so far. Get to go on vacations without planning in advance (unlike working when u have to answer to ur bosses as to when to take leave etc) and go out for hi-tea sessions with friends or even mani and pedi, massage sessions when u really need to take a break from home.

I take a rather relaxed approach when it comes to Sarah cos, there's only one childhood and I dont want to stress her out so early when she'll be getting stressed once she starts school. Anything goes lor - afterall, our parents last time also never really bothered about us and we turned out pretty ok no? (I sure hope so!)

My hb's two n a half year old nephew is so scarily smart n yet his mum is still so hung up about making him smarter. Imagine this - he can spell almost all the names of all uncles n aunties that he has met in his life, knows numbers in the thousands eg. 123 is not one, two or three to him but one hundred n twenty three, can count one to 10 forwards n backwards, knows his square root from 4 to 100, basically, he knows so much that it can put anyone else to shame. YET, his mum still thinks he has to know more. I dunno about u, but i believe every child will catch up in his/her own time. I rather have mine BE a child while she is one. U know wat i mean? =/

Sandra

I know what u mean. nowadays kids are just too smart till u cant talk much or even play with them the ways u think is fun. they will found u boring and silly! they are no longer kids but little adults, which is a sad thing to me...

i will too go easy with my dylan, like what u said, nothing beats to have a happy and stress free childhood. me and my hb even agree to let him play with mud and contact more with nature. rather than plan a full week of classes for him and rush him here and there! upon seeing other parent sending their kids to learn this and that, it puzzled me is this what the children want or its the parent who want to their children be pack with so many skill and knowledge.

Esther - ur gal is very pretty!

Queen - Isaac looks so happy... u carried him thruout the swim? did he use any float? hw long were ur in the pool?

Re : Swimming
seems like mummies all warming baby up for the gathering tis Sat! me too! brought Celeste to baby pool at Clementi last Sat ( last min decision and after permit granted by Celests's grandpa ). the water was nt cold and the pool's quite empty... Celeste seems to have almost the whole pool to herself ..hehe she enjoyed and was kicking away in her float. hope she behaves herself tis Sat!

Re : Baby waking at nite
is it a trend for them to wake up at this age after having learnt to sleep thru? past few nights Celeste also will go 'aik aik' and needs to be carried to sleep again.. haiz...

sandra,
yup, fully agree with ur theory of a stress-free childhood..and no PC games for my kid as well! my nephew of 5yrs is into PC games n mind you, it's those 'commando strike force' type of games. how come they don't juz play 'bubbles' game now??

tracy
haha yes yes no pc games!
aiyo 'commando strike force'.... so violent, all those shooting and killing...
heehee bubbles game is out for them liao, but i love those cute cute games. rather play those cute and silly game rather than have to crack my head and stress myself even when playing... i love SIM pc game =p

durianlover,

yup, i'm also a SAHM..actually i'm very fortunate coz i've a maid to help me as well...so i'm rather free as i trust my maid alot too... i just play and make her food , read to her...my maid will make her sleep..feed her in the daytime, bathe for her..

sandra,

waow!! your hb's nephew sounds so gifted huh... and yet his mum is rather "ks" hor... i honestly think no need to push a kid so hard...i think they dun enjoy childhood like we did before!

god's child,

thank you
actaully how many mummies are there here? any idea anyone?

Re : Similac
Anyone knows where to get the cheapest Similac step 2 in west/north area? Started Celeste on step 2 ( though she is stil 9days away to 6mths ) and she seems to like it better than her Mamex. Dun hav to use toys to 'hong', *cross fingers & toes* tat it will stay this way... no bulk discount from supplier rite?

anyone also started bb on step 2 though not officially 6mths?

Wah esther, ur maid and u must be quite close then. =) I'm xtremely anal when compared to u - my hb wants a maid to help me out BUT I cannot imagine leaving bb in her care. Too many horror stories already. Thinking of getting one when at least one of my kid is in primary school. They will at least be able to tell me if the maid bullies them or sumthing.

Yah, the nephew is extremely smart. The mum is already talking about getting his IQ tested. Minimum age in Singapore is 4, though. The thing is that the nephew is extremely lovable and cute still. Doesnt appear to be stressed or anything. Enjoys his toys etc. The only thing is that his motor skills aint really there. He doesnt dare to climb steps. Needs sumone to carry him.

It's just that I'ld rather have my kid really play and roughing things out. How often do we get to do that when we start school? Recess time doesnt count.And I agree with tracy - NO PC games. Can't stress that enuf. I've seen personally what addiction to pc games is like. My two younger brothers are sad examples of the downside of addiction to pc games. They're violent, have NO friends and possess little social skills. VERY very sad. My mum indulged them alot when they were growing up cos they're much younger than us (5 of us in all) and my parents are already mellowing. So, they really got away with plenty when they were little. BUT they're really shitty now. My parents are suffering. I feel sad for them all the time and there's nothing i can do to help them cos the foundations in their characters are already formed.

Hi Durianlover,
I did love my job as well, and was doing very well, but if I had a choice right now to either go back to work, or continue caring for Shannon, (finances aside...) i would still choose to care for my bb gal... just how I feel... take your time to think about it and make the choice you are most comfortable with...

Sandra,
yes, you are so right... I mean the truth is that we rolled around in the mud and played zero point and five stones, and didn't have PC games and much TV, but we still turned out great, dun you think? I think kids nowadays are smarter, that is true, but we as kids were more creative and funloving, full of bright ideas coz we had to think of ways to entertain ourselves... the problem is modern day society always pressurises parents to give the best, and if the next door neighbour sends their kids to volin, swimming, ballet, and gymastics, then their child should also have a chance as well, too competitive, sigh!

hi sandra,

hmm..actually my maid has only started with me when renee was 3 mths old
there are many things that i'm very particular with so i had them all specified to my maid from the beginning.

i check her cleaning of the bottles, washing of bb's clothes, makes sure she cleans her hands thoroughly etc. i think my maid is pretty ok coz i sort of like "rescued her" as her previous employer was sort of "ill-treating" her and she was on the edge of breaking down.

then i wanted to take my mil's maid to viet with me as she was very experienced with bb's but she didnt want to go to viet and she told me her sil ( my current maid ) has been calling her crying everyday about her current employer, so asked me to take her instead.

and from then till now she's been good. i really think getting a maid is about luck also.

looks like your nephew will have a super bright future ahead!!

Celine - Cephas has been using the Maxi Cosi Infant car seat since 1.5 mths old. It's supposed to last him till 15 mths old. Anyway, we recently bought a car seat (till 4 yrs old)cos we will be upgrading him soon from the infant one.

Esther - Renee is really adorable looking

Queen - Isaac has grown! He looked like he enjoyed his splashing!

Mummies - I bought a slow cooker and started Cephas on porridge since yesterday. My mum cooked the rice, fish (ngoh he), spinach & wolfberry until it was purree state. Cephas had his porridge for lunch & dinner. Today, it was rice, fish & carrots & wolfberry. Understand that he enjoyed his lunch too.

godchild,

Similac.
the cheapest that i got similac is $27.70 from one of the shop near my house. But i think recently NTUC is selling at $27.20. I just get 2 tins yesterday.

My bb oso enjoy similac than enfalac..after i changed to simalac, he easlier to feed..not so much of fused and need to be "honged" with monkey face or toys....he start drinking every 3 hourly @4oz instead of 4 hours.

I am thinking to increase to 5 oz..see if it can last him longer.

Oh yes! He will drink his milk (210ml) 1/2 hr after both meals. All in, he will drink 5 times a day plus the two meals of porridge. The amazing thing is he finishes everything. Quite a big eater. I am going to be bankrupt soon :p

re: singapore education system

not sure whether you ladies know, but heard from my hb's coli who has 2 little girls. their report book beside stating their results and performance...

they will oso state clearly inside what is the highest score in the class!! this is abit over i think. isnt this putting more stress to the little child??

comparing and comparing, our country's education system... ... worries me

RE: SAHM
Thanks mummies for ur advice & sharing! Shall continue to consider...

sandra,
i fully agree with u. i'd want to bring my kids out to the nature and let them have fun during their childhood coz i myself had a really enjoyable childhood! i don't really believe in sending kids to all those classes esp when they're so young. And u're right, we all turned out OK without going thru all those lessons / classes, so no harm doing so for our kids!

sysac,
what is wolfberry? Is it "qi2 zi3"?

Durianlover - I think that's that Chinese name for it. It's the small orange looking thing u put in soups

My mum said Cephas was smacking his lips while eating the porridge. She left some for me to try last night. Not too bad. Tasted quite nice considering that no flavours were added.

I had a lot of wolfberry/longan/red date drink while pregnant. Maybe, that's why he likes it too

hi sysac,

thanks for the compliment !

i was also about to ask you wats wolfberry. hmm...now i have 2 more recipes for porridge. btw..wats the chinese name for threadfin ah??

rachel,

i agree with you that singapore edu system is really too stressed out..tats why altho renee only a bb, i've already told my hb tat i rather let her be educated at the international school here

queen
your boy has grown big!! thanks for sharing your experience on giving isaac solids.

i m only giving in the evening cos my boy quite hard to feed and i m afraid quite hard for my maid to feed him alone.

so we give them rice cereal for one week before starting something new right?

any mumies replace one whole meal with solids?

god's child
i started my boy on step 2 and he rejected it. he's only 5 months + now. i went back to step 1 and now i m mixing step 1 and 2.

sandra,
my goodness! ur nephew is gifted or wat??!! if i were his mum, i don't know if i shld be happy or worried. worried coz soon enuff, he will be bombarding me with questions i cannot answer!!! *faint*

sysac,
tx for the feedback. i bot the maxi cosi cabrio carseat yesterday already. i'm the opposite of u, i'm downgrading edgar from the monsterous infant-toddler carseat to an infant carseat :p

Babylon - thanks for the advice... then i shall go NTUC and stock up some!!! so sad rite, Similac dun hav bulk discount unlike Dumex...
Celeste used to take Dumex, oni $21 per tin now gota soar to $27... anyway, so long as she is drinking well, the $$$ doesn't matter

Re : Shoo Shoos
anyone knows where to get shoo shoos at discount? Celeste has oni got 3 pairs of white silk shoes for weddings and NONE for normal outings...

god's child..

same here...as long as theyare drinking well..i dun mind how much it cost for the milk powder...rather than wasted it

god's child,

i thot i read in another forum that shoo shoos has closed its biz?? not sure true or not though.

anyone has tried or will be trying the Si4 Sen2 Ginseng & ikan bilis with brown rice powder?? need some comments on it. thanks

Esther - Welcome! Can't help u with the names of the fish in Mandarin. Beats me. Haha...maybe someone here can enlightened you

SY - Initially, Cephas was only having his cereals or baby food for lunch. Just started him on the porridge for lunch & dinner yesterday.

Celine - Yes, we r total opposites where the car seat is concerned! But then it is convenient. For us, we just carry the whole thing out of the car & place it on the Quinny Zapp. Cephas can sleep thru the whole process. Can't do it soon cos we'll be replacing it with the giganto car seat we brought 2 weekends ago.

God'schild - Was at JL Spec Cen some 2 wks back. There's a chn's shoe section at the chn's dept. I saw them selling the shoo shoo shoes. Think was on disc cos of the GSS. Better Hurry!

sysac - just called JL at Specialist and she said they oni carry barbie/disney sandals/shoes, nothing called shooshoos... wonder if she knows what it is!?!?! think mabbie go check it myself tis weekend... thanks for the info anyway!

God's_child - Sorry! I got confused! Sent u on a wild goose chase :p It's Chn's Dept at Robinsons at Centrpoint!

The shoes were hanging against the wall adjacent to the Colette shoes. I remembered becos my god-dau was trying on a pair of Colette shoes and I was standing right in front of the wall and the shoo shoo shoes were right in front of me

god's child,
Initially we put Isaac in the float, but he seemed a bit scared. So took him out and carried him for a while. Then put him back into the float. He leaned forward and got into the freestyle position and started using his hands to beat the water! Haha... we had to one hand hold the float down and the other grab his leg, in case he tipped over the front of the float. So let him splash around, then took him out again. Held him and swung him around in the water... he likes it. We were in the pool for about 40 mins.

Sept03 Bride,
I haven't let Isaac try fruit puree yet. But my MIL had actually let him suck on purple grapes. She peeled off the skin and hold it in his mouth. He'll lick and suck on the juice, but have to be careful to let them bite off any part of the fruit cos they'll choke. Seeing that he likes the grapes so much, I'm going to buy the Munchkin fresh food feeder to let him suck on fruits. But back to the qn on apples, read that for babies just started out on solids, fruits & vege, best is to steam the fruit to make it softer and palatable. Easier on the stomach as well. But I supposed once BB is one 2 weeks of solids and have tried fruits with no problems, an just give them raw fruits lah.

Y,
Haven't tried peas yet... but will do so this weekend. Tabbiesus have given peas to her girl. Think it's the same, just add milk and blend. Heehee, think I'm among the youngest here, born 1979. But also not that young lah, going on 27 liao.

SY,
1 week is just a guideline. I started Isaac on carrots and potatoes after 1 week of rice cereals. Think have to take cue from your baby. If he seems bored with rice cereals, can try to give him puree or mix it into his cereals. On the other hand, if he resist purees totally, may want to hold off for a few days and try again. My Isaac was really resistant to carrots and potatoes at first.

Rachel/Sandra,
Agree with you that nowadays kids can't be just that, kids. See my colleagues sending to enrichment classes and playgroups as young as 3 years old! And spend hundreds a month doing so. I'm only thinking of letting Isaac start on violin lessons at 5 years old and not enroll him into any other classes. Just go K1 when he's 5 years old. That's what we did what right? When we were young, where got such thing as Montessori or Kumon. And we turned out perfectly fine. But I dunno, kids nowadays are smarter... maybe they need more mental stimulation and social integration with other kids. Absolutely NO PC for Isaac till he goes to school.

I also have the same question as SY, when can we replace 1 whole meal with solids? Is rice cereals alone good enough to constitute a full meal? Or should we mix in vegetables? How much rice cereals is enough to replace a milk feed?

re: education

I guess as parents all we want is for our children to be happy. I am considering to send Charmaine for all these enrichment classes BUT the main thing is to enrich her experiences. For her to learn and have fun at the same time. I am not asking for her to show results or be a genius but just to enjoy the experience. If I want to spend $40 to buy her a toy to keep her entertained, I might as well spend the $ to send her to some classes if she can be entertained there and learn something? I think the main issue is to moderate our expectations.

anyone of you want to purcahse anything form mothercare??

got this 15% discount voucher from them recently. minimum purchase is $30. Expiry date: 31 July 2006.

instead of wasting it, might as well give to mummy who want to purchase something from there. let me know yet, if any mummy going to the gathering wants it then i will bring =)