(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE: SAHM gathering

sleepingdeer, i think we should meet earlier so that we will not clash with the after work crowd when going back.. as it i will be rather diffcult to get a cab starting from 5 plus at bugis junction plus it is peak hour..

Denmy,
My goodness my mind really very rusty liao... I took quite sometime to calculate because I have difficulty remembering my age and determining my chinese age!! At age 27 (boy) & 28 (girl) yield different results for me leh. If you like u can countercheck: My birthday is on 26 Feb 1978 and conception month was April. Ashley's a girl. =)

God's child
Ya man.. looks like celest and kaelyn very much the same. For me I also dun dare to ask my MIL too much in case she feel I'm question her way of taking care of kaelyn.
Kaelyn merlion if major one will tend to come out via nose too.. I know how bad that..
yes keep praying the merlion will stop.

Queen
Yup in philippines now.. but coming back tonight already YIPPIE!! I miss my bb sooooo much.

Babylon
SO glad to know Damien is recovering.. dun worry too much ok.. I know it's difficult, like clare I think if its me.. I will cry whenever bb cry too.

Clare/Queen
Since I have bb, I also have soft spot for unwell bb ( on top of my usual soft spot for Dogs).. that day saw a bb with allegy reaction in Tampines mall.. maybe around 5-6 mths.. I see already so heart pain wanna cry already.

Re: watch Eight Below on flight
SO funny... I weep all the way on the plane watching this movie.. lucky the guy sit beside me sleep all the way. It's a touching movie..

Demny
Ya think u better bring distilled water rather than mineral water.
I read from what to expect in the 1st yr book, baby cannot give bottled water-I assume is mineral water becos of the soidum and other ingredient contain might affect baby blood somehow...
I think distilled water should be pure right..

clare, u should use your chinese age which is 28 years old. Is april the chinese month or the english month? if it's chinese month, then your girl is correct.
I saw such chart before. I heard that if the year happens to be a leap year (meaning having 2 same months, eg having feb twice), then the chart won't be accurate. for this year, think there is 2 seven month so the chart won't be accurate if you want to try this year.

Re Gender Prediction Chart
I was just studying the chart for fun when i realised that (assuming my age calculation is correct) my chances of having a Boy if i conceive next year would be extremely LOW (only Jan, Nov & Dec)!! Well, not that mind having a girl again la...but very extreme hor??

<table border=1><tr><td>Age</TD><TD>Jan</TD><TD>Feb</TD><TD>Mar</TD><TD>Apr</TD><TD>May</TD><TD>Jun</TD><TD>Jul</TD><TD>Aug</TD><TD>Sep</TD><TD>Oct</TD><TD>Nov</TD><TD>Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Mongs,
April is the English Month leh... I thought the instruction only says Chinese Month for Mother's age and Conception Month (which i assume is the English month).

mongs
I've yet to read the past 2 thread archives. IF there's no takers for the $3 voucher, I wld love to hv the voucher. Thanks.. haha.. if really still hv, I'll PM you for my addy. Thanks!

denmy, clare
how to determin chinese age har? the english age +1?

babylon
glad that your boy is recovering! that time my gal got jaundice and admitted to hospital, i also felt heartpain and she got to do blood test, etc. when she came back home, she also lost her voice. think the nurse there just let her cry and only pick her up when it's time for feeding.
so, i can understand how you feel.

rena
ya, i thought you wanna stop at 1? keke....

denmy
the water in m'sia is save for drinking after boil. i am from m'sia. :p

there's a young parents' fiesta at marina sq today till sunday. anyone know what's interesting there?

Clare
I remember last riund when I look at this chart.. I dunno if I use chinese or englihs age..
My chance of having boy also very slim... most month are gals..kekeke.. and turn out Kaelyn Of course is gal gal... precious gal

Yuen yuen
I pray that my gal will grow up to be good and tong shi like yours

Denmy,
The last time i went East Malaysia (by flight) I actually brought 3 x 1.5 ltr of Singapore boiled water along. Hee hee... even brought along my Pigeon Steriliser (the smaller old version one) so u can imagine how big and heavy our luggages were. =P

Denmy
The chart not very accurate. We tried for all the mothers in my dept and some get right, some wrong. The result is 50/50. Mine was wrong and my colic who gave birth last month was wrong too. She wanted a girl as 1st one is boy and I was packing all my girl clothes to her went she come back from Gynae and announced it was a boy.

Remember, everything must use chinese calendar like age etc. Mongs is right, if there is double month like this year we have 2 seventh month, this chart will not be accurate.

Re Gender Prediction Chart
Opps... the more I look at it the more Jia Lat it becomes for my chances of having boy for the next 3 years and even after that!! hahaha

<table border=1><tr><td>Age</TD><TD>Jan</TD><TD>Feb</TD><TD>Mar</TD><TD>Apr</TD><TD>May</TD><TD>Jun</TD><TD>Jul</TD><TD>Aug</TD><TD>Sep</TD><TD>Oct</TD><TD>Nov</TD><TD>Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">M</font></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">M</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">M</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">M</font></TD><TD>F</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">M</font></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">M</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">M</font></TD><TD>F</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">M</font></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>F</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">M</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

mamachan
yes, am giving him 1.5 similac scoop of rice cereal for lunch plus 1 cube puree. He drinks 60-100ml milk after that.

may
hope that jamie is ok now. Re complain abt the doc. You can write in to MOH. Let them investigate loh.

yuenyuen
children a little natughty is expected.. I dun expected my gal to be totally tong shi and tantrum free...kekeke... really look fwd to seeing her grow up...

Re: chinese age
Paisey hor.. errr.. how do we calculate chinese age har? usually 1 yr more than Eglish age isit?
If before birthday we will not add 1 yr?

linda
what brand is the omega3 liquid? what brand huh? me also interested to give.

denmy
u try drinking papaya soup in the am, it helped increase my ms the whole day.

queen
i dun mind joining in the spree too.. let me know hor.

Denmy,
The chart is not accurate for me. I checked it out during pregnancy &amp; also a few other webby. All say gal ley.

Rena,
Agree agree! God's plan....no one can foresee.

I will try to leave earlier. Call u later when I almost ready ok? Will be mtg my frens at 6pm later too.

Denmy

I suppose the month of conception must be lunar calendar too so as to be consistent? any website to find out the lunar month of conception, any mummy know? Actually, dun really mind second one is boy or girl as long as it's healthy

I've brought the diaper rash cream to the office, let me know if you want me to pass it to you.

Re: chinese age
Is typically english age + 1 year unless you are born in Jan, then you need to check whether you were born before or after Lunar New Year (cos LNY typically fall on Jan/Feb).

Clare,
Wow you are so young, I guess I must be one of the oldest mummies here :-( Biological clock is ticking so need to plan for #2 soon altho I personally would love to spend more time with Mel first before planning another one

krissie, I think rachael asked for it earlier. I have 2 vouchers. I send one to each of you. please pm your address. thanks.

Sandra,
juz kidding about the msn list..keke..

Denmy,
according to the gender chart, mine is correct lah, but then again it was "female" all the way on the chart for me..

Clare,
chances of my getting boy also very slim!! only like 3mths in a year.

Cookie,
'eight below' very nice hor..hehee. dog lovers.

Re:chinese age
chinese age basically is add 1yr to your current english age. but also depends on the mth of ur bday.

eg. i was born on 1st feb 1977 which is a snake year, but becos 1/2 is before CNY, it was still dragon. so i'm a dragon. so i must add 2yrs to my age, not jus 1yr...eh...get it??

Tracy, so complicated. maybe that's why most mothers got it wrong because of the confusion of the age. anyway, I was thinking wat has this got to do with mother age, coz science has shown that the male Y chromosome det the sex of the baby. then again there is some debate that the charge of the egg will det if the x or y chromosome sperm will be attracted. it's very confusing and I suggest the best is to let natural takes it's own course.
http://www.pediatriconcall.com/forpatients/share/myth.asp

Florence,
No la me not exactly very young... there are some mummies here who are 1981 if i'm not wrong... think MamaChan?? Btw u joining us for the coming swimming session?? = )

Rena,
Yes. GOD's plan for us indeed. Best present ever to me. =)

denmy
the chart not accurate for me. keep giving me gal gal. wish to have a gal gal for my #2 =)

mongs
thanks. anyway i will PM you my address, but if you are going to the swimming gathering then you can just pass to me on that day itself. no hurry.

Hi Mamachan
you got my sms? Your gal fren is very welcome to join us....

Rena and Wenyl going to be there about 2pm, so feel free to come btween 2 - 3pm lah.... Wenyl and I will stay until about 6pm, coz waiting for hubby and frens... see you!

Clare

Oh wow, that really makes me feel old. The only consolation is that I'm still born in the 70s....haha. Would love very much to come for swimming gathering but Sat is Mel visit grandparents day and they only get to see her once a week **sigh**. Will try to ask hubby if we can go ILs pl later.

re: Gender Prediction Chart
hmmm... seems like accuracy is only half-half then... so i shouldn't bet on it.... but I really really dying for a little bb girl...*desparate*

thanks mummies for your feedback!

Hi mummies pls take note in case you are consuming this pill after menstruation..

PRESS STATEMENT
CHINESE PROPRIETARY MEDICINE FOUND TO CONTAIN HEAVY METAL EXCEEDING LEGAL PERMISSIBLE LIMIT.

The Ministry of Health would like to draw the attention of the public to a Chinese proprietary medicine, Pai Fong Wan, which was found to contain mercury exceeding the permissible limit of 0.5 ppm.

The details of this product are as follows:
Product Name/Brand : Pai Fong Wan (Double Swan)
Importer/Distributor:

Hua Tai Trading Co.
Use : Health Tonic
Toxic : metal detected, mercury

Prolonged consumption of excessive amounts of mercury is harmful and can lead to complications such as abdominal pain, vomiting, bloody, diarrhoea and in serious cases, fatal convulsions.
447607.jpg

flo
my biological clock also ticking big time!!
Also need to plan #2 cannot delay too long...hmmm..

wendy/rena
Agree...God's will!! God's Plan, God's Given...hee

Florence,
AHHHHHH I ATE THAT during my confinement (And i HATED it but no choice someone bought so got forced to finish)!!! Thank goodness only 1 box!

Re : #2
hmm... me thinking of having #2 before hubby turns 35 cos he is aldy 32 this year... dun want too big a gap for him and bb leh.. Celeste was aldy earlier than wat i planned... had wanted honeymoon for 1 year first but end up bb came and join in
and i cant imagine how its gona b like at my in-laws if my sis in law and i give birth to #2, there will be 4 children and 5 adults (including maid ) squeezed inside a 4 room flat!!!

Re Outing
Ashley will be turning 6 months tomorrow (everytime i think of how fast she's growing i feel like crying coz it seems like I'm missing alot of her growing days and very soon she's gonna grow up n leave me very soon... me very paranoid hor??). HB &amp; I are thinking of bringing her somewhere to have a mini celebration... just the 3 of us. HB bought her a bubble gun and so we were thinking of bringing her to Botanic Garden to have a mini picnic, get some fresh air, see some nature, birds, flowers, etc etc... Open spaces so we can have some fun blowing bubbles for her (we tried the gun at home n she loves it!). But the thing is these few days weather like very unpredictable leh... what if it rains how?? We trying to avoid shopping centres coz we're already bringing her shopping every week. Any good suggestion?? =(

Clare,
I have same feelings as you. this morning Clariss had slight fever, so worried and I couldn't take leave because have a lot of things to clear. now, heard that her fever is down and she is smiling away in the rocker, really very happy.
It's really a good idea to get away from the crowd. I am also thinking of doing something special on Sunday which is clariss 6mths old birthday. but we have to go to my mum's place. actually personally I think that the best place to go is to stay at home where it's the most comfortable, I think clariss is the happiest at home. are you staying with your in laws or parents? if not, can do something funny and silly at home for your gal and commemorate that day.

god's child,
hee hee, my hubby already 34 this yr. so if we plan to have #2 in rat year (2008), he will be 36! but no choice lah, we met each other late..

Tracy
Don't worry lah. My hubby also 36 when we have our #2 and me not young either. Actually we met early but started family late. Want to enjoy first.

Mongs
My boy also fever today and I also can't take leave, so sad. Just now call home, he still having fever, not sure whether it is teething that is causing the fever.

rena,

really? I guess it's because sumo's such a god baby that you guys are planning for no. 2. For us, we still have phobia left from the sleepless nights. : P

Guess what this afternoon I took urgent half day leave from work cos I forgot to bring my Avent pump handles to work! Imagine that! I tried to hand expressing but could only managed to squeeze out 120ml instead of my usual 200ml. Breasts feel full so gave up and cook up some excuse that I need to take urgent leave cos MIL is not feeling well and I had to rush home to take care of my baby. Aiyo...
But it's also a good break for me cos here I am in an empty house and I managed to catch almost 3 hours of uninterrupted afternoon nap!

krissie,
Could it be that your pump suction is set too high or the funnel positioning is not good such that your nipple bled?

Re. feeding of solids
Now I'm giving Isaac 2.5 tablespoons of rice cereals once a day in the morning. After that will usually wait about 1 hour to give him his milk and he can still down 180ml. Is it a case of too much in too little time? Should I wait longer to give him his milk?
Or is it better to split the cereal feed into 2 separate feeds (maybe morning and evening), cut down the cereal amount to say 1.5 tablespoon per feed and follow immediately by maybe 100ml of milk?

Re. baby monitor
I bought one after moving back home after confinement. Isaac has been sleeping in his own room since the 2nd month cos cannot fit his cot in our room. If I leave my room and his room door open, I can hear him if he stirs or cry (maybe because I'm a light sleeper). So up till now I have only used the monitor for a grand total of 3 times! And only because me &amp; HB had to close our room door to turn on the air-con. Isaac seldom sleep with us, only when he's having fever after his jabs or when I'm too lazy to bring him back to his room after the middle of night feeds. And we prefer that he doesn't sleep with us on our bed cos he makes a lot of baby noises in his sleep and he flips so much and that we can't get any proper sleep with him between us.

queen,
dat was one of my greatest fear..forgetting to bring a part of the pump. but it hasnt happened to me..so far only forgot to bring the dome covering the top so i could still pump.

re:feeding of solids
ve been feeding megan about 1tablespoon of cereal n immediately after that its 160ml of milk. she demands for the milk so i jus feed. so far ok.

re:baby monitor
megan's cot is still in our room. it has become bad habit for us to wake up n check on her even if she doesnt make noise..i'm worried abt leaving her alone to sleep in the next room.. and we also need to clear up the room in order to move her cot in. its currently filled with unused baby stuff..

God's child/Tracy

Re: Caterpillar Crawl
Sept03 is rite, they are just exercising their muscles. As long as they are doing it on their own and not "forced" by adults it should be fine. In fact, you should encourage them to exercise cos it will help to strengthen their muscles. But just be careful and dun leave them unattended on the bed even for a few sec, they will surprise you with the progress they can make in a few days. That's why I finf the mattress with side bumper (rem the one I posted a few days back) very useful. Cos is thicker than bumpermat, so is not painful when they fall flat on their back/face and can keep them within the compound without worrying they will fall off the bed...heehee

If your bb starts to push themselves up to "push up" position, get your hb on all fours and crawl with them. Mel would juz stared at her daddy and wondering what he was doing. After showing her a few times, she actually attempted to follow his actions...so cute =p

Yes Tracy, it will get tougher and tougher to change them. Now to wipe, change diaper and dress Mel up is a challenge. I used to give her a little massage after I wipe her every nite, but now I gave up. The moment I put her down on her back, she would flip over and that could go on for 5 min **faintz** Can you imagine when she poo poo and her diaper is full of shit before I could wipe her backside, she tries to crawl off....yucks so dirty!!!

Clare

Did you take the same brand of Pai Fong Wan? Ya me very scared of all these herbs/medicines from China.

Ya agree with the rest of mummies better to stay @ home if it's raining....too many pple are falling sick lately. If not raining great idea to go to Botanic Garden, East Coast or reservoir for some fresh air :) Anyway I believe Ashley will just be happy to spend time with daddy and mummy (especially!!!) so it doesn't really matter where she goes...don't u agree?