(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Clare,
thanks for the tips... will keep all the info in mind when we start training her... right now, she doesn't have a fixed time to poo... cna be anytime of the day!

Mamachan,
dun feel bad about leaving your son to cry... me too, I very heng xin one... nowadays when it is nap time, I just close the curtains, put her in her cot, pop in her pacificer and leave the room... and this is when she is wide awake! Haha, she will cry for about 10min, then she will drift off to sleep...

Good morning mummies

bb poo..pooo...
once when Christabel poo..hb and I think so messy..so decided to bring her shower and wash her up. We haven even use the shower, when she see the shower turning on and running...she was so scare tht she scream and cry....wow mian...make me and my hb panic....add 1 more point for our stupility...so I think potty train Christabel is good cause every time she poo...I have to bring her to bath to wash her up hb always very concern Christabel not clean enough by just using cotton and bb wipes...he always wants me to wash....

Mashy - oh ya..wonder how to train boy boy to pee...mabbie u carry him wf his little 'didi' facing the potty? other mums can advise?

mamachan - ok, will give a food at a time...

sysa - cephas reali look so big boy now... very handsome!

Hi Sysac,
your boy is a handsome fellow!

Baby's passport is ready for collection already, yippeee! Gonna go down this week to pick it up... the collection card didn't say have to bring bb though, do we have to?

mamachan
my bb is not starting any semi solid.. and her milk feeding already sometimes drop to 600ml if 150ml x 4time...thats why I a bit concern lor.

I probably start her on semi solid 5.5 mths.
I'm still looking for cue that she is ready for semi solid...

mamachan,
wow u very good hor. can "hen xing" to let bb cry. i cannot leh, very heart pain... :p i'm oso suspecting issit due to bb teething but if teething shldn't be only crying at night right? day time shld oso cry right?

many many post to read!

morning morning!

thanks to all mummies comforting me on hb's issue! its rainbow after a storm =) he is super nice to me since he pick me up from work last evening =p
so man really must give them some color then they will learn hahaha

re: potty training
wow... ashley so clever and guai can poo poo in potty liao ah. hmm... must start to train my dyaln then. at least poo poo in potty wont be so messy as in poo sticking to his butt haha

Cindy,
Is the Pampers Premium pormotion still on at Carrefour?

Re. bonding
I read that Mummy is the first person babies will at birth and even though their vision is not developed, they will registed mummies' face shape and smell. And as they grow, they will learn to associate mummies' shape and smell whenever they are held. So not to worry, no matter what, once you hold them, they'll know you are the mummy. I think when BF or not, it is not that important a factor to promotoe bonding. More improtant to make an effort to cuddle, play and talk to them.

Re. Cereals
Mummies who have started, how much cereals to give such it can it can replace the milk feed?

Re. Potty training
How to start? Every morning just put BB on the potty and 'emm emm'?

Re: semi solid
so we need to buy a new pot to cook bb food?
I plan to get those mini slow cooker to cook the porridge next time.. anyone consier getting also?

re: crying bb

mamachan, dont feel bad. me sama sama. this morning dylan cry for 2 hrs straight from 2am to 4am!!! me and hb tahang through and he sleep till 7am when i woke him up to latch him on, bcoz breast too full and painful.
sigh... no choice leh, still have to undergo training if not the rest of the days all of us will suffer.

mashybrain,
haha we both experiencing the same thing! my boy is putting everything his little hand can lay on and pop into his mouth. he also likes chewing on his fingers. does tat mean he's teeting? i can see abit of white in this gum thou.

Re : baby crying
It cld be teething... it doesn't mean bb will cry in the daytime and nighttime. in fact when my niece was teething, she only cries and reali cries at night only... her poor parents gota stay up til wee hours to pacify her... actuali all they want is play perhaps so that they can forget the 'tong ku'after 2weeks, the crying stopped and the tooth popped up!

Re : Baby pots/slowcooker
cookie - i got a new pot to cook brown rice cereal for Celeste, cos gota stir and cook til boiling. white rice very easy, just mix in bowl only... i wont use our existing pots cos they shouldn't be mixed wf baby's as ours will have oil and spices...so its special pot for celeste. slow cooker i have one small one to use when cooking porridge when she turns 6mths...

rachel - CONGRATS! so the colors got your man to tame down...haha... sometimes men dun know wat they are asking for!

Hi SL,

I let my mom take care cos is more convenient (she stays next blk). She comes over to my pl so that I don't have to disrupt Mel's sleep in the morning. Also my in-laws are older and inexperience in looking after babies. Plus I guess for selfish reason, is easier for me to tell my mom (rather than my in-laws) what I don't like in case there is disagreement in bringing up bb.

sleeping deer ,

I think have to bring bb.. I brought bb down the last time..

Mashy,

try to see if bb is teethng? maybe can get the teething gel.. if you intend to work then you really have to be hard hearted coz bb must get use to days withour you..

RE: bonding

frankly although bb are natually bond with mothers but as they grow older and seeing lesser of their parents they will start to bond with their care giver.. my SIL has 4 kids and she has no time for the 3rd and 4th kid and most of the time they are with the maid and even the maid put them to sleep.. one day she heard them calling the maid mummy...she cried..

even my church mate also have experience like this.. that is also why I choose to stay home lor.. but the bottom line is try to care for the child as much as you can when you are at home..

RE: sarong

I heard froma church mate that it is very diffcult to kick off the sarong habit..I would rather think that getting a rocker is better..

god's child

yah lo. asking for trouble only. haha
thanks for your advise really =)

hmmm... think the training of pee pee is more challenging bah. think must be older like when they start to walk on their own, start bring them to toilet and keep saying "sh-sh". then they will get the idea that when want to pee must walk to toilet and pee??? im right?? any mummy enlighten me.

sysac
handsome handsome boy!
you could use photoshop or some other software to change to background color to white.

re: sarong

yah, could be hard to kick off the habit. one lf my niece actually sleep till 3 years old! imagine that! she can climb in and out of the sarong herself *faint*
last visit to IL place in msia. end up dylan did not sleep much in the day coz no sarong for him....
he is used to sleep in sarong in day time when my mum look after him.

re:potty training
so clever..those who are potty trained. must get my MIL to try out.

mashy, celine,
my gal also recently get really cranky before sleeping at night...its crying crying for almost an hour plus sometimes.

last night, she cried in the car all the way from thomson to punggol. couldnt pacify her no matter wat i did. reach home, still cry, then suddenly jus fell asleep...

she still sleeps right thru but we ve to wake up about 2x per night to flip her back or pick up her pacifier.

i wonder if its teething that's making her cranky..

Hi MamaChan
Re sleepsense. We tried that previously but was unsuccessful. After reading what you wrote a few days ago, I thot maybe I should try again. Initially she was ok when we put her in the sarong cradle..cooing on her own. Then about 15 min later she started "complaining". We went to take a look at her and she screamed even louder. We ignored her and told her is time to go to bed. Guess what, for the next 20 min her practically screamed her lungs out (sometimes my mom can even hear her from next blk). As it was getting late, we thot we better not disturbed our neighbours and carried her out from the cradle. This the first time I ever seen her so angry (didn't even allow my hb to carry her...in mommy only mood). After pacifying her for 5 min...she started smiling and in playing mood again!!! Actually I can't decide if she's an easy baby??? Cos if she doesn't want to sleep, there is no way we can put her to bed. If she want to, she can sleep like within 5 min after we put her in the cradle. Sometimes, she can even flip on my bed (with me sleeping beside her) and fall asleep on her when she got too tired.

So for us the sarong cradle doesn't really work, it only works for the first few days when we bot it (got it when she's was about 3m+ just before I went back to work).

re:nappy
i remember reading earlier that some mummies still using nappies to cushion bb head while sleeping. now that the bb can flip and grab stuff, its best not the leave the nappy cloth there.

one morning i woke up to see the nappy cloth twisted around my bb's neck..so dangerous. so i stopped putting the cloth there.

Tracy,

wah very dangerous leh... I have started using a pillow when he is 2 months mainly due to his block nose previously .. putting a pillow makes him sleeps better..

Hi Sleepingdeer,
They must see the baby at least 1 time during application or at collection of passport. So if you did it online, then you must bring Shannon to collect for them to verify. = )

god's child,
yah I will also drop a piece of toilet paper into the potty first before putting Ashley on so her urine or poo will not splatter (Not that i experienced it before but since i do it everytime when I'm on teh toilet bowl so i follow suit for her potty also) Hee hee.... =P

Queen,
Yes just put Issac on the potty every morning n tell him time to poo and go "emm emm..." When he poos you praise him so he knows "Oh so that's what i'm supposed to do". Do it routinely and soon he'll get the hang of it everytime u put him on. =)

Tracy,
Re Nappy "pillow"
Aiyo so scary nappy ard BB's neck.... my ashley also still sleeping on her wrap cloth as pillow since birth leh... tried to put her on the (can't remember the brand) flat pillow i bought but she just dun seem to like it... remove it and she very soon drifting off to dream land... Actually is it better to sleep WITH or WITHOUT pillow huh? Sim Tia my expensive pillow not used... bought 2 somemore!

Clare, Rena,
ya, quite dangerous. i'm now using pillow for her. i find sleeping without pillow like very 'bare'. and like wat rena says, elevating the head abit helps with the stuffy nose.

re: passport
i jus applied online too. oh..must bring baby ah..aiya, that place is a nightmare. always so crowded.

Re: sleeping with pillow
aaron sleeps on a wedge since birth coz he has abit of reflux. But his head tends to slide to this space betw the wedge and the cot side and sleeps very well. Its like that space got his smell and head shape imprinted, so he sleeps better there.

Re: Milk refusal
Aaron still refusing milk, now he drinks 5 hourly I worried that its too long an interval. But if I try 4 hours, he will refuse. Nowadays once I put the bib on him, he cry already. Do you gals think he got phobia of drinking milk? I read from an article that maybe previously he keep choking on the milk since flow was too fast, or he vomit his milk until he scared to drink liao. Any good remedy for this?

Re: passport
Yes, you must bring baby to ICA for verification. I brought Aaron to photo studio to take. They spread a white cloth on me and let aaron sit on my lap. He look very serious hor?

440496.jpg

Sarong:
1 of my girlfriend's son slept sarong until 6 years old!!!! old enough to tell "mummy I dun want to sleep sarong liao"....even more faint hor..

pillow
I heard from my SIL not to let bb sleep on pillow until they are 1 year old, cause not too good for their neck, any mummies heard B4? Any idea if its true?

teething
Does bb cries alot when teething? What to look out for when bb teething? Cause I see a bit bit of the white white things from Christabel ;s gum..so like to ask what to look what for.

re bb cranky at nite:
tracy, how do we know if bb teething? and i read someone mentioning that the teeth takes 2 mths to appear right? so does it mean, meantime we juz have to bear with our child's crankiness?

mashybrainz/celine/tracy,
My boy also crying like mad before naptime/bedtime for the last 2 weeks. I also have the same superstitious thoughts. Moreover, he seems to be screaming a lot more nowadays.

cookie,
Thanks for the encouragement. U decided on the Prevenar jab yet? I've emailed you the article.

Re: sarong
I am still really undecided. Reading how so many mommies also coping with crying makes me feel that I should just bear with it..

re bb crying:
seems like alot of mummies oso having problem w putting bb to sleep sometimes. kinda makes me feel alittle better knowing my child is not the only one...

re sarong:
i used it for my boy since he 2mths but now i seldom put him to sleep in it. he's ok with or without. at nite if he's cranky and keeps crying, even the sarong doesn't work. he will still scream. dat's y i started having superstitious tots... :p

I remember when Christabel was 4 months old, I bring her to MIL hse (for open mouth ceremony)......and MIL start to give her chicken to 'lick' not sure if that scare her...she start to scream and scream and cry non stop..dun know why, who ever carry her also cannot, keep crying and crying, my MIL quickly carry her to 'bai bai' at the goddness...she stop crying immediately...

Once my friend ask whether Christabel wakes up at night or not, I very happy say no longer, can sleep thru liao...immediately that night she wakes up twice for feed...

Once my SIL carry my niece and kept saying she so heavy liao, immediately the next day she sick...

ai ya...all these happening, I feel myself like ah soh liao...not 'bathan' also cannot...ha ha

Re : teething rusks
anyone using Heinz teething rusk? i cant find the HT ones at Cold Storage just now, so thot Heinz might be ok too. opened it and felt its very very hard. i even threw it a few times and they din break! are they too hard for baby to chew on?

Re : swimming gathering
oh... so happy. have juz bought a bikini for celeste at $16! hope MIL wont faint on seeing it... haha
there are so many baby shops in Raffles Place now.. yipee! but my HB warned me not to get my hands 'burned'...
kao_angry.gif

bb cry
I am reading an articles, (can't remember from where) tht give ur baby a warm bath in the evening and a good massage after tht can carm ur bb down and have better sleep at night. face massage can also help to relief teething uncomfort....perhaps mummies can try...

celine,
i assuming she's teething cos she bites her pacifier, her teat, cloth, anything..ya, it was my fren who told me take abt 2mths for the tooth to finally appear!! dunno if its the case for her only.

val,
how long did it take Kirsten's teeth to appear before she stopped being cranky?

Ling,
can't be help, sometimes i also ah soh. cos when frens ask if baby sleeps thru, i answer yes, the very night she will wake up...sigh..so now people ask me, i try to pretend never hear.

in the hospital when newborn, my mum first day already said in front of my bb 'dunno whether her cry loud or not'...next minute...my baby cry very loudly! till now my mum keeps saying her voice very loud n my bb will then demonstrate her loud voice. my mum enjoys doing it on purpose and i keep telling her off but she thinks its cute.*roll eyes*

hee...i think to old folks, bb crying loud means they are healthy and well taken care of, which is a very good sign.....soo.....its ok, so long as not cry in the middle of the nite..will faint..err....ha ha ha

talking about putting everything into the mouth to chew. edgar does that too. he even likes to lick things. to the extend that he even licks his toy. recently i bot him the jumperoo from fisherprice and he would go around licking the cushion while sitting in it!
this is the toy i m referring to.
440551.jpg

cindy,

I think just leave your boy be. If he appears well and active. I used to be very concerned that my gal's wt gain slowed down until the PD reassured me that as long as bb appears well and active, there's no major reason that we should be concern. Unless of cos, the bb appears out of sorts.

cookie,

I am always assured that my gal would stick to me rather than maid or mil or even my mum cos I am the mother. I also set the night time routine for her and me and my hubby are the ones to put her to bed. We will bath her first, then feed her then say a little prayer for her before switching the lights off. : )

re: sleeping

I saw on the other thread that this mummy is recommending this other book called "The non-crying method" for teaching bbs how to sleep without crying. It's for mummies who can't bear to hear their bbs cry. Let me find the proper title at home and post it later.

Celine

Ya, your boy looks very mature.

Re: Crying
I think he's teething. Just checked him, can see the silhouette of his 2 front teeth inside his gums. Chilled his teether and gave him when he cried just now and he stopped immediately. Think it's really teething problems. :p

mashy brainz,
guess it's becos of his hair leh. coz i think bb w/o hair seems younger. maybe i shld shave him! :p

re crying:
oh really bcos of teething ar? maybe i try that tonite as well!

celine,
Edgar looks so cheeky haha...
Does he sit long in the Jumperoo? I am scouting for exersaucers now.. but the evenflo one is so expensive.

sl,
Yes, do share the with us the non-crying method if you can get hold of it.

Re; crying
I'll try chilling the teether too. Hope it's really just becos of teething.

sl,
its the jumperoo from fisherprice. he can sit and use his legs to bounce himself. Edgar loves to stand (but obviously he can't yet) so we tot this would be a good toy for him. and indeed he loves it. he really bounce very hard and he will even bang his hands on the toys. very "chor loh" boy! :p

he's normally a happy boy other than times when he is cranky... :D

mashy brainz, i think i know which food compere u are referring too! from the smiling pic he does have abit of resemblance! i think someone in this forum mention he look like wang li hong as well.guess he has a very "common" look. anyways it's juz the photos. to me, the photos don't really look like him. keke...

lingling,
he look like alot of hair only. but infact he has lost alot liao, juz like mummy. now his hair is very thin.

cindy,
i don't put him there for more than 30min coz babaies back is not very strong yet at 4.5mths. but i suppose he's ok if i put him in there longer than that. i was oso thinking of buying him an exersaucer but coz i saw this first, so i bot it loh. and it seems more fun.also the salesgirl told me that exersaucer is more suitable for 6mth onwards bb leh...