(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

any mummies know where to find cheap, good and big play pen? prefer those with material that is "tong fong" kind. so not so warm for the bb when playing in it.

Re : swim diapers
is it reali necessary for them to wear swim diaper? i thot its better cos the chlorine wont get into their butt... where can i get it from?

Lingling
I only heard from my friend pillow before 1 yr old risk in suffocation.. so dangerous..
I'm also using nappy as pillow now...

Cindy
no problem la...
I think I will still go for the jab as the consquence is serious.
I have check with PD friend.. he works at NUH, he noted the jab is relatively new in the market so not sure abt the any effect and he mention the research was done by the drug co and not by 3rd party lor.. hmm...anyway his kids above 2yr old liao.. so for him not really relevant so he never let his kids take the jab.

cookie
re: semi-solids, one way to find out if bb is ready you can try feeding bb with water from spoon. see how she takes to it. if she very happy go for the spoon, u might want to consider =)

cel_cel

Re : swim diapers

should let the baby wear. not for the chlorine not to get to butt ... chlorine in water everywhere n butt definitely would be wet. but to make sure if baby poopoo, the swim diaper can catch most of it ....

I got mine from here, but have not tested if it indeed catches poo poo well or not

http://www.plumandpeach.com/swimdiaper.htm

.ky.

Flo, I think don't need to wait. Maybe you can try and see if it soothes her first. Kirsten just keeps licking at it before I even manage to rub it on her gums.

re: cranky = teething?
mummies, if your babies cry until very ke lian and maybe clutch ears at the same time, do suspect teething. My girl also wakes a few times at night but not for feeding. She just suddenly cried out screaming and after carrying her, she will go back to sleep. But it won't be for long, about 3 weeks or so before you actually see the pearly whites peeking out...

re: potty training
I read from this website that can start training as young as 2months old, but of cos I never follow lah... Too much hassle now cos she's teething and poos quite often. She also poos quite frequently whilst feeding her, so how to train now leh?
http://www.diaperfreebaby.org/
http://www.tribalbaby.org/ECindex.html

Hi Tracy,
yah, i was at ICA a few weeks back, and it was scary... that's why if I can help it, won't wanna bring bb, now no choice.. probably go early on a weekday...

Java,
could it be that Aaron is ready for semis? Heard that sometimes one of the signs of being ready for semi solids is the lack of interest in milk.

Aaron is so chubby!

Ling ling,
i read about the pillow thingy too... my bb hasn't slept with pillow since she was born... some more i bought 2 expensive infant pillows for her... sigh... think I will wait until she is older to introduce it since she is comfortable without it...

celine
haha. I have the exact same jumperoo for Daren. My MIL gave us money to buy it for him =)

Re: Crying
I guess it's a phase that we all mummies have to go through and put up with it. Especially when our bbs are so used to being carried by us. So once we implement something new, they won;t like it and show their displeasure by crying...so we cannot give in to their crying lor... have to be heng xin. heh heh...if not, we indirectly spoil our child!!! That's for me lah.

hi i read that some of you used this sleepsense technique to put ur bbs to bed. can someone email me the document/book? i'm having lots of trouble putting my bb to bed! pls PM me for email address.

many thks in advance!

Mamachan - Tks! That's a nice pic we managed to capture while he was getting ready for bed. Will look around my PC to see how to change the background colour

Celine - Tks! Wow! That's a gigantic toy u bot for Edgar! He looks so happy! Bet he wakes up smiling everyday! Jealous of his crowning glory :p

Mashy_brainz - Tks! Yes, Cephas has changed a lot. He was skinny & wrinkly at birth. Now, he is all nicely puffed up...haha. Sounds like the marshmallow man!

God's_child/Sleepingdeer - Tks! He's one big heavy load too! I always huff & puff when I carry him up the multi-storey car park.

Rachel - Tks! Will try to change the colour & see how. Then send online. If not, then will drape myselg with a white cloth & take a pic of him

RE: teething

I think my girl is having the same symptoms of drooling and wanting to bite/ suck toys.. when i check the lower jaw, can see the beginnings of a tooth, little bit of white white... but dunno how long this will last leh.. I bought her some teething toys but most are too big for her mouth so in the in got this silicon piyo piyo teether from kidsmall for her to suck.

RE: sleeping
Can i ask u mommies what time u put your baby to sleep? I'm having a lot of difficulty getting my girl to sleep early. She gets tired abt 8plus and will latch on for final feed, and fall asleep but at 9 she will wake up and be in a playful mood until 10-11 plus when she needs to comfort suck to sleep. Sometimes if i'm lucky she's asleep by 10 if not 1130pm or midnight... so leaves me no time to study or do anything else but sleep... really need some advice on how to get her to bed earlier so that i can get some time to work.

Wenyl,
My bb will fuss at the breast but unlike yours, he won't suck & pull away. He will bite my nipple with his mouth & try to turn his head(with my nipple still IN HIS MOUTH!!!)

Flo,
Lucky you. My bb either doesn't understand a stern no or doesn't care. He will continue biting & pulling. :-( Even when i stop feeding him, he doesn't care. He will just cry to be put back. But once i put him back, he will bite & keep struggling again. SIGH.

Oh wow so many thread, where to start.

Clare
Was out for meeting whole of afternoon. Finally managed to get the mattress pic (Sorry mummies, the pic are too big)

440726.jpg

440727.jpg

440728.jpg

Does this look the same as the one in Carrefour? I reckon should be cos the guy said is patented. Anyway, as u can see from the pic (with Melody inside), you just tie the ribbon at the side. Not all the side bumper can be taken out. I think only 1-side (velco), the other side is sewed onto the cover (altho there is a zip to take out the cushion). Is good for bb to "practice" crawling inside as the bumper mat may be a bit too hard if they are not very stable yet. But can be dangerous once they can crawl out unless you put it inside the playyard. As I said, I think $98 is prob a bit ex.

P.S. Thanks for the "poo poo" tip, shall get my mom to try.

Hi Tabbie,

Cephas will sleep btwn 9.30-10.30pm. I give him a full feed, burp him, place him in his cot & pat him to sleep. Sometimes, he's already asleep during the feed. He was trained since 8 wks old.

tabbie,

my gal sleeps at around 7-8pm. She used to sleep very late as well - at 10pm if we are lucky. Me and hubby got no time of our own at all. Plus she gets cranky from 9pm onwards. Then we read the sleepsense bk and realise that she could be cranky due to overtiredness. According to the sleepsense, there's a "sleeping window" that you need to look out for. You must put the bb to bed during the window and before she gets overtired and can't sleep.

What we do is to set my gal on a routine. We will bath her, put on her pjs, feed her, say a little prayer for her then it's lights out. For the first few nights, it's really tough but after a few nights, she can sleep at 7-8pm after the routine. We get to eat dinner together and watch a bit of TV before we sleep.

sysac
Thanks for the advice

Sl
So shiok your routine... i have a routine for my girl too but recently she like to wake up and play at nine... today, i'm trying your routine from the sleepsense book.. hope she can sleep... just managed to get her in her cot... fingers crossed she won't want to wake up and play later... otherwise sure peng san tomorrow.. dunno if the teething is making her more fussy than usual.

Hi Tabbie,
Ashley cannot sleep long hours in the day but I'm quite blessed that she can really sleep at night. Ever since she's on 4 hourly feeding i slowly realised she'll get tired ard 7+ 8pm so we actually put her to bed that early. I normally reach home by 6pm, shower, then bath her. After her bath she'll be very comfy n hungry so i latch her on. She may fall asleep after sucking for a while but once i remove nipple from her mouth she'll wake up. By 8 latest (earlier if i see she's actually tired) I'll tell her its bed time n bring her to the room. HB & I change her into her pyjamas, brush "teeth" (gums infact; she love it actually hee hee), give her pacifier, say good night, kiss her n put her in her cot. Then we'll off all the lights in the room n leave her to fall asleep on her own. She will sleep all the way to next morning with a dream feed ard 11pm in between.

You mentioned your gal is actually sleepy ard 8+? Maybe u can try starting the bedtime routine ard 7pm+ (i.e. wipe her, change diaper, change into PJ,etc) so that when 8/8+ come you feed her in your bed room in a "bedtime" environment (eg, switch off all the lights except for 1 soft lamp, put on some soft music,...) When she fall asleep at your breast, slowly de-latch her and put her down. Ashley used to wake up when i de-latch her but I trick her by replacing a pacifier immediately, give her a bolster to hug (as if still warm against mummy) and continue patting her on the bed until she fall into deep sleep again. It won't work miracle overnight and I used to have to stay in the dark bedroom with her until 10+ 11pm so really no life. But I'm glad I was insistent and didn't give up... in fact quite stubborn as I refused to on the light or bring her out no matter how much fuss she makes. So now I'm a firm beliver in ROUTINE.

Florence,
Thanks for the pictures! Its different from Carrefour cos the side padding cannot be removed... yours looks better actually... and carrefour one cost $99!!($1 more haha) Maybe I'll try calling the contact again. Btw can the cover be removed to wash? Does it fit exactly into the 6 panel playyard? =)

PASSPORT COLLECTION
I went on a weekday evening. No queue. Very fast. I tink they close at 7 or 7.30pm. So can go after work. Dun go on saturdays. The queue is super long & the whole place is jam packed.

POTTY TRAINING
I tried putting my boy in the potty this morning before his bath. I went Mmmm...Mmmm....Mmmm for abt 15mins. He looked at a tissue box placed infront of him & went ahhhh....ahhh....ahhh! And then, a loud "POP" was heard. Yippee! I was so happy with my successful attempt! I even took pic of the "after effects". Haahaa! Agree it was much easier to clean. Just wipe a few times will do. But hor....i put on clean diaper for him & in less than 5mins....he pooed one more time! Wah piang!! I didnt know that small butt can contain so much shit!!!

Flo,
Where did u buy the mattress from? I m still tinking whether to get it or not. Saw a neighborhood shop selling similar ones at $138. So ex!

Tracy, the crying can go on for 3 to 4 weeks before the teeth appears and even after appearing, she will still get cranky but not as bad as before already. Till now, starting to get a bit better...

Flo, that's a nice mattress. I bought mine from carrefour over the weekend. And it doesn't look as good as yours because the side "walls" are not as tall. After we took out the cloth to wash, felt so cheated. The foam material inside and all the workmanship doesn't look like it's worth more than $10!

mamachan
maybe I will try spoon feed water this weekend

my gal is barely 4.5 mths.. I'm not too eager to start her on solid yet. but can test test water..

Re: toilet train
my MIL also wanna toilet train my gal when she was barely 1 mth old..I was very skeptical esp.. she is doing it in the hall just place newspaper on the floor!!!! I cannot imagine if the poo is explosive.
Maybe I will go buy a traditional potty to try out too. But my gal usually poo in the afternoon or evening tho.. no fix timing.

Re: MIL
Complaint abit here, dunno why MIL these days like to boast in front of my hb and me.. that my gal like her to bao bao and when see her MUST fuss and wan her to carry.
Just now she was sitting next to my FIL who has my gal on his lap. my gal fuss a bit then MIL start telling us, you see you see when she see me will fuss and wan me carry.
Then my HB told her.. no ley I dun think so, she just wan dad to carry her walk around.

When I carry my gal after work, spending time with her.. today (again) I caught my MIL making eyes and waving at my gal from a corner, probably hoping to proof her point that my gal will cry in my arm and wan her to carry.
But Phew!my gal ignore her but her little action really irritate me.
Really pray that my gal won't be choosy.. bo MIL will be 100% feeling smug abt it...
paisey complaint again.. just letting out steam.

I am still sick till now but scared it will spread to Jamie.

440888.jpg

FIRST TIME BABY JAMIE IS SICK

440889.jpg

5days later.. JAMIE IS BACK TO NORMAL !!

hi clayre

Thanks for the advice... yest. my girl managed to sleep at 9 til this morning 6am. Only woke up once at 5 becos of the rain and thunder but she managed to fall back to sleep by herself. Hope she will repeat the same tonite. last night i dimmed the lights and played music, gave her a little massage and a full feed. THen she knocked out.. hehehe...

May,
better rest and take care... not easy to take care of baby when u are sick...YOur girl is so cute... she can balance on the pooh toy! SO clever. Can she sit unsupported already?

Flo
Your mattress is really nice! unfortunately i already bought the haenim playard and playmat, so hubby is starting to comlain that i have to many similar items! Lucky he never complain about the leapad i'm going to buy...

sysac,
ya it's a very bulky toy. but since edgar likes it, so buy loh. he's the boss mah! :p

mamachan,
hee.. i bet daren loves it too ya. ur mil so nice, will buy things for daren

Tabbie/Clare/SL
My problem is not so much getting Mel to sleep early but rather how to put her back to sleep if she wakes up near midnite. We try all we could massage, electric sarong cradle, pacifier, sing/read to her and kiss her good nite but all just dont work. We used to put her to bed around 8pm when she was 1mth+ old but she would wake up @ 12+ and stay awake throughout the nite until 3-4am (I really envy my colleagues, their babies can sleep from 8-8). We slowly adjusted her sleeping time until 11+ and that is when she can sleep thru till the next morning with a dream feed around 5-6am. But lately shes sleepy by around 10 and we shifted our routine earlier (typically Ill clean and massage her, put on her PJ, watch us eat our dinner, latch her on thats when shell fall asleep). But the trouble is shell take a power nap and wakes up @ 11+/12 and thats when the nightmare starts. Shell be so energetic and playful and well be lucky if she sleeps by 1+. So Clare, shifting the routine earlier doesnt work for us it created another set of problems!!! Lately we try to stop her from sleeping @ 10 but shes still able to stay up past mid-nite. Maybe SL you are rite, she gets overtired and cant sleepso how???

Ling Ling,
Now you set me thinking, maybe is really the bangtan thingy cos my colleagues were asking me if I need to do nite feed told them Mel can sleep thru the niteI think shortly after that she started to drink very little milk in the day and a lot @ nite.humm so maybe I should keep complaining to ppl her sleeping pattern and hopefully her cycle will be back to normal againhaha

Oh yes, Clare you are lucky...Mel is the opp of Ashley in terms of sleeping in the day...is really easy to put her to sleep in the day and can really sleep long...in fact we need to wake her up from her afternoon nap if not she'll be very alert at nite...can die!!!!

cookie

i think our children are our parent's and in laws pride and joy... even now, my parents will fight to play with my girl...esp my dad... and sometimes they are so aggressive they forget that baby needs sleep/rest or that we as parents oso want to have time with baby. I guess, we secretly wish that our baby love us the most! I dun want to share my baby! So selfish right... but i can't help it... i just love her so much... ;p that's why I just tell myself my girl is lucky that everyone loves her so much! No choice, at least i know when I'm away at work, baby is in good loving hands... but dun worry, baby will know u love her most!!

celine,
that's a HUGE toy! but good that edgar likes it.

may,
rest well n hope u recover soon! can see from the background of ur pic, ur house is full of baby stuff.:p

SL,

RE introducing veg, should start with yellow then green veg...carrot (the least likely to cause allergic reaction) and pumpkin first, then potato (may occasionally caused allergic reaction) and sweet potato (cos is sweeter)..then greens like spinach, broccoli and cabbage. For fruits, pear, prune and apple are least likely to cause allergic reactions. Also when introducing meat, it should be pork then chicken/beef followed by fish (after 9 mths)

P.S. comforting to know that I am not the only one with irregular milk supply :)

Denmy

I normally knock off before 7, what about you? I don't take train. Which part of Robinson Road are you at? Maybe u can PM me to arrange the best pl to meet.

flo,

That was my problem too, just that the timing for my girl is earlier.. she will power nap from 8-9plus then want to play at 9plus to 11pm... so very tiring... but I think u must persist in the routine, I just found out the secret is really a very quiet and dark room... cannot even have a night light on...then she will just go back to sleep. Also, must break the habit of playing with her... otherwise she will force herself to stay awake to play... sometimes my girl is like that, rub her eyes like crazy but still want to play... I tried letting her cry but this weak hearted mum can only stand her crying for 10minutes before rushing to pick her up... i think if need to let her cry it out, i must be out of the house, otherwise i will be a nervous wreck listening to her cry...

just came back from Port Dickson. Clariss had her first swim there. didn't wear swim diapers but she was only in the pool for 10-15 mins. put her in a float but she don't like it, I think she felt insecured in the float but overall I think she enjoyed the little dip.
It's quite a relaxing trip but I came back more tired. I think it's the car journey. anyway, clariss was so tired that she slept from 10pm to 4am on the first and 2nd night and my breast leaked on both occasion. normally she will wake up at 2am to drink milk. had to to put her at my breast at 4am to suck out some milk.

re:routine
its so difficult for me to keep to a routine for my gal..i notice her 'sleeping window' is open at about 8pm, but we still at MIL's. so she sleeps in the car, then once reach home, place her in her cot, she gets disturbed and starts wailing for almost 45mins-an hr before zz again.

i really hope to reach home by 8pm so can let her sleep straightaway, but my hubby feels bad that we stay a short while at MIL's only. we reach MIL's at about 6pm, she finish cooking at 7.30pm..(she cooks very slow..takes 2hrs).

last night was really bad for me. reach home 8.15pm, she started crying. hubby went to work OT. i tried carrying her but she still cried. when i put her into the cot to pat pat, suddenly she cough up loads of thick saliva plus abit of milk. wet the whole head, pillow, bedsheet. i clean her up, change her clothes then she zzz. left her on my bed to zz while i change bedsheet then put her back into cot.

so obviously she was feeling uncomfortable so can't sleep. wonder wat is it. i suspect its cough with alittle phelgm.

this morning told my MIL, then she reveal, ya, megan got cough quite abit during the day! then my hubby said dun let the nephews go near her since they having cough n flu. my older nephew likes to kiss my gal's face n hands. my MIL got defensive and said she is also having cough, the cousin who is now staying over is also having cough...

i feel like telling her, then i put megan at my mum's while EVERYONE in the house recover from cough!!

Tabbie, you are right must force them to sleep. I guess cos partly my hb got tired of "forcing" her to sleep lately and decided to put her in the playyard and let her play until she's tired...but I find that is getting worst. Yesterday I decided to use the "dark room" method. Brought her into the room @ 10 & switch off all the lights....she finally fall asleep @ 1+...phew....guess what she then wake up @ 3+ and 6 for her dream feed...sigh. Hopefully it gets better by next week!!!

PS thanks for the activity website link...shall get my hb to try it out

tabbie
u are so rite...spot on! sometimes I think I'm really selfish in that sense :p I wish my bb will love me most, i wan her to myself and my hb of course... so I am normal? keke

yes I know my bb will be in good hands.. my PIL dote on her and sometimes just can't get their hands off her, carry her everywhere they go.
This morning I wonder.. when I'm old and become MIL I will probably be the same

dark room:
previously my MIL carried my bb into a dark room, tink he got frightened by it. Since then, he can only fall asleep in a brightly lid room. We can only off the lights after he sleeps

Tracy

Perhaps you should have a word with your hb regarding leaving your MIL pl earlier cos I guess bb sleeping time can't be compromise...very difficult to put them back to sleep once they are awake. You guys are there everyday anyway so is not like you are there once in a blue moon. And is going to be only a temporary phase - until bb is older. Also, maybe u can suggest that she cooks dinner earlier too :) Tho for political reason your hb should be the one doing it :)

flo,
i think i gotta start a war today to insist that we bring baby home earlier. i think it's workable cos whenever he needs to work OT she can cook by 7pm for us to eat first. it's gonna be difficult but i'll try! cos i notice on weekends at home my bb can sleep without fussing a night.

Tracy,

perhaps you can talk to hb and try to bring bb to your mom's place coz if bb recovers and the cousins still have not they may pass to her again...

Well sumo has recovered but still has a little cough and some mucus stuck in the nose.. last night he woke up 2 time crying then I put him on our bed.. I suspect that he can't breath...

nowadays I am quite jia liat .. I dun allow hb's niece and nephew touch my bb's hands.. I always tell them got germs .. especially when sumo likes to suck his fingers..

now my son become so protected by me hor..terrible

heehee yah Rena, abit protective but i guess its for BB's sake. When bb is sick, mum and dad most jia lat.. cun sleep.. always hv to monitor BB. And poor BB have to suffer as well

Re: Mattress

Clare
The cover can be removed to wash. The width fits into the 6-panel playyard but the length is about 1/3 panel shorter (but if you open the top and bottom padding, it should be able to fit). Which no did you call, the office or the hp no?

Wenyl
My hb got it from a temp stall at this neighbourhood shopping mall near my pl. Ive the contact for the supplier, will PM you if you are interested. I got mine at $98. I think its quite ex but I must say Mel's crawling skill improved drastically since we bot this mattress (would like to think is attributed to the mattress so that its money worth spendinghaha). At least we dont have to worry she will crawl outside the mattress or fall from the bed. Also we find the bumpermat is a bit too hard for her when she was not very steady initiallyshe got very upset when she lost control and fell flat on the mat cos I think is quite painful.

Valarie
Have not seen the Carrefour one, so not sure how it looks. I personally feel that the foam is quite ok for the one I got (the mattress is 6cm thick and the side wall is 20cm. Thanks for the info on the teething gel, will check it out at the pharmacy.

Tracy,
I understand your situation. it's the same situation for me. we will take dinner at my MIL place but they usually have dinner only at 8pm. baby is really tired and cranky already. I can only bathe and change her at 830pm and sometimes need to wait for fruits to be cut. by the time, we reach home it's already 930pm. I know that it's impt to take some family time and not to go home straight after dinner but sometimes, baby so cranky and ke lian. sigh!

sept03,
keeping my fingers crossed tonight my test will work then i can say baby really needs to be home by 8pm to sleep.

rena,
i also wish i can tell my nephews not to touch her at all, but my SIL n MIL are there and they allow it so i dare not say. wait they say i fussy...

seriously, they should keep a distance.. but my SIL teaches them that as long as they cover their mouth n turn away when sneezing or coughing its ok. BUT she didnt think their mucus will be on the hands then they touch bb, its the same lor. where's the brain i wonder sometimes.

Rena

I guess we are all first time mothers so natural to be protective...heehee

Me too, I force my mom to lock up my bro dogs whenever my gal is there. Very cruel hor, but still.. I am very paraniod, afraid my gal will get allergies.

mongs,
exactly same situation! sometimes going home earlier is better for us too, cos lets me have more time to do my stuff like sterilize bottles, pump, bathe etc..

Tracy

I think is ok to "educate" your nephews. We also tell my nephew to wash his hands before touching mei mei cos she's young and can fall sick easily.

SL/Tabbie/Flo,

How do you know when is the "sleeping" window time? My boy has decided recently to catch a nap in the car on the way back from my MIL place. Once we reach home, he will be wide awake & wants to play. Recently, he is playing till later & later. At 2am yesterday, we got so tired that we just put him in the bed between my HB and me & then we just close our eyes & pretend to zzz. He keeps turning left & right to look at us, pulling our shirts. Then he screams & make noise....after a very long while then he falls asleep....