(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rachel,
glad to hear that Sleep Sense is working well for you!

i've got a problem with my gal - she's stuck at waking up at 5+a.m. every morning. Will wake up crying. Sometimes i stuff pacifier back into her mouth she'll drift back off to sleep, but sometimes if i let her cry a little too long she'll get more agitated and by then, pacifier doesn't work anymore. Will have to carry n rock her. And sometimes that doesn't work and will have to nurse her.

Sleep Sense doesn't seem to give any advice on how to help her not wake up at 5am every night....any suggestions? i don't think she wakes up coz she's hungry. i think it's just out of habit. Sigh.

SY,
ur little boy really a lot of hair n handsome!

May i ask what's DS? See that term DS quite often but what does it stand for? Darling Son??

durainlover

i think there is one section mentioning about bb waking up too early! but dont remember which part of the book..... tonight when i back home i try to find which pages and let you know ok?
if i remember correctly there are 3 options to try out... the last option is to make bb go to bed late (which is not good but this is the last resort if the first 2 ways failed)

rachel,
i tried letting baby cry herself back to sleep but doesn't work. She just gets more agitated. Have tried letting her cry for up to 30mins but i regret after that, coz it's even more difficult to get her back to sleep coz too agitated n angry liao. i have a very fierce baby! heh.

Regardless of whether my baby sleeps early or late, she'll still wake up at 5+am. So i really think it's out of habit that she wakes at that time. If she wakes up happy i'm fine, but she usually wakes up crying!

tracy

haha babies are so smart. they know who to bully...... btw megan can sleep through the night rit? so its the taking her to sleep part that is tiring. your hb dont support on letting her cry to sleep?? you can let him know this is only the early stage, try to tahan but know its really heart pain to see them cry.
dylan will cry till sweating all over, like just taken a shower... sigh... but what to do. if not all of us will suffer...

wendy
your email add? i help durianlover send to you.

durianlover
i remember one way mentioned in the book!!
that is to wake up your girl before she wake up by herself! it mentioned that if your bb woke up at 5am, then you got to wake her up about 30mins before she wake up. which is 430am. wake her up briefly... not to play or talk to her... just carry her up and let her open her eye. then put her back to her bed again so she will drift off to sleep...
hopefully this way, her alarm clock will be adjust and she will wake up later!! =)

rachel,
ya, putting her to sleep at night is the difficult part...she can sleep right through till we wake her at 6.30am, otherwise she'll auto wake at 7plus, which is what we let her do on wknds.

he terrible man lah, dun wanna let her cry, but when carry her n she dun sleep, he will go 'tsk tsk tsk' and get annoyed. stoopid man!

tracy

hmmm... man... they really need scolding from us lo =p
they want to do thing their way but before hand they already know the outcome might not be pleasant. when it happen they will lost patience and rise their voice etc etc

Hi Durianlover,
I remember reading something about baby waking up at the exact same timing every night based on the book "baby whisperer".... and if i'm not wrong the author actually suggest carrying BB up 1 hr BEFORE BB usually wakes (ie. in your case 4am) to break BB's habit. Sorry I can't recall exactly what's the instruction like and I dun have my book wioth me in the office now. Maybe I'll go back n check tonight & let you know again. = )

SY,
OMG, your BB is fattening up! What's his weight now? So cute!!!!!!!

re: flipping.
hahaha... so happy. My mum just caled me and said Keenan flipped today at 1pm... and he was on the bed by himself... so dangerous....:p he is 5mths 1 day old.

SY,
Not sure about BB being naughty, but Keenan doesn't smile readily when I come home from work. But when my mum just walk in the room, he'll smile and squeal with excitement. I mean everytime! *sob*

re: KY vs Play
The other day, HB and I saw the KY selling on the shelf at SP Services, so pai seh to buy. We're like "u buy la. No you buy!" Must muster up some courage and be thick-skin, maybe the next time we'll get Play.... heehee

durianlover, tracy, clare,
I realise Keenan also tends to wake up 4.30am but he doesn't cry though. I just leave him and carry on sleeping... he'll go back to sleep 1 hr later at 5.30am. So should I still wake him up at 3.30am to break the habit?

rachel
I got the reply from durianlover already. Thanks.

Sleeping
Hmm.. Ariene usually goes to bed by 10pm everyday. Usually, come 9pm she'll start showing signs of tiredness and start rubbing eyes. So, everyday 830pm I'll start cleaning her, change diapers, change into pyjamas (long sleeves + long pants) and give her her last feed. Usually by the time everything is done, its at 9-930pm. By then, usually when I put her in the cot, she'll fall asleep within 5min. She don't usually wake up for night feeds anymore since 6th week but occasionally, she'll still wants her midnight feed at 1am. On days when I'm working, I'll wake her to feed her at 6am else she'll sleep till 7am for her feed, then sleep again till 930-10am. However, sometimes, she wakes up at 5am for her morning feed before sleeping again till 9+am.

Denmy
My hubby and I also playing taichi on who should buy the KY last time. In the end, I bought it cuz hubby too shy. Doh!

hi!

just came back from motherhood fair. somehow it seems this yr is not as good as last yr. prices of diapers seems to be more ex also. and as usual those insurance, diet, diamond water ppl keep stopping ur way to search for good bargains. sigh!

so in all..here are what i purchase:

i bought 5 bibs. 1 buck each. then nepia diapers. 1 carton(4 packs) gives u $5 ntuc voucher. i ordered 4 cartons. haha..yeah kiasu and also since i will definitely stick to nepia. might as well order and take advantage of the ntuc vouchers. bot 2 cartons of size M and 2 size L.

Also bot wet tissues from the brand ANGEL. its a local brand and new in the market...no alcohol, unscented, anti bacterial) 3 x 80pcs at $5 if you buy 3 bundles. and they give 3 small packet (10 pcs) free for every bundle purchased.

got a free motherhood magazine and a 400gm of Dumex step 2 milk

Denmy
kaelyn also dun smile readily like few weeks ago.
She will hesitate when see me or even slowly frown...sob sob...
although she is not to the extend of squeal in excitment but she keep looking at my MIL and not look at me
aiyo I feel so sad ley

This is the part where I HATE to be FTWM.

SY
JH.. soooooo very cute...!!!

Denmy / Wendy,
For my case I will NOT be the one paying for condoms or lubricant and my HB won't really feel pai seh paying for it... but I will stand far far away when he's at the cashier hahahah....

Re. Sleepsense book
I read it but didn't really apply it cos my boy was never the type to need to be carried or pat to sleep beyond 2 months. During the first 3 months, he'll wake up at 1am and 4am for feed. Now he'll skip the 1am and wake up at 3 or 4am. Sometimes if lucky, 5am. I didn't have to train him to drop the 1am waking. Somehow one night, he just stopped waking up loh. Now also very routine, by the time I fetch him home from in-laws, it's about 8 to 9pm. Will play with him and then Latch him on. He'll feed and start dozing off at my breasts. Then I'll take him off before he falls asleep totally and place him in his cot. Within mins, he'll fall asleep on his own. No need for comfort pillows or blanket.

Re. KY & Play,
Haha, I buay paisei one. I'm the one who buys the condoms and lubricants. My HB will not buy them! Of cos the first time when I bought, feel very shy lah. But when paying, the cashier didn't give the product or me a 2nd look. After that, not paisei liao. As natural as buying pads. I mean, what's there to be paisei about? Not some pimple spotting teenager liao.

Geez! U adults are so funny!
431397.jpg

Don't look at me like this la.. I shy shy leh..
431398.jpg

Do I look sexy in my new dress?
431399.jpg

Me and my foot are best of pals
431400.jpg

Hey sleeping deer, Friday's fine. I can go there myself as I live one mrt stop away from expo. U lemme know the time and we'll meet up ok?

SY ur son is really so handsome. I think I've said that before, but still have to say again. I drool on behalf of my gal. Next time he surely alot of galfriends one.

Rena, my gal gal also so cute yesterday. She actually dozed off on her Bumbo, then she woke up with a jolt when her head fell forward. So funny. =) Btw, when can u pass me the sling. Want to try lah...

wendy

your gal so cute!!! so she recovered shortly from her fever after visited Dr Ng?

oh yah, how is your niece?? the last time you mention she was admitted to hospital.

rachel
she's ok already and so is my niece. Ariene's just one of the freak cases where the fever after vacinnation lasts for a week. Going to visit my niece tonight
Thanks for asking. BTW, saw a few mums whose babies seem to be same age as Ariene at Dr Ng's last week. Was wondering if its any of u.

Just came back from the motherhood exhibition/

I met mongs and her hubby there. think there's not much things to buy. I didn't buy the nepia since the price is the same - $14 per pax - somemore need to bring home yourself. I will just call them and ask them to deliver.

Got the free motherhood magazine as well. : )

sleepingdeer,

Can't find the ergo carrier leh. Can we go to the retail outlet to try? I also intend to try the baby bjorn one. Heard from mongs that it's good. I wanna try bringing bb out by myself so pram is out and the sling is heavy.

Oh yes, eu yan seng got 20% so bought birds nest for myself. : )

Oh yes, I forgot - there's a counter selling GAIA bb pdts - there's a bp for this pdt - apparently the reviews from the mummies were quite good. I bought a trial kit for $28 - no harm trying right? : )

Suddenly wonder how you know baby needs feeding in the night? Does your baby wake up eyes open or cry? Mine actually makes all sort of noise (has been like that since birth) and I take it that she's hungry. But, have recently heard that it's normal that babies make noise when they sleep. So, I wonder if she's not hungry and I can ignore her noise? She's coming to 6 weeks.

Chenoa
for my bb when she was younger, she will cry and I know she need feed. When she just make noise, I will ignore her, wait and see what happen next

clare n rachel,
really? wake baby up at 4am?? Oh my...then i hv to set alarm clock to wake myself up first! Super xiong leh like that!

Re: KY & Play
You all are sooo funny! haha

My hb & me also very shy when it comes to such stuff, good thing now also hardly BD so no need to get. hahaha.

Habitual Waking (waking up at the same time every night for more than 2 days in a row):
9/10 child who wakes up habitually doesnt need more food unless going thru a growth spurt. Instead, reswaddle, if necessary, give him a dummy to calm him, and comfort him with the shush-pat. Keep stimulation to the min. No rocking or jostling. Dont change him unless his nappy is soiled or soaking wet. Do the Four S routine and stay with her until hes settled into a deep sleep.

You also need to take steps to break the habit. Supposedly you have ruled out other causes such as pain, discomfort or hunger, try the wake to sleep technique: Instead of lying there waiting for him to wake up, set your clock an hour earlier than your BBs habitual waking time and you wake him. Jostle him a little, rub his belly a bit, and stick a dummy into his mouth all of which will help stir him to semi-consciousness. He probably wont wake up completely but his eyes may dart back n forth under his eyelids, hell murmur and move a bit just as an adult would if you interrupt his deep sleep. Then, leave. Do this for continuous 3 days. This gives you control rather than hoping that your bbs habit will magically go away. By waking him up an hour early youll disrupt his sleep pattern.

"Shush-pat: Simultanaously whisper "shh, shh, shh..." and pat him on the centre of his back in a steady rhythmic motion. Elongate the shh sound so that it comes out more like the whooshing of air. Be careful not to shush directly into BB's ear, rather make sure the shushing goes PAST his ear. The idea is to convey a feeling of confidence to the child as if saying "hey, i know what i'm doing here." Best for babies < 3 months who have trouble settling down on their own. It calms them because at this point in their development, babies cannot hold 3 thoughts in their minds at once."

"Four S Ritual:
1) Setting the stage - when its bed/nap time, remove BB from stimulating setting to a more calm one, draw the curtains/soften the lights, put on soft music, etc. Idea is to make the last couple of miniutes very quiet, still n very low-key.

2) Swaddling (wrapping) - recomended at least up to 3 or 4 months though some babies can go as long as 7 or 8 months

3) Sitting - Sit with him quietly for ard 5 mins in a verticle position. With a young baby its best to hold him so that his face is tucked into your neck or shoulder, to block out any visual stimulation. DO NOT rock or jiggle himn and don't pace. You should feel his little body relax n maybe jerk a little. Ideally u should put BB into his cot BEFORE he sleeps. This is not possible with every baby but it is a goal which you must work towards. Tell baby gently that "you are going to sleep now. Muummy will see you tomorrow..." as u are putting him down to sleep, give him a kiss n put him down. Unless he's having trouble settling in, you DO NOT have to wait for him to fall asleep before leaving the room. Infants and toddlers who are put to bed awake are more likely to sleep longer hours than bbies who are put to bed asleep and 3 times less likely to wake 2 ot 3 times during the night.

4) Shush-Pat "

Hi SL,
thanks for the info... thought some mummies say have... then how to try? Coz if I want to get it, I will join in the BP...

Wenyl and Sandra,
you ladies still wanna go to the fair as some mummies feedback that's it's not very good? I'm ok to go or not to go... if we go, we can meet at 230pm...

Just to add "Shush-Pat" is recommended to do while BB is lying down and idea is to KEEP bb in his cot. If BB cries, pick him up n do shush pat on shoulder. When he seems to be settling down, put him down and continue to pat until u are very certain BB has fallen into deep sleep. If he cries, pick him up again n repeat.

sandra,

I can only pass to you next thurs is it ok? however if you really wish to try can as sleepingdeer to let yuo try as you are meeting her..I will be out of town..

Durianlover,
Ya..I also remembered the time when I need to set alarm clock to wake myself up before bb tear the whole house down.

RE: Motherhood Fair
I was there around 2-4pm. I think I saw one of the mummies in this forum cos she smiled to me and I smiled back. Looks familiar maybe bcos of the photo posted here? That mummy is with hubby and bb. Anyone went there today at this timing?

I signed up for the Motherhood Magazine. Got a bag of freebies and a free potty (quite big). Luckily I drove there today, else can't imagine carrying it to a cab or MRT back to Jurong!!

I didn't go to the last yr fair, so cannot compare. But I feel it is better than the fair held 2mths ago. Luckily my mum trained Jamie to sleep in pram or else I cannot enjoy my shopping there as she used to rely alot on her sarong.

RE: Photos of baby
Really envy all the mummies that posted the photo these few days, the babies had lots of hair. Jamie is still balding and I cannot bear to shave her. I signed up a package when giving birth to her in TMC to take photo. Just went on mon to take the photo. Collecting on this fri, will post it here. Her hair is too little so had wear a knitted cap over.

Rachel,
I let him cry out for the 2am feed for 1+ week liao. Now still cry so I guess it doesn't work on him. My hubby heart pain to let him cry for a long period....u know its so quiet at nite &amp; so his wails are really LOUD! Even 10mins of cry seems like an hour to us. The book mentioned another method which is to wake the baby up before his usual time, say b4 2am, &amp; put him back to sleep. SOunds ridiculous but that may be my last resort. But my worry is ...wat if he doesn't want to go back to sleep! Then I siao liao!

My parents &amp; ahma also dun approve my way of letting him cry to sleep. They all want to bao bao him to sleep. My ahma say I hard hearted mummy!

Sleepingdeer,
I am ok with go or no go. Let me know if u still want to go, I will go with u.

Sandra,
I will be slinging my boy if I m going to expo on fri. So, if u want, I can let u try the sling. Mine is from Bay*Supplies.

may,
You mean u actually tried waking up before baby wakes up? So it worked?
yes my janelle is also still balding but i can't bear to shave her. Wonder whether is there really a need to shave? So many pple hv been trying to convince me that it's good to shave coz hair will grow out more evenly. But u mean if we don't shave the hair won't grow out evenly? Hmmm...

clare,
thanks for the info!
Hmmm i'll try to put her to sleep earlier first to see if it helps!

sleepingdeer
wah!!! so qiao! Yup! That's the same Gary =) heh hehe. He did my short hair-do. Been using his services for 4 years too!

BD
Haha, tomorrow aka Thursday is my 1st date with hb since having give birth to Daren. We'll be out alone while my aunt is coming over to my place to help take care of him the the afternoon. If want to BD also pai-seh, got pple around. Hahaha, maybe can check into Hotel 81... strange.

Motherhood Exhibition
I was there in the early afternoon with a gf. Seems like the MIM booth quite hot. My boy was so distracted that he didn't really drink much milk when I went to nurse him in the nursing room (which btw was quite pathetic and not comfy and I'm shocked that there are mummies who didn't dispose of their diapers properly!!!)

I got free Promil Gold Step 2 sample plus 2 face towels, signed up for free DUMEX Mamil GOld step 2 sample and 2 small packets of their infant cereal from 6 months onwards. Bought 2 boxes of Pureen's A-B-D powder detergent at $5.50 per box (good bargain i find). Was really tempted to buy one more sling from MIM haha.

I was stopped several times by those colorful, educational systems/books pple. I felt really sianz. The slimming centres which had their booths up seems like the most quiet.

Re:Flip
Kaelyn flip this evening.. at a good timing I suppose just after my OT and I just stop my door step, she finished her 1st stunt!
She is 2 days to 4 months

Well well.. I'm glad I'm there to see her 1st stunt. After repeat a few times, she perspire again... weather these days are really hot.

Now I know what mummies mean.. they MUST practice to perfect the stunt eventhough right after her flip she start getting angry.

wawawa cookie,
u so lucky! At least Kaelyn waited for you to come home then flip. My Keenan cannot wait lor... just want to show his popo not mama

anyway, so happy for the little couple.... both flip on the same day.. hehe

how nice.. my sumo so far flip only once.. then too lazy to do the stun.. oh man hb say that i am too kiasu.. i have pack bb things in to a very very big bag for the trip and mum and dad's bad is only half the size for two.. ha ha.. so excited,.. will miss you guys.. as i will be leaving on sat morning

Rena - have a fun-filled family trip!!!

Re : Motherhood exhibition
May - i think i saw you
kao_smile2.gif
cos i recognise Jamie!!! i was thinking so hard if its you... but paisay to ask you..hee... was telling HB that it could be a Jan mummy and now that you mentioned the knitted hat, confirmed! Jamie looks so sweet wf tat knitted hat! actuali i smile to almost every mummy tat met my eyes cos was thinking if its a Jan mummy too.

re:motherhood exhibition
was quite disappointed with the fair. nothing much. i only bought a dress fm Bumwear n 3 packs of 'angel' wet wipes. new brand in market, quite cheap. 3x80pcs @ $5.50. buy 3 bundles @ $15. i'm buying it for my dog's use, cos fear baby will be allergic to it.

list of exhibitors dat i can recall:
1)mums &amp; babes
2) kidzloft (got swimsuits from i-play, but not alot)
3) nepia ($14/pack) now order thru phone also got $5 NTUC voucher, min. 4packs.
4) Mums R Us
5) Mums in Mind
6) HSBC
7) Studio Loft
8) AIA
9) Dumex
10) Sealer &amp; EQ Diapers
11) Angel wet wipes
12) Wyeth

cookie,
my gal don't cry for milk. In the day, she usu wake up at 2-3 hours interval and I will feed when she wakes. Day time sleep, she no make those noise leh....If she not sleeping, I will observe her....if she plays with tongue then I know she wants feed.

Night time, she makes those noises mostly coincide with supposed feeding time. But the eyes no open leh and I try ignore her, she can continue to "sleep" and make those noises....what does this mean? So far, I don't ignore her too long, means I still feed her after she make noise for a while. But can totally ignore and miss 1 feed?