(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Rena,
Thanks alot for getting the bumbo for me. HB said Sumo was really chubby n he was actually sleeping on the bouncer? haha so cute...

RE: Teething
My girl keep munching nowadays..her gums like very itchy. I bought her teething toys buy she dun like to bite leh. What other symptoms to look out other than itchy gums and poo?

RE: Bumbo
I wanted to buy also but think my gal is too big for it leh. If can use until 14mths, I at most can use to 10-12mths. Cos today hubby say I use the wrong method to measure Jamie's height. Cannot measure when she is in sarong, cos her spine not straight. So we measure her on bed. GUESS WHAT ? She is 66cm and 7kg!! Her rompers are very tight for her now. She is wearing 12-18mths rompers. Bought her a Minnie mouse romper (0-6mths) during Seiyu Sales.. but cannot wear..head too bed.

mamachan,
the bm that ur fren needs must it be freshly expressed or frozen? i've lots of frozen breastmilk but if she needs fresh ones also can be arranged. can get her to call me hp:98715871, i can liaise with her directly.

pochacco,
my gal also got sweaty palms n feet, probably from my hubby's side of the family.

may,
i also bought a teething toy for my gal, but it's kinda too heavy for her so she keeps dropping it. but she does put it into her mouth to chew awhile.

re:stopping bm
can someone advise me how to stop/reduce the BM? my freezer is running out of space and i'm facing problems pumping at work. eg. today, i was out from 12noon-6pm. i can't keep to regular pumping time at work.

i've reduced the no. of pumps from 4hrly to 7hrly. i tot the amt of milk will reduce, but it's still the same. i tot of further reducing it to 8hrly pump or best jus pump morning and night only. how to do dat? cos everytime i drag longer, i start getting clogged ducts.

Re: Gathering 27th May
1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb

thx Rena!

Mongs,
yes it's organic.

Tracy,
Wa... so envious of you... I want to lose the last 3kg of stubborn weight also cannot.

Babylon,
Your BB so cute. Talk to the newscaster. Awwww....

Sysac,
Where do you buy the Chor bi? and how do you prepare it for Cephas?

Clare,
So your grandma was the 1st person who invented the momsicles. Very clever!

Tracy,
re: stopping BM
My BM dipping slowly and surely. If you have too much, maybe can donate some to me?

Anyway, try to keep the 7-8 hrly pump... MS should dip gradually.

sleepingdeer

Thanks so much for checking for me... sorry to have to bother you but my friend decided she don't like the lime green color! So so sorry...
kao_embarrassed.gif

wendyheng
can try putting him on the cot and pat him to sleep. can also sing to him. for us, we will put him on the cot, pray with him a while, then let him sleep himself. he will cling on to his hanky and suck his thumb. it helps if there is a bedtime routine.

java
think u shld ignore his suckling sounds. we did that and my boy slept thru (last time)..now still waking up.

durianlover
pretty mummy, pretty baby.
love the pic.

Denmy,
3kg can keep it lah, no need to lose it.

thx, sometimes quite hard to keep to timing. eg yesterday was 7hr pump, today ve to change to 6hr pump. argh!

krissie,
hey, my gal needs to hold her hanky n rub it on her face to sleep. so i'm asking my mum to make her a 'smelly blanket'.

today is my gal's chinese 4mth bday, so its the shaving head and eating chicken drumstick 'ceremony'. i;m going to put her in bumbo seat to shave head. will take pics and upload tonite

re: semi solids
just want to share cos i'm doing some 'research' on what we can feed our baby when they are ready to start semi solids:

this is the organic brown rice cereal that seems quite popular on the other cereal threads. can be bought from ntuc. no added sugar in ingredients so sounds pretty good
418862.jpg

i am oso keen to try the rabbit moon brand si sen brand 4 a more local flavor... does any one know if it has sugar in it?

418863.jpg

May - Jamie is indeed long... and 7kg is a good weight!

Sleepingdeer - thanks for co-ordinating the bumbo and for getting such a good lobang... Celeste reali loved it!
418912.jpg

Tracy,
my girl also took drumstick and biscuit when she turned 4 months a few weeks ago. she really like the drumstick but not so much of the biscuit. I let her lick guava slices yesterday and she really like it. smack her lips and keep waiting for it to come.
418920.jpg

Re: Gathering 27th May
1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
what are we doing for this gathering?

tabbie
yes.. me too, before I leave for work every mornin I wilsay good morning to her. kaelyn usually good mood in the morning
and will be very smily. Sometimes I'm not sure if she is smiling cos she see me or jsut smiling for no reason... but it sure make my day

After a long day work.. I can't wait to play with her
such a joy...

Thanks for showing us whats popular in other threads...
I also need to learn from mummies here what to feed to start semi solid.

Re: baby cereal
Sorry I very gu gu...baby cereal how do we "cook" it? just add milk and stir? or must cook over stove?

mong/tracy
just very curious.. what dialect group are you gals? 4th mth got to eat drum stick and shave hair...

Tracy
Thanks for your contact! SO Does she address you as Tracy over the phone? She would need freshly expressed milk coz the cells in the milk are still alive, the frozen ones, the cells would have been 'destroyed'.

Durianlover
How should my friend address you as?? Or once she call you to intro herself as yiping and the phd student who collects breastmilk?

Queen
How would you like yiping to contact you? via phone or email?

long time never log in! so busy with work and baby....

so fast, all the babies reaching 4 months liao...hee i also curious. what is this drum stick ceremony thing?

today i on leave so got time to catch up on postings.

re gathering
what time is it? not sure whether i can come but i wd love to.

e: Gathering 27th May
1) rena + hb + bb
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) SY +hb+bb

tracy
i also keep getting clog ducts when i pump after 6 hours. so sian.....sometimes really feel like stopping

mamachan,
your fren can call me angeline

mongs,
ur gal looks so cute with the drumstick! did she enjoy it??

RE: frozen EBM
tracy, i'm like you - running out of space in my freezer for storing bm. Does anyone want some? Dunno what to do with the EBM.

Hi Tabbie and Cookie,
yup, really melts your heart when they smile or laugh at you... Shannon laughs with her mouth wide open, really love to 'zuo long' her until she can't help but laugh...

Tabbie,
no worries about the bumbo, I haven't ask yet anyway

Wendyheng,
these few days we are trying to put Shannon to bed b4 she falls asleep. She has a funny habit, she will suck her pillow or teddy and she will stretch out and start scratching the side of the cot bumper... scratch, scratch, scratch, and she will fall asleep... :eek:)

God's child,
hee hee, dun mention, Celeste looks happi in it... God's Child, you look as slim as your photo lah, not fat at all.

Re: Semi solids
Gonna hang on to BF as long as I can, b4 I start introducing her to semi solids.. hee hee, I must be the most cruel mummy around, till date, Shannon has never tasted anything at all but milk... poor deprived kid...

Queen,
Re: MIL
you know something, my MIL also threw a trantrum yesterday as well, same as your MIL! She was taking care of bb yesterday, and when we got home, we learned that bb only fed 3 feeds, when normally she will feed 4 by the time we get home. So being anxious parents, both my and my hubby just asked MIL what time she feed... then she keep saying funny timings... 9am, then 1pm, then 3:30pm... but it doesn't tally up? So we asked further, then she became very defensive and retorted back at us... wah, ask about what time feed also cannot... faint!

sleepingdeer,
shannon so cute! will scratch the bumper?? haha

i'm also another cruel mummy then! my janelle has never tasted anything other than BM too.

Re: baby no poo
Am getting worried! janelle hasn't pooed for 4 days!! i called my mum to ask her to buy gripe water so she's bringing it over to me later so i'll feed janelle. Hopefully she'll poo. If not gotta bring her to see doc already.

cookie,
I am hokkien and my husband teochew but I think it has nothing to do with dialect. I am also not very sure what it means. I think it's because in the past most babies start their solids when they turn 4 months so it's something like a opening ceremony. but I didn't start on anything after that day. so far clariss only lick drumstick, biscuits and guava. haha! poor thing.

durianlover,
she liked the drumstick, kept looking at it after we took it away. I think the drumstick though is boiled with water has it's original taste so it's quite interesting for babies.
The food that we introduce to the babies will be bland and tasteless to us but it will be very tasty for the babies.

sleeping dear
but hor.. kaelyn very stingy with her smile to me one ley

when I put her on camera she will smile and laugh but when Iplay with her.. she dun really laugh alot just smile with mouth close one.
maybe I dunno how to play with her well :p
My hb dun do anything just stand in front of her.. she will smile with mouth open liao like so happy like that.

DurianLover
Don't worry about not pooing. My PD told me babies can go without poo for up to 7 days. After that, if they still have not poo, then bring them to a PD to insert a suppository to clear bowel but it'll be super duper ALOT.

Janelle has changed alot since I last saw her
Ariene still same leh. 63cm, 6kg only.

Baby starts to fuss with hb and other caregivers and only want you

Any mummies experiencing this? My boy starting to show that comes evening time, only mummy can handle him and no one else. Even when my hb carry him when he starts to cry, he'll progress to a wailing cry! Only when I carry him he keeps quiet! *pengz* like that I can't go out for a ladies' night out with my gfs.

cookie,

the reason why your gal is smiling to you hb is that she sees him as a playtoy.. but you as the care giver..

Clare,

you hb quite tall hor.. sumo really love his rocker.. he can sleep for an hour or two on it..

Mamachan,

my bb is like tat.. only want me to carry at evening time.. and only i can handle him at that time

cookie,

the reason why your gal is smiling to you hb is that she sees him as a playtoy.. but you as the care giver..

Clare,

you hb quite tall hor.. sumo really love his rocker.. he can sleep for an hour or two on it..

Mamachan,

my bb is like tat.. only want me to carry at evening time.. and only i can handle him at that time

sleeping deer,
maybe suggest ur mil to make it a routine to write down his feeding time. my dad does that when he takes care of edgar when i go to work. we have a little booklet meant for recording. it's easy for both my dad and myself coz we will both know what's edgar's feeding time. sometimes we forget! keke...

juz to share a pic of edgar sucking his fingers NOT thumb! keke...
418997.jpg

419007.jpg

duno y my bb face is always quite serious when i play with him... suspect he looks upon me as caregiver like wat rena mentioned

tabbiesus,
my mum say si sen not so good for young babies leh. will check wif her y again.

durianlover,
I want! I want! I want your bM. TIA!

celine,
your boy really looks like big boy already!

Sept 03 Bride,
Wa... pretty mummy u.....

Tracy,
Were you the one who gave BB 1st Rotavirus Vaccine and decide to stop? I haven't been to PD yet. Super late already... supposed to go last Fri, but been tooooooo busy with my shop these few weeks... can die man...

hello! i jus popped by hm for awhile b4 heading to watch '8 below' at tampines. my gal at MILs, she cried so much when shaving her head. like so angry we shaved off all her hair. will post pics tonite. she looks beta without hair

cookie,
my hubby n i both hokkien. yes, its the opening ceremony of eating for them. some say if the bb enjoys it, means they'll luv food, if not means otherwise. this was e case for my mgr's sons.

mamachan,
yup, ur fren can call me tracy. thks!

sleepingdeer,
so cute, scratching the cot. everyday aft work i will ask my MIL the standard questions. wat time drink, got poo poo, sleep how long? luckily she's happy to answer all dat.

Mongs,
BB can start licking different things already? So it's safe if we give keenan diff fruits to lick? Just for the fun of it until 5.5 mths when I introduce semi-solids to him.

Sleepingdeer
before I start work I also told my MIL that PD need to monitor bb feeding so we need to write down the time of feeding and bb feed how much.
I told her if bb eat lesser than agar agar see less how much milk and record accordingly.

My MIL accepted it and has been writing. Its easier now, when I come back I dun need to ask her when is bb last feed, sometimes she never write I will ask her and she will still remember.

Re: bb suck thumb
My bb suck her thumb so hard when I remove it got PO sound..and need force to pull out one.
My hb and MIL dun like bb to suck thumb, although I think no harm for now.. cos it's part of their exloration mah.

My mil will keep saying so dirty so dirty when my gal suck thumb. my hb will say so smelly smelly your hand...faintzzz

mamachan
you are SAHM also?

Re: MIL main care giver
since MIL is main care giver in the day... will my gal next time at nite will fuss and ONLY MIL to coax her har? worry ley...

Re: starting work
after started back to work, and sometimes OT till 8-9pm by the time reach home already 9-10pm..
I felt so little time spend with kaelyn. Feel sad at times and wonder if she will not be close to me in time to come.
My work take lotsa my time and my boss is not those family oriented kind cos he has no kids himself and dun plan to have in future so I think he expect me to OT or not go home on the dot lor...very sian...
My colleagues in the same position as me, have 2 or 3 kids also everynite work OT later than me. It make me even harder to rush home you know what I mean and I also wonder why they can keep OT and not spend time with their children in the evening...

anyone feeling the same as me har...

Rena
Maybe it's because we're full-time at home caring for our bb?

Semi-SOlids
I think I might start somewhere around 5 months. My MIL keep insisting that 4 months can start already, make the puree really watery and mix with milk in bottle and let them suck. But I'm still sticking to my guns and let Daren start sampling semi-solids at a later stage. Haha, I think I'm being stubborn here.

septbride,

are you married in sept.. hee hee me too ...

the role of mum and dads are very straight forward.. we tend to play with bb less but most of the time we bath, feed ,change diapers etc..

therefore , you will have to set aside some time other than theses times to play with bb..

what i do is that every timt after bath .. I will put him on his rocker and let him rest for about 10 mins before playing with him..

i will talk to him, tell him stories and sing to him...

somehow it really works for me.. my bb smiles so much at me

cookie,

I heard from the PD that every time if you pull out bb's fingers .. she will stop sucking them.. each time she wants to suck just pull it away..

I dun do it coz i felt that it is part of his growing up..

Rena
i also feel that way la.. part of their growing up.
I always tell my hb.. suck suck lor, just clean her hand to keep clean regularly can already lor.
But I haven't tell this to my MIL yet la.
My MIL will probably start telling me stories the thumb will get rot in time to come etc ect...

mamachan
Just wanna confirm the fussing part..
cos I know rena is SAHM mah..

Sept03bride
ya ya you pretty mummy ley

Hi all... busy all morning with work.. really sian... esp when i always feel there's so much more i wan to do for Ashley... like the flash card until now i only managed to flash Maths Dots 1 to 10 only... coz weekday simply no time spend with her. Seriously having thoughts of quiting my job. Currently surviving on 1 income should be ok but think I might still look for a part-time instead (eg 9-1 or 2/3 times a week). I'm not really those ambtious kind so any normal admin job will do... in fact I always think receptionist is the best.. or cashier coz i like to play with the cashier "ting!" machine... hahaha... anyone same thoughts as me?? = P

Rena,
Sumo so good boy oh can sleep for 1, 2 hrs in his rocker... maybe my HB is considered slim so makes him looks taller, he always claim he got 1.8 but i really doubt it hahah...

Re Sucking thumb/finger
I think occassional suckng is ok but careful not to let it form into a habit... my neice now 4.5yrs refuses to quit her habit of sucking on her 3rd & 4th finger whenever she's tired or sleepy... everytime try to tell her nicely its dirty, not pretty, etc she upset n can start crying already very sensitive...

hello durianlover,
can you also email me the sleepsense book? my email: [email protected]

RE. Flipping,
My boi just flipped last sat..he was trying his best before that and last Sat, he finally succeeded!! and this morning, while i was preparing to come to work, i heard him crying 'eh eh eh' and tot he just woke up but when i went to the rm, he is alreayd on his tummy on his cot.. and my HB is still sleeping like a log!! OMG!!

FLipping
Sigh... my boy was only successful once when he tried to flip at 3 months. AFter that, never really tried to flip. Currently, he can turn to be on his side and tries to turn somemore but can't flip, just get stuck. However when placed on his tummy, he can push himself up, but most of time, he likes to go for his hand and suck on them *faintz*

demny,
actually I don't know if it's ok to let them lick on stuff. I thought guava is really tasteless and I merely let the guava touch her lips but she enjoyed it alot. smack her lips and her little tongue kept coming out to lick her lips. very adorable. I think it should be fine to just lick for the very mild favour. but be careful not to give those very sweet fruits like mangoes, banana etc. don't let the baby develop a sweet tooth.

re: sucking thumb,
my girl enjoyed sucking her thumb in the evening. she is very funny. in the evening when she is cranky, I will let her suckle for a while. she will be much better after that. sometimes I undress a bit slower and she will stuck her thumb into her mouth. at times like that, I know she only want to comfort suck.
I am let her suck her thumb when she is real cranky, it's better than her crying but once I know she is pacified, I will remove her thumb while distracting her. she is alright after that and will stop sucking.

no lar.. i'm not pretty mummy..i din manage to lose my pregnancy weight yet.. so now overall i tink i still look bad

Yes Rena, i got married in Sept too heehee.
Hmm..actually both me and hubbie have set a routine to play/connect with bb at 8+pm b4 he sleeps.So onli during this time, he is very generous with his laughs and smiles, other than that, he is very stingy heehee.. very weird 1

Sucking Finger
my boi oso sucking his fingers, we oso never prevent him to do it. We just clean his hands.

Sticking out of tongue
recently my boi started to stick out his tongue leh, duno he learn from where. Does any bb do that?

sept03bride,
yes my boi also luv to stick his tongue out.. and not only that, now he learnt to play his saliver and sometimes will 'pu' the saliver onto ur face.. then wehn u get angry, he will give u a cheeky smile.. dunno to be angry or to laugh..

sticking out of tongue
my boy did that, and together with blowing bubbles... he will keep smiling widely and at the same time stick out his tongue and blow. a multi task bb...