(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy,
hope u unclog ur duct soon! i understand how frustrating it is to have clogged ducts so often..mine is almost once a week affair.

sl,
yup, me using avent manual pump. less clogs compared to the medela electric one, but still got clogs.

mamachan,
i guess the only time hubbies can multi-task is when they are playing games n being forced to look after baby

Denmy,
woah, u r super prepared for solids! u bought so much stuff!

my baby also dislike water unless we give her immediately after she cries, then she will gulp down like 20-30ml. some say feed them water with syringe, like force-feed? i've not tried dat, i leave the feeding of water to my MIL. which means she only drinks water on weekdays :p

Cookie,
Ya... the Marine Parade one...

sl,
Can start with biscuit 1st meh? so cute, i can imagine her face when she spits it out...

Tracy,
Yalor, super kiasu... didn't expect myself to end up buying also.. was just browsing actually...then I thought aiya buy 1st then say... anyway only 1 mth away...

Cookie,
Keenan also like that with direct latch and occasional EBM. Yesterday also, our situation like yours, went out for dinner and thought will be back by 9+... so didn't prepare FM out. Just latch him on at 7+ on our way out in the car. Who knows he started chatting away, not interested in feeding. And he actually "dong" till 12mn when we got home...Maybe we should just put the two of them together to chat all day long la, no need milk anymore... heehee

Rena
Really? Heh heh. I think my boy already outgrow the top and bottom as look quite tight fitting. In fact when I placed him in the bumbo, I nearly want to roll on the floor with laughter as can see 2 folds of tummy through the clothes. My hb when carry him realized that his clothes quite tight fit, started to hum the Saturday Night Fever songs and play with him, make him look like dancing.

Zhimin
I think they quite like the TV.When I carry my boy and watched Oprah Winfrey show, he will break into a smile!!! Coz the celebrities being interviewed was talking so look as though talking to him, so he responded by smiling! I think there's this Baby Einstein Series which is in the form of DVDs? Maybe can play those for them to watch.

Tracy
I totally agree with you. It's like a no-brainer for them, it's a bigger bonus for them if baby's eyes also glued to the tv or computer screen. Tsk!tsk!

Cookie
No worries bout your gal being distracted. My boy also gets distracted while feeding and like to look around, got to resort to using face towel to cover his eyes. But I guess when they are really hungry, they'll concentrate on drinking. I think our bbs at this stage are capable to drink alot in a short time?

Denmy,
After sometime if my gal still dun want H2O, I will put in some gluscose. Then she will drink abit. I feel like getting the Food Grinder leh..it is plastic one right? It looks fragile leh that's why I didn't buy. Any comments on it?
My girl's poo also getting more smelly nowadays but she is still drinking the same milk. I wonder why? Nearly vomit when I get near to it.

Cookie,
My PIL also same pattern leh. One wk see one time. Everytime my girl sleep they will wake her up..ask her dun sleep too much.

Mummies..I want to complain also..
Yesterday went to my PIL place. Jamie is in good mood cos had enough sleep. So she keep on smiling when PIL talk and tease her. Rem last wkend I told u all abt my MIL compare my girl with dog? This week she say," what happen to u today? How come everytime smile? Last wk dun smile then this wk smile so much for what?" WALAU.. dun smile cannot.. smile also cannot!!

Then nvm.. feel MIL is too lonely at home cos everyone go out and FIL working afternoon shift. So I suggest to my hubby to bring her out also. Cos she hinting us. Then we went suntec. My girl's pram have got full canopy. Can cover fully on top when she sleep. So abt 4plus, she is super sleepy and cover the canopy so that she can sleep. My MIL go and open the small peep thru opening in front and say loudly," Wa... Jamie.. u want to sleep ah? U can see me from here?" Then Jamie start kicking inside, MIL tell me," Aiya, her eyes still open, not sleeping lar." Then she open up the canopy and carry Jamie immediately. Wanted to scream at her.. but cannot. Urgh!!!

Then I complain to hubby.. he say..who ask u lor.. call MIL along to make urself angry. Walau..I feel bad for leaving her alone at home mah..want to bring her out but she pissed me off with all these!! Urgh..

Thanks for all the consolation and well wishes for Isaac. For now, I know that the hole is not serious enough to be too concerned about, but still can't help feeling bad. Mother's instinct.

Re. Bumbo seat
I read that it is supposed to be therapeutic to the back. There are hospitals which actually use it for therapy purposes... So don't think it is bad for baby's spine. More like our babies are still not strong enough to be seated on their own, hence will ten dto slouch forward after a while.

Re. semi-solids
My boy also very interested in what we are eating. He'll watch us eat and his mouth will move... after a while cry for milk liao. Makes me very tempted to start on solids soon. He's in 20 weeks liao... trying to tahan 4 more weeks before giving him cereals. Saw the Heinz rice cereal without sugar, think it's a good first solids for baby. Read that it's best to start baby with tasteless cereals, slowly adding mashed vegetables, then mashed fruits. Do not start with fruit puree first cos it will get them hooked on sweet stuff and later refuse to take porridge or vegetables which are fairly tasteless.

CassCL,
Welcome and congratulations! Must be very exciting for you...

demny,
the brown rice cereal that you bought from NTUC is organic cereal right? I also bought a pack though I don't intend to feed clariss till she is 6 months which is around 1 and half month away.

hihi mums...
today on childcare leave...gotta bring James to see Dr later...he has been having runny nose since last Mon...then it got better and suddenly now become slight cough also...sigh...heartache!

I think Brown rice cereal is "heaty"...so bb muz drink more water after taking brown rice...I intend to start James at 4.5 mths for brown rice...what I will do is to cook the brown rice then blend it still mushy and then combine it with EBM and feed him with a large teat...
He will only take it in the afternoon daily...heard it will be good for babies...

So many postings that I had no time to catch up....when is the next gathering? Would love to join in if I can...meanwhile...all mummies...take care ya?

Good Morning!

this morning placed my bb on her tummy, she flipped back on her own! and she looked surprised when she did it, then she grinned.

re:weight loss
i jus took my weight this morning, dropped further to 45kg
tink really ve to consider stop bf soon or i'll disappear.

Tracy,

So envy you that you already back to your pre Pregnancy weight.
Me still got 4kg..like very hard to get ride.
Now got to wear M size instead of S..sian even went shopping..very dishearted.

Just got my OTO Trimax..i hope it help to get ride of my tummy.

I was so happy yesterday, my MIL scolded my hubby for not helping me carrying sumo when he crys.. she feels that he should help carrying bb more often on weekends so as to give me a break.

zhimin,
edgar only look like from the photos lah. think his eyes are getting smaller now as his face is getting round. so sad...

re jogger:
thanks mummies for ur feedback. i will try to go shop around.

bb watchin tv:
edgar oso loves watching tv. he can sit quietly with me and watch tv series for an hour! amazing!!

Pochacco/cookie - cos of the poor feeding and refusal of milk, i brought celeste to the GP ( cos PD was closed ). GP said its ok so long as she's gaining weight. she weighs at 6.15kg (60th percentile) and 62.5cm ( 75th percentile). she also mentioned its ok to start a little cereal since she doesnt like milk, use milk to blend the cereal instead of water. the propsed cereal feed is 3tbsp, but i half the amount for a start and will continue like this for a while before she hits 6mths. i only feed once a day and today will be the 3rd day. Doc says always try a new food for 3days to see if theres any allergic response *touchwood*.and she is taking it quite well, think she likes to eat than drink!!!

another way to make her drink is pat her to *sleepy mode* and dream feed her. I also realise she wants a quiet and dark environment to feed better! she is one tough baby to handle! but at least she is taking alittle creral, though i started 5days earlier than her 4mths.Doc did say every bb is variable...

tracy77,
i oso weigh around 45kg, back to my pre-preggie weight and tbf. don't find myself too skinny leh. how tall are u? i suppose as long as u are still eating well and feel alright, then it's ok loh.

MH,
during dinner at my ILs, i'm eating the most amt of rice already..hee hee. my SIL always look at my rice in horror, cos its like 3x the amt she takes. i guess normally i already hv high metabolism rate dats y. i was hoping to gain some weight from pregnancy but aiya...

Cookie and May

Sigh, my MIL also like that.

Yesterday, my boy was very tired, so we put him at the playpen to sleep while at my IL's place. My MIL went to him, call his name and talked loudly, 'sleeping ah? ', then he woke up. And she said, 'oh, he's not sleeping'. Of course not sleeping anymore lah, talk and call him until so loud into his ears. Wake him up already then say, oh, not sleeping and wanna pick him up.

Haha, finally retorted her yesterday and told her of course she kept talking to him, he'll wake up!

My boy also likes to watch TV. I try not to let him watch though becoz bad for his eyesight at such a young age, but my ILs will put him facing the TV and say let him watch lah.

tracy,
i think for ur height 45kg is ok lah. not too skinny. i'm 1.65m and same weight as u leh. but i don't know lah, maybe ur bone is heavy, dat's y u look skinny? i got light bones... :p

mashy,
i was hoping to maintain at 48kg.

celine,
wah, 1.65m and 45kg? very slim! ya, tink i got heavy bones.

anyway, the strange thing now is after giving birth, i can't drink milk. i'll get diarrhea. i love milk..

tracy,
i don't look very skinny. mayb juz slim and i got round face. keke... think i'm light coz i got small bones lah...

cookie / Denmy
my Dylan oso the same. a few days back started to be easily distressed when i latch him on... he will suckle abit and turn away, turn back to suckle a little and turn away again. will oso look at me and talk to me. i tried to avoid eye contact with him so hopefully he can stay forcus to continue suckle, but no lo..... even if my hb walk around he oso want to look... faint... normally only spend 10-15min time to feed ended up spent 30mins and still hv to struggle to let him drink more.

last saturday his feedings went down from 7 feeds to 6 feeds. he can tong for 5 hrs before start to fuss for milk. my mum jus called, told me he woke up shortly after i left for work crying for milk. actually before i left i latch him on, he drank for awhile then started to fuss wanting to sleep...

sigh... like that really make me tired. since i direct latch bb it is so tough to feed him with his behaviour like that. feel like giving up BF since ss is low oso...

wendyheng,
i think some of the mummies asked durainlover for the sleep sense. dunno the same one as the one u mentioned.

durainlover,
paiseh,can email me the sleepsense? thanks

durianlover - can i have a copy too? thank you!

Queen - dun feel bad or guilty... its not your fault by any means cos of diet or watsoever... Isaac will grow up to be a strong boy!!! My grandma also had a hole and went on to have 6 sons..

MOngs

The momsicle sounds good... maybe I will try this.. but my mom is worried that cold milk isn't good for baby's tummy...

Re: distracted suckling
My girl is oso like that, I find that she gets distracted if she isn't very hungry and when I can't achieve letdown.. otherwise if she is v. hungry she will complain. I oso dunno what to do... i just try latching on a little later when she is more hungry.

Y (chillies)
Er 8 to 10 will sleep then wake up twice for feeding but in between he somethime will wake up don noe for wat then i let him drink water loh

I hope he learn how to return to his slp ma. As everytime need to carry and pat him slp so now my back really painful le

How's your baby???

wendyheng,
my boy will also wake up twice for feed. i think now bcos we dilute his milk. sometimes i will automatic wake up. can tell he's hungry when he starts to toss and turn. wld try not to feed once i stop diluting. afraid he not enough nutrients now. usually he will fall back to sleep while feeding.

sometimes i also need to pat and i realised that if he sleeps on his side he can sleep better.

as he feeds does he dozes off? i wldnt talk to him during nite feeding. wld feed in soft light. to let him know its night and not time for play.

i also backache!

Mummies who are breasfeeding
My friend is doing her PHD on the research of breastmilk and its properties. Basically she's trying to extract stem cells from our breastmilk and grow them. She needs to collect only once a week of a minumum of 30ml, she'll go to your place and collect from you at your convenience. Are any of you mummies keen? =) Length of time is up to you, but i think need to commit a minimum of 4 weeks.

Denmy
hehe.. good then we save lotsa money ( I mean for me)when we put Kaelyn and Keenan together

Re: distracted drinking
I try hard to feed Kaelyn close to her schedule, but she is not hungry at all now at 3hrly, I drag to 3 1/2 hr at most 4hr.
I'm worry also, once each feed is drag, her last feed will delay till very late.
I wanted to let her sleep around 9pm++ latest 10pm but once each feed is drag for 1/2hr, end up her last feed become 11pm++

Imagine I wait for her to cry for feed, maybe 1 day drink 3 tims only...faintzzz

Re: bb talking to the air
kaelyn likes to talk to the air ley...
when we talk to her, very difficult to get her to talk at most wo wo ah ah and smile alot but if we leave her alone on the bouncer she can talk and talk and can scream in high pitch like so fun and exciting. faintzzz dunno what to say.

May
sometimes I also like that... I will encourage my hb to bring mil for dinner or show appreciation but when we bring her out, she always give attitude one, buay tahan
SO far we haven't bring her out with bb yet.
SO now.. I dun suggest or encourage so much...let my hb be zhi tong. if he is not so be it... since my MIL also attitute one.

god'child - understand also that if bb is growing well, no need to worry about the intake. but naturally we will still get worried about it...
my son intake now is around 130-150ml every 4 hrly.

Brown rice is good but heard that it is heaty. i think tat is why my boi got that fever.

yesterday, my boi learned to flip himself already, he like tat and try to flip flip flip...

ever since my son like to try to flip, i have put him to sleep at one side, hugging his pillow and he likes it... i will try to take a photo and post here.

my son also got the problem of having cold and sweaty palm and foot. any also got this problem?

hi mums...just saw the PD...asked him abt James growth...

He mentioned that at 4mths...their appetite will slow down and so would their wt gain...so quite normal...I also asked about starting him on brown rice cereal...he mentioned that since i am still TBF, would be good to give BM exclusively for 6 mths before I start giving him other stuff...so gonna take his advice!

pochacco

my boy oso has sweaty palm and foot. discover that recently that his foot is really sweating when i touched them. its wet!!! oh mine... think he is going to have "hong kong" leg when he grow up...

cookie
its lucky that kaelyn can play on her own! me not so fortuate liao... dylan need people to be around him and keep him entertain. even if i sit beside him taking a break he oso dont allow, will sure make noise to remind you that he is there, "hello hello talk to me leh" sigh....

pochacco/rachel
My boy too also has got sweaty palms and feet! I did ask the pd the last time we brought him for his jab at 3 months, the pd told us that it's either heriditary (family members has got that??) or it's just that the weather is very warm and they start to have sweaty palms and feet.

mamachan
think my case is heriditary. coz my father and brother have sweaty feet... me and my hb dont have. so everytime my mum will always nag my father and brother to go wash their feet once they home and change their socks everyday. if not the smell really cannot tahan!

sleepingdear,

Do u think can still get 1 more bumbo from your supplier friend? My friend who is oso a jan mommy is quite keen to get one after seeing all the posts. PM me if possible. Thanks!

MamaChan,
I volunteer! Always very supportive of medical research...

Let me know if your PhD friend needs my contacts!