(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

thanks sleepingdeer,

I got the book!

flipping
hmm... seem like other babies have start to flip. mine like no intention to do it leh... only once when hb placed him on tummy, think he jus accidently push and landed on his back. he seem to pretty enjoy on his back and waving hands and kicking non-stop... sigh...
even if i push him to his side he oso blur blur stay there...

Wendy,
Actually i can't tell that Janelle has changed in terms of looks coz i see her everyday and she looks pretty much the same to me! She's shorter than Ariene (60.5cm 2 weeks ago) but much fatter than her!

Re: sucking fingers
my gal also loves to do that and i don't stop her. But she doesn't know how to suck her thumb though. Can only suck her 2nd finger.

Re: sticking out tongue
Think that's normal! My gal does that too, not to mention blowing bubbles and saliva!

Re: flip
mine also hasn't flipped yet. She can only do a half-flip then her arm will get stuck and she'll complain.

Sept03bride,
yah u're a pretty mummy

clare,
yes i also hv same thoughts as u! i also no ambition one...don't mind doing simple jobs like receptionist, etc. Heh heh. And i also want to be present to experience my gal's growth! i also feel sad that i cannot flash cards at her everyday coz no time, or to read her story books, or bring her for a walk in the park, etc etc. There's like so much more that i feel i want or can do for my gal, but no time!

Hi Durianlover,
yah lor, she funny one, likes to scratch... no wonder she hates to have her fingernails cut!

So far, whenever we give her gripe water, she will poo, so try it and see whether it works

Cookie, sept03bride,
same here, my gal can laugh until nobody's business when my hubby stand in front of her and smile, I have to tickle her belly, creep up on her, and go 'cha cha cha' before she will give me a smile... sigh!

RE: Sucking fingers
me too, my PD says it's part of growing up, so as long as it doesnt turn obsessive, should be ok bah... in fact, I read that once they learn to reach out and grab things, they will start exploring their own body, including their little didis down there...

Sticking tongure out
My gal did that when she was about 3 months, and she loved it when we did it back at her... now, she sian with it already, moving on to blowing bubbles now... so probably just a passing phrase...

edd2jan,
hee hee, think it's durianlover who emailed the book to you...

clare / durianlover
same here! wanna quit job but can't....
everyday left so little time to bond with bb. at the end of the day is really burn out and temper oso not good. how i wish can have more time to really do things with boy...

Thank God! My gal finally poo-ed!!!

If not i would have brought her to see doc already.
But guess what? The poo was A LOT A LOT! It leaked out from her diapers all over her clothes coz it was just too much! i've never seen so much poo in my life!
i told my gal that she must not do this kinda thing again...contain her poo for 4 whole days then 1 shot bomb everything out. I had to wash her in my office toilet basin coz it was too messy! haha.

durianlover,
congrats! keke... once edgar oso didn't poo for 2 days. i felt so uncomfortable for him. and when he did eventually poo, it was also ALOT! and the texture is gluey gluey kind! and really sting!!! and like urself, i really don't know how to clean coz it's every where. so brought him to the basin and WASH! keke...

durianlover / celine
haha. totally know how the scene look like coz dylan did the same thing too! hold for 4 days and one shot release! leak from the back the kena his cloth and oso the nappy cloth placed under him. lucky i placed the nappy cloth if not if stain the bedsheet!
i was like, oh my.....! actuallly i stared at my boy's butt for quite sometime and trying to find a way to clear up the mess. heehee
lucky only happen once. now when even he poo i will quickly clean him up. fear he will againleak all around =p

Hi Joanna,

Haha, U also vain huh. I cut & hi-lited my hair twice b4 I returned to work. Now, planning to do again in 2 weeks time. My hair has grown long quite fast this time round.

Yeo, realised my time is all spent on Cephas. My only ME time is at work & when he falls asleep. So going to put him with my MIL on 25th. Go do my hair with my mum & go try the Crystal Jade Ginseng Chicken outlet at Centrepoint. Will pick baby up in the evening. The next day, put him at my MIL again & go do serious shopping with my HB.

Hi Denmy,

I bought the Chor Bi at Chong Hoe Medical Hall at Serangoon Gardens. I was told not many places sell Chor Bi. I am not sure if it is true though.

For Cephas, I scoop 1 tbsp of the powder, stir in the pan with 4 Oz of water. Cook until it looks like puree.

Hi Tabbie,

That's what I bought (Brown Rice Cereal) for Cephas last week. Have not opened it yet. Will let him eat it when his Chor Bi finishes.

Wow,

Interesting to know that there is a ceremony b4 baby starts on solids. Must let them lick drumstick some more

today my boy is so cranky.. keep cryign and wants to be carried.. he poo 2 times aday but a few times he will gas out poo.. so have to change many diapers.. he used to sleep thru but these two days he wake up at 4 amm for feed..

haiz.. finally he poo again the 2nd time just now.. and as I was cleaning him.. he slept...
image how tired he is...

rena
understand what you went through. this morning my boy woke up at 1245am. cry all the way till 3am then sleep... so now im super stone zzzzz

really so helpless at times when they behave like that. dont know how then can help make them more comfortable and sleep soundly...

Queen, its most likely to be hereditary and not due to your diet lah. My mum used to keep blaming herself for my bros hole in the heart because she was very unhappy when she was pregnant with him and she asked me if I was unhappy too. I must admit I was a little upset because my pregnancy was unplanned but it was only for a short while. I refuse to be pang dang, otherwise I will always blame myself like my mum did. For Isaacs sake, put your trust in God and be optimistic ok? So he is also shot by Cupids arrow! ;)

Zhimin, thanks for your encouragement!

Tracy, I was also hoping to gain or at least maintain some weight from pregnancy but now, weight is slowly dipping further and further into the underweight range Sianz, hao bu rong yi got to 50kg, now losing again

Mamachan, I also dont mind contributing my EBM. If she wants more also can, my fridge is too full, now almost have to resort to throwing away EBM. My no is 96673693.

Durianlover, Janelle is so cute! I think my Kirsten looks more boi boi than her

Pictures I took a few weeks ago:
419208.jpg

Remote control looks so yummy

419209.jpg

Now that I have swallowed the remote control, is it your turn next?

419210.jpg

Remote control is missing? Dunno, didn't see it...

Re: Gathering
I cant make it on the 27th because my BIL getting married that day sob sob, cant see all the cute babies together in the Bumbos

Sept03bride, Rena, you both got married in Sept 03? Me too!

Sept03bride, you very chio mummy leh!

Re: Reduced Milk Intake
Kirsten also getting very distracted with feeding nowadays, so frustrating. Give her more, and she doesnt want more. Give her less, then she wants more. Wah, I must thrown away litres of unfinished EBM so far! At the most, she can only take 150ml, usually, in instalments. And her intake varies at different times of the day.

re: starting solids
Think I'll wait for the 6 months mark before introducing semi-solids. But last week, I went to NTUC and saw this Heinz pear/banana puree that looks so yummy for 4-6mth. I thought buy first, if bb not eating it, I'll eat it myself... hehee...

re: sucking fingers
My girl likes to suck both thumbs at the same time. Looks so funny. I think I'll just let her be too, like cookie, I figure it's good for them to explore.

re: waking up at night
Kirsten has been sleeping through since 3 months old but recently she has been waking up once or twice for a few nights, not to be fed but just want to be carried. I realized that she has some sinus and maybe it's bothering her. Now that she has recovered, she's sleeping through the night again.

re: gathering

gals, can't meet on the 27th cos got wedding to attend.

re: bbies fussing and wanting only mummy at night
my gal's like that too! that's why i don't dare to go anywhere at night now. how to break them out of this habit huh?

re: flipping

my gal doesn't want to flip... she's going to turn 4 mths next wk leh... how? is she slow already?

clare,

i also had the same thots. it's like every morning rushing to get the bb ready, get yourself ready, at night rush back to get the bb ready for bed. No quality time with bb. then mgt not understanding and keep piling work. sigh. but then whenever i check the papers, not much part time leh.

Cookie...sigh...I feel like you too...me start work at 7am and then at times can last till 7pm in the nite...and then come home still got marking to clear...so...only time I really get to spend with my two boys are weekends! Sigh...I try to allocate one day of the weekend where I dun need to work lor...bo bian...then got camps to attend soon...so...gotta miss my baby for one night....sigh...but no choice...i try not to think about it!

Tracy...I pumping 6 hourly but still keeping up with milk supply. I have no time to pump cos i'm teaching and as such, I train my breasts 3 weeks before I went back to school...so now...pump at 7.30am...then 1.30pm...then go home at about 7plus and feed him direct!
The only way to stop milk production is to slowly reduce the amt you pump from your breast...extending the hours may not work...so you can actually instead of emptying your breast, just pump half of the amt u usually pump...then after that...slowly decrease the time also....u got what I mean...so say for starters...pump every 4 hrly but only empty half of your breast....then stretch it to 5 hrly and also empty half your breast...the slowly, 5 hrly...empty 1/3 of your breast and etc...in this way...it will signal to the body that we do not need so much milk and production will automatically reduce...hope it helps!

sl,

are you working? could you come over to my mum's place to collect instead? she is staying at upper thomson too..

RE: Bumbo

sy, when will be be collecting the bumbo .. please let me know.. the amount is 68.50

Re: work work work!... arrgghhh
So many mummies have same feeling.. no quality time together with bb.
Really fed up with my boss lor.. during office he dun talk abt work but only 5.15pm ( I off work at 5pm) he start to say come let meet and discuss this and that.. by the time his wife call at 6plus.. he will pat pat buttock and say ok I got to go, pls give this to me tomorrow.
Now I under him.. really cham, before that under another boss also got family he will rush home after work and dun expect us to work OT want..

Ahh bb wake up liao.. I better go play with her.

hello mummies, can check if the baby poo is what color? my son since 2 mth poo poo alway green and he is taking similac... normal???

Mamachan,
Yiting can call me on my HP, email also ok.
You received my email reply right?

sleepingdeer,
Your MIL also lost her temper? Sigh... MILs. Your MIL still having problems caring for your BB?

Valerie,
Yah, I know can't correlate Isaac's hole in heart to me... just hope both our bbs will grow up healthy!

Love the first picture of Janelle in her bumbo. So cute!

durianlover,
pretty baby, pretty mom.

Clare,
Thoughts of being a SAHM only come when I'm super stressed at work. Now my MIL is the main caregiver, I'm also afraid that Isaac will be closer to her as he grows older... I'm not ambitious career wise as well, but I do love the challenges at work.

Denmy,
so qiao, b4 i log in i was tinking,'hm gotta ask Denmy whether she let her bb take 2nd dose of rotavirus' and here u are asking me :p i'm going PD on 15th. most prob not taking 2nd dose..

sl,
dun worry abt baby not flipping. u nvr know, maybe ur bb will just skip the flipping part n jus sit up

Joanna,
thanks so much for ur explanation. i keep emptying my breast each time, no wonder no difference. i always target to pump at least 180ml each time in order to keep it empty and not got clogged. so i get the idea now..abit reluctant to let it dip, but haiz..

Sept03,
ur boy still looks the same as when i saw him at Dr. Soong's!

Valerie,
hee hee, cute pics!

queen,

I am the ambitious type in career and I have made so much effort to climb up the corporate ladder but now I dun even believe that I can just let go and here I am a SAHM..

tough lor coz can't buy branded..

wow didnt check email over the long weekend and so many postings. managed to browse thru quickly.

nice pics of your babies in the bumbo seat. very very tempted to buy lei but then also worried that his fleshy thighs may be clamp when putting him in and out.

re: insurance
anyone bot any insurance for bb already? life or savings? my agent is here talking to my hubby...while i surf the net. so chim..and abit sianz. haha..rather catch up with the postings

rena,

i working. can pm me your mum's add? i can pick up after i knock off work on my way home. thks!

tracy,

i know need to give bb time to develop on their own but as parent, can't help but be ganchio... : )

denmy/tracy,

i gave my gal the second dose of rotavirus. she's okay.

RE: Eating drumstick
Think it is a ceremony for Hokkien. Cos my mum told me if my gal is 4mth old. By right must do the following:
1) Shave hair - so that it is "clean" to go into temple as they think TAI MAO is "dirty hair"
2) Eat Drumstick - something to let the baby know they are going to start to eat solid food and they will not get allergy easily. Drumstick is big symbolise baby will be easily fed and have good appetite next time.

Not sure if I want to do that to my gal. But hubby and me are against shaving her hair leh..cos she has very little fine hair. Will shave stop her hair grow? Or the hair after shaving will be rough? Cos hubby and me wish to see her with lots of fine hair.

RE: Flipping
My gal was trying to flip at a period of time. But now think she has lost interest in it already. Dun even want to attempt flipping. Her head is quite stable now and she dun like to lie down. Likes to be carry in "sitting" position. She knows how to trick us in carrying her favourite position. Once we lay her down in "sleeping" position, she will "choke" herself and we have no choice to lift her up. She will end up smiling. So dangerous, dunno when is the real choking situation.

RE: Chor Bi
Heard from my boss can buy brown rice from Chinese Medical Hall then ask then to grind it into powder. Like that sure no sugar and preservative.

RE: Boss
Cookie..my boss specially change my job scope when I am back work. Now no need to work so much OT and I can go back on time. Dunno good or not..cos I feel neglected by them after "leaving" for 3mths. Less responsibility = Low chance of promotion? Very scared abt it.. dunno it is good or bad leh. I hope she will treat me like last time. Give me projects to let me perform. Now work no longer challenging. But I always longed to finish work fast so that can knock off on time to see my girl.

hi tracy...no prob...glad to help...if u need further clarifications...can pm me and I will reply...hehe...cos of my work hor...really no time to log in to the forum so often...hehe...

Cookie...ya...i know hw u feel...sigh...what to do..."na ren qian cai...ti ren siao zai"....hmmm....

Mornie mornie!

Valerie, Kristen looks so cute in the 1st pic..

Tracy, ur ger looks different from the last time i saw her. Did she like the drumstick?

SSF, yes i have bought a policy for my boi already.It is a saving plan from Prudential

May, my dad also said that we can buy the chor bi from chinese medical halls. He say we also need to add the "Si Sen" inside the chor bi. The chinese medical hall will then grind them.

Tracy,
wow, that is a big drumstick you have. did your gal enjoy it? I think she look very good without her hair, so neat and cutie. did she has biscuits as well?

Sept03,
morning! ya, my gal keeps changing her looks..sometimes like boy, sometimes like girl.

she was sucking the drumstick

Morning Mummies,

Valarie,
Kristen so cute in her bumbo, and the captions you placed there so apt.. hee hee, I like the last one, when she give you blur look... haha

RE: MIL
I dun bother about telling her to write down, coz she will probably not do it, my MIL is super stubborn, always say can, can when in fact cannot... anyway, just 3 weeks more till I quit, YEAH! COunting down the days...

SL,
Re: flipping
dun worry about your gal... my gal only flipped after she turned 4 months...

Denmy,
still gonna continue with the 2nd dose of rotavirus for my gal in early June... I think should be ok bah...

SSF,
me also talking to my Prudential agent about insurance for bb... advise is get insurance as early as possible... but we have been protrastinating... hee hee.

anyone bought life insurance? yesterday my prudential agent also talk alot abt saving and don;t really recommend life insurance. we have not decide yet. like you sleepingdeer, we are still deciding. hee..

pochacco,
My boy's poo is also always green since 1.5mth old. When i mix a little similac into his usual milk, got a little yellow. But i think I'll stop the mixing... he seems to be poo-ing less frequently.

The last few days have been terrible. He would always cry and be very agitated near sleep time. No matter what way we carry he keeps struggling. Hope this phase will pass soon...

Do your babies make a lot of noise while sleeping? My boy usually start at around 4am and he would toss and make noises. He's not exactly awake though but I would pat pat him. Interval is every 15-30 mins. So tiring... do we only pick them up or attend to them when they cry?

Also, can your babies take naps in their cots? Mine cannot, needs to be carried and rocked to sleep. If put down, will wake up in 15 mins. So my mom has been carrying and with that he can sleep for up to 3 hrs. *sigh... my husband complain that he has very bad sleep habits and we are perpetuating it. I told him who doesn't want bb to sleep on cot, but between letting him have a good rest vs waking up and fussing, we just carry all the way...

re insurance,
i only get the hospitalization one. didn't buy life insurance coz i find it quite silly. it's like y would i need the payout if *touchwood* something happen to my kid. think it's more appropriate to buy more insurance for ourselves as parents in the event if *touchwood* something unfortunate happen to us, our child is taken care of. juz my 2cents worth lah...

re: insurance,
I bought AIA insurance for my gal. bought both life and education but both are not those traditional kind coz the payout is really very little. mine has some investment component in it. we only need to pay 15 years for my gal life insurance after that don't need to pay. it's in US dollars so a bit of risk but we want to give it as a present to her. I think it's impt to buy life insurance if you have money to spare because if they were to buy when they are older, the premium will be so much more expensive.

wow...mummmies...few days din log in ....so many posting liao....cant really follow up.

sleepingdeer
k help me 2 buy e bumbo??? if no red colour then go 4 lime green. thks.... pls email ur bank acc no 2 [email protected] again.