(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Zhimin,

U must be really happy! Cephas is also learning to flip. His chubby arm gets in the way. Head & lower part of the body is turned. Upper part of body is 3/4 turned. We'll just give him a slight tug & he will be on his belly

Connz
My baby can sleep thru the night since 2-month plus. I think like what other mummies suggest, routine is very important.

Every night I will be doing the same things... for e.g.

1) Change her into pyjamas and fresh diaper
2) Breastfeed her
3) Burp her
4) Clean her mouth
5) Put her back to cot
6) Dim the light (very important as it tells your baby it is time to sleep)

So every night I will repeat 1 to 6... after sometimes she will get it.

Hope the above helps.

Re: Losing hair
For those mummies losing hair, I think can consider using hair tonic, but not those "Yang Mao Duo Li" with strong smell. I can't stand the smell too. The one I am currently using is odourless. My hair stylist said must use or else there will be insufficient vitamins for new hair to grow out. Or even worst there will be white hair growing out due to insufficient vitamins. I not sure whether she is correct but she definitely gave me a fright!

sysac
I am amused by her action. Cos the moment I flipped her on her back she started to flip back to her tummy.

But now I got problem le cos she don't feel like very comfortable on her tummy, she will always gives me those "er er" sound. But when I flip her on her back she will automatic flip back to her tummy... like she must complete the mission like that. Just now we are repeating the actions for about 6 to 7 rounds... I am tiring flipping her back also...

Sorry one time post so many msg as this is the only time I got access to PC.

Casey

Lisa looks so cute in her sweet romper! May I know where you buy the romper from?

Rachel

For the baby touch programme, is it that only baby plus club member can sign up? Btw how to join the babyplus club?

sl,
yes, i bathe him straight after.

connz,
re: bb massage
we had a bb massage gathering early April, also conducted by a J&J instructress. I've been giving bb massages as often as I can, after his bath in the evenings, and he has been sleeping thru' the nights ever since. He sleeps from 8-9pm to 7am. U might want to try substitute your bb's night feeds with water. Over a period of time, bb will know that he's not going to get milk if he wakes up in the middle of the night and he will start sleeping thru'liao. This tip was given to me by a midwife, so must be credible.

Rena,
re: Sumo
Wa wa wa!!!!!!

Durianlover,
re: easy bb
I think my boy is pretty easy and no lor, I was super temperamental when preggers. So don't think the 2 goes together. The baby is what we "make" him. We condition him according to our own habits and lifestyle.

RE: Cradle Cap
Mummies, I intend to shave my gal's hair this coming wkend. My mum say shave already will grow more hair. But not sure true or not leh..cos I scared shave already will not be so fine anymore. Can I check, if want to shave, should left the cradle cap scaly thing on then after shave comb it off? Or Comb the scaly thing off first then shave?

durianlover
think it might be the jab. My boy was cranky/moody the few days after the jab and needs to be carried more.

serene
me also still pumping at work. sometimes also feel v xian and wznnz stop, but I tell myself to try till end of the mth, then next mth, I do that again. how many times do u pump at work? maybe try to stretch the interval?

babylon
thanks.. shall buy a pack to try then, so far is bb taking to it well?

tracy
how much does your bb drink each time?

confused
do u know what is the name of the powder? my boy also has rashes. maybe heat rash?

BISHAN
1) Clare - Lilac (Dun mind changing to Aqua / Yellow)
2) Cindy - Lime Green (or any other color except pink)
3) Mashybrainz - Lilac (If don't have then i think of another colour)
4) Sunshinekid - Lilac (2nd choice, yellow)
5) Denmy - Aqua/ Yellow
6) sl-lilac
7) krissie - aqua (2nd choice, yellow)

CLEMENTI
1) babylon - Aqua (or any other color except pink)
2) durianlover - Lilac (or aqua)
3)God's child - lime green
4) Y - lime green ( any color except pink)
5) rachel - Aqua (will think of other color if dont have)

sorry, see this instead

BISHAN
5) Denmy - Aqua/ Yellow
6) sl-lilac
7) Zhimin - Lilac (I only like lilac color wor... if don't have then will consider others)
8) krissie - aqua (2nd choice, yellow)

CLEMENTI
6) tabbiesus -aqua or lilac

Here are my details:
Mummy's nick: edd2jan
Baby's name: Javier
Baby's DOB: 28 Dec 05
Type of Diaper: Nepia/PetPet
Type of Milk: Mamex Gold

Queen:
we apply the ru yi oil very regularly, ie whenever i change his diapers we will apply the oil. We are very consistent with this oil cos there was this once when BB appears to have alot of wind in his tummy and keeping crying and crying. Tortured the whole night, so from then on we will constantly apply the oil.

Sumo:
wow, he is really sumo leh. 8.69kg.. my oh my!!

Flipping:
my bb hasn't flipped yet, and he appears not to be keen on flipping as well. Do u mummies give BB tummy time to encourage them to flip?

kissie,

yeap he is enjoying the cereal now..and even get hungry more easily. After the cereal (4hrs later), got no problem feeding him milk.

demny
you bb can sleep from 8pm till 7am? wow... that's long hour leh. my gal can only sleep from around 10pm till next morning about 6am 'cos i wake her up for feeding before i go to work...

rena
wow, your suma is really amazing!

sunny,

my bb will sleep from 8pm - 2am for feeding, 6am another feeding and refused to go back to sleep....then by 7-8am, he feel sleepy again

Sleeping hours:
8pm to 7am.. that's very long hours. My bb will usually sleep at 9pm till about 3 or 4am. Then he will hv to wake up for feeds.If just give water, will it hurt their tummy?

hi sept03,
my bb is like urs. no sign of wanting to learn how to flip. i guess every baby has their own developmental pace. so don't need to be worried. his sleeping pattern is oso the same as ur bb. sleeps about 6hrs at most. then will wake up for feed liao. thou i notice lately he doesn't drink alot during his mid nite feed. mayb he juz want some comfort. so hopefully in time to come, he can sleep rite thru.

Krissie,
my bb is drinking 140ml each feed. its been this amount since she turned 2mths. never increase cos she still can tahan 3-4hrs before next feed.

Sept03,
i gave up trying to get my bb to flip, think if its time, they will flip on their own. she's trying to turn halfway, but nowadays, she looks more like she's trying to sit up instead! when we put her in the car seat, she pushes herself up 45deg, i gotta push her down!

sleeping hours:
my baby sleeps from about 9pm-6.30am. we'll wake her for feed at 11pm.

May,
thanks for updating the list! wah, 6 babies born on 11jan

Hi Zhimin

The romper is from Mothercare. If I have do not remember wrongly, its the 7 pcs of rompers for 0-6 mths. Now Lisa is 15 weeks but the rompers are very body hugging already :p

celine77 and tracy,
yah.. i tink so too man. Dun wan to try too hard to flip him liao.. let it be.
Night feeding, my bb will still finish his normal amount of milk so i guess he is really hungry. Cos during the 1st few mouthful, i can hear the milk like going down his tummy. It sounds really empty.

MOrning mummies,
so many postings....

babylon,
Re: sleeping hours
my gal is like your bb in terms of sleeping habit... 9pm to 2am, then wake up for feed, and wake up at 530am again...

Zhimin,
your daughter so cute.. keep flipping... my gal is just lifting her head... but she still dunno how to flip from her back to her tummy.

Re: Shampoo for cradle cap
Anyone know where I can get Detinox for the cradle cap?

Re: Bath time
I notice that some mummies her bath their babies in the evening... we bathe Shannon in the morning now....was thinking of changing Shannon's routine once I stop work and start bathing her in the evenings, coz I heard it helps babies relax... is it true? ANy mummy can share?

queen,
my MIL also likes to have a say in wat to dress my bb in. she doesnt like her to wear rompers cos she finds it hard to put on. she likes 2-pc suit. i dun like 2-pc cos my bb keeps pulling up her shirt or kicking her pants down!

sleepingdeer,
i bathe my gal in the morning then evening only wipe her. after wiping her,if its at home, she'll go to zz, if other places, she'll stay awake till reach home.

hi sleepingdeer,
b4 i change my BB to his PJ, i will usually wipe and powder him. I will not bathe him in the evening cos already bathe him in the morning.

Sunny
really envey u!!!! bb k sleep so long....

Clare
din swaddle my son ... previously did bt his hands alway cm out....after a few days we gav out.

durianlover
pls email 2 me e soft copy of the book sleep sense....my email is [email protected]

Zhimin
our routine is similar to urs.....my son wil sleep ard 8pm to 2pm ....after feed him ...he wil sleep til ard 4pm n wil wake up .... hv 2 carry him 4 a while then he wil go back 2 sleep but wil start 2 wake up every 1 hr after tt
......yest my son v naughty.....after 2 2pm feed....kep waking up every 1 hr
me n my hubby take turn 2 carry him n put him down 2 his cot....
e day before...after 4pm he wake up ...he refuse 2 let us put him 2 his cot n wil start 2 cry when he fel we going 2 put him dw
nw fel v sleepy.....my hubby tinking of buying a hamock 4 him 2 sleep. mummies....wat ur advise????

re: hair loss
i also start 2 drop alot....my hubby said it becos i eat 2 muc chocolate n icecream

Connz,
tell ur hubby nonsense lah! wat eat too much choco n ice-cream. i nvr eat also drop alot, its part n parcel of giving birth.

sleepingdeer
my mil bath my gal in the morning and then at night i will wipe her and massage her.

connz
ya, thank god that my gal can zzz thru night. if not i will be more tired coming to work.
try to talk to your bb and ask your bb to sleep thru night so that you could have more rest. i did that and it really helped!

sleepingdeer

sometime my bb was sleeping and i still wake him up for milk coz he dun drink much on the day..at the the nite feed, he can take more. so make it a point.

Sunny

I agree with you! When she is about 3-4 weeks, I have been telling my girl to drink milk and have a good night sleep. Well, she really listen to her mum and now she sleeps 8.30pm - 5/6 am. She is 15 weeks now.

celine - i also have the fisher price rocker that you have... celeste can actuali be rocked to sleep in it!!! your boy seems to like his bumbo alot!!!

connz,
just emailed you!

Re: easy baby
No lah, it's not that i have an easy baby. My gal getting naughtier! She was an easy baby below 3months of age, now older and naughtier...keeps crying for attention when left alone!

Any of your babies like to blow saliva? Dunno how is it that my gal learnt to do that! Doesn't seem very pleasant to keep blowing saliva, yet she seems to have so much fun doing it...dilemma!

Re: sleep thru the nite
my gal takes her last feed at 8plus, then sleeps till 5am for feed. Wonder if i should train her to drop the 5am feed? Coz it does help to relieve engorgement and i don't have to pump if she wakes up at 5am for feed. Plus my hubby will insist that i feed her at 5am coz he's concerned her tummy will be 'spoilt' after going without milk for too long hours!

mashy,
congrats to ur boy! u mean he just learnt to lift his head?

zhimin / tracy
i signed up the baby massage program too. tracy, same as you i choose the 28 may at KKH. so we can meet and place your megan n my dylan side by side to do massaging lo!! another dating on the way!
btw im not their baby club plus member. but can register for the massage program anyway.

conz
what abt trying to feed your bb more during the last nite feed?

re sleeping thru
Gerald usually sleeps ard 10pm, wake at 3/4+am for feed, then wake at 7am for feed. Last nite, we tried a new method, which is to feed him 20ml EBM at 12am. He woke at 5+am. Hmm.. tonite shall try feeding him 30/40ml. hopefully, he can wake up at 6+am. Then, we're v satisfied liao.

tracy
the baby massage program on the 28 May is FULL! got their reply email.. so sian... now only left with 26 May Friday morning @ East shore hospital... miss the chance of learning bb massaging again... no more dating oso

durianlover,
my gal luvs to blow saliva too! so messy and have to change so many pc of hankies.

i'm also tempted to drop her 11pm feed but not sure if she will go very hungry cos her last feed is about 7pm.

rachel,
oh good! another date for dylan n megan!

rena,
can keep me in the loop when the mummies going to gather at ur place to collect bumbo? cos i may be able to join in. i'm on leave for most of the mondays till end-june

saliva blowing:
yes, my gal also like to do that! She does it when she is bored. But when we play with her, she won't blow. And I always tell my gal, "no booo booo". Hopefully, she will listen.

Re Sleeping, feeding at night
I'll latch BB on after work at my mum place ard 6+/7pm then bring her home by 8pm. We'll then wipe her down and change her into pyjamas. Usually she will start to get sleepy-grouchy by that time also. We'll off the bedroom lights n set the mood for her to sleep. If she cries n start to be cranky, I will latch her on or carry her but will NOT on the lights or bring her out of the room. That's why intially it was really no life for me & HB coz we have to stay in the room n make her sleep and it could mean we're stuck from 8pm onwards. Nowadays its pretty fast coz she's very used to the routine already and will fall asleep ard 8+/9. HB will give her a last "dream" feed (we don't wake her up) at 11pm while I pump. Next morning I will wake up ard 6am, get ready for work n pump again for my mum to feed later. Will then carry her up n leave for mum place ard 7am. She is also trained to expect milk only when we reach my mum place ard 7.30am.

I read that the dream feed should continue until 7+ 8 mths when BB's solid food is established.

Re Saliva Blowing
My girl loves to blow bubbles with her saliva too!! I will every now n then check to see if there's teeth growing hee hee...

durian lover
my boi also learnin to blow saliva nowadays...in fact, it got so bad yesterday, my mum says he actually spit on the floor...so funny.

Today's my boi's 4th month and my mum steam a drumstick for him to lick...real cute

sleep thru the nite
I'm not hard hearted to let my boi cry thru the nite. Tried to feed water but its real hard for me to feed cos I am TBF and once he smells me, he will immediately root for my breast. So i got my hubby to feed water, but after one attempt, he soft hearted and tell me he thinks my boi is hungry....so now, he will sleep at 9 or 10 and sleep till 2 for one feed and 6 for another...

seems pretty consistent with most of you....

TBF
Does anyone know if eating seafood will cause BB to break out in rashes? My boi breaks out in rashes everytime i take seafood....dunno if its a coincidence or a fact...

RE: bumbo

bumbo will be delivered to my place on friday..

will let you all know when to collect.. hee hee.. all bbs on bumbo ..

BISHAN
5) Denmy - Aqua/ Yellow
6) sl-lilac
7) Zhimin - Lilac (I only like lilac color wor... if don't have then will consider others)
8) krissie - aqua (2nd choice, yellow)

CLEMENTI
6) tabbiesus -aqua or lilac

RE: gathering..

so how?? is it on?

RE: colic
septbride,
when we meet up we can teach u the colic massage .. it is very good.. my bb let out a lot of gas when massage..

RE: feedings

tracy.. dun worry they eill cry when they are hungry..
my boy can take at 7.30 and sleep thru till 6 am..
but my only worry is that he poos in the middle of the night.. and his diaper rash is coming up

clare
what's dream feed?

ak
i know that whatever food we take will affect our BF bb. so, maybe your boy is allergic to seafood? you try not to take seafood, say a week, then see the results?

krissie

So sorry for the late reply. The name of the powder is Milderma (Prickly heat dusting powder) its very gd. Ever since i change to this powder, my bb rashes is gone.