(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tabbiesus,
your gal is soooo adorable! Wish i could dress my bb up in winter clothes too.

mongs, krissie, may, denmy, edd2jan, rachel, sherene(forgot your nick),
CDs sent to you today. Let me know if you still din receive by this week.
So, request is closed for this. Cheers.

wendy / edd2jan
thanks for the info on pump. actually plan to get one electric pump thinking it will not be too tiring when pump in the night after BF my boy. my MS all along is low, think oso due to my laziness to pump promptly. i always skip the pumping after i latch on my boy, instead wil go to sleep...

re: vaccination
today on leave, bring boy to take the jab later. hopefully everything goes well...

Cindy,
Thanks so much! Will keep alook out!

Rachel,
my MS is also always low and plus i m very lazy.. so MS dipped even further. initially tot the electric pump will motivate me but end up i m still lazy. so stop bfing now. oh u going for the 5in1 or 6in1 jab? dun worry, everything will be fine. Javier slept alot on that day after the jab tho.. no fever for him.. good luck to you!

sl/mongs - i also didnt sterilise after pumping in office. just wash with the detergent and used back. i pump twice once in the morn and in the noon before i head home. my MS is abt 150ml per session. i book meeting room at times but most of the time, i go to the toilet (with one cubicle) to pump. not a very ideal place but no choice lor. btw, how do u store your EBM? is 2 packs of ice pack enough to last till end of the day? lets jia you to continue breastfeeding. my aim is also to pump till 6 mths.

RE: avent sterilizer

I am not sure I called them and will bring down to morrow and see what happen.. I will let them know your case and give hem you name too so that when you go down they will know that we have the same problem..

RE:meet up..

sleeping deer remember our meeting up ? 24th my place? well those who are not working may join.. but it is at my place.. Bishan... do let me know..

re eating fists:
my boy apparently got another sequence of his own. he started off looking at his hands. now he is into eating them... keke...

Sl, mongs, SSF,
I try to squeeze in 4 pumps a day, but sometimes a little tough... each pump is 100ml, miserable... but still something. I just wash the valves, and pop them into the sterilising solution b4 I use them again...

one thing to note is to keep yourself healthy and illness free. I have fallen ill twice, and each time, my MS drops dramatically, everytime have to work at increasing it again, sian... now after my illness, it's down to 50ml! So take care of yourselves!

tabbi
your bb soooo cute! haha...

queen
think because i need to carry the medela backpack all around the places before i reached the nursing room. and then i kept thinking of finishing the expressing session fast fast.... :p

Hi Sleeping deer,

If you are happy with the decision - that's fine.

Regarding MIL - i understand how you feel. I have a very nice MIL but like you say, it's not the same as our own mothers. YOu know how some MIla re accused of being unfair tiwards their daughters and DIL? I think i am guilty of that. MY MIL did confinement for me and i seldom listen to her advice. Ie - to give baby water... but one word from my mum - i relent......

During confinement, MIL loves to carry baby and one sound made by baby will have her running from the living room to the bedroom shouting "Grandma come grandma come. sayang, sayang. Grandma carry.".......... Sometimes my gal is sleeping and she's probably having a nighmare or something and if leave her alone, she will carry on sleeping...... I had to remind my MIL nicely not to carry her too often etc. MIL loves to carry and rock at the same time!!! I hate going to the loo or take a shower cos i know once i came out, baby sure in MIL's hand.

But i 'see open' already. Now like what others said, when she carry baby, i will take this time to read newspaper, watch TV etc - to rest a while. I am just glad that my gal is in good hands, someone who loves her

I was sharing with my hubby that if i am a bad tempered person, i would have shouted at MIL or show black face. On the other hand, i must give credit to my MIL cos if she's bad tempered too, she would have show me black face.... Hee Hee

I remembered MIL was signing away when i insist on BF and refuse to give formula during the initial period. During that time, i was trying to latch baby on and she was crying, MIL can't stand it and keep signing and asking of she should go make formula milk and i said no..... she keep shaking her head, think she very heartache to hear baby cry.... Was telling hubby thank god it's my second child, if not i sure kena stressed by MIL and go into depression. But i didn't cos i was very sure of what i was doing. hee hee.

My only complain about MIL is that she's spoiling my gals. Whatever my elder gal wants, she sure give or buy. If my elder gal wants her to play with her during dinner time, she can forgo cooking dinner or skip dinner just to please my gal. It's something that i don't encourage. My gal need to mention to her once about a toy, it can send my MIL to go shopping mall searching for the toy. If she can't find, she will give instructions to SIL, BIL, my mum etc to keep a look out....... That's why my gal now has so many toys that she don't treasure what she has. Worse - hubby is exactly the same as his mum! He doesn't look at the price tag. Once my gal simply point to one direction and say she wanted the car, hubby actually almost buy it for her! The car cost $200.... Luckily i was tehre to stop in time. Not only because it was costly, it was also very bulky. Told hubb that our house don't have room for such a big toy.

When my gal don't keep her toys after playing, i threaten to throw them away and she happily add "Throw away? ok. Then buy new one." *faint*....And once i threaten to give away her toys to my niece when she came visit, she also happily said " Aunty, my mumy said i don't know how to take care of my toys so i got to give it away." without batting an eyelid........ So now my threat don't work anymore. Can only try to get hubby and MIL not to indulge in her....... but it's eaiser said than done. This morning MIL called from her workplace to remind me to gove my gal a pack of biscuits and mashmellows that my gal had requested from her two days ago..............

avent sterilizer,
i'm oso having tiny black particles coming out of the sterilizer. and it always feels sandy at the bottom. don't know y. my pigeon sterilizer is much better. no such problems. rena, can let me know what's the problem after u visit avent shop tmr? thx!

sleepingdeer
glad that you are trying to sort things out in dealing with mil. jia you!

yesterday, my FIL asked us to give pacifier to my gal 'cos he said bb kept sucking the fist. and commented that pacifier should give the best solution to bb. and he said wanna give her mitten to wear again 'cos she's scratching her face.... sigh.... i just wonder when could they stop interfering my way of bringing up my bb???? at one side, i know they meant to be good to give advices, at another side, i am quite annoyed by their comments/advices. grrrr.... not easy ya? i must remind myself not to give comments/advice whoever unless ppl seek help from me....

denmy
i used pethidine as pain killer. :p so, i m not so brave lah.

ssf
my MS is same as yours, each session can express about 150ml....

yuki,
wow seems like ur mil really spoiling ur daughters... but like u said, got good and bad loh. good thing is u know ur mil really dote on them. bad thing is, they get spoilt... keke...

sleepingdeer - is it possible to move out and stay with your hb alone? any specific reason why ya staying with your in laws? my hb is the only son in the family but we also choose to move out as i do not want to have any misunderstanding with my in laws. i mean even if we stay with our parents, we will argue at times let alone in laws. so tats why i never have the intention to stay with them and luckily hb also felt the same too.

edd2jan/rachel - ya i was also looking for second hand pump to place in the office so i need not carry such heavy bag to work everyday.

cindy - thks for the CD! will look out for it eagerly

Re: sucking fists

Haha, my boy also trying to suck his fists. And he's very smart leh, he knows his daddy and mummy doesn't approve, so he'll put his fist very near his mouth, almost touching. Like that cannot scold him right. But moment we turn away, in goes the fist and thumb. That day my hb caught him in the act and shouted 'what are u doing!', he immediately pulled out his fists.

sleepingdeer
I asked my hb today whether i'm very possesive. He reminded me of what my friend told me and used a very good analogy.

My friend has 3 kids. First one 120% attention and he grew up. Second one, 80% attention and he also grew up. Third one, he just grew up.

He said it's like when we buy our first car. Car no 1 gets personal waxing, washing every week. feel heart ache with every little scratch. Car no 2 gets sent to the car grooming workshop. Car no 3 gets sent to auto washing at petrol stations once a month. Car no 4, just pray got rain, then the car gets washed. hehehe!!!

It's get better with time and with more children later. Hahaha! Whether you take special care of your child, give a lot of attention or not, your child will eventually grow up.

so many posts to catch up on!

Rena,
think i may not be able to join in cos may not take leave that day. taking on 28th instead as it's my bday.

re sucking fists
my boy loves to do it. in fact he will pull out his pacifier with his right hand and then put his whole fist in. then he will do the fingers. sometimes after his fist is in, he will open his fist and leave only a few fingers in. he will put on fist in mouth and one hand pull his hair. so funny.

i dun really like him to suck his fist but no choice right since it's developmental.

re MIL
can identify with all the mummies here! maybe shd get our hb to come togehter to understand us. sometimes i feel he doesn't understand how i feel. my hb overseas now and just now MIL call me and ask me to take good care of bb. makes me feel like she implying that i not taking good care. of cos i will take good care of him right?? my precious leh...she keep asking me to do a good job.

re spoiling
my mum and maid really spoiling my boy. yesterday he refuse to sleep and when i came home, i saw my maid pushing in the stroller in the living room! really spoil him...told them so many times not to spoil him....

re blocked ducts
think it's getting better but the pain still there but lump not so big....

Yuki

Aiyoh! That's what I hate most. Grandparents spoiling our children! It makes it so difficult for us to discipline them. My MIL told me before it's their job to spoil them and our job is to discipline them! Like that how? My boy still so small, my FIL already telling him next time go shopping together, then he buys toys for him! You know he's got a kiddy basketball post in his balcony! My boy can't even crawl yet!

sleepingdeer

100ml miserable? sigh, mine worse. I can only get 100ml sometimes in a day's worth of pumping. I get 10ml to 55ml (highest record) each time i pump. Very sad hor? I still try lah. Can give a bit, give a bit lor. Yesterday very happy, coz managed to make 130ml in a day.

mashy
u using electric pump? initially my MS also like that. but after i got my PIS, my MS start to increase. and of cos the 3 hourly pumps helps. but now cut down liao cos of work...

my parents also spoil my boy. last week we went shopping and they brought him to toy section and ask him what he wants. then when i say they really spoil him, my dad will reply that he hasn't start spoiling him yet.....

so funny, he got the basketball thing..abit early right....

can i know what cd u all play for ur babies to listen besides the classical ones? i tot of buying those musical rythmes or children music ones whereby we can also sing to our babies. any recommendations? or are there those sang by children and not adults?

hi celine, mashy,

You are right. somehow very funny hor, our parents very strict with us, then spoil their grandchildren...........

my hubby can still comment to me that when he bring our girl to the toy section, he probably the only one father who keep asking my gal " you sure you don't want? daddy buy for you you know...."

Hi mashy,

you hubby's reminder is so true.

i went thru another type of depression after giving birth to my second gal. i was so sad and affected that i can no longer give my elder gal undivided attention. on the other hand, i felt sad for my secndgal that she already have to share her attention with others the moment she come into the world........... i was struggling to cope with both. no one was complaining, not even my elder gal. she loves her mei mei completely and is very protective of her but i guess i have too much of expectation on myself. took me one month to come to terms thst i am not a supermum, that i have to learn to let go. that's where i learn to appreciate MIL's help in caring for the chilren too. at least when i show care to the other gal, the other one also have someone to rely on. Not passing my responsibility of being a mother to MIL but just glad my gals will know that besides daddy and mummy, there are many other people to love them too.

i often heard people complaining how physically tired it was for parent when second kid conmes along but no one warn of the emotional turmore.... Don't know if i am the only one feeling this way..............

yuki,
u r so right? my mum was super strict and stern with me and bro but with my son, she is soooo fun!my son simply adores her coz she always play with him.

who knows next time when we become grandparents ourselves, we will spoilt our grandchildren too?? keke...

Hi Yuki,
I hope that one day I will be able to 'see open' too... and just close 2 eyes, see no evil, hear no evil... hehe. I totally empathise about the part of coming out of the shower and seeing bb in MIL arms, that is why I feel this pressure to be with bb all day... oh boy, if MIL were to do that to me, especially about the BF part, I will start wailing...!

Have to totally agree with you on the spoiling part. That's the main problem with grandparents, they can shower our kids with love and attention, but ultimately they can't give our kids the discipline and developmental tools.

Sunny,
I read that thumbs are better than pacificer leh.. coz the bb have total control when they need to use it and when they dun want it, versus pacificer which gives them bottle mouth and is totally in parents control, not theirs... hee hee, that said, my gal is using pacificer coz she doesn't like her thumb... too skinny.

SSF,
I wish I could move out, but my hubby is the only son, and my FIL had passed away even b4 I met my hubby, so moving out is not a option ever...

Mashy,
hee hee, your boy very smart, know what your hubby is scolding him about!

So maybe the solution would be to have more kids? haha... I was just mentioning to my hubby about that possibility, and he physically turned pale.. he cannot imagine 2 Shannons in the family... hee hee...

I think regarding possessiveness, think it is just our maternal instinct kicking in, we can't help it
I told my hubby isn't it better than I dun care for her right?

edd2jan / mummies
im back home now after the 5-in-1 jab for my boy. now he is sleeping soundly in his cot, which seldom happen during the daytime. think its due to the fever syrup we gave him at the clinic. PD said its better to give him 2 dose of syrup at 6 hourly, whether or not he has fever yet.

edd2jan
i PM you le.

Hi Celine,

My aunt was sharing how she will spank her grandchildren if they misbehave (she hasn't has any grandchildren yet). My dad replied her "wait till you have your own before you make that comment. And you have to also see if your daughter will let you off for beating her child!"........... Not that i threaten my dad not to beat my gal. My dad super strict with us when young. He need not beat, a stare from him send us all running to the rooms..... He's the one who oppose when i wanted to buy a cane to discipline my gal..... Ha Ha. Maybe one day i can master his skills, a stare will do the job. Ha Ha.

Hi Sleeping deer,

Cos it's my second attempt on BF so i am quite cool with it. Like i was sharing last time, my mum did not encorage BF on my first gal and my tears roll whenever she give formula to my gal..... But then again, now i look back, everything issues seems so small and unimportant anymore when our children are happy and healthy.
I oppose to give formula, to sleep in sarong, to give pacifier etc.... all i give in. Now with second gal, all these become natural part of her growing up. Ha Ha.

As for discipline and development tools, i thank God for my parents and ILs. Thou my Ils spoil my gal on material things, they don't compromise on manners and respect. My mum teaches my gal alot of things and i can say my gal's development is quite advance for her age. She can match the same picture to picture by 18 months old and sing her Twinkle Twinkle little stars by 20 months old etc - all my mum's credit. Now two and a half years old, she can speak in complete sentences, using words like difficult, complain, stethescope, etc. She can complete a 16 pc pizzle without much help. But of course it's all by repeatition, doing it so many times.
She teaches me that i must fix the 'corner' pcs first etc.....

On the contrary, i read that pacifier is better than thumb cos it's hard to kick the habit in the future. You can throw away the pacifier but you can't chop away the thumb......... And long term, the thumb gets deform too.....

Thanks for the concern. My mum is slightly better liao but i still got to check on her every hr. i oso hope that she'll get well soon.

SY - i only went back to stay at hubby hse 2 weeks ago. (have been staying with at my parent's plc to look after my mum n baby) And when MIL see my gal, she bo chap and when my gal cry very seriously n loud she dont bother to ask whether i need help. One nite hubby left me alone in the hse with PIL n SIL, my gal cry n cry she oso bo chap. i was very frighten at that time but i tell myself that i got to be brave n afteri carry bb for abt 2hr she quiet down. Now i not afraid liao.

sleepingdear - i know staying with MIL not easy therefore u must not be too stressful.

Rena - thanks for the offer. Pai seh! to ask u to look after my gal for me. I'll be bringing my gal to my office. And hopefully by then she will be more guai (can play on her own)

Hi Sleepingdeer,

Yr story is funny. The way u describe you & MIL.

Hi Confused,

Long time no see no hear. Good to be brave. Show them u can take care of baby yrself!
Pat pat!

Cephas started with one thumb. Now it's 2 thumbs in the mouth. Sometimes, it will be 2-3 fingers in his mouth too. The sounds he makes makes the thumbs so delicious! One day, I put both in my mouth & started sucking. He started giggling. A fren told me she read somewhere that babies like their thumb becos it tastes sweet to them.

He also does the gong xi gong xi pose too. Looks at his fingers & plays with them. He's also starting to try to hold his milk bottle when drinking. Coordination is still no there though.

rachel,

i got my first medela mini electric plus at kiddy palace for $296. maybe you can try robinsons if they are still having the 15% storewide sale then the pump will be cheaper.

SSF,

my ms also not fantastic - can manage from 150ml - 200ml per session. But I try to pump 4hrly. I store the EBM in the fridge then transfer to cooler bag when going home.

RE : MIL
Well, I'm constantly upset abt my ILs. Was terrible during confinement and like some mummies say, must "kan kai". I only bring my boy over once a week and she will immediately carry him and play with him. I'll just sit on the sofa the whole day and not move abit unless she cant handle him and pass him to me. However, every little thing irks me. I wonder am i being too uptight. My FIL actually bought a mini fan for him to blow his butt after seeing me using diaper to fan dry butt dry before wearing it. Another occasion when my MIL saw me bought a pillow, the next week, she bought a similar one. I tell myself that they love him but when I was pregnant, i had no tonic at all. Not even during confinement.i am very unbalance. Urgh....dunno when then can get over it!

RE : Eating fist
Hey...my boy does that too! He will stare at them and try to stuff the entire fist in. He likes to lick his upper arm too!

Hi Confused,
*pat pat on your shoulder*..i understand where u coming from. i too went thru mild depression when i looked after my bb myself during confinement. having to cook lunch, feed bb, pump milk..during the first 2 weeks i was at MIL's place. i couldnt stand her low level of hygiene n i tink e hormones thing, i actually cried one day and one nite. even my hb didnt know wat to do.

i too feel that after going thru this difficult task of doing confinement on ur own, u become a more independent person. i used to be a very 'mang zang' person, but after this, i am more relaxed, taking things as they come. esp at work, no problem is too big to solve now.

sleepingdeer,
we tend to be biased against our MIL. I'm like dat for sure. so watever they do, we always doubt their intentions. but i always try to tink of it this way: it's their grandchild so they would also want the best for them. i've to admit its v difficult to tink the positive way. I agree with Yuki, we must learn to let go sometimes.

now dat my MIL is looking after her, when i'm at her place, i simply let her do watever she wants. but i draw the line of leaving her there overnight. my MIL keep asking that we let her stayover. i told my hb, NO WAY unless bo bian like i'm sick or something. i still dun understand y she wans her to stayover ??

thumb vs pacifier
my friend's sis used to suck her thumb n indeed it left some sort of a lump there after long-time of sucking (like blister but not pain). so..pacifier?

celine,

for the pigeon steriliser, the sales person taught me to put 40ml of vinegar mixed with 80ml of water and steam without the bottles. I haven't try it though. This mummy is lazy leh.

sl,
i have no problems with my pigeon steriliser, it's the avent one that has black particles. anyways, i juz called avent office and the customer service told me that it's ok to have a few spacks but not too many. the black particles is the residue coming from the coil below after descaling. coz the descaling solution is acidic so it will have some chemical reaction which results in the black particles. she advice to do a few empty cycles after descaling and that should remove most of the black particles.

think the pigeon steriliser is much easier to use. no such problems and bigger and cheaper somemore!

hi rachel,
i oso brought my boy boy to the PD today for his 5 in 1 jab. I oso gave the paracetomol medicine even no fever.Beta give b4 fever developes...
Oh.. weight of BB is 7.04 kg now.. and 61cm long

Yuki,
I admire your calmness when dealing with your ILs... your elder gal sounds really smart. I can't wait to start teaching my gal too. The parents on my side is different, they are too soft, or dun believe in doing it our way... eg. dun dare to cut her nails though it is scratching her, dun dare to place her on her tummy for play time coz she dun like, think that she is too cold when I've repeatedly told them it's NOT true...

Y, Tracy,
it is so very different from when we were growing up. In fact my MIL has never fully taken care of her kids b4, so again, the 'angry lioness' balks at her coz since she had her chance, and decided not to, then dun use my little gal to recover back those golden moments she missed with her child! Aiyah, the Incredible Hulk is back again... sigh...

Tracy,
your MIL is weird, why ask for your gal to stay over?

Thumb vs Pacificer
seems like different schools of thought all over... so I also am confused over which is better. Yep, the thumb does get a little lump, but use pacificer teeth also may get deformed... but worse is me lah, I sucked my lower LIP and in the end got Bugs Bunny teeth from it...

Celine, SL,
I use vinegar for my pigeon steriliser too, half water, half white vinegar... the rust cleans out beautifully after that....

Avent steriliser
my avent steriliser oso has this black stuff after descaling. Gosh.. i oni do 1 empty cycle after descaling ..hmm.. i mus do more times then..

MIL
my problem with my MIL started during the confinement. Anyway.. cun really take it so i told her not to come after 2 weeks.
I dun like to go to her place so often. I oso tell my hubby that.. but he always ask me to 4give and 4get.. easier said than done man!

Hi Y,

I know how you feel exactly. When i preganant with my first child, i have no tonic at all. I also think alot,even asking hubby if his parents didn't like me etc.... FIL didn't even attempt to carry baby when her saw her. I also ask hubby if they don't like granddaughter etc....

Much later then i realise that MIL didn't buy tonic bacause she don't have a clue what to buy. She's a nurse so she's those who believe pregnant lady cannot eat too much tonic or chinese medicince etc. As for FIL, he's afraid to handle baby so he carry my gal only when she's much older. Now i can see very clearly they love my gals very much. IN fact IT's my MIL who comfort me when we found out our second child is also a gal. She said it's ok, most important baby must be healthy etc....
So don't think too much!

Hi Tracy,

WE jsut gotta be grateful that they are willing to take care of our children.
My friend's mum like to throw tantrum and occassional threaten not to look after my friend's child. She even give last minute notice that she's going tour for one week and my friend gotta apply urgent leave to look after her child.

I reckon no matter how much disagreement we have with our mum and MIl in caregiving method, i am just thankful and glad that our children is growing in a well loved environment - all grandparents sure love their grandchild!

Sleepingdeer,
Although I dun stay with my inlaws but they come over to my place almost every other day. In fact, they hv been popping by my place everyday for a few weeks liao. I even suggest to my hubby that I will put up a "Visiting hours" sign outside my door. They dun even call b4 coming. I think they really treat this as an open hse. Today they came again in the morning just to look at my bb sleeping. They are still worried tat bb hvnt poo today (3rd day). My mil even brought jingying hua water, asking me to feed bb. I just put it in the fridge.

Sometimes I tell myself tat at least they care for bb. But now i think they are over concern, especially my FIL. I heard that last time he dun even bother abt his 3 sons when they were growing up. Now, he has sleepless nites worrying over his grandson's poo. Faintz!!

Anyone gave bb jingying hua water before? What is it for? Is it necessary for bb to drink?

Rena,
I hope I can bring bb to ur place next mon for the SAHM gathering. I hvnt bring him out by myself ley....so suaku hor! Sometimes I feel really bored staying at home.

Hi Sleeping dear,

I guess ultimately my MIl is not too difficult a person to get along with so my problems is not as difficult as what some of you are facing.

I understand as a mother we want the best for our child and there are some believes that we simply can't let go and got to insist. My gal sometimes hit my hubby for fun and i immediately stop it. She dare not do that to me. (ME also tigerress - hee hee) Think have a bit of my dad's staring skills afterall.

My ILs is like your parents. Don't force them etc.... That's why MIL always give in to my gal. My gal have her on her palm, can twist her around..... SOmetimes i just 'remind' MIL by asking her to ignore my gal.... or i scold my gal infront of MIL...... I don't confront directly. I also thank God for my hubby who will listen and talk to his mum if he finds it too much too.

hi Y,
the same for my MIL. She oso din cook any tonics for me when i was pregnant. My mum was the 1 who bought bird nest for me and force me to eat them. I couldn't finish the bird nest that my mum bought b4 i delivered, so my mum told my MIL to cook it for me during confinment.. guess what.. My MIL say no need to eat 1 lar. So Pek chek.. oso dun need her to buy.. jus ask her to cook oso so difficult meh...
She is so biased..she prepared bird nest and tonics for my SILs wen they are preggie.. when it comes to my turn.. she never.. but anyway i oso buay gian..

celine
he is abit bigger cos he drinks quite alot of milk.. hopefully his appetite will be good 2dae.. duno whether the jab will affect his mood to drink anot

oppps...reading so many of you IL problems..i should feel lucky that my MIL is very good...regardless that i had gave birth, she still make bird nest for me. he get my hubby or my BIL to bring it for me.

Confinement
Although she did not help me to do confinement but she gave me some money to get my mum to buy tonic for me.

wenyl
i gave jing ying hua to bb to drink. it's to reduce heat and get rid of the phelgm. i almost give to her every week. but after i go back to work, i didn't give to her so far.

Re: Pacifier or thumb

I gave my boy pacifier but he spits out and sucks his thumb/fist. hiaz....

wenyl
I only know jin yin hua to bathe baby. Didn't know he can drink too.

Tracy

haha, my ILs offered to babysit my boy whenever I need to go somewhere else. My hb kept asking me to let them babysit once a while but I refused. Told him they need to overcome that euphoria first before I will allow them to handle my boy. You know, when they look at my boy, really like got sparkle in their eyes. Moment finish dinner rush to his side to play with him.

Wonder when i'll let them babysit him. Haha, maybe when i'm really desperate. Thank God my ILs are both working.

Re: FM
I called the Mamex hotline to ask for Mamex Step 1 Formula sample to try. They just sent me a 900g tin.

Think i'm the worst of the lot here... Same as Babylon, I must admit I have a very nice MIL staying with me. I dun even have to do any housework (used to be washing up after dinner but even now i also seldom wash already) or do any cooking (MIL & HB cooks, I can't)... BUT STILL... the SUPER SOURGRAPE in me JUST cannot stand BB being close to her... everyone else I'm fine. MIL did mentioned about giving up her work to look after BB at home before I gave birth but i brushed the subject away pretending never hear... Once I started work I insist on bringing BB to mum place every morning (7am) and fetch BB home every evening after work (reach home ard 7+) eventhough I dun drive (take cab)... whenever MIL carries BB I'd try to stay away or else I tend to watch everymove n tend to find fault (secretly of coz) with almost everything she do or say to BB... I will also watch the clock n secretly grin big time when BB starts to fuss in her hands coz its bed time (8+)... One of the reasons I am motivated to continue breastfeeding is also becoz I know BB will be exclusively mine during her feeds....

Think I'm super possessive or paranoid (or both at the same time)... constantly telling myself "must learn to let go...cannot be so biased against MIL (as compared to my own mum)... BB will know I am the mummy... should be thankful MIL is so nice..." etc etc but its HAAAAAAARD...

Have to constantly pray n ask GOD for forgiveness. = (

wenyl,
My mom says jinyin hua is for liang (cooling). Good to give before jab. I told her no need and my boy had fever after his 6in1 jab

Sept03bride/celine,
How old are your bbies?

Re: Sterilizer
using pigeon now, have both the big one and travel sterilizer. using vinegar method but prefer 1:3 ration (vinegar to water) as I find 1:2 too smelly. Using this method for Avent warmer too.

Re: PILs
I have my share of story as well.. No tonic when pregnant, not even concern. With grandson then super interfering, bring him to visit them always got things to complain: why head so flat lah, why complexion so dark lah, why hair so little now...
During confinement I also super angry with the way they critisied my mom's cooking (mom did confinement for me), she doesn't even volunteer and yet still kaypoh like mad. Super stingy too. Can you imagine bb 1st mth they didn't even give him anything, not even token angbao, not that i gian their money. we had the full mth party with caterers and you know what they bring.... canned fruits!!!! Leftovers from chinese new year!!! *roll eyes* now my house kitchen like 'guan tou' warehouse...

re IL
my FIL loves to carry my boy but he not very hygenic. according to my MIL, he doesn't wash his hair everyday....only wash like once a week. sometimes really feel like asking him whether he wash when he carry bb. and he carries him non stop. my IL will fight to carry him and my poor boy gets passed ard very often each time he goes to my IL place.

sleepingdeer,
i know what u mean abt IL having their chance at caring for children. sometimes when my MIL say wan to do this and that, i will think that way too...she had her chance to do all the things she wan on her own children so i shd be the one to decide what to do for my boy....