(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Good Morning All,

Rena,
Do let me know if you need another 2 more panel than we can share coz i need 6 but it comes in a set of 4. = )

SleepDeer,
Interesting info!

Re: Tailbone ache
Me too having tailbone & back aches... but I think it has more to do with bad posture than epidural. Pain will come after carrying BB in the sling for too long plus think we Bend too much... reminds me the Ante-Natal class says we will develop backaches as we tend to bend backwards as the load gets heavier in front, thus resulting in our spine TOO curve... so I constantly remind myself to stand straight, tummy in & push pelvic bone forward (like Michael Jackson dance).

Queen,

my bb head also flat on left side cos he prefer to turn his head to the left to sleep. I asked my PD and he say the shape would round out eventually so no need to put into yao lan etc..

Hi Durainlover and Tracy,

Hairloss after birth is common. it usually happen on from the third month onwards. I dropped alot of hair when i gave birth to my elder gal too. After a few months, got lots of baby hair growing to 'replace' the drop hair . Ha Ha.

Hi May,

I like pic no 11.
All the best!

so many post to catch up on!

re nepia seal
i read that u dun need the form. just paste on paper and can send in.

re hairloss
i also started dropping hair...noticed my bb droppin hair too and he likes to pull his hair too...

celine,
yes i also bought the Pregaine shampoo and find it quite good! But don't think it's supposed to prevent hair loss, it only prepares the scalp for hair loss treatment that's all (according to the instructions).

May,
yes GA = general anaestat...(aiyah dunno how to spell). But basically means u sleep thru it all! My stitches are also reddish but no itch. But i hv other frenz who had C-sect who also say their stitches itch...so guess it's quite common!

rachel
I'm taking Osteocal 500 and vitmin C 500mg. Its 500mg Calcium + vit D supplement prescribed by my gynae. Was asked to take the calcium supplement with vit c for better absorption.

Work
Started work today. So rush pumping milk during break. Was 10min late for lesson in the end. Need better time management..

I got no headaches so far. Just backaches from carrying my girl up and down too many times. Poor posture.

clare,

I bought 6 panels coz the person who organise actually match for us..

durianlover,

I also have a bad case of hair loss..

seems like me going botak soon..

celine,
must try pregaine then. I bought 200 dollars worth of products from jean yip and not only are those expensive and doesn't prevent hair loss, it cause my hubby scalp to itch.
Is pregaine suitable for men?

sl, u didn't use epidural as well? I didn't as well and I still have bad ache. think my posture is very bad. going from bad to worse. no exercise make it worse.
today I have very bad block ducts again. so worried that it will develop into mastitis. luckily I have no fever and my breast not red. manage to unblock some of the ducts but very scare so called Yen Ping in the morning and wanted to book an appointment for tomorrow but she says dun need. she thinks I will be able to unblock later. Haiz, not that I have a lot of milk, my milk supply is barely enough and my breasts gave me all the problem. super sian!

re: tailbone
so far i don't have aching. during delivery, didn't use epi, too.

re: hair loss
i notice that my hair starts dropping more compared to preggie time... very scare that i will get bald.

may
wow... you have long labour hours!!
good luck in the competition!

clayre
after carrying bb in a sling for a while, my shoulder will pain and also the waist area. not so much on back and tailbone...

mummies who have started working
me getting sian to express BM during work leh.. and it's just the 3rd day of work and my office has a nursing room for us! anyone feeling sian on expressing after got back to work?

am I going crazy? Today am on leava again, and my baby is super cranky... she keep wailing, and my MIL want to carry her again, and though I passed her to her to carry, I have an insane urge to snatch baby away from her, and scream at her not to touch my baby... it doesn't make matters worse that Shannon is super cranky today, and she is rejecting my breasts, and I'm not sure why... help!

sleepingdeer
i know it's frustrating when bb is cranky. y do you wanna keep bb away from you mil?
remember that your emotion can affect bb's, too. so, cool down 1st and let your bb latch again.

When I am at home, I feel very censured, like my MIL is watching my every move, and ready to pounce on me and carry Shannon if she starts crying. I feel very pressurised to make sure bb doesn't cry, and keep her entertained.. I so wish I am alone in the house, so that I have the freedom to do whatever I like, like go to the toilet even when she is crying and asking for attention...! Now getting worried that when I stop work, things will get worse, am even thinking of going to my mum's house just to run away from my MIL...

you stay with MIL?
i have the same feeling as you during the confinement period when bb was cranky and mil was around. 'cos she would keep asking y my gal like this/that. feeling very stressed! but after that, when she asked me the same questions again, i just either ignore her, or tell her that i dont' know. at that time, i really hope that she won't come to my house and interfere how i take care of bb.
how about bring bb out for a walk without your mil?

Hi Sunny,
yes, I live with my MIL. A walk will only help for a short while, my MIL is home all day, how to get away from her? Also, if bb is crying, then I can't bring her out... feel very stressed out by this, and I can't help thinking this is not normal... I only react this way with my MIL, when others carry her, I am ok.

Today, she asked me whether bb pooed last night, and I replied yes, and she said, good, poo should be more regular, so I told her it's normal for bb to go without poo for 4 to 5 days, as their stomachs are more efficient. She said, no, can't be, baby must be feeling very uncomfortable, and I told her this is what the PD said, and she insisted that it's not good for bb, bb shoudl poo more regularly, somemore talk to my bb, and say, 'not comfortable right, too many days not good right?' Wah, I just suddenly wanted to scream at her.

need some advice. i think i have a super bad blocked duct. got this lump and it's really painful but no matter how i press at it, it doesn't go away. and when i press too hard, i can feel the surrounding getting painful. how?

mongs,
like u, my ss not very good but still can get blocked ducts. and i can't even do 6 hour pumps. must try to do 4-5 hours.

sunny,
initially i did feel sian but workload hasn't picked up so i m quite ok abt it. in fact, i think i pump faster at work cos dun wan to take up too much time. my breasts more cooperative..haa..letdown faster and can finish in 15-20 min when at home i take abt 30 min.

sleepingdeer,
i know what u mean abt feeling pressured not to let bb ry. when i go to MIL's place, i also feel that way. when bb cry, i will just tell them why he cry. maybe cos they think that mothers understand their bb best so they just believe what i say. i remember the first time when i brouhgt him back, i was really stressed in not letting him cry but now when he cry, everyone wants to carry him.

actually just ignore your MIL. dun feel that she's watching u even if she is. old folks just like to show that they know more then us....

Hi, mongs. Think for this pregaine brand, there are several types. The one that I am using has no gender type indicated. Not very sure though.

Sleeping deer, i shared the same feelings with you when I was staying with my MIL during confinement period. She is very paranoid over many little things like cannot out baby under the lamp, scared that the lamp will drop on him kind of stuff. Which is why I changed my plan of renting out my own place and staying with my ILs.
Feeling really very stressed and unlike my old self.

Do agree with what sunny says, bring out for a walk or maybe close the room door for a short time. Babies are quite sensitive when they feel some tension they will wail. My boy is like that at my MIL place.

Sleepingdeer,
I understand what u mean... it can get really stressful when we're trying very hard to calm BB's wailing n MIL still follow u ard asking lots of questions is she hungry? tummy upset? etc etc. Is it possible for you to stay in the room n close the door until BB calm down?

Is your MIL at home all the time?? U may really wan to consider going to your mum place when u resigned coz long term like that may strain your r/ship with MIL. No matter what its always easier to tell own mother what we like or dun like them to do...

sleepingdeer,
thanks for the info on stomach virus. Think i'll keep away from my bb today, dun want to be passing any virus to him...

You sound really stress with your MIL around, doesn't help that she is the interfering sort... Why don;t you pop over your mom's place this afternoon? Where do you stay? Any frens nearby that you can visit?

thanks for your advise.. do you think I am getting a little crazy? I am starting to get worried over my reaction...

SY, Celine, Clarye
I'm trying hard to ignore MIL, like right now, after my MIL carried bb, she is playing with her, and every fibre of my being is fighting to stay in this chair, and not go out and bring bb back with me to the room... the thing is what if the moment I pick bb up, and she start wailing again, and my MIL want her back... ? My hubby told me to go and lock myslef in the room with bb, but MIL gets black faced when I do it... and she is at home all the time.

the thing is I am still trying to work out my resentment with my MIL over the fact that she complained about bb and insist that she cannot take care of her, so in the end I quit my job to take care of bb, and now rather then I become the main care giver, she seems to think that she has an extra pair of hands and she can play with bb all she wants, and if she gets tired, or need to take a afternoon nap, just pass her over to me... I hate that!

The antibiotic is giving my son diarrhoea. So poor thing. Appetite returned when start the med and then later when it caused diar, he has no appetite again. Now gotta take diar med and appetite does improve. Gotta dilute milk so feeding him every 3hrs to make sure he's not hungry and sufficiently hydrated. Felt that the PD shld hv warned me abt the diar side effect and give me the diar med earlier.Gotta do urine test again to ensure no more infection.

RE : Tailbone
Yah..i have a some pain when i bend for too long.

RE : Work
Return to work today. Damn sian. Cant wait to go back home. Wondering how's my son doing....

well,

all i can say is just let her face be black.. after a while she will get the message that you are the MUMMY and not she..
dun worry that bb rejects you.. just stay calm...

Wendy,

Neighbour's baby took rotavirus & had a reaction. Kind of farted blood out form his anus & as warded into ICU for 2 days. The vaccine irritated his big intestine.

Was just sharing with the other mummies to take note esp those who have taken the rotavirus vaccine.

Hi, sleeping deer. Any chance that your hubby can talk to your MIL like you will need some time alone to be with baby so that you can know how is your son crying pattern like. Else everything were to depend on her then it be a waste that you quit.

Hi Sleeping deer,

Are you ok with resigning and being a SAHM in the first place? Ulitimately you have to come to terms yourself on being a SAHM. Could it be you are unhappy with this arrangment thus any slight thing that doesn't go your way, you get fruistrated? Is employing a maid a problem? Cos if current arrangement is causing a strain btw you and your MIL relationship, might as well work out some other plans? If not, it's going to be a difficult period for you, your hubby and MIL. LIke what others have said, if you are unhappy, baby can feel it too. So despite your good intention to provide the best for your baby by resigning.... it doesn't serve the initial purpose at all if you are constantly unhappy.

Just my thots.

sleepingdear,

I think I understand how you feel. yes, some elders are not easy to get along with. I think there is a few things you can do.
1) tell her exactly how you feel (I don't encourage that because I believe your MIL is someone who will remember what you told her)
2) tell yourself that it's alright that you bb is being cared for by your MIL. your MIL is not aware that she is causing agony to you and maybe she does not care as well. you are the one who is angry and actually you are the one causing the anger and the agony. I believe your resentment of your MIL is not an overnight thing but come to think of it, how long can they be around. sometimes when you think of that, u will be more forgiven and tolerant.
My sis has a very old MIL. she is nearly 70+ and has a mind of her own. like your MIL, she has said that she can't take care of my sis son, they employ a maid to help her. she don't like the maid, they have to ask the maid to leave, now she wants to care for the boy at her place. the elders keep changing their mind. they are learning too and they have to pretend that they know more so you just bear with it. my sis listen and forget about her MIL comments and nagging and is getting along well. when their methods contradicts, she will get her hubby to talk to her MIL.
it will take some time to iron out things.
hope that you will relax abit and think about the positive things your MIL can contribute to you and BB.

sleepingdeer
agree with celine. can ask your hb to talk to your mil. 'cos after resigning, you will be staying at home with bb and facing mil most of the time. it will be better if your hb be the middle man to convey all messages that you find it might be a bit offensive that you wanna tell your mil. i did that. :p
old ppl have their own theory of taking care of bb e.g. the frequency of poo. i bet my mil will not agree with 'few day poo once is ok' saying, too. but i will just ignore and get my hb to talk to her loh. and if i can't bear with it already, i will tell her my thoughts, so far, she didn't show black face to me but complained to my hb about me. i just don't care lah. 'cos if i think too much, i m going to have depression!

cheers!

tracy
I had epi also.. I had 3 dose somemore.. Thank God so far so good.. for me.. I have not pain in any area related to epi.

Re: bb puke milk
I am soooo sad so heart pain.. my bb puke out milk just now again, somehow she got choke after feeding the lotsa lotsa milk puke out even thru her nose.. and she cry so badly after that.. I so heart pain.. sobsob..

mongs,

I didn't take epidural also have backache. I think it's really due to bad posture - we keep bending to change diapers, carry baby.... I was told that the correct way to change diapers should be to sit next to the baby then change for her not to bend down and change. But me lazy always bend down...

mongs,

try to massage and pump out after a hot shower. use hand and squeeze the lumps towards the nipple after pumping. Hope this will help. Getting baby to suckle is also one very good way to get rid of the lumps...

sunny,

I am not so sian in expressing but in the washing and sterilising afterwards. I only take 10 mins to express but need 15 mins to wash and sterilise. But when I think of the benefits of BM and how healthy my gal is now, I will tell myself to continue.... Jia You okay?

cookie
does it happen often?
mayb can try to feed half way, then burp her, then continue feeding?

mongs
ya, try to massage, latch, pump. and when you massage, must massage really hard.

sl
actually after express, i only rinse the equipment and didn't sterilise leh. pumping + washing is only about 20 minutes. and yet, i get sian about it. yap, the thought of letting bb having the best keeps me go on and on....
how long do you plan to BF your bb?

sleepingdeer,

calm down, relax. Maybe you can think of the time that your mil spends with the baby as your time? As mothers, we tend to think always of the baby but forget that we also need time of our own to relax.

re:rejecting breast
Sometimes when the baby is cranky, she can't latch on well. Being frustrated yourself also adds on to it. Calm down and pacify Shannon then try to latch on again.

Don't stress yourself and think too much okay?

sunny,

my target now is 6 mths. 6 mths later if still have, then will continue lor. But for the first 6 mths, I will really keep my supply going for my baby because I really believe in the benefits of BM.

how abt you?

sunny,
you should really be grateful for a nice environment to pump. was pumping in a compactor room in the beginning, then they want to store more things and I can't pump there. ended up pumping in the toilet. really a very bad place. wrote to HR to convert one of the lunch room in the top floor to nursing room. HR manager says will get back this friday. hopefully there will be good news. is your supply sufficient for TBF, mine is not sufficient but I still persist.

SY,
I understand how you feel. if I am not wrong, u don't latch on direct anymore. if you can't unclog the block duct during hot shower and pumping, then need to see LC else if it becomes infected by bacteria, may become pus.

sl,
thanks, I pumped twice already in the office. the pain is still there but there are some some lump though the breast is softer. I will take hot shower later and try to press out all the lumps. then use baby to unclog. hopefully can tackle all the lumps by tonight.

sl
me too. also target to bf 6 mths. if after that, still have, then give.
now with this sian mood, i wonder if i can last it for 6 mths....

mongs
ya, indeed i am really appreciate my company's pro-family initiative. and my supply is so far ok to meet my gal's demand. feeling very thankful. just can't help thinking the tiredness. but i think i will still continue. 'cos i am reaching my target soon!

when you pump, you can massage your breasts on those lumpy areas. and can do compression, too. it helps.

How's everyone? Long time didnt chat liao. Still remember me? After giving birth, i got into depression n recently juz feeling better.

Sleepingdear - Dont get angry liao. i agree with the gals here. Ask your hubby to have a word with his mother. Tell her that u need to know bb behaviour n cry pattern. And since you decided to quit n look after bb. (And when u not working u got to face MIL in the house so try not to have a bad relationship with her)

Share with u my experience, after i gave birth n discharge from hospital, my mum look after my bb for few days n she fall very sick n unable to look after my bb anymore. Therefore i look after my gal myself.(Doing confinment myself) It was very tough n i cry almost everyday. (my mum in n out of the hospital these 3mths) nobody help me to look after bb. Moreover, my bb is extremely difficult to look after (get cranky all the time) And during these 3mth+, i've learnt alot of things n now i can manage bb myself. (i used to be very dependent on maid n mum) Its a training for me

mongs,

my pumping env at work is bad too - must do it in meeting rm with big windows. I use the white boards to block the windows. Then if the meeting room is occupied - I do it in the Lecture Theatre which cannot be locked!

hello confused,

it must be difficult for you. though I didn't go into depression, the first 2 weeks was difficult and my emotions varied. glad that you are feeling better. talk to us frequently. you are a very brave and capable mom. take care!

SY,
were u the one with clogged duct? You can try what i did the last time i had bad clogged ducts. Use your palm to press on the hard area and go round in circles. Must massage really hard. Then use 2 or 3 fingers to press on the exact location of clogged ducts in that hardened area and massage to release the clogged ducts. Then press towards the nipple. And express out milk. It worked for me but super pain. Must really massage very hard!

sleepingdeer,
take care, don't get too frustrated. Agree with wat the gals said abt asking ur hubby to talk to MIL. If u cannot tahan come in here to share your woes with us!

mongs - Yes. its very tough. (worse ah, i got infection n still force myself to do everything) And now i'm happy that i went through n its over. At least now i know my gal pattern. Becos of all the stress, i didnt BF my gal n i feel very bad.

sleepingdeer,
in the past, i used to really mind when MIL keeps snatching bb away from me even though he sleeping very peacefully in my arms. but now i will remind myself that it gives me time of my own. and sometimes she will come to my place when hb not ard and i have to face her alone. so usually we just end up chatting and during those times i try to emphasize on the fact that i m the mum and shd decide on things. so over time she get used to the idea.

with in laws, things dun happen overnight so u must remember to be patient.

mongs,
i dunno whether mine is a blocked duct. i hope it's not infected. it's just like one lump when i touch it and it's really painful and when i press, i feel that it doesn't get softer. it will just move a bit from side to side and it seems to hit a nerve.....maybe i shd just go see LC and let her decide whether it's a blocked duct.

sunny, sl,
i intend to bf for 6 months min. if still have, will continue.

confused
of cos we remember u...hope that things at home are better for u now. your MIL/SIL still got bully u??

confused,
dun worry about bf. a lot of mothers dun bf and they are still enjoying their motherhood. bf is only a part of motherhood. in fact, I will really salute you if you can bf on top of doing confinement for yourself and looking after your gal. if you really want to experience that, try it when you have your next kid. it's a nice experience.