(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Wendy,

U asked " Sysac how u noe?"
What am i supposed to know??
Huh? Hee hee...

Hi Tracy/Sunny,
I paid $153 for the 1st dose of the Prevanar jab on Tues. Paid $95 for the 5-in-1 jab. I do not intend to take the rotavirus vaccine becos of the irritation it may cause the baby. My PD said that it is not crucial to take.

Do keep an eye on yr babies for those who took the rotavirus. My neighbour's kid recently took it. He had a sudden output of blood from the anus and was admitted to ICU for 2 days. This is becos the rotavirus vaccine irritated his big intestine and so he bled. This is what the PD told my neighbour. So do take note.

clare
I asked PD before, she said that detinox and gripe water is diff. she is of the opinion that colic drop is more effective.

sunny,
my $569 not inclusive of rotavirus, not so lucky :p

serene,
ya, me staying in punggol 109B. u in punggol too?

sysac,
thx for e warning on rotavirus vacc. when did ur neighbor's kid show such symptoms aft taking e jab?

god's child,
wow, celeste looks v steady..

Tracy,

Abt a week after he took it. Not jab. It's taken orally. Some will suffer severe reaciont while some may not. Just take note though.

Cephas went for the 4th mth 5-in-1. PD then asked if we wanted to administer Rotavirus & Prevenar. Initially, we agreed to all 3 to be administered on him. Then, she warned us abt rotavirus & I rem what my neighbour told me abt her baby. We then asked the PD abt the reaction & she told us abt it. Sounded a bit scary & so we didn't go ahead with rotavirus.

She told us she didn't give her 2 kids either and that Prevenar was a better option of the 2 as we were deciding on the spot.

sysac,
gee..thanks for the info. ya, my bb jus took the rotavirus vacc last wed. now not sure if to go wif the second dose. sounds scary.

Re:Nepia
Is some of you looking for Nepia M size?
I saw them at Simei-East point NTUC, should have abt 8packs left..
I wonder why NTUC never carry S size for nepia one har.. I couldn't find S size most of the time.

May, my gal also snores during sleep and sometimes I can hear theres some sinus but when I use the aspirator, nothing comes out

Sounds like Nepia is good, perhaps Ill give it a try MP S is just nice for my girl. Will Nepia S be ok too? What is the weight range of Nepia S and M? Kirsten is 5.52kg and 61.5cm. A bit light hor? But both are 50th percentile leh

SY, yes yes, I realize my gal seems to grow after a few days of long naps, maybe longer and thinner or same length but chubbier so cute sleep really does wonders!

Queen, the stage of not knowing whether there really is a hole in the heart is worst. Do you have to wait that long for the cardios appointment? But like you said, Isaacs case is probably not a hole since he has low RBC. So dont worry too much about it now, will remember Isaac in my prayers. By the way, I told Kirsten she has been shot by Cupids arrow, thats why she has a hole. Then she gave me a curious look, like who is Cupid? Hahaa Im quite a worrier, kept imagining the worst things but now I leave it to God, so I dont worry much about it anymore! So upper chamber hole is more likely to close ah? Thats good news for me!

Rena, Elijah is really sumo man! On the way to becoming a Michelin baby?

Sysac, I wasnt certain about taking the rotavirus vaccination, but now hearing about your neighbours baby, I decided not to already Thanks for sharing!

wah, the rotavirus vaciine sounds scary. i was thinking of taking BB to take it next week.

she took the 5 in 1 last nite, was a bit fussy today but on the whole, still ok.

thinking of the prevenar now instead of rotavirus.

nepia is indeed better and not as exp as Pampers. Most NTUC only carry sizes M and L leh

Re: 6in1 jab
Hi mummies whose bb had 6in1..
when do we go back for 2nd jab?
and if we wan other jab like prevanar/rotavirus.. we will take during the 2nd jab visit also?

tracy
wow your bb's vaccination jab is expensive to me!

sysac
oh dear, so scary. i hope my gal won't experience the same thing like your beightbour's bb.... she had the 1st dose few days ago...
your neighbour's bb got bleeding after 2nd dose?

Cookie,
Pneumococcal Disease is a serious infection that occsurs mostly in chn under 2 yrs old. It can cause:

Pneumococcal Meningitis - Inflammatn of the brain membranes & spinal cord.

Meningitis - Can sometimes cause permanent disabilities including heaing loss, paralysis, mental retardation & death.

Bacteraemia - Blood poisoning

Pneumonia - Inflammation of the lungs

Otitis Media - Middles ear infection.

Tracy,Valerie, Pup & Sunny,

Thot I just share what I know of the rotavirus. Since it happened to my neighbour's baby, I thot of pre-empt you all what to expect. Pse do not let my sharing stop any of you from wanting to let your babies be administered rotavirus.

My neighbour told me her baby was lethargic the whole day and didn't eat much. She then fed him a bit during dinner time. As she was feeding her baby, he farted. So she thot he passed motion. When she took out the diaper to change him, she saw a pool of blood. She brought him to KKH and baby was admitted for 2 days in ICU.

I met them the nite he came home. He looked so poor thing. So chubby but ran down as he was on drip & did'nt eat.

So when I went to PD and she was telling me abt the reactions to rotavirus, I decided not to. 2 jabs plus rotavirus too siong for Cephas. So I just took 5-in-1 and Prevenar.

sysac,

my gal took rotavirus immunisation 3 wks ago. Supposed to go back for her second dose next wk leh. now hesitating if i shd ....

sysac,
That sounds scary. Was it the 1st or 2nd dose for your neighbour's baby? How soon after was the symptom? My boy seems ok so far, but I'm still monitoring him just in case.

Tracy
I'm also staying at Punggol - Blk 172C, near Punggol Plaza. Thinking of trying out Tumbletots next time because it's near our place.

Valerie, Queen,
Don't worry too much about the hole in the heart. I've known of people born with a hole in the heart but go on to lead very normal lives. Will pray for Kirsten and Issac. "Hit by Cupid's arrow" is a nice description

sl, sysac,
Keenan also took his rotavirus vaccine last friday... now not sure if should take him for 2nd dose or not... He had his 1st Prevenar jab also. And

Tracy,
I think my PD can beat yours at his pricing. Prevenar: $190
Rotavirus: $95
Consultation: $45
plus 5% gst
All of the above plus he always rush through his consultations, leaving me with no time to ask him anything.

I want to change PD!!! Any recomendation in the East? I live in Pasir Ris. Help.... think I'm not going back to him the next time...

Thanks for the concern for Isaac. I'm also praying hard it will jsut be a false alarm. Have to wait till 5th May, that's the earliest appointment that we can get at KK.

Yesterday, Isaac totally surprised me. He flipped from lying on his back to lie on his tummy and then proceeded to lift his head and shoulders up using his arms as support! it seems out of sudden cos ever since he's born, he seldom show a liking to being on his tummy and whenever he's put on his tummy, he'll always give half-hearted attempt to lift his head up. After a while will cry liao. But yesterday, wow, suddenly flipped over and lift not only his head but shoulders as well! Haha... so happy to see that!

Today went to Ikea and bought Isaac a 'crab' which is actually a cushion for a stool. Pictures taken:

Bewildered when caught on camera:
404022.jpg

Trying to eat the crab:
404023.jpg

Give up...
404024.jpg

Denmy,
Can I have a copy of the flashcard instruction also? Possible to email me @ [email protected]. If fax, I need to get my office fax number..cannot remember now.

God's child,
Celeste is so girlie.. my girl still looks like my hubby. I have been trying to dress her in pink so that pple won't mistaken. But they still call her boyboy.
kao_sad2.gif

Jamie is having jab tomorrow.Hope she will be fine. Hubby is going with my mum to bring her there. I have to work.. lucky no need to go or else sure XIN TONG one.

RE: Motherhood Magazine
Any mummies going to take part in the "Gorgeous Mum" contest stated in the magazine?

May,
the instructions are at the office. Can fax only leh... I'll do it on Monday. U can sms me your office fax when u are ready. 97665662

Re: motherhood magazine
If only I can... don't think I gorgeous enough la.

Queen,
Isaac so cute!!!!! can flip over already.... so clever! Keenan can only turn to his sides and do mini sit-ups...

sysac
sorry, another qn. when did your neighbour's bb take the vaccination? Coz my PD said that when the rotavirus was introduced earlier, it was had some problems and was recalled. But, since the introduction the 2nd time, it's ok so far. BTW, did the doc at KKH concluded that the bleeding was due to the vaccination? Thanks! Sorry, for so many qns, coz we will be sending my boy to childcare in future and this vaccination is v useful for them when they're in childcare.

Hi mummies...work is driving me crazy...so that's why I dun hv time to pop in to post so often...

Been reading the postings...so here are some of mine..hehe...

RE: Rotavirus:
My boy goes to my cousin who's a GP and he administers all vaccinations to him. My elder boy also goes to my cousin for vaccinations. My younger one has taken the rotavirus jab for 2 weeks already and it is ok. No side effects or whatsover. So far so good. He's still drinking healthily. He also took the prevar jab to prevent mengitis. My cousin actually recommended the rotavirus jab and so we took his advice.
James is currently 7.1kg at 3mths and 1 wk...

RE: Diapers:
Nepia...cheap and good and the urine indicators are accurate...plus point...free delivery with order of 4 packs.

PETPET....cheaper than nepia and that's what I'm currently using for my baby in the day.

Mamypoko...more expensive but super absorbent and cut just nice for my huge baby...that's what I use in the night and can last for almost 7-8 hours.

Pampers Premium...cut too small for my boy and expensive...also the sides cut his thighs...so I'm not touching that...

Huggies (Blue packaging)... absorbent but cutting too small for my boy...altho he is on M size...still too small for him...

Queen...dun worry about what you MIL says. I think sometimes...it is just a matter of difference in opinions...also...they may not see things from our point of view...as long as we know that we have done our best...we should not be upset about what they say...so take heart and jiayou...k? Don't worry yourself unneccesarily before the actual tests...sometimes....it just causes us more stress and unhappiness...just remain positive and your baby will find that similar strength in you...k?

Krissie...as much as the vaccinations do help...u have to be prepared that when they enter childcare...there will be a whole new set of probs...when my parents and Parents in-law was looking after my elder boy...he hardly fell ill...but upon entering Childcare...he started to get colds and especially coughs very easily initially...then it will take a couple of months for them to build up their immunity before they are able to resist such viral infections...most important is to pump them up with vitamin C and I swear by Seven Seas Multi-Vit syrup...so far so good for my boy...

Denmy...me also still not menstruating yet...cos still on TBF....I will express out when I'm working tho schedule very erratic...somedays...I gotta "tong" 7 hours b4 I get to pump due to all the remedial classes and meetings we have to attend....but still can yield lah...been worried that supply may drop...but I normally use Saturdays and Sundays to catch back on my milk supply...haha....then come monday...milk supply will be at its highest and come thursday and fri...supply will definitely dip a little....and the cycle just goes on and on...

RE: rotavirus vaccination

I asked my paediatrician about whether its really necessary and she advised me that its benefits and risks are plus or minus as in there's not much danger in taking it (so for mummies who decide to take it, there is little risk, the initial vaccination that was withdrawn because of the risk of intussusception which is a problem of the gut was found not to be true)and baby isn't that worse off if they don't take it(so for mummies who aren't keen for it not to worry either, since we are usually very hygenic and clean and gan cheong abt baby even if kena rotavirus, usually will seek treatment before it can lead to dangerous side effects-- oso baby less likely to be exposed to virus if not starting nursery until later). So she has left the decision whether to take it up to me!

However she did tell me that I should definitely take the pneumococcal vaccination/ prevenar as that this infection can be very serious as compared to rotavirus.

Personally, I wanted to take rotavirus vaccination but in the end changed my mind when i found that they are not offering it at KKH yet. Me and my hubby (we're both in the medical profession) have decided that if its not accepted as standard treatment at government hospital setting then we don't think it is so necessary or 'safe' for baby.

Cookie,
my 6-in-1 vaccination schedule is 2, 4, 6 months so very easy to remember. I added the prevenar pneumococcal jab as well... I'm dreading her 4 month jabs cos its one big needle in each thigh(6-in-1 one thigh, prevenar in the other).. OUCH!! I don't want to look! I can't remember how many doses the prevenar is but i think its definitly more than one and depends on the age of the child when they first get the vaccination ie, if child takes it at birth 3 doses, and if taken after 6 months 1 less jab.

RE: infacol drops
Anyone knows how much this costs? I'm going to see if I can buy this in HK.

Queen,
Your baby is SO cute with the crab... our baby's can really amaze us with what they can do!

joanna
how do you make the supply back to usual?

queen
your boy so smart, can flip already. mine still cannot.

denmy
yours at least can turn to his side and do mini sit up. mine still can't. and the only best thing she can do is to raise her legs high up to more than 90 degrees.

does your bb have phelgm in the throat? my gal hor, when she drank EBM, she will have kind of some sound from her throat.... but when she latches on, no sound leh....

bulma,
thanks for the link.

queen,
SO CUTE!!!

Serene,
so u punggol also
maybe next time go tumble tots together!

Denmy,
wah..ur PD sure beats mine. my consultation oni $30.

gorgeous mum contest? haha. u going let us know hor, we go support u!

May,
my gal also always get mistaken for boy. hopefully after shaving hair next mth n grow back will look like girl girl.

tabbiesus,
i bot mine from Australia at abt S$11.50. but dat time i saw an empty shelf in watsons, labeled it as only S$7.50! but my friend said should be about S$10 or so. u need pic of the product? i can take n post for u to c so easier to find.

hi sunny...just latch baby on every time he demands for it over the weekends...i try not to go out on Sundays so that I can BF him exclusively or pump exclusively...hehe

joanna,
haiz, since 1mth old i stopped latching her on, so now wanna latch her on she dun wan oredi..so ve to depend on pumping regularly. but it definitely has decreased. when started work, can get 700ml per day, now dropped to 600ml or so.

Tracy,

Neighbour's baby is 6 mths old.

sl/denmy,

Since your babies have already taken the 1st dosage, might as well con't with the next. My neighbour's experience cld be an isolated case. Dun let the story stop you. Just take note of it.

Serene,

It was a wk after he took it.

Krissie,

Neighbour's baby took it 2 weeks back becos he was admitted last week. Yes, KKH PD concluded it was rotavirus that affected him. PD told them it does happen to some babies.

Hi Queen,

Issac has changed a a lot. Looks so cheeky in the photos.

sunny,
re: phlegm
My boy also exactly like your girl. I think it's the flow of the bottle teat. Shouldn't be a worry cos it usually clears off after a while.

Tracy,
re: Gorgeous Mummy
no la.... i not joining. I think May might be interested...

Bulma,
Thanks for the links.

have a great weekend everyone!

joanna
i c.... i will try to latch her on and pump after every feed, too.

tracy
u are another one having good supply! the most i could get during work, 3 pumps is 500ml.

may
you are interested in joining the gorgeous mummy competition? me cannot lah. i think need to do cat walk on stage?

tabbiesus,
so this pneumococcal vaccination/ prevenar jab is important? But it's not compulsory by law right? So it may not be available at the polyclinic? Looks like have to bring Isaac to a PD or GP for the jab liao.

Re. rotavirus
Don't think I'll got for this one cos read from the papers 'Mind your body' that for most kids, the affliction is usually minor and most will recover quite easily from the virus...

May,
You thinking of taking part in the "Gorgeous Mummy" competition? We mummies here will definitely support you!
I also not gorgeous enough to take part.

sysac
thanks, wow.. 2 weeks ago is scary.

queen,
pneumococcal vaccination is compulsory is US and France, but not in Sing. PD says coz the jab is exp, so MOH hasnt made it compulsory yet.

queen,

issac can flip already! : ) he's indeed the big bro in this thread huh?

All the best for your appt at KKH - will pray that you will receive good news indeed.

hi mummies using nepia,

Sorry got stupid questions - where is the urine indicator? how to read it? i didn't discover that nepia got urine indicator leh.

sl,
there are 3 strips of pale yellow indicator running from front to back which will turn blue when wet.

prevenar jab is $190 for my case.

hi mummies..my medela electric pump broke down yesterday night and was so panic as i was rushing hm to pump as its been abt 7 hrs since last pump. finally manage to loan from my hb frd's wife - avent manual pump. now my hands are so tired...really appreciate the elctric one. hence, now desperately trying to get an electric pump. anyone thinking of selling...pls PM me ya!