(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sleeping without bra:
huh, can sleep without bra n bra pads? altho my ms not impressive, i still can't zz wifout bra n pads cos evry morn i wake up, pads r wet. not entirely but wet..quite sian of wearing pads n bra 24hrs a day!

sleepingdeer
err.. SIDS stands for what huh?? pai seh =p
you oso bought at robinson? how much you pay for it? seems like you bought a different package from wendy.

SY
dont' be too said. my gal needs to 'warm up' after i talk to her for a while then only she will talk to me... and i brought her to my friend's place, when my friend sat close to her, she started talking to him!!! so sad leh. anyway, don't wanna think too much. :p

today i start packing bb stuff to bring over to mil's place tomorrow. 'cos start working on wednesday... feeling so lousy.

sl
when your fren going over? so i know by when i have to decide on getting which design and let you help me. budget wise... ard 100 bucks?? how about you?
do inform me if you find the thread. me on my side will keep my eye big big too. thanks

sunny,
cheer up, sometimes going back to work is better. at least for me..now that i'm back to work, my brain seems to be better. i was extremely forgetful after giving birth. now much better. of cos i miss my gal, but she's like a motivation to work faster so can go home on time!

Halo ladies, me from Mar MTB thread. Have u all resume work yet? Need to seek advise on how u all are coping on breastfeeding after maternity leave?

-pump how many times in office?
-storage how?
-Sterlise equipment in office how?

I have given birth on 21st mar. bb on total breastfeeding now. milk supply very good. not sure if it's too early to start freezing the milk coz bb cannot finish, then i pour away if in the fridge for more than 2days...so sayang...

Ng,
hello! i gave birth on 11jan, back to work since 11mar.

dun throw away ur milk!! so precious, u can freeze it. it can be kept for 2mths. here's my pumping schedule:

5am - wake up pump
10am - office pump
2pm - office pump
6pm - reach MIL's pl pump
10.30pm - pump b4 zz

i ve a fridge in office. i store my EBM in bottle then put in fridge. when going hm, tranfer into my avent bag which can keep for upto 4 hours. reach home then transfer into storage bags.

sterilise equipment using sterilizing tablets. put one tablet into 2l of water then put the pump into the water for at least 30mins or until next pump. earlier today i jus posted a list of stuff i bring to office for pumping. u can refer to it.

tracy
Oic! thank you!

sunny
cheer up! me oso feel lousy when im about to start work. now back to work for 1 month liao. everyday after work first thing is to hug hug my little boy =)
be positive about going back to work, think of it as a chance to do other things beside caring for our little ones.

Ng
never never pour away your BM! so sayang! they will come in when you are back to work. our MS tends to drop when we start work, so its good to store up as much EBM as possible.
my working enviornment dun allow me to pump much. so i only pump once at work and after work latch him on. im those lazy mummy who dun pump much. if i can will always let my boy latch on instead.
so keep up your good suppy!

baby monitor
Got 2 models. Mine is the newer digital one. Sleepingdeer, think u got the older model which is analog without digital thermometer. I also like u, morning feeding always forget to off the monitor then BEEP BEEP BEEP my hubby would jump out of bed to the cot cuz he thought baby not breathing. Hee! hee!

SY,
U were at the gathering? I didn't see you.. abit blur blur that day.. I was the one with the red McClaren stroller hiding at the corner with pochacco, denmy and cookie.

Ng,
Try not to throw away your EBM. Somehow, ur body will get the signal that MS too much, then will produce less. I experienced that before. Also, you've just given birth not long ago. Before ur baby is 8 weeks, ur MS is not established yet, so it may adjust itself lower in time to come. Just latch baby as much as u can without pumping so body will produce just the right amount for baby if u don't want extra milk. If u want extra milk, continue with the pumping.

To cope with the extra milk produced, I freeze all my milk and store them in a dedicated fridge/freezer I bought for just storing EBM. This way, you get more storage space for storing milk and also, u don't risk contimination of your milk.

thanks ladies for the advise. I'm not freezing them yet coz freezer is full with alot of raw food coz CF lady here. She will leave in 2weeks time, by then, think i can start to freeze my mllk liao, otherwise really scared milk gets contaminated. I also haven't got any storage bags, only the glass bottles from hospi. can use those to freeze also right?

Wendy, i am trying to latch bb on during daytime, night time, CF lady will feed her with EBM. But at nite, i still have to wake up twice to pump. otherwise, engorgement buay tahan!

Just called home mum says BB been crying again... but no idea is it as bad as lasy night... tried to explain Colic to her... anyone knows if colic has a chinese name?? My mum easy to explain but my MIL i really dun know how to explain... already told my HB he better be prepared to explain Colic if it really happens coz i dun wan MIL to keep asking me is it hungry, etc

Btw i understand Infacol is not available in Singapore. What abt Dentinox? Can i buy it from Guardian??

Clare,
if it is colic, it will happen at the same time every day, is your bb crying on and off? Or did she start crying at the same time as the night before?

Hi Rachel,
yep, Tracy is right, SIDs is Sudden Infant Death Syndrome. It is sudden unexplained death without warning or symtom or cause. Experts believe it may be due to suffocation when bb sleep, so the baby montinor also tracks breathing, once bb stops breathing for 20 sec, the alarm will go off. I find it useful as I put bb on her tummy, so though she can turn her head already, it's a reassurance that everything is fine... think I got it at $215 after discount...

Wendy,
really huh, I think your model is useful with the temperature... yah, the alram beeping is so shrill and sudden, but it is good coz really sensitive, only thing is when I have my musical mobile on, it doesn't detect no movement, coz my mobile is moving at all times...

Looks like all had fun at the gathering
Great!

Brining Cephas for his 4th mth jab tomorrow. Some of his recent photos

401660.jpg

Eating his Chor Bi

401661.jpg

Playing

401662.jpg

Sucking his thumb

401663.jpg

Smiling away

Hi Wenyl,

Hope Baby is fine. Just read that he fell. I usually Cephas in the middle of the bed when I need to go get something. Then, someone told me better not cos her son kicked until he was at the edge of the bed by the time she returned to him which was a few secs. Now I rush to get the whatever I need instead of taking my own sweet time.

I noticed that he moves a lot at nite too. He will be in another posisition when I awake the next day. Usually at the other end of the cot.

sysac - nice pics of our "da ge". hee...like teh sucking thumb pic. my son still dun know how to suck thumb. he suck his whole fist instead. hee..

rachel/tracy
thanks for the console which makes me think the other way.

clare
think colic in chinese is 'zhang4 feng1' (full of wind). can try to use ru yi oil to rub the tummy. if not, can try to massage the tummy area.

i saw dentinox at guardian before. for infacol, mayb you need to get from the PD.

babylon,
your bb has very good weight gain, 7.2kg very good lah, so dun worry abt his feeds... i think sometimes amt drank and weight gain might not have as direct a correlation as we think. my mom says I was a hungry bb but always very skinny.

Re: Baby Monitors
I am using this brand call Core. Borrowed from my colleague but I think it costs about $100 or so? It's just a basic system but works well so far. I like it that it has a night light that is of a teddy bear. My bb feels more assured with it at night.

wendy ng
my bb was born 2nd feb
she was over due for 3 days in fact edd was 29th Jan. She decide to let mummy enjoy CNY 1st

Tracy
no fun cleaning the 2 boys up- my medium size dogs. Now my hb specialise in taking care of them

Re:leakage
my MS also super super super low..but in the morning i still find my breast pad wet
not totally but still it's wet

SL ,

I wish to get the bumper mat too.. but not working.. so budget is only 100 dollars.. got lobang at that price?

Wendy ng,

I plan to get the stroller that you have.. is it good? any place got discount?

clare ,
you can give the bao ying dan from yu ren seng.. if not Dentinox.. also good..

sysac,

baby shave his head again? me plan to shave his head again leh.. coz both of us dropping hair like mad..

Re: BD
Hmmm.. I'm still on strike. Angry with him for treating my mom badly, not taking care of bb (can you imagine he has never changed a single nappy nor really feed the bb at all... always say get the maid to do!!), yet still super interfering especially when bb fusses. Dunno... having bb makes me feel that I've married the wrong person or something. See some ugly side of his personality which I was blind to.
Always worried that our new maid feels repressed and want me to bring her out whenever I go marketing. So irritated and I said I'm the one who is going crazy not her, she doesn't do much around the house and been sleeping well. His reply was ' You are already crazy'.... make me even angrier. Hmpf!

rachel, sl,
I'm also interested in the bumpermat by the other mummy... do keep me in the loop if she contacts you guys, ok?

re: Flashcard instructions
Rachel, you can PM me your fax no. I can fax to you. And any other mummies who wants the instructions also...

re: Baby Mornitor
I got the Maxi Cosi's MaxiPhone Total 3 baby mornitor from Baby Hyperstore at Kaki Bukit. As with the Angelcare, it comes with a sensor pad and will send an alarm if no movement is detected. Other than this feature, it tells you a digital temperature of room on the Parent unit. Movement/heartbeat can be indicated by flashing light, as well as sound. Baby unit also comes with a night light. Basically this one has all the features one will need for a good night's sleep la. I've been using this same model on my 1st son 6years ago, so this time round also must get the same one for Keenan. Price is also $200+, cannot remember exactly how much, but can call them to check 1st b4 going down. 6844 1133

Cindy
Cool down, cool down *fan fan*
when my mil is around, my hb also dun wanna carry or handle bb when bb fusses, all he do is throw to his mum to carry, of course my mil also 1 kind when every bb cry, she will wan to carry so 1+1=2.
maybe for man.. their instinct is not to handle fussy bb. I mean for me, I always worry my bb will not be close to me but it never cross my hb mind that bb will not be close to him and say I paranoid.
So when your bb fuss, probably your hb prefer someone else to handle given a choice.
Now my mil not around for few weeks, my hb has no choice but to help to take care of my bb.
In fact he is getting so good at it.. sometimes he can pacify my bb better than me. and with this added confidence, my hb is more willing to coax my bb cos he knows he can do it.
last time.. he use to tell me, bb dun like him carry cos she continue to cry and find excuse not to carry my bb.
Now my bb like to smile to him
when he carry her around.

Gosh, so many threads in 1 day.

Denmy, have pmed you for the flashcard instructions. Tks!

r with hb
Also quarrel with hb over petty matters nowadays. Thinks he takes my mom for granted. I insisted on getting a maid to help my mom but he pulled a long face for the whole week cos he thinks my mom can cope. Very angry with him sometimes. Also no time for BD cos he's more interested in his online mahjong game...sigh..

Menses
Anyone have had menses while still bf/pumping?
I had a slight discharge that lasted 3 days and I was like still pumping 600 to 700ml each day. Gynae said that menses should only come after pumping is stopped for abt 4 to 6 weeks. Hmm..strange..

Hi SSF,

Thumb sucking for Cephas is a treat. When he's really tired, both thumbs are in his mouth or the whole fist goes in.

Yeah, he's really the 'da ge' of this thread. Makes him so old. Haha!

wendyl
luckily bb is ok. I told my hb not to leave him unattended liao.

tabbiesus
I just changed my boy's teat to avent no. 3.
he's drinking better now.

bulma bulma
I'm like you. bb drinks what i pump today. hv to top up with FM for 1 or 2 feeds a day. BTW, i also bought a brush for work. coz i wld wash the pump bottle and reuse for the afternoon pump. i use avent bottles to store milk. does your office hv a fridge to store milk?

I'm using pigeon steralising tablets. do we hv to rinse the pump parts before use after removing from the sterilising solution? the box says we hv to rinse.

wendyheng
di u hv to pay for the polyclinic jab? If u dun hv to pay, then this type of jab usually causes fever. that's what the nurse told me when I called. so, I went to PD for jab, as we are afraid that he'll kenna fever. But, my boy was a little cranky after his jab. maybe feeling uncomfortable. no fever but thigh a bit swollen. but after he sleep, ok liao.

rachel, sl
I'm also interested in the bumpermat. can let me know if there's lobang. v busy since started wk, so no time to check markepl. only this thread.

Re. bumper mat
read that a lot of you mummies here interested to buy this. Think I quite suaku leh... may I know what this mat is for and how is it useful?

Rachel,
There is a treatment room in my company's medical centre which I can use for pumping. But for morning pumps, I usually use the toilet (find some super ulu ones) cos the medical centre is opened in the mornings for employees and the docotr may want to use the treatment room or sick employees who need the room. Only for after lunch pumps, I'll use the treatment rooms cos consultation hours are over. Can't use any of the conference rooms cos they are always booked throughout the days for meetings.

Re. jabs
I take Isaac to polyclinics. Ever since he's born, he hasn't visited any PD. Been to normal GP once though. So far experience with the docs and nurses from polyclinics are quite ok. In fact it is my gynae who advise us that for minor ailments and jabs, do not have to go to the PD. Normal GP will suffice.

krissie,
surprised to see that have to rinse the pumps parts after taking out from Pigeon's sterilising solution. I use Milton and Boots sterilising tables and both says no need to rinse cos any traces of the solution left on the pump parts or bottles will react with the milk turn them into harmless soium chloride. And the amount of such sodium chloride traces will not cuase any damage to the baby. In fact I think to rinse the parts with tap water after removing from sterilising solution defeats the purpose of sterilising in the first place right? Unless you rinse will hot boiled water.

Serene,
My gynae says menses can start during breastfeeding, especially if you are on partial BF and supplementing with FM. Only with TBF, then menses may be delayed for some time. Even then, TBF does not guarantee 100% no nmenstruation, just that chances are very low.

Clare,
Infacol is available at Guardian's just that it is often out of stock. Another way is to check with GP's clinic. Some of them definitely have Infacol. I use Dentinox and find it very good. Give a few days and my boy's colic gone liao.

Cindy,
You really need ot talk to your HB. He has to contribute!

cookie,
yes, i can't imagine having to bathe 2 dogs! my hubby also handles the bathing of my dog these days. All along my hubby is my dog's plaything so no issue on me not playing wif him. but as i look after my bb, i continue toking to my dog, explaining to him wat i'm doing..in fact, when i first brought her home, i let him smell her poo poo to familiarize cos i figure since dogs like to smell other dogs' butt to get to know each other, this should work as well. :p

menses during BF:
i have v light spotting in between. this is confusing, not knowing if its menses or not.

krissie,
actually wat queen says makes sense. if we rinse w water then not considered sterile oredi. so should rinse if boiled water? i ve to rinse the parts cos i can't stand the chlorine smell.

wanna check: if i sterilise bottles at 9pm at night n leave in the sterilizer overnight, next morning can use straightaway or need to sterilize again?

Thanks, mummies! BB came down with fever yesterday. We rushed him to the PD. Now his fever has subsided. Both me & my son kanna the flu virus after staying in KK for 1 day. Sigh! Another round of worries!

Now we hv placed his changing mat on the mattress on the floor. Never leave bb on ur bed unattended too. Many of my frens told me tat their bb fell from bed many times when they around this age cos they like to kick & move their body. And also, we never know when is the moment baby will start to flip.

DOGS
I hv left my dog at my mum's place eversince bb arrived. Need advice.....from those who keep dogs at home with bb. Do u hv a helper to keep the hse clean? or managing on ur own? I wish to hv my dog back home too but worried I can't cope with the cleaning. He sheds quite a bit.

GATHERING
So nice to see those pics! Wish to join u gals next time.

krissie
ya my office got fridge. i gg to bring 2 Avent bottles then morn pump direct into 1 and store in fridge then PM pump into another 1 and store in fridge.

u mean after we tk the pump out fr water w sterilising tablets, we stil nd to rinse? rinse under tap water ah? then wont that b as good as no sterilise?

aiyo pump in office so much things to consider. really "man fan". fl like give up meh

queen
where did u get the milton and Boots sterilising tablets?

if we tk out the pump and rinse w hot boiling water, then does it mean we can do away w the sterilising tablets? rinsing pump w hot boiling water b4 use = sterilise the pump?

tracy
usually after last pump at nite i will leave pump in steriliser to sterilise and nx morn tk pump out fr steriliser and just pump lei i didnt sterilise again

re : polyclinic jab
Krissie, u mean got polyclinic jab dun nd to pay money one meh? for the 5-in-1 jab that my boy gg to take tml, i nd to pay $291.xx lei

re : relationship with hb
evers ince w a bb, me and hb also bcom will argue over petty matters. frequency of arguements also increase. just fl guys simply dun understand how we feel/think as mummy now. they see things v simple and surface lk dat

cindy,
u must cool down. I can understand how u feel, esp when u're very tired cuz I feel the same way too when I'm over exhausted. Try to rest more and you'll instantly feel better. Sleep when ur baby sleeps and try to sleep earlier with ur baby when baby sleeps the long hours for the night.

bulma : sterilising
if u wan to sterilise by boiling, rinsing with boiling water alone is not good enough. It has to be boiled in boiling water for at least 5min. If u're using tablets, u can rinse the pump with cooled boiled water to get rid of the chlorine smell after soaking in sterlising solution for at least 30min.

tracy,
if u wanna leave the bottles in the steriliser after sterilising at 9pm, try not to open the steriliser. leave the lid closed at all times, opening just for a little while to take out whatever u need. If u leave it open for too long, bacteria can invade the steriliser. In fact, the steriliser is only sterile for 3 hours after sterilising if left unopened. Come morning, re-sterilise everything in the steriliser again.

hubby is at it again.. I am so sick.. sometimes need a shoulder to cry on.. so only have my boy's shoulder..

last night my hubby brought back a card holder which he purchase from LV .. so I ask him... you when to buy today and he said yes...then later int he night I told him.. I was supprise that you went to purchase without telling me! get what he say.. " I bought it last week ..I forgot to tell you..!!! why lie to me for this kind of small issue..

rena,
Cool down. Its just a small issue. Maybe he wasn't paying attention to u when u first asked him, so that's y the dates don't tally. Sometimes, my hubby also don't pay attention to what I was saying and just nod head, yeah, ok, right, etc without really listening. I thought ur hubby looked ok during the gathering. Maybe its just your hormones and exhaustion thats making things look bad? Don't think so much ok?

i'm new here. baby boy turing 3 months next week. Is there a compiled list of who's who here? I'm a SAHM at CCK with 2 boys, older one being 3 yrs old.

Would like to know what activities are you engaging with your new baby, besides flashcards? I need to re-tune back to the young baby stage so need so help/advice. thanks!

ps. the gathering on baby massage sounds fun ... hope to join in the next time

.ky.

rena,
cool down, cool down.. maybe ur hubby is also feeling some stress n need to splurge on someting to de-stress..dun tink too much abt it. my hubby also recently bot a steering wheel wif gear and pedals for his PC racing game. *roll my eyes*.

wendy,
thks, haiz, was hoping no need to sterilize again in the morning so i can ve less tings to prepare in the morning.

Hi Wenyl,
Good to hear that your bb is ok and fever has subsided... me too, visited the clinic once with Shannon, 3 days later, she kana fever and diarrhoea which was a stomach virus which passed to me, then to my hubby, then to my dad! Super strong virus..

Krissie,
I also using pigeon, but didn't rinse after I placed in sterilsing solution leh.. need to huh? But doesn't make sense to rinse with running water hoh?

Bulma,
Yes, hot boiling water also can sterilise... dun give up, it seems like very inconvenient to pump in the office, but once you get the hang of it, it is quite ok. I leave my PIS in the office, and everyday just bring my cooler bag home with my valves and milk bottles...

SL, Queen, and tabbiesus,
I just wanna say that I really love the mini fridge
Initially had my doubts, as what Queen say is true, it is heavy, and bulkier than my Medela cooler bag. But I realise that I can put my two valves, 4 milk bottles and even squeeze my baby bottle detergent inside, and just bring it home with me, all in one, so no longer need to lug paper bags, and cooler bag! Was initially thinking of selling it since I'll be stopping work soon, but now my hubby say we can use it next time when we go on short trips... hee hee...

welcome ky! so u ve an older kid as well?

bulma,
dun give up on BF! many times i wanted to give up as well, but kept pushing myself to carry on. initially pumping in office seems troublesome, but once u get into the routine, its not so bad..

wenyl,
DOGS: i have a part-time cleaner who comes evry Sat for 3-4hrs to clean my place. my dog doesnt dirty the place much. n i send him for grooming once a mth to keep his fur real short for easy maintenance. feeding wise, i oni need to feed him dry food at 10pm every night.

Rena,
*pat pat*, cool down, dun be upset, k? Men are like that sometimes, they lie coz they scared of kana scolding from wife, who knows in the end, they get caught in a bigger lie... think your hubby just sotong head and really forgot to tell you...

Welcome ky!

Cindy,
your hubby never changed nappy for bb b4? Maybe try to talk to him? Men! Sometimes, really dunno what to do with them..!

Wendy, tracy..

my hubby tends to have weakness for sales girls and pitful girls.. maybe I just can't trust him after the previous incident..

rena,
can understand dat due to e previous incident, u feel rather insecure now. trust needs time to build so give him time. at least he makes an effort to remem ur birthday n buys u gifts, even tho its stuff u dun use.

its very very hard, i know, not to be suspicious of him. we women always on losing end (i told myself next life dun wanna be woman liao), but try ur best, for the sake of baby.

the last time i read u wanna stop having bb, at dat time i didnt participate in this forum yet, but i was shouting at the PC screen to u not to do it! u shouldnt be punishing urself.

i feel that u ve been v strong so far, so continue to stay strong. i believe things happen for a reason. God has great plans for u, dun despair!

ky,
sori jus read u ve an older kid. so many posts, was running thru n missed it. i do flash some alphabet cards to my bb on wknds after i bathe her n she is alert. otherwise, i sing the alphabet song to her. she luvs dat song. when she's bored, i put her back into her cot n turn on her winnie the pooh musical mobile which she luvs too. she'll fall asleep after the mobile goes round a couple of times.

cindy,
ur lucky hubby! dun need to change nappy? make him do it! leave him alone wif the bb for a couple of hours while u go out run errands or something. then he will appreciate ur efforts.