(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

re: flash card instruction
not able to make it for the gathering. any mummies can fax to me? thank you!

re: BD
yah yah with baby around how to enjoy fully. at the back of the mind will keep worry will he wake up and cry when we are in the middle of BD. had not BD for i think 1 month liao. the last time i did not even remove my bra, dont want BM to leak onto the bedsheet.

queen
my hubby oso DIY. although i mind but understand men have their needs too and need to release. abit guilty too that i cant be like last time to be that active in BD liao.

i not sure what you call that, baby monitoring system? i m looking for one bcoz been letting my boy sleep in his cot in his own room. cant hear him wake up and fuss, only till he cry out loud then i rush to him and feed him.
any mummies using and what is the brand? is it useful? advise needed. thanks

Hello mummies...

Last night while wiping BB Ashley down for her bedtime ard 8pm she was all smiley when suddenly BIAN ZUI (Flatten Mouth) and then exploded into a super LOUD n SCREAMING whail... she's loud when she cries but never did we experience like last night as it went on for much longer than before n we got so scared almost wanted to send her to hosp already coz she looks like she's screaming in pain face all red tears n mucus all out... i checked all over her body nothing seems to be wrong... tried to latch her on but soon she's screaming again and only after sometime then managed to calm her down with milk (she just suck abit abit never really drink) and fell asleep still sobing away... my heart so pain see her like that. This morning brought her to my mum place she was so tired slept all the way in the taxi but thank GOD upon reaching she was all smiley n back to normal again when mum talk to her. So i concluded maybe she was overly tired n hungry (eventhough she was just latched on ard 7pm and it was only 8 plus then). Asked my mum to monitor her today to see if there's anything wrong with her. =o(

re: gathering photos

can you upload to yahoo so we can see those pics clearer. you guys seeme so happy..gee wish i could make it.

clare,
monitor if she behaves again like this at the same time tonight. if so, it may be colic. when my gal wails very loudly, esp halfway thru her sleep, it means she needs to burp.. n it means got wind in her.

did she curl up her legs or arch her back when crying? sori how old is ur bb?

Re Gathering
It was really fun meeting all of you... told HB he should be there to see all the cute babies!! =)

Denmy - Keenan is so cute & strong! Already able to hold his neck n looking ard when flipped to his tummy.. you must have put him on his tummy very often. My Ashley everytime gets grouchy when i flip her on her tummy n so didn't managed to do that very often.

Rena - THANKS ALOT for organising n so pai seh u even had to pack up after that... we must take turns to organise next time. = ) I think Elijah is really the biggest baby ard so cute n chubby all over really feel like squeezing him... must feel very shiok when massaging him too haha...

Sleepingdeer - Thanks lot for the ride! = )

Re Relationship with HB
My HB told me few times I've changed since I gave birth, more serious now, not as cheerful n seldom laugh as much as before...n he feels neglected at times but he understand coz i'm tired... so i keep reminding myself must relax n pay more attn to HB too coz I may have focused too much on BB. I think HBs too feels the stress n helplessness at times esp when BB cries n there's nothing much they can do n in turn affects their moods. So I guess while we try to be the best mother we can be, we must also constantly remind ourselves not to forget we are still a wife n lover to our HBs too... =O)

Tracy,
It was very sudden. I did suspect colic but she did not curled up her legs or arch her back so prob not... we did rub Ru Yi oil on her tummy she quieten down a bit for a short while n wailed again... we felt so helpless n shocked... hope nothing;s wrong with her but we'll monitor again...

RE : Hubby
Once i left my boy with hub while i go prepare water for bath. I heard him crying away as he's impatient and my hub juz lie beside him patting him. My boy already so frustrated, patting wldnt calm him. I knew hub was very tired that day but cldnt he at least carry him while waiting for me? The most only 5 mins.

RE : BD
I also think that how can man hv no needs. Well, he also DIY. Asked him why DIY when u hv a wife? Now BD has to be quick and quiet in case baby wakes up. Sian....

RE : Sleeping at night
My boy somehow tends to stir ard 4 or 5am. Not milk as I've fed him before and he only drank a little. Has to pat and pat before he returns to sleep.

SSF,
agree. actually wanted to let him sleep in cot beside me but difficult to pat him when he stir at night. once i was so tired also nearly slept on him.

Relationship
Things are only alittle diffferent since Ariene was born because I'm so tired most of the time. We still BD as usual when bb is asleep at night for the long sleep. Difference is we talk more about bb, her future and our future plans.

Our wedding anniversary is this wednesday. We've decided to goto Highwood for a nice romantic candlelight dinner under the moon & stars, then hubby will take off on thursday so we can have nice long dinner together. MIL will help take care of darling while we're out.

clare,
ur baby sounds like she got colic. Ariene is also like that when the wind in her tummy is bad, esp from 6pm onwards. Sometimes, she'll vomit ALOT (my rec is about 20-30ml) and keep crying & crying and nothing u do seems to calm her down. As long as she's not having diahhrea or fever, there's no need to worry. She'll keep wanting to be carried and will only suckle for comfort even though she's not hungry. Give her some anti colic drops. It worked wonders for me. Just carry bb and comfort bb as much as u can. It can be very tiring, I understand cuz I've been through it. The anticolic drops I'm using is Dentinox. Infacol seems to better though I've never used it before but it don't seem to be available in here.

y,

the amount my bb drank around 8pm was inconsistent..it could be 125ml, 80ml, and also 50ml.

Just bring my bb for vacinnation..suprisingly he gained abt 400gram from the last 2 weeks and now weighting 7.2kg.

My bb dun drink much but sleep alot.

Hi Clare,
no worries lah, too bad we were going in oppositee direction, if not will send you all the way to TMC...

Regarding bb, could it be she had bad wind and need to burp? Sometimes Shannon also like that, everytime she smiling away, then all of a sudden, wail like nobody's business, we burp her, then she will stop...

Y,
think that's the thing with hubbies... with my hubby, he dun really understand what bb wants sometimes, sometimes very difficult..

the massage session on sat was fun. Cindy/rena, thks for organising! : ) I think it's quite effective as well. My gal slept immediately after the massage!

Hihi mummies,

i only took 4 photos. see them at this link below.
http://photos.yahoo.com/mongai77

re:relationship with hubby,
my hubby is real kind and helpful. he has been very understanding all this time. but I think my attitude to him can be improved. get very impatient with him. he was telling me that my conversation with him is all about baby this and baby that. he thinks it's not very healthy in the long run. i have to agree with him. think we need some time on our own.

sleepingdeer,

T2 got swensens. But always long queue.

I also have more arguments with my hubby. And the arguments are all about the baby. however, I think after each argument, we know each other better.

tabbiesus,

i also like the pooh bear bumpermat. Not sure if I want to join the Working Mum's BP cos even with the discount it's still quite ex. You getting from the BP?

SY,

I also brought BB out after the gathering. We reached home only at 1130. Feed my gal and she slept from 1230 to 7am - so happy. This is the first time that she slept through the night.

But at 7am when I woke up, I realise that my bedsheet is wet. At first I thought that my gal's pee leaked through the diapers then I realise that the wetness is caused by my breast leaking! My PJ also wet...

tracy,

me too - i also eat a lot more than I used to. Kind of worried that my appetite will still remain the same even when I stop BF.

dino,

it's not a portable fridge but a cooler bag. If you can pm me or leave me your email add. I can email you the attachment details together with the contact.

Hi all mummies
My son on 7 apr is 3 month so my nanny bring him for his injection then i knock off fetch him but his leg is swollen due to the injection. nanny told me the nurse from the poly clinc told her if swollen and red use ice with towel apply on his leg. But my boy cried and cried after after 6 hrs after his injection and are in pain. It hurt me when i c him like this and i cant do anything. he cried for hours but now ok liao. hai end up next morning fever we bring him to the clinc again doctor said refer to hospital asap as 38.5 degree end up stayed a nite in hospital bring him home on sun.I was wondering is it the nurse very rough didnt insert the needle properly so my boy's leg swollen. hai
When in hospital his leg ok liao i ask doctor he said a bit swollen is ok. hai he didnt c how he cried that nite.

Now wondering can i sign up the package dont go poly clinc to inject.

sl,
I experienced that the first night I slept at home after discharge without breast pads. U have been sleeping without breast pads at night?

rachel,
i also plannign to buy baby monitor. your question so timely..

tracy, sl,
i also eat a lot still leh. my tummy still loose loose....

wendyheng
poor baby....maybe the nurse realy never inject properly...

Hi sleepingdeer,

Cannot seemed to be able to PM you as you don't accept private messages.

Can you PM me instead? Getting desperate as I've just started work today after 14 weeks of leave...

wendyheng,
I've heard enough of bad experiences from other mummies to make me decide not to bring bb to polyclinic. Even my regular GP also ask me to bring bb to a PD for checkups and jabs. If you're staying at cck/bukit panjang area, I'd recommend Dr Winston Ng from Kidslink.

I also don't like KKH due to some bad experience myself. They're not cheap anyway. In fact, they charge more than Dr Ng.

SY, Rachel,
I"m using AngelCare baby monitor. Its very good though its abit on the expensive side. I'm also using the sensor pad to make full use of the $285 I pay for the monitor. You may wanna consider it too. Sensor pad is for detecting SID. Sometimes, I forgot to switch it off while taking Ariene off the cot and it beeped right away. Shows that its working. Haha.

SY - there is a expo gg on tomorrow on JL sales. not sure if you want to check out if the monitor is sold there. but frankly speaking i dun think so. shld be the norm stuffs like toiletries, bedsheets etc.

wendyheng - i also sleep at night w/o breast pad and even bra. i normally sleep straight up so that the milk will not leak out. but nowsaday my MS is quite low so even if sleep sideways also doesn't leak out.

re:polyclinic

i also dun really trust polyclinic. i only go to PD. the last injection on my bb thigh seems OK. just a small dot and there is no swelling thereafter. wendyheng, you may want to bring ur bb to see a PD if the swell and redness still persists.

SY
thats a good idea.. I might just ask my mil to do it..for the "sake" of seeing doctor...
and also not so difficult as in it's me who want to her keep record.
Sometimes I really worry lor..my mil seems forgetful perhaps I should be less worry and let her be.. no matter what she has more experience in bb sitting than me..

wendyl
So Glad to know your bb is fine... when I heard from rena I had a fright too...
But good to know bb is well and fine now.
yes.. we got to be careful..
When my gal was younger I also leave her on the table and go wash my hand or take camera, now that she can kick herself upward very fast.. I dun dare already.

tracy/serene
I have 2 dogs at home too.. but cos they were medium size.. so we keep them away for now.
my dogs were very curious with my bb initially as well, when my baby wail and we carry her around, 1 of my dog will bark in excitment must be thinking it's a new toy heehee.
Now the older dog dun even look at my bb while the younger will still pass close to "check out" the bb when she is in her rocker

SY
I also neglect my dogs alot.. cos when I hug hug them I got to change my clothes and all.. so I seldom play with them also.. except I feed them some snack to make them remember me..
Now they know only my hb will walk them, when they see me, dun even whine liao..
when my bb is older, we will let them play together
and be good buddy

Sy
DUn be sad abt bb not talking.. 3 weeks ago, my gals start to respond with real smile and coo, she will also smile and coo alot with me. Then suddenly last week, she dun smile much to me or talk to me much also. But when my hb talk to her, she will be happy and coo and smile and everything make my HB so happy and keep wanting to play with her.
When I try talking to her.. she respond but not as much lor...I keep telling myself to be patient.

Re: HB
hmm.. my hb has been supportive so far except he still long to go golf and I guess I have to let him go cos it's his hobby.
We dun have much couple time too!! only after bb sleep at nite but by then I will be very tired or busy pumping milk. When I'm done pumping, we will all head to bed, not much talking also.
Sometimes I wan to go out walk walk.. even just buy groceries with hb, I will be happy.. but hb dun see the need one lor... keep asking why must we go together..sigh...
I want to go out as family but my hb always say HFMD around (whcih I agree) better to let bb stay at home.. so sian..

Wendy/denmy
keke.. nice to be side you too.. and beside Denmy too...both of you very nice and freindly la...
and both of your bb, neck very strong.. I so envy..
my bb still licking the bedsheet...

wendyheng,
His number is 63100900. His clinic is called Kidslink in the HDB building beside Lot1 in CCK, 3rd floor.

SY,
I bought my Angelcare from Robinsons. I also saw the monitor at Mother's works at forum. I bought the digital one as it comes with thermometer that can show u the room's temperature as well.

SY
haha. same timing =)

wendy ng
hmm..yah its on the high side. btw where you bought it?

re: flash card instruction
hello any mummy can help? rena must have pass to mummies who went to the gathering. can have 1 copy through faxing?

re: gathering
maybe can organise another one in 1 to 2 months time.. all mummies and bb seem to have such fun!

Cookie,
Don't worry abt baby's neck la. I torture my bb alot by putting her tummy to tummy with me to sleep often, that's y her neck strong. Also, ur baby is about 1 week younger than mine right? Remem u were telling my 25th Jan or something. You'll be surprised how much they can develop in 1 week. Besides, my baby was born full term, so development may be faster than babies born pre-term.

queen,

I also don't track my baby's intake. Seeing so many mummies here tracking their babies' intake makes me wonder if I should.

rachel,

ya - i saw the thread that's started requesting for that mummy's contact. Actually, as long as everyone benefits then it should be okay right?

tabbiesus
saw your order from the BP thread. me waiting for another mummy to get back to me, her hubby working in korea so might get cheaper. think SL oso waiting heehee. if you not in hurry to get maybe like us wait for another party's reply =)

Hi Dino,
have PM'd you...

SL,
I deleted Ling's attachment though, if DIno needs, can get from you?

Wendy,
huh, me also bought the Angel care from Robinsons, but I didn't see a digital one leh.. with temperature some more! Aiyah, should have searched for that one...

SY, Rachel,
the Angel care is good, I really trust it alot with SIDS... everytime in the middle of the night when Shannon needs to feed, I blur blur, will forget to switch it off b4 picking her up, and the alarm will definitely go off, indication that there is no movement...

SL,
I also sleep without pads, and no leakage... coz my MS super low... hee hee...

wendy,

i did wear breastpads - they were all soaked through. I think it's because usually my gal would want to latch on twice at night but that night she just slept through.

sl
its up to you whether you comfortable with tracking bb feeding and poopoo timing. me tracking even since his birth. gave me a better idea how much he drink and what time to get ready for the next feed. oso good for hubby and my mum to have something to refer to when they taking care of BB with me not around.

yah me oso same thinking. as long as we mummies benefits...

rachel,

ya - me waiting. Going to check the marketplace thread later to see if the mummy starts her own thread. If not, I am also getting my fren who's going to Korea next week to see if can buy for me. Not sure if it's easy to get that in Korea though. If it's easy, I can get him to buy for you and Tabbiesus as well. Let me know your budget and preference.