(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

my MIL was actually expected to look after 3 kids, my nephew 7years old, niece 4 years old and my baby. she did not say that she can't manage but in the end, it was us who decided that it's too hectic for her. now she only look after the 7 years old and my baby. I am really quite lucky to get such a good MIL, she patiently listen to me when I tell her which cream to use for my baby, she has 4 types of cream to apply. my PD also recommended us to give my baby iron drops, so she needs to put this into her milk daily using the syringe. I think these are all extras but she din't complain at all. really grateful. on top of that, she needs to cook for the whole family at night. there are 9 of us in the extended family. think when I have my second kid, we will need a maid.

sleepingdeer,
my sis has this prob as well. her MIL says that she is very tired and kept wanting to stop looking after her boy. she got a maid for her but the maid is mainly for cooking and to tidy the place. then, she has less complain. recently, she has fresh bout of complain again. my sis also quite headache, coz my mother stay very far from her and they don't really trust the maid to look after the boy full time.
however, if eventually no one can look after the boy, they may have to rely on the maid until her is older. there is really not much choice.
what sunny says is true. a nanny maybe a good idea. my mother used to be a nanny and we as her children enjoyed playing with the baby. she took such good care of the babies that one stayed with her for 5 years.

RE: MIM sling..

yesterday manage to pursade hb to buy another MIM sling for me.. now I have three sling..hee hee.. one is a hand me down that my MIL give.. very old version 7 years.. and it is not comfortable already.. 1 is the born and bond.. cotton one but color is yucky and once I wash it becomes hairy.. so I bought the cotton sateen one.. plus got CD.. so I am going to pratice..

RE: gathering

so far this is the list of names that I have.. by tomorrow I will close the application.. please note that I will be ordering the High tea supreme from neo gardens.. min is 30 pax.. plus 35 dollars deliver charge.. so per person is about 10 dollars is it ok?

1) rena + hubby + bb (Pizza)
2) sunny + hubby + bb (Veggie Spaghetti)
3) cindy + cindy's mom + bb (assorted fruits)
4) queen + bb (tiramisu)
5) Denmy + hubby + elder son(anyone else also?) + bb (finger sandwiches, will make some vegetarian ones for Sunny & HB)
6) krissie + hubby + bb (logan almond jelly)
7) sl+hubby+bb (walnut cake)
8)mongs + hubby + bb (peanut pancakes)
9) pochacco + hubby + bb
10) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb (spring rolls)
11)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom + bb
12) Wenyl + bb
13) SY +hubby + bb
14) Clare + bubby + bb
15) God's child + hb + bb

sleepingdear
thanks for your encouragement =) will try my best on maintain my MS. yesterday actually spent sometime in talking to my mum about the feeding time, breast milk and pass motion thingy. know that she is worry about her grandchild but we agreed to monitor.
thanks for your info on PD too.
understand your anger, but is nanny an option to you n your hubby too?? for the meantime ask your mum n MIL to look after while you source help. my boy is a difficult one, my mum commented before if he is not her grandchild she die die will not take care one. is your gal the first grandchild on both side? if yes then think your mum n MIL is plainly worried that they cant handle your gal bah.

Rena
I have so much concern with mil taking care of my baby also... but I just can't be SAHM either. sigh...
I also very scare my bb will learn all my mil bad habit esp in the way she speak and talk to pple

sunny,
ya i'm the one who got the sealer. can't remember the brand. cost around $10. hmm.. if ck tangs don't have, maybe u want to try the stall cart at raffles place caltex hse? otherwise u can go john little or carrefour as suggested.

god's child
okay i will try out the ru yi oil tonight. hopefully my boy can produce some result haha
thanks for your info on the PD. the PD you mentioned in clement sound real nice =)

durainlover
thanks for your info. think will check out the Kidslink @ CCK, since my mum live in CCK too.

my boy oso cry and fuss when he wants to sleep. although we can see that his eye is tired but he sure have to cry for awhile in order to fall asleep. have to carry him around and pat him *tired*
now i found out a faster way in getting him to sleep and that is to let him suckle on my nipple. works for me everytime =p heehee

tabbiesus
thanks for the offer. so sweet of you. will let you know.
btw, is the robinsons cardmember sale today? they nvr send me the invitation leh.
is it confirm 20% for tiny lv toys? me wanna get the playgym.
my boy also like ceiling fan.

rachel,
Durian and I goto Dr Winston Ng in CCK interchange, the HDB building beside lot1. I think he's very good. Patient and reasonably priced. You can try him out. That time when I brought Ariene to him for diahhrea problem, he even called up to ask about Ariene to check if she's ok. I think thats very nice of him. You seldom get a doctor who actually remembers their patients and show real concern. He even taught me how to sterilise the keep EBM properly and ask me & hubby not to complain he lor sor.

cindy / krissie / tabbiesus
yah have been giving him gripe water everyday. still... sigh... have even 'threaten" him will put insert will he dont poo. but still no sight of poo...

re: head lifting
my boy love to patrol the house too. will quiet down when we carry him up right and his chest against ours. think that where he practice his neck, now he is carrying his head more steady le, not like last time keep knocking onto our shoulder

wendy
how much is the consultation charge by Dr Winston? i am thinking of bringing my gal there, too. 'cos it's the nearest PD i can find.

celine
ok... will go and find the sealer.

My girl still taking abt 90-100ml only leh. She's 8wk4 days. Just use the formula my PD gave me to calculate if they're drinking enough lor. According to my girl's weight, 90-100ml is ok for her.

Last night, I feed Ariene at 9.30pm, then wipe her down, change her into pyjamus, change diaper, she sleep about 10pm. Didnt wake up till 6am for her feed. Day time, she'll latch on more times to stock up energy for the long night sleep.

rachel
I know BF bb no need to drink water but personally I find giving warm water to my bb 1st thing in the moring seems to help her poo poo smoothly..

nyny,
His charges about $40+ per visit. Unless you got alot medicine. First time I went there, had colic drops + first consultation + HepB jab $80+. That time went back to him for diahhrea was only $42 incl med for diahhrea. I think its very reasonable. My PD at gleneagles just see only, no medicine also $70+

Rachel,
My girl likes to be carried upright now. Don't quite like being carried like she used to when newborn. In fact, sometimes, when I put her on her belly, she'll flip back on her own with legs. However, her back muscles not so strong yet so can only flip 1-2 times then no strength liao.

Poo
My girl still poos at least twice a day now.

OPPS..

sorry .. not sleepdeer but cookie.. these few day a bit blur blur.. haa haa..

Cookie.. just let me know.. anytime if you need help ok.. dun be shy.. we are friends

TV
Haven't tried letting Ariene watch TV before as my hubby and I also seldom watch. Remem Mdm Rokiah, my massage lady told me b4, try not to let bb get used to watching TV if not hard to restrict them when they grow older. So far, I've been showing flashcards and books to Ariene and she likes them, so I've been entertaining her with self made math cards & picture books I borrowed from the lib.

Maybe u wanna try singing nursery ryhmes and play acting them? My girl also likes to listen to me read her stories before sleeping. Helps her to sleep longer too with a smile. Sometimes, she even laughs out loud in her sleep.

rooting at evenings
Sleepingdeer, you girl may be suffering from colic. When Ariene gets colic, she'll also want to be at the breast all the time for comfort. She'll keep crying & fussing and refuse to sleep. I'll feed her the colic drops Dr Winston Ng gave me and it works wonders for me. Relief is almost instanteneous and she'll sleep shortly after.

wendy
=) this PD is real nice from what you mention. thats what we parent really look for. okay will go there. btw is it possible for you to give me the contact no. of the clinic? maybe call them up to check the price first.
wow your gal can flip liao! that is so clever of her! my boy till now can only turn to the side. he's 10 weeks n 1 day old.
check with you on the flash card. you DIY or buy off the shelf? how about the maths card, is it like "1+1=2"? sorry if my question sound silly =p this weekend plan to go robinson shop for his stuff.

thanks for the advise...

Cookie,
dun want to scare you, but my experience with old folks is that they will ask for more things slowly and slowly.. precisely, can a maid carry bb? I dun want a maid to bring up my child, that is the reason why we asked our parents in the first place.. the funny thing is I thought that both sides would fight over who take care of her, and now I am faced with a situation that nobody want to take care of her!

SUnny, Rena,
worst case senario we will get a nanny... but am seriously thinking of quitting to be a SAHM, but we will really need to tighten our belts if I do become one....

Sunny, cookie, sleepingdeer,

well sometimes for the sake of our child we have no choice just live simpliy lor.. either we sacrifice now and enjoy later or enjoy now and heartbreak later.. I have seen so many cases .. that is why I decided to stay at home..

as you know ... with a job.. there are so many things I can do and when I look at my other friends .. I really envy.. then for climbing up the business ladder...

sleepingdeer, sunny
me oso wish to be SAHM but like what sunny said, sacrificing...

what me and my hubby plan is if we want to go for a second child then i shall quit and look after them myself. btw by that time our parent will be old and wouldnt have that much strenght and energy to look and run after the little ones. but still have to see the situation then, $$ is really a big concern.

Sunny, cookie, sleepingdeer,

well sometimes for the sake of our child we have no choice just live simpliy lor.. either we sacrifice now and enjoy later or enjoy now and heartbreak later.. I have seen so many cases .. that is why I decided to stay at home..

as you know ... with a job.. there are so many things I can do and when I look at my other friends .. I really envy.. then for climbing up the business ladder...

Mongs,
yah, I dun understand how come they cannot take care of my bb, my mum only stopped working 1 year ago, and she was working from 6am to 4pm everyday then! I see so many grand parents taking care of their grand kids easily, and I really dun get it...

Rachel,
Yes, its the frist grand child on both sides, thats why they both wanted to take care of her initally... and now look what happen... I won't mind if they tell me that they dun wish to take care of her, but tell us in advance lah...

sleepingdeer,
I've been dying to be a SAHM but my hb die die also say cannot cuz he cannot support us alone. How sad

Rachel,
Dr Winston Ng's clinic is called Kidslink. Tel: 63100900.

Flashcards,
I make my own maths flash cards. Bought 5"x8" Azone plain white index cards, red dot and black dot stickers from popular and stick. Infants and toddlers can only recognise numbers as red or black dots now so if u want to show "1+1=2" show in concession on the floor : 1reddot, a '+' card, 1blackdot, a '=' card and 2red dots. uploaded a pdf file on some guidelines for math flash cards here :

attachment_icon.gif

MathStars.zip (47.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Rena - thanks for the arrangement, BTW where will be the gathering??? maybe this has been mentioned before but i missed out..

SY, i just brought NUK teat to see if there is any improvement in my boi drinking milk problem. if yes, i will keep you gals with the same problem

sleepingdeer, i feel tat maybe the 3 adult want good life as nowaday bb are hard to handle...

my boi also quite naughty when come to drink milk... my mum has to warm the milk at least one time before convincing him to drink. my mum also complaint that nowaday bb are different from the past and difficult to handle...

yesterday when i bring my boi hm in the car, accidently wake him up and he scream my head drop...

wendy - me also wans to be SAHM but unfortunately if i do tat i cannot spend money to buy thing for bb... so financially will be very tight.

i am trying to understanding how flash card works, can you briefly explain to me?

wendy
thank you for the contact and the flash cards info!

re: nowadays babies
its true that nowadays babies are different and more difficult to handle. my mum said when me and my brother are babies we only know sleeping and drinking of milk. now my boy start "talking" by e e ah ah and dont know what language is that. sometime talking to himself and sometime talking to us with lots of expression.

cookie
is it? i thot u pump more than me mah, so thot no need to suppl.

sleepingdeer
my mum was also suuposed to look after my boy. but, as my boy was colicky, when she was helping me during confinement, her blood pressure went up. qt dangerous as she can get stroke. so, hb and i were thinking of getting her some help, i.e. maid or put with bbsitter. but, hb, mum &amp; I dun like the idea of having maid ard. so, in the end, we got my boy a bbsitter. It's possible that they cant cope. I think it depends on your parents and MIL's character, plus how demanding your bb is. My boy sometimes need to be carried all the time. My mum is the kan chiong type. so, she gets jittery when my boy cries. I think my mum wld really love to help if she can cope. I also dun wanna stress her, afraid that she get stroke.

rena
sorry, most likely i cant make it. If no one else is going &amp; we're short of the min pax for the buffet, I dun mind transferring you the $10. Let me know lah.

krissie,

i got a letter from RObinson to say got 20% storewide if I bring the letter between 30.3 til Sunday. I dunno if Tinylove toys have 20% off, but I'm going down to check.. u want to get anything?

Queen,
RE: lazy eyes
it can be genetic

Causes of Amblyopia/ lazy eyes
Both eyes must receive clear images during the critical period. Anything that interferes with clear vision in either eye during the critical period (birth to 6 years of age) can result in amblyopia (a reduction in vision not corrected by glasses or elimination of an eye turn). The most common causes of amblyopia are constant strabismus (constant turn of one eye), anisometropia (different vision/prescriptions in each eye), and/or blockage of an eye due to trauma, lid droop, etc. If one eye sees clearly and the other sees a blur, the good eye and brain will inhibit (block, suppress, ignore) the eye with the blur. Thus, amblyopia is a neurologically active process. The inhibition process (suppression) can result in a permanent decrease in the vision in that eye that can not be corrected with glasses, lenses, or lasik surgery.

tabbiesus
can trouble you to help me to see how much is the tiny lv gymini. it's a playgym. the model i'm looking for is "lights and music". supposed to be $79.90 before the 20% disc. so wasted they nvr send me the letter.

rachel,

my gal's the same... sigh ... now that I am back at work, my mum has so much difficulty in coaxing her to sleep in the afternoons. Ended up carrying her the whole day.

durianlover,

my daughter fusses when she's sleepy, cries when she wakes up also....

valerie,

my gal's also cross-eyed sometimes. Asked the PD - she said that it's okay - they will outgrow it.

angeline,

I didn't apply for work permit for mine. She went to JB to stamp her passport after the 2nd week and came back.

Queen,

Think someone mentioned before that heated up EBM can only keep for 1 hr. My daughter's like that too - her 120ml drinks in instalments one. So what my mum did was to feed her 70ml every 2 hrs instead of keeping the milk warm for her. You might want to try it. I also think that it's better but more work for the caretaker lah.

sleepingdeer,

my mum also finds it difficult to take care of my daughter for the whole day so I only work halfdays. I care for daughter in the morning so that my mum can get her things done.

actually, i also very tempted to be a SAHM.. at least till maybe my gal's 6 mths then shd be easier to take care right? We do have savings that will till us over but I feel insecure lor. sigh.

I have bought the english and maths flash cards from the market place.. got a set of instructions.. those who want let me know so I can make copies for you..

rena
just a suggestion. if we have 30 persons for gathering, no need order 30 pax portion 'cos my experience is that for the buffet, the portion needs to be discounted by about 30% in case any wastage.

agreed with you that either happy now or regret later loh... but... sigh... hard to make the choice...

rachel
my hb actually said if don't anyhow spend like last time, actually he still can support us. we will see how 1st. if i am really not comfortable with the way my mil takes care of my bb, i will be SAHM...

sleepingdeer
sometimes it's a matter of choice made by your parents and in law lah. can't blame them though.
i saw other older generation refused to take care of their grandchildren 'cos they was thinking of enjoying themselves now after all these years of hard work in bringing up their kids.

tabbi
when did you receive the invitation? i got robinson cc, how come didn't receive? grrr.....

krissie,

I'll check for u... i pm u my handphone in case u want me to sms u the cost...u want me to help u buy first if got 20%off? I'm going down soon, wanna avoid the post-work crowd. I got the tiny love Total playground gym when they were having the sale earlier on..

tabbiesus,
that sounds really unnerving. Can it be detected at this age? And if found early, can it be corrected?

queen,
the EBM can be used within one hour of being warmed up the first time. Kirsten is also a small but frequent eater, like me. When she can't finish her feed, I'll always save it till 1hr later. Then, I'll go change her diaper or bathe her, etc, then try to feed her again after that. Most of the time, she will finish it. The EBM can be warmed up again, as long as it's finished within one hr of the first warming up.

She feeds different amounts at different times of the day, so to save EBM, I try to predict by recording how much she's drinking at what time of the day. The amount doesn't vary much and is within +/- 10ml usually. If not enough, it's obvious that she's not satisfied cos she'll cry a lot, I'll top up her feed and the next day, I'll increase the initial amount of EBM. Now, I'm becoming quite obsessed with all the recording I'm doing now... Help!

sl,
I'm relieved to hear that about the cross-eyed.

I'm actually a SAHM not by choice, but by "fate". I happened to get preg after I resigned, so I spent my preg days till now unemployed. Although it has been very fulfilling so far and glad that my hubby is able to sustain our spending, I really miss the "outside world". I'm planning to start looking for jobs after Kirsten turns 1. Hope by the time I start work, she can go to childcare...

Pochacco,
I'm doing fruits and vegetables now. I only self make the math ones. Teaching Ariene 0 to 10. The fruits and vegetables ones I buy the giant flash cards from popular. I think those are good because they're big, contains 1 picture only, real life photographs and has lots of info on the fruit/vege behind each flash card. There's altoghether 32 cards in each box and I show Ariene about 10-15 each time after her math session.

Baby weight
Ariene was 4.5kg, 55cm at 6 weeks. Last week, she was 57cm and about 5kg. As long as baby is still gaining weight and is healthy, it shouldn't be a worry. 5.65kg@56cm is not at all skinny, so don't worry

sunny / tabbi
this time round i got the invitation card from robinson, there is a few time they oso did not send me invitation. but think as long as you r their member can still go down and enjoy their discount right??

sunny
true. as long as we spend carefully should not be a problem. just have to think twice when doing purchase lo. just imagine last time my mum is a SAHM and my dad driving lorry, still can feed the whole family. although when me and my brother keep going in and out of hospital when we are little.

tabbiesus,
my gal same as ur baby! She likes to look at the ceiling fan and aircon!! really strange. She's also not so interested in toys or playgym...prefers to look at pple or to look at her surroundings.

SY,
there was a period of time when my gal would be very awake after her middle-of-the-night feed. But she kind of 'outgrew' that phase. Hopefully your boy will do so soon too!

queen &amp; mongs,
my gal also still poos 3-4times a day...same as isaac
But though she poos so much she is a huge and heavy gal! And i'm also dropping a lot of hair!! How come ah?? Feel sad when i see my hair all over the house...scared i start balding!
i'm working in a Christian organization working with students, that's why work is flexi and they're pro-family. But i struggle with the fact that i can't seem to give my best to work and baby at the same time...so gotta see how things go...

Re: sleep sense
i tried the crying method before but it doesn't seem to work on my gal. And she can cry until really really jialat. Face will turn PURPLE and cry till no voice and will perspire all over. Decided it doesn't do her any good coz i'll take a longer time to calm her down and coax her to sleep after that. So i'm trying to carry her till she's half-asleep then put her down. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

wendy,
thanks for info on flash cards! i also want to make some and show my gal

valerie
haha you are not alone. im oso a mummy who keep track of every single feed and pass motion timing! my list of records are getting longer and i just cant stop. makes me feel more secure when seeing the amount drank and when he poo =p

cookie
my boy oso given warm water as well as gripe water every morning after his bath. but he dont cooperate lo >=/

haha, comrade rachel, me too! All input, output and sleeping are recorded down to the minute details! Yah, it makes me feel secure too that she's feeding enough. I read from kellymom that the amount of EBM babies should be taking in should be from 570 to 900ml. Then I realized that she's only feeding 400+, so got kan cheong and started tracking... Now, she has increased her intake to ~600ml. Feel better now...

For useful sharing, here's the website: http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkcalc.html

sunny,

Bo bian leh the min is 30 pax.. mainly pastries so I think I will bring some containers for mommies to bring home..

RE: flash cards

Let me know if you want the instructions.. by next thursday coz me ask hb to photostat.. ok

valerie
same same =p haha then my hubby will oso look at my records and see how much he drank and what time sleep. what to do, this make us feel better.

rena
i like to have the instruction but i cant make it for the gathering. how? is it possible to fax?