(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi queen, how to u manage to stretch to 5 hrs at night??? the most i can stretch is 3 hrs, sometimes only 2 hours. ethan is 6 weeks old. dunno how to tahan when i return to work???

Wendy,

FYI, Pigeon has the wide neck type teats. It's the Peristaltic model. When you buy the pigeon rapid steriliser, they give you two small botles free.

sysac
do you hand carry cephas while doing your morning walk or push him in pram? just wondering...
I would like to bring my gal for walk walk too...instead of keep staying in the house..

queen
my gal just reach 4 mths.. sometimes she "over" slept too... in the afternoon... sleep 4 hr then feed...but she might demand more or more frequent at other times.
when she sleep well.. I never go wake her up just let her sleep till she wake up...
now I'm worry..if I deprive her from her milk milk..

Morning mummies...

my bb is now 7 weeks old and i find him wanting to sleep more than drink. is it normal? any of ur babies are experiencing the same too? my boy seems to consume lesser now. used to drink like 120-130ml and now 70-90ml seems satisfactory for him and he just wanna sleep thereafter. despite me feeding him more, he just keep wailing and refusing the bottle. now i am thinking if i shld burp him in between or let him drink all that he can and do one last burp before he sleeps.

mongs - yes i have got my playtex bags from KK finally. managed to store 3 bags yesterday. thankfully i got the wire to secure those bags.

sy- great that by holding the pacifier it helps in making ur bb sleep. hehee..so now he can sleeps faster and u can have more time on hand

re: those using medela pump
have u tried using battery when pumping? basically i find that the battery ran out pretty fast. my battery seems flat after using for 2 occassion making the suction so slow. now i always bring lotsa of batts just in case it fails.

re: firm mattress

nowsaday in the noon, i will carry my baby to our bed for naps. the mattress aren;t as firm as those baby cot mattress. is it OK? sometimes i realise he sleep until there is a dent on the mattress. not sure if it hinder his head growth as his head is looking more and more like a cone shaped.

sysac - i live in tampines and the central required a bus ride. as for walks, the weather lately is killing me...i can bathe like 3 times a day and still feel hot. especially after pumping and those leaks which i hate it...a bath is definitely a must before i head to bed every nght. maybe a night walk will be better...but then night time is my rest time ..as that is when hubby returns and its his time for his duty. haha...

oh btw, there is a baby fair at expo next fri and sat. so those mummies on ML, can go down and see if there is any good bargains. i am thinking of stocking up pampers as my frds who went last yr said its cheap.

SSF
my bb also changed sleep pattern after 4 weeks and ended up sleeping more. I mentioned this to the PD. he said usually they sleep less after 1 month but if weight gain and feeding ok then no need to worry. why dun u call the baby clinic? I find the nurses at the clinic at elias mall helpful.

i also let my bb sleep on my bed i nthe afternoon. so far ok. my bb's head still round.

re baby fair
mummies, i will be going there since it's near my place. anyone need anything?

Queen,

No, It does not make you a bad mother. Haha! Makes me a more emotional mother? Haha

SY/Yuki,

I started 3 weeks before I returned to work. What I did was feed him slightly more during the last nite feed. Somehow, it worked out as in he slept thru. Then I con't the routine thereafter. He will sleep betwn 11pm-12am & wake up btwn 6am-6.30am. It's easy for me on Mon-Wed cos my mum stays with me. I will get up, bathe & dress-up b4 feeding/playing with him. Then, I will pass him to my mum when I leave for work. On these 3 days, at least my mum is around shd he oversleep his usual waking-up time. On Thu-Fri, he will go to my PIL's hse which is an intersection away. This morning, I had to wake him up at 7am to bathe & feed him b4 sending him over this morning.

Cookie,

So far, I hand carried him for all my walks. He will look around & talk to the birds during the morning walks. For the night walks, he will fall asleep after a short distance. I will still carry on the usual route. If I get tired (cos he's a load now!), I will sit on the benches at the garden for a while before resuming the walks. He will wake up when I step into the house. If I go with the stroller, he can't really see much lying in there. On top of that, if he frets, will have to carry him & push stroller. As a result, I decide hand-carrying him is a better option.

SSF,

Yep, the weather lately is hot hot hot! A short evening walk shd be good enough. When we started the walks, it was just Cephas & I. HB saw that we enjoyed ourselves becos I will update him of what Cephas did during the walks. He also decided to join in during the weekend mornings.

Re: play with baby
wanna ask for advise, I also trying to do eat, play, sleep routine with my baby...
or even if just for bonding,... baby so small, what are the "play" activities u guys have with bb?
sometimes I just talk to her anyway I talk to her all the time when she is awake, show her some rattle, abit bit of massage...but before long she get bored...
Is there other things we can "play" with her?
I find myself not "playing" enough with my baby..

Queen,

No, It does not make you a bad mother. Haha! Makes me a more emotional mother? Haha

SY/Yuki,

I started 3 weeks before I returned to work. What I did was feed him slightly more during the last nite feed. Somehow, it worked out as in he slept thru. Then I con't the routine thereafter. He will sleep betwn 11pm-12am & wake up btwn 6am-6.30am. It's easy for me on Mon-Wed cos my mum stays with me. I will get up, bathe & dress-up b4 feeding/playing with him. Then, I will pass him to my mum when I leave for work. On these 3 days, at least my mum is around shd he oversleep his usual waking-up time. On Thu-Fri, he will go to my PIL's hse which is an intersection away. This morning, I had to wake him up at 7am to bathe & feed him b4 sending him over this morning.

Cookie,

So far, I hand carried him for all my walks. He will look around & talk to the birds during the morning walks. For the night walks, he will fall asleep after a short distance. I will still carry on the usual route. If I get tired (cos he's a load now!), I will sit on the benches at the garden for a while before resuming the walks. He will wake up when I step into the house. If I go with the stroller, he can't really see much lying in there. On top of that, if he frets, will have to carry him & push stroller. As a result, I decide hand-carrying him is a better option.

SSF,

Yep, the weather lately is hot hot hot! A short evening walk shd be good enough. When we started the walks, it was just Cephas & I. HB saw that we enjoyed ourselves becos I will update him of what Cephas did during the walks. He also decided to join in during the weekend mornings.

hi sysac
thanks.. perhaps I should bring my bb along when my HB walk the dogs in the evening...but the problem is my HB walk the dog around 8pm.. which already dark... I wonder will bb still see things then...
the evening walk.. do you walk after sun set?

cookie,

Have you got the kids tool flash cards/ toys... i find my baby girl likes to look at these flash cards... right now the picture of the clown with the red nose seems to amuse her the most... i will show her the flash cards and follow the instructions behind it and sometimes improvise a bit...

You can read this for more ideas..
http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/baby/babydevelopment/6772.html?scid=mbtw_post2m0w:20060227:0:0:0

Sysac,
I am really impressed with how well you can manage your time with baby... I almost got my baby into a similar routine, but I kinda screwed it up when I decided to not supplement but to let her latch on more in the evening so that i can build up my MS before work... I think I shall follow your example again...

anyways, keep up the good work... I have to really learn from u cos I think I have been a little too mung zhang from the anticipation of going back to work

cookie - my mum bought 2 musical books from MPH for my boy. the one that play music when pressed. there is the bed time songs as well as playtime songs. my boy loves it and always smile. what i did was to place him on my raised laps. and then i will use his hands to clap or touch his head, shoulde, legs together with the rythmn. maybe u can try buying a musical book and use that for playing. other wise, just talking n singing to him is enough. babies love to hear our voices.

should we wake bb up for feeding if bb still sleeps and it's time for feeding in daytime? my gal doesn't sleep straight after feeding... sometimes she sleeps 1 or 2 hours after feeding. so, when it's time for feeding, she's still sleeping...

by the way, for mummies who are using sterilising tab, where do you buy it and how much it costs? And how use it? Need to buy special container too?

hi sysac
thanks.. perhaps I should bring my bb along when my HB walk the dogs in the evening...but the problem is my HB walk the dog around 8pm.. which already dark... I wonder will bb still see things then...
the evening walk.. do you walk after sun set?

Hi Cookie, Estelle, Krissie & Sleepingdeer,
Can I know whats your experience with Dr Ho? Me considering him and would like to know more info.

i m fr febmtb but my son is borned 12 Jan... now 7 wks old and 4.2kg last wk.. can i check how much milk should i give my boy? how much did u all give when yr bb is about 7 wks old and about 4+kg?

currently, i give 4oz (110ml) milk to my boy every about 3hrs.. my mum insist i under feed my son.

anyone know if there is any table or guide to show how much milk should bb drink at how many weeks old and wat is the frequency huh?

tabb and SSF
thanks for your advise...
I bought the flash card too.. and my gal will look at the crown tho with a little frown sometimes..but I will try harder.
SSF.. your method sound good, I will try...
Sometimes I think...I'm so serious that I forgot how to play with my baby...sigh...

doggy
Dr Ho has been very good in his skill, I went thru natural delivery and his stitching has not cause much pain to me.
To me Dr Ho is very practical, he only tell you what you need to know... there was a point I wish I know my baby's weight but to him it was irrelevant or not important but got to trust him.
I'm glad I have choosen him as my gynae.

sysac
for morning walks, do u walk before 8am? i wanted to bring him for morning walks but usually find that by the time he feeds etc, it is pass 8am.

when i bring him out, he sleeps!! no matter how i carry him, he will continue sleeping. so dunno how to let him see the world...

SSF,
i have those musical books too,. will try to use that to play with him. but his attention span so short.

tabbiesus
i flash those cards too! he will laugh at some of them. but after like 2 min his eyes will wander and dun wan to look at it. u follow those instructions at the back? how many times u flash them?

Hi Cookie,
His clinic oni at Mt A? So have to go on Sat for checkup and if not, have to take leave too see him? Whats his charges like? Can I know how much cash did you fork out?

ak - the sterilising tablets can be bought from pharmacy. the brand is called "boots" - at $6 plus for i think 30 tablets if i am not wrong. u need to buy a container that can store at least 2.3l of water. i bought 2 containers before the current one before it is suitable. one is too big and one is too small. so do ensure it met the minumum requirement of water including those pumps and bottles u want to put into. there is a bit of chlorine smell which i dislike so i only use it to sterilise my pump and not anythg else especially the teats. somehow i dun really trust it :p

Hi Bulma!

welcome to the thread. my boy is coming to 7 weeks ..he is one day older than your bb and he drinks 120ml every 3 hrs. i think the qty is OK but if you aren;t sure, you can verify with your PD. i am not sure of his weight but i think its 5kg. tmr i gg to bring him for his second hep jab and will confirm his weight again.

Hi Sy...my boy is coming 8 weeks and reaching 6kg soon...he takes betwn 120-150ml each time and can vary from time to time...but that's more or less what he drinks...hehe...
big drinker hor...he was 5.905kg beginning this wk when we brought him to see the PD for stuffy nose...

thanks SSF. Any specific container/where you buy container from? Just like a pail?

my bb born 4 Jan but he doesnt seem to have the 3 hr, 4 hr feeding cycle...he still seems to be on hrly/2 hrly cycle...only at nite is 3 hrs....wonder what i can do to change things as I am direct latch on....

Bulma,
welcome! i'm also wondering what's the recommended amount of milk baby shd drink. Am going to PD tmr and will ask!

SY & tabbiesus,
haha i think i hv the same flashcards as u! My gal will look at the cards, but when i read out the words behind the cards, she gets bored after some time. Dunno why!

sunny,
my gal also seems more sleepy nowadays though she's 6 weeks old. Very strange...her feeding interval can stretch more than 4 hrs in the daytime. i'll try to wake her up after 3 hrs but even then she seems more interested to sleep than feed!

tulips,
I don't sleep train my boy. Just that sometimes maybe he's too tired, will sleep 5 hours. But that is seldom lah.

My colleague emailed me a book on sleep training Babies to sleep throughout the night.
Interested? I can email to you all. But the file is like 2 MB big. PM me if you want me to email it to you!

Welcome Bulma,
Ur baby is 3 days older than my gal. My gal is drinking 100ml every 3hrs.

SSF,
My gal is also 7wks old..u going for Hep B 2nd dose? Erm..ur baby is taking 6 in 1 ah?

Cookie,
Try making funny noise and talk to ur baby with different tone..my gal seems to like me making "tack tack" sound with my tongue.

sunny & durianlover,
I have the same prob..my gal is now 7wks old. I realised that nowadays she falls asleep while drinking milk when it is left abt 10ml. That means she only drink 90ml instead of 100ml. But she dun sleep much in the afternoon now..not in deep sleep, easily woken up by noise. I am giving her full FM..not sure what's wrong with her nowadays.

Managed to catch my girl smiling into the camera.. she got rashes on her cheeks now very rough and it is spreading..any mummies know how to get rid of it?

379221.jpg

SYSAC,

your BB so cute. can talk to birds.. awwww....

where can i get the flashcards that you are talking about?

May,

she's soooooo pretty in pink...

my boy also got red patches on his cheeks, as well as spots behind the ears and on the sides of his head... I'm taking him to the PD tmr. Will check with him and let you know...

Here's a latest pic of my Keenan.
379226.jpg

Keep me updated, Denmy. Thanks !

RE: Diapers Sales
Mummies, there is sales for DRYPERS and MAMY POKO at NTUC. Saw it yesterday and I have already stock up 4 packs of DRYPERS. hehe.. Faster stock up yours if interested!

I had gone back to work 1 march.

Bb nowadays behaved terribleuse to be very greedy when come to milk time.
I am having the problem especially in the morning when he cries after 3 hours from he last feed.
Then I try to gave him milk and he rejected it..and fell back to sleep. After abt to 1 hour later, then he will start crying for milk again.
I have make like 125ml of milk and found it very wasteful to pour it away especially that milk powder is very expensive (enfalac A+).

Can I know that once you have make the milk, how long can it keep.

I am afraid that if I just leave it for hour, it will turn bad.

SSf and SY
besides MPH.. where to get those musical books har??
MPH .. I dunno where got outlet and seems out of the way...

Doggy
yes.. u can try to fix sat appt with him but I was taking half day leave to see while I'm pregnant only once or twice I fix sat appt.
His first consultation is $100 if I'm not wrong subsequent is $50 and scan is also $50 from 16weeks onwards you can opt to take package in which u no need to pay consultation and scan but still need to pay other charges e.g. medication.
I'm not sure.. but excluding delivery fee... I think probably spend close to $3K, this is inclusive of all the necessary tests and medication and supplements.

kriss
thanks for the website!

Denmy
The black and white flashcard I bought them at Taka baby dept.

Re: How much to drink
Pls share on how much to drink too with me.. I also wanna know..
after reading.. some of your babies.. already 6-8 weeks drinking 120ml..
My baby is only 4 weeks... also drinking 120ml..
really worry if I over feed her.. but she can finish.. I know bb is smart and know when to stop..cna't help still worry.
Worst thing is.. sometimes finish 120ml liao still like not satisfy..oh my God!

Hi SY/Cookie,

I was doing daily morning walks during ML at 10am. Now that I have returned to work, the morning walks can be only done during the wkends. I will bring Cephas down at abt 8pm for his evening walks during the wkdays. I reach home at abt 6.15pm, have my dinner & then go down for the walk. Though dark, he will still looks around when he hears sounds around him. Anyway, it's more for me to enjoy time with him. That's when we have our mini chit chat session. Mum to son. Haha!
Hi Tabbiesus,

Needs lots of patience in getting into a routine. Take your time & do expect deviations. Cephas has been basically okie. When he started sleeping at 10.30pm, I thot it wld be the same every nite & get annoyed when he does not sleep on the dot. Now I give him between 10.30pm-11.30pm to fall asleep.

Hi Denmy,

Yep, he will turn his head towards the sounds of the birds chirping & then go into his baby talk with them. If I sit on the bench & face him in front, he will look left & right & chat away

emailed the book to some of you liao.

May,
Your girl really sweet, looks like your HB.
My next BB, I also want a girl.

Denmy,
Keenan is handsome!

Demmy,
i got my flashcards at Robinsons. Think it costs around $10 or something like that.

May & Demmy,
so nice to be able to capture ur babies smiling! i haven't yet captured a pic of my gal smiling with eyes open coz by the time i get camera ready, her smile's already gone!

ak,
how long do u latch ur baby on? Perhaps can latch him on for longer time so that he can drink more milk and can last for longer feeding intervals? It sounds like ur baby may be snacking.

ethan's rashes is quite bad, the pd said it will get worse b4 getting better around 4 months. she did not give any cream to apply, just clean with water.

ethan is drinking around 100ml (6 weeks old) every 2-3 hours. dunno whether enough for him. think his weight should be around 4.5kg.

here is his pix (with all the rashes)
379336.jpg

Hi all mummy... long time never log in as very busy with work... my boi now is 2 mth old... and i am back to work..

May - my boi used to have those rough skin and rashes and i brought him to PD. think it is becos they cannot exfoliate properly so resulted to this situation... PD gave me a cream to apply and it disappear after 2 days... very gd and bb skin will become smooth... but was reminded not to apply if only a bit rashes... PD also said that the this kind of rashes may come back and last till 5-6th mth... now the rashes is slowly coming back but i jus ignore it and wait till very serious then apply again...

my boi now on FM, poo poo only once in 2 days...

Babylon - think i am also like tat... i think bb wans to drink but too sleepy... my mum alway managed to convince him to drink finish and of course you must make him stop crying first and let him drink... if really cannot, put the bottle into a container and hot water to keep it warm till he drink - of course cannot wait till too long then drink... i realised that Enfalac A+ has changed packaging... previously the can cap is in white, now change to gold and the price increase another 2 dollar... is this the same?

379343.jpg

sysac
is 10am too hot for walks? i want to bring him out cos he behaves well when out for walks.... he sleeps in fact!

cookie
dun worry too much. my boy also drank that amt when 3-4 weeks old and he so small.

bb's pattern will keep changing so now maybe they prefer to sleep more? my bb also started sleeping more after 4 weeks. PD say it's ok as long as weight gain etc still normal.

so many pics of bb! will upload mine soon.

mummies who supplement FM,
does your bb reject your BM? my bb will reject BM sometimes. wonder is it something i ate. what food shd we avoid? i know one day i ate some sour mango and he totally spit out the BM that i pumped after that

Hi SY,

No leh...it's quite windy at my place. The garden has lot of trees & so it's quite a shady area.

Hi May,

Jamie resembles you

Hi Pochacco/Denmy,

Your babies are cute!

durianlover, do share w us when u bk fr PD about how much to drink. Txs

just now i read the formula milk tin instruction, it indicates 1-2months to drink 150ml lei Also, just now i express 160ml BM and i feed to my boy, he actually finished all lei... so i really wonder have i all e while under-feed him...hmm..

SY, my boy didnt reject my BM. i also supplement FM to him... my daily feeding to him is only 3x EBM and e rest of feeding are FM

durianlover, the flashcard u buy fr robinson is place at where... i went robinson i didnt see lei i wanna buy for my boy

btw, how come all yr baby poto smile and laugh one? u mean u all play w them and they smile and laugh ah? mine dun lei... he will just look at me expressionlessly when i talk or play w him..so sad hor he only will smile when after feed and dozing off to zzz with eyes closed. haizzz

Queen,
I hope my next one is a boy..so factory can close liao..hehe..

Denmy,
Noticed that ur little Keenan has dimples..so cute.

Pochacco,
Your gal is only 2mths old? She got so much hair. Did u shave her during the first mth? Mine looks like balding already.. hope she dun get her daddy's gene of hair balding at young age.

Sysac,
Many say Jamie looks like daddy and when I bring her out, pple tot she is a boy also. Sigh..so everytime must dress her in pink lor.

brought clariss out for evening walk yesterday and she fell asleep half way. once we enter my apartment, she opened her eyes big big.

tonight going for wedding dinner. hubby going to be MC so have to be there early. it's going to be the longest time I am away from my baby. will be bringing my pump along to pump out the milk.

SY, my baby don't reject my milk. in fact I think she don't like the FM very much. I supplement with similac.

<font color="ff0000">Dear mummies,
So fast most of our babies are proceeding into 2<sup>nd</sup> mth already. Here's the development list for baby for 2-3mths old.</font>

You can have it as a guide as I read it in a book:

1) Remembers visual stimulus up to a day or two
2) Explores own face, hands, feet and mouth with hands
3) Begin to imitate your facial expression
Begins babbling and cooing using "oohs" and "aahs"
4) Attempt to imitate some sound. With cooing, bb gain a new means of communication
5) Learns to pay attention to intonation and rhythm of speech
6) Begins to display basic emotions like anger, disgust, interest, joy and sadness
7) Vocalise and babbles initating conversation
8) Can distinguish different shaped objects with her hand
9) Visual skills emerge and improve rapidly
10) Conteast sensitivity improves most dramatically.Able to see more detailed and complicated designs and shapes. Becomes better at recognising stationary face.
11) Show a preference for bright primary colours. Can discriminate between pairs of colours.
12) Can track object smoothly
13) Enjoys listening to songs and sounds made my parent which entertain or soothe baby
14) Attentive to various sounds and may turn head towards sound source
15) Begins to put hands into mouth and suck them
16) Can lift head and chest with arm support on tummy
17) Can sit with support. Early exercise for bb.
18) Hands half open, able to open and shut them.
19) Attempts to hold his head erect and steady when in sitting position or lifted
20) Talk to ur bb with puppet
21) Place bells on wrist and ankles for them to shake
22)Give bb a variety of textured objects to feel