(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

my baby also dun smile at me.. same as bulma..she only smile in her sleep or dozing off..

she stare or sometimes even frown or expressionless... oh dear...

may
thanks for the info.

bulma
my gal also doesn't really smile at me leh...

these 2 days, my gal sleeps more and has less cry than previous weeks after i put her down. so happy about that.

yesterday night i fed 100ml EBM for my gal 1st time. and she could finish it and sleep for 3 hours! previously she was drinking 80ml (she is now 7 wks liao) and woke up after 2 hrs. m i underfeeding her so far?

ak - i bought the brand "lock and lock" from cold storage which is airtight so u can put in bag without worrying abt leakage. it cost $7 plus and can store 3 litres plus.

may -yeah i went for the 6-in-1 jab today and it costs $136 with a oral medicine for fever. my boy is so brave..did not wail as i expected. he just "eh" and then stop. as if there nothing happens. he also weighs 5kg and 58cm. doc said is of good weight and height
ur daughter is so cute. her lips so glossy and kissable
u give her sleep on head pillow already? won;t it "dent" the head?

denmy - ur baby looks so strong and macho. so cute!

cookie - parkway has MPH. my mum bought from there. is it near ur hse? dun worry abt ur baby. my boy already start drinking 120ml when he is in his third week. so ur baby is fine

pochacco- ur baby is chubby and very peaceful with his hands wide open. hee..

re: steriliser

at what age can we stop using the steriliser for bottles and teats? anyone know?

so many mummies uploading their bundles of joy..here is mine ..
379515.jpg

SSF,
I have been putting her on pillow ever since day 4 when she return from hospital..bought those kind center got one hole for her.

Ur bb looks like ur hubby.He is so chubby.

When back to back on 20 Feb after 7 weeks of ML. Intended to take half day till mid-May but was so busy at work that I did full day work for the past one week. How to fully utilise ML at this rate.

Amount of milk to drink is 150ml per kg of weight, so if bb is 5kg should be drinking about 750ml per day.

durian lover,
My BB can latch for an hour...yah, u r rite, he is taking snack bar approach. This wk I am in tokyo and my mum bottle feed him, he last 2-3 hrs for day time and 4-5 hrs for nite feeds...so I now get the impression he is suckling for comfort...especially since i dun give him pacifier. Think i will start pacifier.

Queen, can you email me the book too? My email is [email protected]. Thanks

re flash cards

Can buy them from JL and taka and Kidsmall... usu. hidden in one corner...

SY,

I don't flash so often and cos baby's attention span is really short, I just flash for a short while until she gets bored...

re: milk supply and express milk
just talked to a counsellor from breastfeeding mother support group. she suggested to pump every 3 hours 5 mins on each breast. she claimed it will increase milk supply. anyone here tried b4? will try out next week.

re: breastpad
think some mummies commented that the washable pads from avent shows under tight clothings (unfortunately i have bought them though have not used yet). any other recommendations. i used avent and mother care (very rough texture) disposable before.

I took Keenan to the PD today. He is 2mths 3 days old (9 wks), weighs 6.13kg and 63cm long. He had his 1st 6-in-i jab. It costs $127 for the jab.

May, re: the rash on his face,
the PD said it's due to hormonal change and it will pass. He precribed "DesOwen" (active ingredient: desonide)and said to also apply on BB's head (cradle cap)for 30 mins b4 washing off in the bath. I just did a search on "desonide".
It's a steroid and it says "Desonide topical has not been approved for use by children. Children are much more sensitive to the effects of desonide topical. Do not use desonide to treat a child unless it is prescribed by a doctor."
... I'm a little worried cos my PD got complained at another forum. He prescribed another cream which contains "elidel" to this lady's 5 mth old boy who's got ezema and "elidel" is not recommended for children under 2. OMG! I applied the cream on his whole head!!

I think the safest way is just to use cooled boiled water to clean with sterile cotton wool la... these rashes come and go.

SY,
I latch my BB on most of the time and only supplement FM when he's very wakeful and have to nurse every hour. He doesn't reject direct BM. But does when fed from bottle... like just now, gave him 170ml FM. It took about 5 mins coaxing to get him to suck on the teat. I think he has nipple confusion... cos he was directly latched all day yesterday. Must try to give him at least 1 bottle a day to avoid that.

Denmy
any tips on prepaaring baby for the jab to prevent or avoid fever.
How's Keegan after the jab?
I also plan to take kaelyn for 6in1 jab

Denmy
Oh dear.. I hope keegan is going to be alright..
dunno what to say...
During my pregnancy.. I also went to a GP who prescbr me medication which I check on the internet and it says the manufacturer say the medication is not suitable for pregnant woman also.. faint!
The fortunately thing is I never take the medication.

tulip
not sure abt washable... but pigeon disaposable breast pad is good to me.
I also have avent washable ones.. and didn't really like it too.. cos when I apply nipple cream after each pump and wear it.. it stick the nipple to the avent breast pad and it's abit painful to try to seperate them...

SSF
thanks will go PP to check out...

Re: flash card
today I show flash card to my gal again and find her eye following the flash when I move it slowly from left to right.. so means she is really watching the flash card and taking interest in them... am happy to know that..

tho still no smile...

hi tulip, I am also using the Pigeon disposable ones and i find it soft and good...also no leakage. I bot the re-ususable pigeon one and it actually leaks thru to my blouse so i dun use it when i go out. Does any mummy find that the breast is quite itchy? How often do we have to change the brest pad? I am worried that i dun change often enough and the brest gets itchy

re: rashes on BB face.

My doc recommended daktacort. I used it and its effective altho i dunno if safe for infant...but since PD gave me....

Dpoes any mummy have rashes and still continue BFG? I ate squid yesterday and now got some kind of itchy rash...wondering if i cn continue BFG

just checked out the internet and realised that daktocort also contains steriods and hence its use is also not recommended for long term. i think most creams that aids in rashes all contains some form of steriods hence the trick is nt to use it too frequently..if rashes not too bad, then just use water to clean will do

Re musical mobile
anyone has any brand to recommend me if your bb loves it v much? Was thinking of the tiny love one.

Re pillow
noticed that some of you hv let bb sleep on pillow? may i know when is it suitable to let them sleep on pillow?

SY
10am seems a bit late coz the UV rays are qt strong liao and their skin is v sensitive. Or maybe u wanna get some sunblock to apply.

bulma
I bought my flashcards from kids mall. think the brand is kids tools.

may
thanks for the list

(6) is so true. I scolded my boy yest when he was crying and he threw his temper harder. so angry.

tulips
I dun mind trying, but always late in my pumping schedule. bb will cry and then hv to feed, etc. so busy. re breast pad. i just bought gerber. will let u know after i try it.

denmy
re cradle cap
can applyolive oil 30mins before bath time. that's what my PD told me. u try lah.

ak
hi, pumping in the morning, like me?
I change the breast pads after 1 or 2 feeds depending on how soaked it is. It could be itchy due to bb's saliva. Now, I'll wipe myself with boiled water after feeding / pumping. Must take care to avoid thrush.

cookie - my boy had his jab yesterday and after that he was so drowsy and slept most of the day. in the night, he was alittle warm. his temperature was 37.7 at the highest. his feed was irregular too as he can sleep like 5 straight hrs before feed. but this morning, he is fine

krissie
i bot fisher price musical mobile. when my gal is calm, she likes to look at the toys on musical mobile. sometimes i switch it on, she is quite excited.

which type and brand of bb thermometer did you buy?

Re: Amt Baby Drinks

Cookie, thanks for the offer - got the formula from a fren. it's 150 x wt of baby divide by 8 (cos 8 feeds in 24 hrs). The thing is not sure abt my baby's wt now. sigh. Wondering if I shd bring her to the GP to measure the wt.

Hi Tulips,
Yes, the pumping method works. I have tried it myself. In the initial stage, what I did was to latch baby on first then pump later. Cos my baby super impatient and my milk flow super slow so she won't suck for more than 5 mins. I pump after latching her on to stimulate dd then pump at 3 hrly interval also. Very tiring but it really helps to increase ss. Now that I don't do this any more I find that my ss decrease. Am thinking of going back to this routine.

Re: amt baby drinks
Yes the formula is 150 x baby's weight (kg) divide by no. of feeds per day.
But my PD said it's just a guide, and if you're on TBF, sometimes they use 170 x baby's weight instead coz breastmilk more digestable than FM.

SSF,
so good your boy didn't cry during the jab? My gal really cried during the jab but it wasn't that bad lah
heh. Don't think they remember the pain anyway.

My gal at 6 weeks is 5.1kg and 57.5cm. She's a big gal!

Krissie,
my frenz gave a Disney musical mobile with Pluto, Donald Duck and Mickey/Minnie mouse. My gal simply loves it! She's super intrigued by it

Re: breast pads
i find Pigeon disposable breast pads the best so far. Avent washable ones are thick and not contoured enough, so they show thru tight tops. Mothercare's one is terrible - scratchy and too painful to wear!

Krissie,
I let my girl sleep on pillow ever since day 1 leh.

Cookie,
Think sometime ago someone in this thread (cannot remember who already) says that her mum feed baby 3 teaspoons of Ling Yang water after the jab and her baby dun have fever. I am going to try that on Jamie when she is getting her jab.

RE: Flash Cards
U all just flash the cards to baby? Anything on the card? Cos I have been reading from other thread that they are flashing cards too.

Cookie,

re: 6-in-1 jab
Just come as BB is. No prep needed. Keenan has been fine: no fever. But he fussed for an hr (10-11pm)that night though....not sure if it's got anything to do with the jab... or maybe it's the DesOwen lotion....

I've stopped using it lor...

re: Rotavirus jab and menigitis jab
Mummies, do you know if these are really necessary for BB? My PD said to come back next mth (3rd mth) for them... dunno if it's PD trying to make quick bucks from kiasu parents again... sigh...

Krissie,
Do you comb it out after 30mins of application of olive oil or just wash away with water?

Re: musical mobile
I bought the William Ferguson Stim Mobile for BB. Comes with changeable cards for different stages, i.e. black & white for NB to 2 mth and cols. for older infants. Keenan is still on the B&W ones and it still gets him excited everytime he sees it. Down side is it's not electronic, thus no music. Up side is though, that we can play different music for BB everytime. If you are interested, can buy from here: www.tykesntots.com

BTW, mummies,
I bought the flash cards already... will use it with BB tmr. I also bought a BB music CD by Raymond Lap. Not your typical classical music but experimental but simple, easy-to-listen kind. Some tracks even got BB sounds.

I also bought reusable nappies from Bumwear. Will try them out and let you know if good or not.

now at airport waiting to fly to UK with HB & BB! Hopefully everything turns out well. Take care!

Pochacco (kellylims).

yeap the price just increased and that it was improved formula. the cheapest place that i saw selling was $29. that i find very wasteful when bb did not want to finish the milk.

queen,
enjoy your trip!! so exciting to be able to travel with baby at such a young age huh? Update us yah!

Demmy,
i also bought 1 bumwear nappy to try but haven't got down to trying it yet! think coz must wash in washing machine without softener...so i'm very lazy coz i always use softener for everything! Sigh...looks like i bought on impulse!

Re: jab
my PD also said to come back at 3 months for some other jab but i'm not too sure what it is. Think it's a necessary jab!

May,
the flash cards i bought have got some 'poem' at the back of each card for you to read to baby. So u can read it out to baby as you show baby the card

May
my mil also say.. will give the Yang sheng shu for bb to drink a bit before jab.
I haven't decide to take 5in1 or 6in1...

Re: full month finally
Finally... the full month celebration for Kaelyn is over yesterday. I think I'm the last Jan MTB mum to hold this celebration.
My bb didn't get to sleep much cos she is too busybody..kekeke... and there are too much attention I guess, she alwyas open her eyes to see whos here to see her.
Anyway she sleep well last nite.. cos too tired I think.. poor gal.

SSF
your boy took.. 5in1 or 6in1? u took jab at Elias Mall PD har??

can verify for EBM, do you transfer the BM into the glass bottle and store in fridge, then transfer into feeding bottle to warm when wanna use? Will the transfer here and there be a concern for contamination? Also, when you take the bottles out of the steriliser for use, do you use a towel to dry the vapour condensation? otherwise how?

RE : Rash on Face (red patches)

My boy has it too. Seen a pediatric given Hydrotopic Cream. She said normal for babies to have it. My boy likes to rub his face. Its a steriod cream too. Used it and the redness subsided. Used it twice a day instead of 3 times. Used since Friday but intend to stop it as being steriod not comfortable to use for long.

RE : Crying before sleep
My boy cries before sleep. Its very draining for me. Think he's overtired sometimes. Any advice?

Cheona
I pump directly into the glass bottle and store in fridge straight after pump.
I will pour out from glass bottle to feeding bottle when bb need to drink.
so far my bb is ok... and I always taste a bit bit of the milk when testing the temp.
So far I never use towel to dry the vapour inside ley...I pump straight in tho got some vapour in it..

Hi cookie,

when you pour out EBM into feeding bottle, do you see residue on the side of the glass bottle? I notice residue on the sides of the bottle sometimes so not sure if the milk is still drinkable?

SL
err... wendy posted earlier.. if your sirwl the bottle and the residue desolve, then it is ok.. but if it cannot be disolve it could be spoil.
anyway spoil milk will have stinky smell...so perhaps u wanna smell and taste your before hand.
I think the residue is the layer of fats in our BM. SO far when I shake a bit of the BM the residue on the top layer or side of bottle will disolve
my milk are usually store in fridge and consume within 24hrs.. so I think should be ok ba.

hi sl, will your 3 hrs schedule clashes with the feeding. did u latch your baby on the whole day, or is there any bottle feeding (ebm)? is it ok to change the timing from day to day. 6am, 9am etc on day 1, 7am, 10am etc on day 2?

just came back from my trip.. did not really enjoy the trip.. mainly missing bb too much.. I cry every day.. really felt like going back every time I call back..

Queen,

have fun and send my love to the Queen.

Hi sl,
I get "bits" in my EBM also.

Cookie,
you can buy Allerhand here: http://www.baybsupplies.net/productlist.asp?idcategory=12
you might want to check out this other brand, JuJuBe. http://www.babetitude.com/ju-select.html. I have the Perky Perennials Packabe.

When do we stop swaddling BB?

Is there a difference between chilled EBM and frozen EBM? I think I read somewhere b4 that the anti-bodies that keep BB strong will be lost if we freeze EBM... correct me if I'm wrong.

mashy
thanks, i guess kids mall or kiddy palace will sell the cheaper nursery organiser.

sunny
i bot the pigeon ear thermo.

denmy, sunny
thanks for the inputs on the mobile.

denmy
hv not heard of menigitis jab, is it the same as pneumococcal? rota virus is not compulsory (i.e. by MOH), but my PD says it's useful if u plan to put bb in childcare next time. it's to protect against severe diahorrea. But note that if you dun take the rota virus (1st dose) by certain date, cant rem is it 6mth, then next time when older cant take this vaccine liao. so, we hv to decide whether to take the 1st dose now. maybe u shld check with the PD again if unsure. for olive oil, PD says to put 0.5hr before bath time, then wash it off.

queen
wah, so fast, you're going for your trip. enjoy yourself.

Y
I read somewhere that if bb is awake for more than a certain period of time (I think is 2hrs) then they'll be too tired to sleep. I'm trying to train bb on routine, so will let him play for 1hr+, then try to sleep.

sl
think the residue is the milk fats. even at room temp also hv.

Hi Cookie,

My mum feeds Cephas Leng Yang b4 his jabs. So far, he did not have fever aft his jabs. May wish to try. Just 2-3 teaspoons will do.

Thanks gals. The residue doesn't dissolve when I shake the bottle leh but then the milk is only 24 hrs old. Still can drink? What does unspoilt milk taste like?

Cookie,

I think someone's selling her Allerhand diaper bag at the marketplace.

Tulips,

Yes, sometimes it does cos my baby's feeding is very erratic. If it clashes then I latch on first then pump later but must stick to the 3-hrly pumping schedule if you wanna to increase your milk ss.

Am so tired now - my baby refuses to sleep since 3am and fusses continuously