(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sunshinekid,
I usually take the frozen EBM about 16-18 hrs prior to usage to be defrosted in the fridge. I have also tried putting it in a mug with tap water and leaving it in the fridge. It's true that it's defrosting is faster, about 4 hours faster.
I thought defrosted milk has to be consumed within 12 hours, and not 24 hrs? Not sure about this... But the timing starts from when the EBM is totally thawed.

Wendy,
Checked my fridge defrosted EBM yesterday. There is only 1 layer of cream which can mix well with the rest of the milk when milk is swirled. No clumps or coagulation seen. I use Avent bottles for storage... dunno if it makes a difference?

It's ok to add milk to earlier EBM and then freeze.

ssf
i use the plastic cap bought from mt A pharmacy for the milk bottle. Cheong Choon at upper cross street also sells it, i heard.
normally i don't mix the milk together. but when my gal was admitted for jaundice and i got to transport the EBM to the hospital, the nurse told me if it's the same temperature, can mix and store.

re: EBM
i always smell and taste the milk b4 giving to my gal. 'cos there was once that after feeding, there's some left over, my hb opened the bottle and find that there's stinky smell. don't know it's because the milk turned cold or spoilt already. luckily, my gal was ok after that feed.

sunny
mix and store only if same temperature?
Oh dear.. I mix 1 session which already in fridge to the current freshly pump batch together...but they will be consume in the next few hrs or so...

sometimes EBM also got lotsa problem...sigh...
I must also smell and taste the milk every time now..

SSF, sl

thanks..will go down n check later!

rena, wendy

eh,my hb prefer pigeon leh coz he say cheaper..i oso hoping to buy avent.haha

thanks for all the info!

Cookie,

I also mix and store freshly pumped milk into milk that's already stored in the fridge. In fact have been doing that for some time now. My daughter is quite okay. Maybe I should stop doing that as well.

ssf,

I use the caps from my Medela pump to cap the similac glass bottles from the hospital. They fit.

Rena,

Keenan is 8.5 weeks. His dad is supporting him in the bath. This is the only time I have the boys bathe together and Keenan only stays in the bath for a few minutes. So far no prob. ;)

Cookie,

Can we combine 2 bottles of EBM from the fridge into a freshly sterilised bottle and then warm it up for BB? Is it safe like that?

sl - how many medela pumps caps do u have? i thot only 1?

denmy - its safe. I have been doing that so far and my son is fine. like sl i also combine 2 different bottles of EBM together since day 1.

cookie - i mix and store freshly pump milk with the one in the fridge for some time too. i think it is quite wasteful to throw away those 10-20ml milk (pump after feed) and top up those which are not quite enough for a feed.

anyone here can advise???

tulips,
me too, I store those after pump together. but I will make sure that my baby consume those within 24 hrs from the time I pump after storing, even if I only store 20ml, I make sure she will drink that. every drop is precious.

I plan to store the different sessions of EBM together to top up to the quantity that my girl consume when I go back to work.

read below from http://www.breastfeedingandbabywearing.co.uk/storebm.html:

How long can breast milk be kept?
Breast milk is a complex substance, and the guidelines for storage are just that. When breast milk goes off, it smells, in much the same way as off cows milk smells.

Unrefridgerated:
Breast milk should be fine at normal room temperature for 8 or more hours, in fact breast milk at room temperature may contain fewer bacteria after a couple of hours at room temperature than when it was first expressed.

Cool bag/box:
The length of time that breast milk can be stored in a cool bag depends on how cool it is; breast milk can be stored for 24 hours at an average temperature of 15 degrees C.

In the fridge:
When storing breast milk in the fridge, keep it as far back as possible, away from the door. Fresh breast milk can be kept in the fridge for up to 8 days. If refridgerating milk prior to freezing, the breast milk can be kept in the fridge for up to 24 hours before being put into the freezer.

Don't mix warm and cooled milk -
you can add milk expressed later to earlier expressed milk, but the newer milk should be cooled down in the fridge first. The milk will keep as long as the oldest milk in the container.

In the Freezer:
Breast milk will keep for 3 to 6 months in freezer. To thaw, move to the fridge or to room temperature. Milk thawed in the fridge can be stored there for 24 hours after coming out of the freezer.

I have been adding warm milk direct from breasts to cool milk from fridge all the while... oh no...

oh oh... me too me too.. has been adding fresh milk onto cool milk from fridge all the while...
if cannot mix then my fridge will have lotsa half filled bottle!

Re: spoil milk
How does spoil milk taste like?... sour??
usually when I warm up the milk, I will drop a few drop to test the temp and at the same time.. lick away the few drops...
so far.. dun taste any funny taste...I suppose none is spoil...
Normally when milk is spoil will taste sour... will it be the same for breast milk?

cookie
ya, when the milk is spoilt, it has stinky smell, even you don't smell it closely...

denmy
when i prepare EBM for bb, i mix the stored milk together to warm up.

Yes, we cannot mix freshly pumped out BM with those already stored in the fridge, as they are of a different temparature. So, that means we will need alot of milk bottles. If not, can transfer ur pumped out milk into milk bags if you wish.

but i have been mixing freshly pumped out BM with those already in the fridge..oops..better stop doing that.

so if it is 2 bottles that are already in the fridge, we can mix them to store in the fridge since same temp?

Hi gals...been missing in action cos discovered that FDW has Hep B and we had to send her back...sigh...dunno how man...now gotta handle the baby alone...damn sian manz...

EBM...I normally keep the fresh milk in the fridge and then hor...when it doesn't get consumed within 2-3 days...I transfer it into the playtex bag and then freeze it...I have a total of 19 bags of frozen milk in the freezer now...hehe

sigh...I had severe blocked milk ducts that resulted in a bad fever...sigh....
now that the ducts are cleared...my milk flow has resumed to normalcy again....Now I learn to reallly reallllllllyyyyyy massage the breast during each bath....AARRGGHH!!! the LCs at TMC were really helpful and they helped to relieve most of the ducts that were blocked...

RE: Fenugreek
hi mummies... anyone taking Fenugreek tablet?
May I know how many tablets are we suppose to take.
I read in forum we got to take 6-8 tablets but dunno per tablet is how high dosage.

cookie
i m not too sure abt that. but i think if bb is too young, they can't differentiate taste 'cos we gave my gal 'jing ting hua' water which is bitter, she is ok with it when she is lessthat mth. but now, she will frown...
if after drink, bb is ok, think the milk is ok bah...

joanna
take care. you pumped consistently, how come still hv severe blocked duct?

yesterday late afternoon my mil came when bb was zzz. then when it's abt time that she wanna go back n bb was not fully woke up, she went to touch her... god knows how diff i make bb zzz. so, bb really woke up!! then she played with her n tried to feed her water. after few sip, bb rejected the bottle n start grumbling, but mil still didn't wanna take the bottle out. i was so upset but still paiseh to tell her cos it's also feeding time already, she shouldn't feed her too much water...
then end up, dont know if bb is trying to reserve the storage or what, the feeding schedule becomes every 1 hr after that! n we couldn't make her zzz till 11pm.

ssf
i'm using glass bottles to store EBM. Bought the plastic caps from Mt. A pharmacy. i think the hairline crack will occur if we freeze the bottle due to the diff in temp. My ms not that much, so only store in fridge. if it's more, I'll use milkbags to freeze. BTW, frozen milk also hv to check. my hb's colleague says that his wife's frozen milk went spoilt. ??? so funny.

wendy
must keep the EBM at the back of the fridge, not near the door. or maybe your fridge is not cold enough?

aiyo i also mmix warm milk and cold milk together. better quit doing that. thanks queen for the info, i placed my milk all at the side of the door as it is easier to take out. so now i think i better push in further.

I also do the same thing - add freshly pumped milk to the ones stored in the fridge. So, we shd actually store the freshly pumped milk into another bottle then add to the earlier session ones after, say, 1 or 2 hrs, later when they have reached the same temperature?

ssf,

I have 2 medela caps. But I only use the Medela bottles for pumping then I will transfer the milk to other bottes to free up the bottles for the next pumping session. That's why got 2 extra caps for the glass bottles. For the other milk, I will store in other bottles.

Sy,

Thanks for the info - but I am a bit stressed over the pumped amt cos I am going back to work in 3 wks' time, therefore would like to be sure that my pumped out amt per time is equivalent to the amt that my baby needs. I would really like to breastfeed my baby for at least 6 months.

Could I check how much milk shd a 5-wk old baby drinks? I can't tell cos I always latch her on.

Anyone knows where to get those caps that will fit Avent bottles? I have a few, all came with the pump or the Avent bags that I bougth 3 yrs ago. Now I cannot find. Still selling or not ah? Or anyone knows what kind of caps will fit the avent bottles?

RE : Eyes

Can i check with you gals regarding your babies eyes? My boy is 6+weeks and I find his eyes slightly crossed sometimes. Forgot to ask the doc to check and now i'm worried. called the clinic and the nurse told me it takes a while for the eyes to develop. Advice anyone?

Y

at such an early age, if the eyes are not obviously crossed it can be due to a pseudosquint esp. if you think the eye is turned inwards.

Pseudosquints occur when the eyes are nornal but the face is such that the eyes appear to have a squint - wide epicanthic folds (the area between the eyes, above the nasal bridge) produce the impression of a squint, but having said this, beware as some children with wide epicanthic folds and apparent squints do actually have true squints.

http://anatome.ncl.ac.uk/tutorials/clinical/eye/page15.html#title

If you are very worried, you should bring your child to the polyclinic to get a referral to see an opthalmologist for a proper assessment, especially if you have risk factors such as family history of squints, lazy eye.

Demny
I found the following at kellymom breastfeeding website... take a look... seems like the usual recommendation of taking 1 tablet a day may not be enough to have effect to improve MS :

Fenugreek (Trigonella foenum-graecum L.) appears to be the herb that is most often used to increase milk supply. It is an excellent galactagogue, and has been used as such for centuries. In one study of ten women, "the use of fenugreek significantly increased volume of breastmilk" [Swafford 2000].

Mothers generally notice an increase in production 24-72 hours after starting the herb, but it can take two weeks for others to see a change.

Dosages of less than 6 capsules/day (approx 3500 mg/day) produce no effect in many women. One way to determine if you're taking the correct dosage is to slowly increase the amount of fenugreek until your sweat and urine begin to smell like maple syrup. If you're having problems with any side effects, discontinue use and consider alternative methods of increasing milk supply.

Fenugreek can be used either short-term to boost milk supply or long-term to augment supply and/or pumping yields. There are no studies indicating problems with long-term usage. Per Kathleen Huggins "Most mothers have found that the herb can be discontinued once milk production is stimulated to an appropriate level. Adequate production is usually maintained as long as sufficient breast stimulation and emptying continues" [Huggins].

Suggested dosage
capsules
(580-610 mg) 2-4 capsules, 3 times per day
6-12 capsules (total) per day
~1200-2400 mg, 3 times per day (3.5- 7.3 grams/day)
German Commission E recommends a daily intake of 6 grams

capsules
(500 mg) 7-14 capsules (total) per day

powder or seeds 1/2 - 1 teaspoon, 3 times per day
1 capsule = 1/4 teaspoon
can be mixed with a little water or juice

tincture 1-2 mL, 3 times per day (or see package directions)
tea one cup of tea, 2-3 times per day

wow really can't catch up with all the postings! i've been really busy trying to pump after each feed but the amount that i can pump is really PATHETIC!!
It's like 10 or 20ml only!! i'm really confused now...i mean, when i latch my gal on direct, she doesn't seem to cry for milk earlier than 2.5hr interval, so i'm puzzled how come i can only pump out so little milk (even when i pump the breast that i did not feed her with). Not sure if my MS is dropping? i'm really new to this whole business of pumping milk coz i've been latching on direct all this while. Pumping has kept me sooo busy the past few days coz after each pump still need to wash and sterilize, etc etc. Oh man...i really wonder how?! Really pei fu all of you who have been feeding and pumping all this while!!

wendy,
thanks for the kind lunch offer! Sure wld love to hv lunch with u one day if it's not inconvenient

sunny,
yes just let us know if u'd like to meet up to learn how to use the sling. My fren taught me that to bf using the sling, u basically just hv to loosen the whole sling so that the sling can be used to cover yourself while u bf.

Re: EBM
i've also been mixing my fresh EBM with the refrigerated one but don't think it's gone bad leh...coz i feed my gal the EBM and she has no complaints so i presume it's alright? Still, i'd better stop that for now. But then if i can only pump like 20ml each session i'm gonna have lots of barely-filled bottles in my fridge!

I returned to work on Mon. It's quite an adjustment after 12 weeks away

Cephas has been a good boy. He would sleep at abt 10-11pm & wake up at 6-6.30am the next day. I will try to sleep at 11pm-12am & get up at abt 6am. I have been able to sleep through the nite without any disruptions. So, I do not feel sleepy at work
Whew! That was my main worry...not having enough sleep & then be a real grouch in the office. Haha...

Now I have so much time to kill in the morning. Wake up at 6am, feed & spend time with Cephas b4 leaving for work at abt 7.45am-8am. He's in my mum's care after that until I reach hom at 6.15pm. Fortunately, office is 20 mins drive away.

I miss him throughout the day though. So mummies who are still on ML, treasure your time b4 u return to work

Sysac,
You're so lucky. I have to get to work by 7.15am and is usually home after 6pm when I get back to work. So, if I want to spend time with Ariene, I'll have to wake up at 5am which is too early. I'll centainly miss my girl at work

Joanna,
Does your school provide any support for breastfeeding mothers? I'm afraid of having engorgement when I go back to work cuz sometimes, I can have 4hours of lessons back to back or with only 30min break in between. Deducting the time talking to students after lessons and going back to class after break, I'd hardly have time to pump if I only have a 30min break between lessons

Durian,
Let me know which day you would like to come

EBM
Can I check with u, does ur defrosted EBM smell "oily" like coconut oil? Also, does ur defrosted EBM have a layer of oil that does not dissolve in the milk when shaken?

durianlover - do u want to try bottle feeding him for one day without latching. so in that case, you will know how much he is drinking and not worrying if he is not drinking. your low MS could be due to stress ..must try to relax more. i know during my first 2 weeks, i was very stressed, and my MS decreased. but now tat his feeding time is fix, i have more time for myself. and my MS has been pretty good so far. as for sterilising, i don;t sterilse very often..as i have enough feeding bottles as well as bottles for storing EBM. the only thing was the pump which i have only 1. for that, i use the sterilising tablet and after each pump, i just wash and throw it in to prepare for the next pump. i will use the pigeon steriliser only twice per day. tats when i make full use of each space. i remembered initially without the tablet, i can sterilise just one pump and one bottle. such a waste of electricity.

sysac - frankly speaking for me, i rather be off working. i don;t know how to enjoy being a homemaker although my boy is very guai. i prefer to have an income where i can do my shopping and also mix with my colleagues and have conversations. now at home, breakfast i normally make milo and wait for the tingkat to arrive at 10.30a.m and then i will divide the portion into 2..for lunch and tea. then my hubby will buy dinner back or sometimes we eat out..but then it be very late as we need to pack bb's bag and bathe him. so with all the hassle, i rather he buy back dinner and eat it. thats my normal routine. my hb is also flying this weekend for a week ..sigh and i be moving to my mum place. hmm.. maybe when i start working, i will have the same mindset as u.

SSF,
yes i already tried to bottle-feed my gal 3 times. The most amt of milk i gave her in a bottle was 90mls and it was not enough!! i had to latch her on after that feed and she fed for another good 15-20mins! i really wonder how much she drinks?! So it prob means she drinks more than 100mls. That's why i'm puzzled how come i can only pump out so little - know what i mean.
i think i shd go buy the sterilising tablet. Coz right now i'm using the sterilizer after every pump and u're right - it's a waste of electricity!

durianlover - are u sure ur baby is drinking and not suckling for comfort? coz for me in the past, after pumping, i will not have much milk left to latch him directly. and he will gets very fustrated with the flow if i were to do so. if your bb is suckling..maybe wat she needs is a pacifier instead.

SSF,
yah i think she's drinking leh, coz can see & hear her swallowing milk. i think i didn't explain clearly - the 90mls that i gave her was EBM that i pumped out some weeks back when i had engorgement, not that i pumped out then feed her - know what i mean? Up to now i still dunno how much she drinks coz i've not enough EBM to feed her thru bottle to find out how much. But with the pathetic amt that i'm able to pump, i prob won't be able to find out how much she drinks till i can somehow pump out more! Now i usually latch her direct, then pump after feed coz i wanna store up EBM. Perhaps i shd try pumping before a feed instead and then feeding her the amt i pumped.

durianlover,
you have both electric and manual pump right? Any difference in pump qty between the 2? can't espect to get a lot if pump after feed unless you can stimulate letdowns quickly. do you have a nursing pillow at home? Try latch & pump at the same time. Trust me, you will get more milk. Hold your BB with football clutch with body resting on the pillow and the other hand use manual pump.

Hi Durianlover,
dun worry, me the same also, I direct latch her on and she has no problem drinking her fill with sometimes only one breast, but when I try to pump, the max I get on one breast is 40ml... she is taking about 120ml now.. so I assume my breast has enuff to offer her, just that I have not gotten the technique of pumping yet..

durian lover
i read that pump cant extract as much as BB. BB are the best extractor for breast milk...so if you can pump 90, maybe bb is drinking 110 when direct latch...that's my theory as I also have same problem as you. If direct latch is fine, but if pump, v little

queen, I use ameda electric dual pump but i find that it does not stimulate let down. I borrowed a avent isis manual pump and find that it does stimulate let down so seem as though can pump more. But very tiring on the hands lor

Re: oily smell in expressed breast milk
I read that rancid/sour/oily smell in breast milk may niot be a sign of spoilage but that some woman produce milk like that. And that BB will know to reject spoilt breast milk....i gues we gotta trust the little ones to know

durianlover,
I believe ur baby should be suckling for comfort. yesterday, I tried to wean off my baby from my breasts. gave her formula for the whole day and express out the BM for today feed. she was cranky the whole day and accepted pacifier readily in the beginning. towards the end of the day, she cry and cry. I know that she is tired and wants to sleep but once she spit out the pacifier, she will wake up again.
I have actually wanted to bottle feed at night as well but decided that it's really too drastic for her so night time, I let her suckle about 1 hr after her 120ml and she was so happy.

I also realise that I maybe meeting her needs, coz I can pump 110ml after 3hrs, just 10ml short of her 120ml and pumps are not as efficient as babies. I believe she just that she wants a lot of comfort, that's why keep crying. all along, I thought she is not having enough milk.

I think it's not a good thing to let the baby suckle when she wants. very tiring for the mother. next time when we go back to work, very troublesome for the caretaker. I am trying to see if I can break the habit. 2 more weeks before I go back to work.

queen, sleepingdeer, ak, mongs,
thanks for ur advice! i managed to pump out 110mls just now 1 hr after a feed. i think massaging breasts helps. Yes i hv both manual & electric pump. I shall try the manual pump again tmr to see if can pump anything. Previous tries with my Avent pump were pathetic! But perhaps i did not master the art of pumping correctly yet. On Friday i'm bringing my gal to PD for jab. Shall ask PD what's the recommended amt of milk she shd be drinking. Everyone who sees her says she's growing fatter and fatter! Most of the time i hear that mummies are happy to see their baby growing, but i feel a little sad that she's growing so fast and not to forget - chubby!!

mummies who direct latch,
In the daytime, do u have to wake ur baby up to feed if it's been more than 3 hrs since her last feed? My gal has been able to last more than 3-hr intervals for daytime feeds but i'll just feed her coz somehow think it's not so good to stretch beyond 3-hr interval in the day. But could it be that she has enough fat stores to last her thru?? She's 6 weeks old.

sl,
heard that the amt of milk a baby drinks is dependent on the baby's weight. It's some formula thingy. i shall check with the PD on Fri and update u guys!

Hi Wendy,

I start work at 8.30am & ofc is 20 mins drive. That's y I have so much time in the morning. I knock off at 6pm & reach home within 20 mins. But then it is an adjustment cos I only have abt 4 hours to do anything with Cephas before we both have to sleep. This is compared to the time spent during the past 12 weeks

Hi SSF,

It can be quite a routine during ML. It is refreshing to return to work but then u will miss baby. Where do u live? If convenient, can bring baby for walks or short shopping trips. Cephas enjoyed his morning walks when I was on ML. Now that I have returned to work, I bring him down for nite walks. He will fall asleep aft a while & then wake up when we return home. Play a while, drink milk & then it's sleeping time. I really look fwd to the weekends now to spend more time with him

durianlover,
you mentioned that no power plug at work for you to use the elctric pump. Does your electric pump have a battery unit? If you have to use the Avent at work and up till now not getting much from it, I suggest you get another Avent. Use 2 Avents together saves some time and also stimulating letdown is easier when both breasts are pumped at the same time.
My boy feed between 2 to 4 hours in the daytime. Once, he was so sleepy that he stretch to almost 5 hours. But as far as possible, I'll put him to the breasts after 4 hours max. But at night, I just let him sleep. He'll usually wake up after 5 hours. My doctor says it's more important for newborns to keep to 2-3 hrly feeds during the 1st month. After which can no hram done to stretch beyond 3 hours, but not more than 5 hours without feeding.

Sysa,
Heehee, I didn't really have separation anxiety before returning to work. Not that I'm particularly eager to start working. Even on my 1st day back at work, I didn't really think about my BB... only when expressing milk. I don't even call back daily to find out how my boy is doing... oops. Does that make me a bad mother?

Hi sunny...good qn...i dunno man....I suppose it is becos I have been training him to use the bottle and so...he's getting lazy at the breasts...but the LC says that once I had had the blocked ducts prob once...I need to take good care of it...else...it will keep recurring...nw damn scared man...pump and massage pump and massage...haha

Wendy...err...not really supportive I think...no proper place to pump except the counselling room....then...I face the same prob as you....there are days when I only have 1 free period near the end of the day and by the time I get to the counselling room...I would be left with only 15 minutes to pump...sigh....dunno how man...then most times used to meet up with parents...dunno how to endure engorgement...so what I intend to do is to go and dispose the milk thru hand expression in the toilet when it is still during lesson time lor...bo bian...sigh...

ak is right. pumps won't get as much milk out of your breasts as bb. so for mummies who are direct latching and pumping less than what bb is drinking, it is quite normal.

ak
my bb rejected my bm yesterday. really spit out everything. think cos i ate some sour mango and he din like the taste of the milk. must really be careful with what i eat!

SSF
i tried what u taught me that day. now when bb wants to sleep, i gently hold the pacifier for him and dun let him spit out. it works most of the time! if he's agitated, it helps to calm him down and if he's sleepy, he will close his eyes soon with some patting. so happy cos it means no need to carry all the time. but if he really wants a cuddle, i still have to pick him up.

durianlover, mongs,
better dun let bb suckle for comfort. like what mongs say, very tiring. i use to let him suckle when he is unconsolable. now i just hold the pacifier for him and dun let him spit out.

sysac
your boy so good can sleep throughtout the night. i trying to train him to wake up once only. yesterday managed to do it so going to try again until i can cut out the night feed.

how long did it take u to cut out his night feed?

queen
does that mean after 1 month, we can stretch to 4 hour feeds? i m thinking of that but dunno when is a good time to start.

durianlover,
my bb feeds 120ml from week 4 on wards. PD say it's a bit too much considering his size but if i dun give him that he cries. some feeds he will take more than that. he weighs 4.6kg at week 5.

Hi sysac,

Did you do anything to establish that kind of routine with Cephas? My woorry is also the timing etc when i return to work next month. My gal Megan doesn't sleep at a fixed time yet..... I remembered following the routine of feed, play sleep routine with my elder gal but with megan, it's difficult to play with her cos she wants to be carried all the time. Can't even ly down long enough to massage her....

My gal is 7 weeks old and till date, she still doesn't really response by smiling to us etc. is that norm? she prefer her sleep than anything else and doesn't like to drink and drift to sleep. Gets agaitated if i tried to feed her when she's sleepy... yet she's a light sleeper. put her down only, she wakes up so i let her sleep in sarong during day time. Any other mommies' babies like mine?