(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Krissie,
I use Avent washable breast pads. U get 3 pairs in a box + a little laundary bag. It's good for home use. I don't wear it out as it's thick and round: u can see the circular outline thru' your top if it's quite fitted.

Sunny,
where abouts are you? I can show you how to use the sling if you like. I'm at Pasir Ris area.

Re. milkbags
Using Gerber now, pretty good but expensive. ONly thing is the capacity markings on the bag is not accurate. 150ml on the bag is actually only about 120 to 130ml in the bottle. Where to get Playtex? Anyone tried Lasinoh? I feel tha Zip and lock bags are better than those with clips.

Mamachan,
no one helping me out at home, though I always bring BB to my MIL's place and have dinner there. Breakfast and lunch prepare myself, but mostly just cereals and sandwich.

krissie,
do you soak up the pads? No need to change so often lah. I change once after shower.

Denmy,
HOw old is your Baby now? I read that bowel movements will reduce as he grows cos digestive system matures and body is able to digest more and purge less. My BB at 10 weeks now sometimes only poo1 once or twice a day. But I have to say that 5 days is a bit long...

denmy
i stayed at yew tee.... it's too far from your place... thanks for offering.

queen
i bought playtex online. you can go to:
www.shopbug.com to have a look.
you use zip lock bag to store BM?

krissie
normally i don't put the pad at home. if i need to be out for long, then only i will put the pad on...

tabbiesus n sunny,

re playtex milkbag:
i didn't double bag the bags. coz it's quite thick and so far i don't have problem with leaking. they are drop in liners, similar to the avent bags. but it's doesn't come w the twist ties. so i use clips from ikea. after i freeze the bags, i take out the clips and use a sealer to dead seal them. then i put them in a transparent plastic bag, dead seal it again a d finally put them in a ziplock bag. abit ks lah... but coz i want to make sure the meat and fish smell doesn't get to the milk coz i don't have a seperate fridge to store the milk.
i got the bags from motherworks. so far they are selling the cheapest.

sunny,
no lah, how to use Ziploc bags to store BM, my supply not enought to fill the bags!
What I meant was milk bags with the zip and lock feature like Gerber milk bags. I think Lasinoh also has ziploc feature.

Denmy
I also has the Avent washable breast pad..haven't started using them tho.
do u throw into the laundry too or just hand wash.. do u use detergent to wash it?

denmy
thanks..

queen
oh, i change once after 1 or 2 feeds. 'coz sometimes breasts will be itchy & v scared that i hv thrush. Also, I took antibiotics for my yeast infectiom when i was preg, so hv a higher risk of thrush as the milk in the pads will breed bacteria.

if i pump out the milk and want to feed bb within 4hrs, do i need to keep milk warm or just at room temp as in leave it on the table? thanks.

cookie
better to use detergent coz milk breeds bacteria. i use the bb's detergent for my bras as it's supposed to be able to remove milk stains.

krissie

Many guides said that the milk is better consumed within 4hrs if left at room temperature. However, what is room temperature? All those guide books are based on temperate countries' temperature and ours is a bit too hot to keep the milk fresh. So I think should put in the fridge if your bb is not going to consume it immediately or leave it in a cooler bag.

Better keep milk cool than warm. Bacteria multiplies faster in warm temperature.

mamachan, sunny, may,
my fren lent me the book Babywise. It's the one with purple colour cover...mabbe they hv since changed the cover coz my fren bought it some years ago. i'll hv to check out which chapter is about schedule. Now feedg bb n typing so can't check!

mamachan,
i'm also taking care of bb alone. Also handling the housework coz my hb is too bz to do it. Lunch i try to cook soup but usually bb will make noise before i can finish eatg in peace.

celine
the sealer is in the box or need to buy?

juz now plan to go out with in law n hb to buy flowers. feeling so excited abt it. but hb keep rushing me n didn't help up in preparing bb stuff, end up, i got so fed up n didn;t wanna go liao... so sad...

durianlover,
wow, pei fu pei fu, i dare not move back to own home yet cos no maid, dun think i can handle housework n baby together. Anyways, will be starting work part time 1 march so baby will be with my mom anyways. When do u start work? what r your plans then? I'm hoping to get a maid to help with housework soon so maybe can move back later

kriss
ok thanks.. I was using some mild detergent for my bra...perhaps will use baby detergent too..
Agree disposable breast pad expensive.. but I changing it once a day when shower too.

SOmetimes I also have itchy nipple.. also dunno if it due to my pumping or what.. read abt yeast infection seems very jialat one.. we better take care...
but got to wash washable pad very clean.. else got detergent rashes also jialat.

In case anyone is interested, I have a gently used Ameda dual electric pump for sale. Bought only last month and used for abt 3 weeks only. It's almost as good as new, and everything is in the box. Warranty is till Jan 2007.

mashy
thanks.. that's what i think too. was wondering if it's fresher to keep it at room temp or in fridge if consuming <4hrs.

any idea where to get those nusery rythmes or educational cds for babies?
anyone playing music for baby to listen already?
How shall we get started.. I tok wanna get some and let bb listen before I start work ( well many weeks more)...
Afraid my baby only listen to my MIL's karaoke CDs or TV dialogue in the afternoon...faintzzz
Wonder if I think too far again...

cookie
i'm only playing some music CDs for bb to listen sometimes at night. those for bb like mozart, etc. can buy from CD shops. mothercare also sells. or u can buy baby einstein DVDs for her to watch. I don't plan to let my bb watch it so soon.

cookie,
I start playing music when I am pregnant. Now playing nursery rythmes that is in mandarin and english (2CD) bought at Popular Bookshop.

I purposely buy got mandarin one.. so my mum can play and sing to my gal when she is with her..rather than listening to Hokkien KTV. Walau..cannot imagine that.. And as for english, I will play it when my gal return home at night.

Krissie,
u r welcome.

cookie,
I soak the breast pads in baby detergent (with the rest of BB's clothes) for a few hours and then hand wash them. I guess u can throw them into the washing machine with the rest of BB's clothes.

Re: Music CDs
I've started listening to Mozart and other classical music during pregnancy, and now play them to BB during the day when I put him on his baby gym. In the evening when he sleeps I play him him the Baby Sleeper (soft music with heartbeat and white noise). I think we should just play soft classical music to BB constantly. I did that with my 1st son, and he's addicted to the classicals now.

may and denmy
thanks for the advice..
I also cannot imagine my gal listen to cantonese KTV all day long..
Now in the day.. when bb sleeping in the hall. I play instrumental or classical music to her too, tho she is sleeping.. sub conciously perhaps she can listen too.

kriss
thanks too.. perhaps when she is older.. will let her watch Sesame Street or clifford the Red Dog kind which is educational and she can learn English at the same time...

For for now and next few mths.. looks like just music will do...

yesterday went high and low to search for warm clothings to bring to UK which is about 1 to 5 deg now. Only managed to get a fleece jacket (last piece!) &amp; blanket, thivker cap and mittens for Isaac from Mothercare and they told me their warm clothing range is pretty much sold out. So went to Cold Wear and Winter Time at Suntec, don't have anything for BB under 6 months... Now contemplating ordering online from UK and ship the clothes to our hotel in UK prior to arrival. Sigh, must really think hard about bring newborn to cold countries. Now too late to turn back cos tickets and hotel booked liao.

Managed to catch Isaac in a big smile (not easy to get it man!):
376587.jpg

Re. music
I haven't turn on any music for my boy to hear, Used to play the piano and classical music to him when pregnant.

Halo ladies, need advise on disposable diapers. Just want to check are your babies still using disposable nappies for newborn? or already switch to S?

I was told not to get so much for Newborn as bb overgrow very fast. I'm planning to use cloth diapers in the day and disposable ones at nite.
Any good brands for diapers? so heard, heard good comments on Mamypoko.

queen - isaac is so cute and chubby.

i hope that ethan would be as chubby too. will syn ethan's photo so tat i could post it on the net too.

re: caffeine
i had godiva's dark chocolate drink yesterday and ethan was hyperactive last night. wonder was it due to the caffeine in the chocolate??? think have to watch my diet very carefully. sigh.

re: diapers
i like drypers. quite good and relatively cheap. pampers baby dry is quite hopeless.

Hi Ng,

I am using Pampers Premium &amp; Drypers. Like both. Yep dun buy too many NBs. Babies grow really fast. Do take note that Drypers S is smaller than Pampers Premium S. My baby wears M for Drypers but S for Pampers Premium.

Hi Queen,

Buy jumpers from Mothercare &amp; some of the thick long sleeved tees too wear inside the fleece jacket. Shd help to keep him warm. Then can go shop at Mothercare in UK.

I love to shop at Mothercare in UK. Used to walk in there &amp; buy loads for my cousin

Ng
I tried fitti and Drypers and didn't like it.. cos they leave red marking as if too tight on my baby's thigh..
I like mamy poko and pampers premium.

kriss
I have never tried Nepia.. does nepia leave any Red marking..as tho too tight on your boy's thigh?

cookie
hmm.. nepia dun leave red marking in the benginning, only recently. think NB is a bit too small for him liao.

queen
yup, isaac's smile is so cute.

tulips
BTW, does drypers hv urine indicator?

kriss
drypers dun have urine indicator..
my baby is just 3 weeks old.. maybe abt 4kg and thight not chubby chubby yet...
but drypers already leave red mark on her..and S size suppose to be 3-7kg I think...hmm...

If I buy Nepia.. perhaps got to buy S liao..

Does Nepia has indicator?

queen
Isaac soooo cute!

sunny,
the sealer doesn't come with the bags. gotta buy seperately at those household section in departmental stores. i dont know if u know which kind of sealer i am referring to. it's battery operated and it melts the plastic as u slide it across.

my baby is just 24 days old... she is already drinking 120ml.. is this normal or is it alot?

Re: feeling anxious for no reason
Just wonder does anyone has this feeling...
today I just felt restless and anxious for no particular reason...keep having this very worried feeling but no idea worried of what...

cookie
nepia has urine indicator. some bbs can just drink more. PD says it's ok that some drink more. my boy takes 120ml when he was abt 1mth too. anyway, they will know when they are full.

demmy
which part of pasir ris do u stay? i stay at whitewater.
does your bb enjoy bb gym? i haven let him try yet.

queen
so exciting that little isaac taking his first overseas trip! think my hb will never wan to bring my boy overseas for a long time

cookie
120ml depends on bb's size. PD says my boy drinks a lot at 120ml at 4 weeks for his size. he was born 2.8kg n now is 4.6kg

realise my boy love car rides. the minute we get in, he will fall asleep no matter wat position u carry him.

have u tried strapping with seat belt? we tried but so challenging

sy
my gal was born 3.755... last weight abt 2 weeks ago 3.8kg.. think now could be 4kg..
how many weeks your boy.. still drinking 120ml?
I fed her 120-130ml EBM this afternoon... realise she wasn't satisfy after that... didn't cry out loud..but was not sleeping as usual... and keep awake for 2 hrs.. then cry for food again...

my gal wasnt intereste in bb gym for now..she frown :p my HB say she is too young to know.

re: car rides
ya read from book, baby love car rides, think it's the motion...

Demmy
I'm staying in Pasir Ris too... pretty near to SY..tho we haven't got chance to met up yet

kriss
thanks... sometimes I also dunno how much to feed. at times I feed 100ml, she is fine, sometimes she need 120ml to be satisfy...

RE: nepia

can some on give me the nepia diaper's number.. thanks.. as compared to Fitti what is the size difference?

Queen,
Issac is so cute.. he looks more like u than ur hubby.

Sysac,
So fast wearing Dryper M? I bought 1 pack at GIANT..so kiasu..cos got sales who knows it is still big for my girl. She is still wearing Dryper S.

Cookie,
Wow.. ur gal can drink 120ml of BM!! How I wish my gal can drink so much too. She is 1 and a half mth but still drinking 100ml of FM. Is the volume of FM and BM the same? Or FM seem to be thicker so bb will drink lesser?

Queen,
Agree with May....ur son resembles u more. I like his smile!

SY,
My little one also enjoys car rides...guess it is the aircon that he enjoys most. Never fail to sleep soundly! So far, I always carry him in the car. He simply hates being strapped to the infant carseat.

Rena,
U can call 62262650 to order Nepia.

My bb is currently using Nepia &amp; Mamy Poko S. He is now 5.2kg. But I find Mamy Poko cutting for S smaller than Nepia. Mamy Poko leaves red marks on his thigh area. But for NB size, Nepia is smaller. Weird hor!
I find Drypers side gathers rather rough as compared to Nepia.
Personally I find Nepia still the best in terms of cost &amp; comfort (cottony &amp; soft).

Here's BB Ethan latest pic....playing with the rattle blocks
376827.jpg

krissie
where did u buy the sealer n how much?

diapers
pet pet S size is a bit shorter n smaller than pampers NB. how strange.

milk intake
my gal stll taking 80ml, she is 6 wks + now, was 3.8kg last wk.

sleep
my gal sleeps frm 10pm to 4am!!! this is the longest ever. day time she didn't sleep a lot, around 5 - 6 hours. is it normal?

may
ya lor..i also find her drink alot for her age..
usually for BM I will feed her more..120ml and she can finish..
for FM, I prepare 100ml, sometimes 120ml esp for nite feed... sometimes she can finish, sometimes she can't...
when I feed EBM, all my MIL say is not full one BM all water...so I feed her more lor since she can finish.

Sunny
my gals sound like a big eater... less than 4 weeks.. but drinking 100-120ml...faintzz...
perhaps...she didn't catch enough sleep thats y she sleep longer at nite.. which is good rite?

more rest for mummy...

Re: Baby Einstein DVD
Hi mummies.. have you all heard abt this DVD set..
comes in 17-18 DVD and selling at est $130...
any comment is it good?
well I read these DVD are suitable from birth - 1 age above...different DVD suitable for different age...
Anyone has it? any comment?

Re: Ameda lactaline cooler storage bag-Brand new-FOR SALE
I have a Brand New Ameda Cooler bag for sale.
If u are using Ameda pump, and plan to pump back in office, the bottom compactment will be use to store your base unit whereas the top compactment will let u store your EBM. This cooler bag comes with re-freezeable Ice pack.
If u are interested, please me know. Thanks
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lactalinepump.html#lactalinecoolbag

I am new here. My baby girl was born on 25 Jan. I find this forum very useful. I would like to check with all the mummies here if your baby spit out milk after feeding? Thanks!

sl,

my girl will burp out milk after feeds. Think some regurgitation is normal - not to worry

Re: music
i play children's music for my gal to hear in the daytime, and lullaby for nite.

Re: Avent Isis
Anyone can give some tips on how to express milk using this pump? i could only pump 40ml after 30mins! Quite ridiculous coz using Medela electric i could pump 60ml in 10mins last time. i think i'm not using the avent pump correctly - either that or it's not effective for me. And when i pump i don't feel the letdown reflex unlike when i latch bb on directly - anyone experiences the same thing? And after pressing the handle for 3 or 4 times, then there'll be no milk expressed. i've gotta release the whole pump, let breast rest for few secs, then continue. Then pump 3 or 4 times, same thing happens - no milk expressed. Then gotta repeat the cycle over n over again.

Avent ISIS
I hold the pump close to my breast n do not press the handle all the way down. Just make small rapid pressing till there's milk, usually this is when u can press the handle more. soon i will hv let down. When I hv let down, then I press the handle all the way down.

denmy
I PM'ed you.

sunny
i'm not the one who got the sealer.

sl
welcome. ya, regurgitation is normal, so no need to worry. unless after every feed, then plus crying, might be reflux.