(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re cutting nails

I bought the nuk clipper and the pigeon round scissor but the scissor is easier..

Re booties

I took of bb mittiens and bootie only at 6 weeks as CL menton that have to let them slowly get use to it..

rena - try removing the mucus by using a cotton wool..dip in water and moist it and then use a dry cotton wool to remove it. its a very challenging task so be careful not to go too deep. if its too deep, wait for the mucus to come out. baby will sneeze often and it will push it out. good luck!

dun get too annoy with your hubby. best is to cool down. for me, i also argue abt baby with ,y hubby a few times. but after cool down, things are better. basically they are small arguments and differences in handling baby. so dun take to heart and remember to relight the fire between you both even though baby is out. so maybe u can suggest a V day program together with baby next week.

rena
for my bb, PD gave a nose drop for his blocked nose. he got sensitive nose so he can't sleep with his nose blocked and kept crying.

re BD
my hb heard his colleagues say must wait 3 months before BD....say good for mother's body. got such thing??

re cutting nails,
i use a scissor coz their nails are very soft. and day 5, i already cut his nails coz it's long and sharp.

re booties n mittens,
i never let my bb wear the mittens coz i think it's good to let them explore their fingers. only let him wear booties/socks when in aircon place.

SY
Actually hor, I read from a breastfeeding website that even when we get flu, still can breastfeed baby as we will pass on the antibodies to baby. Bit it's best to check back with your GP on this matter or even call the LC and ask over the phone.

For KKH LC, they don't do house visits, have to go down personally to KKH to see them.

Mamachan
actualyl doc say can still bf but everyone KS so say dun feed first...plus if i get too close to bb, may pass on my stomach flu.

think i may need to apph private LC to do house visit.

SSF,
i've already cut my girl's fingernails 3 times since birth and she's 3 weeks old now. U haven't cut ur baby's one yet? i dunno...my girl's nails were long n sharp n she scratched her face...so i cut lor

joanna,
u mean the PD cut ur baby without any pain relief?? ouch!

SY,
hope u recover soon...do rest more yah. Don't be too stressed over it all. Think get LC to do house visit will be gd for u. Mt Alvernia's LC also does house visit - if u want can call them.

sunny,
i also bought nursing tops online. Got 2 already but kind of regretting coz i find that i really fumble with nursing tops. It's supposed to help us nurse discreetly in public but i have so much difficulty lifting the front crop layer n getting the opening slits to the correct position! Think perhaps normal tops will work better for me...just lift up and use baby's body to 'shield'...

Re: growth spurt
Does baby have growth spurt in 3-4wks old? Is it a bit too early? my janelle has been crying for milk every hour...tiring man.

Re: baby want to be carried
any of you have babies who want to be carried when they're awake? Janelle keeps crying if i leave her alone when she's awake. It's really troublesome..i can't even brush my teeth in peace! Doesn't help that she's sleeping less now and is awake quite often. Any remedies to that? i've tried letting her listen to music, look at bold-patterned cards, musical mobile, etc etc, but she'll still cry to be carried.

hi durian lover,
Re baby want to be carried,
i'm oso facing this problem.my boy can only be left alone for a short while like 5-10min, after that he will want pple to carry liao. for now, luckily got CL, after she leaves i oso don't know how liao. jia lat sia!

durianlover,
my bb wants to be carried all the time. even when sleeping. once we put him down he will wake up....

think they may grow out of this stage after one month. my CL says after one month they can be different again

i realise my boy is drinking 120ml of FM...is that a lot?

SY,

I think itok as my bb is taking that amount too but be prepared that he will be over weight just like mine..

RE:bb to be carried

Well my bb too needs to be carried plus he is 5.4kg.. therefore make it even tougher to carry him whole day..

RE: rocker

now I try to put him in the 3 in one rocker swing.. very he can sleep well there as you can take the rocker down from the swing then mover the legs.. in seconds in turn into an infant seat..

celine and durianlover - try singing songs to your baby and gently brush his eye brow and his head. tats what i do when i want to coax him to sleep. i realise touching of eye brows always make him sleepy. aanother way is to give him sufficient milk. when baby have a full tummy, they will look "drunk" and sleepy and tends to sleep right after a feed.

SY - my boy is turning 1 mth this sat and he drinks 110ml every 3-4 hrs. how old is your baby and how frequent is the feed?

SSF
my boy is slightly over 3 weeks. feeds every 3 hours. sometimes less than 3 hours. but think he doesn't finish 120ml all the time but most of the time

Re. BD
wanted to strat last weekend but HB says better wait till gynae say ok. So on Monday, saw gynae, he said ok but use protection if don't want to conceive so soon. I'm looking forward to this weekend for some loving. Haha!!! But that's if our BB is guai and we still have the energy left... sigh.

Rena,
How's things with your HB? Is he at least concerned about BB and supportive? It's normal to have arguments regarding BB. Once I raised my voice at HB in fromt of my MIL somemore! Why not BD? May help to rekindle some feelings and fire in your relationship.

Re. carry BB
My mom and MIL always say don't carry BB so much, ok to let them make noise for a while... blah blah blah. Actually I think if BB wants to be carried, then carry them loh. Now BB so young, need to feel sucure right? I read in books that there is no such thing as spoiling BBs under 1 year by carry them all the time. In fact, by responding to BBs needs/crying/ carrying faster, easier to pacify them.

durianlover,
growth spurt occurs commonly in week 3-4 and week 6.

Re. cutting fingernails / mittens
I cut my Isaac's nails like when in day 4 or 5. Subsequently every few days. Use a baby scissors cos safer and easier to cut as BB's nails are soft. I even use my nail file to gently file the edges!
As for mittens, removed them when he turned 1 month. Now and then he will scratched himself on his face, minor scratches lah. Just ensure that the nails are short and Bb won't scratch themselves badly.
Only let Isaac wear booties when the weather is cold.

sleeping deer
thanks for your advise.. I felt encourage too after reading.
Ok I will try to positioning as per your recommendation nearer to upper lips...
u r rite every suck is like knife cut..I always must ask HB to hand my arm tight so that I have distraction and dun concentrate on the pain in nipple.

Pls give me the contact of the pte consultant.
I call Mt A parent craft no leave a voice mail but no one call back... wanted to arrange for appt with them.
Can u tell me the no to call for Mt A too the no I have always hit voice mail and no one call me back.

Think my position of latch is not rite.
bought nipple shield today but looks like waste of $$ cos doesn't fit nicely also.

I'm tryin to use the cross craddle hold too with help from pillow. I dunno why normal cradle hold just difficult... dunno is it becos my breast is quiet big and arms like not long enough...
these days.. my baby struggle more and more during BF dunno is it the milk is flowing slowly or what...must try to latch a few times before she finally settle down.

Mong
kaelyn suction is really strong.. and when she wake up and hungry will cry and cry... all red face... and her mouth so small.. I have to wait for her to cry then is big enough to postion my nipple in, otherwise there is only room to put in my nipple and not the aerola.

SY
That photos was Kaelyn 1st nite home. Thanks
remember we were still talking abt bored during ML can visit each other...
Taking care of another little human being is really tough work...

may
heehee ya lor.. maybe cos she is over due to 3 days. so has lotsa hair

It's near feeding time... and my breast has tingling feeling again... maybe it's fear but my friend say is let down..
ok got to go...

SSF,
ya my CL will sing to him. She even said, he likes twinkle twinkle little star. when she change song to london bridge, he don't like and will cry! haha! so young know how to differentiate liao, don't know true or not! :p

feeding:
my boy is 1 day short of 3wk old and feeding 110ml BM. and feed every 2-3 hrly. seems like a lot compared to the rest of the mummie...

SSF,
yes i'll try stroking her eyebrows see if it works! Even if i feed until full full and she looks 'drunk', if i put her down she'll wake up and become very alert again!! sigh sigh. Then have to carry and carry. i find that when baby needs to be carried all the time i dun hv time for myself to do anything! Even eating meals is tough.

queen,
oh so growth spurt also occurs in 3-4wks..mabbe that explains why my girl has been crying for feeds much more often.

cookie,
my girl also sometimes struggles a lot during feeding n very hard to latch her on. Then sometimes suck a while will cry a complaining cry - not sure if it's coz milk flow is too fast or too slow for her. But also bo bian i guess...if milk flow too slow she's gotta be patient! If too fast she's gotta learn to suck less lor...if not how?! i also dunno...
Persevere on in ur bf! All my frenz who hv bf their babies said it's worth the while persevering thru the pain and torture and tiredness!

celine & SY,
Honestly i hv no idea how much my girl drinks, coz i direct latch her on. Seems like i'm one rare mummy who has no idea at all how much my baby drinks. But i guess as long as she poos n pees regularly shd be fine. i think my baby has grown much fatter over the 3 wks also...i see her arms n legs all more bah-bah. And she's bursting some of her NB clothes too!

RE: Cutting nails /Mitten
Heard that mitten can be taken off only 1 mth later and can cut nails only 1 mth later also. I cutting my girl's nails on this sun when she is 1mth.

RE: BB to be carried
My baby also like that. Cannot leave her alone for more than 10min. She will cry. When carry her, she will pretend to sleep and occasionally open eyes to check if u are still carrying her or not. My girl likes twinkle twinkle little star and baa baa black sheep. When she cry, these two songs will calm her down. Maybe is bcos I sing these two songs every night to her when she is in my tummy.

RE: Blocked Nose
My girl has blocked nose too. I use the mini cotton bud that is meant for baby (Brand:pigeon) to roll out from her nose. But not too deep. Can hear that breathing is very loud during the night. Poor thing.

RE: BD
I didn't ask my gynae leh. Just start BD like that. I had C-sect but feel much better now so started lor, abt one month after C-sect now. But the feeling is so different now, cos got baby around and worry that she will cry any moment and MIL will knock on the door.

SSF

I've already started cutting his nails after he's 1 week old. Only wears mittens at night in case he's cold coz he doesn't like to be swaddled anymore. In the day, we let him go without mittens. Advice from the pros is to stop wearing mittens by the time your bb is 6 weeks, if not, it will hinder his development. Won't want your bb to think he's got a paw instead of hands with 5 fingers right? Hehe.

Went to PD today and finally, my boy has gained 250g in 1 week. So now he's 3kg liao.
Trying out fenugreek to see whether can increase my milk supply.

rena.

ki brough my bb to pd coz of his block nose..espcailly at nite..regardless if i on the air con or did not on the air con.

PD give me some nose drop...to help on his block nose

Looks like all have already popped! Great!

I am bringing Cephas for his 3rd month job in 2 weeks time before I return to work. Also will be bringing him in for baby massage. This is the last lesson for the ante-natal class. Forgot all abt it until NUH called to arrange with us.

I cut & file his nails once a week. They seem o grow very fast & very sharp. I feel the pain when he kicks me in the thigh while I bathe him.

Hi Cookie,
have PM you the contact, BTW, she is away at the moment, will be back next week, you can try then... good luck! For Mt Alvernia, I call 6347 6641 or better still, page Sister Kang directly, 92500164, she will call back promptly usually, though if she is in a meeting, will take a little bit of time... hang in there, let me know how else I can help, ok?

I am trying to cut Shannon's nails, but the moment I hold her hand, her fingers curl up and dun let me cut... stubborn girl..!

sleepingdeer
could i have the contact, too? she only does home visit? how much is the charges?

i haven't cut my gal's nails yet... her nails are sharp but very short leh... i heard that cut the nails when bb is asleep will be easier.

joanna
hope your bb get well soon... can imagine how sim tia you are when PD cut bb without painkiller... that time the nurse drew my gal's blood, i already very sim tia liao...

durianlover
you are not alone... i also don't know how much my gal is drinking. 'cos so far, i direct feed her... next week onwards, i will give her EBM at night..

cookie,
yah man...me try to visit you after my confinement over if bb is good...

sleepingdeer,
can PM me the contact also? realised home visits are not cheap. i called one up and she charges 130 for first visit.

hi durian lover,

Me too. I latch Megan direct most of the time so i don't know how much she drinks.

Those mommies whose confinement are over and now alone taking care of baby - how's everything?

Hi cookie,

Rregarding BF, hang in there. My milk supply came in only on the 9th day or so. No matter how hard the nurse squeeze, not even a drop of colustrum. I had to keep pumping for nothing every three hourly for a few days. Was so desperate and stress. Preserverance is the word, be it latching problem, MS problem etc. HAng in there! Jia you! I am now 90% BF MEgan, 10% formula cos i am sometimes lazy..... Seek LC if you need. Jia you!

sunny and durianlover

same here, I'm also unsure how much my boy is drinking as he direct latch on. Now at 4 weeks we do occasionally give EBM of about 90ml, he doesn't quite finish it leh.

Been reading the posts of how much the bbs drink like all more than 100ml, I'm starting to think if my boy is drinking that much. I can only gauge by the number of wet diaper cloths and number of times he poos.

Does it occur that at times when direct latch on, bb doesn't quite empty the breast and when express BM, still can get at least 2oz from both breasts??

mamachan/sunny/durianlover,
I also dunno how much my boy is drinking. When I give EBM, it seems he's only drinking about 100ml at most. But it seems that BB's milk intake will remain constant between 1 month to 6 month. Excerpt below from http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkcalc.html

HOW MUCH MILK DO BABIES NEED?
Many mothers wonder how much expressed breastmilk they need to have available if they are away from baby.

In exclusively breastfed babies, milk intake increases quickly during the first few weeks of life, then stays about the same between one and six months (though it likely increases short term during growth spurts). Current breastfeeding research does not indicate that breastmilk intake changes with baby's age or weight between one and six months. After six months, breastmilk intake will continue at this same level until -- sometime after six months, depending in baby's intake from other foods -- baby's milk intake begins to decrease gradually (see below).

The research tells us that exclusively breastfed babies take in an average of 25 oz (750 mL) per day between the ages of 1 month and 6 months. Different babies take in different amounts of milk; a typical range of milk intakes is 19-30 oz per day (570-900 mL per day).

We can use this information to estimate the average amount of milk baby will need at a feeding:

Estimate the number of times that baby nurses per day (24 hours).
Then divide 25 oz by the number of nursings.
This gives you a "ballpark" figure for the amount of expressed milk your exclusively breastfed baby will need at one feeding.

re LC
I think it's useful to see a LC to clear the block ducts. I went to see Mrs Wong and managed to clear some block ducts. hopefully, MS will increase.

rena
re rocker
what brand is it? fisher price?

can check with you all if your baby's eyes can follow a moving object?

RE: Baby's eyes
Erm.. my girl's eyes can follow slow moving object. Will follow sound also. If an object is place in front of her, she will try use her hand to grasp it but not everytime..must see her mood for this.

Hi EBM mummies,
I was surfing thru ikea website. And saw this jar, thot it will be useful to store EBM. U may wish to consider.

Name: BURKEN (Jar with lid)
Cost: 2 for $2

370405.jpg

queen,
gee... based on the website, my boy is drinking too much. he's taking like 110ml every 2-3 hrs! and he has been drinking dat amt since 2weeks old!

Hi Sunny,
have PM u the contact yesterday, hope you got it...

SY,
can, no problem, but have to wait until I get home tonight, can? Forgot to bring my HP out with me today, the LC no is stored in the HP memory. She charges about 35% cheaper than that...

Queen/mamachan/durianlover/sunny,
My gal drinks about 90 - 120ml if by FM or EBM, when she direct latches on, I have no idea...

Krissie,
Yep, Shannon started following moving objects since week 5, but she still haven't given us a real real smile yet... waiting for that...

Hi May,
thanks for the tip, looks useful, I am on the lookout for cheap containers to store my milk... have lots of glass bottles, but they can store max 90ml only.

sleepingdeer,
can, just PM me tonight. the pte ones are really too expensive!

mamachan,
the KKH LC called me back. suggest i go down again. dunno whether i want to see her again but KKH is definitely much cheaper than pte one.

yuki,
i have been pumping and pumpimg but no increase. dnno whetehr i pump incorrectly...

Hi mums...Juz brought James for his 2nd Hep B jab yesterday...Checked with my cousin who's a GP...he said that the reflux in babies is very common and no cause for real worries...it will go away by itself after a while...however, unless it impedes the growth of the baby, then there will be cause for concern...James weighs 5kg at 1 month and 4 days old...

Checked with him regarding the pimples on the face too...seems we need not put any medication...cause those are basically oil glands in the baby's skin...it will automatically heal by itself after a while...

SY...I paid about $50 for consultation with the LC at TMC...I was there for about 3 hours and the LC actually helped to relieve my engorgement...and the blocked ducts...subsequently thereafter...using the techniques they taught me...it has been much better since...

Frankly...I also dunno how much baby James drinks...he latches on directly and I'll put him to my breast each time he wakes and starts to make noise...he has started to learn to push my hands away from the breast when I try to help him with his latch on...hehe...he seems to be telling mummy..."aiya...I know how to latch on already lah...dun need you to hold the breast for me..." hehe....

RE: Baby Sling...
Err...I having some probs with the sling this round cos James is much longer than his elder brother...so...he tends to feel rather uncomfy in the sling I think...hmm...need refresher course...maybe we can get together one day with the sling and the babies just for a practice cum demo session? hehe

queen,
thanks for the article! really helpful
though i dunno how much my girl drinks, but i can see her thighs getting fatter so i presume shd be feeding enuff!

mamachan,
sometimes after feed my breasts also not emptied out but i don't pump the remaining so not sure how much left. Well if u can still pump out somemore after feed i suppose it's gd!

krissie,
yes at 3 wks or earlier my girl could follow a slow-moving object. But she loves to look at the ceiling more than at faces...dunno wat's so nice abt a plain-looking ceiling!?

how do u all handle if ur bb needs to be carried all the time? i'm now carrying janelle with one hand and typing with the other. Really hinders my movements n all. Tried putting her in the sarong sling so at least i hv both hands free, but she cried after a while...doesn't like it i guess. So difficult to do anything at all!

Sleeping deer,

could I have the number too.. I plan to try again giving bb BM.. thanks

Queen,

Somehow things just dun seem the same anymore .. the love just seems to disspear.. now it seems that I am respecting due to the fact tat he is bb father.. I guess we may need lots of effort to restore this relation..

RE: Gathering..

Dear all.. when shall we so the gathering? High tea? lets choose a place not so crowded and easy to bring bb..Hotel is better..

RE: portable Sterlizer

Does any one know where to buy or if this really exist..?

I wish to purchase badly..

Re: diapers

anyone tried Pet Pet brand? the orange packaging one..?

is nepia brand good? where can I purchase ? is it plastic or cotton?

SY

Oh, why the hesitance in seeing the KKH's LC? Bad experience??

For baby's latching on, have to "train" them to take to the breast I guess. The LC did tell me that it's safe to introduce the bottle to them slowly after 4 weeks of direct BF.

Currently, we're giving EBM at night to bb, but then I would pump at the same time as my mum feeds him, like abit redundant. Coz after he finishes the EBM, he still cries and refuses to go to sleep and can only be pacified when he's back at the breast.

sleeping deer
thanks I email u too.

Yuki
thanks for the encouragement...
I'm feeling really down these days...
always feeling good about myself..

Hey do you mummies feel llike this sometimes? am I normal...

mamachan,
the KKH lactation consultant also call me back yesterday but she didn't ask me to go to see her. I told her that my girl is drinking FM and I am trying to increase my MS so she ask me to pump after every feed to simulate baby wanting more milk. but so far, I am unable to pump after every feed. coz my girl will be screaming for more milk so I have to make the FM and feed her. will be like 15-30 mins after feeding her from my breast bf I can really pump. not sure if it's the same. but think my milk really going down quite fast. gave her a total 120ml of FM for today already. normally by this time, she still don't need to be supplement.

cookie,
don't worry. guess most of us went thru wat u are going thru now. for 2wks after i gave birth, i have been feeling depress and down as well. no appetite, feel fat, damn tired due to 100% bf, bb crying but don't know what's wrong etc... it's all normal, juz hormonal changes making us feel down at the slightest thing. u will feel better after 2 weeks! meantime, juz rest as much as u can and don't over tire urself or think too much negative stuff.

some good info on MS:

What does the research tell us about increasing milk supply?
Milk is being produced at all times, with speed of production depending upon how empty the breast is. Milk collects in mom's breasts between feedings, so the amount of milk stored in the breast between feedings is greater when more time has passed since the last feed. The more milk in the breast, the slower the speed of milk production.

To speed milk synthesis and increase daily milk production, the key is to remove more milk from the breast and to do this quickly and frequently, so that less milk accumulates in the breast between feedings.

In practice, this means that a mother who wishes to increase milk supply should aim to keep the breasts as empty as possible throughout the day.

To accomplish this goal and increase milk production:
1. Empty the breasts more frequently (by nursing more often and/or adding pumping sessions between nursing sessions)

2. Empty the breasts as thoroughly as possible at each nursing/pumping session.

To better empty the breasts:
- Make sure baby is nursing efficiently.

- Use breast massage and compression.

- Offer both sides at each nursing; wait until baby is finished with the first side before offering the second. Switch nursing may be helpful if baby is not draining the breast well.

- Pump after nursing if baby does not adequately soften both breasts. If baby empties the breasts well, then pumping is more useful if done between nursing sessions (in light of our goal to keep the breasts as empty as possible).

More MS info:

Storage capacity: Another factor that affects milk production and breastfeeding management is moms milk storage capacity. Storage capacity is the amount of milk that the breast can store between feedings. This can vary widely from mom to mom and also between breasts for the same mom. Storage capacity is not determined by breast size, although breast size can certainly limit the amount of milk that can be stored. Moms with large or small storage capacities can produce plenty of milk for baby. A mother with a larger milk storage capacity may be able to go longer between feedings without impacting milk supply and baby's growth. A mother with a smaller storage capacity, however, will need to nurse baby more often to satisfy babys appetite and maintain milk supply since her breasts will become full (slowing production) more quickly.

What happens between feedings?
Milk is produced at all times, not just between feedings. Between feedings, milk collects in mom's breasts. Volume of milk stored in the breast is greater when there has been a greater amount of time between feeds. The amount of milk that can be stored in the breast between feedings (milk storage capacity) varies significantly from mom to mom and is not determined by breast size (although breast size can limit storage capacity). For most women there is not a lot of storage room. Although mothers with both low and high milk storage capacities produce enough milk for their babies, mothers with a greater milk storage capacity may be able to go longer between feedings without impacting milk supply and baby's growth.

Do breasts need time to refill?
Many people mistakenly think of a mother's milk supply as being like "flesh-covered bottles" that are completely emptied and then need time to refill before baby nurses again. This is simply not how we understand milk production to function.

First of all, milk is being produced at all times, so the breast is never empty. Research has shown that babies do not take all the milk available from the breast - the amount that baby drinks depends upon his appetite. The amount of milk removed from the breast varies from feed to feed, but averages around 75-80% of the available milk.

Trying to completely empty a breast is like trying to empty a river -- it's impossible, since more milk will keep flowing in while milk is being removed.

Research also tells us that the emptier the breast, the faster the breast makes milk. So when baby removes a large percentage of milk from the breast, milk production will speed up in response.

Waiting a set amount of time to nurse your baby (under the mistaken belief that breasts need time to "refill") is actually counterproductive. Consistently delaying nursing will lead to decreased milk supply over time because milk production slows when milk accumulates in the breast.