(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sunny - no i express out my milk as the timing doesn;t fit BF and expressing. when i breastfeed him...my other nipple will start leaking and its too messy. and when i pump out as it is full, and he want to latch on and there is no milk.

so i now express out and bottle feed him. i only let him suckle if he wants more after a feed or last resort, to pacify him to sleep.

if ya gg back to work soon, it is better to start expressing else your baby will refuse bottle feed and prefer your nipples should you start work. so after 3 weeks, i actually started expressing and bottle feed. also my boy is very aggressive in his bite ..always seem wanting to rip off my nipples. haha..

Valentine's day coming leh. U all getting anything for hubby? I want to get V-day cum Birthday gift for my hubby but cannot sneak out leh. Any gift ideas?

SSF
i plan to direct feed her during day time and bottle feed (EBM) her during night time next week onwards.... so, i guess i need to express out during night time but worried that i might not be able to meet her demand if only express at night....
and if i also express during day time, not sure if bb can get enough milk through direct feed... sigh... so many worries...

may
i am not sure if i am getting anything for my hb leh... really got no mood. but i plan to let my hb take care of bb on fri/sat half day, and i go causeway point shop for bb sling and nursing wear... 'cos i find it troublesome direct feed bb without nursing wear leh...

just now i was so upset with my mum in law... bb didn't sleep for the whole morning and kept asking for milk... then she, as usual, asked the same old qn, 'bb didn't drink enuf ah?' i just ignored her and continue taking my lunch. 'cos she had been asking the same qn whenever bb asked for milk frequently... i am very tired with that already.
i really hope that she can don't come here after confinement... i rather handle everything my own without anyone's comments and inteference, though i know it would be super busy but i think it would be less stressful without her around...

sunny,
if u dun want her to come over u must tell her tactfully lor. I tell my MIL that I can handle things myself and I show her how I handle baby. So I think aafter this sun, she will not come over so often already.

may
i will ask my hb to tell her if i really cannot tahan...
so far i m not sure how often she will come here after confinement... and not sure if she will still cook for my 2 meals after that...

how are you going to settle your meals after confinement?

sunny - how old is your baby and how much can you express at one go? it may be good to know how much your baby is drinking by trying to expressing in the morning and feed her..like that you can estimate how much milk you need to express enough for a feed. also by expressing can help to make baby sleep longer than wanting the breast so often. that's my opinion lor...but of coz with breastfeeding, there is bonding. but do make sure that you dun stress yourself out too much just because you want to BF her. EBM is also the same as direct feeding. just that the bonding is miss out.

yeah heard alot of MIL stories...thank GOD i never let my in law come over the confinement period as i know if she comes over, i will have lotsa of stories to share too. haha..anyway just dun take it to heart..like wat u says just ignore them is the best! anythg she not happy, go talk to her son. haha...

re: V day

haha this yr got third party into our V day celebration. dun think will be gg any nice restuarant for fear he will ruin our romantic dinner candlelight. i think most prob will be gg somewhere that is kids' friendly for some shopping and find some convenient cafe for a bite. as for gift i think i have given him the best gift.hahaa...which is to bore him a son. he shld be the one buying me some nice gifts

sunny,
I'm also 100% direct latch. But so far managed to express and accumulate 7 bottkes of milk in the freezer. What I did was to pump and latch at the same time. Normally my boy feeds on only 1 breast. Use the nursing pillow as support, football hold BB and latch on 1 breast and pump the other breast. My boy can latch on 1 breast for 30 mins. Normally can get about 80-100ml from 1 breast by pump & latch. Else can pump after feed. Pump the unfed or less empty breast. Then keep the milk in the fridge. Next feed pump again and add on to the milk in the fridge. Try to freeze milk after 2 or 3 feeds.
I think if milk supply is estalished, sure enough to meet BB's demand during day, even though pimp in day. Anyway, you'll need to get the first bottle of EBM somehow. As long as you have that 1st bottle, can feed BB and after that pump for next bottle loh.
Nursing wear definitely practical for BF outside of home. I feel BB sling makes BF easier as well! So far I have only 3 nursing tops. Enough for weekend use cos going back to work next week liao. No need nursing wear at work.

re. milk not enough?
I also get quite upset when my mom or MIL ask me whether BB had enough milk. I mean, come on, like I will starve my boy! They can't seem to understand BB may cry for other reasons. Aiyo, can't they remember how their children were like when they are BBs? You mean when we were BBs, whenever we cry or need to suckle only mean we are hungry?

Been taking care of my boy alone for 3 weeks liao. By the time bathe BB, feed him, pacify him to sleep, wash his clothes, boil water etc... already 10plus 11am liao. So I just prepare cereal or tuna sandwich and eat quickly. then BB will mang zhang and need to entertain him again. Where got time to cook....
Then around 3pm, I'll just munch on biscuits and have some Milo. Dinner settle at MIL's place. My meals everyday like that loh. Sometimes my MIL will cook curry or food that can keep overnight. So I'll bring home for next day's lunch. Been thinking of bringing BB out to buy lunch but the weather so hot and lazy to walk out.

Re. Vday
Wah... seems like you all still making an effort. Me and my HB stopped celebrating Vday since... my gosh, can't remember when, even before we got married. We celebrate our anniversary and birthdays. Anyway, nowadays quite tought to get gifts for hubby hor... guys can only buy those few things.

I also got another MIL woe to blast out here..
At first my MIL say want stay overnight at my place every MOnday & Thursday to help "Take care" of baby at night despite me telling her I can handle, I DON'T NEED help. She doesn't listen and keep insisting I need help. So, Monday night, she insist bb sleep with her. Despite my protests, she got her way. I still have to wake up to express milk & at same time, go & check on bb. In the end, more busy than usual cuz I found out MIL only wash the used milk bottle with water. She thought the steriliser will clean the bottle miriculously.. 2nd night feed, bb was on the cot crying while she was getting the milk from the fridge so I carried bb. She see me carrying bb only want me to give her bb to feed. I tested temp of milk, still so cold. So, I insisted she wait and pass me the milk when i feel its warm enough. After feed, I haven't got chance to burp baby, she snatched bb from me and want coax her to sleep. In the end, after 1 hour, she cannot handle bb, I still have to take over (did not sleep in between cuz I know MIL will give up eventually).

Yday, she want to stay over again but this time, I insisted bb sleeps with me and I'll call her if I need her. No, she keeps insisting she wans bb sleep with her but I was very firm, so she bor pian but keep testing water. Really getting on my nerves.. Then, when bb just whimp abit only she quickly barge into my room want to carry her. Told her nicely don't pick up the bb cuz will spoil her, she keep wanting to carry her so I really had to raise my voice & repeat DO NOT carry bb then she heard me. After that, she tried to get her way through my hb by suggesting to my hb to let bb sleep with her but I already told my hb NO much earlier so hb also bor pianz. How can I let my MIL know she's giving me more trouble and less sleep..

Queen,
How abt getting urself a nice little lingerie and do a little dancing (as in real slow, sexy, suggestive dance, not BD. BD is optional.. LOL) for him? *wink*

queen,
so envious that u have so much milk. my girl will empty both my breasts and still scream for more. have been supplementing her.

however, I am not willing to give up total breastfeeding.
gals who have visited lactation consultant, is it too late to visit them now that my baby is 7 weeks old. I delivered at gleneagles but I want to go to KKH lactation consultant, do they see patients not from the hos?

Sunny,
LC once told me b4 if bb prefers to sleep than feed, wake up the bb b4 feeding them every time by massaging their face, legs, arms and back. Help them burn off some calories and make them less lathargic by doing bicycle kicks with their legs and gentle pull ups with their hands. They may cry abit but its good way to wake them up. Feed them only when they're wide awake. Then, they'll be hungry and alert enough to drink to their fill.

If u want to know what is the maximum ur bb can drink from ur breasts, do a full expression about 3 hours after your last feed.

Wendy,
I had a few pieces of sexy bras pre-preggy. Now all cannot wear cos boobs become 1 cup bigger liao. Did think of getting new ones to surprise HB and also get myself in the mood for BD. That's why was looking at the lingerie from Victoria Secrets. Thinking of tagging along with my Maternity Mall purchases, but the VS lingerie are so expensive! Gave up the idea. heehee...
As for dancing, no need lah. just flash the lingerie, my HB will turn to mush. Haha!

queen
so far i have few bottles of EBM in the freezer with diff qty... i just use them when it's really necessary... that day i tried EBM my gal.. she can drink 80ml... and she's going to 1 mth already.
sometimes i also expressed after feeding 'cos feel that breast still not emptied by bb... but as the qty was v little like 20ml, i didn't store it and just throw away... 'cos the bottle will take up space and i don't have many bottles to store EBM... come to think of it, a bit sayang...

wendy
wow.. you mil will ask to sleep with bb.. my mil is the one who ask us not to play with bb too much, not to hold bb too much... sometimes, i find that she might be too strict and her method will let bb feel less love from parents... i wonder if it's because of her method which makes her kids less expressive in feeling... :p sigh... after going to work, my gal will be taken care by my mil... i think i got to close one eye by the time so that i won't make the decision to quit the job and take care of bb myself...

Mongs
I was told the LC at private hospitals better than KKH. I also delivered at gleneagles and I find the LC good & friendly. Haven't been back to consult her after birth so I don't know the charges but I was once told before its normal consultation charges.

wendy
i tried the waking methods whenever my gal sleeps half way of feeding... i got to watch out closely to do it so that she won't fall asleep deeply. and if she really fall asleep deeply and didn't drink much milk, i really couldn't wake her up using those method... i think next time i will use cotton wool dabs water and rub her face to wake her up. haha....

Hi Mamachan,
my gal also like that, latch on, pull nipple and start crying, after that unlatch and immediately wanna latch on again... though she does it mostly in the day, I can understand how you feel, sometimes after a long time of her doing that, I really want to scream at her, coz my nipples are so so painful coz of the yanking... many theories why it could be happening, too slow let down, too fast let down, she is fussing etc... I also frustrated and have no idea which is it...

May,
*pat pat*, your MIL really sounds like one kind, I cannot tahan when my aunty ask me to have a 2nd one next year, have a boy, crazy, who take care? And as if I can decide boy or girl, older people are like that, turn a deaf ear to her... take care!

Sunny,
I am directly feeding Shannon, and like you, only just starting pumping... I realise that we have to be careful, coz ever since I started pumping, my body has responded in very funny way, sometimes too slow let down for Shannon when she feeds, sometimes, too fast that it sprays, and she can cry and release the breast in frustration, also now it gets engorged if I dun pump...so careful when you wanna intro the pump. My LC advise to substitute the pump with one of bb usual feeding time, then your body won't over produce, and your milk won't start spraying like what mine is doing...after that, subsitute more and more pumping with bb feeding times...

Re: MIL
seems like alot of us having problems with MIL or protectiveness issues... sometimes my hormonal changes make me a mad woman, until my hubby say he is scared of me... yesterday my MIL holding bb, and I ask my hubby to feed bb EBM instead of MIL, and he went to let MIL feed, wah, started crying coz so upset, I must be going mad with these hormonal changes!

Wendy,
wow, you still can tahan your MIL so long, if me, I would have blown liao, my fuse super short... think I will bo chap her and just do whatever I want, and pretend she dun exist... haha... I cannot control my protectiveness when it comes to Shannon, and simple act of MIL carrying bb is enuff to make me unhappy liao...

Mongs,
I delivered at Mt ALvernia, but used a private LC in the end, but I heard TMC Mdm WOng is very good LC...

Wendy,
Ur MIL going to come out for long? My MIL wants bb to sleep with her also. I dun like so everytime I will say "better not lar. she is very difficult to handle at night. U are tired during the day already. Better have good rest at night. I will handle her myself anyway I have alot of time to rest during the day." So she got no choice. Then ask ur hb to side u also lor.

Sleepingdeer,
I hate it when they still think no matter what must have a BOY to pass down the name! Wa.. what century already still think like that.

Know what..my FIL said something very hurting when I am pregnant. I was so mad that I cry all the way from Seng Kang back to Jurong. I was telling him that the scan is out and the baby is a girl. And ask him to think a name for his granddaughter. Then he say," Anything lar anyway not boy so not impt. And for 1st mth celebration, no need so grand. Ask relatives come our house eat, I cook can already. No need buy sukling pig. If boy then buy, girl no need to buy all these."

Walau..I was so mad that time and cry whenever I need to go their house for dinner. I was reluctant to go as they seems to only want BOY and not GIRL.

FYI, my girl is not planned. I have shotgun marriage and I think they are not very happy abt it cos no face. Applied flat last in April 2005 during walk in selection, who knows May 2005 discover I am pregnant. Actually want to get ROM in Oct 2005 so everything bring forward to July 2005.
They want a BOY also becos my hubby is the eldest grandson in the family. So since they dun like grand daughter, I asked my mum to look after my baby. Now I give birth, everyone want to look after baby. So this sun, I am going to see what they had prepared.

May,
wah, how can your FIL say something like that, in the end, girl or boy both the same! It's normally always the daughter who is more filal anyway... everytime they say these kind of things, in the end, when bb comes out, everyone wants to snatch to take care, really cannot take it... since you decided to let your mum take care already, then stick to your choice...let them regret, haha... I super mean nowdays...

I also cannot tahan older people who say nonsense, wanted to rebuff my aunty, so if next one girl, how? Give away is it? Crazy...

didn't log on last few days and had to do selective reading..
thanks for all your advise and comforting words
I think my post natal blues kicking in cos I feel so weepy these 2 days..
I just dun feel good abt myself..so weepy and tears..

re: Wakey baby at nite
My baby has been extra hungry at night I feel.. she has been waking up every 2 hrs for food even tho now I supplement her with 30ml FM to clear her jaundice...
my HB say she is ferocious eater.
the waking up is still ok to deal with...
It's my SORE nipple that killing me...
I even had tok of not latching on direct and pump... but feel very guilty what if my milk not establish and this will reduce my milk production rite?

Now I feel so frightful when come to feeding time.

re: BF position
durainlover/sleeping deer
sorry I forgot who reply me...anyway ya my bb is big also.. so far football hold is ok but if she get taller then maybe will be obstructed.

then when I do football hold... my MIL comment again say the position no good for her etc... I want to struggle her ley...
keep ask me to try cradle... I mean if I can I will do it.
Cradle postion also better no need so many pillow for support...
but my baby struggle alot with cradle.. I'm still trying to find the best position.

Re: Sore Nipple
I know this topic I already complaint before... but any good advise to heal the sore nipple? cos before that I apply EBM on the nipple later it will form a "dry skin" on the nipple and stick to my bra then when I remove it will tear and the sore or crack will become raw again..

I learn from kriss to buy the nipple protector and wear it now... tho it's better but I can feel the pain now when I typing..

pple always told me my baby latch correctly.. but why it still hurt so badly? will this soreness really go away?
I'm on the verge to give up direct latch on... it's only my 8 days

re: baby angel in day... cranky at nite
My baby is good in the day... sleep well and long, eat well, cry less but when come to nite
she is cranky ley... wake up often for feed, even on FM..
HELP... is this normal?

re: carrying baby
tell me abt this.. actually I also jealous when my MIL coax my bb when she cry... somehow I feel I'm not a good enough mother...
But when ever my bb cry... my MIL always rush in one lor... and insist she carry the baby, although she can coax her finally when she finally... she will blame that is becos baby is hungry or say... aiya she wana comfort suck and give it back to me.
My hb also one kind.. ask him to coax bb always pass to his mother.
I also feel that my MIL seems to have "plot" to get bb to sleep close to her... anyway for night sleep I also wan baby to sleep with me.. no matter how tough, wake up many time... guess it's out protectve nature..

but I'm also taking things easy.. if MIL can coax bb to sleep... by all means... cos bb is finally still our bb mah... no matter what when she grow bigger and more dong shi.. she will know mummy is the best

kaelyn is so adorable.
cookie, this is the 7th week already and I am still having sore nipples. actually it's really impt that the baby latched on correctly. I think it's my own fault that I am still having sore nipples because sometimes at night very tired and didn't pay attention while feeding her lying down. also sometimes, not enough milk and she end up v impatient, thug and pull, end up with sore nipples.
I would advise that since it's only 8 days for u, u tahan a bit and make sure that she latched on correctly. don't wait till she is too hungry to feed her. she will be less frustrated during feeding.

Re: LC
Wendy, I tried calling the LC at gleneagles but there is always no one picking up the call.
I read that some gals here visited the LC at KKH, seems like they do quite a comprehensive check, check for block ducts, flow and whether baby latched on correctly. can't remember who contributed the info.

hi mums

Understand that some of you are buying nursing bras. Just want to share with all that b4 I gave birth, I saw Sinma (at clementi) were selling nursing bras. 2 for $15 is a great buy! I bought 2 myself and I have no complaints!

Mongs

I did. And The lactation consultant is good. SHe may come across as quite straight-forward person, but she's really good.

You can call KKH phoneline and get them to sms her your contact details and she'll get back to you. The LC's name is Teo Yen Ping.

May

Don't be too upset by your FIL comments. Anyway if they want to blame you for giving them a girl, they'll have to blame their son coz it's the men's sperm who decides if boy or girl. Guess their generation not educated in this area.

Sunny

I paid about $40 (or $38/$39 something inclusive of GST) for the consultation. Actually my husband went to make payment while I was still in the consultation room.

Not sure if rates different for non KKH patients.

MamaChan,

thanks!! so you bring your baby with you when u see the LC?
I am not sure if this will help to increase my milk supply but this is really the last chance coz I am really doing everything I can to increase the supply. from demand feeding to drinking the papaya fish soup and taking fernugreek. I also email the BMSG but their advice is something that I already know. I am really hoping the the LC can help to correct something and from there lots of milk for my baby.

Hi Cookie,
your bb so cute, and alert!

RE: sore nipples
Dun worry, you are facing exactly what I had when Shannon was borned 6 weeks ago. I was also feeding her every 2 hours, sometimes 1.5hrs, sometimes she would feed so long that one feeds goes into another, and I would have to feed her for 3 hours non-stop, and yes, my sore nippples was KILLING me... it was so bad that I also had the exact same thought as you, everytime come close to feeding time, my heart would start to pound very hard, and I would dread it so much! Especially at night, I couldn't take it, and will always cry from the pain of her latching on, and sob to my hubby that I can't take it anymore, and say I want to give up, the pain is like knifes slicing into your nipple everytime she sucks... but in the morning, I would try again...

I called for Mt A for a LC for home visit and sister Kang got someone to call on me as the nurses in Mt A were too busy and I needed help immediately! It helped, though I have to say the painful nipples didn't go away, even after the LC corrected my latch on... it took time, and lots of reading up... the kellymom website helped me alot, taught me to angle my nipple closer to her upper lip and leave as much space between the bottom lip as possible, and after 5 weeks, the pain slowly got better... now its's still sore, but much much better, take heart, it will get better with time, but in the mean time, I know how much pain there is..*hugs*

RE: football hold
I also used the football hold in hospital coz it was what the nurses taught us... after that, we bought a Breast pillow from the shop at Mt Alvernia, and it was really useful, though can only use for 3 months. From there, I started practised cross cradle hold, and it began much easier to do cradle and football with breast pillow. The LC also taught me how to use it correctly, so that helped. But since I have gotten the hang of cross cradle, I have started practising withoutthe breast pillow so that I can breast feed outside without it.. it will take time to get the hang og holding on to your bb, dun worry. Alot of times, I felt that I dun have enough hands to handle her... wish I was a octupus... hee hee... hang in there! It will get better as long as your latch on is correct..

If you need a LC contact, let me know, I use a private one, but she is a very positive person, so I always get encouraged after she sees me. She is more expensive than the hospital ones though, think they charge $10 lesser per home visit, or if you live near the hospital, then dun hesitate to go down for a consultation with the LC in Mt Alvernia

Mongs,
yep, me too, sometimes lazy to correct her latch on, then on the end nipples get sore again... bbs are smart, if we let them latch on incorrectly, they will do it again and again, unless corrected. Once they kknow how to do it, they will automatically latch on correctly, unless they are lazy as well... my Shannon is one lazy gal, she will nipple suck if given a chance, so I must always watch her latch on...

My LC told me that sign of good latch on include good swallowing from bb, no engorgement, and empty breast after each feed...

hi mongs,
i went back to visit the lactation consultant at gleneagles 3 days after i discharge and she didn't charge me any fees leh. apparently she's usually doing her rounds at the wards so she'll only reply her voicemail in the morning or evening. she come across to me as very patient, approachable and helpful. i had engorgement problem then, and she helped me massage my breasts and even taught my husband how to do it for me.

i decided to buy nursing top online. bot 2 tops from MomsRus, 1 top from MIM 'cos really lazy to go out to shop for nursing wear... and i bot bb sling from MIM online, too... hope i can get hands on asap so that i could bring bb out alone without any bottles and no fear for can't find nursing place. hehe....

tomorrow is my official last day of confinement... yippee... my CL will be leaving this saturday... after that, i will be all by myself handling bb... sigh... hope bb won't give me too much difficulties...

and tomorrow we will shave bb's hair... i wonder how she looks like after that. haha...

sleepingdeer
this is my 4th week already, i still feel sore nipple... i am thinking if i should get a LC to check if the position is correct.
will wrong latching position affect milk supply?
could i have the contact? your LC is only doing home visit?

re MIL
seems like most pple having MIL problems. think really close one eye lor. i must say i very pei fu those who can tahan.

i fell sick and got stomach flu. so sad. these 2 days cannot go near my bb. bb seems to know i sick. he behaved better today and din make so much noise.

re LC
me coming to 4 weeks. is it too late to get LC to come and correct latching position? bb doesn't want to latch and MS not increasing. plus i fell sick so really too tired to express.

cookie,
your bb is so cute. esp the expression...

Nursing Tops

I envy most of you mummies who can just buy online. For me, I'm afraid that I'll have to personally go down to those shops that sell nursing wear and try them on. Sianz. Doesn't help that I'm fleshy before preggie stage. Hope I can get something from one of the shops in UE square.

SY
Am not too sure if it's too late to correct the latching on of bb. you could always call the LC and inquire about it. Don't be too stress over it, try to enjoy the process. Like most of us discussed, stress can alter the volume of milk flow. Jia you!

Mongs

Yup! You should bring bb along when you visit the LC. In fact before I went down, she asked me to time the next feeding really close to the appointment time. All the best!

mamachan,
think i will call the LC to come to my place after i recover. dun want to get to close to bb now.

queen,
yup, hope i recover soon. think bb got his stomach flu from me. so quite heart pain those few days he was crying non stop. will read the article. thanks!

Hi ladies...thanks for all the encouragement...brought baby James to the specialist yesterday...seems that the recurrence of the lump is much milder than the first instance...dr just cut him open without painkiller and my poor boy just wailed till there was no sound coming from him...he cried till the capillaries on his face burst n there r numerous red dots on his face...imagine my heartpain...dr asked us to observe 4 a while b4 we decide to operate...hopefully...the thing heals n doesn't flare up again...sigh

I saw the LC at TMC...pd abt $50...eversince the last visit...(touch wood) things hv bcme beta n nw can bf well...James knows hw to latch on himself...so it eases my prob by half...At TMC...u can walk in for consultation if i'm nt mistaken...

I wil start pumping milk nxt mth b4 i go back to wk...as of nw...i let bb latch on fully...

Good News.. my MIL leaving tomorrow morning. WOW.. so happy last night when I heard this. Think she is not happy with me and my mum. This morning show black face. But I couldn't be bothered.

Wendy,
Finally had BD with hubby last night. A quick one though, just in case my girl wake up for feed. Want to check with u, after BD when u pee, do u have any pain? Cos I have a bit of it. My lochia is about to finish but after BD, there is some more.

re: nails cutting

anyone tried cutting their baby nails? i was told to cut after 1 mth and this sat is his one mth. i bot the NUK nail cutter and would like to cut it soon as his nails is really long and always scratches me. has anyone taken off the mittens and booties? when is the right time?

SSF
i also plan to cut his nails after one month. very very long and sharp. my CL say after one month can take off mitten and booties already

RE: BD
wah so fast many already doing that.. but I heard that those have C section cannot BD too early must wait 4 months..

however due to BB not feeling well and alao upset with hubby over bb many times.. somehow have lost feeling for him tat I can't bear the ot of BD..

RE: sick bb

These two days bb is sick and he is only 6 weeks only therefore worried..

RE: block nose

does anyone has experience tat bb has block nose due to mucus deep inside and cannot be remove coz can't see onlt heard when he is breathing...
Last night bb can't sleep due to diffculty in breathing...