(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Zhimin,
I used the continuous mode to take the yawning photos and then use photoshop to put it together in a collage.

I have finally decided on how to express when back to work. I bought another Avent Isis! So will be using 2 manual pumps.

I'm thinking of ordering nursing bras from Maternity Mall (US). Anyone interested in joing and sharing the shipping cost?
Difficult to find good nursing bras with smooth cups here...

queen,
how much wld the nursing bras from maternity mall cost on average? Hv u tried MIM nursing bra? They've got padded ones with smooth cup.
Wow 2 manual pumps?? Is it tough to operate? But i guess it's cheaper that way

kriss
ya lor.. my pain come every nite (and day too) and it's happen like every 10 mins so I'm waking from pain every 10-15 mins...
the pain is more intense from 4am onward... past 2 days I have to sleep sitting up cos I notice it's more bearable when I sit instead of lying down

When I see Dr Ho on Wed got to stress to him abt my pain

I am going crazy this two days. My girl simply can't sleep at night. Had been crying non-stop..I have to carry her and pat her to sleep. Once stop or when I put her into the cot, she starts again. I got so fedup and my hubby got to take her away from me as I start crying when I am unable to handle her. My hubby is worried that I will suffer from post-natal blues cos I have been very mang zhang this two days when she is not behaving well.

Whenever she cry we will check diaper for poo and feed her water. If it doesnt help, FM will be fed. Need to check with u all, my girl is now 2weeks old. Used to feed her 60ml - 3hrs. But now 70ml can only last 2hrs. At most 2.5hrs. Should I increase the volume? I tried once but she cannot finish it.

May,
well, thats what i'm going through too. I wonder if its the way i handle him. When he cries, check for wet diapers, see if he's hungry or he needs to be burped. I realised that sometimes he has air stuck and after burping, he clams down. But like you, he seems to be sleeping but once on bed, his eyes wld be big! Yesterday night was up from 3am-8am.

I increased my amount now slightly as sometimes after 70ml, he's still hungry. At times, after 2hrs he wants somemore!!! But then again, you make more, he cant finish and the cycle goes again like you. I'll check with my CL when she returns today. Who's doing confinement for you?

Y,
My mum is doing the confinement for me. When she is around, my mind is at rest, I can rest and sleep. She will take care of my girl.

My MIL took leave last week to come over. Saying to take care of me and baby at night. But who knows she sleep thru'out the night and I have to wake up twice to feed baby with FM. (My baby is totally on FM) She say only need to wake up when baby cry loudly, else, we can sleep all we want. But I can't bear to see my little darling starve at night. Normally feed is 3hrs but at night, at most I drag till 4hrs. If she dun wake up at the 4th hrs, I will wake her up for feed. Normally she is very hungry and finish all by then. Do any mummies do the same as me? Or just let baby sleep thru'out?

durianlover,
the nursing bras from maternity mall range from US$11-$16 (about S$19 - S$28?). I have seen the smooth cup bra on the MIM website, and it cost $45! Anyway, the nude colour one is out of stock. I bought the QT front snap lace nursing bra from MIM, it's pretty good, but cost me $42. Difficult to find nude coloured smooth cup nursing bras to wear under white stretch tops.

May,
My boy will wake up for feeds at night. He won't exactly cry the house down but can hear him stirring and making noise. He's hungry but still half asleep. He usually wakes about 3 to 4 hours interval. On rare occasions can even stretch to 5 hours.

queen
thanks, I've also been reading up on kellymom and colic. It seems that my boy has signs of both colic and fussy baby, so we are starting a crying diary to try to see what's wrong with him.
http://www.askdrsears.com/html/5/T051300.asp

cookie
wah, every 5-10mins is v serious leh.. if really bad, can call his emergency line lah.

may
I get v man zhang when bb cries non-stop too.. it's normal. Sorry, i bf, so cant help. If your bb sleeps thru the nite, I think no need to wake her up, only bf bbs needs to be woken up, coz it affects our MS. See what other mummies say.

my gal is also very awake during night time... yesterday, she was awake from 12am till 5am!!! gosh... after every hourly feed ('cos she did sleep), we put her to the bed, 5 minutes later, she will cry again... she's driving me crazy.... my mil said bb got 'scared', that's y she couldn't fall asleep at night...

and my bb's weight gain was not very good too... making me worried if my milk is sufficient for her... upon discharged, her weight dropped from 3.12 to 2.8... and now, almost 3 weeks already, she gained a bit of weight but hasn't gone back to delivery weight... really don't know what to do leh.... and don't wanna give her formula...

Krissie
SO far BB Daren's weight gain since discharged was like 450gm in 12 days. I should think that's a good sign. He looks chubbier too. That's purely on breastmilk now.

For those on total breastfeeding, how often do you need to pump? I know last night Daren slept from 2am all the way to 6 plus am and I woke up earlier than him with some engorgement! It's really painful, I tried massaging and pressing on the lump after application of hot towel on the area and tried to pump some milk out to relieve the discomfort but to no avail.

Any mummies experiencing this?? Should I use cold compress with cold towels or cabbage leaves instead of hot towel?? Please advice.

krissie
ya lor... so far I never call his hotline yet..
I also dunno is it emergency.. the pain come as fast as it go... when no pain everything is normal when the pain come also fast...
when I visit his clinic last friday I also has the cramp on and off and the CTG never show any contraction... so think it is not contraction.

Wed will see him.. will sure stress to him... think perhaps he will suggest induce then if no other sign lor.

hi mamachan
i experience the engorgement 'cos didn't pump it more than 4 hours. i slowly pump it out and it does help. you can use hot towel + massage.
envy you that bb can sleep from 2 to 6+... the night is coming, i am kind of getting phobia to the night... 'cos it's always sleepless night...
i am tempted to give expressed milk to bb every night 'cos it's really tiring after every feed and bb didn't sleep and still crying... sigh...

Cookie
when's your EDD? is it over???? You went to the clinic last friday. What time was your appointment? I was there too my appointment is 12pm but in the end whole thing ended 1+PM cuz gynae went to deliver....

Engorgement is whole breast hardened is it?? and then pumping out the milk relieves engorgement? I was told about putting cold cabbage on the whole breast to soothe it....does it work ? Maybe u girls can try?

Joanna,
how is james? hope he is better

sysac,
my boy quite naughty one. think sometimes he just cry for attention. these few days, he has been good surprisingly. think CL spoil him cos she always carry him. past few days, he has been sleeping better. sometimes i just put him down after feeding and he will fall asleep after a while.

hee, think i also want to wait 2 years before having the next one...just want to enjoy my bb now...

zhimin,
my bb hiccups everydya!! sometime he gets very unhappy over it and start crying...

Ariel,
Ashley so cute! her hair very nice.

Y,
my bb pants too when feeding....sometimes cos his nose got some nose shit. clear and it will be better...

envy those who can latch direct. my bb still doesn't quite like to latch and end up i have to wake up 3 times a night to pump. and milk ss still low..really feel like giving up..think i try till end of this month and see how. did anyone take the MIM nursing tea? does it help?

mamachan
re engorgement, I find that a hot towel massage followed by hand expressing is very helpful. Else let bb latch lah.

cookie
inducing is more painful leh.. I induced at 6pm, next am 7+am, then dr ho break the waterbag and he said labour start from there. But, at 12midnight, v pain liao. I got epi at 6+am.

sy
I bought the nursing tea, but haven try, will try it this fri when confinement ends.. cant wait, 3 more days.

my boy has been quite naughty yesterday. find that he couldnt really sleep well ard midnight. and he keep crying ..diaper, milk, burp all done but still cry. so we cuddle him and when we realise he is sleeping..quickly put him back in the cot and he will cry again. so fustrating. today my hubby and me are like panda.

also..any of the mummies feel very sad if your baby doesn't finish your EBM? for me, i will as i find its a waste of my effort in squeezing out every ml. get fustrated with my hubby also this morning..as baby was crying, so he went and take EBM and warm it. but then baby end up sleeping. and was thinking if baby dun drink it within an hr..it be a waste. so i told hubby..if he dun wake up..he is gg to down those EBM. haha...but in the end my boy woke up. lucky him. not sure if its the blues..but whenever my boy dun finish the milk..i really feel like giving up expressing and give formula instead.

hi ssf
if you have enough milk for bb, don't give formula lah. 'cos BM is always the best!
mayb you can start feeding bb from small amount? if bb still asks for milk, then you warm another portion for bb? so far, i only feed EBM for 1 night only. other than that, i always wake up and direct feed bb... it's really tiring...

yesterday, my gal was managed to sleep at least 2.5 hours after every feed at night. hubby and i were sooooooo happy. 'cos it meant that we had more sleep. haha.... pray that bb behaves well like that every night.

sunny - i have MS but lately decrease in qty. not sure if because i see him drinking so little. sort of not motivating me. sigh! yeah now i express all in one big bottle. and will pour out to a smaller bottle depending on his feed qty. easier tat way else if i make 90ml, he drink only 40ml...really sadden me seeing the rest gone to waste.

we will normally feed him ard midnight..then once at 2 plus and once at 6 plus. tats the routine. and no i dun feed him FM ..only EBM unless i dun want to waste my EBM then i give FM to supplement.

i try not to breastfeed directly but express so that i can monitor the qty and also he dun get so hungry easily. i only breastfeed him directly if he gets hungry still after a feed. also good to train him on bottle when i return to work.

anyone knows if hypermart or baby kingdom in kakit bukit is open today? i thot of gg down to buy an infant carrier(somethg like a haversack)and also browse at the prams.

So envy u all, hubby wake up together to feed baby.. I normally wake up alone at night for feed. Hubby sleep like log even baby cry he also cannot hear.

My baby managed to sleep earlier last night at 12plus .. hope that she can do tat every night too.

may - maybe ur hubby is very tired from work. for me, my hubby knows i look after him the entire day and night time i still need to wake up to express. so he is very good and in fact he is doing a better job at burping and feeding him as compared to me. mainly is because i am still recovering from my stitches frm c sect so burping him can be a problem as he always struggle when i try to burp him. hopefully my hubby can still continue till my boy stablise his feeding time to NOT wake up at night. i am still praying and waiting for tat day

today my boy is exactly 3 weeks and next week will be his 1 mth. thereafter, will be moving back to my own home to continue looking after him. i will be ordering tingkat food (lunch+dinner)..anyone has any recommendation? i found one from the net and it costs $128 from mon-fri (exclude PH and weekends). 3 dishes+ 1 soup/4 dishes for 1 portion. not bad and quite reasonable and hubby can also eat the leftover when he return.

kinda looking fwd to return to our love nest and get cosy to my hubby as now at my parents' place, he sleep on the floor and i sleep on the bed.

SSF,
Your breasts have endless supply of BM. So don't worry about wasting loh. When I have to give EBM, I always pump at least 20ml more than what my boy can take, just in case he decides to take more. But usually, end up cannot finish and throw. But I don't feel bad about throwing cos I know milk will still be there in my breasts! If giving FM throw away, then I'll feel it's throwing away money. Sometimes when I feel a but too full, I even hand express a but into tissue or during shower just to relieve the engorgement. Too lazy to pump. Also waste of BM.

Sunny,
Do you know how much weight your BB is supposed to gain during these few weeks? How long is your nursing session? Is your BB nursing long enough to take in the hindmilk? Hindmilk is the one which contains fats and calories. It's not important that BB feeds on both breasts each nursing session. It's more crucial that BB feeds long enough and drains the first breast to take in the hindmilk then be offered the other breast. If you boy is pooing 3 times or more and wetting 6 diapers or so per day, then BB should be having enough.

Nowadays I don't restrict the time my boy feeds per breast. I just let him feed on 1 breast till he's satisfied and come off it by himself. Sometimes he can feed more than 20 mins on 1 breast, sometimes just 5 to 10 mins. Sometimes he can drink very fast and hard and empty my breast in 10 mins! Then he is satisfied liao. But I'll double check by offering the other breast. Usually he gets enough from 1 breast. So I just leave him be. Have to bear with the slight engorgement on the other breast loh.

Cookie,
YOu should be due already right? Think you better check with your gynae. Induce may be better...

SY,
I boy also very naughty. Want to be carried most of the time! I bought the MIM sling and uses it when I need my hands free to do things. And he seemed to like it! Can fall asleep quite fast in the sling.
Also, do you know why your boy does not like direct latching?

Mamachan / Etelle,
To relieve engorgement, best is to try hand expressing or pumping out a bit (but not empty the breasts). Use a warm wet towel to massage the breasts before expressing. Try not to use cold cabbage or cold compress unless you actually feel pain due to engorgement. If you do, just put the cold cabbage on your breasts after latching on. It does feel good actually.

krissie,
think my Isaac has colic. Yesterday evening also crying non-stop for 1 to 2 hours. Really wailing. So heartpain! Actually thought of bringing to KK A&E. But didn't in the end cos think could be just colic cos he's farting quite a lot. So today will go to the pharmacy and get colic drops and gripe water. Hopefully that will help.

kriss
I also heard induce is more painful... I really pray that my baby will arive on her own today or tomorrow morn so no need to induce

Queen
yup... I think I'm the only JAN MTB that has over due baby....
really hope baby will come out soon... really dun wan induce...

SSF
don't feel too bad about wasting EBM. ya, actually every bit of BM is precious but like what queen has said, we should be able to produce enough BM for bb. so, don't feel too bad.

queen
i don't know what's the ideal weight gain for bb leh... is there any reference? normally my nursing session is about 20 - 30 minutes... and bb poo around 6 times a day, not big qty... and wee around 8-10 times a day.. is it considered normal?

too much post for me to catch up... now still trying my best to my motherhood... stress over everything actually. my boy nearly cant make it home for CNY, after he discharge w me from hospital and w us for 6 days, he was admitted on 25Jan for jaundic. cried after saw his stuff at home. the next day another bomb came when doc called said they discovered my boy has hernia n better hv a opertaion! thank god the operation went well n jaundic level went down n he was back w us on CNY eve...

sorry for not able to post my birth story yet. will do that when really hv the time.

re: latching baby
do any mummies hv difficulties latching on their baby. my boy is vy mang zhang when hungry n suck vy hard on my nipples when i tried to feed him. cause my nipples to sore n bleed =( now expressing breast milk instead cos its really painful after each feed if i latch him on n he tends fell alseep while suckling so dun really know how much he is drinking too... feeling vy down n upset cant direct feed him...

re: avent manual pump
angry w the pump bcoz the breast milk keep getting into the massaging pad n creating noise each time i make a suction on the handle. did any mummies encounter this problem??

re: milk supply
its now day 12 for me n now my BM supply is around a total of 70 to 80 ml from 2 breasts at every 3 hrs interval. is this enough? my boy now drinking 80 ml of express breast milk at every 3hrs... little monster. advise pls...

now keeping thinking of whether m i giving enough milk.

hi rachel
what's hernia?
initially when i started direct feeding my bb, i got problem, too. 'cos she also got very mang zhang when she's hungry. and i got sore nipples, too. actually, till now, after every feed, i still feel sore... but the pain is bearable lah. to avoid her getting v mang zhang and got problem in latching on, i will feed her when she shows sign of hunger before yelling for milk e.g. when she wakes up or nearly wakes up from her sleep with mouth searching for something.

for milk supply, everyday i m asking myself if my bb gets enough milk. i can't tell 'cos i do direct feeding... the only thing i can be assured of is her wet diapers and # of times of poo poo...
though all these tell me that my bb got enough, her weight didn't increase much... this makes me worry leh... sigh...

hihi mummies,

so long never log in. happy to see so many births! my bb Edgar is born on 19 Jan 0427hrs and weighs 3.04kg.

juz wanna a quick check. How much does ur bbies drink at 2weeks old? my boy is drinking ard 80ml EBM at 2.5-3 hr intervals.also how much can u gals pump out each time. i can pump around 80-100ml on each side at 4-5hr intervals. so i guess it won't be enuff by the time my boy is 3-4 weeks old.

So sad. Due to engorgement, I got the chills and was shivering very badly in the wee hours of the morning as I was feeding baby.

Rushed to KKH WOmen's 24-hr Clinic and found that I'm having high fever of 38.2 degrees. Was prescribed 2 types of antibiotics and advised not to direct breastfeed baby and have to express milk manually which has to be discarded.

My mum looked after him while hubby took me to the hospital and when I got home, somehow bb Daren knows we'll back and started crying and searching when I carried him.

Heart really pain to see him cry for direct latching on and yet I could not feed him for a least one week. Really sianz man.

Rachel

I experience the same thing while using the AVent Manual pump. Think it's quite common to have some milk stuck in the breast cushion/pad. It'll also produce some sound after a while.

Also, friends who have been breastfeeding for a while mentioned to me it's a matter of trust in terms of input = output. So long bb has been wetting diapers and pooing, means they've been getting enough.

That's what's with me and baby Daren. One day can change a few nappies, I just started using cloth diapers to monitor how often he wets himself. SOmetimes using disposable diapers you can't really gauge. I use the Pampers Premium Cotton Care and they have this line indicator which turns blue when he wets himself. So I go by that for the 1st 2 weeks.

hi mamachan
don't feel to bad... you still have those frozen EBM to feed bb? if still have, at least bb is still taking BM...

how come engorgement would cause fever? and if we consistently direct feed or express milk, will engorgement still there?

thks sunny and queen for the advice.yeah trying not to feel heart pain over those EBM. anythg for my precious boy

Hi SSF, krissie and Cookie...James is much beta now...He went back for follow up of CNY Eve and now the lump has recovered.
According to the specialist...there are 2 ducts that are of no use near the anal tract. At times, some faeces may enter into those ducts and as a result, it will cause the ducts to be blocked and cause it to be inflammed... as such, pus will collect and as a result, there will be a lumpy growth...according to the specialist...nothing much to worry about tho...nw that he is beta...I also feel beta...

I went to the lactation specialist on Thurs...my GOD...they squeezed my lumps till it was finally soft...then now...my breasts can squirt out 7-8 streams of milk each time....it was so painful I almost died...haha...but now that it has been cleared...the milk can come in even beta...:p

Sunny and mummies...engorgement can still occur when we feed all the time cos of the collected milk in the ducts that was not released...as a result, we end up with blocked ducts and that was what happened to me...according to the lactation specialist, my lumps could be caused by the improper clearing of ducts in my first pregnancy...hehe...

Krissie...the Nepia diapers is really good...really like the feel of it...saw it at NTUC yesterday but they dun have NB size...they only have the Small to large size tho...hehe...

And...learnt something from the lactation specialist also...we can weigh bb before and after feeding...subtract the diff and then that is the actual amt the baby had drank during the feeding session...hehe....my baby James is now 4.3kg as compared to his 3.1kg on discharge...PD said he has put on alot of wt...eheh...so must be a real guzzler...

Mamachan,
oh so poor thing. Is it coz of clogged milk duct that caused the fever? Do take care n hope u get better soon!

rachel,
congrats! Don't worry too much abt whether baby is feeding enough. If he doesn't have enough, at the most he'll cry again for milk at a shorter interval. Then just feed him. As you feed him more often it'll stimulate your MS to meet his demand.
i have never tried to pump out fully from 1 breast before coz i'm doing direct latch on, so honestly i've no idea how much milk my girl drinks. So i've been feeding her on demand and she seems pretty satisfied.

SY,
Is there any reason why your boy doesn't like to latch on? Don't give up. Perhaps u can try feeding him before he gets too hungry and mang zhang? So it'll be easier to latch on? Or just make sure his mouth is open and tongue is down then push his mouth to your breast. At least will stimulate MS.

queen,
you're right. The MIM smooth cup nursing bra at $45 is ex! If u manage to get bulk purchase from the US one, i don't mind joining in!

cookie given birth already??

hi rachel77,

totally understand how upset u felt when ur bb needs to be admitted. my boy was oso admitted when we brought him to PD checkup after 5 days and PD said his jaundice is high. me oso cried at the hospital. so many pple saw, even the concierge at the hospital had to console me. so pai seh. but fortunately bb was able to go home after one day of phototherapy.

re milk supply,
i'm oso having sore and cracked nipples. so haven't been direct latching. only feed EBM. infact i felt it's better coz when i direct latch, bb can take up to an hour and still feel hungry shortly after. he keeps falling asleep on my breast and i think coz suckling is very tiring for him, he gets tired after a while and only "pretend" to suckle but not swallowing. so now he's on total EBM. i feed him 80-100ml and can last around 2-3 hrs. able to express about 80-100ml each breast. so i do 4-5 hrly expressing which can last for 2 feeds. don't need to feel bad about not direct latching. as long as bb getting breastmilk, think dat's good enuff

re post natal blues:
juz wondering, does any of u mummies get abit more depressed? i feel i do have some post natal blues. been feeling restless and tired and emotional. can tear at the slightest thing. and don't feel like doing any thing at all. whole day like juz pumping and pumping, even thou i only do 4-5 hrly but to me, it's like taking up so much of my time.

hi cookie, u are not the only mum who has over due bb. my boy was overdue too. EDD was 14 Jan but had to induce on 19 Jan. so don't fret over it. enjoy the freedom u have now. life will be so different after bb is out!

Hi had been too busy to even touch my laptop these 2 weeks & so many postings to catch up on! '

Fell sick eating confinement food cuz too heaty 4 me. Trying to poo was more painful thaN givin birth cuz my stich was up to anus & I got piles after that which stretched the stiches which made the stich even more painful..

May,
U gotta keep trying to let bb latch on until bb remembers how to latch on. I remem the LC advised that we let bb suckle on breast first before feeding FM during the first few days before milk comes in to avoid nipple confusion. Anyway, when bb is hungry enough, their rooting instinct will return but you may not able to bear letting ur precious cry until throat hoarse

Alternatively, just express your milk and feed bb from bottle.

Night feeds,
I've been feeding bb EBM at night & latching her on during day so can sleep more @ night. Right now, I'm feeding her 100ml at night which can last her abt 4-5hrs. Daytime, she'll suck on only 1 breast abt 10-15min then sleep abt 3 hrs b4 the next feed. However, I'm wondering if its too much 4 her cuz she is only 2wks+ old.

Lochia,
My lochia has stopped last week I think. However, my bladder was over-inflated during labour so had bladder wall infection which explained the stinky smell of the "lochia". Now bladder still slight bleeding but V not bleeding anymore.

Breast pumps & sore nipples,
I realised my nipples were sore cuz I adjusted the pressure too high so pump pulling nipples too strongly. Now can pump betw 150ml to 200ml without prob after lowering the pressure to a more comfortable level. As for manual pumps, no need pump all the way. Just push to a comfy level & hold, you'll see the milk jetting out in long streams.

hi wendy,
u mentioned that u can pump 150ml - 200ml. does it mean both sides or each side. i'm doing abt the same qty for both sides combined. wondering if it will still be enuff when the bb turns 3-4 weeks old. will our milk supply increase with bb's deamand? i noticed that my milk supply has not increased since a week ago.

Hi Celine,
I meant both sides combined, but, that's only if bb does not latch on. If she latches on to feed, I can only pump about 40-50ml of excess milk for storage.

Thrush,
I noticed my nipples are still alittle pink even when its not sore anymore. In fact, my right nipple feels alittle itchy today. I wonder if my bb has thrush and is passing it to me.. Any of u have pink nipples as well? I don't know if I should bring bb go see her PD for oral thrush or not.

RE: C-sect Aches
Does any mummies experience this aching feeling near the stitches when gently pressed? And areas that are above it also has aching feeling?

RE:Lochia
Wendy, how long does your lochia last? Mine is more than 2wks already, really sick of it.. not sure when it will end.

RE: Breast Milk
Looks like everyone is giving baby breastmilk except me. I only feed mine for a week and she is totally on Formula Milk now.

Hi May...I hd C-sect as well. I hd slight achy feeling when I pressed near my stitches and the abdomen above my stitches too. Not really pain as in pain but more of a "seng seng" (sour) kind of feeling...

Lochia...
Mine seems to have stopped after 3 weeks. In fact, by the end of 2nd week, it has stopped and now I only experience slight spotting.

Wendy...my nipples are also slightly pink at the tips... I think that's normal...do you clean baby's mouth with cotton wool? Every morning when I bathe baby James, I will also wet a small amt of cotton wool...wind it round my finger and clean the gums and tongue of James.

Spots on the face...
I believe James is getting tiny pimple like dots on his face becos at nite, I lay him next to me on the bed and when he makes the slightest noise, I will bf him...maybe...some milk residue gets onto his face and as a result...he develops those dots...however, I have been cleaning his face with saline solution which I got from the doctor and it seems to be working...
You gals can try diluted salt solution with cool boiled water for the same results too...

Joanna,

Thot it is unusual to have the "sng sng" kind of feeling. Since u have it too..then it is normal already.

I clean Jamie's mouth during bathing time with cotton wool as well.

so envious that most of you can bf totally. I have been putting clariss to my breast when she wants (on demand) but my milk is always not enough for her. she will root after half hour of her feed. this is her 6 weeks and suddenly, she scream for more after she sucks both breasts. we have no choice but to give her FM, about 60ml after every feed. I believe it's her growth spurt. not sure if her appetite will go back to normal after this week. do you gals know?

Clariss has this heat rash on her whole face and is spreading to her neck and back. do any of your babies have the same problem?

I don't know how much breast milk I produce. I never pump a full breast before. I read that direct latch on will ensure that the milk supply is always enough for the baby and EBM may affect the supply. but i can see that those of you who are doing total EBM are doing well. sigh, so confusing.

May,
What is the reason for you not continuing BF?
There's nothing wrong going on total FM. Eventually, most of us will, just a matter of time. In the end, as long as your BB is growing well, doesn't really matter whetehr it's BM or FM.

Wendy,
I think it's normal for nipples to have pink tips. Mine do.

mongs,
Does your BB feed long enough at your breasts?
If Clarisse does, then should be growth spurts loh. My Isaac also 6 weeks and today, he's rooting for my nipple at around 1hr 45 mins interval. Quite frequent. Think growth spurts for him as well. I just let him suck and suck till he is satisfied and come off the nipple himself.