(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY - try letting him suckle or use a pacifier. else cuddle him and sing him a lullaby. Caleb is also the same ..refuse to sleep in the noon

finally today is my last day of confinement.
thinking of from tommorow onwards i can bath anytime and wash my hair anytime so happy.

Btw, went to shopping for CNY clothes yesterday...so sad..must wear M-L size...

I still got 5kg more to loss...able to pull up my levis jean but unable to button up...so sad

Hi Cookie, Krissie and Sunshinekids...sorry for the delay...has been mad for me the last 2 days...sigh...Found out the reason for Baby James crying during bathtime...he has a growth with abcess in it...brought him to the PD and was referred to a specialist at Gleneagles and had a minor op done to him...really HEARTPAIN to see them "cut" his lump open and then proceed to dig out the abcess in it...gotta go back tomorrow for follow-up...sigh...then whole day gotta tend to his wound...me so sad and tired...

Cookie...the desitin I bot at Guardian...4 Oz...was having a sale then...cost me only $16 i think...can't remember hw much it costs at NTUC Pharmacy...but I do know it is cheaper to get from NTUC when there's no sale...

Krissie...thanks for the info...they wil b delivering my order tis afternoon...accordingt to wenyl...i think can change the nxt round...i ordered 2 NB n 2 S...

Sunshinekid...i bot the playtex bags frm mothercare at great world...they only hd the 118ml bag left...i bot 4 pks...if she cant get them...i dun mind selling her some of mine at lower cost...

may, SSF
checked his diaper - ok. give him pacifier - he spit out, cuddle him - he sleep for a while and wake up. just refuse to sleep. dunno why....

is it cos his growth spurt over so he drink less?

babylon,
so nice that your confinement over! so chun.....just b4 cny...

joanna,
oh no, i hope james is better...can imagine the heart pain.i see my bb being poked for jaundice check i already cannot take it

Dear SY...I think James seems better now...at least...dun have to put the gauze over his anus and plaster it up with 3M white plaster...cos everytime he poos...I gotta pull the 3M plaster off his butts and I think it really hurts cos he can cry till there's no sound...My hear really pain but I have to console him and not breakdown myself...SIGH...
...Worse is the Dr actually mentioned that if the lump doesn't heal...it means within the lump...there are other small glands...then...they may just need to do a formal operation and remove the tubular glands and put my dear baby under GA...AARRGGHH!!! So now...I can only pray for his speedy recovery...

When baby cries...he may be just asking for attn...newborns are smart...once they know u will pick them up and cuddle them when they cry...they will keep doing it so as to be picked up and carried...so try to let them sleep on their own...sometimes...it is also becos he doesn't hv enuf milk...or other times...it could be the wind in his tummy affecting him...try massaging his tummy by giving outward strokes...in this way...it will help to dispel wind...

Here's to wishing all mummies a HAPPY AND PROSPEROUS CNY in Advance...may all our babies grow up strong, healthy and obedient little angels...

joanna - wats the reason for the growth of lump? is it due to rashes? my boy has some red rash at the outer lining of his anus. not sure if its because we wipe quite harsh on that area. now we only pat pat that area and not wipe it. dun worry abt ur boy. its good sign that its healing. we'll pray for his speedy recovery too

joanna
thanks for the info.

thanks for your well wishes...
But I'm still here

see gynae this morning... seems like false alarm again... so I'm still waiting...

SY,
My girl used to drink 80ml in hospital.. but now she only drink 60ml. Sometimes they just dun have the appetite lor, PD says it is normal.

Joanna,
Hope James get well soon. I heartpain also when I see my Jamie taking blood test liao.. understand how u feel. Dun worry baby have short memory for pain at this moment. It will takes some time for the wound to recover. Meanwhile, u have to take care of urself so that u are able to take good care of him.

Cookie,
Looks like ur baby wants u to enjoy ur CNY first

Wishing all mummies HAPPY NEW YEAR in advance too!
This year will definitely be a very different NEW YEAR for every mummies here.

cookie - yeah maybe your baby wants to be out after CNY. be patient ya!

Wishing all mummies a Happy Chinese New Year!!!
Gong Xi Gong Xi!

Hi May,

Yep, I am taking all 12 weeks of ML. Managed to carry fwd 9 days of leave fr last year because of Cephas premature birth. Was planning to take to rest during the last week of Dec (Edd was 6 Jan 2006) but he came out on 2 Dec. I have 30 days of annual leave this year. More than enough to bring him for his jabs.

Hi SY,

I ordered from Melrose for Church friends for Cephas 1st month. Wanted Choz but ended ordering the fruit tarts from Melrose as requested by them.

Try putting your baby to sleep on his tummy. Cephas is like that sometimes. He does not cry but he will refuse to go to sleep after some of his feeds. Last night, I put him on his tummy & he slept until 8am this morning. Managed to rest thru out the nite.

Hi Zhimin,

Yep, Cephas's looks have changed & still is. Remember to take lots of pics & you will be able to tell the diff. He looked a bit ang moh at birth. Now that he is chubby, he looks really oriental. My cousin nicknamed him "Fei Fei"!

Went for my pap smear this morning. Gynae checked me & said my tummy grew back nicely. My belly button hole has also shrunk as compared to the size after I 1st gave birth. The dark brown line down my navel has also faded to a light brown.

Gynae said "See you in a year's time for review. You can start thinking of the 2nd one aready."

So all mummies, when will you start thinking or planning for the 2nd baby? I told HB I want to enjoy Cephas for at least 2 ears before thinking of the next one.

Hi May,

Yep. Same thots here. Think we all want to enjoy time with our precious 1st borns before thinking of having the 2nd one

My girl keeps on hiccups... any remedies? very heartache leh when seeing her hiccup.

She average can hiccup for two to three times per day leh!!

SY,
My boy also sleep very little in the day as well. At most 1 hour and will wake up.
But he tends to fall asleep while latching on. Put him down and he'll wake up and mang zhang. Need to hold him and pat him to sleep.
But after 9pm, he can sleep liao. At night, just wake up and feed and then back to sleep. Thank goodness.

Joanna,
Hope your James will get well soon! Don't worry too much.

My Isaac always want to be held. Cannot leave him lying down on his own! Will make a lot of noise and fake crying to get attention and to be held. Jialat! I tried ignoring him but after a while, his fake crying will become real crying and he can really wail the house down!

Zhimin,
BB hiccups are very normal. Just ignore it. They are not botered by the hiccups actually, think it bothers us more!

Sysa,
I'm taking 2 months leave and 3rd month flexi. Got to return to work on 13 Feb. Quite fast...
On one hand, looking forward to going back, on the other hand, I know I'll miss my BB. But good thing is, I'll be working 3 days week for at least 2 months.

Today had lunch at Plaza Sing with my colleagues and boss cos boss treating CNY lunch. Then went shopping! But end up buying stuff for BB and none for myself. Never buy any new clothes for CNY. Brought my manual pump along and pump at the nursing room after lunch. Cos can't imagine shopping with rock hard breasts!

queen,
hee such cute pics of Isaac!
so u also feel engorged still? i wonder when will engorgement stop? Or will it stop at all? Coz i feel engorged very easily too n need to pump...can't imagine if i need to go out next time for half a day or more then how?! My Janelle feeds not enough for me to lessen the engorgement, so need to pump on top of her feedings.

sysac,
yeah i think i'll also wait 2 yrs before trying for the 2nd one! i somehow think it's good that the 2nd one comes when the 1st one is already 3 yrs old or so....coz easier to handle

how did u make ur tummy and belly-button go back to normal?? Did u do any exercises?

joanna,
poor baby of yours...so young gotta go for op already...hope he recovers soon!!

durianlover
pump for only 5min each time to relieve engorgement. LC says that if we pump more than that, our body will think we need more milk, then engorgement will come again as MS increases.

joanna
hope your bb recovers soon, so poor thing, so young hv to go for op.

Rena
can check with you the name of the infant powder for the wind? Can get from normal medical hall? My bb has a lot of wind, can cry for hours.

Dear Mummies
Would like to ask for some advice and experience..
right Before you are due or deliver your baby..
DO you expereince cramp at the lower abdominal? it is not contraction pain.
The pain is like... if we are pre-preg and there are wind in our stomach and the wind trying to squeeze thru the intestine and causes the pain..

On Thursday morning, I notice some brown discharge.. then since Mid nite to Friday I have this painful cramp that comes every 10-15 mins thru out the nite. At first it's is bearable and I still can fall alseep... but it's getting out of hand.. last nite I simply cannot sleep and the cramp come and go at 15 mins interval and it's severe

The thing it only affect my lower abdominal very near to V area and pelvic and the pain is consistence therefore gynae think it should not be contraction...

Just wanna know if anyone of you experience same as me...

RE:Cure for Hiccups
My mum has very good cure for hiccups. Whenever my girl hiccups, she will feed her with warm water..then stroke her back upwards for sometimes and it cures.. u can try it out

kriss
very fan ley...
I told Dr Ho abt it.. but he never say anything but should not be contraction. the nurse said are pressure from the baby...
I suspect it becos of the flow of the mucus plug flow down... like when I have mensus and there are blood clog flow out, I feel the same kind of pain...

Anyway thanks.

Hi Queen,

I see. So u will return to work after CNY. I am returning to work on 27 Feb. Wanted to take 10 weeks initially & then thre remaining 2 weeks flexi. But I figured it will be disruptive for me where work is concerned. End up taking the full 12 weeks.

I need to brace myself to return to office. Had a mini reno done & my cubicle was in a mess when I returned to give cakes to my colleagues. Figure I need at least a week to get everything in order. On top of that, Cephas premature birth created some frenzy in the office. The 2 people covering me had major confusion so I think I will need to tidy things up when I return

Hi Durianlover,

The only exercise is Cephas. My tummy was not really big to begin with. Breast feeding, expressing & taking care of him is a good form of exercise.

cookie
I know how u feel. I had a lot of false alarms too, v xian one.. then, maybe it's the pressure of bb pressing on that area. Anyway, enjoy your CNY first lah, poor me confinement at home and bb is always crying.

Happy Lunar New Year!

I am preparing food for the reunion dinner now. Yummy yum

Enjoy whether you are waiting to give birth, doing confinement or visitng!

kriss
I'm not so fan abt the false alarm but fan more due to the irritating cramp that come every 10 mins at nite...arrgghhh...
ya I will lor enjoy CNY and hope bb dun be overdue too many days... everyone is telling me anytime.. since I have Show...

You dun fan also.. very soon our confinement will be over and very soon you and bb will fall into a routine and things will be much better!...
Wish all mummies :
Gong Xi Fa Cai, Wan Shi Ru Yi !!!... Happy CHinese New year!!

Hi all, thanks for all your well wishes. Baby Ashley is 6 days old now, but it has been very tough taking care of her becoz I am still very weak and cannot stand for long...her weight also drop fr 3.87kg to only 3.5kg now...my PD says weight loss too much.

Struggling with breast engorgement as trying to TBF...baby will suckle 1 hr and only sleep 1 hr...so basically I dun have much rest. Also hit with post-natal blues, past 2 days hv been crying (normally I seldom cry) as just feel so overwhelm. Thank God my mum and hubby around to help me.

Cookie - try to eat and sleep well so u will have energy to push when the time comes.

Ivory - thanks for always updating the data! Congrats on your baby boy

Just check does your baby pant sometimes during feeding? My boy will pant, wonder if its because he sucks too hard. Sometimes, breathing also abit noisy while feeding.

Y,
My baby is having the same prob. Not only during feeding, also during her sleep. She breathe very loudly and short. Checked with PD, he say is normal. Asked me to stop awhile during feed so that baby can take a short rest.

May,
oh...very stress hor, basically i get paranoid very easily. My CL away for CNY so gotta look after myself for couple of days. no joke, no time for myself now. cant wait for her to come back, so lack of sleep and my back aching.

RE : Feeding amount
My baby drinks abt 60-70ml per feed every 2-3hrs depending on whether he can finish the entire amount. How much does your babies drink? My mom keeps complaining i give too little but to me why give so much if he doesnt want it.

Ariel
My boy's weight dropped from 3.3kg to 3kg when he discharged. But, during my 1st week visit increased to 3.2kg, then following week was 3.7kg. Don't worry, bbs will lose wt during 1st 10 days.
I can understand, me had a bit of post natal blues too, try to rest and let your mum and hb do everything else. You just feed bb and then rest. Soon, it will be better..

Ariel
As much as I wish to eat and sleep well..
my lower abdominal cramp is killing me at night and I couldnt sleep much... I wake up every 10 mins when the pain come...

Ashley is so cute!...ya like kriss say... dun worry or do any other thing just concentrate on feeding and rest... leave the rest to CL and HB.

Hi all mummies!

Wishing you all a Happy and Blessed CHinese NEw Year! Am quickly taking the opportunity to post something here as well as check the updates.

SInce having had the emergency C-sect, my mum aka confinement lady had been nagging me to rest more and lie down more for my own good.

Baby Daren is an angel in the mornings and afternoon, but coming to late night (where is the adults sleeping time) he turns into quite a wakeful baby. Very hard to put him to sleep at night and I'll end up sleeping at around 2 plus 3 am.

ANy mummies experiencing this??

When I feed my baby and the hankie is always wet, while drinking, milk leaks from the side of his mouth. I'm using Avent bottle. Wondering if its the way i feed, the way he sucks or he doesnt suit the bottle.

mashy
why u say your boi is not growing well leh? I'm having probs with my boy these few days too, he's crying non-stop evey moment of his awake time. Only time he's not crying is sleeping and feeding. Wonder if it's the growth spurt. He's feeding almost every hour too.

dear mummies
can share how is your bb's growth spurt like? Usually occurs at 3-4th week. I dun know if it's my boy's growth spurt. He's crying non-stop evey moment of his awake time. Only time he's not crying is sleeping and feeding. Not sure if it's coz he's constantly hungry. Though i dun mind feeding him every hour, I'm worried that if i feed him every hour, he's only getting the foremilk as my body also need sufficient time to produce the hindmilk.

mashy
forgot to add that you dun hv to worry too much, I realised that when bb's suckle, much more milk flows out as compared to pumping.
drink more papaya soup lah.

Y,
my baby also pants while feeding. PD says it's normal, not to worry!

mamachan,
seems like my baby janelle's same as ur daren! sleeps most part of the day and can be pretty wide awake at nite! It's tiring for us parents then! i'm trying to keep her more awake during the day in the hope that she'll sleep at nite. Last nite i was kept awake till 2am coz janelle refused to sleep!

Ariel,
congrats on ur little one. So cute n so much hair!!

Dun worry, my baby's weight also dropped from 3.6kg to 3.313kg upon discharge. PD said it's normal for NBs to lose 10% of their birthweight, but must gain back their birthweight by 10 days old. Since ashley suckles so long it'll stimulate production of ur MS, so just persevere on!!

Blessed Chinese New Year to all!!

Happy Chinese New Year everyone!

Mashy,
Why do you say your boy is not growing well?

Ariel,
Ashley is so cute!
1st few days are like that one lah, feel damn overwhelmed and will cry loh. Breastfeeding is so tough initially. But it gets easier. Just remember to latch Ashley properly and nurse every 2 to 3 hours, at least 20 mins per breast.
If expressing, then must do it every 3 hours to establish milk supply!

krissie,
I don;t feel that my Isaac has very significant signs of growth spurt except that there was a few days in 3-4 weeks which he suddenly want to feed every 2 hours, instead of the initial 3 hours. Ever since then his feeding schedule has more variation. In the day, he feed every 2 to 3 hours. At night, sometimes can tong 4 to 5 hours! Never had to feed him after just 1 hour. But now he tend to have very very bad crying fits in the evening. It is really wailing! I'm not sure if he is just fussy or he has colic or what. For now, I'm treating it as a 'Fussy Evening' Syndrome, though it has happened for the past few evenings. I read about this from http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/fussy-evening.html
Is your boy really crying with tears or just sound like crying? My boy sometimes make crying sounds but with no tears. Fake crying to get people to carry him. Also, how long is your nursing session? If you are feeding him every 1 hour, your nursing session should be quite short?