(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

<font color="ff0000">Joanna</font>

You mentioned about buying Playtex from Mothercare right? Are they still selling? Another old mummy friend of ours is interested in getting..

SSF

My boy is on TBM. No FM at all. Sometimes I wonder if he's getting enough, coz he didn't gain enough wt during his last PD check. But he always seems so contented other than during his growth spurts and pees and poos normally leh.

mashy - not to worry, as long as he is contented after each feed and poo and pee as often. it shld be fine. its just so nice to see our bb smile and satisfied after each feed

btw, do you express out your milk or directly latch your bb on?

SSF

I direct latch coz i find it such a hassle to express and a lot of hard work. Hehe. So when it's milk milk time, it's mummy time!

Yah, always find it a joy to see his satisfied smile after each feed.
He'll give a stretch and goes back to sleep.

durianlover

strip your bb! hehe, not all the way down lah. Just don't swaddle. Or change diapers. I find my bb always waking up when he changes diapers and the cold bb wipes sure to wake him up.

mashy - for me, my breast will start leaking every 2 hrs and when i breastfeed him, another breast will start leaking. i find it troublesome coz the timing of his feed is also not fix. so i end up expressing out. latching and expressing will actually increase more of my MS and i dun store my EBM more than 2 days. so now i just feed him with bottles which i am quite guilty of as there is no bonding. is expressing also consider TBF?

sunshinekid
according to the thread, they purchasing the Blue tube one. The thread mentioned it's creamy and improved formula.
Think Desitin comes in either Blue or White tube.. and my friend and colleague also recommended the Blue tube one...so should be correct ba

kriss
wow thank you... this friday I must remember to buy from the Mt A pharmacy the sealing cap...
ok will rmember to seek coaching on BF...heehee..

Hi all, so many posts within 4 days! I have finally delivered on 22 Jan to baby Ashley via natural birth, weighing at 3.87kg! (Cookie, your turn will come soon, just enjoy this period with hubby, go out pak tok)

Birth story:
20 Jan 11.50pm- Admitted to MAH for inducement. Inserted first tablet.
21 Jan 8am - Gynae did VE, only 0.5cm dilated, so inserted 2nd tablet. Another VE performed at 9pm, only 1cm dilated. Pretty disappointed as I have been walking around alot in MAH to hasten dilation. BTW, VE very painful for me, think its due to my tight cervix, everytime will bleed. 3rd pill inserted t 9pm.
22 Jan 9am - Gynae said got 2cm dilation. Broke my waterbag. Ask for epidural before being put on oxytocin drip. Unfortunately, my epidural didn't work well, only left side numb, right side can still pain. After Oxytocin drip started, I can feel the contraction coming very strongly and frequently. Nurse increase dorsage of epidural to numb my right side, didn't work and I end up feeling nausea. Anathesian called back again to reinsert my epidural. He gave me a booster shot to my right side and adjusted the needle to central. BUT, although my right leg is numb, my right tummy continue to feel contraction pain. After 4 hrs of oxytocin drip, I cannot tahan anymore because the pain was really unbearable, told hubby going for c-section. Really want to bang my head agst the bed, feeling so weak by then that no voice to scream in pain haha.

Thank God gynae came in at 2.30pm (this is very unusually as he has already checked me at 9am and said I need another 8 to 10 hrs to delivery). He did a VE and said I was fully dilated and baby head has descended!! All these within 4 hrs instead of the 8 to 10 hrs!!

Push for over an hr, baby delivered by vaccuum as I really no more energy and body really trumatised.

Also vomitted and have no appetite after delivery. Now, after 3 days, I can only stand for 1min, else will feel giddy.

BUT, really happy to see Ashley, and will try to put her pic up soon. Sorry for being long winded....now working hard on breastfeeding

I've been soooo busy since Ariane's arrival that I don't have time for myself anymore. Every minute of time when baby is sleeping is so precious! Imagine, latching her on, 30-40min gone. Change diapers, 5 min gone, after that she'll wanna latch on again, anotehr 15min gone, then she sleeps 1-3 hrs and the cycle starts again! I hardly have time to even touch my laptop until today!

Sore nipples,
My girl is small sized and her lips are quite small so although she latches on properly, she cannot cover my entire aereola. It does sting for a few seconds but after that it doesn't hurt anyore. However, I'm getting sore nipples from the pumping in between

SY, Y
So far, the max I've managed to pump in between feeds is 30-40ml from each breast. If I pump immediately after my baby sucks, I can also get abt 10-20ml only combined. HOwever, I think drinking lots of water in between feeds helps in producing more milk. At least I felt I can pump more out if I'm not thirsty.

Baby poop,
My girl likes to poop only after we've changed her nappy to a fresh one. During the day, its ok, but, at night, it can be quite frustrating and sometimes, I had to change her diapers 3 times consectively after latching her on for 40min. After that, she wants to suckle for another 5-15min more if not she refuses to sleep. So tiring.. u all got the same problem?

etelle
accrdg to the nurse, Dr Ho only does VE when you're past EDD. So, dun worry.

cookie
ya, dun worry, he's v professional and reassuring. You're in good hands. All the best!

SSF
the infant carrier u mean those which looks like infant car seat to carry bb around. lucky bb brand is not bad.

Ariel
congrats! your birth story sounds v similar to mine.. I also vomitted and pushed 1hr, then vaccuum. So weak after that.

Sept03Bride,
My PD actually told me sunning baby does insignificant help to bb's jaundice. He told me that baby has to drink more milk to move the digestive system to rid of the jaundice. I guess you'll have to latch her on more often if you're breastfeeding. Most BF babies have jaundice problem initially because they're not latched on often enough during the first week. LC told me to wake baby up if bb is sleeping in intervals of 3 hrs or on demand, whichever is faster, during the day to feed baby. At night, can feed every 4-5hrs or on demand. Hope this helps.

i start puting my bb to sleep in the sarong during the day time. he can sleep better on the sarong rather than keep waking up when sleeping on the bed

Does your baby curl up their legs often? Megan does and i am worried she will have colic later on. Tried to burp her after every feed but she don't burp easily especially if i latch her on direct. If using bottle feeding FM, it's easiler to burp her. Any mummies have the same experience?

Feeling quite frustrated lately. My company kept calling me to check on some office work and i am getting sick of them. And just when i shared yesterday that MEgan is always sleeping, last night took us a few hours to get her to sleep and this morning too. .... Guess she's getting more alert now....

I am one lazy mum. Always latch her on, lazy to pump. So i can't tell how much she drinks yet....

cookie
u must really lean abt bf as much as u can in hosp. once home it can be difficult.

ariel
welcome to the club! congrats!!

SSF,
thanks for your advice. seeing some improvement tody. actually managed 20ml from one breast just now!

yuki,
acually letting bb latch on not lazt lah. if i can i prefer latching. pumping is so tiring n i think the time can be used to bond with bb.

yuki,
i seldom burp my baby when i bf him. only burp him if we give him fm at night.
Ethan likes to curl up his legs too &amp; he stretches &amp; grunts alot nowadays.

wendy
yah i think it has been a busy time with bb ard! my CL going back for CNY. hope i can handle bb. sometimes bb doesn't wan to sleep at night.....can be a nightmare!

Ariel,
3.87kg is big! You did a great job delivering naturally!

babylon,
I have resisted putting Isaac in sarong so far. But has been cuddling and rocking him to sleep most of the times. Probably same efet as sarong. Sigh... my MIL is warning me that most probably he needs sarong soon from the way me and hubby has been rocking him to sleep.

Wendy,
my boy usually poo after feeding or during feed. Even when he poos in between feed, if it's near to next feeding, I will wait until finish feed then change. And by now know his pattern liao, his poo is not one short and done one. He will poo and stop and then 5 mins later poo again. I will always wait like 15mins from his first poo to ensure he finish pooing.
As for suckling, my boy usually feed only about 30mins, at the end, is just suckling loh and falling asleep. I just pull him off and put him to bed at night.

Yuki,
I also damn lazy to pump. But nowadays will start to tandem pump once in the morning. Want to build up at least 10 bottles reserve cos need to return to work in 2 weeks' time.

SY,
I also find latching easier cos just carry BB, and let BB suck till he pulls himself out. At most just look at the clock and make sure he at least suck 20 mins on 1 breast. Can watch TV and surf net at the same time! Pumping quite stress cos always have the pressure of wanting to pump as much as possible. Always feel like need to set new records! Haha...

Congrats Ariel!

RE: Curl up legs
My Jamie likes that too. She will start kicking and stretching actively when she is abt to sleep or just woken up.

RE: Wake up in fright
I notice that my girl are very light sleeper during day time. A slight noise makes her wake up in fright. Day time she sleeps 2-3hrs and wake up for milk but intermittenly will wake up when there is noise. Anyone has this prob? I have bean sprout pillow placed on her chest already but doesn't help...Any tips?

At night I will need to feed her 60ml at 11pm and subsequently at 4am and 7am. Quite standard although she is only 10 days old. Maybe due to formula milk.

When sleeping, my Isaac always turn his head to the left and sleep. Even when we put pillows to prevent him from turning his head to the left, after a while, he will still automatically sleep with his head turned to the left. My MIL says like that the left side of his head will be flatter than the right. Do your BBs have this tendency?

krissie - no i mean not the car seat one. the one u carry on your body to go shopping without the pram.

ariel - congrats on the arrival of your baby!

queen,
yah, if cna latch i will latch but bb impatient and cranky! feel that with pump, i can only watch tv...so boring..hard to surf net.
my bb likes to sleep on his side so we let him sleep one day right side, next day left side. if not head will be flatter. that's what happen to me...

queen,

i also found that my son like to be cruddle to sleep..espcially in the evening when we are watching TV...i try to put my bb to sleep on bed during the day..will put him on sarong unless he do not want to sleep..nite time 100% to be on the bed coz base on my last experience with my elder son, he need to be rock every moment..can.t afford that coz i need my sleep also as i am still working.

SY,

I will put my bb alternate side after every feed. My elder son head on side was flat due to my inexperience..just let him sleep only on one side..

Queen,
my BB also like to sleep on her Left, head already bit flat liao so sad... friend say its because BB's right is the wall so she'll turn towards left where all the 'action' is... so for the past 2 nights we started turning her 180degrees n true enough she sleeps more on her right now hopefully it'll balance off...

been crazy lately caring for Shannon and her feeding demands...

SY,
my SHannon is super mang zhang when she is hungry, hands everywhere and sometimes so difficult to latch her on...

Queen,
yep, my gal like to sleep on her right, and my mum also say one side will be flatter than the other, but no choice, she can turn herself very easily.

May,
my gal is very restless when she sleeps on her back, so now we place her on her side, sometimes hugging the mattress, and she sleeps better this way. Also, we wrap her up so she feels more secure and sleeps longer.

Wendy,
yep my gal poos after feed as well, sometimes few times can feel the poo in her diaper.. so now, we always wait about 10 min after each feed, then we change her... sometimes, can still kena flying poo on my clothes when changing her..

Yuki,
Shannon's legs curl up too, touch wood, so far, so sign of colic though she does have alot of wind in her tummy... I learned that taking her legs , bending them up and crossing them, and press them against her tummy for 6 sec will help to relieve the wind in their tummy, may help colic.

SY
my CL also going back during CNY. think that will be a 'rehearsal' for me to take care of bb full time after full mth.

clare, sleepingdeear
my gal also likes to sleep at one side. and we are also trying to turn her to sleep another side but most of the time, she will turn it back to her favourite side... and her fav side already a bit flat leh...

queen
my mil kept asking us not to hold bb to sleep. 'cos bb will be get used to it, and next time, it's hard for us to do our own things and have our own time...

RE: wind in the tummy

does any babies have wind in the tummy? what should I do ? my CL suggest that I buy the chinese medicine from Ee ren Sen or let baby drin the Fui Zai water? any suggestion?

SSF

Of course! Expressing is still considered TBF so long as no FM. I don't have leaky breasts, so no free milk to go along. Everytime it's hard work and real time.

My boy is becoming a marathon latcher. Can go on for 1hr until he falls asleep! Then 2 hrs later, more milk time! Ai yoh! Think he's sucking my breasts for comfort.
He used to do so well with just 30mins. All becoz of my efforts to make him drink more milk.

yuki
if u direct latch bb, there's not that much air for him to take in as compared to giving the bottle, thus, they dun burp so easily.

Queen,
My baby is the opposite..she likes to turn to the right when sleeping. Tried stuffing pillow and she cried loudly..so now we leave it. But today I bought the sarong...so intend to put her inside when she is cranky...heard that sarong can make the head rounder..my baby's head also flatter on one side. Wonder why?

SSF,
I have one of those.. butI find the shape is very funny. When I place my baby inside, she will get hunched up.

RE: Poo
Can I check what is the colour and texture of the poo of FM baby? My girl is having yellow and watery for the first week. But this week I notice that it turns to yellow and small "kidney bean" sized.

Sunny,
I got banned for cuddling baby for too long to sleep also. Same reason as ur MIL, they dun want us to spoil them or else next time difficult handle. My girl is smart enough now to differentiate. She will cry loudly when we put her down...she will cry loudly as she knows there will be someone that will rush to carry her. Once someone picked her up, she stopped immediately.

may
oh... i think your gal knows how to catch ppl's attention already. try to 'lecture' her a bit and she will understand one... if not, you will suffer when you start working... and your bb's caretaker, too...

Rena,
U can buy RU YI Oil from provision shop or chinese medicated hall. Rub a few drop on ur palm till hot and rub it on baby's tummy. I always do that when I bathe her. Alternatively, Fui Zai water helps too.

Gave birth to Lisa on 20 Jan @ 2139. Had epidural and it was such a relief! Will share more next time. Meanwhile here is our photo!
364808.jpg

Went checkup yesterday. Gynae say no need to remove my C-sect stitches, it will disappear.Was told that we need to do paps smear test 2mths after birth. Anyone going to do that?

Hehe..I gained 20kg during pregnancy. Day 10 now, I still have 7kg more to lose then I am back to my usual 53kg weight.

thks casey for the pic! ya the only mum who posted pic of yourself on this thread

may - yes my gynae ask me to return a mth later to check for pap smear.

Ariel &amp; Casey,
congrats to the both of u! Welcome to the world of motherhood

Ariel,
ur baby's really big! i thot mine 3.6kg was big already. Heh.

Re: sleepy baby
thanks for all ur suggestion on waking baby up to take in one full feed! But trust me, i've tried all ur suggestions - stripping her, burping her, changing diapers, etc etc. Doesn't work! Even if i manage to wake her, she doesn't want to open her mouth to continue latching on. Well, i shall continue to persevere in waking baby up when she falls asleep after too short a feed!

Wendy,
my baby also poos after every feed. And sometimes she poos right after changing her. So i gave up being a cleanliness freak...i'll just let her be as long as she doesn't fuss or cry over her dirty diaper. Then change her a while later.

Re: tummy
Anyone's dark line down the tummy has faded?? Mine seems to be even darker now than before!! Or is it now that tummy is smaller i can see the line more clearly? Dunno lah. But it looks terrible. Any way to lighten the line?
And has anyone managed to get back your pre-preggie tummy? i'm left with one 'spare tyre' on the front! Seems tough to get rid of it...

may wong,
wah u managed to shed 13kg within that 10days? I still have 10kg to lose. gained 16kg. but confinement must eat well, so to "pu" our body sufficiently.

Anyone has any idea when can we start exercising?

Thanks Wendy.Yah he is indeed getting better already. He drinks more now. But i have 1 problem. Becos milk flow was not established earlier, we suuplement with FM. Now baby is refusing to latch on already. Maybe baby has nipple confusion.
Any remedies?

Congrats to all mama who have delivered...

I am so busy with my girl, really no time to read up all the post!

Now most of the time got to latch my girl on... and she seems always not enough after 1.5 hours of feeding!!

Durianlover,
I got the ugly lines too. Got C-section, so I cannot go for massage and a gd scrub yet. Hopefully can get rid of it. So ugly!!

Hi Ariel &amp; Casey,

Hi SSF,

I posted my pic too During Cephas 1st month celebrations as requested by you. When are you posting yours?

Hi May,

I am going for my pap smear tomorrow. Cephas is 2 months old tomorrow.

durianlover - my dark liine is also still there and still very dark. not sure when it be fading. sigh!
i am also back to my normal skinny weight except for 2 kg(i think its the breast milk). sigh thot i could gain some wgt from the delivery.. but lost all 13kg from the 15kg that i gain.

sysac - i will post mine during the one mth party
now cannot see ppl la..still look quite in a mess. haha..