(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

May,

the rash on the face will go away.. that is what my CL tell me .. its normal..

RE: baby pictures

All the babies are so cute ..

RE: coping with nights

now a days I did not really have time to read the thread as I am learning to look after baby in the night and it is so tired as baby wakes up every two hours for milk...stress

SY - i think can start doing kegels aldy... when i had the stinging pain, i also did kegels... now stil trying to do them when i can remember...

Re : baby's eyes
i notice Celeste's eyes have got a smudge over them. sometin like u know oil on water tat kinda look... its a very small area but its on both eyes... it cant be seen unless under super close scrutiny... and i happen to see them when i was looking thru her one brught afternoon... u think its ok? or is it cos baby's vision not yet properly developed? *worried*

Hi mummies, hope everyone is coping well with their babies!

RE: rashes
Sebastian has rashes on his face and neck too. I used breastmilk to dab on the rashes since Saturday and he's looking better.

My Sebastian Kai-Jie is 2 weeks old today! Time seems to passby so quickly!

Here's a pic I took earlier...

363725.jpg

curly - your boy has a pair of nice captivating eyes. very handsome. is he mix? coz he looks like one.

i am still waiting for my boy's double eyelid to appear. his dad has a sleepy one and i do have it. so not sure if he will have mine or his dad. haha...

SY,
I realise if I get enough rest, I'll get better supply. That's wat the nurse in the hospital told me too. Sometimes when my MIL comment that I hv not enuff supply for my son, I'll get pretty upset. Try not too get too stress up. Being mum really not easy hor.

My wound got better on the 10th day. Stitches start dropping liao. Was terrible on the 7th day, gynea gave me some wash to clean the wound. Had slight pus. Now my vagina itch a little gynea says normal. Cos we wear pads all the time might cause yeast infection.

hi Y
i am also pretty upset with my CL when she said bb's not drinking enough and that's y keep waking up for milk. but overall, my CL is good...

wenyl,
yah, the first think pple say abt my bb is that he has a lot of hair!

mongs,
ha...a few nurses tot my bb is a girl! cos of his hair..he does have a girl face so not surprise that u say our bbies look alike...

SSF,
do u pump 5 min per breast and alternate or just pump until empty? sometimes i duno whether my breast is empty or not cos when i pump, i dun see any milk coming out but as i pump further milk will come out. or if i squeeze with hand, milk will come out in drops. your ss very good. i have been taking longan drink. maybe will tkae milo also.

may,
kkh is different. the nurse told me if the bill not significantly different from package, they will send bill to my place. unless i incur a lot of extra charges from package, then i need to pay before discharge.

thanks for the compliment on my boy! think must be the hair....

god's child,
so can start doing a bit of kegels? me only day 6 so dunno whether it is too soon. sometimes the pain can be a bit terrible...

if stitches burst, what kind of symptoms do we experience?

not sure abt the smudge over bb's eyes. u want to check with doc?

sysac,
light brown hair? that's nice actually..mine is a bit brown. bb din get my brown hair.

curly,
our boy looks a bit mixed leh...

Y,
i think must get enough rest to have better supply. today i did the massage and a bit rush through lunch etc and after massage when i pump, ss was lesser.

yah, i feel some itch. how did u know u had pus? u went to see gynae?

durianlover,

Lots of BB photos to see. All look very cute!

Re: pacifier
Seems like a lot your BBs will reject the pacifier? My Isaac will want to spit it out whenever it is put into his mouth. But I'll hold it in his mouth, he takes a while to get use to it everytime and eventually will suck on it.

cookie,
I use the manual pump. First time I tried suckle and pump at the same time, was quite a balancing act. Only way is to carry BB by football hold with pillows to support BB. The other hand pump loh. Not very comfortable.

Do you all know whether RObinson's sell the Ameda pump? Cos I have Robinson's vouchers. Other than MIM, where else sells the Ameda pump?

queen,
u using Avent now right? sometimes i find the suction inconsistent. did i use it wrongly? and it makes weird squeaky noises also.

SY - normally i pump until the milk emptied in one breast so i can gauge the qty for each breast. i will use my hand to squeeze the side of the breast on every angle making sure there is no more milk. as sometimes the milk will leak in another breast, i place the mendele milk shell collection in another breast so i can pump at ease not worrying the other breast will leak. then those milk collected in the shell will not gone to waste and can pour into the container.

for me, basically i dun want to freeze the milk. i just want to keep it in the fridge and use it for 2 days. then a new supply. so i try to pump every 3-4 hrs. i am quite lazy in pumping out actually. in the day, i will try to breastfeed my boy, when my hubby is back in the evening, he will take my EBM and feed him including the night. so next morning, i can replenish the stock.

yeah my milk supply is quite OK. if you want more MS, after breastfeeding, try pumping out so that the brain will stimulate that your breast require more milk. mass

SSF,
when u pump, is the milk flow consistent or it varies? mine is sometimes in drops, sometimes nothing, then sometimes squirts.

sorry ah...so many questions...

sy,
yeah i agree with the rest, ur bb has lots of hair.. pple still say my boy have lots of hair but i think not as many as some others like urs.. well for breast milk, i latch javier on in the day and at night, i will pump and ask hubby to feed him with FM so that he will be fuller and can have longer sleep and i also can rest better. just had a joke with HB yst that FM = FATHER MILK so when its feeding FM time, its HB's time to do the bonding.. my max pump out ms is still pathetic, at 50ml max for both.. now at 4th weeks already still like that.. haiz..

curly,
wow ur boy sure have a nice pair of eyes.. big and round and he sure is a handsome boy too.

god's child,
yes, i also noticed javier's eyes got the smudges too.. like a layer of oil over it. not too sure what it is but i think it will go away when time pass.. will ask the PD when we go for his mthly chk up sometimes early nxt mth.

SY - no its not consistent. sometimes i can only pump up to 80ml for both breast. u shld pump when you feel your breast is full. every 3 hrs interval shld have at least some milk unless you are BF in the past 3 hrs, the qty may decrease.

its ok..i will answer if i can. but i am no expert either

edd2jan - ya, i think they will fade away wf time also... cos HB was saying baby's vision is blurred now, so as it fades, then their clear vision should come in... wat a relief...

Re : Cleaning baby's nose
how do your clean baby's nose? i use a cotton bud and twirl the dirt out. but for one side, i couldn't and it is getin deeper in... any other method???

HOw often does your newborn sleep? My Megan slleps most of the time and was awake for less than half an hour per wake. Is that norm or is Megan a sleepy baby?

Hi mommies who has celebrate baby's first month, any good caterer to recommend?

Hi Edd2jan,

Ha Ha. I am like you. Give FM when i am tired. Usually hubby do the job.

god child - speaking of cleaning the nose. yesterday me and my hubby had a challenge. both nostrils has deposit and we moist the cotton bud first to soften it and then use a dry one to pull it out. it was so sticky and big. after that, i can feel my boy is much happier as his nose doesn't give out that funny sound when he breathe. so maybe you can try the same method. not sure if you moist the deposit first.

yuki - my boy seems to be sleeping so much in the day and like an owl in the night. we always have problem trying to make him sleep at ard midnight after his feed. now is his feed time, and i try to wake him up and he drank only 20 ml and went back to sleep. is your baby the same too?

Yuki

Celeste is more wakeful in the day from bout noon til evening 6pm...and sleeps after her feed at nite... she does take naps of less than 30mins in the day... we try to talk to her and carry her so as to make it a routine for her to not fall asleep after a feed... hopefully it can get to her and aft my CL leaves, it will be a breeze for me

Queen
Robinson do not sell Ameda pump ley... it is not widely available in dept store. Unless they newly sell them which I'm not aware.
You can buy from Momsinmind or breastfeeding Org or the distributor which is Euramedic - 68447717.
I believe Euramedic is selling cheaper then the other 2 above.

yesterday...a friend of mine told me... another friend og mine using the Ameda...her BF increas from 60ml to 600ml!!!...so my friend now very tempted to buy too...heehee
I cannot believe it ley... am still waiting to try out the pump

Hi God's child,

I use the baby tweezer and pick out Cephas' nose deposits. I do it when he's asleep. I can't stand the deposits inside his nose & so clear his nose once every 3 days.

This is only a suggestion as it works for Cephas. I let him sleep on his tummy during the day when we can watch him. In that way, he is able to sleep for 3-4 hours at one go. On his tummy, he is also able to expel the wind in his tummy.

Started doing this abt 2 weeks ago when he was being fretful during his afternoon naps. Now, he will shift his head from one side to the other on his own w/o us helping him.

You may wish to try in order to let your babies sleep longer during the day.

Megan can sleep both in the day and night. I tried to talk to her after her feed in the day to encourage her to stay awake. At night, after her feed, i will burp her then place her down to sleep. As i latch her on direct, per feed can take about 1 hour. So i was wondering if it is norm for her to sleep so much.........

Queen:
this person selling her Ameda pump in martket place...maybe u will be interested.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/363617.html?1138076571

Or you can call distributor sales - mickey 96233383. I made bulk purchase Ameda pump thru him.
Abt a mth ago.. he selling $290 for the dual pump to individual and will deliver to your place and explain on the usage. But I last heard they are increasing the price soon.

RE: Desitin nappy Cream
Hi mummy... dunno if u heard abt this cream before... but all my mummy colleague highly recomment this cream for nappy rash...
ANyway I just saw someone doing bulk purchase for this cream... just let u know

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/364080.html?1138077352

Yuki

My boy is more wakeful since 2nd week. Wakes up in the morn, takes a nap, then is wakeful in the afternoon. At night, he sleeps like a pig. Have to wake him up for his night feeds every 3 hrs.

And I realised that he doesn't pee/poo from the feed at night 10pm when we tuck him into bed until the next morning 6am leh even though i wake him up at night for his night feeds. Any prob huh?

mashy - ur baby seems like an easy baby
ya feeding him FM or BM? FM will tend to be less diluted and i find my boy can sleep longer on FM. so sometimes, we give him FM if we want to sleep longer.

Yuki
when's your 1st mth party? I just ordered from Chilli Padi for next Tues. Will let you know how it is. We usually order for office and their food is v nice, but spicy.

SSF,
i'm using Medela electric dual pump, but dun hv NUK bottles. Only Avent ones. Just got some milk storage bags from my fren so guess i'll use that for now!

rachel & rachel hb,
congrats! your baby has same birthdate as my baby janelle!

how to make baby take a full feed? my baby feeds for only 5 mins each time n it's almost impossible to wake her up to feed again. Then she'll sleep n wake up 30mins later again to feed. Very frustrating coz it means i hardly get to sleep at night!!

Also, why must we make baby keep awake after a day feed? Any reason? My baby sleeps straight after feeding all the time...

durianlover - since u r using mendela, u can screw in NUK bottles directly n store it without transfering. avent bottles cannot fit mendela pump.

halfway thru the feed, chg the diapers or make sure u burp ur baby else if air takes up much space in the belly, baby will not have sufficient space to consume remaining milk.

reason why day shldn't sleep much is because thet will be alert n awake in the night. but if ur baby can sleep thruout night n day, its fine then.

Hi maggie...I swear by Desitin...good coverage and prevents nappy rash...it is highly recommended...10x beta than drapolene in my opinion...can get at NTUC Pharmacy at cheaper price...I think Mustafa also sells it cheaper than Guardian...
Thanks for informing about the bulk purchase...

joanna
usually hoe much they selling at NTUC pharmacy? what is the size...?
they r selling 2* 2oz( abt 2*50g tube) for $18.00
Since my colleague super recommend, I'm getting the bulk purchase too... heehee me kiasu mummy
I heard from colleague PD clinic selling $14/tube

sunny,
my CL is pretty supportive towards breast feeding. She will make sure i pump every 3hrs. now my baby drinks it as "water". luckily got her, if its my MIL, i'll go crazy. I'm very sensitive towards everything she says. dunno why.

SY,
your bb so cute. nice hair. u shaving for the full month?

when i clean with cotton wool saw yellowish thingy. did the hospital give u liquid to clean? now not completely healed yet. cant wait for it to completely heal. so stress to go toilet. has constipation. stool so hard....have you seen your gynea?

cookie
can call massage lady to so called "book" them lah. Then, call them again after delivery.

Re sealing caps - u can get from MT. A pharmacy too, i think $0.75 per pc. Fits the glass bottles that Mt. A gives. BTW, rem to ask the nurses to help u with bf, they gave me lots of tips.

Joanna
The NEPIA diapers are cloth type. Has been working well for my boy since birth. But, these 2 days, there has been leaking. Dun know why leh? Maybe he outgrew NB? Still figuring out. My boy shld be ard 3.8kg, wearing NB now. Maybe u can call them to ask them if yours is NB or S?

edd2jan
I've been taking papaya soup since delivery. starting was every day, now, alternate days, noticed that my MS will dip when I dun take, so for me it helps loh.

Wendyl
I wld like to chip in. Can you email me at [email protected] and we can discuss the details there.

krissie,
sian right. i can feel it there but when i go toilet, somehow i get tensed up and no success! damn "pek chek" i take senokot, suppose to help, its a mild laxative. but still no good!

Do you all wake your baby up every 3 hours to feed? Megan can sleep for 4-5 hours straight. I usually let it go but max 5 hours, i'll wake her up for feed. Is that ok?

Hi Krissie,

I intend to celebrate Megan's one month old on the 11 Feb. Let me know how's the food and service of your caterer, ok? Thanks.

I don't have constipation but everytime after my business, i also notice my wound would swell but will subside after a while. At first i thot it's something wrong and i get hubby to check but couldn't see the swell. When i wash my buttocks again, i notice the awell gone. Next day when i was washing my buttocks after big business, the swell comes up again.....

edd2jan,
many pple say my bb is boy. today went to see doc to check jaundice level and doc din even ask whether boy or girl n straightaway say "she". in the end i told her he is boy...many times already...

SSF,
so it is ok to come out in drops. i thought it's cos my MS not established yet.

yuki,
i also on the lookout for good caterer. think neogardens is quite highly recommended so far.

re bb sleeping/feeding
my bb also drinks a lot. he is taking like 80ml now. and he doesn't sleep! we have trouble making him sleep. even CL also cannot do anything abt him. in the end always end up feeding him when he cries. he drinks in like every 2 hours. sometimes 30ml, sometimes 60ml but in normal feeding, he can take up to 20ml.

durianlover,
my bb also like that. he suckle for a while and fall asleep. he doesn't like to latch on but he wants to suckle. sometimes i think he only using me as paicifier.

Y
me not shaving bb's hair for full month. heard that usually shave hair in 4th month for nice hair later on. but think i can't bear to cut his hair....

my gynae gave me stool softener so far my stool has been soft. no yellowish thing when i clean. though i feel pain, so far think the wound is ok. he only ask me to use water to dab and not rub.

yuki
okie, will let u know. I wake my boy up for feeds, usually, every 2.5hrs, sometimes will stretch to 3+hrs if he sleeps later or is cranky.

Today set new pumping record liao.
I latch BB on right breast and pump the left at the same time. Can pump 110ml from left breast alone! Previously need both breasts to get 125ml. So I'm quite keen to get a dual pump, cos I think if both breasts being pumped at the same time, sure can get more instead of manual pumping between 2 breasts.

SY,
did you use the dome cap to cover the lever?
It will help to reduce the squeaky sound.

durianlover,
try burping. It might wake your BB up.

queen,
i used the dome cap. but sometimes still get sound. maybe it's the way i press the handle?

wah your record very good leh....

Krissie
did gynae do VE for your during your check up at his clinic? I went for my 37 weeks visit but he no check leh......anyother Dr Ho's patient can advise? Me 37 weeks 4 days now.

Etelle
me approaching week 40 soon, Dr Ho also never do VE for me. Not sure if this Friday he will do cos it will 2 days b4 my EDD.
I think Dr Ho.. dun wanna us to go thru uncessary pain ba..
He told me although he prefer me to give birth b4 CNY so he dun need to come back but he will leave it to happen naturally.
So u dun worry... at least we are the same

yuki - for me, i will wake up my baby if he doesn't wake up for milk after 4 hrs. but i ever ask my PD, and he said feed upon demand but max is 5 hrs ..if bb still doesn;t wake up, then have to wake bb for the feed.

we are celebrating one mth on the same day
i am having it at a condo function rm. as for caterer, i will most get Thomson caterer as my company ever use them and the feedback was good.

queen - good job on the increase in MS!

etelle and cookie - we will be waiting for the delivery of your baby!
no VE is good..they will only do VE when necessary like maybe a show to see how much you dilate. trust me its not fun to have a VE done. so dun hope for one

<font color="ff0000">Cookie</font>

Can you confirm if they are selling Desitin Creamy and not the normal Desitin? Becos the normal one is useless, very difficult to wash off baby's butt, and it's very oily. I will only buy the Creamy version.