(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sysac,

bb damien reject my breast..he is so use of bottle feeding..he get very impatient whenever i try to latch him..

think partly becoz of the milk flow is slow and not much..

my mum was saying the he is just like little bird whenever it come to his feeding time. with his mouth open..

Hi babylon,

I have been bottle feeding Cephas since he was born. He was premature & my nipple is too short for him to latch on. Decided to bottle feed him regardless of Fm or BM. Cephas is also impatient when he's hungry. He will grab the teat & suck profusely.

Shannon is sleeping and hubby is out stocking up on diapers, so can come in and post..

Mashy,
Shannon is a night bb too, she drives hubby and me crazy, last night was 3rd night in a row that she refuse to sleep till 4am in the morning. I worry that I cannot cope when hubby goes back to work next week.

Yuki,
yep, think I was not latching her properly the frist few times, so she keeps crying for my breast, make me feel so frustrated when she does that non-stop. And the bad news is that she rejects bottle teats completely, so it's just me the cow she replies on for milk, so scary.

Queen,
still bleeding after a week, though my flow is not very heavy, I just use a normal pad.

Sysac,
so fast, Cephas one month already!

Congrats COnfused and all the new mummies! This site is getting busy with all starting to pop!

Yuen Yuen,
I know exactly how you feel, in fact my gynae advise me after Shannon's birth that if I want to try for a 2nd, I should go for c-section all the way. I made me sad that I cannot experience the birth process like other mummies, but I try to take comfort that at the end, Shannon is healthy and fine.

Hi Queen

The regrowth for Brazilian quite ok. Mine took like 2 - 3 weeks then it start to grow abit. can get a little itchy but don;t think it's as bad as shaven hair. The hair that grows out is much finer actually.

Yah, I heard shaven hair grows out very fast and coarser, maybe that explains the itch too. That's why I decided to just wax off everthing, takes longer time to grow back too, so makes confinement a little more comfortable, I hope.

Sleepingdeer
Yep...as long as bb is fine, I should free happy, it me and my emotional self feeling depress. Bryant also a night bb and last night I cried again because he refused to sleep after not having enough milk that stress me out.

Babylon
Damien share the same birthday as Bryant and in fact, we wanted to name him Damien too. I also do not have enough breast milk, very pump, pump like hell and only 20-30ml flow out. I don't mix BM and FM. I just make another bottle of FM and feed after the BM. Can we mix ? and how to mix. I feel that if we mix and bb didn't finish the whole bottle with the precious BM, so wasteful as it is not easy to get the 20-30ml.

Do you intend to have the first month celebration as it fall on CNY eve if I am not wrong.

I gain a total of 18kg for this pregancy and also have 8kg to lose. No should be 10kg (2kg from first pregancy was still with me after 4 years). Husband said will sponsor slimming course.

Sysac
Wow, the room so nice.

SY
hmm... think I'm feeling the same now.. not any easier to walk
still walk like penguine and due to the weight of the tummy, lower tummy feel pain when stand up to walk... pelvic still feel the pain...sigh...

COngrats Mashy and Confused and Krissis... and all who popped recently....
Seeing all mummies pop 1 by 1... make me excited and anxious too...

Now everyone is telling me... Oh anytime is it anytime u will pop??.... making my nervous!

Re :Cord blood banking
Today finally we make a decision to sign up cord blood banking with Cord Life after attneding their talk and seeing their premises...
Manage to take up their old pricing plan too which is $200 cheaper...they are increasing their price from tomorrow onwards.

To all mommies who pop :
Did any of you opt for cord blood banking too?? Anything or matter to advise or take note??

Re :Young Coconut drink
I know this topic was discussed before...so sorry
but I still haven't drink any yet...
Can I know will I find easily at hawker centre young coconut??
The stall owner should know which is young coconut rite?

I know someone mention abt buying from Shop&save I think.... is it those with husk or those that clean up nice nice already?

My HB told me ONLY young coconut will have juice to drink... old ones only have fresh..
SO any coconut with juice is young... is it true?

Yuenyuen,

Ya we intend to have the bb first month celebration on 22 Feb since his actual full month falls on the eve..believe that no much ppl will turn up if we insist it on that day.

Hubby and i feel that it will be unfair if we do not make one for Damien...

We intend to name bb as Damien coz when i was expecting my first child, we had 2 choices 1) Duncan 2) Damien.

We decided to take Duncan for the our first boy if we have another boy then we will name as Damien.

Hahaha...we put on almost the same amount of weight...

Now we must Jiayu to lose all the extra.

I mixed my BM and FM together to feed bb Damien.

sysac,
The room decor looks impressive, just like what u get in wedding functions. But my hubby say most probably we will do it at either my inlaws hse or our own. Will just invite relatives & a few close frens.

Do u tink it is ok to hold bb 1st mth 1 day after the actual day? Cos Ethan's actual day falls on fri. Was tinkg of holding it on sat but afraid some older folks may not like it cos they always believe ok to celebrate early but not later.

Babylon,
I hope to start my massage maybe later next week when I feel that my c-sect wound has more or less healed. Tinkg of trying Rohani. Anyone tried her service b4? Any idea if she includes baby massage as well?

WEIGHT LOSS
Well, so far I lost abt 10-11kg liao. Got another 4kg to go before hitting my pre-preg weight. Guess its due to all the sweating, pumping, from the last 3 weeks of confinement.

Cookie,
We decided not to take up any cord banking. Feel that it is not necessary.

Cookie

For myself, I volunteered to donate the Cord Blood to Singapore Cord Blood Banking (located in KKH)instead as I feel not necessary for me to keep and perhaps other children might need it more.

Re. Postpartum bleeding / lochia
For my case, what happened was my bleeding was ok, 1 night safe pad can last almost whole day. Then it stopped at the 12th day or so, and yellowish discharge came out, not a lot. so 1 ultra thin pad can last me whole day. Then after 2 days of this yellowish discharge, I started bleeding again and the blood is redder than before. Today, the flow is heavy! Like having heavy menstrual flow. I had to change my night safe pad after 5 to 6 hours. I dunno whether it's my menses coming back or whether it's still lochia. Just when I thought bleeding end liao, suddenly got heavy flow. Should I be worried?

babylon,
i had a 5-days massage. THe lady helped to unclogged my milk ducts. Quite shiok lah. I lost about 11kg liao. Another 4 kg to go (since beginning of the week). Weight lost like stagnant already leh.

Sysa,
Happy 1 month to your Cephas!
Weight gain is good!

THe best pump is your BB's mouth. I think we can get a lot more milk into BB by direct latching. So do try your best to direct latch first unless absolutely not possible. I have a friend who started with bottle feed cos her Bb was in ICU for 10 days. Then when she brought him home, she tried hard to direct latch and her BB could adapt.

did not come in for 2 days and so much posts to catch up! and some mummies had popped too
CONGRATS!!!

cookie
regarding the coconut, must choose those young coconut (small size one). normally is those clean up ones. i brought mine from shopnsave.

went for my gynae visit yesterday and know wat! my boy now is 3.1KG!! oh boy! my gynae even asked me did i eat alot during the past one week... bb heart beat ok, fluid level ok and bb head had gone lower compare to 1 week ago.

the uncomfortable part came when my gynae asked me how is my discharge... told her its still the same (yellowish dischrage). then she decided to do a swap test for me and the VE oso. oh man! the VE is super painful!!! result is im not even dilated yet but cervix is soft...

after the VE my bottom is really uncomfortable, was highligthed by gynae there might be spotting due to the VE. true enough since i reached home yesterday night, my spotting started and till now there is still on and off... whole day felt very uncomfortable... and since last night bb is super active, poking here and there, left and right. sigh...

was given the insert to clear my discharge, but scare to use coz the last time insertion actually cause some cramp ard my lower abdominal...

going into my 38 weeks now and it seem really like anytime will be the DAY...

had a discussion with my hubby and most likely i be inducing on coming monday instead. just dun want to wait further as it is getting on my nerves and anxious waiting. moreover gynae is advising us to induce...so monday visit to gynae, will check my sugar level results and ok or not, i think i will suggest to induce that afternoon. Tuesday is a holiday also..so hubby can save a day off. hopefully gynae is ok with that. cannot afford to wait till thurs leh. dun really sleep well at night nowsaday.

so just now went to sterilise the breast pump that i loan from my cousin. so will be bringing over to the hospital as well. also lay the cot sheet for the cot. all prepared for the day. hubby also bot me a blush pyjamas that i was eyeing for so long but didnt want to waste money. it was on sales lor..80plus and now only 39 bucks. but still ex la for a pyjamas. but wearing it is nicer when visitors come over. can also make me think of him when i breastfeed baby

sept03 bride - no my gyne didnt mention bt the cord near the head. but he ask me to induce soon as i have GD. agree with SY, you must monitor and do the fetal count. if possible, since gynae recommend, u can opt for induction soon then.

thanks sysac for sharing cephas's moment and your pics. so fast hor..and he is already 1 mth and some of us have not even pop. the room you rent at safra is it a function room? the rental is so ex. do we need to get the caterer from safra and not anywhere from outside?

cookie - regarding young coconut.,.it is green outside. dun get those that are clean shaven as u will not know whether its young or not. u can easily buy them from east coast hawker centre. so far i drank all from there. hee..

rachel - wats the difference bet the swap and VE? can elaborate a little? cos i thot they the pain is the same.

SSF
the swap is just getting some tissue sample w a cotton stick. VE is gynea putting in their finger (i think so coz cant see clearly wat she insert too but is something big) to see whether i have dilated. when she is doing the VE i was so tensed up and bearing w the pain..

ic..thanks rachel for the e clarification.guess have to relax else the pain will be even more intense.

btw, anyone have any recommendations on where to held 1 mth party?

rachel

I know what you mean, my gynae without warning that he'll have to stick something into the vagina,just stuck something up my vagina which I can't tell what it was - his finger or an instrument and I wasn't prepared for it. Was going," Oww, Oww, Ouch!"

Was really tensed too

re: discharge
my discharge was almost cleared a few days back around the 9 day after my delivery, then I experienced the same thing as queen, more discharge and with greenish mucous as well. thought I have urinary tract infection. went to see gynae yesterday but just took urine test and he gave me antibiotics but I decided not the start till a few days later. my discharge has some clots of blood but think it's clearing. today is the 13 day.

Re: Breast feeding
ya, I also don't have enough breast milk but I am quite stubborn. though I am very exhausted and tired, I still want baby to latch on directly to me when she is hungry. in the beginning it's like almost every hour, latched on for 30-40mins. so imagine the time I have left to rest. but I think my effort has paid off. today, she was quite alert for quite some time and she can stay off me for 2 hours. my friend was telling me that if we can endure for 2 weeks on breast feeding. we should be on our way to total breastfeeding. saw pae on thur and Clariss only gained 50g from the last time she saw him which was 1 week ago. now she is still not back to her birth weight. I have few days more to make sure she does so. :p

re: night baby
my baby is not a really a night baby but her sleep pattern is a bit different at night compare to the morning naps. she tossed a lot at night and made a lot of noise.
Sleepingdeer, think maybe your baby actually wants to sleep but is too fretful to sleep. my Clariss has the same prob but luckily we have a chiller at home for the fish tank and the humming sound is soothing to her. she dozed off after a while. Or maybe your baby slept too much in the day time?

Dear mummies, we went to collect Clariss chinese name yesterday from Master Lu at Shaw Centre. she is not lacking of the 5 elements but since she has only a little of water, fire and soil, Master Lu says that Jia Xuan is the most suitable. I think the $180 paid is quite worth it.

Mummies who are using bottle for FM and BM,
remember to check the teat size, for advent bottles, from 0-3mths, the teat size should be 1.
we didn't know and gave Clariss size 2, she gulped down FM and water so fast and fight with me at my breast because my milk flow is too slow. we corrected that but she is still fights with me at times when she is very hungry. she is a sleepy baby and is only interested in milk when she is very hungry and unfortunately that is when she is in much distressed. I have no idea how to get out of this cycle.

mongs - thks for the reminder and yeah i am aware of the size 1. i got all size 1 from NUK teats. i bot the latex one. how abt u?

mongs
yah i oso bought size 1. thanks for the reminder =) hope tat your gal will slowly adjust to milk flow. just give her sometime..

SSF
all the best on the coming monday! tats a big day for both you and your hb! have a smooth delivery and you must be vy excited in getting to see your bb soon!

for me my 6th sense is telling me my big day will come soon. like within a week... hope tat everything will go smoothly for all of us mummies

Sysa - COngrats on Cephas's full month, he sure looks happy!

SSF - all the best to your induction on MOnday! has ur gynae done VE on u? wats the dilation? wats's bb's weight now??

I went for gynae visit today at 38 weeks and gynae did VE. OUCH! it was horrible feeling, he said tat cervix is ready and i have dilated 1cm... it was a consoaltion at elast to me, cos i was hoping for induction next week...BB Celeste is now 3.2-3.3kg..whew..
was so worried she will be on growth spurt like the last round ( increase of 500gm )...Gynae asked me to choose induction on Wed 11th which HB and i are in favor of ( can save up on a day's leave since Tues is PH )..

SSF - u worried bout the induction? i worry bout not dilating and long labour... but gynae say not true since cervix is ready. just a matter of who breaks the water bag - nature or him...

mashy & mashy's HB,
Caeden's sooo cute!!

wendy,
wow great! at least u know when you're going to give birth! the uncertainty of when baby's coming out is killing me!!

Sept03bride,
i asked my gynae abt the position of umbilical cord too and he said i shdn't worry so much. Said that 30% of babies come out with cord round their necks but is fine. Hmm i wonder if he's being too easy-going about it?! Dun worry too much abt ur baby's cord. Pray that baby will be fine!

cookie,
i also saw young green coconut sold at the foodcourt at Funan - if u happen to go there. And also, it doesn't mean that if coconut has juice = young coconut. Old coconut also has juice!!

rachel,
wow ur baby is of a nice size! actually dunno how come seems like most babies that come out nowadays are all less than 3kg. During my mum's time if it's 3kg it's considered small! So when gynae said my baby is 2.6kg at 37wks i got a bit stressed, thinking that she's a big baby. But aiyah dun care lah. As long as baby's healthy that's most impt!

sysac,
wow congrats that Cephas is doing so well!!

SSF & god's child,
all the best to the 2 of u for your induction next week! keep us posted yeah?

Hi mummies! Long time didn't login liao... Congrats to all the new mummies!

Went for my appt this morning and gosh, I put on 1.5kg in a wk! Previous wk was almost a kg. Total weight increase is almost 17kg!! BB now weighs slightly more than 3kg. Will be 37 wks tmr.

Everything seems fine with bb except that cord is near the neck but gynae said not to worry... Gynae said to see me once more next week before deciding to go for v-birth or c-section... Reasons for c-section - bb above average, my back injury...

god's child
how does the VE process go? When i did the swab test i also feel gynae inserted something big like the scanning prob and then take some tissues out leh....is VE the same? pls explain...why is it painful?

Cookie / Rachel,
Young coconuts are the big green ones with alot of juice inside but no flesh. Don't buy those that are already shaven as you cant tell if its old or young and if its fresh or not.

Durian,
Yeah, inducing is good in a way. At least now I know I'm going to give birth on 16th, I know for sure how many days I have to prepare for it. My hubby & I had a fright on friday when my gynae said I've lost weight and baby's not gaining weight & water level dropping, so not a good sign. If my CTG shows baby's heart rate is unstable, I'll have to induce immediately! Luckily, baby heart is very strong so he suggest I induce either this week or next week latest as I may pop anytime even though baby's not engaged yet. So, in the end, we chose 16th to induce.

I still cannot decide if I want epidural or not leh. Think I'll try to tahan initially then if cannot tahan then ask for epidural. Save $$$ and experience the real thing. Haha.. epidural very ex.. Already spent so much on baby so far..

Rachel, Mamachan, Etelle,
During a VE, your gynae inserts their finger/fingers inside your vagina to examine the pelvic bone for signs of dilation and also to check the size of your pelvic bone to see if its wide enough for normal vaginal birth.

Swab test is like doing a pap smear. The gynae inserts the instrument into the vaginal to open it slightly so that they can scrape some cells from the side walls of the vagina for lab testing. If its done properly, you shouldn't bleed at all. It may feel uncomfortable, but not painful (at least mine wasn't painful, but I don't like idea of being poked and probed inside). Do let your gynae know that they're not doing it properly and its causing your pain.

Does anybody have the list for first month baby cakes/ chocolates? i can't remember which date it was posted on...

Does anybody have any recommendations for caterers or restaurants for celebrating baby's first month?

StyloBB has delivered her babies on 6 jan. Her babies, Chara and Julien are 3.2kg and 2.6kg respectively. Three Cheers for StyloBB.

yuen yuen,

Baby elijah.. do not like to latch on the breast as the milk flow is very slow and he is a very mang zhang boy.. he dun like the taste of breast therefore I mix both .. and the CL teach me to mix with FM to be stronger.. so that he will drink..

wow, Stylo BB ..

Chara is heavy.. Congrats to you.. hip hip hurray..

Mummies who have not POP yet

Jia you Jia You... the POP day is near...

tabbiesus,

I am using Choz for Elijah's full month but not having the celebration as it is close to new year and many will be busy..

Yep, So fast! Cephas is a month old already. Soon, we will be celebrating his 1-yr old BD. Haha!

SSF - It was 3 small function rooms combined into one as I had more than 100 guests. There were 12 tables in there and the buffet spread was just outside of it at a mini foyer.

For all mummies who have yet to pop - Enjoy these last few moments of bliss. Once u pop, it will be a different but another enjoyable experience.

Wendy

Thanks for the info. The discomfort feeling for myself after being "poked" in the V lasted for a while till when I went for dinner, which was a short while since my check-up was near dinner time.

I hope this coming Wednesday for my next check-up, I'll be more relaxed for it.

sysac,

Thanks for the list!

Can I also ask you for your advice on beefing up tabitha... how often do you feed? three hourly or on demand... and do you supplement with FM? I'm so impressed with how Cephas put on so much weight so soon! I hope I can do the same for Tabby...
BTW, do you let cephas latch on or do you use EBM and the bottle?

Have you sent Cephas for immunization shots yet? Which did you choose, there's a 5 in 1 and 6 in 1?

god child - no my gynae did do for me VE so dun noe abt my dilation. yes quite worried abt not being able to dilate and my end up c sect and of coz long labour and the pain.

congrats stylobb!!!

mummies who have pop - do any of u express your milk out for night feeding? or u simply place baby for direct feed? how long can an express milk be kept? can we store in fridge and take it out at night for the feed?

SSF,

my breastfeeding book from TMC by MRs wong says u can store at 25degC for 4 hours and in refrigerator at 4degC for 48 hours, and freezer for 2months

I latch on baby for direct feed.. cos I haven't been able to express enough... somehow, my baby seems better able to empty my breast compared to my avent pump.. I just bought the PISadvanced online so i'm waiting 4 it to arrive to see if works better for me.

tabbiesus - thks for your advise. so that means i can express my milk in the morn/noon and place it in the freezer in a milk bottle and at night during the feed, i can take it out and place it in warm water to warm it before feeding. am i right to say so?

i will try my best to breastfeed when possible ..as i am worry also if he reject my breast after he got too use to teats. also with express milk, it seems more at ease for me at night and i can rest better.

couldn't really sleep well last night thinking abt breastfeeding and the process. so thot i better ask the experts.

i really feel bad compared those mum who sucessfully BF their bb..i had tried my very best..nearly wanna to give...now i will just expressed 3 x per day..the most is only 30ml..

btw,after massage, i had no more discharge..think the massage lady did help alot

SSF,
Remember I was complaining about having to wake up often at night to feed Isaac direct? I tried to switch to bottle feeding. So I'll express at around 11pm and then put the milk in the fridge. Tried for a few nights, now end up direct latch on again. Day and night. Cos find it a hassle to express, wash and sterilise (still using the boiling method) the pump and bottles so many times a day! Now Isaac's feeding routine is pretty much established, it's really like clockwork - 3 hourly. Sometimes can even stretch to 3.5 to 4 hours. Find it more convenient to direct latch loh. Now I have mastered the side lying position, so not so tiring at night to direct latch. Only thing about direct latch, my breasts don't feel emptied after every feed and Isaac normally can only finish on 1 breast, the other maybe another 5 to 10 mins. So have to bear with slight discomfort on the other fuller breast till next feed. But the discomfort is ok, not like the inital 3rd day engorgement.

mongs,
has your Clariss established the feeding timing? Try to latch her on immediately when she stirs after 3 hours, observe for facial expressions when she's hungry. Don't wait until she cries. Initially I always wait until Isaac cries and he also mang zhang cos he's so eager to close on the nipple and I take some time to position him correctly. So he's struggling and I'm struggling to position him. End up he very mang zhang. So now at 3 hours, I'll start watching for signs that he's stirring from his sleep or start making small noises and ciresand open his eyes. Then I'll pick him up and put him to my breasts. He'll open his mouth automatically and latch on more easily.

tabbiesus,
I also find that BB seems to take in more by direct latch. Cos can hear him swallowing big gulps. I using the advent ISIS, most of the time can only pump 80-100ml from 2 breasts. And Isaac can drink from 1 breast and be contented liao. Meaning pump not as effective right?

babylon,
Don't be so hard on yourself. During the 1st week, I also thought of giving up cos suddenly I feel like my breasts are being "assaulted" full time. And it's so tiring!

Actually, I think there's a lot of pressure on new mummies to BF. Lots of 'propaganda' on how BM is the best. OK, so BM is the best but does not mean BB cannot thrive on FM. I'm sure a lot of us were brought up with FM. We all turned out ok right?. So I think just try our best loh. No need to torture ourselves and insist on total BF. Have to be open to total FM is needed. Does not mean that we are bad mothers if we can't BF successfully.

SSF,

when i can finally express enough milk for 1 feed, what i will do is put in the fridge if I am going to use it for the day... if I don't intend to use it within 24hours then you can freeze it... so far no side effects of doing this for my baby... my baby has no nipple confusion but I still prefer latching on... much easier... dun need to get up, defrost, warm milk.... only thing is that can latch on for 1 hour before getting enough milk...

babylon,
don't feel bad... I can't express milk either... both breast barely give me 20mls and that is if I repeatedly do both sides until my hand wanna drop( i'm using avent manual)... but with latching my girl seems to be getting enough.

For breastfeeding moms, here is a very good website for breastfeeding.. i felt so much better after I read it cos I thought I wasn't getting enough milk for my baby.

http://www.thebirthden.com/Newman.html
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/low-supply.html

Etelle - ya, like wat the rest mentioned, VE is when gynae insert finger into ur vagina to see of bones and cervix has started getting ready for birth...

SSF - lets jia you tog!!! u will start the ball rolling tmr aldy!!! excited??? wats BB's weight now? i also very anticipative and am trying to keep the -ve thots out of my mind... induction is gd in a way la, we are mentally prepared (self consolation)

Queen - i too agree that giving FM doens't strip us of any responsibilities as a mum... most of us grow up on FM too and its OK!!! i also think i wont wana stress myself shld the day come and i flop in BF... most imptly - HAPPY MUM + HAPPY BABY + HAPPY HB = HAPPY FAMILY!!!