(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF,
yah if really need to induce, do it after the hol. dun waste. we already lugi CNY....

if only can eat Japanese sashimi....

i feel that my bb has been quiet these 2 days. he still moves but much less than usual. shd i go down for CTG monitoring?

Hey SSF

I recommend Lawry's. I love their spinning salad. Maybe i should also induldge myself b4 i pop. EDD is 21 Jan!

Hi this is Mashy's hb.

Thot u guys might be interested in seeing Caeden's pic

355437.jpg

SSF - ya, i also think no point worrying so much... anyway, delivery is always sometin we dun know wat to expect out of it... just rejoice in the fact tat u b seeing baby real soon!!!

SY - i think so long as bb got moves 10 times a day shouldn't be a prob... mabbie u can call ur gynae and check wf him??

forum site - it seems so unstable lately... gets irritating when i cant log on and chat.. it has become my daily routine!!! wat if it reali goes down...

mashy,
caeden so cute! doesn't look like 2.8kg...

casey,
i also had that before. actually i heard morton's chocolate cake is very nice....

god's child,
i emailed him already. see what he says. think my bb really doesn't like to see doc. after i put down phone with hb and more or less decided to go down to check, he moved a few times!! this trick seems to work all the time

yah, my routine consists of logging in and it sucks when got problem posting.

anyone know how induce works? is it poking of waterbag?? or via drip?

thks mashy hb...your baby is so cute and chubby!

think got different ways right. if drip, they will put some drug in it to cause induction. then also got insert drug into the vagina area to cause dilation to be faster or something like that.

Mashy & Mashy's HB - WOW!!! your prince looks so handsome and his hair is so neat!!!

SSF - acutali i also thinking of asking gynae if i can induce next week. cos judging by Baby Celeste's size ( 3.1kg last sat ), im very worried i will hav to go c-section if i wait til she comfortably pops. i asked my colleagues and they say if not dilated/cervis soft, gynae will insert pessary to soften it and put on drip to hasten dilation/contraction. after dilation of mayb 2-4cm, then gynae can burst the waterbag... actuali last sat aldy wanted ask gynae if can induce but HB say wait a week more and im aldy 38weeks today... Celeste seems too comfy inside.

Wah, I typed such a long post and everything got cut off, so too lazy to retype all.

Rena,
Elijah is so cute, looks so peaceful sleeping.

yuki
thanks for the info and encouragement. My EDD is tom. Hope bb will give me some sign today like u mentioned.

yuenyuen, Rena
I read in the book that BM will help with jaundice as its more digestable and bb passes out more. So, why u gals say that FM is better for jaundice leh? Me so confused now.

SY
yup, EDD is tom.. a lot of false alarms, so qt numb now loh. Guess i'll be nervous again when the real sign comes.

Mashy
Thanks for your birth story. Wow, your boy is so alert.. very good. Good luck with bf.. ha ha.. so funny, didnt expect u to pop before me..
ya, your bb is so cute, with so much hair.

SSF - gynae din mention bout bb engage lei.. but then someoen also mention b4 bb can get engaged during labour rite... gynae never do VE so also dunno if got dilated anot... i was hoping Celeste can pop these few days before i see gynae on this Sat...

same here god child...baby not engage and gynae also never do VE to check for dilation. i guess its because baby not engage so no need to check for dilation. most likely i be inducing on thurs.

Hi everyone..

just back from polyclinic, so sad cos have to bring baby for daily jaundice check... i can't imagine, she' been poked daily since birth... i just want to cry for her...

SY,
Sometimes, if waiting for BM to establish and baby doesn't feed enough, baby can get dehydrated and jaundiced.

Mongs,
Don't worry about the amount you pumped just jiao you! In the beginning I could get less than 10ml both sides, i felt so ridiculous passing so little to nurse to feed the baby until my nurse told me not to worry cos EBM, one drop is worth one million!

Etelle, Mashy,

Can tell mashy I also have very bad engorgement... had to get it squeezed out by lactation consultant, until i screamed... after that my milk start flowing more... tell her not too worry, prob. means that milk flow is establishing but getting the duct unblocked is very very painful, she must tahan!!! I can't remember where she delivered, but I saw Yan Peng in KKH and she's very good... i was supposed to see MRs wong from TMC cos I delivered there but becos baby stuck at KKH and my breasts couldn't tahan, I saw the KKH lactation consultant.

Her baby is very cute!!!

Re: Confinement...
To all mommies that haven't delivered... it's tough without a CL... So better rest before your delivery...
Safe delivery to you all

To mommies that have delivered... Jia you... i have to constantly tell myself to be positive... cos it's really tough... all the feeding and insecurities of whether baby has had enough... its tough... i almost broke down today.. was so tired, I couldn't get up to look at baby when she was crying.. lucky my hubby around and I managed to wake him up to take over...

Mashy's hubby,
Ohh... Mashy's baby is coooo cute! Sleeping so peacefully..

Sleepingdeer,
Congrats on your newborn

SSF, god's child,
how do they check for engagement? from the scan?

krissie,
keep your fingers cross! maybe you will get the real alarm today...

tabbiesus,
so it's not really BM that makes jaundice worse, it is the amt of milk that bb drinks that is related to jaundice.

so u have to bring bb for check everyday? quite tiring for u. but hang in there. it will be over soon! sure your bb will recover soon.

how much must we pay to see latactation consultatnt?

your hb on leave? dun tire yourself out too much. get as much rest are you can.

SSF,
i see...so this sat when i go for my checkup i will know whether bb is engage.

think my bb is very cheeky. when i feel that he's quiet, and then i think to myself, maybe shd go to hosp and check, he will move a bit. as if to tell me he doesn't want to go...

Mashy & hb,
Ur boy looks so peaceful! Yah....i like his hair style! So neat!

Tabbiesus,
I know exactly what u mean. Its very stressful being new mummies & hubby support is very important. I already broke down many times during the 1st 2 weeks. Luckily hubby was on leave then.

Mongs,
Dun worry. Even little BM is better than none. I remember asking the nurse for a syringe to store my pathetic BM on the 2nd day & 3rd day after delivery. Only got 0.5ml (2nd day) & 3ml (3rd day). My BM ss only came in on the 4th day.

NEPIA Diaper
I am looking for sample piece of Nepia New born diaper for my boy to try out. He is still on Pampers NB. Anyone willing to sell 1-2 pcs to me, please kindly PM me? I will bear all postage cost. Many thanks!

trying to post again, website having problem is it?

Congrats again on all the new mummies!

As mentioned in the email, have popped on 29th Dec after long labour...

Here goes....

28th December, 1pm
Felt 3 trickles during lunch time, but couldn't tell whether it was urine or waterbag

6pm
I felt another trickle, and started to get worried. Told hubby and decided to go down to the hospital for a check... hee hee, decided not to alarm MIL and just told her we going for a walk.

9pm
Reached Mt A, and told to go to delivery ward. Hooked up to the machine, and surprise, having mild contractions. The nurse did a cervix check (super painful!) and said I was 1cm dilated. But she also mentioned that my cervix was very high and still far back, so hinted to me that may be a problem for natural birth.

10pm
Gynae came and checked, he told us that we will deliver by the next day.

11pm
Pessary inserted and after that, started to have regular contractions like menses pain. It was uncomfortable but not painful. Strangely, the pain stopped around 2am, and we fell asleep.

29th Dec, 9am
Gynae came by, and checked, only 2cm dilated! Drip was put into place, and then the action started! Pain got worse, but by 11am, had dilated 4cm.

11am
I opted for penethine and laughing gas. BY that time, the pain was quite bad, and I relied on these two. The laughing gas knocked me out, though I can still feel the pain

3pm
Pain is very bad, but after the gynae came back and check, still no change in dilation! Decided to try epidural to relax and open cervix, but gynae said that if by 5pm, no change, will do c-section.

5pm
No change, still 4cm, so decision was made for emergency c-section. Things happened so fast from then on. It was super scary, as I choose epidural, and was wheeled into OT alone. Hubby could only wait until gynae came in before he was allowed to be by my side. Was tearing and shivering badly, and trying to calm down. Also threw up twice from the epidural while waiting for gynae in OT.

6pm
Heard baby Shannon's first cry, and started crying myself after all the worry and pain. Midwife carried her over for me and hubby, and it was love at first sight... she was very alert, looking at us with her big eyes.

She weighed 2.75kg at birth, but lost a little weight by the time I checked out on 3rd Jan. I had to stay for 5 days, as I lost a lot of blood during the c-section, so now on 2 doses of iron pills. Shannon also had slight jaundice, and we decided to stay another day to keep her company.

So here's my super long birth story. Now trying to settle into routine and it's been very tiring. Shannon was up the WHOLE of last night crying and wanting to suckle that I also cried with her. Hubby had to run to the 24hr Cold Storage for Pacifers at 4am in the morning, coz we thought she was using me as a pacifier, unfortunately, it didn't work.

Clare,
I called up sister Kang today to ask, she said that reason why bb could be feeding for so long and frequent could be that she's not properly latched on... have the same problem myself

SY,

Re: breast milk jaundice Vs breast feeding jaundice

When i was talking about insufficient supply of BM, then I was talking about breastfeeding jaundice, breast milk jaundice is due to something in the BM that causes jaundice and usu occurs later than breastfeeding jaundice.

Yes, she was admitted on the 3 and 4 jan and now, I have to bring her to polyclinic to make sure the levels of bilirubin are on downward trend... hopefully tomorrow doesn't show any rise so that it will be the last time...

Wenyl,
Yep, my hubby on leave, THANK GOD!!! I have been running around and having so many problems with NNJ and breastfeeding... I have milk flow now, but supply is still low...

re : breast pumps
somehow i can't seem to get any pumped out with my avent, but when i was at the hosp, and tried out the medela pump, i could get almost 20ml each side... don't really want to buy the medela pump yet cos I find the suction a bit to strong.. so my nipples get really sore... do any of you moms have the same problem?

Hi Tabbiesus,

HAng in there. I know how you feel. My mum was my CL and she keep telling me that BM digest by baby too easily, that's why baby is constantly hungry and crying etc.... Plus i don't have enough milk etc....sounds like i am torturing my baby by not giving FM so end up i gave in and feed FM.... As i get the hang of BF, i cut down on FM. Then my mum also learnt more about the benefits of BF thru other aunties and finally didn't stop me from BF. In fact she was so proud to tell others that she hasn't got much to do cos i BF.....

The insecurities are normal feeling. Afterall it's your first child. If in doubt, just ask for help. I called the hospital numerous time after i was discharge.... Luckily they cannot see my face via the phone....

Jia you! YOu can make it!

Long time I haven't come here....
Just to advise that I'll be going for elective c-sec tomorrow at 12pm as I have hit 37 weeks and gynae says it's ok for the two gals to come out.
At 36 weeks, they were 2.5kg+ each... my tummy is super big...I can hardly walk...

Take care, esp all the first-time mummies, it'll not easy but it'll be worth it.
U might feel bouts of depression so do talk it out.

Rena
Elijah really looks v cute...
I haven't scrolled more to see the rest, am sure all are also cute...

tabbiesus,
I m using Medela mini eletric. It has a control for the suction. So, sometimes if too strong & my nipple hurts, I will turn it down to min. But got to bear with the noisy pump.

U can try massaging ur breasts b4 u start pumping. or either use a warm towel go round the breast a few times. Then start pumping.

Sometimes I alternate betw left & right breast. Pump 1 breast 1st till no milk comes out then go to the next breast, pump again till empty. Then go back to the 1st breast & repeat again. I can get more milk this way. U may want to try out, see if it works for u.

Hi Wenyl,

That's right. That's what my friend said too. She pump till one breast empty and change. Pump till the other breast also empty, then go to the other breast again. Even empty, she keeps pumping and pumping, she said sure got another letdown and will get more milk this way.

tabbiesus: u should be able to adjust the setting for the pump at the hospital. U can rent the Ameda pump from momsinmind. It has adjustable speed and suction. I have tried it before I buy.

mashy: ur baby look so handsome.

stylobb: best wishes for the delivery...I saw ur pic in another thread and ur tummy do look huge...so hard on you...

sleepingdeer: congrats! rest well!

Sleepingdeer - wow, wat a long birth indeed...hows ur wound healing? do post Shannon's pic for us... its gettin so exciting seeing so many post bb's pics... how i wish i can also get this over and post Celeste's pics for all to see

StyloBB - all the best tomoro!!! its double joy...

sleepingdeer,
wow, long labour and stressful too! do rest well since u lost so much blood. hope to see your bb's pic soon!

tabbiesus,
i see...i din know got difference. did doc say must bring bb out to have some sun? i know my mum did that with my bro previously.

stylobb
all the best!! hope to see your bb's pics soon.

tabbiesus,
My BB also admitted to KK for phototherapy. Now only need to bring BB to polyclinic once a week. How come yours need to go daily?

sleepingdeer,
Congrats! Hope you are recovering well! Hospital bill must be hefty for 5 days stay!

Mashy,
Your Caeden also has a lot of hair! Very handsome.

Yuki,
Wah... your friend like that whole day just feed and pump? How to do other things man! Per breast 250 ml??? Wah, I cannot imagine pumping so much!

Can I check with you all again... How much should we pump when we are back at work? Now I can only pump at most 120ml total from both breasts each time. Don't think it's enough when BB is in their 2nd or 3rd month right? I don't think it's because my milk flow is not enough... Could it be due to the manual pump?

I'll be moving home soon in 2 weeks. Will put baby cot in another room. Is it necessary to get a baby monitor? I'm worried cannot hear Isaac at night. What brand is good?

SSF,
Actually it's not necessarily true that induction will bring about long labour or higher risk of C-sect. It really depends on individual. If the gynae feels that it's best for you and your BB to be induced, then I think just go ahead loh.

StyloBB,
Have a good delivery! We are all excited to see your twin princesses!

re breast pumps,
I tried adjusting the settings to min, but after repeated pumping... nipples get really sore... even with handheld Avent I can't take it...

Queen,
I think I have to go back daily cos yest's bilirubin level is lower than today's so they want to see if tomorrow it will be higher or lower... hope I don't have to readmit her... I sunbathed her today... lucky there was some sun mid morning... hee hee i think my baby girl will grow up to be a beach babe...

Sleepingdeer,
Could it be your baby was crying cos was hungry? That's what happened on my second night, and I couldn't bear to hear her cry and suck in vain so I supplemented her with some FM...

hi all, long time never log in...

i have delivered on 1 jan'06 at 1513 at mt a to Reeve Ng at 3.425kg....

my birth story as below:

31 dec - around 38wk 6 dys, see gynae amd realise tat i am already 2 cm dilated and if i wan i can admit to mt a on 1 jan'06 to break water bag n give birth

1 jan - around 10am admit to mt a,

11am - gynae came n break water bag n check 2.5 dilate

1 pm- veri strong pain came, just use laughing gas

1.30pm - ask for the pain relief jab on the buttock as i dun wan any epidural at all...

2.45pm- cannot tahan alreeady, ask 4 epidural but the midwife check n say i am already 9.5am dilated, can deliver already, called gynae to came now.

3pm - gynae arrived, after a few round of pushing, baby reeve finally came at 1513...

todai wen to pd to check, onli a little bi of jaudice...so just go under the morning or evening sun...

my nipples also very painful n sore.. have pause bf for todai as it is really a painful thing to do to bf with this kind of nipple... will try express milk later...anyone with the same problem...

Queen,

I am using baby monitor although we stay in a 3 bedroom apartment. ya, I also plan to put her in another room but most likely from 2nd month onwards. I us chicco brand. it's a pass down from my sister in law. quite good.

Pochacco,
sore nipples are a norm though can be prevented. I had sored nipples right from the beginning. the lactation consultant from gleneagles was so surprised to see that I have sore and cracked nipples on my 3rd day stay. anyway, I have learnt to endure the pain when Clariss first latch on. it's a momentarily pain. the crack nipples are healing already. apply cream on your nipples after each feed and it will be better. I am using advent nipple cream. I heard from my colleague that mustela is quite good as well.

bought clariss to see the pae today and she only gained 50g from her last visit which is 1 week ago. 50g should be the daily weigh gain. the pae believed that her weight actually drop further after our visit to him last week and only goes up these 2 days. he said that normally for breastfed babies, their weight will go back to birth weight after 2 weeks. I still have 3 days to feed her enough. I felt that my milk is coming in. she drank from 1 breast for 10 mins and can last at least 1 hr. so happy. previously she suckle both breasts for 40mins and can only last for 1 hr. we all have to jia you! don't give up.

we must really take care of ourselves and the stitches below. I suspect I have urinary tract infection. felt painful when I urinate and the blood that I discharge seems to be coming from the uretha and not the vagina. going to see gynae tomorrow. hopefully nothing serious.
ok girls who have delivered or are waiting to deliver, take care!

morning mummies...

Wow Pochacco..thks for your story. guess if i want to opt for any pain relief..i think i will go straight for epidural then since not only u but my frd also said the laughing gas and the thigh injection is of no use. in your case...your induction also ends up with c sect ya. anyway how is your wound? is it still painful?

Pochacco: congrats! hope I stick to non-epidural this round...I had sore nipples last time too, just use pump if u find it too painful to latch on...when nipple heals, then u feed direct again...u can use nipple cream or bm on the nippple for healing...jia you....

Rena,

My gynea was Lisa chin. I am staying in ward 634.

I discharged on the 30 Dec....

Bb born on the 28 Dec.

I saw a bb covering with blue blanket in the nursury...It is yours..rather chubby.

Hi Mashy,
What were ur first symptoms before u gave birth?
I'm actually in the Feb2006 thread and my EDD is 10-Feb but I already have spotting and was advised to bedrest at week 34. Your advise is very much aprreciated as I'm very very scared now. Thanks

Congrats Pochacco!!! wow, tat was another short labour story...
so lucky of you, or rahter i must say, super blessed!!!

SSF-if your blood test shows postitve, will u stil be going for induction? is ur stomach lying low now? my colleagues say mine is stil quite high leh though i feel Celeste rather low at the pelvic area... everyday wondering if this is the day...

god child - my tummy has always been low. so cannot tell if he engage or not. yes if blood test is positive meaning sugar level is well taken care, i may opt to induce still on thurs. coz hubby said by thurs he will have clear his work. so take 2 days paternity leave and weekend he can stay hm and help look after. but of coz if baby can engage and give me some signs by thurs, it be best!

hi mummies who have popped..

does your hubby help in looking after your baby? is he scared of carrying baby? my hubby is saying he does not want to carry baby until his neck is more stable and when he is not so fragile. he is having cold feet of not able to help looking after baby. any hubby also the same?

babylon,

I use to see lisa chin too .. for my first pregnancy..

I heard from hubby that the lady stayed in 634 seems to be an ang mo lady..

is 634 delux room?

pochacco,
congrats!!

your labor sounds pretty short and u actually made it without epidural!!

mongs,
better be careful. if get UTI, must drink more water...but we can't drink water during confinement right?

my fren taught me this method. she say put one nappy liner on top of our pad. this way, it will keep our skin from contact with the discharge and keep us drier. so easier to heal.

ssf,

my hubby too refuse to carry but as I was bedridden during my stay , that is why he was force to carry...

my condtion is rather bad as I had cyst too so the gynae also help me to remove them..

my total bill is a big bomb...

Having sleepless nights coz Caeden is a night bird. Have to feed him abt every 1.5-2hrs. sigh.

I didn't have any engorgement, so thot am I the odd one out. Tried pumping my milk out and got abt 35ml on both breasts after feeding him. But hor, after the expression, Caeden rejected my breasts.
Think my nipples got too big for him.

He feeds abt 15-20 mins on 1 breast each time. I alternate the breasts. If he's really hungry, then he'll suckle for 30 mins. Seems so little/short compared to all of u. So afraid that he's not having enough. He's got jaundice. So been trying to put him in the sun. But lately, been raining so much.
Not much sun leh....

But he poos a lot. Yesterday changed about 7 times. His poo has finally changed to greenish-yellow. And haha, he peed on my aunt yesterday while she was changing him.

How to tell if baby is having enough? Usually Caeden will fall asleep after feeding. Does that mean he's contented?

Queen
Bo bian, coz labour too long already. I was totally exhausted and he's still stuck up in the birth canal.

SSF
My hb is helping me. In fact he's so proficient, so much better and more confident than me. I think everyone is different. So don't reprimand your hb too much. Maybe he's really not confident. Let him try bit by bit to build up his confidence.

SSF: my hubby got no phobia of carrying the baby at all, they just need to practise...

mashy: great job with the breastfeeding, since he is pooing and sleeping after feeding, I think he's contented ..

Hi SSF

I've yet to pop. But it seems my hb quite confident in carrying newborns. Think coz when he was younger my MIL used to help babysit babies and children. Only thing is he might return bb to me when he poos. *gWinz*

Mummies who have popped

Prior to giving birth, do you all experience really sensitive nipples? Mine is quite sore and sensitive and I've yet to pop. Is this common?

From the threads I read, I should start applying nipple cream to condition them right?

Any mums to be feeling abit sore on the underarms? i find that at certain positions, my right underarm will feel alittle 'suan' at times, though not everytime...

Hand swelling - i not only have pigs trotters but my hands are also swelling up!!!in fact both hands seem to have the pain at the wrist at certain movements... gynae gave me medicine for the nerves but doesnt seem to work..he did say it will go away aft delivery and i hope that day will come by fast...

god child - yeah i have numbness of my fingers too. when i clenched my hands, i can feel the soreness. try to raise your hands up when you can. same for feet. whenever i get off teh bed in the morning, my hands and feets are all numb and sore. yeah it will go away after delivery. as for arms i dun have any soreness. when is your due date? tahan for a while..soon we be relieve too