(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Wenyl,

Cephas will stretch after his feeds until he gets hiccups too. Yep, the hiccups sounds uncomfortable to me esp in the dead of the night. Imagine the whole room is so quiet and you just hear him hic hic' away. I feed him a bit of water to get rid of the hiccups. I also feed him water after his feeds to clean his tongue from the white residue of the milk.

edd2jan
I'm like you.. edd is 6 Jan. Going for my next check up tom. I wanted to induce this week so that bb can be born in 05. But, my gynae recommended that it be natural. So, we opted for natural & wait for bb to come out by himself. Me also feel normal (except today got a bit of tightening) and I dun think my bb is coming out anytime this week. To speed up, can try walking more, nipple stimulation, in addition to BD.

May
Did your gynae give u any bath wash? My gynae gave me medication + cream + bath oil. They all helped with the rashes. Also, stop taking seafood and wine in the meantime. I find that they worsen the rashes.

SY
Think I told you before hor.. I stay at Serangoon.

anyone experiencing watery discharge? I was sitting down having lunch today and felt a funny flowing sensation, like when your period comes? Panick and thot waterbag burst, but after 3 times, it stopped... went toilet to check and saw watery shiny discharge on the toilet paper... Just now, went home and lay down for a while, and it came back! Now totally stopped again?? *scratch head* I have no idea whether it is urine or waterbag leh???

Wendy,
Wow! u got so many boxes on standby. I only bot 1 box of 36+6. Dun have to change daily. I only change when it is soaked wet.

Sysac,
I was told not to feed water now as it will hinder his milk consumption. Ethan needs to be PUMP up quickly so that he can go for his BCG. Tomorrow got appt with PD at TMC. Hopefully his weight has increased to be jabbed tomorrow. Now, I just wet his dry lips with moist cotton wool.

Sleepingdeer,
Does it smell like urine? Normally waterbag burst....u will feel gushes of water. Maybe it is just a normal heavy discharge. Better check with ur gynae if unsure.

sleepingdeer
is your discharge colorless n odourless?? if yes, it might be water bag leakage. can be vy slight leakage so think you have to monitor n check w your gynae if this goes on. hope all is well =)

Wendy: should be enough lar, after ur breast get adjusted to producing milk, u won't leak so often. U can press on the other breast when feeding or pumping to stop milk from leaking later on.

Sleepingdeer: I think it might be water bag leakage. Cos I heard that if u are in vertical position, the baby may help to block the hole but when u are in horizontal position, the hole becomes 'unblocked'. Another possibility is that the hole is on top. When my water bag burst, it is like incontinence.

sleepingdeer,

Better put on a panty liner. If discharge comes with spotting of blood, better consult gynae. Could be a sign of water bag burst or leaking.

Hi girls, missing for a while.
I delivered Clariss Tan on 25 Dec 2005 at 4.23pm. She weighed 2.85kg at birth. natural birth without epidural. just came home today. Will share my birth story and Clariss picture tomorrow or later if I have time.

Sleepingdeer, better call your gynae. my water bag break without a lot of flow. ya, like what wendy says if the blood has spotting, most likely it's water bag break.

congrats mongs!!! wow delivery without epidural. you are realy something. i hope i can do that too. yeah can yorself settle and then update us with your birth story as well as your baby's pic. good date your baby chose to deliver. hehee..

thanks for the advise. The discharge is colourless and odourless, doesn't smell like urine, and I can't control it. Whereas when I leak urine, it only comes out when I sneeze or cough.

Have put on a panty liner and will probably visit my gynae tomorrow morning if it continues... Wish me luck!

Mongs,
congrats! Another gal bb!

err..sleepingdeer, better call the 24 hrs line to ask your gynae to call back. gynae needs to check if baby is ok before he decides if you should go home and wait for induced the contractions. for my case, my water bag break because I have already dilated 3 cm but I don't know and there was no contractions. infections can set in if baby is not delivered in 12 hrs and it's really water bag break.

sleepingdeer
could it be discharge?? like those normal discharge that we have. I ever did experience once that the discharge ooze out like menses like that but only one time and once so far in ym whole pregnancy.....

Mongs
congrats! cannto wait to hear your birth story.Another heroic mama with no epi....

Hello Mongs,
Congratulations! whoa....another gal to the list! Pls update us your birth story & pics of bb Clariss =) In the meantime, take care!

mongs,
congrats!! hope to see your pic soon

sleepingdeer.
think better see gynae. sounds like a leak leh. good luck!

baobao,
jayden looks really cute....

SSF, sunny
i have the same pain as yours but mine is on the right. makes me limp and looks ugly when i walk

durainlover
i have a lot of tingling sensation also. feels very funny. even hb can feel it. it is near the pubic area. the feeling is really weird. my tummy there will keep vibrating.

think i must be the only one who did not babydance at all during pregnancy!! ks hb.... :p

mashy,
hee, sometimes even when i initiate, hb will keep saying cannot cos he scared hurt bb. think cos initially gynae say cannot baby dance in 1st trimester.....

SY
i also have those tingling feeling near the pubic area ha ha seems like bb using fingers to tickle like that ha ha...only after i read what the mummies here have posted about their feel then i know actually i am experiencing the norms hee hee :p

I think this thread is a great place for all of us here to share our worries and joys. It allows us to share our problems and it lets us know we're not alone. In fact, I found out that most of the worries and "problems" I thought I had were in fact, common problems amongst us.

Also, I think this is a great place to share the joys of child birth with one another. I really enjoyed seeing all the little cute pictures of the babies. Feel so happy for them

Today, I went to see the gyane . Guess What! baby's head has turn down again.. but I have decided to go ahead with the C section.. I will be taking the edpidural but please keep in prayer as my backbone has problem.. after my birth I will let you all know what really happen.. as I am too tired going thru the truma today..

Rena,
Since your gynae already told u your bb's cord is short, better to go ahead with the C-Sect as planned.

Hows your cough and flu? Hope you're feeling better now already.

Don't worry too much. We'll all be praying for u here.

wow congrats to mongs!! great that u managed to deliver without epidural! heh think u & queen are inspirations for the rest of us here who are waiting to give birth!

sleepingdeer,
all the best! isn't it exciting if it's really water bag leakage? soon soon!

rena,
all the best to you too! dun worry too much and hope u're feeling better now!

god's child & wendy,
my MIL says to take the young green coconut just before i deliver (ie. when signs of labour are coming on). Coz she scared it's too cooling for me...said take once just before delivery enough already. But where do u buy such green coconuts? can't seem to find...

Mongs - BIG congrats!!!
do take care and update us on your birth story soon... everyone is getting so excited now...

durianlover - i think those coconuts can get at food courts, ever see before.. but dunno where to get them here in bukit panjang...

sleepingdeer - u called ur gynae aldy? do keep us up-dated and meanwhile... relax...

Rena - ur baby sure is one active baby, been turning up n down, up n down... hee... all the best for your c-section tmr!!!

Wow a few more mummies delivered liao... so excited and so anxious now...

CONGRATS to all mummies!!!

mongs
my daughter's name very similar to yours le, she is clarisse Yiow.

durian,
I bought mine from IMM Giants. They were selling the big young green coconuts. Alternatively, you can go to a fruit juice stall and buy from the stall owner. They usually have coconuts for sale.

As for bukit panjang, I'm not sure if NTUC has or not. Later or tomorrow, if I got the chance, I'll go down to Greenridge Shop&Save see got or not. I"ll also ask my MIL see if Fajar market have or not and let you know.

As for cooling, We're already 37 weeks, nearing term. We'll go into labour anytime soon, so, I don't really think it makes so much of a difference to us at this point of time. At the moment, I'm just taking it once a week and probably twice when I reach my 40th week if I haven't popped yet.

morning mummies!!!

havent been drinking coconut since i was in my early 30s weeks. i think i better start gg to east coast and order a coconut soon. will be seeing gynae tomorrow for a checkup. not sure if baby is engaged yet. anyone already in 37 weeks like me and not engaged yet? is it normal if baby is not engaged by end of 37 weeks?

somehow i have a feeling that baby will be out during the edd date. coz so far no symtpoms and i think its also better coz his last wgt was 2.2kg. hope to grow him fatter inside before he comes out
SY and sunny hang on there for the pelvis pain. when you chg, do ask ur hubby to help u or sit on the bed. do not strain yourself. have ample bed rest and you be fine soon. btw, can we start drinking herbal soup? yesterday actually drank turtle soup ..so yummy but dun know if got any effect? after that took my sugar lvl and shoot up to 9.4. so bad. normal is only 7.0. hubby so worried ask me to ctrl for and endure for another 2 weeks. so today..will have to watch my diet. so sianz.

BaoBao:
I also going to name my bb boi Jayden.
Whats your bb chinese name? Im thinking of
Kiat Ren (Jie Ren).

Re: sex during pregnancy
I m quite off sex since preggie... i tot im abnormal but later read some pregnancy books, it indicates that some pregnant women will completely turn off sex or become super honny...
luckily hubby will initate once a week till last week, i really cannot tahan my weight and the huge tummy and we also din finish the 'full course'... poor hubby... :<

all along, i tot the no of times is super low... but after reading some of the threads... at least most pregnant ladies feel the same.

sometimes i tot my hubby got other women and i start to q him... hee hee...

hi ssf
few days ago i went to see gynae, i was closed to 37 wks liao. doc said bb not engaged yet but head is down.
for the pain, i realise that while walking, if bb doesn't move, i won't feel the pain. once she moves, the pain starts coming....

Finally, here's my birth story of Baby Ethan....

19Dec 8:30pm
Vomited my dinner, followed by sudden chest pain. Gynae advised me to go to the nearest 24hr clinic to check BP immediately. Gynae was right, my BP suddenly shot up to 170/100. (I never have any history of high blood). Went home &amp; pack hospital bag. Still tinking could be a trial run.

19Dec 11:45pm
Immediately warded to TMC for BP monitoring. Chest pain became more severe. Moved me to labour ward.

20Dec 1:00am
BP reading continue to shoot up to 185/100+. Given 1st dose of medicine to bring down BP. Was given sleeping pills to calm down. Told hubby to go back &amp; rest. Till early 7+am, BP went up &amp; down like stock mkt.

20Dec 9:00am
Gynae came to check on me. Was told that cervix already 3cm open. Baby Ethan decided to make this his D day. Gynae immediately burst my waterbag &amp; told me to wait. Quickly activated hubby to come back TMC &amp; get ready for my delivery. Contractions came in shortly. Initially felt like menstrual cramps so decided to tahan. No epidural.

20Dec 11:30am
Contractions getting more severe, like every 5-10mins. Pain was intense. BP continue to be high despite on medication.

20Dec 1:30pm
Gynae came check my cervix only 5cm dilated. Advised of the high risks on mummy &amp; baby if I choose to tahan for natural birth as it may take another 5-6hrs for cervix to be fully opened &amp; my BP is still very high. Gynae strongly advise for emergency c-section immediately to save me &amp; baby.

20Dec 1:35pm
The moment I agreed, everything went very fast. Was put on drip. Nurse shaved me. Within 10mins, I was being wheeled into the operating room. Hubby was told to stay outside.

20Dec 2:02pm
Baby Ethan arrived! Daddy carried him &amp; took pic.
Weight: 1.78kg (super underweight). Length: 44cm.
Mummy still under GA. Was half awake when wheeled back to room. I remember asking the nurse....is my baby out liao?? Where is my baby?? Woke up around 3pm &amp; I cried when Hubby showed me his pic with Baby Ethan.

*Sorry for being so long winded.

Hi wenyl,

Your birth story is really exciting... You must have been terrified! So glad you and your baby are alright now. How is your blood pressure now that baby Ethan is out? Hope you are resting well with baby Ethan.

pei pei - ur sex life is so exciting. once a wk. i always thot me and hubby has very low sex drive. i think partially due to stress at work also. we normally do it like twice or thrice per mth. and now i am pregnant its even worst.

sunny - for me even when baby move or not still very painful. i think its the wgt plus you over strain your ligament.

wenyl - thks for your sharing your birth story. so u actually cried. so touching. ya your baby is underwgt as it came out earlier than expected. ya suppose to be after me lei. hehee..and now ya a mother already. so is it becos of your blood pressure that your baby have to come out so early? my sugar level is also quite high lately...not sure if its OK to keep him longer but i dun think i dilate already. anyway see wat doc said tmr.

Wenyl - tat was such a touching story * dabbing my tears*...it must have been so brave of you to decide almost immed on the c-section... Baby Ethan sure has a great mum!!!

Hi Wenyl,

Wow! What an exciting story! You are a brave mum!

Do rest well with Baby Ethan!

It's so exciting to har stories after stories and there isn't anything repetitive about all the stories isn't it?
I was just thinking this morning - with more mummies popping - wonder if there will be anyone else around to read my story when i pop cos everyone will be busy being a mother, nursing their princes and princesses.

wenyl: wow! what a birth! glad that everything is well now.

mongs: Congrats!

mummies: NTUC is selling Pampers NB diapers at 13.95 now and I have bought them at $15.40 2 weeks ago. Will be stocking up on Pampers Small this week.

cel cel
I take the botak coconuts as I find they are less cooling than the green ones. I've tried both.

sleepingdeer
I also hv lots of watery discharge for the past 2 weeks until, I'm no longer excited. agree that at first, I also thot that water bag was leaking.
rem to tell dr ho during your next visit. I told him that time. He said he checked that the fluid level is ok, so no prob, it's just watery discharge for my case.. but, I agree that it's so hard to differentiate, coz it's so watery.

Mongs
congrats!!! Christmas bb. so sweet.

Rena
Take care... and do update us when you've settled down.

Wendyl
Wow, must say that your birth story is so touching. Luckily, all went well for you and bb. No wonder they say high BP is very dangerous for preg women. But, at least now you and bb are all ok.

Wow! So exciting n gan cheong, we gals here popping one after another. (Finally get to see our bb soon)

mummies - regarding water bag burst, will there be any show b4 the water bag burst? Or the water water will burst n follow by contraction? i very worried cos i'm still working n at nite cant sleep (keep thinking when my water bag burst)

mong - Congrats to you

Wenyl - me too, cant afford to take long leave cos got to meet date line n finish my work on time. Thanks for sharing your birth story. Very touching.

SY - me too leh, didnt BD at all during my pregnancy cos afraid will hurt bb.

Wenyl:
Almost cried when i read that part that your hubby showed u the photo. Can feel the your deep at heart joy.
U are a brave mom. :>

Re: Sex life
SSF, but most of the times i still feel unattractive due to all the body swelling and out-of-shape body. :<

Mong &amp; Wenyl
Congrats!!! a very warm welcome to both of your prince and princess!
will be in time for your confinement to end and totally enjoy the coming CNY! rest well and will be waiting for the lovely BB pics.

pei pei - dun worry u be back to your normal size after delivery. yeah i also dun feel great abt my body due to the bloated tummy. only thg i am please is the size of the breast. haha

Hv been feeling slightly "paranoid" lately, especially @ nite....afraid that waterbag might burst in the middle of the nite! Oso got difficulty falling asleep.

With all the recent births going on these few days, i hv been feeling excited too, awaiting for my turn to come....very envious for those whose confinement that are starting now and will end just in time for CNY!!

Does any "yet to pop mummies" here hv any hunch that BB is coming earlier than expected EDD? I keep telling my HB that i think BB will be out early =)

peipei
Hv more confidence in yourself.....when i found out that am pregnant, i tell my hb that i wana b a sexy mama and i feel great thru out my whole pregnancy even now..

confused
oh, poor thing, me too can't take leave so soon, but will be taking leave in the week of 16th Jan then ask doc to cover me with MC for the week of EDD......planning is always so tedious....somemore hv to handover duties....*STRESS*!!!!

Very excited for Rena now, hopefully she copes well &amp; her BB is fine =)

I'm considering whether to let my boy come out when he wants i.e. probably end of this week or next week. But worried that being 35 weeks today, will it pose a danger for him? My gynae says it's safe, but I'm still worried. Now weighing the risks of staying in there and out.

Sysac and Wenyl

Any probs with your boys being out too early? My boy is est 2.5kg now. Will there be a big diff between his actual weight and est weight?

Yvonne
me too! vy time when getting up to pee inthe middle of the nite will worry will my water bag brust... and sleeping hour is short too. maybe is getting train up for the mid nite feeding time when bb is out. hahaha

been telling my boy to tahan for a few more days and he can come out anytime then =p my EDD is 25 Jan 06. but all along have this feeling tat my boy will come out abit early than this date. my hb keep wishing him to come out on 17 Jan, cos tats our wedding anni date! dunno whether he will listen or not? =p

peipei
like wat Yvonne said must have more confidence n be a happy n pretty pregnant mummy. my hb keep telling me i look really sexy w a tummy. he oso took photos of me baring my tummy,only covering my breasts w my arms and wearing a panty

Mashy

i guess if your boy reali decides to come out, there's nth we can do to prevent it... if ur gynae says its ok, then it shld be... trust ur gynae since you have aldy placed ur trust in her these past mths... being 35wks+ and 2.5kg sounds reasonable enough aldy...

Yvonne

Me too, hoping Baby Celeste will come earlier... hopefully by next week, cos i wana actuali celebrate CNY leh..haha..

god's child

thanks for your reassurance. Maybe i was being unnecessarily paranoid. My hb also said if bb is fine and can come out like what my gynae said, then just let him out. But i was kind of scared of this birth process and worried that being premature, he may dev some prob. Then if don't come out, i scared of cord entanglement. I'm really paranoid.

mashy
heard tat it is always better for bb to stay in mummy's body as long as possible coz tats the most safe envirnoment the bb will be in. but since for your case there is the chance of cord entanglement and other risk involve. think you can put your trust on your gynae's judgement. your bb is of good weight and wat i know from 36 weeks onwards its safe for the bb to come out le. Jia you!