(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

denmy
think jh is the opp from most pple. he was ok with sch though he keeps saying dun wan to go. but i know once he goes to sch, he is ok.

he very funny. i asked him who he wants to invite for bday from sch and he says he only wants to invite the k1 class and not the n2....

and of cos his fav emlyn. still his fav after 2 years in sch!!

hi mummies....haven't been active for some time. hee..wow all the P1 talk is making me stressed esp now that i officially sent the 2 boys to childcare and surprisely, it's the big bro that is crying every morn while the young one is the brave one. haha...

for those mummies sending to Nanyang, i heard that you have to pay like thousands of dollars to secure a place? is this true?

Re. Pri 1
1) Mashy - ACS (Pri/Junior haven't decided)
2) Mamapanda - Nanyang
3) Chicken Little - Nanyang
4) Queen - De LaSalle (cos HB is old boy, phew!)
5) xjysg - St Anthony (should be la ...)
6) BP - Keming, De LaSalle or South View (if i shift to CCK)
7) MamaChan - Fairfield Primary
8) sunny - nan hua/yew tee primary
9) rena- st andrew
10) denmy - Tao Nan (kor kor is there)
11) ssf - east spring pri

SH - i believe CL's duties only include simple household chores. i think they are not oblige to mop, vacuum, iron etc. for my case, i actually engaged a part time cleaner to come in but CL will mop the cooking area after cooking.

SSF,
To secure a better chance for old boy/old girl Phase 2A1, some willl pay to join the alumni like Mamapanda did. The entry fee is $500 and the lifetime membership is $500 so total $1K since we are all below 55 years old. If you are age 55 and above then entry fee is $2 and $200 for lifetime membership. For me i heng, never join.

Ha ha I think we better clarify a bit on phases before some mummies panic ok.

Refer to this link for various phases.

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/phases/

Phase 1
for child who has sibling studying in school of choice

So like Aden can follow Charmaine, keenan can follow Ethan, Damien if want to follow Duncan. These are confirmed seats.

Phase 2A1
For child whose parent is former student of school and who has joined the alumni association as member not later than 1 year before the registration. or whose parent is member of the school advisory/ management committee

Phase 2A2
For a child whose parent or sibling has studied in the school of choice; or whose parent is a staff member of the school of choice.

Phase2B2
For a child whose parent has joined the school as a parent volunteer not later than 2 years before registration and has given at least 40/80 hours of voluntary service to the school by 30 June in the year of registration; or whose parent is a member endorsed by the church/clan directly connected with the school; or whose parent is endorsed as an active community leader.

**** so here is if you want to do PV or join grassroot or clan , 2 years before registration you must make arrangement.

Phase 2 C
For a child who is ineligible for or unsuccessful in earlier phases

Phase 2C supplementary
For a child who is unsuccessful in gaining a place in a school of choice at Phase 2C.

Phase 3
For a child who is neither a Singapore Citizen nor a Permanent Resident

So for our 2005 kor kor and jie jie, registration will actually take place this year 2011 as they ar going P1 in 2012 and our 2006 babies will be registration in 2012 for P1 in 2013.

Registration is usually Jul of that year.

To join alumni by 30 Jun 2010 for 2005 babies and 30 Jun 2011 for 2006 babies.

Hence for PV registration, you must check your school of choice to see if application is close and do you clock in 40 as per norm or 80 hours subject to each school requirement.

Register before 1 Jul 2010 and clock in 40 or 80 hours before 30 Jun 2011 for 2005 babies
Or register before 1 Jul 2011 and clock in hours before 30 Jun 2012 for 2006 babies

If you are in Phase 2C, you may want to start reading the trend around Aug via this thread http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/vacancies/

This link will update what are the seats available after each registration phase

CL

Re: Phase 2B
since it's 2 yrs before, that means those who are born in 2005 are too late already right? Those born 2006 will need to do PV/join clan/association by this yr June. Am I correct?

any of you are sending your kids to CMA for abacus class? i want to send Clariss. there is will be discount if I get referral, the person referring also can get discount. Please pm me thanks.

Sorry Mashy
should be 1 year. for those who register in 2009 the application must be before 1 Jul 2008 so should be 1 year before P1 registration.

So P1 in 2012 , P1 registration in 2011 so PV must be applied before 1 Jul 2010.

Ha ha still got time for 2005 babies. so many dates so xian. I should say 2 years before going into P1 not before registration. My mistake.

Mummies who going in as old girl/ old boy, find your record , PSLE cert or report book. If not must quickly check with MOE for record

Hi sunny,
pm u.

Hi ssf, Rena,
thanks. I m not looking for major cleaning task. But she will pour all dirty water over jw toilet seat and just leave it like dat. My hb has to tell her off and wash it himself.

I was also willing to forgo the fact that I dun really seems to be getting any confinement food coz my mil told me she just buy packet herbal chicken ingridients to cook and then say all can eat together.

But I really can't take it now coz she really doesn't seems to care abt the bb. Like today, we go see pd. In car, sunlight shine straight into bb eyes until he was fidgeting, she oso Bo chap. I told her to shield, she do once then nv look out to see if it happens again until I told her off.

Generally me and hb feels she dun like bb or maybe we just started off on the wrong foot with each other. But now we feel she face black black. It doesn't help dat bb zzz like angel in the day and stays awake at nite. She complains she must hold him coz the moment put down he cries. So I told her to try and keep him awake in day and off lights in room at nite. She just says cannot keep him awake in day coz he insist on zzz. Then say it is coz we refuse to feed him some dunno wat Chinese medicine and he heaty from jaundice dats why can't zzz.

The worst was when I really couldn't take the boy crying any more last nite, I came out to see her jostling the bb (a little too hard in my opinion) up and down trying to quiet him down

I know she is tired and frustrated. But how to trust her with my boy like dat. Can't even zzz in peace yesterday.

SH
Just saw your posting...if I'm you, I won't put up with her and will ask her to leave and ask to change for a new CL... seems like she cannot make it as a CL lor... pls change her for your sanity and your health sake.

hello mongs,

I'm going to send Keenan to CMA at parkway centre. Took him in last tues wanting to sign up there and then cos already had assessment last Nov, but he refused. Then we went again the next day for another assessment/warm-up. Am trying to take him in tmr. I have not paid them yet. How much is the discount?

SY
I have not told Keenan tt he's not going for JH's party.. .dunno how to tell him cos he will scream... and the worse part is that he and Declan will actually be staying in while I take Ethan out with his frens for celebration!!!

Ya we are tryng to find a cl now. The bad news Is we hv $500 deposit for booking the original cl. But now my hb says worst case just forfeit lor.

Though we can't find any cl thru all the recommended ones who are available for the remaining 3 weeks.
Sighz...

Denmy
oh now, that's really hard to tell. i find that balancing btwn the kids really not easy. sometimes when i put both kids to sleep and i lie with jx, jh will ask me to lie with him but i always have to tell him wait till meimei sleeps. sounds unfair? i feel so but then no choice.

oh dear, anyone who can bring them?

CL
i also dun intend to join nanyang alumni...

SH
better change your CL. instead of her helping u, u still have to monitor her....waste time and effort...

if u need any help, let me know. i can always pop by to help.

Denmy
the discount is 8% for both the referrer and the referee (that is what I read from other forum, have not check officially). I have not brought Clariss for assessment yet.

on PV, call the school and see if you can/need to put in the registration earlier. I know currently, it's those turning 5-yr olds that are waiting to start doing theirs. The priority is usually for those who are registering that year to clock their PV (they've up to Jun to do so).... and so schools if they are short of PVs (or don't have a strict guideline) may allow registration later than date given. I think I'm going to PV (again) for the younger one :-~

oh, and PV certainly does not guarantee your child a place, so be prepared that it's just free labour given to school.

.ky.

SH

ya, why pay money to torture yourself? Get rid of her. Since the deposit is with Zhen Jie, why not call her and ask her to come back for the remaining weeks?

CL - thks for the details. now i am clearer abt the phases.

SH - for me, i think i will change as i will not be in peace of mind having her to tend the baby. maybe try letting her know of your decision soon and get Zhen jie over. she is good! tats why when come to CL, i prefer to ask around for those tat has used the CL before for comments.

Mashy/ssf,
zhen Jie can't make it. That's why hv this replacement. So I dun think zhen jie is an option.

The good news is bb can be discharged today. Bad news is we won't know if we want to keep bb with cl tonite. Headache.

ky
What do you exactly do for PV? Just curious? Is it time consuming? I wonder how does FTWMs do PV at schools...sounds like you need to clock certain hours?

SH
Good that you found one to do the remaining 2 weeks. Do take care and bear with this one... or if your hb can help you out...maybe send this CL away and cater confinement food till the next CL comes?

SH

I thot she has time conflict coz u delivered 5 weeks early? So assuming u gave birth on time, she should still be able to make it? Coz they'll usually give a 2 weeks grace period, so by right she should be free for your last 2 weeks.

gd that u found one who's willing to do 2 weeks for u. Hope everything will be fine henceforth.

My hb says keep her since food bought Liao and deposit cannot take back Liao coz dun think even if I sack her now zhen Jie will refund the bal. But she will just cook. At least some food for me. We will hv to care for bb ourselves at nite. Going to be v good life for her lor but hb insisted coz he says if she does anything to bb it will be permanent damage which is true oso.

Mashy,
I m not sure lei. She said she doing the current one for 2 wks only. So maybe she figured since she can't do me, she might as well do the current one for the full term. Coz she din give me option of having her back for the last 2 weeks when I spoke to her.

SH

have u spoken to zhen jie abt it? Since she's intro by her, maybe she can do something? Perhaps can use the deposit to offset her time spent at your place so far?

Zhen jie made a special soup for me every night. It's only for me and no one else can drink. She makes a separate soup almost daily for the rest of the family.

I hv not talked to zhen Jie coz I frightened once I tell zhen Jie then the current one will know.

Honestly since the day she came, I just had that packet chicken soup which she claimed all can drink. Some fried fish and steam fish.

One day she only cooked me a soup and nothing else. In the end I told her to at least fry me some eggs.
All veg was bought by my mil coz when she came she said why no veg

I dunno much abt confinement food but I dun feel v bu with wat she is cooking lor

SH

what! That's terrible! How can just make u soup and nothing else? Zhen jie steamed a fish for me every dinner until i scared.

Maybe Rena can help talk to zhen jie?

SH

ya, think u should tell zhen jie esp since she intro her. See if she can come over for the remaining 2 weeks and tell the current one to leave.

mongs
I checked w Keenan, he's not ready to start yet. will probably try again in 2 mths. What abt yourself, when u planning to start?

SH

that's bad. zhen jie plans ahead when she needs to go marketing and will tell me what food she's intending to make in case we dun like certain food.

Belinda - im also going Macau/HK next mth during CNY... be there from 25 feb-1 mar... have booked venetian for the macau stay
what are your dates?

SH - Congrats on ur #2! oh.. actuali if im u, i will reali sack the CL and care for bb myself rather than to worry bout her handling bb and getting man zhang...

SH
oh dear... she sounds really bad leh... I know for most of my confinement dishes that my mom prepare..will always have thinly sliced ginger fried with sesam oil and then the veg/meat... my hb cannot share food with me too frequently else it'll be too heaty for him...

In the meantime, do drink DOM to keep warm every night...that is really impt...coz after a week or so after giving birth, we will start to feel cold. So the food you eat now is essential in keeping us warm.

mashy
I remembered starting to shiver one week after giving birth to Daren... so my mom made me drink DOM at night from 2nd week onwards... first week she made those peppery pig stomach/liver soup for me to drink...drink until I sweat big time! but after that, I start to feel cold so have to eat foods that will "bu" to keep warm lor

wow so many things happening!

SH
CONGRATS! and do fire ur CL. Don't stress yourself up unnecessarily. Wait get post natal blues.

I don't recall feelign cold at all after birth for A. Was so warm n sweaty i wore singlets n miniskirt during confinement

SH
if there's CL available to do 2 weeks for you, just take it. For the 2 confinements which I went thru, at 4th week, I felt much better and could actually handled most of the things myself already. 1st 2 weeks were really the recuperating period for me.

If the CL is making you stressed instead of relieving you, you shouldn't keep her anymore.
take care.

Thanks all. Really an outlet to vent. Else I go crazy. We are sacking her end of wk. Zhen Jie says give her till 1 wk. Probably forgo part of deposit but we dun care liao. Not telling her yet though coz zhen Jie says wait she later no heart to work.

Got the 2 wks cl. Hope things work out well.

I've a bottle of Nordic Naturals - Arctic Cod Liver Oil Peach - 8 oz to sell.

Expire this March though. Stocked too many.

pm me if keen.

tx!

.ky.

SH
rest well not dun think too much. Giving birth is happy thing. Am sure the next CL will be able to bu for you. Take Care

This month since our little ones are celebrating birthday. Here is to share how much my Aden has grown.

First his Lightning Mcqueen Cake in school
3503033.jpg

2. Enjoying his moment when his friends are singing bday song
3503034.jpg

3. Celebration on actual day at Waraku with his cousins. Pretending to be thrilled and surprised
3503035.jpg

4. Delighted with his new craze - Ben 10 - omnitax or dunno what

3503036.jpg

Mamachan, PV hours is usually 40 hrs but there are some popular ones that asked for 60 or 80 hrs. They'll tell u beforehand the #, and requirements. For the school that I did, my hubby and I can combine the hours, some can't. I took on the baking class which is really FUN, and my hubby clock his hours with an overnight camp. Depending on what school needs and depending on what you can do, u can do regular duty (like someone I knew did gardening for RGPS, he's a working father), or adhoc basis(like clocking 8 hrs for sports day) or like what a working fren did, she got to prepare some materials at home. Some working parents will take leave just to complete that number. It's not difficult to clock if there are things to be done, but usually the popular ones will be grabbed first.

I'm still a little sore coz I've completed PV way ahead of everyone else (in Apr of the yr that my son was 5 yrs old) but so what, a neighbour who happened to have a property within 1 km of the school got her girl in and she hasn't even started when I was done... and I had voiced out my concerns before that they are having too many PVs. Felt like I'm being played coz after talking to some parents, I realize that some of the schools are playing political games. Well, at least I didn't bend my back over to complete the hrs, and I got to see what's good and no good of a school. I'm not sure if I'll do PV with this other school ... still some time to think, perhaps not, coz I'll like the didi to go thru' the same school that gorgor has gone thru' as it helps in the bonding....

I'm also thinking if I should carry on with PSG with the son's school. Seems like the PSG in this school is very on and unlike PV, it's not just about clocking that amt of hrs, but just putting in whatever time u have.

.ky.

CL

that's such a gorgeous cake! Where did u get it and how much?

SH
Glad you're changing your CL. Better to have some peace and rest than to endure a bad CL.