(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

i know this has been asked many times but any good & reasonably priced post natal masseurs to recommend? Anyone here using Mdm Rokiah? I had her for my #1 but thats almost 4 yrs ago. dunno if she's still as good and what's ther pricing like now.

I have 2 plastic bags full of similac glass bottles for storing EBM to give away. Bottle caps not included. Anyone interested?

mamapanda

do u want milk bags? i've boots milk bags which i didn't get to use.

sell u for $8 40 bags, 250ml each bag. let me know if u want.

hello mummies
long time no chat.

Was busy with Charmaine's fall yday and now busy trying to make preparation for her school reopens since she will be in cast for 6 - 8 weeks on her left elbow.

Anyone saw a pink arm sling before ? ha ha please let me know because my ah ya princess ask for it

And have you seen a spidey kids outfit ? Want to get one for Aden

Rachel
She missed a step and fell with elbow hitting hard on the ground.

So far she is still happily receiving get well gift ha ha. Yday she got her Barbie Glamour Jet.

Now arranging with my fren to get the cartoon arm sling for her.

So not so bad for her.

anyone has a fridge/freezer thermometer? where did u buy it from? was thinking of getting one to monitor the temperature of my fridge/freezer while storing EBM.

Hi CL,

Wow - hope Charmaine has a speedy recovery!

Btw, is your house far from Charmaine's school?

Ashley will be taking school bus and the operator just called me to say that they will fetch her at 1050am and will reach school about 1220....... That's 1.5 hours on the school bus!!!! I said it's too early and they say no choice. And looking at the list, they seems to be the only one operating around Tampines area! looking at the hours, means she start at 1050am (walk to bus stop cos it is not directly down the blk) and reach home 8pm??? crazy. It is not like north to east. It is just to and fro Bedok and Tampines......

Now in a fix......

Yuki
previousl from CCK, actually one turn down the expressway the school is not so far.
She will be picked up at 6.15 then they have another 2 pick ups after hew. 6.30 is the pick up at KY's place for about 5-6 pax and they will turn down to expressway for school. They will reach b4 7 for school. Charmaine says 10 mins into expressway after KY's place she dunno where she go liao bcause she will be sleeping

But the return part she is the last second one so she reach 2.45 when the school bus left school at 1.50. lesson ends at 1.30.

Now from clementi, 6.45 pick she reach b4 7 at school too. Next year she likely reach my mum place at commonwealth at 2 after school as my mum place is quite near.

If I moved to hillview which by right is suppose to be nearer to school hor, alamak the bus operator told me the pick up is 6.15 and she is the last one to be pick up. How can it be same as CCK woh.

So once i moved to hillview we will send her on our way to work. Then she will go to my mum place.

NYPS got many bus operator up to 60 over buses so within CCK already got 2 buses. so it is not like 1 bus sending so many kids. They break up into CCK and Yew Tee zone.

You not staying with your mum ? If your mum place nearer ?

I called a few bus operators and gather the following:

The school bus has to reach school by 1215 latest as instructed by the school. The assembly starts at 1230. Lesson start at 1255.

Wonder what the kids do btw 1215 to 1230...... bearing in mind 1215 is the latest. They say some will reach 1205........ 1/2 hour to do nothing. Seems like time wasted. I rather they use this time to rest.........

Yuki, is there other options, like hiring a taxi? 1050 is really early.... did u ask abt the route and the kids that they are picking up along the way?

I've just confirmed the timing for mine today too, after I repeatedly called them before to ask them for an estimate. My pickup is at 11.20pm and reaching school at 12noon. The guy said that kids will queue to go into school hall by 12.10pm. But when I called the school, the staff said that it's ok even when I dropped my kid off at 12.30 at the gate and he takes 5 mins to go up to the hall.

OK, I'm really keen on a second car now since I can't bear for him to go up the bus that early. Anyone has anyone to sell or knows of anyone selling a car? Don't mind any make, but must be auto and max 3-4 yrs old

.ky.

How were your Christmas?

Daren was confirmed to have HFMD AGAIN just yesterday. He started having symptoms i.e. mouth ulcers, blisters/small rashes all over his body since yesterday. Really sianz man... I'm thankful that this time round, he's got no fever. And he's managing the pain much better...at least he allows us to feed him liquids via spoon, though he was unwilling. Hope he continues to allow us to feed him liquids, to keep him hydrated.

Was telling my husband... buy 4-D or even Toto also not so lucky!

In the meantime, wishing you all A Happy New Year in Advance!

Hi ky,

Yup the school bus are restricted by the hours they can reach school. They have to be in the school bus bay by 1205 etc so that when the school release the morning session at 1230, the road are clear for the students to cross the road etc rather then having school bus zooming in......... That i can appreciate the reason.

Found another operator who operate smaller van but pick up at 1115. the cost of smaller van vs big bus is double ($65 vs $130). Hai....... that works out to be $780 more a year.

Another alternative i can have is to train the maid to take public transport. SInce the students are onlt required to reach school by 1230, she can leave home by 1130. But the cost of public transport works out to be around $100 too.

Think i have no choice but to pay more.... hai

Didn't know arranging school bus is such a stressful thing.........

Hi CL and KL,

After going a big round, i confirmed with the operator that quote me $130..... When i called the first operator intending to cancel his services, he said he has another smaller bus that can fetch at 1115 and he quoted me $90.

So i am back to cancel the second one whom was reluntant to fetch in the first place because that was not his route boundary........

These 3 days i have been driving crazy by all these school bus issues!!!

Hi Yuki

I've gotten a car yesterday. I don't think I've the energy to keep this up for the school bus operator.... my neighbour (CL, you know her) had to keep this up through the years, even making an effort to walk 50m so as to go on a later timing. After speaking to them in the morning the day before yesterday to confirm on timing and pickup spot, that night another lady called and told me that the pickup time is 11.15am (instead of 11.20am) and asked if the big bus can turn into my estate (goodness! coz all these I thot settled in the morning liao?). Goodness knows what kind of timing they'll tell me overtime if I use them coz I saw/hear many times kids waiting easily for 10 mins for buses. And well, the younger one benefits as well coz I'll send him to school n not hop onto school bus.

So, that's it. I'll become a PT chauffeur come 2010 and prob so for the next 9 years??

.ky.

Mashy
ya man. But she is improving, yday she can raise her affected arm

Ky,
congrats, yes yes it is the luxury of the kid to have a parent sending them around because I was a fortunate kid too. From primary up to uni i have my dad to send me around.

what is the price of the car ? ha ha I oso tempted. hee hee becos I want to mini car for ease of parking. Lousy driver lah.

Happy New Year!
Just came back from a trip to KL with HB and my boys who drove me crazy on our drive back cos both of them were cranky. Have been on quite a lot of short trips these years with my boys in tow... Hong Kong, Phuket, afew times to Malaysia. Next year I hope to bring them to South Africa/Australia when HB goes there for business!

Mamachan,
Hope Daren is ok already?

Re. Tiger Food Jar
Now that Matthew can take porridge, I started using the Tiger Food Jar again but find that it cannot retain heat very well anymore. Any of you has this problem?
I dunno if it's me or what... but this is my 3rd food jar that cannot last very long! I tried La Gourmet brand after my first Tiger Food Jar is spoilt and the La Gourmet brand also only lasted only a few months. Then I bought another Tiger, and this Tiger also only lasted about half a year. Sigh...
Now I'm thinking of getting a travel size thermal cooker instead.

happy new year!

ky
wow, congrats. your kids are really lucky.

queen
wah, south africa. i heard that it's a beautiful country.
for the tiger food jar, it still serves me very well. i bought it when my #1 started taking porridge, and now using it for my #2. still warm and can still 'self cook' the food inside.

is it because of the rubber of the cover spoilt? maybe can bring to the sole distributor shop at liang seah st to check with them? tiger brand should be quite reliable and durable.

ky
got a car already, tats fast =) Ben and Keith sure are fortunate to have you!

queen
my 3YO tiger food jar still serve me very well, been using it for devan's porridge now.

CL, I got a small car too coz I'll be just travelling to-and-fro schools; have pm u details. I was never tmpted to get a car till now (though I was tempted when I first got my license 15 yrs ago)... in fact, I was still keeping my fingers crossed that my waitlist would happen n I need not have to get a car. oh well... moving on now. I never had that luxury of being fetched to school before ... in fact, by the time I was P4, my mum didn't even bring me to school. I was outsourced to a neighour that walks her kids to school amd I tagged along, and even at Sec 1, I took the bus on my own since day 1.

I figure that since I could give up my salary for my kids, if I can afford, then why not? sometimes, I'll rather spend a bit more money and able to manage it on my own rather than depend on others... I look at my own mother, she's hoarding her money don't know for what...

.ky.

Hi Ky,

The topic about 'hoarding money' reminds me about an issue with someone recently.

Most people has the opinion that she is 'hoarding money'...... however she explained that because of her experience and past when the family cannot afford much for her - she has to borrow money for school, how relative and friends look down on them etc....... Hence she is uptight about money even thou now she is consider above avg......

Guess there can be 2 extreme resulting from being very poor since young - one will be very uptight about money and the other who will spend all since they don't have money to spend last time? I have friends who are like that too.

Another friend of mine will hagger with the market aunt over $0.05 and buy veg must get free chilli type. She is in her 30s. Her hubby is a scholar so i reckon must earn quite a fair bit but she remain the same. She said her lunch when she was young was literally rice and black soy sauce. Only one dish is available - veg cook with soup. An egg will be consider a treat, a luxury. So now even thou she has money, she is still very very thrifty.

Sunny / Rachel,
Seems like the problem is me then. Maybe it's the way I handle it
The rubber seal is still intact on my Tiger Food Jar, that's why I don't understand what's the problem. I'm going to try 'self-cook' the porridge in the jar again. Sigh... if not I think I have to invest in a thermal cooker, which is so expensive!

Diapers.com spree
www.diapers.com
PM me your orders if you are interested.
I'm thinking of getting Earth's Best cereals and diaper cream.
There may be further 10% discount if my discoutn coupon works.

ky

haha, your mom hoarding money, mine is grandma. She's 85, time almost up already still wanna draw up a list of pp who 'owe' her money. She's provided for fully so really dun understand.

Happy New Year, mummies! Time flies so fast.....we have been chatting in here for 4+ yrs already.

KY,
Congrats on your new baby! Happy driving! Am sure you will enjoy driving your boys around. For me, its the opposite. We have decided more or less to let my Ben join gorgor take sch bus to sch coming next week. We were looking at the option of me being the chaffeur but I will then need to send my hb to work & drop the boys off after that everyday. May I know which primary school is ur #1 attending?

Mamachan,
Sorry to hear that D is down again with HFMD. Pray that he recovers super fast. Take care!

Queen,
My Tiger food jar is still working well too. Did you ever drop your food jar? Or you fill too little porridge in there? I have a small cheap Endo food container. Last time when I only need to bring out a small portion of porridge for Ben only, I use that instead of Tiger. It can keep the food warm for 2-3 hrs. Less bulky too.

happy new year!! a lot of catching up to do!!

wenyl
thanks for lending me the long johns. it was really good cos the first few days when we were there it was pretty cold. think like 13-14 degrees.

dunno why but since coming back from hk, my kids have been super energetic....the first few days i was totally zonked out at night cos they slept so late!!

queen
my tiger jar still working also. but to be safe i usually will boil the porridge abt 10 min before i put it in. i use it everyday for jx's food.

ky
wow u got a car for fetching the kids! they are really lucky. i wish i can do that too! i took jh's bus with him once and i felt he very poor thing but he seems quite ok with it. his bus uncle just told me this year he may be able to send jh home earlier...hope so...

mamachan
hope D gets well soon! that's really unfortunate. any idea where he may have caught it from?

CL
u got your new place already?

Queen
I use my Tiger Food Jar occasionally now and it is still working.

SY
Nice meeting you the other day. Your JX is so cute. Yup bought but still waiting for handover which will be in 1 months time.

SY,
U r welcome. Glad it came in handy. Yes, same here....even Ben is still very awake at 10+pm nowadays. I am still trying to get my boys to go to bed earlier. They were sleeping like 11+pm every night while in HK. Now its 10+pm but sch gonna reopen, so my target is to adjust them back to their usual bedtime ard 9+pm.

How come u feel JH very poor thing when he takes sch bus to sch? Can add me in to your blog?

confinement food
Anyone ordered Tingkat confinement food during their confinement? Any good and reasonably priced ones to recommend?

mamapanda

i ordered before from newbaby. Yucks.

U must be really not choosy with food to be ok with catered confinement food coz after a while, the food just taste the same. I felt so much happier when i had a confinement nanny to cook for me.

HAPPY NEW YEAR to all mummies and families !!

And not forgetting, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ALL OUR LITTLE DARLINGS !!! Jan is gonna be a busy month for most mummies, start of school and preparing Birthday Parties !!

Am up now cos awake by J2, she is teething and so cranky at night. Woken by her and cannot go back to sleep.

Re. Tiger Jar
Thanks for your inputs. I tried last night to cook porridge with it and it doesn't work. Sigh.
So I think it's a goner. Read from the FAQ on Tiger's website that it could be due to broken inner glass. Look's like I have to buy my 4th (gasp!) jar. Got to handle very carefully liao... the thing is, it's not like I bang it around or drop it on the floor. Dunno why it's spoilt so easily?

Happy New Year everyone and Happy Birthday to all the little kiddos!

C just celebrated his birthday in school last week and had a great time.
The cake from Pine garden was fabulous!

so fast some of us are going to enrol our kids for Pri 1 next year! So who's going where? For those who needs to do PV, have to start already i think. Those who needs to join alumni also need to join now.

Wanna have a list of which kids are going/wanna go where? Who knows they may be schoolmates/classmates & we can exchange parent notes. :p

1) Mashy - ACS (Pri/Junior haven't decided)

so fast some of us are going to enrol our kids for Pri 1 next year! So who's going where? For those who needs to do PV, have to start already i think. Those who needs to join alumni also need to join now.

Wanna have a list of which kids are going/wanna go where? Who knows they may be schoolmates/classmates & we can exchange parent notes. :p

2) Mamapanda - Nanyang

mamapanda

hey, then your gal will be same as CL's A. I just read some parent teacher presentation that were posted online in the ACS website. SO scary, 3rd week onwards start spelling and dictation leh. And due to MOE's new policy, the children are banded not only by overall performance, but by subjects as well and they attend diff classes for diff subjects. now pri sch so stressful. how not to be kancheong in kindy now to prepare them for pri sch?

mashy
Yeah I remember CL say she's also putting A in NY. NY alumni very expensive to join but we thought now we gonna have 2 princesses, the cost is halved, so still ok. LOL

My friend registered her girl into St Margeret and she said she was surprised it was quite "empty". They were only over-subscribed by 7 placings this year. Maybe cuz St Mar's at Dhouby Gaut now so nobody wants to send their child there.

Mamapanda
ha ha no need to waste money. If you are old gal sure get in, I oso wanted to join then my fren who used to be HOD there say no need. I oso silly when i registered I ask the admin if need to ballot. He oso laughed at me sure get in one no need because he issuing me registration number straightaway. So save the money for books.

2) Mamapanda - Nanyang
3) Chicken Little - Nanyang

SY, would you be sending JH to Nanyang too ? By then I will be experienced mum with NYPS liao oso can feedback to you on the new principal who by then will be 3 years in NYPS. She is ex Nan Hua Principal, looks good from TV interview.

And dun waste money on past year papers ha ha I am in touch with 2002 mummy thread so I will have different school papers if the parent contribute.

Re. Pri 1
2) Mamapanda - Nanyang
4) Queen - De LaSalle (cos HB is old boy, phew!)

Isaac will be enrolling next year. So fast hor... Only bad thing is, my ILs stay at Woodlands, so need to travel a little bit to pick him up. Still not too bad cos I think it's only a 2 stops MRT and short bus ride away (I hope).

Re. Pri 1
2) Mamapanda - Nanyang
5) xjysg - St Anthony (should be la ...)

Queen, I'm like you, thot it's just 2 MRT stops ... but it's not a short bus ride away. And so far, I've not heard of anyone that's happy that the school bus is just a short ride away, u just have to see if u can bear with it.

.ky.

Re. Pri 1
2) Mamapanda - Nanyang
5) xjysg - St Anthony (should be la ...)
6) BP - Keming, De LaSalle or South View (if i shift to CCK)

Queen, btw, do u know that De LaSalle's moving to a temp school compound at Teck Whye side for abt 3 yrs? BP, all 3 schools have ballot within 1 km ... so whr r u staying? if near Keming, then it's far from the other 2

.ky.

BP
another thing for consideration is even if you moved to CCK, are your kids still going under the care of your mum at Bukit Batok. If yes, then no need to change school for Duncan and Damien can go to same school.

This year Charmaine goes under my mum's care after school. So she will reach home after 10 mins bus ride from school and she get to eat properly, rest properly and even nap. Yday she nap from 3.30 to 6 pm.