(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

thanks ladies. my gal didn't complain any pain and still behave actively. hopefully it is not... *cross finger*

Sunny,
take care ya. Hfmd is no joke .. My boy Jkena twice.. Isolated case somemore.. Luckly we were very clean at home.. 1 time he got it I was pregnant the other time Ezekiel was 9/10 months

Chic Lil
Hahaha, I'm moving next weekend
Booked my mover since beginning of this month. My reno i.d is handing over the place to me by end of this week... now left with roller blinds and curtains.

My sofa/TV/new fridge will come in next week before the Big move.

hahahaha, sorry lah...I don't believe in Feng Shui
But it'll be more "convenient" to try more frequently in the new house.... super inconvenient in my mom's place... LOL

Sunny
Ooops...hope your girl is ok... have to monitor... see if there's any fever, usually they will start to be listless. Should try to seperate #1 and #2 if possible... observe good personal hygiene...insist that both #1 and #2 and adults washes theirs hands well after play, meals, etc etc

Sunny,
Thanks! This CL is a life saver. I am glad i listen to all your advice to switch. I couldn't imagine what i would be going thru now trying to survive the first one.

Too bad she can only do 2 weeks.

CL,
You mean this new one? She was helping one of my ex-colleague's wife and originally din want to do for me coz too near CNY. Then my ex-colleague told her to pls help me so she relented and do 2 weeks.

sunny - last wk, there is a note from my kids' childcare that there were 2 confirmed cases. I pray each day for GOD's protection on my 2 kiddos. sometimes to enrol them to childcare is also a headache when such thg happens. like yesterday, kena summoned by childcare to take home J as he was having fever of a mere 37.5. in the end it turns out that he missed his morning milk and was cranky in the morning. i ended up having to take urgent half day but not bad la, can bond with him while C was in sch. hee....

mamachan - have faith! bb #2 will be on the way

When did you start 3 full solid meals for your babies?
Matthew is having cereals for breakfast and porridge for dinner. In between, still milk feeds. For Isaac, I cannot remember when I drop the lunch milk feed for porridge liao.
Also, other than cereals, what other breakfast can we give to a 9-month old baby with no teeth???

queen
what abt steamed plain man tou (use finger pinch into swalowable small small bits), steamed egg custard, steamed tofu, mashed potatoes, mashed pumpkin, mashed butternut squash? I think i was giving A those when she's 9 months. U can also refer to Annabelle Karmel's website for more ideas.

mamapanda

haha, u forgot that bb cannot take egg before 1 already ah? :p i think we've all forgotten how to take care of our younger children. Me too! I can't remember what to feed and how to feed liao. Have to relearn everything.

honey i can remember. In fact, I remember reading that children should not consume honey 5yr old cuz their digestive system may not be able to take the bacteria present in honey.

Mashy,
Egg yolks ok. Egg whites is no-no till 1 year old.

Mamapanda,
I'm thinking of giving wholemeal bread but since Matthew hasn't got any teeth, I dunno whether he will choke? i thought of toasting the bread till like biscuit texture so that maybe it will be crumbly in the mouth, but not sure if it'll work. Mashed potatoes/veges and all that, I usually give for dinner. If just give mashed fruits/vegetables, dunno can last long or not.

Just to share, Matthew can drink water from a cup since 3 months old. I did a Doidy Cup (http://www.doidycup.com/) spree and bought one for him. Now, he can also sip from normal cups. But he is still drinking milk from bottle cos if drink from cup, he will take ages to finish!

Queen,
I remember giving my 2 boys avocado with banana for bfast sometimes. Can add a little bm or fm to make it more watery. Its quite tasty & filling.

SH
glad that this new CL is better. i can also see that she looks more experienced too....

sunny
how is your gal? is she ok? seems like a lot of HFMD cases. my neighbour's gal also got it and her sch had more than 10 cases...

queen
for jx i gave her cereal usually and will add fruits. she dun relaly like bread but she likes mantou. i buy different flavor ones like wholemeal, pumpkin etc.

M has no teeth yet?

wow 3 months to drink from cup? that's fast....jx uses cup sometime but mainly still using straw

mamachan
hee, jia you on #2!

CL
the ben 10 cake was very pretty but i find it a bit too rich. the kids seem to think that it's too rich cos i find that they din finish the cake! but really really pretty.

SH
congrats! and glad you got a replacement for your CL, btw is the 1st CL really a CL or not?? from what you vented out, she's worst than our mothers who at least know what to cook for confinement. =p

re: P1 registration & PV
all the tallk and discussion on this topic really make me worry haha.

i don't think will send dylan to my former primary school, far for him to travel. bukit panjang to jurong east... hubby side gone case cos he only started his education here for secondary...

so got to do some homework and start hunting!

SH
happy for you that you got a good CL.

thanks for the advices and concerns.
my gal's case is not really a HFMD. *phew* after 2 days, the ulcer went off and the childcare didn't ask us to get the certificate from the doc.
now, it's my boy's turn, found ulcer in his inner lips. hopefully it's just because of heatiness. no fever and still behaving normal and active. *cross finger*

queen
i think i gv my kids 3 full meals when they were around 9-10 months. other than cereal, you can give mash pototo, avocado, sweet potato, fruits. this is the website i always refer to: http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

Thanks. Looking for tinkat or catering after my confinement lady leaves in another 1 week. Any good recommendations. May cater till i find a maid...

sunny
ulcers are usually caused by virus. usually viral ulcers. so having ulcers not nec HFMD. there was once jx also had mouth ulcers but doc diagnose as viral ulcer. i went to GP and GP said HFMD but i was very sure her rash and ulcers were not HFMD so i went to see PD and he said it's viral ulcers.

SH
think rena posted in another thread asking whether u wan zhen jie to help out. maybe u can ask her.

SH - i am using Jessie Catering. So far not bad. no complaints. Just that they started to increase the cost of the rice from 10 bucks to 20 bucks per mth for 2 intake. i paid about 193 bucks for 1 soup 3 dishes and rice. portion for 2.

SH

I was looking earlier for catered confinement food and I thought Red Dates Catering seems not bad amongst the others I got quotation from. My Sis also catered from them and she says they're alright. Anyway, here's a list of a few confinement food caterers u can call to find out more.

* Natal Essentials Tel: 6284 7688 Email: [email protected]
* Red Dates Catering Tel: 6778 3238 Email: [email protected]
* New Baby Pte Ltd Tel: 6345 2229 Email: [email protected]
* First Delight Catering Tel: 6348 2528
* Homy Catering Services Pte Ltd Tel: 63482528 (Motherhood Magazine Ad)
* Buffet Paradise at Tel: 62847688 or Email: [email protected] (Kelvin Ong 6284-7688)

Long time no 'see' mummies! Wanna share some good stuff.

My fren brought in these bag organizers which are rather useful especially for those who change their bags often. I'm using one for my working bag. It has multiple slots to put stuff so when u change bags, u just need to take the organizer out to the new bag. Got small, medium, large sizes. I've also got a larger one for oing out with the kids. Find it useful to organize the diaper, milk bottles etc in my bag.

3594598.jpg

Oh! and she's got wet bags too. these are bags to put your swimsuits or gym stuff and it's waterproof, basically for your wet stuff.

The website's www.theitshop.wordpress.com

another thing...(paisei to post so much when i'm hardly active now)...

she brought in these 'geopuzzles' which are basically jigsaws that teaches the kid about the continents of the world, or capital of each country etc. her son's school uses such materials for teaching.

this, you can check out at www.learnittoo.wordpress.com

Thanks so much!!

Our thread has gone quiet!

Re. dental
I brought Isaac to his first dental checkup at Sunshine Smile Dental at Woodlands Civic Centre.
Thumbs up! They have a kids play area at the reception area and they even have LCD TV mounted above the dentist chair. Isaac was watching 'Cars' while having his teeth cleaned.
The dentist, or I should say Oral therapist (like those nursing qualification who performs basic dental procedures for Pri. school kids), who attended was so nice and will explain to Isaac what she will be doing at every step.

Indeed the thread is very quiet.

HAve been busy with work and managing Ashley's Primary school education. Realised parents have to be so involved nowadays. At least once a week there will be letter for parents to read, on some programs the school will be organising etc, there are also activities (CCA) forms, asking if your kids are interested etc. These days join CCA also must pay because they engage the professional to do it. The school offer ballet, violin........ even chess also engage professional to teach and have to pay.......

Then there are activities for parents to do with children. CNY - lantern competition. School anniversary, design a logo....... then the Google doodle competition......

Just help ashley on a presentation on powerpoint! It is not indicated that must use power point but in the sample they gave, they use powerpoint..... stress........

Just so many activities! Now i know why parents are so tired. .... It is like having school all over again.

CL,
It's $30 for 1st consultation and $30 for cleaning and polishing. Subsequent routine visit will not charge consultation, unless it involves extraction etc. At first I had reservations because the oral therapist who attended to Isaac is not a full fledged dentist but the receptionist assured me that she is qualified and certified to perform scaling/polishing/extraction. She even reminded me that in primary school kids are also attended by such 'nurses'. I think beyond that the usual cleaning and extraction, a propoer dentist will have to be consulted. I'm fine actually, if it's the usual routine cleaning. If there is a more serious dental problem, I think I would still prefer a dentist.
Anyway, what I like is that, it is obvious that this oral therapist is good with kids. She will do 'kid's talk' and make Isaac comfortable.

Yuki,
WHich school is Ashley in again? How are you coping?

Hi Queen,

Ashley is in Temasek.

Am coping ok i guess. There are the up and down period and they come in waves. When things at tough and stressful, these are the times that make it more difficult. But i try not to give myself too much stress.

Like the initial period, Ashley keeps crying when going to school. Me handling alone - sometimes will get frustrated and there isn't anyone else to handle A. In times like that, i wish hubby is still here to give another perspective to Ashley etc.

<font color="ff0000">hello all... long time no read :p
<font size="+2">Gong Xi Fa Cai !!!
<font color="0077aa">It's been a long time since I last read. As usual I wish I have more time but work is so hectic these days..

Just wondering any simple gathering coming along? I mean our "babies" are all so so grown up and I really miss the last gathering at East Coast. It will be nice to meet up again.

I was reading thru... indeed manything need to relearn...
with regards to egg for babies... I'm such a blur mummy. I remembered wrongly!! I fed K3 egg white at 10 months and throw away the egg yolk cos I thought she cannot take egg yolk..haha
But Thank God she is fine. PTL!

Look slike everyone very busy with CNY cos the thread has no posting for many days...

Yuki >> I met Dave the other day.. he told me he met you up
</font></font>

CL
Btw.. it's a little late but Aden's cake is really nice!!! Your shifu very power le.

Anyone wannt update me... who has #2 and who has #3 already?

Also... anyone has email address for Anita aka I forgot her nick. Can u PM me her email?
Thanks a lot

Happy CNY!
Our thread has become so quiet...

CL,
Possible for me to get your Shifu to bake a cake for my Matthew for his 1st birthday? Her cake tastes as good as it looks?

Heheh, my Matthew is coming 11 months and still toothless!

Happy CNY to all too.

Busy with kids lor now plus aiyo Charmaine is having test this friday after CNY holidays.

Queen I will pm you her contact. Taste not bad. Except if she need a "hard" cake to mould the shape, the cake usually taste too dry and I dun like. I like moist cake ha ha

Hi Cookie,

Yup, Met Dave at one of our Uni gathering.
We usually meet only during this period, once a year. ha.

How are you getting on with 3 Ks? So cute.

didnt log on for a while as I've been really busy at work and at home. Changed my maid 2x.

Happy CNY to all.. hope tt our kids will grow our healthy and strong and be guai guai...

Queen
I also ordered from CL's shifu. Find the cake qt tasty and nice. Looks very nice too.. erh, but her Elmo is not so nice lah. haha.. so, u must choose the correct character. Barney is ok.

Such a long time. Happy New Year! (Hope I am not too late). Read a bit and realised that our thread mummies are so productive with 2 and even 3s...

Should come in more often....