(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

re: low amniotic fluid

I also have this... mine was 6 but dropped to 5 during the last 2 weeks. Apparantly, its quite common, as it turns out a few of my colleagues were the same, as long as the baby is kicking and growing well, and all the scans are normal then nothing to worry about... I think it maybe cos we mothers are more stressed and working into the later part of pregnancy... I think they only worry if the cord shows compression or fluid drops to less than 4

My obs said no need to do anything except rest and drink more water, until later if baby's CTG not so good, then might need LSCS, cos she said that if the fluid is low, may have a higher risk of fetal distress if you induce.

Morning mummies....i am working from home again. still resting from my pelvis pain. today seems better but later at night gg wedding dinner ..dun noe if will aggravate it further. anyway tmr is my last day gg to office. need to settle some stuffs at work and thereafter yahoo...working from hm till baby is out!

sysac - wah..u really went out. hee...so envy u can start partying with ur new born baby. I think i will also start gg out once i feel better. else cope at hm is so bored. ehee..

rena - hope ur baby comes out at the right time so we can see u on news. hee...1st jan baby ya! dun stress..now that i am in such a pain..i rather deliver asap. u mean $1000 need to deposit for c-sect? anyway at the end just pay the difference right? coz i think definitely have to top up some more.

may - ur baby is really big..did doc ask u to cut down on anythg? try to eat less sugary stuffs. eat somethg light. do u snack or eat alot?

tabbiesus - dun be sad...u be able to eat it soon. tats why i always told my hubby and frds..no Jap fd hor..i cannot eat raw. dun tempt me. haha..

Rena,
Is the $1k for the doc or the hos?
my sis delivered her baby at mt A in June via c-section and she paid only 600+ cash because $2600 can be claim from medisave. She stayed for 4 nights in a 2 bedder. maybe that 1k is payable using medisave because for natural, we can only claim $1050.

Doc fees for c-section is naturally higher compared to natural birth.

rena,

Take care and rest well before your baby's delivery...

Its better not to choose a public holiday to deliver cos the staff support at the hospital is usually less, so 31 is quite a good day.

Pray that you have a safe delivery... only a few more days before you will be holding your baby... :D

rena
I think the extra charge is imposed by the gynae, not the hosp. For my gynae, he also charges $1K extra if we choose the date/time for C-section. The nurse told me coz some pple want it at certain wee hours due to the fortune telling. Maybe if yours is in the day, can nego with your gynae not to charge you. But, if he insist, also no choice loh.

I think what he says makes sense. don't risk it in case bb's cord is really short. Shld just their professional judgement lor, that's what i think.

Rachel
You can only claim the $600 is your bb is admitted by the PD. That's when seperate billing will enable you to claim more.

Rena,
There is a citibank package for elective C-sect in GHL, whether it is epidural or GA. The only extra charge to the package is for the anaesthetist. I'll repost the Citibank Promotion document to this posting so that you can look up. The only time when epidural and C-Sect is not eligible for the package is when your labour is more than 10hours and you have to do an emergency C-Sect. However, since yours is chosen C-Sect case, the package should apply but you'll have to pay $3098 as deposit instead of $1788.

I also found out (maybe you already knew..) that the deposit we are paying is the maximum chargable for the category we are in. The breakdown of the deposit we are paying in actually the italised words below. For example, for normal delivery and assisted with epidural, the maximum chargable for the mother's bill is $1778 while the maximum chargable for the bb's bill is $350. This adds up to the deposit of $2128 that we are paying, ie, $1778+$350 = $2128 (deposit). Any excess after adding the anaesthetist fees, doctors' fees and misc fees and after deducting $1050 medisave will be refunded back to us by cheque 2 weeks later.

SSF / Rena,
Yes, I am aware that you have to pay extra for choosing zodiac dates, public holidays, weekends and off-office hour deliveries. Unless you can "bargain" with you obstaetrician on that and purposely arrange for a particular date that do not fall on weekends, public holidays or off-office hours without making it obvious (give excuses like I got important work, meeting, blah blah, cannot be on this day, lets have it on XXX day instead), it is a standard practise. It was stated clearly in my package agreement for my case.

Rena, don't be too upset. It is good that your doctor found out the cord is too short. It would have been disastrous if he didn't find that out and you went ahead and delivered vaginally isn't it? On the up side, you'll be able to see your bb real soon and you'll get to celebrate and enjoy all the Chinese New Year goodies as you confinement will end by then.

Gals, just want to share my experience with you. I engaged VANI 90211447 as my massage lady and I regreted it. If you engaged massage lady please ensure shes reliablity and she cm on the day she promised. After I make payment she used 2 months to finish the course instead of 7 days. Oil and medicine which is included in the package are not delivered. I feel so CHEATED. I just know she stay at Blk 435, Yishun Avenue 6. If you have friends looking for massage lady, please ask them becareful. I just read the thread and noticed someone also kena like me.

wendy,

Could you repost the citibank Package ? My deposit was 3298.. now I am pondering if I should do the Edpidural or the GA.. as I have back problem.. but Edpidurial hubby can see bb as for GA he has to wait outside..

Any advise?

whoa grace..tats a bad experience. thanks for letting us know. guess we all have to be careful before parting our money.

Rena,
How come your deposit so much? You did not use the Citibank card? It seems you're paying the normal package price. It should be only $3098 for citibank card holders. You have to specifcally tell them you're a CITIBANK card holder or they'll not offer you the package (cuz its $200 cheaper).

Btw, just recalled that you need doctor's permission to witness a C-Sect birth (epidural only) if your hubby wants to see it. Gotta decide early and tell your gynae else the hospital won't allow him to go in

Thanks wendy..

I am not sure if I use the Citibank off can I still get the discount from Parkway.. as my sister in law can help us get discount for hospital charges only..

Rena,

Just remember to consider when choosing epidural/ GA:

If you do epidural or spinal, you can hold baby and breastfeed baby straight away cos you'll be awake...

If you do GA, you may be a little groggy after you wake up.. but if you are very anxious about hearing the operation (you won't be able to see it ) then this maybe less frightening?

Maybe you can let the anaesthetist assess if your back problem will affect the epidural?

Hi Rena,

Don't worry. Like what the rest says, at least you discover early, don't have to go thru two process.

We will be praying for you! Jia you!

Thank you all for the encourage..my MIL call and she is worried so ask me to check if the doc can C section early.. so may be 28 Dec..1pm ...

Tabbiesus,

it is true that after C section I can breastfeed immediately? not thru natural birth , the body will know when to have milk?

My friend can breast feed straight away after her C section with epidural, but the only thing is that when the nipple is stimulated, the uterus can hurt a little bit more because of the cut.. but so far they mostly have the same problems as normal delivery mothers

you can read this article from lalechleague, it also says you can breastfeed once you are alert after C section, but positioning may be a problem...

Lucky our body is smarter than that, I think because once the placenta is out, the hormones are different in the body, so our breast will know how to respond accordingly

http://www.lalecheleague.org/FAQ/cesarean.html

Thanks Tabbiesus..

I have just sms Queen, she and baby Issac has returned home yesterday ..and she will log on to tell us her story soon..

My actual C section will be 29th Dec as doc refuse to do it early.. but same timing also..

at least my bb is the the last day bb.. hee hee..

thanks Rena for the updates! yeah ur bb will be the last day for this year!
so wats the name of your baby?

we already have Cephas, Rae and now Issac
so fun!

Rena,
you will be able to see bb soon!

try not to worry too much. my fren who went thru it choose epidural so she can see bb straightaway. think u can still ask the nurse to bring bb to you for bb to suckle to stimulate the nipple. good thing abt c-section is u dun feel too tired. but do be careful of your wound and make sure you have good back support. we went to visit my fren on her 2nd day and she say she can walk already. also, get a binder so that your wound won't hurt. she used one and even when we chat and laugh, she doesn't feel any pain at all.

tabbiesus,
thanks for sharing. my gynae say below 5 need to induce. so hopefully that won't happen. he told just monitor bb's movements more closely.

Hi babylon,
Think if discharge is whitish/milky means you got yeast infection, esp if accompanied with painful urination, itch or cottage cheese-like discharge.

Normal discharge should be clear.

yes babylon - i do have more discharge nowsadays and its white.

wendy no i dun think its yeast infection. as long as it doesn;t smell badly and doesnt itch, it shld be OK.

babylon

i also have started getting more dicharge and its sometimes whtiish in colour though not in big amts... i thought tat was normal towards the end of pregnancy... i have no itch or irritation with it...

Discharge will turn whitish/yellowish after it dries up but when fresh, it was clear right? Anyway, as long as no itch or pain, should be fine. However, some pple may have yeast infection but don't know abt it until doc do the culture swab test cuz they don't feel anything. Your doc will usually do a culture for u during your 37-40th week to test the level of yeast and bacteria you have in your vagina.

SSf,

BB is call Elijah as for chinese name is not decided yet..

SY,
Tht white discharge is common during the last stage.. dun worry it is not infection..

Rena,
my fren got the dale binder. i think some other pharmacies sell it. she got it from KKH pharmacy. cost around 50. said it's good. hmm, to me it looks like a corset. just wrap the whole thing ard the tummy area.

rena,
maybe it's a good idea to check with them. my fren was at KKH. they din provide. i remember seeing it at another pharmacy, maybe it's guardian.

Rena,
So ur bb is named Elijah? a unique name and dun sound chinese. where did u get the name from?

yah let's see which ranking will my Javier stands.. hehe

1) Cephas
2) Rae
3) Issac

when I was pregnant.. I prayed and god give me and hubby seprately the name Elijah to call our son.. so we decide to follow his calling..

Rena,

Last time my friend had C section, the hospital provided her one that is supposed to be used after abdominal surgery... maybe it is tighter... I'm not so sure...

edd2jan

You left out Aron, Pretty cloud's baby.. i think he was born on 15 dec...

hehe.. you maybe next on the list!!! so far.. it seems that all the little boys are coming out first!! :D

Just came back from my gynae's visit. My boy is now 2.47kg at 34 weeks. Big boy.
Head down but not engaged yet. He was sleeping when gynae was scanning him. That's so rare. hehe

Queen
Congrats on the safe delivery of Isaac! Hope to hear from you on your birth story soon! Think i saw u at the prata shop at Casuarina on Mon. Is that u or maybe i mistook someone else for u?

wow seems like all the little princes are coming out first! wonder whose princess will be the first to be out?

rena,
so u'll be going in to hosp on 29 Dec? will u be count-downing to the new year in hosp then?
Well, do take care n prepare all u can for Elijah's arrival!
As for binder, my fren who went for C-section bought it from the hospital (SGH). Think hospital might provide. But she says it wasn't cheap..like almost $100 or something like that.

mashybrain - gee ur baby is big too. seems like this thread most baby are of big size. wonder is it because of durians :p mine is so small..maybe because i am having GD so only ate durian once only.

SSF

Yah lor. So big. My gynae said will be abt 3.5-3.6kg at full term.

But I didn't eat any durians leh. I only ate b4 I found out I was preg. I think he takes after his dad, 'fei fei'. hehehe

SSf,
Dun worry my boy too big too only 2.6 at 36 and half weeks.

Durianlover,
I heard that the binder is expensive.. but bo bain right still have to buy.

Oh for C section.. can someone advise how many days need to say in hospital.. is it 3 day 2 nights or 4 days 3 nights?

Hi Wendy,

me gynea did the culture swab test for me when i was 34 week.
Result come out neg..i got not itch or any foul smell.

I also feel that my breast are sore again..like the first trimester...

SSF,
i din eat durians too. but dun think that's why bb is small. bb follow our size.
i gain a lot of weight already. 14kg...

Rena,
u can buy the one that my fren bought. 50+ only. brand is dale.

my fren stayed very short surprisingly. she went in on Fri morn and discharged on Sun afternoon. hers is a very quick recovery.