(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Rachel,

I started bathing him since he came back. Not really bathe. I will wipe him clean and then wash his bum in the water and let his feet dangle in the water for a while. So far, he enjoys it
It's more of letting him play with water so that he will not fear water. I do it once in the morning and another time in the evening.

Hi Queen,

So far so good. I have a hanky with me. I wipe the breasts as I express the milk. I can't BF direct becos my nipple is short and so it's only at the tip of his mouth. He wld throw it out after a few sucks. As a reault, I express out and feed him from the bottles.

I wanted to start drinking coconut joice on wk 36. I popped b4 that. Didn't get a chance to drink. So pls drink as soonas you all can. Haha!

Hi all mummies!

Me again. Thot while baby Rae is sleeping, come in and share my experience with MTBs here. Well, thanks for all the well wishes.

To answer some queries, when my water bag burst hor, not painful at all. Like wat sysac described, felt some tightening and splat!! water burst out. Feeling quite unusual. I clamped my legs and jumped out of bed.

Anyway, here's my story:

4am: Hubby just came back from business trip. And I was sleeping (was home alone, actually.)

6-6.30am: Hubby get ready to sleep and my water bag burst. Hubby kanchiong, blur liao...dunnoe wat to do, kept asking me am i sure. I just laughed and replied, yes yes, water fall liao. So, quickly wear maternity bag, take towel and get ready to go hospital. Btw, bag not fully packed.

7am: Reached hospital and wheeled into delivery rm and shave pubic hair, put enema to clear bowels, then strap to CTG and wait. Nurse checked, 2cm dilated liao.

8.30-4pm: Had breakfast, then lunch. Watched tv....bored waiting but bopian. had mild contractions like menses cramps along the way.

4.30-5pm: 4cm dilated, stronger contractions, quite painful but bearable lah, but gynae see my hand so cold and shivering liao, gave me epidural.

5pm-6pm: Shiok feeling. Numb from waist down, cannot feel anything at all. But can feel bb kicking lah. Was getting damn sianz waiting.

6.30pm: Nurse checked, already 9.5cm dilated. Ask me get ready to give birth liao! Yippee!
So excited, dunnoe wat to do, dunnoe how to push, how to breathe.... hahah....

6.30-8pm: Push and push until tired liao. Gynae came in, scolded the nurse for forgetting to reduce the dosage of epidural which causes me no sensation of pushing. So, lowered dosage, with some helped from gynae and a whole lot of pushing.... the time has come.

8.08pm: Rae came out. Hubby cut umbilical cord. I was so relieved. Throughout labour, no pain at all. It was better than I thot, so to mummies who scared of pain, dun worry, epidural is amazing!

Tats abt it. I just got my milk. So... will update u guys, ya!

348229.jpg
348230.jpg

Also, now I'm trying to recover from my episotomy cut which I was worried abt. Its also not as bad as I thot. I got 4 stitches. Just uncomfy now. I tink I made the right decision to deliver naturally. If I went for C-Section, tink I will still be in hospital.

Oh yeah, tink Rae got my eyes and has my hubby's ears. hahaha.... the rest ah... dunnoe leh. Maybe he grows older than will see who he resemble more. Actually I was hoping he looks more like a korean star like Rain.

Durianlover,
U can put down the toilet bowl cover then put the bathtub on top. Then u can bathe ur baby inside. Ikea sell a white high step stool.U can use that to sit while bathing baby. I will be doing that. As for changing, I will be changing my girl on my bed, just buy waterproof rubber mat then ok already. Wanted to buy ikea changing table but I think the length is very short for the baby.

Rachel,
Yes..serve them right..need us to remind them so many times. =P

Kalisa,
Congrats! Ur little Rae is so cute!

I will be breastfeeding for only 1mth. My fren tell me at night feed with milk powder so that baby will not wake up so frequent. I am going to try that.

Queen,
U look so radiant! Nice pics =)

Kalisa,
When they inject u with epidural, it is painful?? I am scared of needles so want to know more =)

May,
Thanks for the compliment on the photos. Think my face quite fat leh... that's comparing to my wedding pics. Heehee.

Do you all know what brand of Fomula milk is good? Want those that is not sweet so that BB will not reject Breast milk if combine. I'm trying to TBF for at least the first 2 months, but better prepare one can of formula just in case BB reject.

Klisa,
how come the nurses there dunno how to control the epidural dosage? Not good leh. TMC right?

Now home alone cos HB went for a wedding dinner. Got lots of time to think... now knowing for sure BB will come out on Monday, a lot of mixed feelings. Excited cos finally will see BB but also scared at the same time cos dunno whether me and my HB are capable of giving complete and unselfish love to the BB. Or whether I'll be a good mother. And then I started thinking back on how I felt from the time I discovered I was pregnant (not exactly jumping with joy cos just got married 1 month!), through all the morning sickness phase, to worrying about whether BB is growing well etc... I think too much liao.

Klisa,
Congrats! Ur bb Rae looks so cute!

Queen,
All the best for ur D Day! Can't wait to see ur bb pics!

tabbiesus,
I signed up for 1st Born (FBI) with TMC & my gynae is included in the list. Got abit of discount here & there lor. U may want to find out more from the staff at TMC.

Durianlover,
I intend to use the dining table to bathe bb. Big enuf & good height. Diaper changing will be done either on the sofa bed or hubby study table both next to bb cot.

HAIR COLOUR
Just check with u ladies, is it safe to colour hair after our confinement even if we are breastfeeding??? I want to do it but hestitating cos hope to BF bb.

Congrats! BB Cephas and Rae are so cute!

Haven't come in for a long time and the thread is moving too fast for me to catch up. So exciting now tat most of us are in the final stages.

Take care everyone!

Queen,
I was asking my cousin who delivered at Gleneagles regarding admitting at night. It seems if u go in before midnight, it is considered 1 night. If u admit after midnight, it is considered 1/2 night or something. I cant really confirm cuz my cousin delivered both her kids there years ago. Why not call up the hospital customer service and confirm with their customer service?

Sysac,
BB cephas looks very satisfied in his sweet dreams
Must be dreaming of milk, milk, milk!

Klisa,
BB Rae also looks very satisfied and happy. So happy for both of you

klisa

congratulations... your baby is very cute!!! Take care and remember to rest well too!!

Syac,
I love the way your baby smiles in his sleep.. so happy!! Must bring so much joy to you!!!

Queen

Your photos are really nice!! A good way to remember your pregnancy... I haven't taken any photos since getting pregnant... i really think I should get my hub to snap some before I pop!

sysac
you're using which pump to express?

klisa
I love the pic of you with Rae in the hosp..he looks so adorable and peaceful.

Queen
Your pics are so sweet. I took some pics of myself in Melbourne when preggie earlier.. but, not with hb kissing my tummy. That was really sweet.

queen,
your pics are nice...i think i will ask KC abt taking photos after birth. that will give me motivation to slim down as well.....

dun think too much. i m sure u will be a good mother. i m like u, got pregnant very soon after my traditional wedding. though i was happy, i was thinking it wd be nicer if got more time for er ren shi jie. but bb will complete the family.

klisa,
thanks for sharing your story!! actually the part that i m quite scared abt birth is not knowing when it will happen and also the episotomy. hopefully it wil be like what u say, not that painful at all...

so u stayed one night in total? u sounded really calm and cool....

Queen,
It was sweet of ur hubby to take nice photos of u before u pop on Monday. My hubby has not taken any nice pictures of me since I got pregnant. The only photos I've taken so far are those in DNA Centre when I went for my course and at my cousin birthday bbq tonight. Maybe he doesn't want me to be too upset seeing my current size even though friends have been consolling me that I still look the same. Well, reality is.. that's not possible esp when we've gained so much weight right?

wenyl

I just cut my hair really short yesterday (sob, sob) but I took the chance to ask my hairdresser if I could color or not after delivery, she (has 4 kids of her own so should be quite experienced) advised that if breastfeeding just highlight initially only so chemical don't touch the scalp cos I told her I intend to BF at least 6 mths if possible. I think when baby is not so reliant on BF then can dye the whole head.

Hi all.

TMC mummies,
I called up my clinic and the nurse told me that as long as check in after 10pm, it is considered a new day. So if check in before 10pm, got to pay extra on top of the 2 day maternity package.

Thanks for the compliments on the photos. Yah loh, not possible to look slim when we have gain so much weight. During the 2nd trimester, I still marvel at the fact that my weight gain did not reach my face. Then suddenly the past 1 months, wah, face fat liao, feet swollen etc. But soon over for all of us!

Re. tummy binder
I still haven't got one. Is it really very useful?

Hi Queen,

Nice pics
I was taking photos by the month too. However, tummy only started showing at 5.5 months. Thot cld take more towards the end but then Cephas decided to pop early
I managed to take pics of the big tummy just the week b4 I popped!

Hi Krissie,

I bought the Medela Mini Electric. Very easy to use

I am feeling excited for all of you now
It was like just in the middle of this year that we were all announcing our pregnancies and sharing tips on everything. How time really flies! We are all popping one by one.

I am preparing for a mini Xmas party & New Year's Day party at my hse. Getting Cephas ready for Baptism and then his 1st mth will be held on 2 Jan 2006. I was still telling the caterer some time back I cldn't confrim the date of the party with him as I wld not know when I will be giving birth. Just told him some time in Feb. Was in a dilemma too as it was during CNY period. Now, everything has been decided & brought fwd

On the morning I was admitted into the delivery suite and was still sane then, I commented to my hubby:"Some things in life are beyond our control." Here I was given a 6 Jan 2006 EDD and there on 2 Dec, I was lying waiting for contractions to start. Everything had been brought fwd by a month.

Sysac,
Did u hire a massage lady to do post-natal massage for you? How much did it cost and is it effective?

Hi Wendy,

I did not hire a massage lady. I have lost most of my weight (abt 8kg) & started wearing all my pre-pregnancy clothes since last week. I have packed away all my pregnancy clothes. The weight loss was probably caused by expressing the milk out, running btwn home & NUH becos Cephas was admitted twice for jaundice.

Can't help you in that area.

queen - nice pics that you have taken. is it done by expert? wah really envy your hubby so sweet and even kiss your tummy. ur top is so short..hahaa..just like mine and with those aunties giving me those wierd stares. haha..but i can;t be bothered with them :p

klisa,
congrats! Rae's so cute as a newborn! my hubby also said so!
sounds like u had quite a painless labour...the wonders of epidural huh?
did u make use of the breathing exercises during your contractions?
do share with us more on what are the difficulties in breastfeeding yah!

sysac,
Cephas looking more and more grown-up
Heh he does really have a natural smile on his face all the time!

queen,
all the best for tomorrow! your photos are really nice n natural! i like the one of ur hubby kissing ur tummy

So ur birthday and ur baby's birthday will be quite close...nxt time can celebrate together!

Re: bathing baby
not too sure how often we're supposed to bathe baby, but during antenatal class they didn't say anything about not bathing baby too often. It seemed as though it's natural that u'll have to bathe baby daily.
Thanks for all ur suggestions...i've decided not to buy the Ikea changing table coz it'll take up space n prob won't be able to use for long. Will either put bathtub on dining table (nice height) or in toilet. i'm looking fwd to bathing baby
Seems fun!

queen,
i m intending to get a tummy binder. 2 frens who used it said it helped them. i guess no harm...

u all prepared already? hope u have a smooth delivery and come back to share with us your birth story!

sysac,
u sound really zhai, coping without a CL and still planning for xmas and NY party!! amazing!

wendy,
i was taking photos with my hb at home before we went out yesterday. i really looked fat!! couldn't stand it but still want to take for memento sake..ha. i m always forcing hb to take photos for me and bb....

Hi Queen,
All the best to you tomorrow and may you have a smooth delivery. We will all look forward to your birth story and pic of your little bb.

Hi Klisa,
Congrats on your birth of little Rae. May you have a pleasant confinement in JB and do keep us update on urself and little Rae. Post more pics if possible.
kao_kiss.gif

Wendy,
I went to a certified massage when I was 3mth at chinatown. It was quite good, she is a thai and told me she has package 5 times $250, and free 1 time. My placenta was low that time and she managed to "push" it up for me. U interested?

Klisa CONGRATS!!!

Rae is soo adorable! Do keep updated when you're back in JB okie!

Wow... so exciting... really THE TIME is here for all of us, event those who's EDD is at mid to later part of Jan can be expected to pop anytime! This would probably be the highlight for all of us everyday when we log in to see any new precious baby's arrival.
kao_love.gif

So the next expected in line would be Queen(Mon), then Bao Bao (Tues), then probably ME!??! (will know my fate by Fri
kao_scared.gif
) FOr me I already feel like I'm counting down already to my final week... just got HB to take several pics of me in my swim suit (which i bought but never got about swimming
), in my sports bra exposing tummy, n I also tried to capture tummy moving using the digi-cam so I can show my gal next time hahaha.... I really think every pregnancy is unique & different so mummies do take more pics now coz you'll never know if you're gonna jump queue n be the next to POP!!

Hi May,
I though we needed to get the lady to massage us during confinement in order for it to be effective cuz they supposed to push out the wind and shrink the uterus?

SY,
Ya.. I was looking at the pictures taken for me during my 32nd week. Look so horizontal.. sigh..
http://www.nsse.nie.edu.sg/dnac/gallery/coursephotos/Dolan_WorldOfEnzymes_23Nov2005

This one was taken during my 2nd trimester when my hair was still abit shorter. Look even more horizontal. Seems like I lost weight during 3rd trimester even though bb is putting on weight.
http://www.nsse.nie.edu.sg/dnac/gallery/coursephotos/DNAC_Fungi_Viruses_Sep2005

congrats Klisa!!!

seems that getting more and more ladies here popping, this makes me feel very nervous. :p mine due in one mth time....

who will be the next after klisa?

Congrats , Klisa,
You bb is so handsome.

Queen,
All the best to you on your delivery.. and your pictures are so nice..

Wendy,

Dun complain as your size is still ok.. not like me so swollen.. and you are quite tall so still look balance..

Yesterday my feet suddenly swollen until very jia liat.. I got so worried but doc not in town.. hubby say maybe bb coming out soon.. is it trun.. some says that when your swollen feet starts to subside then my be giving birth soon? which is which I do not know..

MOrning ladies,

Klisa,
congrats! Rae is so adorable and chubby!

Queen,
your photos are nice and very relaxed... and you haven't gained much weight huh? Still look pretty slim!

SY,
yep, my water retention is getting bad.. now slippers also got problem fitting in, and can't wear my ring since last week...

Sysac,
Cephas looks like such a happy bb! Were you calm and happy during your pregnancy, that's why he smiles so much?

do you all get sharp pains at the sides of your lower tummy when you cough or sneeze, or when getting out of bed quickly? My sides have been hurting everytime I sneeze, and boy does it hurt! I read up and also asked my doc, he says it's muscles or liagments stretching, hence the pain..

Morning Gals, last week was a busy week as boss jus return and cannot online so often.... so fast another mummy has pop.... i am so scared of my turn... my boss keep asking me if gynae ever mentioned tat i am gg to pop early!!! i think she scared about the staff strenght, and i got to work from hm during maternity...

the worst situation is my dad is quite ill now, my mum told me if he still in the same situation, she most likely unable to do the confinement for me, so i got to think of a gd solution... maybe order the confinement foods and ask hb to take care of bb or should i got a day-time confinement lady to help out??? what will be the recommendation???

sat went to see gynae - bb near to 37 wks, 2.95kg... so 2 weeks he grow 500gm and i put on 700gm, luckily not alot... gynae tell me if i wan to pop early, walk more as this will cause contraction and in the end hb dun allow me to go shopping at all...

At Last! I had a pre-natal massage by Mdm Naini last evening.....whoa....damn shiok man, after the massage, the feeling on my feet (coz still got slight water retention)....like got wings & spring....can walk quite fast oso.....no pain on lower calves. Should say her massage skill is SOLID!! It's sort of a full body massage but minus the breasts & tummy portion, now body feel very relax not so tense up liao.. =)

Oh, BB Cephas & BB Rae is soooooo cute.....i love to see BB's smile when they are asleep too!

False Contractions
Think i hv been experiencing this pain now.....like tightening on the abdomen and then pain.....quite bad some times like menses cramp. Think hv to get ready for labour liao....must do trial run with HB tonite, just in case might pop anytime from now.... =)

Klisa, thanks for sharing the birth story of BB Rae.....it really gives me some "confidence" to face the real thing when "it" happen....coz i hv not come to terms with facing labour yet....unprepared, uncertainty, etc...

Yvonne - i heard from my gynae tat if got contraction quite often like 3 times in the morning, it will mean tat you gg to pop by next week or next couple of days... so be on a watch out.

Pochaco,
really? phew.....luckily it's only like 3 times in a span of 2 weeks. But on the safe side, think i beta hv a trial run with HB tonite liao.....will continue to moniter this "contraction" thingy....thanks!

Sleepingdeer,
Think its normal to experience cramps when u move too fast. I have also experienced that since my late 2nd trimester. NOwadays, even turning side to side on bed also pain. Yesterday night just experienced the period cramps again on lower abdominal. BB is also super active whole day, keep moving around non-stop until I sleep at 11+pm. Think she's trying to engage.

Btw, my hubby and I have decided to call our little princess ARIANE (pronounced as A-rian)
My brother keep calling her A-ri-an-ni and I had to keep correcting him its A-rian. Haha.

hi wendy,
hey in ur 1st pic that u posted, i know the girl squatting on the far left of photo - the one in white! my NUS fren! but i forgot her name liao...poor memory! hee

sleepingdeer,
yes think it's common to experience such pain. Me too...but not as severe as yours...but i do experience pain if i turn too fast on the bed.

Pochacco,
wow really? if what your gynae says is true, then i shd already have popped by now!! i keep experiencing hardening of tummy everyday for a few wks already. Actually my 'contraction' sounds a bit different from all of urs so may not be 'contraction'..coz mine no pain n doesn't feel like menses cramp. More like the whole tummy will harden n tighten.

yvonne,
ur massage sounds shiok! how much did it cost?

durianlover,
mdm naini charges $600 (10 sessions) for pre-natal. but she usually does only Post-natal. My fren sis does with her pre and post massages and it's good, so tried her for pre 1st. Already book her for post liao. Post natal she charges $460 (for 6 sessions + 1 body scrub). As i only did 1 pre-natal massage only, so i paid $65 for singles session. =)

Hi POchacco,
hope your dad's condition is not too serious... hmm, think it depends on budget and how you think you'll be able to cope... if you think you are able to cope, and you and your hubby take care of bb, and just order confinement food... if you think will be too much, then maybe better to get a confinement lady?

Hi Wendy,
your gal's name very nice..!

Wendy/durianlover,
at least I not the only one feeling the pains... though my pains can be quite bad, like knife poking me in the side
On top of that, I also get cramps, like menses pain, but that one not very often, like once or twice a day...

Wendy
u dun look horizontal lah! in fact, i think cos u r taller, u actually still look ok. for me i m short and i look really fat.

today my fren came back from ML and she said i put on most weight on the face!! sob sob

rena,
dunno whether is it old wives' tale but pple do tell me that if your feet swollen and then subside means giving birth soon... but of cos best to get gynae to check.

sleepingdeer,
i already stopped wearing ring months ago! my fingers got water retention first...

i get hte pain at times and it hurts very badly....but think it's really the ligaments.

Pochacco,
hope your dad gets better soon.

does walking more cause contractions? i walked quite alot. then i better dun walk too much.

think yesterday when i was cooking, i felt my tummy harden. does standing too long cause contraction?

thanks yvonne! am still considering whether or not to do post-natal massage...will see how later.

SY,
i also feel tummy hardening when i walk or stand too long. But then again, even when i'm sitting down i also get tummy hardening...so not sure if it's due to walking/standing? But i thot that pple say nearer to delivery date shd walk more...like good for body or something. Though i find that my stamina for walking or standing has been reduced greatly!!

sleepingdeer,
I like the name too. We've been considering for loong loong time wad to call bb then suddenly one night, in the middle of the night, my hubby suddenly wake me up and say "Lets call bb Ariane".

Yvonne,
$65 per session is cheaper than $460 for 6 sessions + 1 scrub leh.. Like that better book individual sessions right?

Durian/SY,
I also always feel tummy hard hard and tight tight until like cannot stand upright and breathe. I thought its because I ate too much during dinner.. U mean that's contractions?

Sunny,
Oil is included, but not the binder, think hv to pay anor $20 or so for the binder. She oso mention to take the Jamu pills for 40 days to help the "shrink" us back into shape besides the massage.

Water Retention
My granny said that if after 3 times of swell and 3 times of subside, then must get ready for birth liao.....dunno whether is it old wives' tales but seem like it is, coz now think coming to 2nd time swell for me....duh.... =(

Wendy,
Individual session only applies for pre natal. For post-natal, it's best to hv the package and the session is to last for continuously 6 days for max results. Pre natal massages only help to relieve pain, swell and promote better blood circulation so it's not so feasible to take the package deal. Moreover, she has difficulty slotting me for the massage, coz she usually does post natal massages. She does pre natal massages only on SUNDAYS.... =)

I noticed alot women always have very red, swollen nose and bad water retention on their feet and legs just before they give birth. Sysac, Klisa, is it true?

Queen popping today right? Wonder how is she doing now..

durian lover,
Just relax and not to walk or stand too much b4 ur delivery as at time come you'll feel very very tired and I'm afraid you would not have enough stamina during your labour.As I'm doing postnatal massage and met lots clients feedback of their experience.Just have a gd rest of yourself.

hi SY & Yvonne,
I also heard from my colleague that if you have 3 times of swell and 3 times of subside, then birth will be ard the corner liao.. really wonder how true is it!!! Cos like Yvonne, mine already subsided for the second time.. and tml i m going to see my gyane again.. hopefully bb Javier grows from his previous wt of 2.36kg since measured last tue..

All mummies,
does anyone know why pple usually say that bb must get engaged then its better for delivery? then is it true that once bb is engaged, delivery will be v soon like the nxt few days kind of thing?

keke i m on mc today cos i simply dun have mood to work.. and tml i be going to see my Javier again
and doing the CTG scan. hope everything will turn out fine. think for those who are expecting to 'pop' anytime, you simply just wan to relax and just wait for bb to arrive. think its our priviledge as a preg woman so just try to relax..

kao_welcome.gif
May... our EDD is pretty near each other, mine is 19th, also at TMC

Congrats klisa!!! wow, Baby Rae ia so adorable!!!

Sysa, your Cephas sure looks dreamy... ur description of the beach babes so funni...

Re : Aussino bumper set washing
I saw tat most of u hav no prob dumping htem into washing machine.. but not for me... The set i got ( yellow checkered one ) did run for the bumpers and it was hand washed somemore!!! it wasn't soaked for long but it stil ran cos HB noticed the water turning a little yellow soon aft we put them in... so it was a rinse rather than wash but smells juz as baby-licious...

Re : changing table

someone asked this, cant rem who... i bought the table from IKEA ... pretty useful... im putting it beside the cot and storing the baby necessities with it... and its only $40!!!