(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Curly: My girl is 1.8-2kg at 33 weeks and gynae did not comment anything about her being big. 2.1kg is slightly more than mine leh...

SY
thank u!

wendy / durianlover / god's child
since we all live in bukit panjang, we can easily call each other out after our confinement. coz we might be bored @ home during our maternity leave

maybe we can meet @ plaza hv lunch n let our darlings interacte w brothers n sisters of same age!

MH, I also don't know how they judge.... This c-section issue is driving me crazy! From what I read, c-section should be performed due to medical reason...

Curly
My baby measured at week 33 to be 2.24kg... my gynae also never said she is big ley... last time I ask him before he said medium size ley.
2.24kg is heavier then yours :p
I also pray for natural delivery too...

Curly/MH,
It depends on the size of ur pelvic bone. Typically, angmos ahve a bigger pelvic bone so easier for them. Most asians are small framed so bb may have problems coming out. I'm sure why some doctors recommend C Sect even though bb size is not so big is because this is all so relative. Don't look at absolute sizes. They do not give u an accurate judgement. Most impt of all, we should trust our doctors. They also don't want to take any risks I'm sure.

On the contrary, some women may be small sized but have a big pelvic bone so natural birth is no problem for them. Also, another reason why doctors may opt for C-Sect could be medical reasons. If you really want to know why, ask your doctor and get them to explain to you why to put your mind at ease.

Leave the judgement to the doctors whom you're supposed to trust. If you don't trust your doc, then better change to another one whom you trust cuz you are entrusting your life as well as your bb's life to them, esp if *choy choy touch wood* something goes wrong.

Mashy,
I cant wait to see my little girl start crawling even though she's only in my tummy wiggling about now as I type this posting

MH,
My girl is 2kg at 32 weeks and my gynae say the size is good and weight is healthy. Head, thigh and tummy sizes are average. I trust my gynae. He is afterall, one of the most experienced gynaes in Singapore. Although I'm also not keen on C-Sect, but if he feels I should do a C-Sect, I'll just do it, no further questions asked because I know he is also not keen on C-Sects unless deemed necessary.

I'm so envious that some of you are staying so close! So easy for you to meet up!

I worry that my baby girl got no playmates cos not many of my closer friends have kids yet and both me and hubby are only children... and not many cousins to play with...

baobao,

All the best for your LSCS... will you be going for spinal/ epidural/ GA?

So lucky you will be able to see your baby soon!

Don't worry abt why some docs will be more pro-LSCS, (not to scare mothers who want to try natural birth...) cos I had a friend who had a trial of labour after a normal pregnancy and in the end had emergency cesarian for early fetal distress... sometimes, when the LSCS is planned, less stressful for the mother... otherwise after trying & trying to push, in the end have to rush for surgery....

Rachel
We can also meet at Pizza Hut downstairs at Greenridge Shopping Centre for pizza buffet lunch
Can eat, relax (cuz not too crowded and noisy) and chit chat at same time. PLaza tends to be abit noisy and crowded. May be a hazard to carry bb around there.

curly,
my fren's fren also delivered a 4.2kg bb naturally. think like what wendy says, it really depends on your bone structure.

my bb is abt 1.5-1.6kg at 32 weeks. gynae say easy for natural birth which i agree. so hopefully he remains in the head down position.

tabbiesus,
let me know where u stay as i m compiling the list.

sysac,

your baby boy is so cute... even my husband say he's very handsome...

if you bottle feed and breast feed him, to you have this problem of nipple confusion?

You know, you are a great inspiration to all first time mommies... i just spent the afternoon washing my baby bottles and getting my steriliser ready and I was just imagining doing this every few hours.. plus having to take care of baby... not easy!!! Thank you for taking the time to log on and share...

rachel,wendy
my mum's place in west so sometimes i can meet u guys also when i go back there and timing is right. hb got reservist for one whole month next april so may go back to stay with her some time...
thinking a bit far...heehee

Just to share that i was about 50kg, 1.63cm tall before i was expecting my first child. I delivered my gal naturally wi epidural and she weighs about 3kg at birth. I was considered small frame (but fleshy lah) and my hip bone didn't really expand before or after i give birth..... I can fit into my pre- pregnancy clothes including pants one month after delivery....

So i reckon 3kg baby should be managable for most mummies here? Or is it the head circumference that matters? Anyway, be it natural or c-section, utimately the most important thing is both mummy and baby are healthy. No need to fret about it.

god's child
I think they said stem cord is the co set up by moonlighting doc.
CordLife is the one with more accreditation

SY

what are the details that you need and do I email you?

Ivory,
Can i update my birthing details too?

age31
EDD13.1.06
girl
SGH/ TMC
Dr Yu SL/ Yvonne Chan

wendy
yah not bad idea! greenridge shopping centre will be more quiet n less crowded. fr my home i can jus take bus 920 n reach after a few busstop =)

tabbiesus
which area u live? east side? no worries, even if not much playmate but im sure ur girl will be shower w love n attention fr her daddy n mummy =) so she wont be lonely.

SY
april actually is not far =p imagine when we discover we jus preggie n now we all r already getting ready to pop! jus a blink of eye, super fast leh.. yah the more the merrier, so we can share our tots n little little things of our darlings..

Yuki: Me even smaller frame, I am only 1.58m tall and I can fit back my size three G2000 pants before I conceive again. My girl was 2.78kg at 38 weeks. Think she will be ard

Wendy: I agreed with u that we should trust the doctor that we choose. But we should be responsible for ourselves too. I heard of some gynae asking people to go for C to earn more money or to schedule the delivery (So that they no need to wake up in the middle of the night).
Just imagine C only takes 1-2 hour of his time while natural delivery for first time mother takes about 20 hours and he has to be on standby.
I agreed with Durianlover's gynae view that our pelvic bones will be able to accomodate baby's birth

Tabbieus: at least the mother know that she have tried to give the best that she could. Early fetal distress may be due to other factors such as epidural or the induction, delivery position of the mother.

MH,
my gynae is Dr Douglas Ong at Mt E. I haven't asked him about birth plan and he also hasn't mentioned anything. But anyway i also don't have much of a birth plan...i think i'll take things as the labour progresses!

rachel / wendy & rest of BP gang,
yes we can meet up at greenridge or BP Plaza with our babies! i think i'll be bored during maternity leave too! SY sure you can join us! In fact i think we can open this gathering to anyone in this thread if they're willing to travel down to BP

MH & Wendy,
yes i heard of some gynaes who will recommend C-section for the slightest reason to earn more money. At the end of the day, yup we shd trust our own gynaes!

tabbiesus,
just give me your real name (if you wan), email, hp and area u stay. u can PM me by clicking on my name.

btw Rena replied me. she hasn't popped yet. just moody so not online.

think we cannot worry or plan too much. i agree with MH that we need to be responsible for ourselves too. remember there was this case sometime back where the mummy just trust her gynae and things went quite wrong? she's my colleague's sis in law. my colleague did advise us that even though gynaes are professionals, we need to know what's going on and shd do our own reading and have knowledge of what's going on.

think at the end of the day, whatever concerns we have, good to bring up with gynae. if dun feel good enough, getting a 2nd opinion may be good

re gathering
think we can have one in town after our confinement so must pple can join in.

Correct! It is our responsibility to read up and know more but at same time, if you have any doubts, just be open ask your gynae. Like this can clear any future midunderstandings also. I like frankness and open policies

PS: Gynaes who recommend C-Sect just to save time ought to be out of business! How can they be so irresponsible when their patients trust them so?

rena
know fr SY u r moody so did not online. must take care of ur health woh. shld come in here so can share ur tots n we the rest of mummies could cheer u up too. i think the photos of cephas confirm can brighten ur day! it works for me =)
hope to hear fr u soon!

all mummies
yes read more books n search for answers. when in doubts must ask. ask till u r clear n nothing to be shy about. like for me sometime will ask my gynae some silly questions tats makes her laughs. recently during my last visit i even prepared a long list of question to ask her n lucky she is patient to let me go through each n every one of them.. =p

confused
ya, me having like menses cramps these few days.

durianlover
I also experience the pain sometimes. But, it's at the panty line (below tummy), not really at the V area itself. but, it's very painful, sometimes have to stop walking a while. think it's bb pressure.

cookie
ya, I asked the Mt. A nurse plus called them also.. hee hee. no need to return them the orange form which they sent to us. But, I've filled it up. So, hb will just pass to nurse when we admit + must bring the letter which Dr Ho's nurse gave you. It also has our lab tests etc.

sysac
cephas is so cute, he must be so hungry.

<font color="ff6000">Hi morning everyone</font>
Din know there are so many westeners.. i m also staying in Bt panjang area. yeah i agree, to stay in BP is really not v convenient esp when u are staying further in side with no LRT or bus.. but if got car, to get to town is pretty fast.

Came back from gynae chk up last tue and he also say i might pop early cos placenta maturing. I asked roughly when but he cant give an exact date. My bb Javier is still pretty small at 2.36kg at 37wks and mummy's weight increased so far is 8kg. *Sudden jump from my previous 6 kg man!!!*

well, i m still trying hard to talk to Javier to pop after 27 Dec cos that is our 2nd wedding anniversary...

Take care everyone as soon... we will pop one by one.. keke

Good Morning all mommies...
last nite went Mt A to see one of my friend who give birth to baby boy ytd.
Manage to check out the 1 bedder room and pass by 2 bedder room... still cannot make up my mind what room to get... probably still 2 bedder I guess.
Her baby is so cute !!... all new born are so tiny but yet so huge when we think of them squeeze thru the birth canal
When the nurse push the baby into the room... the baby even have neatly comb hair somemore got a Side parting... soooo cute!!

Kriss
Thanks... then I better fill up the form too and pack into my hospital bag, although I haven;t start packing yet :p
Hey I went to Candy lover's website again and found that it states they are closing for an UNCERTAIN period ley....loosk like all the queries asked earlier are wasted.
I email you on this....

A lot of things going on the past 2 days and haven't been keeping up on the postings...

Just an update.
Saw my gynae yesterday. BB was 2.3kg at 37 weeks, amniotic fluid still low and cervix only 1cm dilated. Fetal heartbeat still normal based on STG. He gave me 2 choices.
1) To be induced imediately last night
2) To be induced next Monday (latest), but have to go for CTG tomorrow to monitor fetal heartbeat, just in case cannot wait liao.
So confirmed have to induce labour either tomorrow or Friday. He said he is quietly confident that I can go through natural delivery and BB for now is still not in danger but to be on the safe side, he wants labour to be induced. Pros about waiting till Monday: BB can try to put on a little bit more weight, cervix hopefully can dilate a bit more and still have a chance that labour can come naturally instead of induced. Cons of waiting till Monday, uncertainty on how BB is doing inside tummy, can only monitor by CTG now.
So HB and I decided to wait till tomorrow's CTG results. Today back to work to handover.

Am I still in line to be no. 2 to pop amongst us? Or has some of you pop already?

busy busy busy like a bee...

just read about the topic on gynaes and size of baby.
Ya, I think it's quite impt to find a gynae that you are comfortable with. One of my colleague change her gynae after 2 visits to her when they find her unsuitable although she is very famous and experienced. it's really a personal choice.

I also agree that reading up is very impt. my gynae once commented that how come I know everything, is there anything that I don't know. hee hee, so happy to hear that. guess I am just more kiasu.

my baby is also above ave, nearly 3kg at 36weeks. gynae commented that she is big but he is pro-natural and don't even recommend induction but he did ask if i want to let him to exercise at at the V area to stretch the muscles and soften the cervix. not sure what he means though i have read that we can do some stretching exercise to avoid episiotomy. wonder if it will be painful. I didn't say yes to his suggestion but think I look uncomfortable. I really hope to have a natural delivery. but no matter what happens, we have to keep an open mind and not to be too affected if things don't go our way. that is always my philosophy.

I did my pre-admission at gleneagles. the gynae nurse suppose to do a booking for you but if you don't have the booking slip yet, they will still do it for you. just remember to bring the booking slip on the admission day. must bring the ic of you and your hubby and decide how much medisave to use. if you are going to use your hubby medisave, he must be there to sign the forms.
I asked the receptionist if we bring our disposable diapers and wet wipes, will we get charged and she says "no". but later we overheard her and her colleague arguing that if we take the maternity package, it will be included. so I also don't know how is it like. so confused.

Hi queen,

My case is similar to yours except I'm only 36 weeks. My baby's weight is 2.3kg @ 36weeks and AFI still low. But my doctor says this is normal for some babies as long as they are growing and kicking well. My baby has been putting on 200-300g each week, even though my weight is not increasing that much. My doctor hasn't mentioned anything about early deliver to me as long as baby heart is okie.

Hope that it works out fine for you.... and remember to monitor your fetal movements too... maybe make sure baby moves a few time every few hours.... luckily at 37 week baby is pretty matured already, Take care and hope you have a safe uneventful delivery!!

woke up at 5am today, and couldn't sleep liao...

Bao Bao,
all will go well for your C-section, good luck!

SY,
the gathering in town for all is a good idea... imagine all the mummies with the babies...

Rena,
dun be moody, know it's getting rough at this end stage of the pregnancy, hang in there... will soon pass, ok?

went to Mum and babes on Tuesday, they are having 20% off on some items, like the Medela pumps... but the PIS advanced no further discount... selling at $735 inclusive of bb thermometer... I stood looking at it for a long long time, sigh, so out of budget!

BTW, does anyone start to feel frustrated and irritated? I am getting pretty 'man zhang' lately, and frustrated, not by bb, but by the big tummy and the clumsy movements... sometimes, feel like pulling my hair out.... hee hee.. does anyone feel the same way?

Queen,

guess you will be the 2nd to give birth! don't worry about the baby weight. my sis who gave birth in June also have the same issue with low aminotic fluid. she has to do c-section before 37 weeks. her baby weighed 2.52kg at birth but gained weigh so quickly that he was 7.5kg at 3 months old. now I call him "xiao pang". very chubby and adorable. gynae est of bb weight may not be accurate.

hey all..i have a pic of the nursing bib but its too large to post it in this forum. pass me your email address and i will fwd to you.

Hi Queen,
wow, you will be 2nd to pop... it is good that your gynae is confident of natural birth...good luck and keep us updated after tomorrow's test!

Mongs,
your bb is big! But as long your gynae pro-natural, and wants you to try excerises, that's a good thing!

queen - gee i guess ya no 2 lei on the list. are you excited? i am so excited for u. hehee..

hi all - wat time of clothing is more suitable for baby? i want to go mothercare and buy the 7 pcs set of rompers. shld i get short sleeves or long sleeves. long pants or short? they have very cute design...one day for each day. ususal prioce is 50 plus..now selling like 36 bucks. so its quite reasonable and of good quality.

Hey Queen,
You are really very same as me.. my bb is also only abt 2.3kg at 37 wks but my amniotic fluid is ok according to my gynae.. only that placenta is maturing and going for my CTG nxt tue. really wonder who will be the next.. anyway jia you and take good care of urself!

celine - i have sent the picture! please check

ya i think there are many mummies missing. either they are busy at work or already had deliver. Rena is missing too...hmmm...

SSF
ya last week I went KKH mothercare and bought 2pack of sleep suit for my baby too

They having discount on old design....
Very tempted to buy the rompers too but I bought too many before already.
Mothercare have pretty good material.
I think long sleeve more for sleeping at nite ba.. with our hot weather... during the day I suppose bb should be wearing short sleeve or even sleeveless.

hi SSF,

Can email the pic of the nursing bib too? my email is [email protected]

I bought some rompers for baby from taka, but they say mothercare is quite good but a little ex without sale....try and get the 3-6 months at least and not too small sized rompers cos my friends say that the BB outgrow really quick... (but sometimes the 0-3mth rompers soo cute, cannot tahan so i bought some also!). I try to get the button front ones cos the one's you have to slip over the head maybe difficult to handle if your baby likes to squirm around. Also becareful of the embroidery, I got one given to me but the sewn on picture is very rough on the undersurface so i may not want to use for baby.

ok had resize the pic. here you go...
347238.jpg

cookie - yes i think their material is good too. will pop by after work to take a look. coz havent really bot many pieces for my boy. so thot of getting one set. at least i know each day he has a different piece to wear

Tabbiesus

Hey, You staying at Holland V? I'm staying near Redhill at Henderson =) haha, we can have our own mummies and babes get together around that area =)

Hi Tabbiesus,

Thanks for the compliments. I have been a bz mum. Fortunately, Cephas is quite ez to take care of. He only cries when he is hungry. HB &amp; I were scrutinising him last nite and realised his hair is light brown to almost gold. HB asked "How come not as brown as mine?" I replied " Must be due to all the baked potatoes &amp; skin I ate during the initial phase of pregnancy." It looks like gold dust colour

Since he has jaundice, I must be more diligent in feeding him whether he is hungry or not. On top of that, he's also slightly premature. PD wants me to pump him up to abt 3kg by the end of Dec.

I am now planning a mini Xmas celebrations on Xmas eve plus Cephas 1st mth
As I am Catholic, I am also overseeing his infant Baptism soon. My confinemt will be over soon

Hi Queen,

So excited for you! Rem to be zhai okie. Wishing you a safe &amp; smooth delivery.

Hi sleepingdeer,

I rem I was extremely man zhang &amp; easily irritated the day before my water bag burst. That's y I took the afternoon off on that Thu and went to do a pedicure &amp; some Xmas shopping. My water bag burst the next morning at 3am. So pls take care and try to cool down

Sysac,

I'm catholic too! Is there a lot of things to prepare for his infant baptism... Wah you are really busy... but remember to get enough rest...

Sleeping dear,

Don't worry, I also quite irritated recently.. so bad that even when I sleep I get nightmares... last nite accidently boxed hubby during nightmare!!

Hi mamachan,
Yay.. our babies can meet and play!

today hb went overseas again so drove myself to work and had to reach work very early as well. couldn't sleep well after waking up at 5am...

sysac,
is it true that we will be easily irritated before giving birth? the earlier threads had some cases like that....

good to hear that Cephas is easy to care for! most pple say gals easier to care for so i m happy to hear that Cephas is ez to take care.
hopefully my boy will also be easy.

queen,
dun worry too much. bb will feel your worries. my fren also went for CTG monitoring very often towards the end of her pregnancy. like what tabbiesus say, monitor bb's movements and make sure u feel her kicks.

feel excited for u!

how did your photo taking turn out?

SSF,cookie,
mothercare material very good. i heard my fren say that it's more lasting. but cos i bought quite a few things before she told me, i din buy the mothercare clothes. if not, i wd love to get their rompers. so cute!

sleepingdeer,
which area u stay? want to let me include that in the list?

any more to include? PM me cos i too lazy to scroll up the thread.

SSF,
got rena's msg yesterday. she hasn't pop yet.

Hi SSF,
Got ur email, thks!. I was juz wondering if u have a pic of the bib when it's opened up. can't really tell the dimension of the bib from the pic. Also I tot it would be better if mummy can tie the piece of cloth that is hanging at the back of the neck. So can adjust the height of the bib. incase it's too high, can't see the bb. neither do we want it too low, then no point liao, pple standing behind mite be able to peep in too. juz my tots.... :D

celine - maybe you can email or sms to sabrina directly and get the dimension. maybe she can make to order for you if you want the string to be tied instead. she is very friendly..so just drop her an email. and of coz check if others want so you can get a better pricing. i already got mine