(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Update on my gynae apt yesterday:

Am at end of 36th week already & surprisingly I've not gained any weight since 2 weeks ago and BB's only gained 300g now at 2.4kg. Gynae says at this stage when mummy's weight no change n BB's weight increase by a little, we would assume Mummy lost weight n BB gained more. However we cannot keep assuming such till delivery n if in 1 week's time mummy's weight still maintain with little increase in BB weight I would have to do a CTG scan on BB heart beat. If all's fine, will monitor again for another week. But if CTG not too good, I will have to go for induction within 1/2 days coz its safer to delivery the baby then to wait till natural labour. Gynae also said BB's head is quite small so easier delivery & looking at my tummy size prob BB would only be ard 2.6kg when due. So for this coming week I also have to monitor closely that BB has at least 3 movement/hr.

I was expecting BB would probably come ard/after Christmas but now it seems it might be much earlier than we expected! Have no idea why my weight no change coz i ate as per normal. In fact i was feeling bit guilty coz i thot i ate lots of fatty unhealthy food (eg. nasi lemak, BK, etc). So now am praying that both me & BB will gain more weight by next apt on coming Sat and that BB will stay at least 2 weeks more in my tummy n grow bigger nearer to 3kg.

Queen,
Looks like chances of either of us being the next to pop is quite high oh....

sysac
ya, I think after seeing the labour process, they'll learn to appreciate me more. In fact, now hb is already v supportive and caring. Hope it'll increase after birth.
Cephas looks so cute, smiling at you.
Wow, envy you leh, can wear pre-preggy clothes. I've put on 17kg liao. So, I guess can only wear my pre-preggy clothes at least 1mth after delivery??

durianlover
I think can eat pineapple tarts now, but not during confinement. dun know why. that's what my MIL say. she just bought some for me last nite.

Rena
see this link for the flashcards
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/327309.html?1134291025

wendy
heard tha NB needs abt 8 diapers per day.

tabbiesus
how big is your friend's bb. My cousin baby was abt 3.5kg at birth and used NB diapers for abt 2mths?

rachel
I saw a convertible car seat at mothercare for $300+, Britax. Quite good loh. can go check it out.

etelle
yup, i asked him. The other time when I asked him, he also didn't tell me. Maybe now confirmed that tell me loh.

queen
me too. am very busy and stressed at work. Sometimes, wish bb will come out soon, then can go on ML.

sysac
thanks for sharing on bf. hope I can be as successful as you.

SSF
I shld be getting the Choz pack at $5.50. It has 8 items (2 eggs, 2 AKK, 2 G/rice and 2 fruits tarts). Find it presentable and heard a lot of good feedback of their cakes.

Clare
Don't worry too much, as long as bb is healthy. Some small babies are very healthy too..

SSF
forgot to mention, there's a promo now, 1 box free when u purchase 10 boxes. So, shld be ard $5 per box? not bad, right?

sysac,
glad that u're having success with breastfeeding! have u employed the malay massage lady already? or u don't intend to do so? i guess now u can also start planning for baby's full month already!

curly,
oh no, reading ur posting makes me stressed too! at 32wks 5 days my baby was 2.2kg and head diameter 8.5cm!!! even bigger than your baby! but gynae didn't say anything about her being too big leh! but now i'm very concerned...coz i'm very small sized n small boned...oh no. But i know my gynae is very for natural delivery. He won't suggest c-section until after trying for natural n baby cannot come out or something.

queen & clare,
wow excited for the both of u - that you may deliver anytime soon!

queen, clare,
sounds like either of yuo are next in line to pop! actualyl i dun mind seeing bb earlier but cos bb small so me and hb wan him to stay inside longer.

i just called my CL and this is what she told me to buy. you can take it as ref. some of the things may not be spelled clearly.

Dang Shen - 1 kg
Red Dates - 2kg
Black Dates - 1kg
Dried Longan - 1kg
Wolfberries - 500g
Ginger (buy only after u admit to hosp)
Lean Meat - 1/2 pieces
Pig Kidney
Pig Liver
White Pepper (powder)
White Pepper (big ones)

hope it helps!

Yah, sounds like I may be induced anytime but actually doesn't feel like I'll naturally pop soon leh... I feel a bit bad cos dunno whether it's my diet or lifestyle or not being careful enough or working too hard such that amniotic level is low and BB only 2.2kg at 36th weeks.
But this kind of thing hard to tell one lah. could be anyone of us now.

Clare,
Same as you. I didn't put on any weight. Maybe gained 200g and my weight gain was also 200g since the previous visit. Yah... maybe you or me will be next. Come next Wednesday should know for sure cos I already did the CTG on BB's heartbeat and seems ok. Just hope next week the fluid level will go up (dunno whether it will replenish itself?) and can go into labour naturally. Think induced birth is not easy.

cookie / sleepingdeer
just found my notes for the antenatal package. after 32 weeks, visits are once in 2 weeks. after 35 weeks, it's weekly. hope it helps.

durian,

You might wanna consider epidural if you're worried ur baby too big and may need C section. IN this case, even if u natural and half-way doc decide ur baby head too big, can immediately do C section without yhou having to go through GA (which is bad for u and baby). YOu'll still get to see your baby being "born" and hugs ur baby after they've cleaned up baby

Krissie
Thanks for the confirmation. By the way cannot seem to locate the choz $5.50 package u r talking about can provide the link? Thanks.

I am in my 31 weeks liaoz but when i went to visit my gynae he still schedule my next visit 4 wks later leh by that time i be 34 wks...then it would be bi weekly or weekly ah?

I went for regular check up with gynae last Friday...
Thank God... I passed my GTT test with flying colours(according to the nurse) and finally I get to know my Baby's weight!! Oh my gynae did a "swap" test for me too... really uncomfortable
and I hope the test result will be ok.
My baby is 2.24Kg at week 33....phew... finally my gynae measure for me without asking :p
I'm so happy that every thing is fine...

Kriss/sleeping deer
I heard Dr Ho is coming back only on 27th Dec from his Hol. He will be leaving 16th Dec.
Oh and he has finally wanting to see me more regularly...heehee... abt 2 weeks times...
I can't wait to see baby in 3D scan... hope the next round will be.
I also checked with Dr Ho on Episotomi...
He said Caucasian and Asian are different, Angmoh seems to have better skin elasticity it is possible to not to have Episotomy whereas Asian still Asian... it's seems Episotomy is required to all esp 1st time mother...
The thought cutting is so daunting... but at least he said he will try his best to make the expereince a painless one...
Thats very comforting at least...

hi queen,
think ur bb is not extremely small lah. coz my bb is oso ard the same size. he is 2.2kg at 35wks. gynae only said that his stomach is small like parent's. keke...

never come in for a few days, and so many updates liao...

Clare,
wow, so surprising, looks like you may be next to pop soon.. my hubby was still commenting that your tummy still looks small... take care! Think you can still make it for last anenatenal class?

Krissie,
thanks for the confirmation... that means who will be taking over Dr. Ho when he go on leave leh? Coz we will have crossed over 35 weeks when he goes on leave liao?

Queen,
I heard drinking more water may help level of fluid a little, coz when we drink more, baby also swallows more fluid, and pee more... dunno whether true or not...

Rachel/Tabbiesus,
I also bought a Safe n SOund/Britax car seat, got the $235 one... also can rear seating for NB, and convert to front seating after 6 months... got it from Baby Kingdom too

talk about us being more blur and absentminded while preggie... Yesterday went out for roti prata breakfast and parked at the piblic car park. You know how come X'mas, the parking attendant super on the ball, so we being the diligent tax payers, I tore parking coupons to stay 1 hour. To my horror, when we got back, we got fined! And we realised that stupid me went to tear the PM slot instead of the AM slot, aiyah, *slap head!* First time ever that it happened, must be coz of pregnancy.... My hubby smiling away, what to do, go home, and send appeal...

morning mummies...yet another week to begin. yes the choz offer seems good.

thanks krissie for the link. will take a look

gonna start buzzing...will catch up later in the thread.

Clare,
Me quite the same as u. Hoping bb will stay in there longer so that he can put on a bit more weight. Doc say baby on the small side but he didnt mentioned anyting abt induce. Now only 2 kg at 34 weeks. He did mentioned my anmiotic fluid level is ok. He advised to drink more milk & eat more eggs.

kriss
Oh... I didn't ask him personally, just asked the nurse. Perhaps your info more "june"
Yes I think he start work on 27th, cos I will be seeing him on that day.
If he told you personally his leave till 23rd then should be ba.

sleepingdeer,
haha that was funny
are u gonna mention in your appeal letter that you're preggie therefore maybe more absent-minded??

cookie,
glad to hear ur baby's doing well! how come swap test is uncomfortable? i'll be having one next week too. Thought it should be quite painless n easy...
Seems like most gynaes will do episiotomy...i also dun like the idea but seems like not much choice.

wendy,
yup i'm considering epidural - as in, i'm not ruling it out lah. Much as i wld love to go thru labour n delivery w/o epidural, i also recognize that it very much depends on the progress of the whole labour process. If very slow, then may be better to just go for epi. But i dun think i dare to go for C-section under epi leh...if really must go for C-section, i'd prefer GA. Can't imagine hearing those sounds n all!

Queen,

Don't blame yourself for low amniotic fluid! I've been resting at home the past 3 months and still amniotic fluid is low... I've tried drinking lots of water and still no help... fortunately the scan show baby's kidneys okie and baby is growing although smallish... last scan at 31 weeks showed her weight to be 1.7kg only. I guess we can only pray that this is just a normal variation.

I am going for another scan tomoroow to see how things go.. I'll be 35+ weeks then... hopefully my baby girl will have made the 2kg mark by then...

My gynae never mentioned that I might have to deliver early, maybe I'll ask her then...

are you having difficulty sleeping at night nowadays... past few nites I have been having terrible nightmares of going into labour...
kao_dizzy.gif

durianlover - just relax and the swab test won;t be painful. at least not for me. if you have done pap smear before, this is less painful.

didn;t get any replies on the following qn i pose yesterday...hence posting again

all - is it true that during confinement cannot drink water?? my MIL told me she bot for me glutinous rice wine for me to drink during the confinement period. btw, why cannot drink water? when she said i just nod my head but didnt ask much. my mum is doing my confinement but she is the more modern one. so i dun think she know abt tat too. also wats the taste like??

sleeping deer
I also very scare abt the cut that's y I ask him.. see got chance no need to cut.
But Dr Ho very confident in his skill when he talk abt this.
he says his cut and stitches very and usually will make our experience painless one

Hi 2 things to survey on :
RE: Nepia diaper
I know many mummies ordered this brand of Diaper and there is some promo now...
it may have discuss before but is Nepia diaper as good as or comparable to mommy poko and pampers??
I think for night wear...baby should wear the "better" one to avoid leaking...
Any advice?
I'm thinking of ordering Nepia too.

Re: Baby's name
Just want to know are you all thinking of a "dialect name" for baby?
for my generation... we always have surname and dialect name, probably also chinese character and hanyupin yin...
I just heard from my friend that... she never give her son dialect name...
It's just e.g. John Wee then it's chinese Character name...
Personally I just feel funny not to have a dialect name :p... but then again although I can pronounce my baby name in cantonese but I have hard time translating/spelling it into English word which pronouce the same.
Just wodnering if you all thought abt it.

SSF,

Hi.. I was told that its true, you are not supposed to drink water... I got my mom to buy lots of longan & red dates to boil and sip at throughout the day. Whatever you drink I think it has to be warmed and not cold...

cookie,
re: nepia diapers, my friend says that the nepia are very soft but she finds it just marginally inferior to pampers in terms of durability. So she advised me to use pampers at night and other brands during the day... I'm going to order the nepia diapers too.. have you decided how many nb or small you are going to order?

Re: baby name
I'm cantonese.. so my baby girl's name will Tabitha Kay Shen Hing Kei, but my husb doesn't want her dialect name in the birth cert like your friend, so it'll just be Tabitha K Shen. I think it will save her time during exams... so she doesn't have to write such a long name!!! :D

I wasn't allowed to drink water during confinement. And everytime i sip the longan drink, my mum will make sure i am sitting down. Never really question why. But the drinking water part sounds not right.... Water plays a very important part in our daily lives......

As for confinement food, my mum would insist that i eat them immediately once she finished cooking. For the first two weeks, even the soup must drink 'fresh'.... no reheating at all. So she'll cook small portion for lunch and small portion for dinner etc....

Losing weight during the initial weeks is quite common. Afterall, teh lack of sleep is enough... Ha Ha. You will feel it's so amazing how you survive with so little sleep when you look back after a few months. That's the wonder of being a mother. Like what Sysa shares, we';; learn to appreciate mothers, especially our own even more after you have been thru motherhood itself.....

tabbiesus & SSF
thanks for sharing on baby's name...
maybe I'm very old fashion.. but I feel strange not having dialect name... heehee :p
Just want to know if it is the trend now. Maybe generation really difference liao..

Tabbiesus
so if u buying Nepia, u will use it during the day? I have bought 2 pack Fitti NB 38/pack, my colleague said Fitti is cheap and quiet ok one.. but I think will not use it in the nite..
what I wanted to buy now is for Night Use cos my MIL want to use clothe diaper in the day.
FOr nepia I think buy 4 pack got free delivery...
I'm thinking of 2 pack NB, 2 pack Small...
what abt u??

SSF,

hehe.. u mean the tabitha or the hing kei part? I'm local, but my husb is from HK. Its from my log-on name tabbies_us.

Cookie
I plan to use pampers at night, I bought one pack pamper NB already. I also want to try cloth diapers during the day.. but dunno whether possible... I think I will get 2 NB & 2 Small also.

cookie,.
my hb say no need dialect name. hee..think we dun really know how to translate also.

how much does the epidural drug cost? my fren said it's abt 500. that ex?

SSF,
your hb got same surname as mine..what will be your bb's name? i m still thikning of english name but seems like we can't agree on one...

Wenyl,
at least your bb has hit 2kg mark! mine hasn't so i always quite scared when ever i feel any pain. on sat night when i was sleeping, i felt so much pain in the groin area that i woke my hb up 3 times. in the end the next day both of us so tired and couldn't wake up for church...

cookie,
congrats that u passed your GTT test! my fren said fitti leask but i guess it depends on individual bb. one diaper cut may fit one and not the other....

RE :Drinking water
I also heard of confienment cannot drink water except for the logan drink...
For me... i think I will not adhere to it. Water is essential to help us produce milk as well.. if we restrict intake of water think will impair our ability to produce milk for baby.
I dun think I'm gng to be adhere to the myth ley.

Hi SY,

Yes, epidural cost that much... about $400 goes to the aesethetician......

Don't worry about your hubby not bonding with baby yet. They will when they see the baby. Maybe by then you will get jealous over hubby's attention towards baby!
Ha Ha

Hi Tabbiesus,

I ordered Nepia too and they had delivered the order on sat. I ordered 2NB and 2S but they called me on Friday to say that they have no more stock for S. Do check with them when you order.

SSF,
yes i heard that confinement cannot drink water. But if u ask nurses and doctors they will not agree to that, coz they say it's very impt for us to drink water during confinement after delivery to replenish whatever fluid loss! So i'll just continue drinking water - maybe just drink warm water lor.

cookie & SSF,
my baby's dialect name will also be Lee followed by hanyu pinyin name. It seems like nowadays very few dialect names around! And we also don't really know how the Hokkien version of baby's name should be spelt, so think we'll just use Lee then the hanyu pinyin name. Easier

SY,
for Mt A, epidural costs abt $300 extra. That's what my gynae told me.

cookie,
my fren drank water after 2 weeks. she said really thirsty....

tabbiesus, yuki,
thanks for the estimated price of epi. think must put that into our budget also.

yuki,
i already jealous over the attention bb gets from hb!! sometimes at night instead of talking to me, he talks to bb and always hug my stomach. ask him why dun hug me he say it's the same... i know he's joking lah and i m happy to see him pay more attention to bb. realised that men are visual creatures and he started being more on the ball after my tummy grew bigger!

tabbiesus
I'm think if I'm using clothe diaper dunno still need to buy Nepia or not...
my friend told me Mommy Poko very good also...so I'm comtemplating pampers or that... will let thier price to decide :p

SY
heehee I also got problem.. spelling En Qi into dialect english...but I like En Qi sound in Cantonese also!
ya i think every diaper fit baby different... at most change regularly lor... if using fitti, anyway we should change regularly to avoid nappy rash.

RE:Nappy rash cream
My colleague is friend HIGHLY recommend this nappy rash cream call : Desitin ( hope Iget it rite).
it is much more expensive but they said is REALLY effective.
Not selling off the shelf, need to buy from clinic or phamacy. Cost est $14 for a tube...
Just to share.
All the mummies in my office use it.

tabbiesus,
i've also been having difficulties sleeping n keep hving strange dreams abt delivery n labour! last nite i dreamt that i suddenly fainted and when i woke up, my baby was already delivered by gynae thru C-section coz they thought it was better. Then my baby changed from a girl to a boy. Hmm really weird n strange stuff!

tabbiesus - actually the whole name sounds so special and unique. hehee..ic so ur hubby is a hong konger

SY - prices vary from different hospital. some is $300 some is like you mention is near $500. very costly hor?

durianlover,
i also keep getting weird dreams.
that day i dreamt that my dog passed away and i was so sad and realised that i neglected him cos of bb coming. felt so guilty after that.
then think past 2 nights kept dreaming of things like packing bb stuff etc....

SSF,
my fren told me hers is $500. i thought that was really ex!!

durianlover, yah lor, your bb is bigger than mine! I also don't know leh? But he said if I really want to go naturally, he'll let me try for 8 hours and if still cannot, then c-section.... for my next appt, he will measure my pelvis and see how....

For epidural, Mt E charges $400.

sleepingdeer / tabbiesus / mummies
got to check w u abt the white fish to be use in the papaya + fish soup. any type of white fish meat will do?? or hv to be some specific white meat fish??

rachel,
we can only eat certain fish during confinement. i dunno what is the fish called. only know it's 'ngoh he (fish)' .dunno whetehr u know what i mean. if not, we can eat garopa and cod fish. so i guess use any of the 3 for the soup is ok.

Hi SY and Rachel,

Ngor he is threadfin. I only learn all these names after i gave birth, when my gal reaches nine months old where she starts to eat solid food like porridge.

yuki,
thanks! i keep wondering what is that but dun think my parents can give me the name. they have been saying ngor he all the time...

Hi Queen/SSF,

Don't know why cannot drink water. Was told to just drink the longan red date drink and other warm drinks. For breakfast, I have a glass of milo, red date longan drink & chicken essence. For lunch & dinner, it's also red date longan drink. In between, I also drink that. So far, no pplain warm water. Then, must sit down when drinking. My grandaunt said something but I cannot rem why cannot stand drinking

I am holding a hi-tea at Safra Mt Faber for family & friends. HB & I were considering abt the party but then we decided to throw one after the jaundice episode. Giving cakes to ofc colleagues. Yep, saw the nice stuff from sweet surprise and likely to be ordering for the ofc pple instead of the usual vouchers.

Hi Krissie,

Do not worry too much abt the weight gain. Impt thing is that baby is delivered strong & healthy. When you start breatfeeding, it is guaranteed that you will lose the weight. Think I lost faster because I was travelling btwn home & NUH after discharge to deliver milk to baby when he stayed on for his jaundice treatment.

Once baby is out, you will also be kept quite bz. Sterilise bottles, express milk, feed/burp baby, rest a while, have meals, feed/burp baby again. The cycle goes on and on. Sure to lose weight

Hi durianlover,

Wanted to get the Malay massage lady. However, I have lost my tummy. I am back to my pre-pregnancy shape. I only have a line that runs slightly abv & below the belly button as evidence of a pregnancy. So dun need the lady anymore.

wah sysac - happy to hear that you are already preparing for ur baby 1 mth showers. so envy!!! and yes save money somemore now that you dun need the massage lady. you are doind so well. i hope i can be like you too..steady pong pi pi....hehee