(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

as for reunion dinner, i think mine most likely to crash with my confinement and my HB alreadi made known to my in-law tat we will not be joinning them for reunion dinner... we will have our own reunion dinner (finally) with the new member... hahaha...

i jus taken lunch with HB and told him tat i think i will set my mind not to have epidural, jus laughing gas and i will have determination... he jus say then when u cannot tahan, i will ask for the epidural for you...

all - my gynae said that after next week checkup, i will have to see him every week since I am soon into delivery.

Rena: oh dear, I think he should give u a scheduled appt with Dr Chew since u have a threatened pre-term labour...even when my previous gynae went for a holiday he oso scheduled an appt with his partner...

Rena - how do you discover tat yr cervix is opened??? (maybe i miss out this during ur previous posting)...

SSF - me too, after next week (37wk) checkup, i got to see him every weekly... but aiya, only left 3 weeks... so gan cheong...

i was thinking having an extra electrical flask in my rm so tat in the mid of the nite, i no need to walk in out the rm to the kitchen, my mum say i am too lazy...

BTW, yest called up the massage lady and she told me tat i got to wear sock after giving birth... so jus to inform u gals too...

SSF,
makes the BIG DAY sounds so much nearer!!!

Pochacco,
your HB so funny. i told my HB that during birth process if gynae say must do this or that and i stubborn and refuse, he must make the call (eg c-section). told my gynae to listen to my HB's request during that time and not me...

Pochacco..

i felt sharp pain so went for check up earilier and gynae did a interal check and he realise that cervix open..

Well MH,

That is what tot too.. further more Peter chew is expensive..

Hi durianlover,

Yep, Cephas jabs & FM are taken care of for 6 mths.

Hi SSF,

I started bathing & washing my hair every morning since the day I stepped back home. In fact, wanted to at the hsp the next day aft delivery. However, the nurse didn't allow as she was afraid I will faint.

Motherhood makes me appreciate all mothers more. A close fren just told me this morning that I feel it more becos I delivered naturally. She went thru C-section and so her maternal instinct did not kick in till much later. To me, all mothers are great!

I can sacrifice sleep just to express the milk and wake up to feed him diligently w/o much complaints. My neighbour just told me I do not have the confinement behaviour. Too active for someone doing confinement. Her daughter did not bathe for a month! She was surprised my mum allowed and that I have been bathing everyday. Honestly, we have to in order to be alert and clean to nurse the baby.

Hi SY & Krissie,

Yep, it really helps with HB's support. I think he saw what I went thru during labour. He told me he was taken aback when the gynae did the episotomy and he saw how I bled during labour. My guess is he knows that I am doing my part diligently and so he needs to do his part. In a way, we were looking fwd to this baby and parenthood. So we are taking it in our stride
You will too when your turn is here. Just hang in there and know everyone goes thru the same thing

Yep, we will only know if the FM given to us has probiotics as well as if Cephas has Rhinitis after the study. In the meantime, they will check on him through routine phone calls. Got to collect his poo every 2 weeks also for them to check on it.

SSF,
wow so exciting...counting down for you already!

SY,
haha how come u so cute...ask ur gynae to listen to ur hb and not you?! is it coz u think u won't be in the right frame of mind to make a sound decision or what?

jasminesym n durainlover - oic. Now i understand liao. Aiyo! its so confusing. (i take me a while to understand) Me too leh, prefer gal to be younger in class leh (if she's born older than classmate, it seems like she'a a da jie da in class)

casey - i oso feel pain on my pelvis area but my gynae didnt give me any mc leh. he say its normal. Sometimes its so painful that i cant even walk or get up.

pochacco,
what's the reason for wearing socks?

sysac,
do u just use normal shampoo and soap for bathing or u use those herbs? your mother is very open minded which is good. i have frens whose mum say they cannot bathe!

wah, you really sacrifice for Cephas. actually i think all mothers will. i always tell bb that even if i feel very uncomfortable now, as long as he's ok, i m happy already.

i think it's good to be part of the study cos there's always someone checking on Cephas's condition. if he really has Rhinitis, at least it can be arrested earlier.

durianlover,
yah, scared i stubborn and refuse epidural/c-section etc when it's needed. (though i think likelihood is small)...

pochacco - when is your due date? my due date is 15 jan and now i dun noe if i am in 34 or 35 weeks?

sysac - wow..u started bathing and washing hair already. so u do have any cold or any backaches? not sure if any impact coz u know la old ppl said cannot wash hair and bathe for one mth. i was considering doing it second week onwards but u seem to be doing it so early. hehee.. and yeah motherhood is a wonderful feeling and i also want to go thru natural and w/o epi if possible! ambitious ya

missy - we mummies counting down now. i very excited. (Aiyo! i still havent wash bb clothing n pack my bag, must really do it tomoro night liao)

Pochacco - oic, maybe i not enough calcium. yo! talk abt reunion dinner n CNY food, i'll got to miss all again. Early tis yr i wasnt allow to eat pineapple tart n next yr again.

SSF,
sounds really exciting!! hmmm, i shall start thinking when to take ML. mine is end Jan so probably not so early and i still enjoy coming office to chit chat with colleagues

confused,
me too. this weekend will pack my bag, call my CL, dunno what else i need to do....must think abt it. weekends so precious now!

Talking about counting down... I just realised me too left 3 weeks only to my EDD 01 Jan... very fast!! Will be clearing my balance 2.5days of annual leave on the week before Christmas & am planning to start my ML after Christmas holiday, this means i only have to work for only 7.5 days!! HAHAHAH... The thought of it makes me SOOO HAPPY...

SY - i also dun know the reason... later i called her up and ask her... i think because of wind????

SSF - me too on off got to work from hm... my boss alreadi hooked up my hs pc to office server and applied for boardband for me... hahaha... my due date is 9 Jan'06 - i think today is 35wk, 4 or 5 days...

Confused - me also many many like the pineapple tarts... so sian... dun know confinment can take or not hor??? better pack ur bag soon and relax for the balance period of our pregnancy...

Sysac,
Thanks so much for sharing with us on your experience so far... its so comforting and motivating to know you are coping so well so at least we too are encouraged to think positively about delivery as well as after birth!!! Most of all I'm so glad to know you are already bathing n washing hair the day u went home... know for sure my MIL will definitely say things like "dun take care next time old then u know..." etc but me gonna stand firm... the most bath when she's out of the house... = P

Rena,
Thanks for the contact list. = )

seems that most of you are taking leave and stay at home till deliver?

hi SY
me too, going to pack my bag this weekend.

Hi SY,

I bought 8 bottles of this Chinese alcohol called Gourment SanZheng Jiu from the Chinese Medicine Hall. Will pour into the hot water to mix before bath. It has a mild smell. After towel drying hair, I will put a bit of brandy on my hair. According to my mum, it is supposed to keep me "warm". Grandma did it for her and my aunts as well.

Hi SSF,

Natural w/o Epi is brave! I gave in after laughing gas & Penedeine jab. Like most have said, my labour was induced and so the contractions were more painful. I had no more energy to tahan the intense pain towards the end. Gave in to Epi :p In fact, it was my HB who told me " Pls take the Epi before it's too late." Not meaning to scare you
The pain was intense that I had more Epi on my right side towards the end before I started pushing. My right thigh was toally numbed until the next day. Had to massaged it before the feeling came back. All because I wanted to walk to the loo to bathe! Haha.

Becos of the episotomy, HB & I were glad I took the Epi. If not, think I will be suffering and coping worse than what I am going through now.

thks rena! now i know i am 34wks coming to 35!

so by next visit i am in 36 wks which is full term. so till then will check if engaged already.

btw, wat can't we eat during confinement? i know seafood is NO. wat else?

sysac - ur baby is sooooo cute and yes contented. gee cannot wait to carry my son. yeah i know gg w/o epidural is crazy but tats a challenge i pose to myself. haha i will update all if my challenge succeed!

Clare - hope to see you on news. 1st jan 00:00AM. hehee..

sysac - care to take a pic of u and baby and pose for us to see? heehe...

Sunny,
No problem... If u've known me before you would have agreed I am much much rounder than before hahah... but you.. aiyo i really cannot tell you are also 8months liao... i saw you the min i step out of the train but didn't think it would be you coz was looking for someone as heavily pregnant as me...
Think your 5+ kg all goes to your tummy n baby me so envious!

SSF,
Yah lots of my friend already told me to inform them once i'm in labour coz they wan to appear on TV/Newspaper too haha... but I got a feeling I'll pop around Christmas...

clare,
yours sound so soon!! so exciting. everytime i read abt a mummy who pop in dec thread, i will think abt ours next time when one by one we will pop and share our birth story!

sysac,
Cephas looks really happy!! so as long as after bathing we keep ourselves warm, it will be ok right? u dun use hairdryer? i tot need to blow dry so that won't catch chill?

yah, my fren also used epi. she only dilate after getting the epi.

SSF,
u very brave. i tell myself if really bad, will use epi. or else may find it hard to dilate. then once u dilate beyond 5 cm think cannot use already.

actually quite a lot of things cannot eat. u can only certain fish, certain vege...

clare,
hee can see you're so happpy to be able to go on leave sooN! sounds good!

pochacco & confused,
oh how come cannot eat pineapple tarts? am quite suaku abt such things. I just bought a box of pineapple tarts for myself 2 days back and am almost finishing it already!! Can eat pineapple tarts while preggie or not??

sysac,
wow Cephas is super cute lor!! he has this natural smile on his face! like dun need much effort but somehow looks like he's smiling
hee glad that you're enjoying your new status as mummy now!

sysac- yo! baby Cephas is sooooo cute
See your bb n now make me gan cheong liao.

Durainlover - My previous gynae told me leh. (when i was pregnant early tis yr, during CNY) he ask me not to eat pineapple. therefore hubby dont allow mw to eat. And now worse ah, due to my GD, now i cant eat at all.

my gynae only told me to avoid pineapple in first 3 months. but it's ok for me cos i dun like pineapple. but i miss the rest of the things like bbq pork etc...

yeah confused..after delivery, better do a test also just to confirm we don;t really have diabetes. and yes thereafter first thg i will head is ben and jerry ice cream

BBQ pork cannot eat meh? I've been eating BBQ pork and pineapple tarts. I find it hard to resist.. been munching on small amount of pineapples, logans, durians, chilled soft drinks, ice creams, bananas, etc...

I ask my gynae what cannot eat, he say just stay away from any chinese tonic for the first trimester. Anything else I feel like eating can just eat..

i think pineapple was to be avoided in 1st trimester, but now after that can eat. Furthermore, i hv the impression that pineapple tarts are different coz the pineapple is already 'cooked' so won't be too cooling? Anyway i'll still carry on eating pineapple tarts!

i love pineapple tarts n bah kwa - u mean these are forbidden foods during confinement?!

wendy,
like you, i've been eating almost everything too! heh heh

Durianlover,

The only time I really "avoided" eating the "forbidden" foods is the first trimester. Afterall, my morning sickness made sure I couldn't swallow them, including Ribina. Had to take it a little chilled else, total reject by system. That's how I lost 2kg then...

When the morning sickness stopped at 13 weeks, I started eating everything I could lay my hands on. Hahaha! But, my hb still tries to restrict certain foods though he allows me to munch a little when I gave him the "puppy eyes". Hee!

wendy, confused,
think after birth probably cannot eat all these things right? i mean, of cos can eat now but after birth sure a lot of things cannot eat one. i have been eating everything too except sashimi cos that's the only thing my gynae say cannot.

Sysa

Oh...Baby Cephas looks so adorable and handsome!!!
i am aldy starting to imagine and think how Baby Celeste will look like...

wendy,
ur hubby so kind..will allow u to eat when u look at him pitifully! my hb won't - in fact he'll scold me for even thinking that i can eat a bit!

SY,
i really didn't know that we had to avoid so many foods after birth. Sounds sad man...thot after giving birth can be less restrictive already?! Anyway i doubt i'll follow strictly to the confinement guide, so will probably also end up eating everything

durianlover,
i heard that cannot eat certain vege. etc. but i guess it also depends on how strict u follow. anyway, will just eat wat my CL cooks cos i dun think i will even think of cooking for myself. and must eat healthy.

SY, Durian,

I've also been avoiding Sashimi as we know it is a strict no-no but... I did have 1 slice of salmon sashimi with loads of waswabi during my 16th week.. That was about all I was allowed to eat cuz my hb couldnt bear to seeing me salivate while he eats. Hee!

As for confinement, I was told gotta eat more old ginger, drink DOM shots, black sesame oil, black vinegar, eggs, pork loin and chicken. Foods to avoided (that I know of) includes wong bok, cabbage, white radish, raw foods and basically all cooling foods. Anyway when the post natal flow is so heavy, I doubt we'll have the mood to eat anything cooling to aggrevate the flow. Spared for it for 9 months and get 9 months worth of flow in 1-1.5 months.. Think about it also sians liao..