(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sleeping deer and tabbiesus
thanks for the recipe...

Got 1 qn...we are suppose to drink for 3 consecutive days to promote milk flow...
So we cook everyday for 3 days rite?? not cook 1 pot and drink for 3 days hor?...
I'm a little confused :p

I also heard from my colleague after she drank this, her milk flow really alot!!!
finally must go for injection to stop the milk production... can you imagine :p

Oh no.. I drink the coconut juice twice a week..how? It seems like I have craving for it.. i am still drinking coffee as usual but only once a day and small cup is ok..

RE: rasbrerry tea..
Which part of centrepoint can buy?

So the coconut juice should drink as close to EDD as possible right? You wouldn't want the placenta to dislodge so fast before baby is term?

Also, how often are we supposed to drink the raspberry tea?

I really craving for durians and coconut now.. and kuey chap.. I've been eating organic fed chicken half-boiled eggs. Don't like eating hard boiled eggs.. So far, no problem :p

Been so busy at work lately... closing accounts and wf the company xmas function.. finali the function is over..but not the closing.. sneaked into chat a little...
been so tired lately, calves strting to hurt a little when getting up... and the occasional migraine...

Taka having storewide 20%? or is it just the baby /children's department??? yest HB forced me to get the Avent manual pump at Tangs for $86.60 say not much time left to wait n wait... went Cheong Choon on Monday but then they also selling at $86.60 but less 20%.din get it then cos scared got $59 ones...then ujpon reaching home and seeing the JL letter for 20% this weekend, i was MAD!!! jumped on HB like mad monkey, telling him we just wasted some almost $20 on the pump!!!
but he said take it as FOC since we used $80 Tangs voucher (all thanks to Shell points redemtion )... haiz...

I think the raspberry tea can get from planet & plant in Centerpoint??? as mentioned by sleepingdeer... but not sure is the shop name correct...

rena, pochacco,
the raspberry tea can be obtained at plant & planet from centrepoint but like what i mentioned it is quite ex. it sells at 4+ for a 20g packet whereas moms in mind sell 5.40 for 50g.

btw i received my package from moms in mind already. think their service very good and convenient if u want to order online. postage is $1 for one packet of raspberry tea and one packet of nursing tea (100g)

god's child,
just take it as what your hb say.
sometimes really cannot catch all the sales....

hmmm..so must really start to drink the coconut and raspberry. think tonight will go and drink my raspberry tea.

sorry ladies cos i missed quite a lot of posts... can i ask another time? when should we start drink raspberry tea and coconut drink? am now week 32, safe to start drinking?

btw thanks for all the advices regarding my water retention problem... lucky no need to reduce fluid intake cos i all the time feel thirsty... actually is not my gynae who advised me to reduce fluid but is my male boss (whose son age 2 now) who gives the advice!!

SSF
i din munch a lot on crackers and tidbits leh... but i suspect probably i dine out a lot that is the reason... both my mum & MIL do not cook at home... and i find it very tiring to cook myself.

Zhimin
mayb u can try to prepare simple dish like fish soup noodle or 1 vege n 1 soup for dinner. tats wat i did all along, coz outside food really is oily, salty and their vege are not wash properly (seem those hawker the way they handle those vege really make me scare). in the morning i wil prepare those ingredent n boil the soup first n evening my hb knock off earlier than me so he come home cook the dinner. home cook food confirm is healthier than those outside ones. n sometime really dun no wat to eat when u dine out =p

SY,
Yap. Try to swim after work on weekdays. Sometimes got to wait for hubby till 7+pm. And on weekends too. Weekdays good cos lesser crowd.

I got cravings for durians recently. Went down bugis to eat on my own on Tues. Haha! Now not the season so it is quite expensive. I hv been drinking young coconuts fortnightly (prefer to go Changi Village hawker ctr cos always can get young ones there). Hv been advised to drink w/out ice.

I still contemplating whether shld drink rasberry tea or not leh.

Yippee! tomorrow's Friday! Weekends coming! Gonna see bb on sat at gynae's.

Ya.. agree. If u got slow cooker at home, u can also dump all your soup ingredients into the crockpot in the morning before go work, set to auto, then come home got nice, steamy soup to drink. Only need cook 1 more vegetable. Use the rice cooker and steam pork or fish while cooking rice.. BINGO! Nutritious and nice dinner!

thanks gals, will order from moms in minds.

SY - do you know roughly 50g can last for how long? me dun know how many pack to order. how many cup should we drink... the MIM website tell us to "In the final trimester, drink 4 to 5 cups per day. Using a teaball would be useful."
is tat too much?

anyway, i also heard tat eating pig liver cooked with black vinegar will help to expel placenta faster... think eat 1-2 times before delivery...

hi pochacco
my mil told me to eat fried egg with white vineger so that placenta can be out faster... that what her mum taught her....

moulinmum,
really?! cannot eat raw food if breastfeeding? that's so sad! But i see all my frenz who bf also happily eat sashimi leh...

cookie,
wow 1st time i heard got to go for treatment to reduce milk flow!! most of us are hoping for more milk - never thot that can have too much milk!

pochacco,
never heard of the pig liver thing...but is expelling placenta such a great concern? i'm starting to wonder...coz i never heard of any problems with placenta coming out leh...usually it's quite an easy proces...after baby come out, we carry baby in arms while doc deliver placenta n stitch us up.

i just went for a buffet lunch with an ex-colleague and there was a whole load of sashimi there inviting me to eat!!! argghh such a great temptation but i resisted! and i ate durian paste dessert..it was heavenly! as good as the one at Merchant Court buffet

now i feel like i'm bursting...too full.

sunny
metro having sales 9th and 10th but dunno is it only open for metro card member.

hmmmm... i think i shall try to cook some simple dish at home liao...

wendy, rachel,
actually i keep eating out everyday also. my meals for the whole week is all eat out one except for 2 meals in a week when i go back to my mum's place or i cook.

ask a qn, if i want to put the ingredients to boil in the morning, when do i thaw the ingredients like pork/fish? do i do it overnight in the fridge? cos in the morning, no time to prepare the ingredients.

zhimin,
i think my fren told me can start drinking the coconut in the last month. but think can start already.

wenyl,
i think swimming at night very cold leh!! i scare of cold one.

pochacco,
think if u drink everyday, it shd be able to last at least a month? that's my own estimate.

durianlover,
some pple have problems with placenta cos of bleeding. the site where placenta detach can cause problems if there's excessive bleeding. but usually not that case.

wenyl
i also crave for durian... during first trimester i have been eating a lot... cos they said bb will gain weight... but all the while my bb is average size... i am the one who gained a lot of weight!! so i stop eating already. you so on will go bugis and eat durian alone... bugis got sell?

my gynae also advised me not to eat too much durian... she said eat too much bb will be too big and more difficult for delivery. but now seeing your post i crave for it again... hehe

can we eat chili crab?

SY,
yes if want to put ingredients in slowcooker to cook in the morning, must put the frozen food in the lower compartment of fridge to thaw the night before. That's what i usually do if i cook. Actually cooking own food is good n more healthy

zhimin,
why cannot eat chilli crab? i wld think it's safe to eat as long as it's cooked!

durians - i love durians but haven't eaten much since i got pregnant. Today's durian paste was like the 1st time in dunno-how-many-months that i got to taste durian! I think also coz my baby quite big so i'm quite cautious not to eat durian...if not baby will be too big.

durianlover,
yah i also want to cook but the thought of washing puts me off. and i haven been doing any marketing so nothing to cook also. think must ask my mum to help me buy some stuff over the weekend so i can cook more meals at home. if only i stay nearer to my mum, i can have home cooked meals everyday!

I've been feeling so tired and moody. Cannot sleep whole nite, keep tossing and turning. At 36 weeks now, tummy getting heavier and heavier.... sigh!

I don't noe issit my gynae's machine or what, do you know up till now, I still dunnoe my bb's weight. Kept asking my gynae but he said veli difficult to tell. I see most mummies after see their gynae, come back can tell how heavy the bb. Tomolo seeing him, I'm gng to ask again. Hope tis time I can get an answer!

WOW! threads are moving so fast today. was so busy and managed to come in after a breather.

SY - that wat i heard abt the benefit of young coconut too. so far i drank once only @ east coast.

queen - actually i am not sure if can downgrade..but seriously if there is vacancy shld be OK.

stylobb - i see..so i will ask my hubby to discreetly stay there coz he dun want to eat their food. yucks! and 63 bucks not worth it. the most go out and then sneak back later.

rena - yeah me too was feeling moody last few days. but now ok. i think its normal. so how are things with you and your hubby? all OK?

confused - yesterday at IMM- Giant, it is also selling young coconut..i think its 1 buck. as long as it is green in colour it means it young coconut. dun buy those that are in skin colour coz cannot tell if its young or not.

zhimin - i also eat out alot. and lately my sugar level is gg higher and higher. yest ate some claypot and rice(1 bowl) and my reading is sky high at 9.3. gee i dun dare to report to my gynae as he said the cut off mark is 7.0. then 1/2 hr later it is at 8.6. gosh i am so guilty. so i told myself must eat very very light liao. 3 more weeks to go hopefully....missing my ice cream and char kway teow already! sob sob.

klisa - my gynae's machine is also not very advanced. he get his measurement during the scan and then i saw him using calculator to derive the wgt. Not sure if the rest is the same as well?? ya u better check with yoru gynae, he shld be able to get the wgt readings.

SSF,
at least urs got take calculator out and still give u a number. Mine just tell me, "yeah, tink ur bb quite big, dun eat too much" or ur bb normal size, but watch wat u eat", etc! Think if tomolo he still not telling me, I'm gng downstairs at TMC to do a full scan for my bb's weight liao.

Toking abt food, I'm getting a bit sick of the food I eat, in fact, my appetite not veli good liao...any ladies here experiencing the same as me?

My granny said can start to drink the coconut drink only after approaching 7th mth into pregnancy.....dun think early consumption will cause early "dislodge" of placenta....but besides this coconut remedy there's also pigs liver thingy (which i oso hv not heard b4 leh)

SSF,
yeah must tahan a bit more n control what you eat! hee...just a few more wks to go!

klisa,
strange that your gynae can't get an estimate of the baby's weight... my gynae just looks at the scanning machine, click here click there then can tell me baby's weight. Then again, u may take heart that it's only an estimate of baby's weight...also not 100% accurate. So perhaps no point in knowing so much? Guess as long as gynae says baby is growing fine u dun hv to worry lah

SY,
yes i also dun like to wash up after cooking! Do ask ur mum to buy some fresh food from market for u so u can stock up. If i'm lazy, i'll just cook porridge using the fish n other food. Also a healthy alternative
My MIL enjoys stocking up my fridge with fish, prawns, meat, etc etc from the market. And she'll pack in in small packets suitable for 2 persons to eat. So just take out 1 packet n thaw...pretty easy n simple. Perhaps u can do that too

klisa - ya i think he shld be able to tell u the wgt. else u can ask him wats the reason why he cannot calculate? is it lack of technology? :p i mean if its me, i will definitely hit the roof or complaint :p

for me my appetite is quite good actually but becos i have GD, i have to ctrl my intake of food. gee i wish i can switch places with you so that at least i can have a scoop of ben and jerry ice cream. sigh! now i have to stick to fishball soup, yong tau foo. hate it...yucks!

I am feeling very tired easily these few days... and when we count the weeks left I actually will feel very panic... I feel scared in fact...

After tuesday checked up regarding the higher blood pressure incident... gynae gave me a fright in telling me if it persist got to deliver early... lucky 2nd reading back to normal... but I think I getting more and more anxious... can't really explain how i feel... yesterday dreamt my water bag burst! so scary...

At the same time I so looking forward to see bb but I so scared of labour... haiz mix feeling!

What kind of waterproof mat you all buy to put on bed in case water bag burst? I have no idea which type to buy... scared not comfortable sleeping on it.

durianlover - I'm just curious how heavy my bb is now tat he's coming out soon. I noe its just estimates but seeing other mummies can roughly noe their bb's weight, make me even more curious of my boy inside. hehehe....

SSF - hehhee.... complain? cannot lah... he's a good old fren of my dad's...so, cannot complain lah.... sianz lor.
Yummy! I lurve Ben and Jerry's! But I had to restrain myself from taking sweet stuff cos scared gain too much weight. Yeah lah...since u have GD, then better watch wat u eat lah, like wat durianlover said, we got a few more weeks to go onie!

SY / durianlover / wenyl
for my case if planning to steam fish i will bring the fish fr freezer to the lower compartment the nite b4, so in the morning the fish will be ok for me to prepare w all other ingredents like mushroom n tomoto etc... den wrap up the whole dish n place in the lower compartment. so hb came back in the evening can hv the fish ready for steaming after adding some soya sauce. vege will wash clean in the morning n pack (remember dun cut into smaller pcs first cos nutrious wil be lost), normally wash 2 to 3 times.
for pork / fish for preparing soup in the morning den hv to bring down the nite b4 when u come back fr work lo.
since i live near my mum, normally she will ask me wat vege n ingredent i wan. she go n buy n bring over during sunday =)
yah true it is tiring to do the washing cos need to stand for vy long. i sometime will even bring a chair n sit infront of the sink to peel prawns n pull out their intestines =p legs real tired n back aching so no choice lo

Gals - we alreadi decided to name our boi boi as Reeve Ng. as for the chinese name, think we will wait until he come out and ask ppl to calculate and decide later...

durianlover - as for the pig liver, i also hear it from one of my hb auntie.. so jus listen and take it when end of dec... since no harm...

zhimin
maybe u can get those tat selling @ kids mall. its blue n pink @ each side, quite comfortable coz it has small air bubbles thus u wont feel hot. actually i bought it for my boy boy one, but since he not out yet so mummy use it first la heehee ya it cost ard $8.90

rachel,
hey the way you prepare food is almost the same as the way i do it if i were to cook!
i do the same for steamed fish too!

klisa,
yes do try to ask ur gynae for estimate of baby's weight! must pester him...heh heh.
how come appetite not as gd? Perhaps u're experiencing a bit of MS? for me it's just the opposite! My appetite in 3rd trimester seems the best! And i always eat all those unhealthy food like Macs shaker fries, ice cream, etc
Strange though, that i didn't put on much weight from all this junk food.

zhimin,
dun worry, i guess all of us kind of feeling the jitters as our delivery date draws near! me too! Everytime when i feel anxious, i will think of the millions of mothers who have delivered before us...then i think to myself - it shouldn't be too tough after all, since so many millions of pple hv already gone thru pregnancy! yeah?

klisa
ur gynae shld be able to tell ur boy's wt one. my gynae first will measure my tummy, den fr the screen take down the measurement of the boyboy head diameter... den she look @ a chart n tell me how heavy my boy is liao..

this coming visit u must really ask n 'demand' for a figure haha

missy - thanks. i'll go IMM to buy the coconut. me too, everyday lunch fishball soup. And i really miss my favourite food. (got to ren for 1-2mths) btw, i ate fried kway teow n ok for me leh.

rachel/durianlover - hahha...yeah, i will press for a figure tomolo. really dunnoe why he cant tell me abt my bb's weight. anyway, at the end of the day, jus hope my boy is healthy and strong. Also, the reason I wan to noe is whether is my bb too big, then i may really have to go thru C-Section liao. Cos, I'm kinda hoping to go natural.

Since I got pregnant, my gynae told me to gain about 1.5-2kg per mth. Anything more than tat, will make me overweight, so, I have been constantly weighing myself and watching wat I eat lor.... not easy though cos I gain weight veli easily. now I'm 66KG @ 36wks, I just hope I dun have to gain anymore, scared having trouble losing all those excess weight!

klisa,SSF,
my gynae most interesting one. he estimates my bb's weight by feeling my uterus. not at the scan.... cute hor? he will press my stomach to feel how big my bb is and then give me an estimate.

durianlover, rachel,
yah i have been lazy to cook but think will try to do more often for bb's sake. i did wonder whether that's why my bb small. but no point thinking abt it. when i cook, i usually do one soup, one fish and one vege. but nowadays lazy to do vege cos difficult to wash as it is the most oily so hb will go buy the vege. i usually get my mum to buy fish on sat and i get from her on sun.

all ren for a while more!!

durianlover
=) think tats the faster way for us working ppl to hv good n healthy home cook food le. haha
ever since w BB im not allow to do any cooking coz hb say dun wan to hv our boy boy too close to the stove. not good coz vy hot haha
so im in charge of preparing ingredents n washing of dishes after dinner, but now tummy getting heavier n in the way so washing is out for me too =p

rachel,
i still wash leh..so it puts me off cooking. cos preparing and cooking already stand for long time and then still wash. so in the end hb always say eat out. he not good at cooking and i dun really trust the way he cook. the last time i ask him to peel prawns i almost faint.

klisa,
yah he very funny one. but he also say no need to be too concerned abt the weight. if you gynae dun want to tell u, maybe u can ask qn like 'whether bb is too big to do natural birth' , whether bb is of ave weight or below ave. cos can always check ard for ave weight.

SY- tats strange i thot my gynae using a calculator is already so back dated. haha...your is even back dated than mine

SY/SSF/Klisa, my gynae measure by the scanning the size of the bb tummy and thigh... and the screen will show the weight.. i alway tot my gynae machine not gd cos he alway use the 2D scan, 3D need extra money and we dun wan...

hahaha.... so many ways to measure and mine cant even give me something. Anyway, tomolo, I jus hope I can come home wif a number.

Shouldn't eat out too often.. too tired to wash up after dinner, get ur husbands to wash for u! Should eat more nutritious food at home so baby and u get all the nutrients and not too oily, fatty and unhealthy also. Besides, when u cook on ur own, u can choose to eat more servings of vegetables, not to mention, its more economical too.

i agree wendy..but my tummy cannot wait to go hm and cook then have dinner. latest by 7p.m if i dun have my dinner, my temper will start flaring. haha..

Wendy - Problem is hubby wash dishes also not clean, dunnoe about the others lah. But mine hor sure got leave some stains. Ended up, I have to wash it again!