(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY
yah tats d one. ic... mine visit is @ KKH itself so maybe my gynae think since im there can do it... but tats lots of $$ =( mayb hv to ask my gynae is it a need to do it or not. @ least can save some $ to buy milk powder n diaper =p another need to ask question to my long list

mummies - everyone is talking abt papaya + fish soup can improve milk supply. so any mummy know the actual receipe?? can share share?

sunny,
you really put on very little. i am 154cm tall, prepreggy was about 40kg and i put on about 11kg already. today a colleague say my skirt looks funny. it's cos my butt too big so the back very short...hope can lose the weight from the butt and thigh....my fren said those area quite hard to lose and she ended up buying new skirts and pants.

sunny - how come you put on so little? i am at the skinny side and i put on 12 kg already. wow..did you control your diet? coz i think the minimum u shld put on is like 10kg based on the smallest size.

rachel- yes i was thinking i be hm the first mth and even after that, i will opt to go somewhere where there is room for me to BF. i also had a hand sewn cloth that is use to cover while i BF. just pull over the neck like an apron. quite handy and can be use as blanket as well. moreover not sure if got breast milk. if cannot, then dun need to buy nursing bra also. just note that you must buy those unwired ones.

ya sunny..like SY i am in fact ard 38kg and put on 12kg since then and now weighs 50kg. i am 1.6cm tall. yeah super underwgt. so with baby no longer underwgt for now at least :p

re papaya fish soup,
can we take before giving birth? i saw it online and it is for nursing mothers.

rachel,
i went online to print the recipe. think someone share it here before but i too lazy to search. you can go to momsinmind website. they have some links for recipe.

rachel - i believe in the previous archived thread, someone actually type out the receipe for the papaya soup. I have the list from TMC when i attend Mrs Wong class but its at home. maybe you can try reading those archive ones and see if you can find it.

SSF,
u very light leh!!! i used to be ard 38-39kg. then after that start to put on weight to 41kg. then just before preggy cos of moving house and all that, lost weight to 40kg. hopefully after birth, i can maintain my weight at 45kg. think it's a healthier weight.

yes SY- i am very light. haha..actually i was 40kg but then morning sickness made me lost 2kg so i counted pre-preggie wgt as 38kg. ya like u i hope to maintain 45kg as tats the acceptable wgt for me. haha..so u can predict that my tummy isn;t big. in fact, my hubby comment that i seem to be carrying a ball. haha..

Aiyo reading all your weight makes me feel i'm super giant... me 1.68 pre preggy 50kg last weigh 2 weeks ago already gained 14kg total at 64kg so now should be even higher!

Sunny, u really gained very very little leh... so envious

SSF,
wow yes u're super light for your height!! Glad that you managed to put on some weight now n hopefully it doesn't all go away after giving birth. i'm 1.52m and was 39kg before preggie. Din manage to put on much weight but i look more bah-bah. And my tummy is huge. Hope can retain some of the weight after giving birth!

welcome wendy!

Sysac,
Wow both u n Baby Cephas really seem to be coping so very well... me too hope I will have good milk supply like you... counting down counting down....
kao_scared.gif

Don't worry, you're not alone. I'm also 1.65m and I was 48kg before pregnancy. Now I'm a blooming 63kg. Everyday see mirror, arms big big, think about having to lose all that weight, so sian..

SSF,
pple say when carrying boy tummy will be small. duno whether true or not cos mine also small.

clare,wendy,
i also look bah bah now. cos small small size and put on so much weight. so face is round now, butt is big!

i need advice... do you all think i should restrict fluid intake for the next 2 days see if my water retention can improve?

sysac - congrat to yr prince return back to hm sweet hm... your supply really alot... hopefully we can be like you...

talking about weight, i seem to be the fattest among you girl... early 2005 i was like 50kg (1.6m)... later after NY, i gain 4kg to around 54kg... now worst... at week 35, i am alreadi at 69kg... i have gain lots of weight, think becos i dun have any morning sickness, so from the beginning of the 1st tri to now, have been eating well...

For nursing bra, i got myself 3 eternity brand which is onli 9.90 each... each worth it.

i saw from some of the thread tat doc do measure the water level, but my doc never mention before, have any gals done this before?

zhimin,
is that what your gynae advised? most books say we shd take fluids cos lack of fluids can cause contractions. so unless it's advice from gynae, i don't think we shd reduce fluid intake.

wat about cutting back on salt intake and to drink less before sleeping? will walking help?

pochacco,
my fren's gynae did some tests to check her water level cos suspect not enough. think normal scans can tell. cos each time my gynae will mention whether my amniotic fluid is sufficient or not and he will show me on the screen.

Rachel

We decide to go for 1 bedder under the premiere suite,so that my HB can stay over in the room with me, plus am asking to see since 1 bedder, can have bb to room in with me as I plan to try to BF.

SY
Thanks for sharing about the crampy feeling that could be BH. I kinda forgot to ask my gynae about it.

To all: wah!!! you all like the very slim type before preggies. I'm on the bah bah side and kinda overweight before the preggies. So far only put on 12 kg in total and at 34.5 weeks.

hi SY, SSF
hehe... i also don't know y i gained so little only. b4 preggie, i was around 50.5kg. with my height, i think ppl will say i was underweight bah.
throughout pregnancy, my diet is as per normal loh. only 3 meals and no extra snack or titbit. even have, it's just a few munches only. and i don't have any craving, try not to take fried stuff and try to take brown rice and wholemeal bread instead of white rice and white bread .... that's y didn't gain a lot bah.

this thread is moving fast today!

Rena,
yah, if you can email out, that will be good, thanks!

Rachel,
I have a recipe for papaya fish soup, can try, I haven't try it yet...

1 white fish tail, approx. 1 Kg
100g raw peanuts
1 half-ripe papaya, approx. 1kg
1 pc tangerine peel ("chenpi")
2 slices old ginger
1.5l water
2 tbs oil
1 tsp salt
1 tsp light soya sauce

Directions:
Soak peanuts in water overnight. Drain before use.
Skin and halve papaya. Remove seeds, rinse and cut into big wedges. Rinse tangerine peel.
Clean and scale fish tail. Rinse, drain and pat dry thoroughly.
Heat 2 tablespoons of oil in a wok. When the oil is smoking, add the ginger and fry until fragrant. Now include the fish tail and fry both sides until light golden brown.
Bring 1.5l of water to a boil. include all the ingredients, cover pot and leave to boil for 15 minutes over high flame. Lower flame and simmer for 2?hours. Season to taste.

hi zhimin
try to cut down salt intake. mayb you can cook food and bring to work these few days and observe if there's any improvement. 'cos food sold outside is quite high in sodium.

SY,
I also have crampy feeling, like mense coming like that... a little panicky, I only 34 weeks.... hope it is BH contractions only...

zhimin - i will advise minimal water intake after 6p.m. water u must still drink in the day. oh and cut down on MSG/salt esp crackers. do u munch a lot on them?

SY - i only know they said if expecting a boy, ur tummy will be pointed. so far there have been 4 strangers who commented if i am expecting a boy. bingo mann! they are really good.

Zhimin,
think water retention is caused by lack of water, not because of too much water leh... coz we need water to flush out the salt in our body, if not, the salt will make you retain more water instead. Think you should increase the water intake instead, perhaps check with your gynae?

Pochacco,
*high five!* My weight and yours the same, now also 69kg, when I got preggie, was 54kg also...

Re: tummies & weight gain

My tummy is pretty small too and I was average ht & wt prepregnancy... I get a bit worried cos everybody keeps asking me if I am eating enough. My baby girl is smallish 1.7kg@33 weeks.

Re Fish & Papaya soup recipe

1 white fish tail ~1kg
100g raw peanuts
1 half ripe papaya ~1kg
1 piece tangerine peel
2 slices old ginger
1.5 L water
2 tablespoons of oil (for frying)

1. soak peanuts overnight, drain before use
2. skin & halve papaya, remove seeds , rinse and cut into big wedges. Rinse tangerine peel.
3. Clean & scale fish tail. Rinse, drain & pat dry
4. Fry ginger in oil until fragrant and then add fish tail and fry both sides til light golden brown
5. boil 1.5L (9cups) water, add all ingredients, cover and leave to boild on high flame for 15min. lower flame and simmer 2.5hr -3 hr
6. add salt/ soya sauce to taste

Supposed to take this for 3 consecutive days to help milk flow. My cousin only had increased milk flow after taking this.

hi anyone opting for single bedded in TMC? do you know if i can opt out for the companion package(including food for my hubby) but still have my hubby stay with me overnight?

Zhimin,

You should not restrict fluid intake. Restrict salt and sugar intake instead. Just don't drink too much before you sleep. In fact, I read somewhere that contrary to your belief, drinking more water can reduce water retention.

Mamachan,
oh... so u take 1 bedded. me oso wish to take 1 bedded. will be confirming the package this friday visit. so BB n HB can room in =)

clare,
me oso the same height n wt like u b4 preggy. so u r not alone!

Re: Tummy small & pointed = BOY

For me not true leh... all along everyone who see my tummy say its BOY but mine's a girl leh. Unless of coz HB & i get a surprise on the Big day of delivery itself hee hee.... I think since its a 50/50 chance so its easy for people to think they are very accurate... I personally feel quite happy whenever I prove them wrong... coz some really very kapo one hee hee...

SSF
thanks for the advise. think in the end will buy those unwired bra instead =) same feeling tat if not much milk supply den the bra will come to waste

tabbiesus
thanks for the recipe!! confirm will cook this dish =) after hearing such great comments

Zhimin

Yah, agree with Wendy. Have to drink plenty of water to reduce water retention. Water Retention is caused by too much salt. So reduce your salt intake. And like what Wendy said, don't drink so much water at night only before u sleep.

Pochacco,

dun worry , I am 1.63 before pregnant I was 55kg now..68kg.. Oh man.. coz this week I gain 3kg.. 6 more weeks to go.. dun know will gain how much.. so worried..

Zhimin,

I have bad water retention too.. mine started in 20 weeks..
Advise from doc is to cut down on salt intake and drink lots of water during the day but try not to take too much water after 7pm or late at night.. so far so good for me..

SY n missy - thanks. ya! i check with the nurse on my next checkup 19/12.

mummies - Yo! talking abt weight. i'm the heaviest among u gals. Now i'm already 84kg
I was wondering how to lose weight after birth.

sleepingdeer, tabbiesus,
also want to ask the same question. when do we start taking the dish? after birth or before can start? scared no milk leh...

SSF,
quite a few pple look at my stomach and guess correctly. 2 guys told me that if pointed and small, it's boy. for me, quite accurate lor...

re water retention
i also drink less water at night. can also cut down on toilet trips!

was just talking to a colleague's whose wife gave birth last week. he said his bill came to abt 4.5k. think the time spent in delivery suite can be quite ex. he say very siong and now no more sleep. he looks so tired and got eyebags and dark eye rings.... he told me to read up more on pushing techniques and breastfeeding techniques....feel like it's really getting near!!

SY - dun be influence by those ppl who said very siong. i think shld look at it positively and not complain abt the tireness that the baby give. i have frds here who complain alot abt their babies takign away their private life and now no day no night. but i think most impt if you are ready for a baby, all these are thgs you shld expect to come. so take it easy and enjoy the process
motherhood is just so wonderful.

SSF,
hee, actually i rather they tell my HB how siong it is..for me i m quite ok abt it cos i always love kids so as long as they are healthy etc, it is worth it. sometimes dun mind if pple tell my HB how siong so that he will be mentally prepared for it.

haha ya as long as you know what you are gg to expect can liao. as for hubby, i think they will slowly adapt to the changes in the family. basically they go work in the day, play with baby in the night and at night, may be disturb by their crying. tats all...not much of an impact as compared to us

Lisa here. My EDD is on 7th Jan 2006. Good to noe many MTBs here also waiting for the bb's arrival in the mth of Jan. Currently I'm in a confusing state, have to decide whether to go for C-Section or try natural birth. The thing is I have a fibroid, so not sure whether I am up for natural delivery. I would like to heal faster as I heard that C-Section takes longer time to heal and I'm so afraid of the operation wound. As for natural, I'm afraid of going thru all the labour pain but in the end have to go for C-Section.

Sigh... this Friday, I am seeing my gynae and will see what he says. Wish me luck gals. By the way, I'm 36 weeks currently. Hope my baby is engaged oledi. Btw, any of u noe whether bb is engaged oledi? Any signs, besides tummy go lower?

welcome Lisa!!! i havent engaged yet. for me, if can i will prefer natural delivery as u said healing is faster. also c-sect will have a scar and next time wear bikini quite unslightly. but again its never our choice..have to consult gynae at that pt in time. i am praying hard for a natural birth mann!

SSF,
looking at my colleague, think can have quite an impact. maybe also cos his mother doing the confinement so he got to be middleman. he will keep asking her how are things etc and if she needs him to be the middleman, she will let him know. but he said can be very tiring so he will always rush back after meetings to help out.

Hi Lisa,
did your gynae say whether u shd opt for natural or c-section since you have a fibriod? of cos, natural will heal faster but c-section cannot be ruled out as sometimes it may be better due to medical reasons.

where will you be delivering?

SSF
If u opt out of companion pkg but want ur hb to stay over, where is he going to sleep?
I blv that so long as they know someone is staying over, they will charge u.

just came back from my gynae visit and baby Janelle is now 2.2kg at 32wks 5days. Yay so happy she's crossed the 2kg mark!
i put on only 400g since last gynae visit 2wks back...really strange coz my appetite has increased quite a bit n i've been eating more..so thot i'd put on more.

pochacco / SY,
my gynae never mentioned anything abt fluid level leh...i presume no problem if not he wld hv said something.

sleepingdeer & tabbiesus,
thanks for sharing the papaya soup recipe!

SSF/SY,
yes i think you both are right...for me i'm also fully prepared for sleepless nights, etc etc when baby is out. Think as long as we take it well in our stride we shd be able to survive parenthood! In fact i can't wait for baby to be out! SY, must paint out the picture to your hubby abt how life will be when baby is out..sometimes when i feel that hb may take things too easily i will just tell him that he must be prepared that he'll hv disturbed sleep coz baby cry, then he must do housework coz i'll be busy, etc etc. Think sometimes must be more specific n paint the idea for them so they'll be prepared lah

SSF,
I agree.... I also worry about the scar... cos, I love diving and swimming... cannot wear bikini. So, I just hope I can go all natural.

SY,
During my first few months of pregnancy, he said I may need to go for C-Section. In fact, chances are higher. I ran into some complications in my early stage of pregnancy, so had to quit my job and stay at home. Was on bed rest for months! Recently, I have been toying of the idea of natural, all encouraged by my frens. I did asked my gynae, and he said will have to evaluate first and so, I'm still waiting for an answer. I've booked TMC liao.
Wat about u?

welcome Lisa!!
i think shd follow ur gynae's advice abt natural delivery or C-section. So just wait lor. But for me personally, if i hv a choice, i'd definitely want to try for natural. Recovery process for natural delivery is usually faster coz C-section is like a major op.

RE: Scar from c-section
u mean bikini won't cover the scar? Hmm...coz the scar will be horizontal just above pubic area...thot bikini shd be able to cover...