(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sophia - welcome to the thread!!

rachel - thks for your concern.

all - i just went to IMM kids mall. they are having 20% storewide sales. finally finally bought the bathing tub by PIYO PIYO. but they only have one colour PINK for my son. anyway, check in suntec also left pink. teh tub is pretty big not liek mothercare so small. so my baby can bathe in it for quite a long time. after disc its $23.95. reasonable!

hi Sophia
welcome!!

yuki,
did u get a shock when your waterbag burst as you sit down?

SSF,
i bought my bathtub finally also from first few years. hb likes it so just buy. too tired to search ard also.... wah u stay east, go IMM very far...

SY - yeah but i work in the west lor. yeah agree getting a tub is a headache,. not too small and must not have any seat inside and with drainage. and must be nice. hehee...so how much did u paid for yours? never heard of first few years.

SY - me also thinking of getting the car seat from the first few years. dun know whether to get the binder as i dun if i can tahan with tat if first few days not bathing...

SSF - first few years i know there is a branch at paragon as i alway go that one only.

Sophia - welcome...

SSF,
i paid about 33.90 for mine. a bit ex but was too lazy to look ard already. bought a blue one.

the first few years has branches at KKH and Paragon. their things quite ex.

Pochacco,
i saw some of their car seats, which one u looking at? i shd be getting mine from baby kingdom or baby hyperstore..can't remember which one.

think i will still get the binder. got another fren told me shd get and do massage then can slim down faster. she so slim now, like when she pre preggy...

Thanks SY. Yup abit ex but as long as you like it will do. rather than buying somethg cheaper but you don;t like it
I see..i haven't really been those places which explain why i never heard of the shop before.

Hi SY,

No not really. I was near to my 40th week already so i was 'ready' for action. Don;t want to go overdue and end up having to induce labour...... So i was kind of relief when it happen.

But i did hesitate for a while, wondering if it was my urine or what. So when to the toilet and no matter how i control my bladder, tinkles of water kept dripping so i guess that's it......

SY - me thinking of getting the britax... my company tell me to tell them the model number and they will buy and send that as a company gift to me but hor, the one i am looking for is $759!!! but from NB to 7 yrs... dun know how to tell my boss... hahaha...

where or what brand to get for binder? i have not go to investigate on this and i dun think i have the energy and time.

ya SY my gynae told me to smell it and you will know at once if its urine. also have u guys check with your gynae wat the procedure like if you suddenly think you are deliverying? for me, he said dun rush to the hospital, call the emergency hotline first and he will ask some qns before he ask me to go down to hospital .coz sometimes he said it is false alarm. and doesnt want to waste either my or his time. but he said if water leaks, go straight. most likely deliverying already.

SSF/SY,
Yah my gynae also say we somehow will know whether its urine or water bag burst one... According to my gynae:
1) If got "show", go back to see her same day or next day n she will check if cervix has dillated.
2) If experience contraction, time n see how long it last n see if its more n more frequent... not sure can go hosp but dun check-in, just ask the nurse to check n confirm coz if check in they will start to charge u already.
3) If water bag burst, still got time to bath pack a bit then go hosp but dun drag toooo long.

When we are in hosp Nurse will call Doc n Doc will decide whether or not need to be admitted. So to me quite simple, "Show" go see gynae next day. Waterburst/Contraction go hosp. In ALL case no need to call Doc at all coz she say no matter how u try to describe she still need someone to check or see u so no point calling.

tabbiesus - i on symphony station when i drive to work daily. other then that will be worship songs during sunday service. hehee..

Yvonne
THe new shops are not bad, esp Spring Maternity, the shop is big, too bad most of us dun need new clothese anymore... hehe...

SY
For my boi, I had a show (bloody discharge), admitted to hosp for observation and stayed overnite, next day, agreed to be induced..
I gave birth at 39th week that time.

I just came back from my gynae visit.

Baby Caeden is now 2.1kg at 32 weeks. Probably abt 3.4kg to 3.5kg at full term.

And he has inherited his father's nose...

Yuki,
hopefully when my water bag burst, i can remain calm. think u sounded very calm when it happened!

Pochacco,
your boss so nice to ask you what u want. britax ones usually quite ex....hee, maybe u hint hint to him and see whehter he got any reaction!!

for the binder, i m buying from KKH pharmacy. Brand name is Dale. cost abt $50. if u want, i can help buy and pass to u at ard somerset/city hall mrt area. will be buying at my next visit on 21 Dec.

SSF,
yah, think must call them first. my boss also say the same thing ot me. he say if dun call, sometimes go there and they may send u back. must smell whether it's urine? dunno whether i will be so calm when it happen!

tabbiesus,
i also on 92.4. usually do it before i sleep or when i falling asleep.

stylobb,
think i shall ask my gynae what to do for different scenarios next time.

mashy,
so cute, how do u know he has his father's nose?

SY
Yah, that's a good idea...cos first-time mum, can be gan jeong, me also felt uneasy when I had the show... in the end, went hosp.

Pochacco, SY
re: car seats

I got my car seat from Baby kingdom. It's called "Safe N Sound" and is made by Britax also and is also from birth to 18kgs and is about 300+. I've also seen it at mother works at Greatworld city.

tabbiesus,
one of the mothers also bought safe n sound. that's the one i m intending to buy. think can get one for 200+.

Hi SY,
will probably get from my massage lady, as she sells also, thanks for the offer though.

Hi durianlover,
oic, will try first with the waterproof sheet, and see whether I can get used to it or not

Welcome Sophia!

SY/Tabbiesus,
I'm the one who bought the Safe and sound carseat from Baby Kingdom
It is now sitting in bb's room, the delivery guy who came to install my cot mentioned that we can just drive to BB kingdom with the car seat and they will help us install it in the back seat

tabbiesus,
i've been letting my baby listen to lullaby at night before i sleep. The only problem is that i sleep at different times every night so there's no one fixed time that i let baby listen music. My fren says better to let baby hear music at fixed time (eg. 10pm everyday). Then in daytime i let her listen to Mozart music or some kids songs. But nowadays i'm less diligent in playing music coz even i myself getting bored of listening to the same CDs over and over again!

pochacco,
nice of ur boss to ask u what you want! haha just tell him that the one u want is quite ex n see what he says...

Re: breathing exercises during labour
can those of u who went for antenatal class share how we shd be breathing during labour / contractions?? now i feel stressed that i missed those 2 sessions on exercise/breathing during labour!! heard that if breathe properly it actually helps a lot in relieving the pain!

Hi Mashy,
your bb good weight, hee hee and nose looks like daddy's huh?

My girl girl too, she has my hubby's nose, much to his dismay, hahaha!

Hi Durianlover,
gotta pull out my notes... but off the top of my head, the nurse say that during the contractions at the start, we can use breathe in slowly and deeply through mouth, then exhale slowly and deeply through mouth also... like a long sigh, in and out.... when the contractions peak, but still managable, we should use short sharp breaths 5 times out, like hia, hia, hia, hia, hia.

When contractions get intense, we should lie on our side, lower leg straight, upper leg 90 degree right angle, and breathe though our mouth, hia, hia, ooh, 2 fast and 1 slow... hee hee, dun know whether I am making sense to you or not?

Clare,
Is what I explained right, or am I getting confused too?

sleepingdeer,
thanks for explaining! hahaha ur explanation's so funny i'm luffing in front of the comp! i dun fully get it...
hia = breathing out?
ooh = breathe in?

when u say short sharp breaths 5 times out, meaning we take in 1 deep breath, then breathe out 5 times is it?

sleepingdeer,
was trying to practise your explanation. so cute!

so u happy with the car seat you bought? think i will get the safe n sound one also.

yah u can get the binder from your massage lady also. some of them will have it and u need to get from them.

i got my tea in the post today. looks yummy. but wondering whteher can start. actually that time when i went to plant & planet, the lady say some pple want to be safe and start after 7 months. since we 8 months already shd be ok right?? she say the tea has a lot of nutrients and good to tone the uterine muscles.

sysac,
COngrats! Ur baby is sooo adorable. Showed hubby ur bb pic & he is also getting excited, like me, liao!

Durianlover,
I bot the ikea protector too. Dun think it will be hot cos it is quite thin. Thot of placing it in the baby cot to protect the latex mattress. I got a water mat standby. My mum says those are more cooling.

I also decided to place a plastic sheet (those blue absorbent adult sheets from pharmacy) under my bedsheet, in case my waterbag burst while sleeping. Can use it during confinement, in case I stain the bed.

Celine,
Did u enjoy ur photo session with YK? Mine was quite fun cos we brot along our dog. And YK took out many toys... rubber duckies, balls, for him to play around. Even took out a pair of sunglass & veil for my dog to wear during phototaking. He look so funny! Kekeke!
I will be getting the CD from him tomorrow. I think urs should be ready too.

Confused
Can get the binder from any pharmacy. But, I guess the hosp ones will have a better stock. I got a cheap one from Watsons. Abt $5, I think. I doubt it's as effective as those surgical binders. But, I thought can just wear it for the 1st 5 days before the massage lady comes, then can use her binder. If kenna C-section, then shld really get a good surgical binder for better support.

mongs
I also cant wait to go on ML. Am starting to feel really heavy and tired. Cant sleep well every night too.

Yuki
Yest, I had tightening again and qt a lot of discharge, so v wet. Gave me a shock. I thot waterbag was going to burst. So, cancelled my appt with my gf to go home to rest.

Mashy
wah, how u tell that he has your hb's nose? So cute.

Tabbiesus
Your safe and sound car seat. Is it rear facing for NB and then front facing later?

Durianlover
Why don't u go for the make up class in Dec session? It's qt impt to hear from the instructor on those breathing techniques. I also cant rem leh.. must see notes.

durianlover/SY,
when we were practising in class, also pretty funny... the hia hia ooh when we are lying on the side is all breathing out, ooh is like a long sigh, same as the breathing we do when the contractions are just beginning and manageable..

SY,
yep, I like the car seat I got, when all the stuff came, I insisted my hubby take it out so that I can touch, and admire it...
I got the 'economy' model, coz Baby Kingdom has 3 models of Safe and SOund, and the 'Business' and First class was out of my budget. To further pad my car seat, I bought a fluffy car seat from First few Years, so think will be very snug and comfy for bb

Re: Tea
I been wanting to start my tea, but keep forgetting to bring my mug to the office! Must remember tomorrow!

RE: flash card
Hi mummies... just to share... last nite I went to Takashimaya they having sale for taka card member till this friday. additional 10%(not 5%) discount.

I found the following:
1) Kids Tool - PLay to learn flash card
2) Kids Tool - Play to learn, Dot to Numbers flash card
All in RED, WHITE, and BLACK colour... suitable for infant
The flash card pack also comes with a toy...
Each flash card pack cost $10++ and they having 20% discount now... and if u have taka card, additioanl 10% (not 5%)
So I thought it's pretty good.
I also bought a ball in the same colour which seems like contain plastic bag in it... so when we squeeze ther are sound come out... I suppose is to catch baby's attention.
When I pay the cashier also said... oh these toy are the best for newborn baby!!

Kriss
Think u told me... u got Kids Tool product too rite?... dunno if I got the same as you...

Ok got to go... catch up later.

Wendy
Taka sale from 6-9 Dec... they have additional 10% almost(excld cosmetic, perfrumes, lingeries etc) storewide if u hold taka credit card or taka card.
I also bought the baby wipe and got add 10% too... usually in Metro sales baby wipe also no discount one cos the value pack suppose to be sales item liao... but this time even if Sales item, Taka still give add 10% as long as pay by Taka card.

I'm very poor in Arts... hehehee so cannot DIY like mongs... so fortunately I found these flash card pack. it's comes in 2 designs and I bought both of them.

Mongs
knew u read alot abt baby education..

Can share with me... when is the best time to Flash Card to baby ??

krissie,
i also had tightenining yesterday. was walking and suddenly tummy felt so tight. like cramps and cannot walk straight. lasted a few minutes then no more. cannot imagine the real thing.

your discharge lesser today? my fren told me not to drink too much tea as it is cooling and can cause more discharge.

cookie,
that's a good deal i think. i got one of those flash cards also.

sleepingdeer
i also intend to buy the economy car seat. no point getting the business and first class.

Cookie,
I dun hold Taka card. So, it's just 20% discount right? Which dept can it be found? Tks!

I was very tempted to order from the bulk purchase for the GD lookalike flash cards ($100+)from Taiwan but not sure if I will faithfully use all of it. So I thot this Kids Tool is more of a starter kit for me to try out first.

Hi SY,

Ya i must say i was rather calm or i reckon it's more of God's peace.
Even on my way to hospital, hubby asked if i was nervous and i replied i wasn't. I think my mind was blank at that time - not thinking/ incapable of thinking anything. Ha Ha.

I felt so peaceful even when i arrived at hospital, when the nurses do the check up, insert tablet to induce etc..... It only hit me when the contraction starts.....

That's why i always thank God for such peace.

Taka sales open to everyone or only to card holder? Where to get the toys etc? Which level?

Pochacco,
I bot the $759 britax carseat u mentioned. think it shld be a good investment. we oso got the protector thingy to lay between my car's seat and the bb carseat. so at least won't scratch my leather. and the colour of the carseat matches my leather very well. so decided to get it. thou agree that it's very pricey...

Wenyl,
Phototaking was alright. I don't really know how to pose, so the whole session was quite standard. he teach us how to pose then he goes snap snap snap... maybe i shld have brought my doggies too. then would be more fun. keke.

wendyl
yes... no taka card also got 20% disc.
Can be found at the baby dept...they hanging on a metal rack... right next to Medela product. diagonal opp to Pigeon bathing product.
The flash cards are hanging somewhere lower portion of the rack.

ya... better try it out first this starter kit before buying the bulk... which is prtty exp.
But Flash card we can use till when?

yuki
Taka is not really haveing a store wide sale... some item has sale, some dun ( I think) but if hold Taka card or Taka credit card will have additional 10 % disc.

morning mummies..i had a good rest yesterday
seems that today is gg to be a rainy day. so be blessed and carry a brolly and be careful when walking. wow i have taka card leh..so does that mean i have an additional 10% off the 20%? but too bad i have bot all stuffs. nothing left to buy except to start washing those baby's clothes and bedsheet. oh and yippy! yesterday i received my admission letter to TMC. brought it today with me to read as it seems to have many instructons.

yuki,
i hope me and hb can be so calm too! at least one of us has to remain calm...

celine,
where did u get the protector thingy to put between the car seat and the leather seat? makes sense to put one so can protect the leather....

SSF,
me so tired also yesterday and din even wake up at night to go toilet. only woke up at 6+ to go. cannot tahan anymore

Haha, thru the scan lor. His nose is so obvious big and same shape as my hb. sigh, not exactly my choice though.

How do u gals decide what car seat to buy? It's so expensive. Is it those combination ones that can sit till 4yrs old?

was so bz at work .. din hv time to read this thread. But wow.. read the good news that sysac popped already.
Congrats sysac,baby Cephas doesn't look like he is only 2+kg..

hello mummies

krissie - thanks. I'll go look for the binder next week.

cookie - wow! the flash card very ex. where can i get it beside taka? Till now i have buy any toy for my bb gal.

SY,
I got it from first few years as well. got it at the same time when i bot the carseat. the salesperson says that the 2 fits well, thou i thk the protector thingy is quite standard. shld fit all carseat.

hi all mummies,

wat is this flash card thingy? i mean how to play with it? i'm kinda interested. and is Kids Tool the brand? I can't seem to find it on the internet. Is there anywhere online which I can see how it looks like? sorry so many questions...

Mashy brainz,

I did not specially buy the car seat but it comes with the pram that I bought.. which I think is more worth it as it is from new born to 1 year old..
As from what I know for older child the seat design is different..
Sorry huh I more cheapo coz not working must save.. hee hee..

Just came back from the gynae.. praise the lord that all is well my boy has finally turn down after his last turn at 30 weeks..so now no need to worry.. boy boy is 2.2 kg at 34 weeks.. but I gain 3 more kg.. Sob..however doc is quite certain that I may hold till full term.. hm.. I was curious coz cervix already open 2 cm.. Puzzle??

celine,
u can see kids tools at baby sayang. i attached a link before. you can go search at the baby sayang website to see a pic of it.
thanks! will go look at the protector thing.

mashy
first few years is at paragon and KKH.

rena,
good to hear your update and that your boy has turned! mist be feeling very relived now...

re: car seat

I got the guardian model "safe N sound"- supposed to be a bit more ex becos of the extra padding, there's another model that's called safeguard which is abt $200+ which is exactly the same, but less padding... i bought quite early so at that time didn't mind spending extra for baby cos didn't realise there was so much to buy! :p It is rear facing for newborn & then can convert to front facing. Supposed to last till the child is 4 years old.

They have a lot of cheap ones at baby hyperstore but they are from poland or korea... but I'm not so sure if they are safety tested to be as good. Safe N sound is actually under Britax so should be quite alright.

rena - did ur gynae check your vagina to know abt the cervix opening? my gynae didnt check for me during the last visit. my baby has been head down since 30 weeks. dun noe if this is normal or not. i dun think he was ever in a breech position.