(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF,

Previously.. I felt sharp pain so gynae decided to do a vagina check and found tat cervix open and boy boy engaged already so I was hospitalize for a week..

SSF,

dun worry.. at 28 weeks bb will turn down an that is normal.. mine turn at 28 weeks but engaged at 30 weeks and turn up at 31 weeks then now turn down at 34 weeks.. so confusing.. my boy so playful just like me..

rena,

glad your baby has turned down and growing well. One less worry!!! Could be that your external cervix is opened a little but that your internal cervix/ Os is closed, so you can be 2 cm dilated but not progressing to labour, that's what my gynae told me when I was 1cm dilated (which I still am).

sleepingdeer/krissie,
yes i'm going for Dec class for breathing exercises...but it only starts next sat or something like that. So thot i'd better find out first in case pop early or something!! Managed to dig out a pregnancy book last nite that kind of described some breathing exercises. Anyway thanks sleepingdeer for ur cute explanation!

rena,
glad that your baby's well n u can carry till full-term! perhaps as long as there're no contractions u won't dilate further - that's why gynae says can carry till full term?

SSF,
yes it's normal. My bb was also head-down since 29 wks or something like that!

Wow! So much posts that I thought mine was lost.

Anyway, Sophia here, just changed my name to Mamachan.

My EDD is 13th Jan and I'll be delivering at KKH as I'm a dependent of civil servant, using CSC. My gynae is Dr. John Tee

rena - wow your boy has already engaged. my gynae didnt say anythg so i dont think its engaged. he also didnt check my vagina. btw, how to know if its engaged? can a scan check that out? so your baby shld be out anytime now that he is engaged. tats wat i hear from others.so are you hoping for a dec baby?

Oh, izzit common to experience a slight aching sensation in the tummy like when before our menses come?

I'm at 34.5 weeks, not sure if I'm starting to experience BH contractions, although sometimes I feel tightness around my tummy, thought it's more of bb pushing against the tummy or something.

SSF,

at 30 weeks he was but now no more.. just turned.. I was hopping for dec baby coz I am very tired and hope that i can bring my bb out for new year..

Hm.. Ladies..

so how want to post the contacts or sent email.... ho ho let me know

hi sophia...

you have the same EDD as me!!! I think i will be delivering at SGH now, I was initially booked at TMC.. but I had preterm labour and some complications and had to be transferred to SGH. Is this your first child?

went for my gynae visit yesterday. doc still commented that bb is small. 1.9kg @34 weeks. he's worried that bb might not get enough nutrition. he just asked me to eat as per normal. he asked me to do CTG to monitor bb's heartbeat. the report showed that bb's heartbeat is good. keke...
me only gain 400g since last visit 2 weeks ago. next week will be another visit.

confused
I also dunno where to get flash card other then taka ley.
I looking for it for sometime... so when I saw it I buy.
Errr.. the flash card exp meh?... after disc it's $9.00++ for a set ley...
Last nite I bought another cute cute bear bear for my baby as comfort toy too
Hope she likes it.

mashy
1st few yrs has a branch at KKH too... opp Mac.
I heard from the KKH branch that Paragon sell more high end stuff so price range is higher at Paragon then KKH... but of course different items.

I saw an baby item organiser at paragon... so tempted to buy :p

Celine - ya i know it is a gd investment esp can use up to 7 years old... i will hint hint to my boss and see how. hahaha... if not within their budget, i will top up the diff..

SY - i think i can go get the binder... first of all must double confirm with the massage lady if she provide the binding cloth...

Rena - glad to hear that your bb boy is well
Alamak! i forgotten to ask my gyane abt tis. i heard him say my bb gal havent turn leh (if i didnt hear wrongly) but when i was abt week 32, he say bb turn liao leh. *blur liao lah*

mummies - talking abt admission, my gyane didnt give my any instruction on tis leh. Do i have to do the admission myself or must wait till gynae ask me to?

Hi tabbiesus!

Wow same EDD =) Yes, this is my 1st child. So not really sure what to expect.

SOmehow got this feeling bb might be born early like 1 - 2 weeks. if so, hope it'll be a 1st Jan bb. heh heh

confused: hmmmm, depends on which hospital you'll be delivering at rite?

I know for KKH, at my last check-up, I asked my gynae, he said to just go straight to patients' admission and then they'll call for him accordingly.

rena,
think can send via email again or maybe wait a bit till more updated?

when will gynae check the cervix? is it a normal check that must be done? so far my gynae hasn't checked also.

Mamachan,
i get those cramping feelings and i think it's BH. really can be quite uncomfortable.

sunny,
dun be too worried. my gynae not worried at all even though my boy smaller than yours. he even suan me and say i never email him and that's a surprise (cos he thinks i very gan cheong)

confused,
the nurses will tell u abt admission. but htink can ask gynae if they still not doing it

got a thread on 'what to teach and when' if you interested. quite interesting info.

Hi Sunny,
Have u received my Hp no. via PM? I might need to go to branch office in Paya Lebar Singpost centre in the afternoon n would then most likely be able to knock off early... so was thinking if its not too inconvenient can we postpone our meeting to tomorrow Thurs or Fri 6.30pm Raffles Place instead?? If you've already got something planned then dun worry we'll just meet as usual today. So sorry for the last min changes...

SY

Oh izzit? hmmm, mine is a mild aching feeling. Not major cramps. I also dunno what to expect as it's my 1st child.

The only cramps that I get and it hurts are my calf muscles, sleep thru the night then suddenly cramp when i turn to a more comfy position.

I hope labour contractions won't be like that. Theorectically, labour pains are actually muscle contractions.

Thank you for all the compliments abt Baby Cephas. Most commented that he looks angmoh becos of his slightly brown hair. My HB's hair is also light brown. He looks all like the Papa.

He was discharged from hosp yesterday. Thank God for that

It's a real relief to have him home. We were travelling to and fro since my discharge to feed him. Anyway, it's not a nice feeling to leave your new-born in hosp while you make your way home.

Mamachan
kao_welcome.gif

im oso delivering @ KKH. but different gynae.

cookie - agreed tat the branch of first few yr @ paragon is more of high end stuff. @ first tot of buying the BB cot fr first few yrs n went to paragon to take a look n was taken by surprise tat all the display cot is @ least 500 bucks n above. not the one we saw @ KKH branch @ $300+. but ended up we got a cot fr robinson =p

mummies - any recommendation when to get nursing bra? i still hv not get mine so planning to get them by this week. saw some @ mothercare but think quite ex. recommendation???

sysac - glad to know your boy is back home with you =) how is he settling down?? u r letting him sleep in a baby cot? wish all is well n take care!!

hi sysac
glad to hear that your bb is back home.
does your wound still hurt?

hi clare
i sms you already.

hi SY
thanks. actually i am not as worry as doc leh. haha... 'cos i feel that bb moves a lot inside. so, to me, that's the most important thing. keke...

Rachel
Oh, who's your gynae? Mine was recommended thru my husband's pre-u mates who had their children delivered by Dr. Tee

For nursing bra, there's this shop called Oto (unsure of spelling)which sells maternity clothings as well, looks very "chin cheong". Opp the Prima Deli. My mum bought for me 2 nursing bras from there. I tried them on, think they're quite ok.

You might want to check it out on your next visit to the gynae.

Btw, when's your EDD?

I'm new to this thread. My EDD is 21 Jan 2006 and my doctor is Prof SC Ng at Gleneagles. Last growth scan at 32 weeks 5 days, my little princess was 2 kg. I also feel tightness in my belly due to baby wigglng about and pushing my belly button, especially after a meal. Baby is very active and keeps wiggling about in my tummy, especially when I'm listening to the radio or watching TV

Since my 30th week, I've been feeling dull aches occasionally on the lower abdomen. Guess that's the Braxton Hicks contractions right?

Hi SY,

I remembered during the 35 week onwards, i did a CTG scan and the swap thingy to see if there's any infection and also during that time gynae check whether dilate or not.......

mamachan,
i m also at KKH. Seeing Dr HC Han. EDD 29th Jan. mine is sometimes like aching feeling, sometimes like cramps. think it's BH contractions. hb keeps asking me to ask gynae but gynae already told me to expect this.

Wendy,
welcome!!

What's your gal's name?

sysac,
good to hear that baby cephas is home!! now he can finally settle into his home that you prepared for him. do take care of yourself and post more pic when free!

my hair is also a bit brown..dunno whether bb will get my hair...

sunny,
my bb also moves a lot. think will only worry if his movement gets lesser...

rachel,
is first few years at KKH cheaper? then maybe i will go there to look. i do see different stuff betwn that branch and paragon. the bath tub that i got from the KKH branch, i din see at the paragon branch.

sunny - mine is smaller 1.8kg but my gynae said it is of good wgt. not sure why different ghynae have different expectation? btw, are you towards the petite size? coz i am and not sure if thats the reason why he said is of good wgt. so far i only gain like abt 12 kg.

confused - betetr check with yoru gynae on the admission procedure.

rachel- i didnt get nursing bra. i bot unwired bra instead 2 from felancy and a sports bra from sorella. they are like 10 plus each. cheaper than nursing bra. mothercare i saw before after disc is like 40 plus. yeah agree its ex!

sysac - welcome hm with your boi boi. so envy that your ordeal is finally over..now its our turn to start counting down to it.heheee.

wendy - welcome welcome!!!!

yuki,
thanks. think i will check with gynae whether need any further scans/CTG/swaps etc.

just for info.

i think a second detailed scan is not needed in KKH if u do ultrasound scan every visit. cos thru ultrasound scan, they also check your bb's growth. at least this is what the nurse told me.

Have not decided on girl girl's english name yet. My husband and I have been undecided on which name to choose till now! We've already decided on the chinese name though.

Any of you here delivering or delivered at Gleneagles?

Sunny - good tat u r of positive mind. i guess u r of smaller body frame rit? so BB will of coz be of smaller size. yah wat matter most is to know tat ur bb is moving ard, telling u she is doing jus fine inside u! =) take care

Wendy,
Welcome!
I am the opposite of u.Got the english name but not chinese name for my prince. was juz thinking can i register him juz using the english name! :p

btw, i'm delivering in Gleneagles.

Mamachan
my EDD is 25 Jan 2006. 9 dyas later than u =) first BB too. Gynae is Dr Jeanette Chan. she is recommended by one of my fren who delivered her gal there.

thks, will check out the shop on this friday when im hving my gynae appointment. btw hv u decide on ur hospitalizattion package? 1 or 4 bedded??

Hi again,

Just fed baby so got time to chat a while more before he wakes up for his next feed.

Breast Feeding:
Don't expect the baby to suckle straight away. He/she needs time to adjust. I admit I was anxious initially when he sucked and then threw out my nipple. It's quite normal bcos they are still learning. If you have problems at the hosp, just express out the milk unless you are very determined to do total breast feeding. Not much the 1st 3 days for me. Mine only started free-flowing on Mon (4 days aft delivery).

My nipples are short and so he will throw them out after suckling for a while. As a result, the nurses encourage me to expree my milk out. Pls express as much as you can tahan. Once the breasts fill up, they become heavy and have this tight sensation. Since Mon, I have been able to pump almost 100ml per session. I keep them in the glass bottles and freeze it until feeding time. Take each bottle out abt 1/2 hr before feeding time to thaw and then put the bottle into a cup of hot water to warm up the milk.

Maternity Pads:
I had episotomy but I do not feel the soreness of the wound. Have not taken any painkillers so far. However, the Madame brand maternity pads that I bought at Kiddy Palace is very comfy to wear esp when you are sitting down for those who are delivering naturally. It's acts like a cushion for the bottom and minimises the discomfort as compared to the ones I used in hospital. It's feels soft too

Baby Cephas:
Yes, we had him sleeping in his cot since his return. He feeds every 3 hours. Very alert which is good as he still has mild jaundice. We went down to sun him today. He's adjusting well. We put up a musical mobile in the cot, The music soothes him to sleep after each feed and so he falls asleep quite immediately.

hi SSF, rachel
don't think i am in small side leh. haha.... i am 165cm, and hb is 183cm... so far, i gained 5.6kg...

so many posting

welcome to all the newcomers
kao_welcome.gif

just a quick update... so many works pending

yesterday went for my check up... bb weighs abt 1.95kg at week 32... gynae said is normal weight...

gynae did a v swap test yesterday too... so painful!
kao_sad2.gif

yesterday rushed for the gynae appointment after work... prob due to the rush... my blood pressure first reading was high... den gynae said if the pressure keep on the high side may need to deliver bb earlier!! gave me a fright... then i kept on telling myself to relax lucky 2nd reading back to normal after abt 15 mins... actually our mind is very important...

recently i have been feeling very very restless and tired... dunno y... water retention no improvement... gynae said if there is sudden swelling or persistent headache must go back to her immediately.

Sysac,
wow 100mil of milk! dat's a lot! so envious. i hope i oso have such good milk supply... wat's ur receipe? did u drink alot of papaya and fish soup? keke...

sunny - 5.6kg for the entire 3 trimesters??

zhimin - dun worry too much. i think you are too uptight. try to relax a little. the swap test basically i find its not painful..u just need to relax and not be too stress about it.

sysac - thks for sharing your BF experience. Your boy seems to be so easy to manage. So do you wake up at night to BF or you feed those express milk? You seems to be doing well.. keep up the good work. hopefully when my time comes, i will be good and at ease with BF.Do you have a CL coz u seems to be handling and managing so well

sysac,
thanks for sharing!!
did you bring your own breast pump to hospital? i thought we must immediately let bb suckle? tht's what most books say..but i know the real thing may be different.

your milk supply seems good. did you get your glass bottles from NUH?

your gynae's stitching must be very good. so is it difficult to take care of the wound? how must we take care of the wound? sorry to ask so many questions.

for jaundice, i remember my mum told me my bro got it also. her doc told her to bring bb out to sun everyday for a short while. and will recover very fast. my bro din even stay in hospital for it.

do rest well.

SY - the stuff selling @ KKH branch is of lower price range pdt n paragon is of higher range.but still can find some common stuffs @ both branches like bedding set n mattress protector etc. everytime when im there for my appointment will always drop by to see see look look. think now they oso putting up some sales items.. =)

ths friday im schedule to do my 3rd growth scan. surprise @ first y still need growth scan, but anyway its been arrange so still will go for it b4 go see gynae. SY how many growth scan hv u done?? eacj growth scan is not cheap oso, $70plus per visit n the last time only took abt 5 min plus den finish liao... ex....

rachel,
i only did 1 growth scan. u referring to the detailed scan right? that one cost 70 plus. initially i thought i will need to do another one but so far gynae din mention. i usually see my gynae at TPS and i wnated to change my next appt to see him at Clinic B. so the nurse called me up and she told me if i go clinic B, there's no scan facilities like TPS so growth scans will be ordered by the doc if needed and that will be about 70+ each.

usually when i go TPS, they will do ultrasound each time. so the nurse say in this case, no need to do detailed scan again as gynae can see bb at each visit. i think the detailed scan is more detailed but apparantly the ultrasound is sufficient for the gyane.

SSF - hmm... maybe can learn fr u to get normal bra... anyway if we BF @ home den wear normal unwired ones shld be fine rit? unless talking abt outside will be easy to hv nursing bra...

sunny - wow! jus 5.6kg since you pregnant?? maybe you r those who can hide tummy ones bah..heehee me so far put on 12 kG! me 1.68m. but as long as your BB doing fine and healthy den nothing matters liao rit =)