(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

I din't need any float after delivery. Gynae gave painkillers and i took it for the first three days only. Didn';t feel any pain at all............

Yuki
Sayang, sayang...understand. Me feeling so mang zhang these days, u know, the cleaning lady comes to clean and the flat is so neat, but the mom my boi comes back, everything is messy again.. hiaz... Hb also trying his best to keep flat clean but his ability is ltd since he gotta work. And when he is back, he tries to spend time with boi...
My hb is also not able to take any leave cos he just started on a new job... hiaz...

Pray to God for peace, strength and stability of emotions... at times I also so easily irritated..

Me feeling so useless like that cos wanna clean the flat but have no energy....

clare
Receiving blanket can be used to swaddle bb when he sleeps.... hb used to wrap my boi like a dumpling (hehe) so that he could sleep properly.

Cotton balls - I hardly used them

Float - think my mil bought but in the end did not use cos my gynae did a good job and wound not painful at all.

yuki
I guess whether it's your 1st or 2nd pregnancy, you still get emotional & paranoid @ times....i too get emotional, can't explain why oso...just look things @ the brighter side, be optimistic, then u will feel happier and more relax, then BB will be happy too

My HB very good, he's been helping me with the cleaning of the house every weekend....although he's quite tired after working every saturday, he still do the cleaning.....i feel very apologetic sometimes becos i dun contribute enuff and can't help him much except for ironing of clothes and clearing stuff around the house....@ most i can do is fix a decent lunch/dinner for him....

About the Float, whoa, your gynae's painkiller so effective? i heard from someone that there's some sort of antiseptic spray which we can use on the "area" there
....u happen to know anything abt this spray thingy?

Saw the table that u too will be delivering @ NUH, u happen to know what does NUH give BB? like some hospital they give BB receiving blanket, etc...

Hi styloBB,

Me too. Easily mang zhang. Slightest thing only can get me flare up. I would insist my hubby to washl my gal's milk bottle immediately after her milk. Hubby likes to leave it there and washes only when he wants to go to the kitchen etc. I cannot stand dirty things lying around and would wash it up immediately. I would complain if i had to wash everytime but i would also complain if her says he will wash it but doesn;t do so immediately......

My hubby sledom play with my gal. He's basically a couch potato and like to watch his soccer. His idea of spending time is just physically be with her - he watching TV, gal playing besides him. I had many issues with that and thou i often close one eye but in my bad mood days, everything comes up.... First i don't like my gal to sit infront of TV everyday for many hours, no interaction between hubby and my gal so to me it's not time well spend etc. And i also notice how man cannot multi task....... They can never watch TV and eg. fold the clothes at the same time...... So and up the time spend infront of TV = times less to do housework etc......... IF i had to watch TV with my gal, i would make sure i sit with her to explain things, to sing along with her..... Even if my gal insist on watching BArney VCDs, hubby will play it for her and go on to read his newspaper............

However having said all these, i must say that my gal is still very close to her Daddy cos she knows that he dotes on her. He never fail to buy her presents if he happens to be at a shopping centre etc. And now that i am carrying a baby, hubby is the one who carry her etc whenever we are outside. Sometimes hubby does bring ehr out to play so that i can catch up with my rest at home. My only complain is that hubby don't do things like reading to her etc.........

Hi Yvonne,

Didn't know anything about antiseptic spray. BAsically i just wash with water everytime i visit the toilet.

You delivering in NUH too? NUH doesn;t give anything leh. I brough home the Pampers prenium diapers, that's all cos whatever you use, they charge to your account so might as well bring back the leftover diapers. No receiving blankets, no bath tub. Have to bring baby's clothes upon discharge. However i didn't need any pyjamas cos i was wearing theirs until discharge.

Yuki
Same! I also like the milk bottle washed immediately after each feed but hb will leave it there first, he says he will do it but my idea is wash it NOW!!! Imagine stimes my boi and I wake up from our nap and the milk bottle is still there... I almost erupt. I did warn hb of my raging hormones...

Thankfully hb/I dun watch much tv.. we make it a point to rather spend the time with our boi, be it hb chasing him around, bringing him downstairs, playing with his trains or reading.

Yvonne
I was given a spray to clean and my gf gave me this special basin to fill with lukewarm water that I cud sit on to clean the wound. I diligently cleaned the wound.

We stopped fussing about h/hold chores by getting a part-time cleaner altho my hb still takes care of the laundry..

Hi StyloBB,

That's right!!! I want it NOW means NOW!!!!! Can't stand it and if hubby delay for a few minites, i will flare up and wash it myself.

We gets my mum's maid to help to clean the house every fortnightly and pays her for it. But i realise that hubby is getting too reliant on maid and often waits for the maid to come to do the chores..........

yuki, whoa, didn't know that NUH so "ngeow" one....so, u getting one bedder or 6 bedder? my HB say to get the one bedder, so that he can accompany me & BB @ nite loh....

StyloBB, u still remember the brand of the spray? Was there a "special" basin to use for cleaning the wound? Din know that there's such thing in the mkt, quite "suah gu"!!

Household chores, now that i am heavily pregnant, routine vacuuming/mopping/cleaning of aircon are done by HB. I still do the laundry 3-4 times a week and the ironing on wkends.....actually, my HB is the control & cleanliness freak @ home
. He can't stand things lying around and the floor dusty....every nite he will use the magic mop to clean the floor b4 we go to bed....

Used to hv a part-x maid, but HB not satisfied with the way she cleans the house....might get anor part-x maid when BB arrives or see how we can manage with MIL help....

Yuki
Hahha...guess the men dun understand... me also, after the bottle is empty, I want it to be washed at once!!! Then hb will say what's the hurry, me pek chek....growl..... I can't understand why can't clean it immediately!!

Talking about chores, I also dun see my hb mopping the floor so often now, it's my mil who comes over who will use the magic cleaner mop to clean...
our laundry is really a lot and that keeps hb occupied!

Yvonne
Than beta prepare ur hb that once the bb comes, and then starts to walk and play, things can't be so neat anymore!!!! Hehehe..

Spray - o dear, I can't rembr who gave to me, hosp or gynae... think is the hosp.... yes, the basin is khaki in colour (my colleague passed to me), u add in lukewarm water and then sit on it, then u also use the spray to clean the wound, I cleaned my wound regularly. The spray was to be used for 30 days only.

Once u are heavily pregant, u beta not do so much h/work leh...

Hi Yvonne,

Most likely to opt for one bedded. Actually don't mind 2-bedded but NUH don;t have. My first delievry, i stayed in one bedded and hubby was with me thru out.

At times hubby will comment that the house is in a mess and starts cleaning up on his own but i wish it happens more often!

Hi styloBB,

Guess really sometimes man just don;t get it. I suppose if your hubby and mine get together, they will say "sometimes woman just don't get it."

stylobb
Thanks, i will go check with pharmacy if they sell such spray....usually on average, how long does the wound take to heal?

Yah, will tell HB that...but he said once BB is born, the house must be kept cleaner, coz BB still young & might be prone to infections or dust...so still insist on cleaning house by himself....my share of the housework still quite manageable lah....so still ok...

To side track abit, Yuki & StyloBB, how long was your labour when you deliver your 1st BB? am a 1st X mama, so abit worried coz heard alot of horrid stories about long labour hours, etc...Can't visualise how i will perform when am due...

Yuki, quite weird lor, i went for the maternity tour last tuesday, was expected to see the 2 bedder ward but they dun hv.....their 1 bedder oso not that fantastic....TMC's 2 bedder room is better than NUH 1 bedder and newer oso...

Hey, durian Lover,
Thanks for checking with your mIL.. couldn't get back to you sooner as Iwas admitted to hospital on Monday 7th nov.
My doc, found out that my cervix has open 2 cm and bb has engage himself to prepare for birth.
You know I was so worried as he is only 30 weeks.

Although I am out of hospital but doc has give me pills to stop the opening and now we are counting the days for bb's birth..

I really pray hard that my boy will come out at least 35 weeks..

Hi mummies...
Last nite I manage to boil the logang red date drink from my slow cooker and turn out to be pretty good !!!
Thanks for all your tips.

Oh last weekend went Marks & spencer and manage to get 1 of their nursing bra $30... I think it's a very veyr good buy cos original price at 69. but too bad they only have 1 pc my size... got to go centrepoint to check out if they have it there too.
The quality is really good!.

Oh Sat was at KKH and the Mothercare there is have lotsa sale too... their nursing bra is gng at $27/ pc and pack of 2 is $57, usual $88 i think. But felt the support is not as good as M&S so I never buy.
Then I went to Suntec and realise the mothercare nursing bra is not on sale there... so seems like different outlet has different sale.

As mothercare also carries AMEDA breast pump... I was hoping they have sale on that too... but too bad both suntec and KKH outlet seems like not carry AMEDA.

Hi mummies...
Last nite I manage to boil the logang red date drink from my slow cooker and turn out to be pretty good !!!
Thanks for all your tips.

Oh last weekend went Marks & spencer and manage to get 1 of their nursing bra $30... I think it's a very veyr good buy cos original price at 69. but too bad they only have 1 pc my size... got to go centrepoint to check out if they have it there too.
The quality is really good!.

Oh Sat was at KKH and the Mothercare there is have lotsa sale too... their nursing bra is gng at $27/ pc and pack of 2 is $57, usual $88 i think. But felt the support is not as good as M&S so I never buy.
Then I went to Suntec and realise the mothercare nursing bra is not on sale there... so seems like different outlet has different sale.

As mothercare also carries AMEDA breast pump... I was hoping they have sale on that too... but too bad both suntec and KKH outlet seems like not carry AMEDA.

Hi all mummies...
Last week I met up with my friends and 1 of them is Paediatrician and happen to mentioned his wife is handling 3 kids without any maid etc etc and he mentioned he told his wife their house do not need to be 100% dust free... it's ok to have dust and not that clean after all becos there are study proven that the cleaner the enviornment, the more prone children to contact allegy etc... hmm dunno due to some reaction in the kids body etc...
Of course he joke too that this is not a good reason for no mopping the floor for 1 mth...kekeke...
Anyway just to share this...

Rena
oh dear... so sorry to hear abt your news.
How did you know something was not rite then??
yes keep praying that your boy will come out only after 35 weeks...

Well actually on sat I felt some pain and tot that I may be in labour but after a while it just go away then on sunday I still felt some pain . so hubby suggested to see the doc one day before our appointment day..
Luckly we did early if not the cervix may be fully open by then.

Oh cookie ,
do you have the receipe for the longan water can email me at [email protected]

THnaks

Hi Yvonne,

Ya. Usually we'll think that the house need to be even cleaner when baby is born yet we will have less time to do it......

My labour was about 8 hours but i asked for epidural after two hours and was able to rest for the next 6 hours. As for the pushing part, i push for 5 minutes only. Three tries and baby came out already. I had friends who need to push for two hours. .... I must say mine was a blessed pregnancy, delivery and baby.
Praise God.

Yvonne
Mine was 14 hours ie from the time I went into labour to wait for dilation till delivery. I pushed 1 hr and 45 mins... sheesh... but no pain cos on epi... My boi came out rather big but glad gynae is experienced enuf to go ahead with natural.

rena
Glad u are fine.
Where did u feel the pain?

Rena

do take extra care... has your gynae given u MC to rest at home? better rest more in bed now...

cookie

can i have the recipe for the longan red dates too?? i also boiled a small dessert yest, ginko nuts wf beancurd skin... yummy... though it was rather tedious to crack the nut, take out the 'xin' and peel off the skin.. but quite worth it... stil got balanc ein the fridge. the medical hall person say good for preggies to eat once a week. but must cook til very well, if not will b toxic, so i boil for 2 hours and make sure its reali 'well done'!!

Hi SSF/SY/Mongs,
yep, really enjoyed my stay at Ritz, though I little paiseh when the staff ask us how many years wedding annivesary, and we replied 'first!' Hee hee, First already got big tummy...

Mashy,
sorry to hear about your heat rash... the weather these few days is super hot, really muggy! I have been having problem sleeping coz I dun like to sleep in aircon, and the heat is terrible! Take care!

Yuki,
*pat pat* understand how you feel... we are all more emotional now, and it's not our fault... sometimes, I get very easily fed up if things are not going my way too... stay cool, just a few months more!

Cookie,
yes, I read about keeping the house clean and children's allegies before... it's true, a little bit won't hurt bb, will boost their immune system in fact, as long as it's not TOO dirty

Rena,
oh dear, must have been scary, I hope everything is ok, and you are resting at home, think all of us mummies secretly have this worry, and all pray that bb is ok... take care, and rest... each day that bb stay inside is a blessing, do you know who much baby weighs now? I read that bb have excellent chance if they come out more than 1.5kg... dun worry too much ok?

Krissie,
how's your checkup with Dr. Ho today? What's the growth scan about?

Hey ladies,
a morbid thot just came into my mind, I saw some photos of birth in US, and all mummies were totally naked, even not wearing anything on top...

Will it be like that for us when the time comes, coz I think I will be VERY conscious of myself if I'm not wearing anything at all, and the rest of the people around is clothed!

Rena,
take care, try not to worry, stay postive. my gynae says that it's very impt to stay cheerful and positive, even in times of distress. he was staying that those mommies who are always beaming and happy usually have less prob. that is from his experience.

I was still quite active the past few days, busy cleaning up my house, clearing wardrobes and moving stuff. think better tone down a little. I was still climbing up and down the stairs for exercise at my workplace instead of using the lift. actually must take care now that we are more clumsy. just now I almost trip over a kerb. hee, I still think I am with my pre-pregnancy body but my body has since changed. sign!

sleepingdeer,
think we will be clothed on top. saw my friend's video of the delivery where her husband shoot from the side, she was wearing a hos robe but maybe she is not wearing a bra. she delivered at Raffles. do you want to breastfeed immediately after the delivery? if you want then maybe u have to consider that u should be dressed in more suitable.

sleeping deer
ya manz... as long as not TOO dirty

Rena
dun worry...my colleague's SIL give birth abt 2 mths early cos her water bag leak, her baby weigh 1.8KG and tho small very healthy.
Dun worry and keep praying!

God's child and Rena
I learn the recepi from Mummies here too...
Bascially just put Red Dates(without seed in centre cos heaty) and dried logang in a pot and bring to boil.
What I did yesterday was I put 50 each red dates and logang and 10 "tang Shen" into my slow cooker pot bring to boil then set to auto in my slower cooker and cook for 2hr+++.
Red dates must be without seed so less heaty, there are ready made red dates without seed so less trouble but medical hall pple say those already remosved seed one less fragrance but if put more will comes back to the same.
My colleagues and the medical hall pple say add "tang shen" together will "pu chi" cos now we always breathless "tang shen" will helps so I add lor.
For 50 red dates and 50 Logang and 10 tang Shen, I added 3 big bowl of water, u know those big bowl usually used for eating porridge when we go fodd court....turn out pretty ok.

Rena,
When you mentioned that you felt some pain, where is the pain? On the tummy or on your cervix? I hope you don't mind sharing cos just in case...you know? I think as long as we pass the 30 weeks, BB has excellent chance of surviving, maybe a bit weak only. Just take care and don't exert yourself too much. Are you on bed rest?

Yuki/styloBB,
Usually what delays the delivery? is it the dilation? Any thing we can do now to ensure that we dilate quickl and not have to go through hours of labour?

Re. Nursing Bra
Looking around for those also. Realised that most of them come unpadded with thin cups. Will our nipples still stick out if we use the diposable nursing pads? Cos I don't like nipples to show leh especially under stretchy tops. Saw some Amo ones at Spring Maternity, looks OK, except that the cups are lined and not smooth like T-shirt bras.

sleeping deer
ME TOO!!!... I will not be feeling easy if I'm naked and others clothe
dun think we will be naked during delivery rite...not very comfortable..
I saw those lady who has water birth will be naked.

btw spore do not have water birth yet hor?? never of in spore... but seems like water birth is very much easier to handle.

sleepingdeer,
i think by then, we will be in such excruciating pain that being naked will be sceondary in our minds! Singapore hospitals not so open lah, I'm sure they'll at least give us wear a dress robe to wear. You know those that is tied at the back. Anyway, hospital is a 'sterile' place, doubt any of the nurses or doctors will view of a pregnant lady in labour sexually even though she's naked!

queen
talking abt sticking out nipple... now that I wear wireless unpadded bra.. when wear my maternity stretch top also can see nipple *faint*.. this morning I got to change another top i wonder what i can do to hide those nipples...

yuki/Sytlobb
thanks for sharing....@ least i hv an idea how long i will be inside the delivery suite....

Nursing Bra,
I have not buy these bras yet.....is it too late to get it now? Speaking of which, can we not wear our bra when we are in the "delivery" state? think it will be more comfortable that way....

Yuki, does NUH provide hospital robes for us?

Rena, gosh, it must be quite an ordeal for yourself & HB, pls take care of yourself... dun stress too much, relax as much as possible...

Cookie, thanks for sharing your longan drink making.....is it really good? Does it also help to "bo xue" (tonic for blood circulation)? Coz heard from my granny that red dates has this function too.

cookie, agree that it's too obvious for us to wear stretchy tops and have the nipples seen....too "pai seh"......
nono.gif

Yvonne

In fact u should be in your last 2-3 weeks before your delivery. Reason being that your breast will continue to increase. So if u buy now, might get the wrong size.

hello gals

Finally can chat with u gals liao. Very busy today.

Yuki - hope u feeling ok liao. Can understand your feeling. me too sometimes extrememly emotional. when i crave for certain food n hubby bought me different one i oso almost cry out n i quarrel with him. Our hormone change liao.

mashy - your rashes ok liao mah? Try not to over scratch it.

rena - Rest well n positive thinking. Btw, did the gynae tell the cause of the pain? i really scare when i read your posting cos i oso have pain n thought that i going into labour liao on sat. (the pain will jus come n go abt 1min)

Thank you all,
Bascially the pain comes from both the tummy and the cervix. now with the control of the pills I am still feeling some pain sensation at the bottom.

I have check with my doc and he mention that my bb is on 1.2 to 1.3 kg.. so it is rather small.

now the doc has requested me to rest in bed more.. sitting is ok but not too long..

It is rather diffcult for me as sleeping makes my backache so much..

Oh I heard that water birth is not so painful but it is still not approve in singapore..

for mothers who has scv digital you can watch channel 70 they have the programme called the baby story .. it is very good.. it tells you about labor and birth..

yvonne
errr.. I also dunno much abt this red date logang drink... my 1st time drinking yesterday.
But the gals here do said it's pu xue...
Think should be ok ba... plus it was also said mummy drink this baby will have rosy cheek

Just to share...
Just now my colleague ask me when my EDD and mine happen to be CNY time.. then she bring up a good point ley...
Cos first few days of CNY, market will be close!!! so the food we have will not be fresh lor.. come to think of it, it's true.. cos think MIL will have to buy in advance. But I suppose should ok one lar hor..
Anyway by 3rd day supermarket will be open already...

hi confused,

The pain came from the opening of the cervix. if you felt pain or uncomfortable .. it will be safer to seek the doc's advise.. pain has to be taken seriously..

confused, sleepingdeer

no leh.
Still itching. Now applying calamine lotion to soothe the itch.

Rena
Wah, so scary. I was also so scared will get into premature labour. Luckily my check up on Sat showed otherwise. U take care, r u working now? Better stop and rest at home for now.

oh is it. thks wenyl..in that case...i might ask my sisters to buy for me as a gift

just went for my checkup this morning. baby now weighs 1.5kg at 31 weeks. gynae said weight is OK. told him abt baby less active for past 2 days and he ask me to monitor from 9a.m to 9p.m..must ensure baby kicks at least 10 times else must call him and let him know. at first he ask me to go to hospital to do further checkup for the heartbeat montioring..heard have to lie down for an hr with the belt and monitor for an hr. but i told him monitor further as he does kick ..just not so active. and frm morning till now..there is more than 10 kicks but not strong one. so tmr when i meet up with him will have more info after another scan.

btw, did anyone did the swab culture. basically he withdrew some liquid from my vagina and passing to lab for further test. he said to check on discharge to see if it is dangerous and it may affect baby when he is due. i believe there is some cases before so he is doing a test after 30 wks for all women. anyone did similiar kind of testing also??

HI SSF,

The test is a norm. My gynae did that too for my last pregnancy.

Hi Yvonne,

Ya can't remember if they provide hospital robe. Don't think so. Most mums there broght their own jacket and long pants. Don't need to wear bra and panties during the delivery state. I was wearing the top and sarong only.

SSF,
your baby is the same weight as mine at 31 weeks.
ya, I did the test.
it's for strep B bacteria. I had some greenish discharge. that's why my gynae took a swab. he was saying that some gynae will want to monitor the bacteria in the third trimester onwards and towards the end some will keep taking the swab but he thinks its not necessary. I read that this strep B bacteria can coz the baby to be infected and sick when the baby pass through our vagina so if the mother really has this bacteria, there is some medication that we need to take during labour to prevent the baby from being infected. my test was negative. there is no explanation why some mothers get it and some don't. even if one is tested negative at this week, doesn't mean next week, the mother won't get it so some gynae keep testing. expensive test. think cost me $77.

Thanks mashy brain,

I think I am the most unfortunate one, during my fourth month of pregancy, my company closes down.. Therefore I remain jobless till now..

you can try to put aloe vera gel .. it is quite good.. try to put it in the fridge for the cooling sensation.

hi rena,
hmmm did i check with my MIL on something for u? hee i can't remember!
oh no, yes i hope that baby won't come out too premature too. Very worrying right? i can understand. Even though i know baby has high chance of survival, but i still wldn't want my bb to come out early n hv to stay in hosp before i can bring her home! Not to mention, it's gonna be ex to hv bb stay in hosp too.

Just try to not move round too much n pray that baby won't come out too early! Now i'm also v concerned whenever i feel pain in tummy coz i can't really tell whether it's contractions or what. So anyway i've been diligently taking ventolin to relax the uterus n not moving round too much. You're on MC from now on already?

cookie,

actually heard from a friend that the longan drink can whiten the baby.. I dunno how true .. so I would like to try..seems like my friend did the experiment for her three kids.

durianlover,
My doc give me ventolin to take too but double the dosage.. he mention that it will not affect the bb. but I am worried.. however the pills do have some side effects on me. my heartbeat very fast and my hands shivers alot..

how about you?

Afternoon gals, lots of thread to go thru later...
me sat when for my check up it was 1.85kg approx. 31wk6d... i think normal size...

my very kiasu, thinking of packing my bag this weekend liao... so nervous...

BTW, where to get cheaper nursing bra as i think no need to get too x as will only be using for a few months.