(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF,
Yeah it says can sterilise up to 6 wide necks or 9 slim neck bottles... Go buy from JL. We went to Robinson they were selling at the UP $116 but we crossed over to JL they were selling at $87 so less $10 means only $77. = )

Durian Lover,
Hahaha you HB so funny... yah i better scare my HB hopefully can get him to start praying also... he very lazy always i pray n he'll just say Amen...

whew... so most mummies experience the tightness too.. thought baby got no space to move around inside... but must say its tila nice feeling..hee..

oh..so sleepy now aft not being able to sleep last night.. think im heading to the bathroom for a hort nap..ssshhhhhh
kao_kiss.gif

god's child,
haha u also hv the habit of sneaking to toilet for a nap? i used to do that too!! hehee.

clare,
yes my hubby will pray for a lot of things for our girl...from being strong n healthy, to having lots of hair, pretty, joyful, cheerful, filial, smart, etc etc. Hahaha very amusing to hear him pray thru a never-ending list of requests! But if the list of requests gets too long i won't say Amen to it coz i dun agree for my bb to be a super-human!

hey gals,
those of u who experience backache or want to prevent backache can try out this exercise (recommended by a fren who's mother of 2):

Lie flat on ur bed and relax - u'll notice that there shd be a gap between the back of ur waist n the bed. Try to push that part of ur back down such that it touches the bed. Apparently this will strengthen our back muscle n prevent backaches!

happy exercising

durain lover..

i never did tat until i was preggie... esp in first trimester.. wah, so super tired tat i gota sneak a nap in the ladies and ti relai was quality rest though...haha and thankfully the toilets here very clean...
and i think it will repeat again now... cos cant get good un-interrupted sleep nowadays...

hi Durian lover,

Your hubby very sweet. Pray for baby's husband already!
I'm sure with such a devoted father, your gal will sure marry a good man in the future!

Hi all Christian mummy,

I would like to recommend a book "The power of Praying Parents" by Stormie Omaritian. It covers all areas of our child's life - protection, safety, career, friends and relationship. We can use that as a guide to pray one topic everyday. This author has another series called "The power of a praying wife." and another book on "The power of Praying Husband". (One of the topic is to pray for wife's beauty) Ha Ha.

previously i also experience tightness at my tummy. felt that the tummy is bursting at anytime!!! then, i bot clarin oil (for stretch mark) to apply every morning.... from there onwards, the tightness seldom happen.

so sad... i find vericose vein at my calf... red and purplish... and it's protruding... sob sob, anyone can help?

sunny

i also got those reddish lines at my hips ( both sides ). and when i look at it closely, theres a silvery line in between... so sad..its STRETCHMARKS!!! wat i do is try to minimise them by applying heaps of moisturiser...

SY,
I still hope I can tahan w/out epi. My gynae is ok with or without. He say it all depends on the mummy's threshold level of pain endurance.

Anyone looking for diaper sling bag....there's a bulk sale going on. Price $39.80 (includes a matching fitted crib sheet, 1 milk bottle & I bottle warmer). Thot it is quite a good buy. I have placed my order cos the Allerhand bag is way too expensive.
Haizz.....Realised I have been spending too much liao ... babysafe mattress, playmat from Kr. Hubby not making noise cos I paying!

wenyl,
wat's a diaper sling bag? can it contain milk bottles n other stuff too? As in, does it hv a specific compartment for keeping milk bottles n hot water? Am looking for a bag to contain all the baby stuff n i agree that Allerhand bag is too ex, though it's really nice!

god's child & sunny,
my frenz who went to Clarins said they're good for CURING stretchmarks. Haha. So if prevention doesn't help, u may wanna consider a cure in future!

yuki,
my hb is kiasu lah...haha. i hv the book Power of Praying Wife n read it before! not bad! perhaps i'll try to get the book Power of Praying Parents!

I am enjoying all your postings! My next visit is on Tue. It's 3 weeks apart now. After Tue, it will be another 3 weeks. That's when I'll be 32 weeks and a detailed scan is scheduled.

I understand from my antenatal class that we will be seeing the gynae every week from 36 weeks onward.

I have a Christian name for my baby already but have yet to decide on Chinese name. Hopefully, will start checking out the book of Chinese names that I bought soon
So far too lazy to go thu it.

Cel cel and Krissie,
my colleague who diligently apply stretch creams and tried a lot of brands has concluded that u can't avoid it if it's suppose to come. that's what my gynae told me as well. he said that it will come if it's meant to come. however, we still have to continue to moisturize our tummy, thighs and even breasts.
some says that if your mother has it, most likely u will have as well. my sis has it so I believe most likely I will have it. but there are some who said that those who exercise regularly who have more supple skin are less likely to get it. I am hoping that the last point is true.

wenyl and durianlover,
I told my sis that I wanted to get the allerhand diaper bag but she said that some hos or maybe your company gives diaper bags as gifts. my sis got hers from NTUC income and mt A, of course not as stylish but it's free. some hos ones not nice, think TMC also gives but not very nice, a odd blue. if not so urgent, can wait till after delivery to get one that is really suitable.

Good Morning ALL!!! Finally its Thursday...!!

Tell u all something embarassing... yesterday i had a sudden big sneeze n felt my pee leaked alittle... i was told this would happen when we get bigger but that was the first time happening to me though no one knows but still pai seh leh

Talk about Stretchmark... i have been diligently applying Clarins oil on my tummy (and any balance left on my hand i'll wipe on my bum hee hee). This morning i just realised i have some veins-like lines above my tummy so weird.. are these SM too???

Hi Mongs,

Me already got SM on my thighs from when i was fatty last time so i dun really bother about them now.. only wipe watever balance i have on my hands after applying on my tummy to my bum & breast... if according to wat u say then i sure will have them loh... my mum has got lots on her tummy + I dun exercise much...

STILL... must not give up... think tonight I will double my dosage n applying on BELLY, THIGHS, BREASTS, ARMS...

Clare,
Ya, I do have that leaking sensation as well but it has not really leak. I read that it happens only in the third trimester and when the baby is quite big so I am quite worried. been diligently doing my pelvic floor exercise, squeezing my anus and vagina whenever I can remember to strengthen the muscles around that area. suppose to do 10 squeezes after every visit to the toilet. that's the guide given in my antenatal class. my gyane emphasized a lot about doing those exercises coz after our delivery, our muscles around that area are weaken and we may have incontinence problems in the future. he also see patients with these problems so he stressed on that. remember to do your exercise!

Clare
I think if the veins lines are greenish, they're really veins showing & not SM. But, the reddish, purplish ones are SM.

RE diaper bags
We can also use haversack hor? Anyone knows why it must be a rectangular diaper bag? I wonder if the Mt. A one is nice.

Mongs,
Oh No... Me have not started doin any exercise leh.. my antenatal class only starting in Nov... =( 10 squeeze after every visit... ok i try to remember... what's the pelvic floor exercise?

I diligently put on the moisturising cream every nite b4 I go to bed. If I skip a day or to, my skin tends to be itchy. Anyway, I heard stretch marks can't be avoided, it just minimising them with the cream. I check myself after bath every night. So far so good. The only line I have for now it the one from the belly button down. Well, that can't be avoided too :p

I bought this month's Young Parents mag and saw the Allerhand haversack. Tempting :p but expensive. My colleagues are asking me what I would like as a gift. However, it is very difficult to open my mouth to say I wld like to have this or that.

In fact, got most of my stuff for baby already. I told them "Gift vouchers from Mothercare" if I have not told them what they can get me by the time I give birth. Then cann shop for baby again

Hi Wenyl

Yah, saw that. But i've decided to buy the diaper accessories bag instead at only $19.90. Comes with changing pad, bottle bag, mess bag, toiletries bag. Basically everything except the bag itself. With this, can use in any bag i like. I prefer such versatility and it's also much cheaper. Now just waiting for Robinsons to have the 20% storewide sale so that i can get disct.

so many posts to catch up again!!

yuki, durianlover,
i read the book the power of a praying wife and i must say it's a good book. shall go and get the parenting one.

mongs,
u just reminded me to do my pelvic floor exercise....

wenyl,
i also like that one, i keep buying and buying things for bb and hb can't make noise cos i m paying! is the diaper bag useful? i guess it helped to org things a bit??

Hi Clare/mongs,
I've been leaking since week 18 liao... my gynae say must do 100 kegels everyday! So keep remembering to do..

funny thing is, i have no problem stopping urine when I pee halfway, but I read that citrus fruits and juices make it worse, as it irritates the bladder... so don't drink too much citrus stuff.

What are your plans for baby's 1st month celebrations? Our babies are born in Jan. It shd be CNY period when they are one-month old.

I am in a dilemma of how to celebrate? Any ideas.

Check this website out for the 1st month celebration gifts www.sweetsurprise.com.sg

Looks nice and different

hi sysa, frankly speaking i dun feel like celebrating 1 month. but i guess my in law may want to celebrate. anyway, my hubby side cousins all celebrate 1 mth. but i do think 1 yr old is more impt. 1 mth..i havent even look good yet. haha..so if they want to celebrate, i will of coz..but in terms of venue, don't know where to held. may need to find someone with condo and book the function room. but ideally, i will not want to celebrate. told my hubby liao. if they want, they pay lor. hehee..

Morning all..

pup_pup, u use the butter cream? but i find tat its abit too oily isnt it? oily = useful and can prevent Sm la, but then i din quite like the feeling of it staining my pyjamas leh... but must say its super smooth skin after using...

sysa, sometimes dun hav to be paisya bout telling them wat to buy for bb. cos if u dun tell, its even harder for them to judge wat we need.in fact i am already telling a few frens about wat i need, of cos i wont quote things tat are too exp la...
kao_embarrassed.gif

sysa,
i was just thinking abt 1st month celebrations a few days ago. dunno whether want to have a buffet style or just distribute cakes. went to the website that u posted. very nice packaging...

confused,
do you have other symptoms like bleeding etc?

for me, i normally have pain but it's due to my uterus pressing and expanding so my gynae told me to be prepared for more pain.

if really worried, let your gynae know where the pain is.

yeah, i find it oily and the smell is quite strong. thinking of changing. so, clarins came to mind. any other recommendations?

Hi Sysa,
The website looks interesting... My EDD is 1st Jan so I presumed BB most likely arriving in Dec n so first month would be just before CNY. I thot 1st month celebration is a must as its quite a impt tradition, anyway I'll definitely not hold it at my place coz cannot imagine the amount of mess to clear after people leave... so most likely cater Buffet at some CC/Club function room loh...

Pup_Pup,
Clarins normally retail at abt $79/btl, which can use quite long... My 1st btl (only half left) was passed down by a friend for me to try when i was 2mths+ n i've only just started on my 2nd bottle recently... if u have friends/relative who are SIA crew can buy it for about $54 only.

We've more or less decided to name my BB gal Ashley
... was deciding between Ariel & Ashley but think Ariel can be quite hard for her grannys to pronouce hee hee... I remember someone mentioned Ashley meant God's Peace... does anyone have any websites where i can find that meaning?? Most websites say its from Ash Tree.

Pup pup
Can get the Clarins oil from airport DFS at $56. But, u have to ask pple who are travelling to get it for you.

Confused
Is it a constant pain? Or sharp pain. Either one will have to call gynae.

Sysa
The items on the website are very nice. hmm.. but a bit out of our budget.

On 1st month celebrations. I'm also having a headache abt it. Wld like to have a party, like a gathering. But, have too many diff groups to invite, so cant squeeze into my house. Was thinking of either separating them or having it throughout the day, i.e. some come for lunch & some for dinner.

pup_pup
i saw some girls recommending Palmer... btw how much does palmer SM cream cost? I am currently using Mothercare massage cream for the tummy $12 cheap cheap... so far so good... but if when i start to have SM i will quickly go run buy Clarins haha cos many girls commented it is good... as for other parts of my body i am using The Natural Source Lychee Moisturizer... the smell is nice.

sysa
sweet suprise's packaging soooo pretty!! but my PIL and Parents prob dun like cos too modern. They most prob prefer the traditional cakes with eggs and ang ku kuehs.

SSF
the Lactacyd can be used on adults too? cos my hubby got sensitive skin... sometimes will have rashes, heard that ur hubby used before and is good so wonder should i change my bath gel to this brand.

SY - no leh. it juz happen yesterday (sudden feel the pain n now whenever i walk i feel the pain lor)
Dont know it is bcos of the past few weeks going shopping (walk too much. ya! if the pain still there for a week then i call gynae n ask liao.

u mean u'll feel the pain oso?

Mongs,
I din know TMC gives diaper bag. Maybe I will standby that one. Dun really like those from hos thou. But can use it for rough use like going swimming or picnic where it gets wet & dirty easily.

Mashy,
The one u mentioned...is it more like a diaper organiser to fit in any bags? Do they sell at Robinson? Did u receive the robinson $10 voucher? I rec'd mine recently. U can use that then dun have to wait till storewide sales. But voucher min purchase is $50 thou.

SY,
We sama sama....hubby not complaining for the 1st time for spending $$$ hor! Somemore, my hubby was talking to bb last nite...see mummy soooo wonderful...buy sooo many nice things for u. Sounds like encouraging me to buy more leh!

Tink a diaper bag should be useful if next time we bring bb out "gai gai" often.

Clare,
Ashley is a nice name for a gal. U can try babynames.com. We are thinkg of naming our boy Ethan. Hebrew meaning for strong, firm. I thot of a chinese name for him too (jun4 en1) but hubby still hoping to follow family tradition ...yu4 (jade) for middle name.

sleeping deer
phew.. heehee so I'm not alone about Dr Ho...although I dun find Dr Ho Fierce or stern it just that he will always explain to tell me... he is not like other gynae who does "commercialise" thing that satisfy patient's curosity. and probably "justify" himself why he si different from other :p
ANyway I meet some of other lady at his clinic... and there was once this lady just strike a conversation with me in the lift saying... Dr Ho is very good and experience and I do not have to worry at all becos I'm in good hand.

Hi SSF,

I am likely to be celebrating becos I am already receiving presents for my baby from some of my parents' Church friends and relatives. It's a way to show my appreciation for their presents. One is sewing me a quilt cover and diaper dispenser for the cot. One has also passed me the bottle steriliser and 6 bottles. Another has bought the baby rompers and another has started sewing pyjamas for my baby.

Hi God's-Child

It's not that I am pai-seh :p It's I dun know what else is left for them to buy. I rather they give me the vouchers and I go shopping for the stuff that I may need after baby is born

Hi Clare,

Yep, I know what you mean. I also do not intend to hold it at home. I want to book a place and get the caterer to set up there. Everybody eats and have a party and then all go home after that.

Hi Krissie & Zhimin,

Packaging is nice huh? Thot of ordering those for my office colleagues. That's the office traditional. We do not invite each other for the 1-mth celebrations. We just give each other the box of cakes etc. Thot Sweet Surprise package kind of look unique
The fruit tarts look supr delicious! Feel like ordering. Haha!

Hi Confused,

I do feel pain occasionally at my lower abdomen when I stand up suddenly. It's feels like a cramp but will go away when I start pacing up and down or when baby movements shifts upwards. Think it's due to our sudden movement. My gynae did mention it's the uterus expanding and pressing downwards. Need not worry too much.

Hi SY,

I was also thinking of a luncheon buffet or give cakes. Then the thot of distributing is also a headache. Sigh! Too many places to go! Haha. That's for knowing so many people!

sysa

is not bad idea to throw the full month party outside but then wont it be easier at home cos baby's stuff are all there and feeding n changing can be done in your own room... tats my idea la... for me, think will do buffet at home for relatives and close frens... as for colleagues, a, might order the sweet surprise thingie for them... unique indeed...

zhimin

our class is gona start tmr!!!

pup try Palmer brand..u can get from pharmacy..ard 23 bucks..not oily and very moisturising. highly recommended by my frds. i even bought the palmer nipple cream after my frd said its good.

zhimin, yes adults can use also. my hubby used to use that for his sensitive skin. and i read in the instructions, to clean infants, use half or one cap into water.

sysa, so nice of your church frds. in taht case, must throw a party and appreciate them. thsk for the sweet surprise links. quite nice. somethg different from the normal bengawan solo vouchers. hehee and within budget.

God's child,
At home definitely more convenient but the thot of cleaning up after everybody leave can faint oh!!! If hold it outside the most 3-4hrs not so bad lah just bring BB stroller for BB to sleep if sleepy + change of clothes... n assuming milk is from Mummy's breast directly dun even have to bring bottles hee hee...

yeah agree Clare..put it at hm still need to clean before and after the event. better to hold it somewhere else..easy easy. no need to worry abt space as well

Clare,
i think ashley is a very nice name!

confused,
i have sharp pain sometimes. once i was eating and it was so painful i couldn't move. but it went away after some time. felt like a muscle/ligament kind of pain. maybe cos i m not very sporty so even before preggie, i already have aches and pains.

if worried, give gynae a call and he will let you know whether u need to see him.

think most imptly is tat no other symptoms are present.

wenyl,
hee think shall force hubby to buy some things for bb. i always tell him bb dun like him much. :p
last night ask him to read to bb and he said he too tired and wan to sleep!

seems like quite a few mummies want to order from sweet surprise...wonder if we get bulk discount if we sign up together...

sysa,
your church friends are so sweet! ya, wd be nice to throw a party to show appreciation. i haven decide whether to throw party or not but the tot of cleaning up scares me!!

This is my first posting here. My baby's EDD is 21 Jan06.

Clare - interestingly I also decided to name my baby gal Ashley. I saw your post when u said u were deciding between Ariel and Ashley and Ariel happen to be my name =P

Unfortunately I think Ashley does mean coming from Ash Tree. Doesn't really have much meaning, altho I wld love the name I gave to my baby to have a better meaning. I am a christian too =) But I chose it because it sounds feminine and sweet. Heee