(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

queen: which hospital is that? I am quite surprised that the midwife asked u to supply ur own breatspump...Mt A provide the hospital-grade pump to my roommate when she has short nipples. Even NUH has breastpumps too.

oh really zhimin. thks! other than white, any other colour? i also dun like coz dirty :p

but 109.50 is reasonable. where is the branches?

ha...fri is always the time to discuss on sales.

SSF,
i agree with u. all these sales tempt me to buy more things for baby and i already told myself to stop buying...

dunno whether want to get drawers for bb's stuff cos i m giving him the wardrobe in the room.

zhimin,
think ikea stuff need to go check it out. i had a drawer last time and i think the stuff i put inside was too heavy and the boards collapsed...i put my old toys in it.

SY
ya oso heard before ikea's furniture quite fragile... so I most prob will get the white drawer chest from sea horse... not choice budget tight...

Do you ladies do a spreadsheet on all the costs incurred for this prenancy?

Btw my friend just emailed me... borders having promo on magazines... buy 3 magazines but pay for only 2 (the cheapest mag will be the free one). Can go buy those motherhood, young parents etc...

oh no i just bought young parents. i personally find the mag quite good. first time buyer!
but a bit ex. $6.50

zhimin,
ikea stuff depends on what u put inside and what u buy.

yah i also saw the group buy. is the play yard good? but our babies all so small so wonder whether shd get it so early.

SY
I not intend to buy the play yard so early... but now still considering buying the play mat?

You got the bumper mat last group buy?

zhimin,
i got the mat in the last groupbuy. think it's really nice. i haven't put it out yet but i did open up to touch the material. nice and soft.

they are organising a group buy for the little touch leap pad. anyone knows whether it's good? i saw it at motherswork and was quite impressed but dunno whether is it really that interesting for babies. interesting to me lah....

SY
Re binder
I dun know where sells the Osim binder leh.

I'm also thinking of getting a chest of drawers for bb's stuff.. so much things now. My spare room looks like a big storeroom.

Yippee.. it's Friday.

SY
My niece got one leap pad as gift last year... very interesting... but think kids lose their interest very fast also... haha

And I think it is more suitable for toddler.

Mommies enjoy a great weekend and shopping!!

SSF
have a great weekend too!!

krissie,
i go check out the binder and let u know.
then we can go back when got sale...

zhimin,
i think they got different ones for different age group.

Morning gals,
any unfortunate soul who is like me today, working? Sianzzz!

SY,
you lucky, the playmat looks really nice! Wanted to get it also, but the group buy closed already by the time I saw it.

I'm also interested in the exsaucer thingy and the leap pad, but probably after bb is born...

Ladies, have a dilemna, we bought a playpen/cot for my parent's house, since I'll be doing confinement back home, and was thinking bb can use it as cot in the first 3 months, before she starts learning to flip. So I was hoping to buy a good mattress to replace the 1 inch mattress which comes with the playpen/cot.

I emailed Babysafe about their 3 inch mattress, coz they customise playpen mattresses, and I dun want the normal 1 inch one which normally comes in playpen size. They replied that it will cost about $180! So now I am thinking whether to spend a little more and buy another wooden cot (which would come with mattress anyway)for my parents's house instead, what do you gals think? We already ordered a wooden cot which can convert to toddler bed for my own home for baby after the confinement when she comes home to stay...

Sleepingdeer
Since you'll be with bb during the 1st 3 mths (I assume at your own home), can just have the cot at home and leave the playpen at your parent's place. After the 2nd mth, then u decide if you wanna get another cot for your mum's place. So, 1 cot is enough for now, just put it at the place where you're doing confinement. No need to buy another cot so soon, coz some bb dun like to sleep in cot. But, my hb believes that it's training the bb lah. Then, once confirmed that a cot is indeed useful, then can consider getting another cot for bb at your's parent's place. The playpen can put in the hall where you mum can easily see bb in the day lah. Can get the Daniel cot for abt $200+, just request for the firm mattress, then, no need to spend $$ on the $180 mattress. What do you think?

Hi Krissie,
oops, think my message is little confusing, I'm doing confinement at my parents' home, aka my home... hee hee. Still think of my parents' home as my home, coz I'm still part owner, hee hee.

So, 1st month, bb and me will be at my parents' home, where the playpen/cot will be. The wooden cot was intended for my new home, unless we put the wooden cot at my parents' home first, then after one month, bring it back to my new home? But bb will still need a place to sleep when she is at my parents's home in the day after the confinement and 3 month ML, coz my parents will be taking care of her hoh?

My thinking is if I still need another cot later on, I might as well get another one now, rather than spend money on a good mattress for playpen/cot which after maybe 6 months cannot be used for sleeping liao? That's why dilemna, coz like what you say, if bb insist on not sleeping in cot, then also waste money...

I agree with your hb, also wanna train bb to sleep in cot, cos we don't want her to co-sleep with us.

Which cot have you decided in the end to get? Daniel Cot? We were also thinking either Daniel ot TOm Craft, but in the end, saw the Taurus cot at Baby Kingdom at $269, and looked pretty solid, so got that one instead. The side rails given for the toddler bed also look good, so we figured cheaper than the TOm Craft one which we were eyeing initially.

Sleeping deer
The Taurus cot looks like the Daniel cot but the side panels are split into 2 sections, right? So, when we convert to Toddler bed, can remove the top side panel, correct? The have white & Oak colour, hor? I saw it too at Baby Kingdom. Wanted to get that too, but wanted to ask Kids Paradise if they have it coz they sell it cheaper direct. Hee hee... I just called Bb kingdom this am to ask them for the model & the girl was so rude. Thanks for telling me that you saw it there. I think it sounds like Taurus.
Will call Kids Paradise to check..

Then, for your case, maybe can move your Taurus cot to your parents' place for 1st 3 mths, then, after that buy another cot or if it's inconvenient, then buy another cot to put at your parents' place. I think this was wld be more worth it then getting the mattress. Coz the Daniel cot from Kids Paradise is abt $215 & it incld the mattress, bedding set, etc. So, I find it's more worth it.

hi Krissie,
Is it really true that the Daniel cot is selling at $215 at Kids Paradise? I went to their website but din see the Daniel Cot model. Only got the Johnson cot. And at Robinson/JL, i think they are selling Daniel cot at 269 so i think 215 is really a good deal. May I know how u get that price and how do u contact Kids paradise?

actually i prefer a white cot but somehow white color is more expensive.. so i think i shall stick to a wood color..

<center><font size="+2">January 2006 Babies!!!</font></center>

<center><table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2"><center>S/N</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Name</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Age</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>EDD</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>BB Gender</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Weeks into</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Hospital</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Gynae</center></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>prettycloud</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>28.1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Jen </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Sysa</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>27.6</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>edd2jan</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>2-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>27.7</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Clare</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>3-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>29.0</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Bao Bao</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>5-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>27.1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrain B. Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>krissie</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>27.4</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>queen</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>26.7</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>taka</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>8-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>26.3</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr Kowa </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Pochacco</TD><TD><center>23</center></TD><TD>9-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>27.0</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>JaS</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>10-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>25.7</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrain </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>mongs</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>10-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>el2004</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>25.7</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>yuen yuen</TD><TD><center>34</center></TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>26.7</TD><TD>KKH / RH</TD><TD>Dr FM Lai </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>babylon</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>sleepingdeer</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>celine77</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>14-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>25.9</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>yuki</TD><TD><center>31</center></TD><TD>14-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Dr Mary Rauff </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Missy</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>15-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A / TMC</TD><TD>Dr Poon </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>oinkoink</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>16-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>25.7</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>confused</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr SC Chew </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>sunny</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>wenyl</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>25.7</TD><TD>Mt A / TMC</TD><TD>Dr CH Koh </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>celine (cel cel)</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>19-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrain </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>juliann</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>25.1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Kee </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>pup pup</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>25.1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>sunny</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Dr CW Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Y</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>25-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>Dr Esther Ng </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>durainlover</TD><TD><center>26</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Min Hui</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>23.7</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrain </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>sychua</TD><TD><center>26</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>24.6</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>cookie</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>29-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>24.1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Curly</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>29-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>24.0</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr SC Chew </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Celine (celwong)</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>30-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>23.6</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>tulips</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>30-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Zhimin</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>31-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>23.6</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yi </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Ivory</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>1-Feb-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>24.1</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr KW Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>mashy brainz</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>1-Feb-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>23.9</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>gingerale</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>2-Feb-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>23.3</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Cawaii</TD><TD><center>26</center></TD><TD>3-Feb-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>23.1</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>Jappooh</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>5-Feb-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>23.0</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr John Tee </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Etelle</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>11-Feb-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>23.4</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Muah</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

<font color="0000ff">boy = 22</font>
<font color="ff0000">girl = 15</font>

Hi Krissie,
yah. that should the one
Comes in white, oak, beige and natural. We chose Oak as most of our furniture is that colour. I like the fact that the head board and foot board can be lowered, so it looks exactly like a mini adult bed.

Daniel cot at Kids Paradise selling at $215? That's IS a good deal! I wouldn't getting it as a 2nd cot for my parents's place, rather than spend money on a mattress which may not be useful after 6 months hoh?

edd2jan,
yup, white cots are really so pretty, but more expensive, and they turn yellow and dirty much faster, so in the end I also chose brown over white.

Thanks for letting me fa xie here! I felt better after going shopping with my mum at centrepoint on Fri. hee hee! End up stuck in Mothercare. Bot a 8pc set of clothes for bb. After disc $51+. Their clothes are very cute &amp; wanted to buy few other tings. But too bad hubby not there to help me carry so decided to go back Mothercare another with hubby.

Saw Mothercare having discount for the Medela pumps. Those interested can check them out! I already bot a 2nd hand medela mini at $70 from a galfren who used it only 2-3 times. She prefers to bf directly so hardly use the pump. Takes a while to get used to the noise thou. So for me, a starter set to standby is gd enuf.

Sleepingdeer,
I just collected my Babysafe mattress. Ordered from the previous bulk purchase. Paid $105 (usu price at $149). Maybe u shld wait for the next bulk purchase or can try organise one urself. Savings of $44! Very worth it leh!

edd2jan
I just called Kids Paradise up and ask them. It's 20% off the retail price. My colleague just called, also same price, so shld be correct lah. Daniel cot is not on the website, but they're selling it.
Yah, white cots are more exp. Can consider the Taurus one at bb Kingdom, or if you really want white or the Cosco cot at Kids Mall (at $249, i think). But, the Cosco base is spring, so I dun find the support as good as the Daniel cot.
http://www.mykidsparadise.com/index.htm

Ivory
Thanks for the update.

Sleepingdeer
Thanks.. The Taurus cot is $269 hor? I ask hb which cot he prefers.
Will either get the Taurus or Daniel cot, but I think he prefers the cheapest one. Ya, get the Daniel cot is more worth it than the mattress. If you guys have a 2nd child, still have a spare cot, while no. 1 sleep in the junior bed.

Wanna update that the Takashimaya sale is very worth it for card members. I bought qt a lot of stuff just now. Coz there's 20% for most of the bb brands, like Pigeon, Avent, Gerber, etc. Medela is 15% off. Then those sale items, still have additional 10% for cardmembers (up to tomorrow only).

Everyone seems to be busy shopping nowadays.
Its great fun doing all those shopping but when you sit down to calculate its really scary how much we actually spent.

Well, just in case anyone uses Elancyl Stretch Mark cream, Guardian having a promo pack, the cream plus Relaxing cream-gel for Tired Legs at $46.35. I think the Stretch mark cream is already abt that price.

sleepingdeer,
yah think white one will be dirty faster, so most prob i will stick to wooden color as it also match my parque flooring.

Krissie,
if kidsparadise is really selling 20% off retail price, think i will also buy from them direct. wonder if there is such thing as warranty and do they include those free 9 pcs bedding set etc etc.. i shall call them to ask again to confirm. thanks so much for your info!

sleepingdeer,
yah think white one will be dirty faster, so most prob i will stick to wooden color as it also match my parque flooring.

Krissie,
if kidsparadise is really selling 20% off retail price, think i will also buy from them direct. wonder if there is such thing as warranty and do they include those free 9 pcs bedding set etc etc.. i shall call them to ask again to confirm. thanks so much for your info!

krissie,
for the binder, my fren bought it from KKH pharmacy. she say her gynae recommend one. i will get the brand for her and check it out. osim usually not cheap.

sleepingdeer,
the playmat is nice but quite ex lor. need to take a lot of time to convince hubby. in the end, i got my sis to give it to me as present for her nephew...

i think it is quite ex for u to get another cot. but must really see whehter your bb likes to sleep in cot. my fren's bb din want to sleep in cot and in the end think her cot was used very little. so she told me not to buy too ex.

went for my checkup yesterday and a bit sad cos my gynae say my baby is on the small side.I am at 24 weeks but baby is only 400+g. quite small right? so a bit worried. though he said it is still early, but can't help worrying cos it means baby grew so little over the pass few weeks.

just to share something for those who have citibank card. u know when u redeem your points? i realise that it is the most expensive to redeem robinsons vouchers amg all the shopping vouchers. was just poring over the catalogue and this is how it compares

Robinsons $20 - 760 points
Metro $20 - 640 points
Tangs/Seiyu $20 - 660 points

hee..just something that i noticed.

krissie &amp; SY,
my fren just bought the OSIM binder 2 days ago for $268 (i think, or something like that). It was on sale. So if u all thinking of buying can buy now. Thought it's a bit ex though! But she said she can lend it to me if i wanna use it after i give birth

SY,
dun be too sad abt bb's size. If gynae says it's no cause for concern, then dun need to worry. Baby will put on a lot of weight in the following few months to come! And anyway u're small-sized, so bb will probably follow ur size mah

My MIL keeps reminding me that from now on, must eat good food coz all the food goes to the bb as bb will put on the most weight in our final 3 months...well perhaps just take note n try to eat well lah!

SY
Thanks. I went to the Osim shop over the weekend and didnt see the binder. Try sleeping more on your left and drinking milk. I find that it helps.

Durianlover
I think the one your friend got is not the binder we're talking abt. Hers is the massage belt which can help to break up fats, which Fiona Xie is endorsing. Ours is something like corset type, to tighten and hold the stomach together after birth.

hi SY
don't worry. you still have time to eat more and let bb grows bigger.

how much is the binder that you r going to buy at KK? i intend to buy one, too.

anyone engaging massage lady for massaging after delivery?

Hi Sleeping dear,

I place my cot at my mum's place when i was doing confinement then. I only have a mattress for my baby back at my home. But she seldom get to use that when baby starts sleeping in the sarong from 3th month onwards..... Persoanlly i find baby cot' space quite confine. My sister has one but looking at the size, i don;t think my girl can fit in now........ So like what the rest say, maybe you can put on hold first before buying another one. As for teh mattress, Babysafe is the expensive and branded one. If you want the cheaper type, there are others. I custom made mine at about $65....

durianlover,krissie, sunny,
i went online to search for the binder. the one for normal delivery cost 88 and the one for c-section cost 78. do u think we can get discount if we do a group buy?

i will ask my fren abt the one at KKH pharmacy first. hopefully it's cheaper cos osim usually so ex!!

durianlover,
u also quite small size leh...i also dunno why my bb grow so slow. one of my fren's baby din grow so much towards the end so i hope mine is not like that. maybe cos sometimes i dun take my meals that regularly. think got to make more effot.

krissie,
i will try to drink more milk and sleep on my left. but i prefer sleeping on my right so always end up flipping htat side. how come sleeping on left helps?

sunny,
i intend to get massage lady. will get the contact from my fren and share here.
hopefully not too ex one...she started her massage one week after delivery.

Morning all... *yawns*

its the boring day of the week - MONDAY...
kao_dizzy.gif

SY - ya, like wat krissie says, can take milk n sleep on left side. they say when u sleep on left nutrients can get to baby n not b obstructed... wat i do is put cushion on my left &amp; right to prevent me from flipping over or even lying on my back..and it relieves backache cos theres no strain wf the cusion support all over me
kao_embarrassed.gif
do eat more, durians help too, bb can get bigger.. my SIL bb also din grow much twds the end and gynae asked her to take high calorie food (eg. ice cream,cakes,chocolates )to make bb grow bigger, if not a bit small for delivery...

Massage ladies - i also wana find one leh. but haven got about doing it. hw shld i start?

krissie,
oh that's so sad...so the OSIM one my fren got is not suitable for me to borrow after delivery then! But i think i'll be getting a malay massage lady instead of wearing a binder...

god's child,
for massage lady, i'm using my fren's recommendation coz she also stays near my place. Easier for the lady. Apparently this lady's quite good n brings her own mattress n other materials, so dun hv to provide her with anything. But dun need to book so early one...my fren actually called her only after she gave birth!

SY,
actually i hardly sleep on my left...usually on my right or on my back! But i suspect that drinking Anmum helps leh...coz i drink at least once or twice a day for everyday since i got preggie, so i think that must be the thing that helped bb grow big! Haha, but it's also speculation lah, i also dunno. Perhaps it helps that my hb is big-sized so perhaps bb takes after his size?
But one thing to do is to eat regularly - very impt! i try to 'force' myself to eat at regular intervals even when i'm not hungry. i try to eat like at every 3.5 hrs interval..even something light will do! So do try to eat regularly

hello gals

krissie - Ya! i find the taka sales worth buying. i forgotten they have sales. (heng ah! i went to orchard on sat if not i would have miss the sales liao)

SY - dont be sad n need not worry. Since gynae didnt comment anything bad abt bb, then that shouldnt be a problem. Ya! u try eating durian. (Maybe that's true cos during 1st n 2nd tri, i ate alot of duarian n my bb so big)

god's child,
i started putting cushion behind me also to prevent me from sleeping on my back. hee..but i always end up hugging all my cushions.

eat durians? scared heaty leh..i get ulcers quite easily so usually won't try to take too much heaty stuff. but maybe will try since so many pple recommend!!

durianlover,
my hb is quite tall but not the big sized kind. just hope bb dun take after my size cos he's a boy!! i drink Anmum on and off. but i get tummyaches quite easily nowadays after i eat. wonder whether that got anything to do with bb absorbing the nutrients. did ask gynae before but he said it's ok.

confused,
yah, gynae said will review again on bb's size when i reach abt 8 months. think he tried to be optimistic by saying at least it's easy delivery! actually a bit sad cos when my fren had the problem of bb being too small, i tried hard to avoid it by making sure i eat more and still like that....

the weird thing is i gain quite a bit of weight but bb gain so little! so far i put on a bout 7kg already...

thanks for sharing on the Kaneson breast pump..never heard of it before though. Not sure if i wld wanna try it out coz haven't came across enuff reviews on it, though i must say it's really affordable! May be good to get it for a start! Do u know where we can purchase the Kaneson breast pump?

SY,
i'm have just the opposite hope from yours - hope that my bb girl doesn't take after my hb's size if not she'll end up big-sized!! haha.
Putting on 7kg is "quite a bit of weight"?? Hmm doesn't sound like a lot...sounds normal lah

SY: can understand how u feel cos my previous gynae almost comments that my firstborn is smallish baby...turns out that she is 2.78kg (fair weight lar considering I am just 1.58m and small built). Her height is in the 50th percentile. Baby's size should follow's mummy's size initially. Easier to birth mah. It's part of nature too. Once the baby is born, the father's side genes may then kick in.

Durianlover,
the kaneson pump can be purchased at the link i pasted above. i think some pple purchase at TMC but think more convenient to go to the website. so far the reviews i saw seems to be good. ha..if i had known abt it earlier, i may get that instead of the avent one.

ha..i think 7kg is a lot cos my usual weight gain is very slow one...hee hee..how about you?

MH,
i even smaller size than u. only abt 1.54m tall. my gynae said my baby is like my size. small small one. like wat u say, easier to birth. i just hope small size doesn't mean more problems for bb next time....like less developed organs etc. maybe i m thinking too much.

hopefully he follows my hb's height. cannot be like my height!!

SY - u can eat durain but in moderation lor then u wont get heaty liao. If not u can eat some bu. Aiyo! u only putting 7kg, i already put on abt 9-10kg liao. (maybe u try talking to bb n ask him to eat more) i always tell my bb gal wat she wants to eat, give me a craving then i eat on behalf of her lor

Talk to your bb more often

Hello SY,
hmm dun think too much abt ur bb weight.. anyway that is only an estmation based on their measurement.. so may not be v zhun also.. my last weight increase based on last visit to gyane (25 weeks on 19 Sep) was abt 5 kg.. and bb then was 715g.. nxt week going for the nxt appt and i shall see how much i put on then.. frankly my tummy still look pretty small.. and whenever i tell pple i m almost 7 mths, they really cant believe it.. last measured was abt 33.2inc.. consider big or small??

yeah guess my height ard urs also.. abt 1.54/1.55.. and hopefully our boy dun follow us.. but frankly my HB also not that tall too.. so guess my bb will be average height ba..

think most impt of all is all our bb are healthly..be it small, avg or big!

confused,
i also doing that now. i just keep telling baby to eat. he very funny one. he always make me hungry and then he doesn't take the food from me..dunno what he's doing. my hubby also thinks he's quite naughty. i get hungry so easily but the food doesn't go to him!! all coming to me..

Hi SY,

Our weight gain doesn't necessary match our baby's weight. My friend put on a total of 10kg thru out her pregnancy and her baby weights 3.8 kg. She's about 1.6m tall. Both she and her husband not very big size.

My hubby is tall and big size. I was initially worried that if baby take after his genes, i will have a hard time delivering. But turn out my girl is about 3kg when birth. Just nice. But now at the age of two, she has to wear 3 or 4 year old clothings. People always mistaken her as three years old. Her percentile for both weight and height is 97!

Hi SY/ Durianlover,

I can;t remember which of you has about the same weight gain as me at the 20th week stage. But during my last checkup at 26th week, my weight gain is only 4.3kg. I am also wondering if it is enough.......... Now trying to munch on chocolate etc to see if i can put on more weight.........

ok thanks! will check out the kaneson pump then!

My weight gain has been quite slow...put on only less than 4kg so far. That's why i'm surprised when gynae said my bb slightly bigger than average! Tell you, when gynae said my bb slightly big, i was also worried that bb will be too big for her to come out by normal delivery! So actually, whether bb big or small we will still worry! In fact, now i keep talking to bb n praying that she won't grow too big if not can't go for normal delivery! Kinda concerned about this coz am so small-sized...bb cannot be too big!

dun think bb's weight has got anything to do with whether his organs are well-developed or not, so dun worry too much yah!

hi all, back from my malacca trip. gee bought lots of stuffs for baby. mainly is baby shopping. hehee...

3 NUKS bottles for NB (2 big and 1 small) - 15 SIN dollars (promo package in Guardian Pharmacy)

2 nighties (pants and top - button down) - 3.60 SIN dollars each

2 set of pigeons top and bottoms - 5.70 SIN each

3 pcs Pigeon towels (hand towel size) - Gee! cannot remember the price suddenly

1 Palmers nipple cream - 10 SIN dollars ..is this cheap?? i saw my palmers anti strech mark cream at RM32 which is the same price as SIN dollars. so i just bot the nipple cream.

1 Pigeon changing mat at 4.90 SIN dolalrs. is this cheap? no cartoons..just pink and blue at both sides.

too bad couldn't find any kodomo detergent ..they don;t seem to sell it there.

yuki,
yah i used to be quite concerned abt low weight gain, but gynae says it's ok as long as bb is growing normally. So i stopped worrying abt that! Furthermore, i hv another fren who's like 8 months pregnant n put on only 5kg in all! Think this kind of thing is very dependent on individual...and i hv another fren who put on 18kg but bb came out only 3kg. She was kinda disappointed coz she thought bb wld be bigger!