(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hey guys..need to wear stretchable pants not jeans during the first 3 classes. including hubby as he will also be doing those exercises. best is track pants.

everyone talking abt antenatal class making me excited. a bit regret i din sign up. but think it's quite late to start already....

cookie,
is your hb only son? mine is so maybe they will find it hard to let go. if they are traditional enough to think that we must get boy first time round, then they wd probably be traditional enough to want to depend on the son.

but your IL can be nice sometimes lah. still come and do the house thing for u...

confused,
dun think too much. we must all remind each other to focus on bb

god's child,
thanks for the link. will go check it out!!

SY,
There was once when my MIL hadn't the time to cook on saturday evening, gave us some chicken and vege and ask us to cook ourselves at home. Then she made a comment that she would have given us fish but we dunno how to cook fish. I'm thinking to myself "meaning you think I dunno how to cook anything except chicken (cos my HB definitely dunno how to cook)?" She never even ask me whether I know how to cook fish or not. She thinks I can only cook a very limited kind of dishes. Aiyo. There was also another time when my HB and I are still dating and she's not at home, so I cook a few simple dishes for ourselves. When she came home, my HB describe the way I cook the beancurd (nice dish learnt from my mom) and she said "like that nice meh?" Wah! I mean she's a good cook and all, but doesn't mean I'm incompetent right? Sigh... but I always tell myself that I'm being too sensitive. Other than these little things like that, my MIL is generally quite OK. Sometimes, she'll buy extra things for me if she knows I like to eat like peanut butter and biscuits and fruits which my HB doesn't like.

Heehee, we have a lot to say about our MILs and HBs.

BTW, I had just completed the antenatal classes at TMC. The instructor is midwife Ling. She's not bad but I heard a lot of good comments about Mrs Wong.

queen,
i guess this is like our outlet cos we can't really tell our HB a lot of things esp when it comes to PIL!

hee, sometimes i think my MIL also question my capabilities to cook. think they will always think that they have more years of experience than us so will definitely be better! when i first moved in, i cooked quite often for my husband, even on weekdays after work. my HB commented that he never ate so many homecooked meals in a month! so i was quite happy abt that.

God's child,
I got the shorts from Cerisi at Jurong Point, they were having a rack outside the shop, $1 for 1 if you buy 5.

Zhimin,
keep cool, dun let these people get you down... maybe she having PMS....

Pochacco/pup_pup,
so envy you going for class today, heard itis very useful. I still have to wait till next month...

Pochacco,
actually, I still feel need to buy a few more tops, coz if bb spit milk, then have to change maybe 3 to 4 times a day, then all the tops I bought in various sizes, so probably at each stage of her growth, I will only have 6 tops, definitely not enuff. BUt I will stop at shorts liao, too many.. hee hee

Cookie,
my mum and hubby also dun like the steriliser using microwave, coz they read about harmful rays entering plastic containers when you zap things in the microwave, so microwave is a no-no when it comes to bb stuff. I personally find it's ok

SY,
maybe still have time to register for Nov class if you want to go for antenatal class, think may have some vacancy available for weekdays.

sleepingdeer,
if i go on weekdays, think it will be hard for HB to join me and i dun want to stress him with all the rushing. so unless i go on my own....

must buy more tops. cos they really change a lot. in the day they wear diapers so no need the bottoms

kriss
I also cannot remember ley but it was said 4-6 will be conduct in seminar room so dunno got practical or not.1 of the item is Hospital Tour... but this one think we can do at our own timing. Any idea does the pre-natal class teaches breast feeding.
Personally i think the 1st session pretty boring ley, maybe most of the things is like already know.

Confused
hmm... just stay positive ... maybe the arrival of the bb will bring back good memories of your HB being baby and your PIL will improve their attitude. Well... just hoping for the best becos they are Parents to your HB no matter what.
Hope situation will be better for you...

SY
my HB is also only son but not only child. He has a sister same age as me. I think that's why, my PIL always let him be...always do things for him etc etc...always side with him...

Queen
Aiyo... our MIL can be good friends ley... she also think I cannot cook well ( tho I really dun cook as good as her) so when she cooks I stay away!!
Really the ultimate point is my MIL also think she cook the best, there was once we cook spag at home... she will came back and stir our pot a while (as tho finding something), then ask, like that nice meh and then give a sacastic chunk...wow buay tahan...
When she taste other pple cooking, she always comment I cook better than this...so I drag dining out with her...very paisey when she comment this in front of the restuarant etc.
She is nice too... she buy durian for me to eat :p which my HB dun eat one lor...
they are really alike...maybe they are sisters...hahahaha

Queen,
understand how you feel about PILs, whenever they say something, we will wonder whether got hidden meaning or not, coz our growing up culture is different no matter what. I always think carefully b4 I speak to my MIL, coz always worried whether she will get the wrong idea.

For me, I never cook when she is around, coz my MIL very health conscious, and never frys any food at all, whileas I come from a typical Cantonese family where my mum puts lots of indegrients and cooks sinful food like Sweet sour pork where the pork has abit of fat for crunch, and deep fried... yum yum! Think she will faint if she see the way I cook, hee hee!

sleeping deer
my HB think it's ok when comes to micro wave... for me.. I have no idea and will leave it to him to decide. ANyway finally decision will be my MIL cos she will be helping us with the baby mah...

So xian... every thing I buy also must consider MIL like or not, even stroller and stuff... so sian...

cookie,
my HB also has a sis older than me. PIL dun trust his sis to do things so they will always rely on him.

seems like your MIL has nice times too!

Wonder why TMC getting more negative feedbacks on their svc nowadays. Was mentioned in the other threads too. *Sigh! I still wish to deliver there.

My antenatal class will be ending soon. This Sun last lesson. Mrs Wong is good. Enjoyed her lessons. But i dunno if can still remember everything she taught by the time bb arrives, esp on massage & bathing baby.

SY/cookie,
cookie, my MIL also like yours! When we eat out, she'll sometimes comment that this certain dish she can cook better and cheaper somemore, if eat at home. And sometimes she'll tell the waiter/waitress that this dish is too saltish etc. I guess it's just feedback lah. But think our generation seldom do that openly? heehee... we complain this complain that, wonder whether we'll be like our MILs when we become one later.

Personally, I haven't had any bad experience at TMC and Parentcraft. When I went down to pay for the classes, the Parentcraft girl was very friendly and courteous. Besides the class schedule, she gave us things like Motherhood magazines and poweder milk samples. I had a friedn who just delivered at TMC. Seems that she is quite satisfied with the care given, says they are pro breast feeding.

Queen
It depends on how long u wanna bf. My colleague who has been EBM for 1year uses PIS. She said that her lactation consultant said that the Mini Electric is not lasting, not more than 6mths. Also, it's better to get a dual pump if you're bf for long. Faster than the single one, u'll be doing it everyday at work leh.

cookie
Accrd to my colleague who took her lesson at KKH, 1st lesson is like that one, mostly stuff we know. I think shld have 1 on bf, 1 on taking care of bb, like bathing, etc. then, breathing exercises which might be in the exercise class.

Wanna check with u, how many times do we need to wash the new bb clothes b4 we let them wear? With normal detergent or bb laundry detergent?

i wasn't in office for later part of yesterday n so much to catch up on!!
i guess our MILs are all much more experienced in cooking than we are...so it's natural for them to not think highly of our cooking! everytime when i come across such things, i just remind myself that next time when i become a MIL, i must not be like that!

wenyl,
i now know what's dongtongcao! actually i realised my MIL has been brewing it in soup for me all this while...is it ex?? din noe that! Din noe too that it's to make bb's grow big...no wonder my MIL was so happy n proud of herself when i told her my bb slightly bigger than average! And no wonder ever since then she has not yet cooked that soup for me again...mabbe she scared my bb too big difficult to come out!?

wenyl & SY,
my hb is just the opposite! Ask him to make anmum for me n he put in so much milk powder that it turned out too thick n sweet!! had to dilute it with water again...haha...men are so funny....

Y,
read somewhere that numbness is quite normal due to water retention affecting our nerves...something like that. Just make sure u move ard more to prevent it!

queen,
we are quite lucky we have each other to complain too!
think most of the time if HBs not happy abt us our their MIL, they won't tell anyone also.

krissie,
did they say whether electric pumps or manual pumps are more lasting? i only got a manual pump so far cos dunno whether i will be BF for long.

anyone seen the new Avent Isis Duo? heard it's quite ex is it?

mashy,
think wash once with bb laundry detergent shd be enough right?

will any of you be getting the binder? my fren just told me the one from osim is very good. she said if u are going for natural, can wear very soon after delivery and it really helps her to slim down fast. fyi, she's really really slim. and she will recommend her jamu lady to me. she told me to do the massage one week after birth.

durianlover,
so drinking cordyceps will make baby bigger? after my checkup tmr if i find bb smaller than average, will start asking my mum to make. she did make but wasn't sure whether i can take it. so she ask me to check with gynae first. it is really quite ex. a little bit can easily cost 100-200 and can only eat like 3-4 times i think.

Morning ladies
I am thinking to remove all the tags on bb clothes cos think bb skin very delicate. But so much work to remove... somemore dunno my MIL allow me to use sharp pointed things to remove the tag anot.

My sis is using Medela PIS but it is so expensive!
kao_scared.gif
I only consider the mini electric... but the mini electric only can last 6 months?

Think I will also wash once with bb detergent.

zhimin

wah... u reali think very detailed-ly..haha... ya, i think shld remove the labels to prevent itch n irritation.canot use sharp objects? not sure bout tat, all i know is MIL say canot do anythin or use needle on my bed... so i always do it at the sofa...

god's child & zhimin

both of u are superstitious? If not, then just do without her knowledge lor. I already cut, sewed on my bed, helped my hb set up the cot in my room etc lor.

If my MIL dare say a word, I'll tell her off lor. Christian still so superstitious. :p If my father says so still ok since he's not Christian, but not her lor.

kriss
glad to hear that only 1st lesson is boring. My colleague also did her prenatal class at mt A, and this morng she told me the rest of the lessons is interesting...

Medela breast pump
My colleague comment if getting better to get at least the dual pump one cos the single pump motor very small and very soon will spoil.
But even dual pump also have certain life span e.g. after how many pump will slowly die off.

Oh gals... 1 more thing to note... my Friend who is mother of 3 and BF all her kids highlight that dependant on Breast pump will reduce our milk production as compared to direct latch on by baby.
Of course the direct method is alot of hard work but in order for the milk to flow in good volume, must try direct instead of express out by pump becos pump may not mimic exactly like the baby suckle.

krissie/SY,
Should we be getting a manual pump or mini single electric first just in case we don't breastfeed successfully? The PIS is so expensive! The midwife conducting my antenatal class say we should bring our breastpumps when we check into the hospital cos should the BB not being able to breastfeed direct, at least we can try EBM first to get our breast to produce milk.

cel_cel
ya wat I mean is label not tag haha... not I very detailed la... my sis pass me my nephews' clothes and I wanna check wat is the sizes then I realised all the labels are removed.

mashy
have to listen to wat my MIL said... cos I dun wan next time they blame me if anything happen, but think I will remove the labels on sofa too haha... cos my mum also only told me not to use needle on bed.

My MIL and mum same same one... hear say a lot of things... if I can follow I will lo.

cookie/ krissie
cham liao la... I actually quite confirm want to get medela mini electric le... now dunno wat breast pump to buy.
kao_dizzy.gif

a few of my friends who just gave birth all give up breast feeding on first month cos they said not much supply. If buy better pump if no supply then waste of $$...

Just to share with u....yesterday I was so stressed up at work. Called hubby when I was leaving ofc & while talking to him abt my frustrations, I started crying & tearing. Pple were staring at me.. so paiseh ...but I cldnt stop. Even my left contact lens dropped out. So hubby suggested I take a cab home instead. The taxi driver also noticed I was still crying. Really very paiseh. The last time I cried so hard was when my old dog passed away.
My hubby rushed home to see me before rushing off for his nite lecture. I felt bad. Today I woke up with a slight flu & headache. *Sigh! I suddenly realised during pregnancy really can make me cry so hard & get upset over such stress which I usually can handle. *Sob Sob!

Mashy

i also christian... im not superstitious la, but then just to appease in-laws and not let them say anything, i juz do it on the sofa. anyway, mine is platform bed, so not convenient to do it on bed also. i always sit at the sofa to do all these sewing staff...

Yipee!!! today is Fly-day!!!

Wenyl
do take care of yourself and dun over stress... now at work I also try not to stress myself... always go back on dock now... hehe

all mommies who intend to do up the nursery room
want to get some ideas if I wan to do up... how you all decorate the room? What furniture will you put inside? What things should I take note?

initially intend just to put bb cot and drawer chest in my master room but I think really got difficulty in squeezing in... my room is way toooo small.

Cookie,
how about buying stuff first, then telling them? My hubby and I practise that, haa haa.

Hi Zhimin,
yep, I heard comments about the Medela Mini electric, it's not built to last, and motor is noisy.

I'm still deciding between Medela PIS and Ameda Lacteline, both dual electric, but I agree, the PIS is so expensive!

Comments on Ameda is that it works similar to PIS, but at half the price, thats the good thing. Bad comments is that seems like more parts assemble, and replacements are more ex as well, so still not decided....

Will be really good if we can master handexpressing, some mummies in US do that, and they can express same amount of milk as using machine!

Wenyl,
take care, sometimes, when we get emotional, can cry buckets... I also still cry over my old cat who passed away 2 months ago... sometimes, everything just comes in one go, and you really cannot tahan, but as long as you feel much better after a good cry, then it's ok

zhimin,
ha..abt the superstitions, very funny. got one time i was cutting all the tags off and my HB saw it and say he will do cos i cannot use sharp objects. so i asked him, then who cook for u? no need to cut things when i cook is it? then he laughed and say never mind. so we dun really follow any of the superstitions.

queen, zhimin,
i din want to get too ex cos i scared no milk supply and what if i dun end up Bf too long. but i also think it wd be good to get dual if u intend to bf for long cos it's so much more convenient!!

wenyl,
do take care! sometimes when i cry too much, i will wake up with flu and headache too. so my hb always dislikes it when i cry too much cos he know i will fall sick. so must really take care. just come in and share your frustrations with us

zhimin,
i dun think i will be doing up the room. just intend to put the cot and mattress for maid and maybe put some pics on the wall so that it looks more pleasant. ha..the room too full of my things so doesn't look like a nursery!

Wenyl

dun stress so much... bb can feel ur emotions... watever hiccups at work, tell urself another 3mths to go and u r released (temporarily)fr there...i juz tell myself its only WORK, so dun get so upset..

Zhimin

my nursery room was emptied out fromthe study room. now my HB's fish rm is combined wf a mini study area..haha told him i want Celeste to have a nusery room wf no book shelves n dust all over... wat will b in there is a 4door wardrobe ( need to put baby stuff, bedsheet set cum my bedsheet/curtains la..
), the baby cot, changing table, and a playard wf bumper mat. i will get those sponge alphabets to paste bb's name on the wall and also those wall paper strips...hopefully it turns out nice

hi cookie,

your friend is right. that's why it is highly recommended to let baby latch on direct for the first 6 weeks to establish milk supply. If you are very diligent, you can try to pump in between feeds.

Hi sleeping dear,

My ex colleague is a Malay. She BF all her 3 children till one year plus and she use hand - no pump. Amazing right? i still can't believe how she can do it.

Hi Yuki,
wow, 3 kids, and no pump, so convenient... I did read a article on hand expressing in the MIM, or breastfeeding org. website, can't remember, and it's supposedly easy if you get the technique right, but if our milk supply is pathetic to begin with, dunno how... hee hee...

Hi Cookie,
I am determined to try BF, so will direct latch one at least 2 month, and try to pump at same time. AFter that, have to introduce the bottle to bb so that she can get used to it b4 I go back to work.

SY,
think all mummies will have milk supply, unless of some rare medical reasons, just a matter of how much... think the more determined we are and the more we latch bbs, the more the milk suppy will be...

SY
No idea leh.. My colleague only mentioned Medela PIS and the mini electric. I think shld be ok that you start off with the manual one. If there's steady MS and wanna bf long, then buy electric pump loh.

Re Binder
Must it be Osim binder? Or any other brand also can? Where can I get it from? I plan to get it too, coz my colleague says that it's qt useful.

Cookie
Yeh.. hope that our future lessons will be fruitful. I was thinking of taking 2 of the TMC class for bf with Mrs Wong, but it's so exp, at $168. More exp than our 6 lessons, so I'm dropping the idea.

Re direct latch on
My colleague also said the same thing, she said 1st 2 mths is very impt to establish the milk supply. After that, it's much more flexible.

Queen
It's really up to you & your budget. I'll be using my gf's Mini Electric (single) first. Once supply is established, wld consider getting Ameda dual pump. But, my gf says that the Advent manual pump is qt good, in terms of mimicking the suckling, but, tiring loh..

Zhimin
Can still buy the Mini Electric lah.. how long u wanna bf? more than 6mths? if not, shld be able to last.

Wendyl
Dun feel bad.. I find we're more emotional. There was once when I was just preggie, I was quite stressed parking at church and my hb didn't accompany me that day. After parking, I was so upset with the carpark warden and other male drivers that I also cried. Usually, I wld nvr cry over such stuff.

wenyl,
it's ok...we're more emotional creatures now, so it's normal to cry. Hope u dun get too stressed up with work! Esp now we're all entering into our 3rd trimester, must really take care of yourself
yah and like what SY says, come here n vent ur frustrations with us - u'll feel better after that!

zhimin,
i also didn't really do up the nursery room. Coz i figured when bb is born, naturally we'll accumulate more n more things along the way, so no need to fully decorate it now! In fact, my bb room is also a study room. In that same room we have 2 bookshelves, 1 computer table, 1 bb cot & bb's 'wardrobe'!

SY,
i'm not sure if dongtongcao makes bb grow big...but i remember someone else here mentioning that it does!

My feet are swollen!! dunno is it due to water retention. and tot it will most probably appear in third trimester...

I already bought shoes one size bigger when just pregnant... now seems that size 7 also can't fit liao... have to go to size 8!! am I normal?

Is it necessary to buy a bouncer? or those boucinette with pink or blue net good enough?

krissie,
my gf also gave good feedback on avent manual pump that's why i got it. though tiring, she say will get used to it. one thing good abt manual pump is u dun need to go and find a socket to use it. in the end she got 2 manual pumps so that it's faster..ha..train the muscles

i m not sure abt other brands but she said osim binder is good. is it very ex? think shall go check it out.

zhimin,
i haven't got bigger shoes yet cos so far did not really get swollen feet. if u go to the dec thread, think they were discussin on water rentention a few days back and someone posted this long article with some tips on relieving it.

my fren just sent me an email. BayB supplies have annual sale.

Duration: 9th Oct to 23rd Oct

Time: 1pm to 5pm closed on every Tues and Weds

Please call 67475632 before you dropby.

Almost everything is going at 20% discount.

seems that everywhere is having sales..Seiyu, Taka today till sun, metro, robinson as well. gee..lotsa of money to spend. now i have so many things for baby that i am seriously considering buying chest drawers. those toyoga plastic containers is not enough.

i went ikea and tehre is 6 rows of chest drawers selling at 269 bucks. usual price is 299 bucks. seriously considering buying so that can put all babies clothes, necessities and books, toys in it. neater and more organised. coz when his bathing neccessities(shampoo, soap, cotton wool, cream, etc_ come along..it be a huge load of space required.

SY
thanks... will go read up the water retention article.

SSF
ya I think bb things are getting more and more that is y seriously considering to do up the nursery room... but now then start do a bit rush le...

I went sea horse and saw that they have drawer chest too... quite reasonable price... I am aiming at a 6 chest white color one, $109.50. got 4 small drawers on top and 2 bigger drawers below... now pending for approval only (hubby) cos he dun really like white furniture... somemore probably need to assemble ourselve.

oh really zhimin. thks! other than white, any other colour? i also dun like coz dirty :p

but 109.50 is reasonable. where is the branches?

I went to compass point one... they got other colors but price varies... ya white very easy dirty... but this is the only drawer I see from sea horse without sharp handle... and the white is gross white... so can tahan a bit longer, will not get dirty as easy as those matt white... most important of all... it is the cheapest drawer chest I come across for this kind of size... hehe